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Statewide Vehicle Incentive Programs

A. Overview

The 2019 Transportation Bill (Act 59, 8 34), as amended by the 2020 Transportation Bill (Act
121, § 14) established three statewide vehicle incentive programs:

1) a new plug-in electric vehicle (PEV) incentive program,
2) a used fuel-efficient vehicle incentive program (MileageSmart), and
3) an emissions-repair incentive program.

As required by the 2019 and 2020 Transportation Bills, VTrans has filed a report evaluating the
effectiveness of these programs. The following represents a summary of that report.

B. Program Funding

The 2019 Transportation Bill made only $150,000 of funding available to administer all three
programs. VVTrans learned early on that this would not be sufficient to retain contractors at
market rates. To make the most of the funding available, VTrans decided to allocate the entire
$150,000 to the used fuel-efficient vehicle program (MileageSmart) and the emissions-repair
program and to use other means to run the New PEV Incentive Program.

C. New PEV Incentive Program

VTrans launched the New PEV Incentive Program in December 2019 and entered agreements
with Drive Electric Vermont (through VEIC) and the State’s electric distribution utilities to help
administer the Program. For about the first year of the Program, VVTrans paid for Drive Electric
Vermont’s administrative services through a $50,000 grant agreement that VVTrans financed with
air-quality settlement money transferred from ANR to VTrans. In addition, VTrans financed
approximately $13,000 of administrative support from Drive Electric Vermont in the Program’s
first year through an annual PSD-VEIC grant agreement funded by an interagency MOA. VTrans
executed no-cost contracts with Vermont’s electric distribution utilities to issue incentives to
Program applicants.

The initial program incentive funding of $1,100,000 authorized by the 2019 Transportation Bill
was fully drawn down by October 1, 2020. VTrans suspended the Program at that time and



negotiated amended agreements with Drive Electric Vermont and the distribution utilities to
continue to administer the Program with $1,000,000 of additional funding made available
through the 2020 Transportation Bill and Appropriations Bill (Act 154). The Appropriations Bill
did not take effect until October 2, 2020.

VTrans was able to relaunch the Program on November 5, 2020. VTrans allocated up to $50,000
of the new Program funding to an amended grant agreement with VEIC for continued
administrative support from Drive Electric Vermont. VTrans also executed amended no-cost
contracts with the utilities. About $579,000 of funding currently remains available for incentives
under the New PEV Incentive Program.

As the Committee knows, the transportation sector generates more GHG emissions than any
other sector of the economy, both in Vermont and nationwide. Transportation accounts for close
to half of Vermont’s GHG emissions. While numerous strategies, including TDM, are important
for addressing transportation GHG emissions, the quickest, most cost effective, and most
comprehensive means of mitigating these emissions is by electrifying the entire transportation
system. Motor vehicles will eventually electrify, but a robust policy framework is necessary to
help ensure that the fleet electrifies quickly enough to meet the State’s GHG mitigation
requirements and that Vermonters benefit fully from the renewable energy economy.

Currently about 4,000 PEVs are registered in Vermont, and over 7% of new passenger car
registrations are now electric. However, PEVs still represent less than 1% of the entire vehicle
fleet in Vermont. The New PEV Incentive Program is an important means of continuing to
increase PEV market share.

As of early December, Vermont’s New PEV Incentive Program awarded about $1,240,000 of
incentives. This represents about 394 incentive payments. Thus, the Program has been very
popular despite the economic disruptions associated with the global pandemic.

The Program has offered higher incentives for low-income Vermonters and for BEVs (versus
PHEVs) since its inception. By the end of last year, low-income PEV incentives comprised about
48% of the total quantity of incentives and 64% of incentive spending. Per capita incentives
varied by county, with Washington County receiving the most incentive funding and Essex
County receiving the least. UVM’s Transportation Research Center is seeking funding (from
sources other than the State) to conduct survey research that may inform Program changes to
better address equity and environmental justice considerations and to improve overall Program
effectiveness.

Overall, the Program seems to be working as intended to increase PEV adoption in the State. The
Program has succeeded due to the efforts of the electric utilities, who are processing the
incentives and reimbursing dealers and consumers, Drive Electric Vermont’s continuing work on
program administration, and the Vermont Vehicle and Automotive Distributors Association’s
efforts to organize participating dealers.



New PEV Incentive Program Elements

Available to Vermont residents.

Available for new PEVs with a base MSRP of $40,000 or less. (Trimlines that bring the total sale
price over $40,000 are eligible.)

Applies to purchases or leases of new vehicles.
Lease terms must be at least 24 months.
Two ways to receive the incentive:
1) Auto dealership point-of-sale or -lease. Consumer applies to the dealer. Dealer applies the
appropriate incentive to the down payment. Dealer then submits the paperwork to the DU

where the consumer lives. The DU reimburse the dealer. The State then reimburses the
DU.

2) Consumer direct incentives. Consumer submits proof of purchase or lease to their DU
with a copy to DEV. The DU reimburses the consumer, and the State then reimburses the
DU.

Pre-approval by DEV required for all consumer direct incentives. Pre-approval required for
dealer point-of-sale or -lease incentives once the incentive funds available fall below $200,000 to
ensure available funds are not overdrawn.

Income Eligibility Before July 1, 2020

Household income no more Qualify for the State’s weatherization
than 160% of MHI* program

PHEV $1,500 $4,000

BEV $2,500 $5,000

*160% of median household income was about $96,000 per year. Incentives limited to one per
household.



Income Eligibility Since July 1, 2020*

State Incentive Amount

Adjusted Gross Plug-in Hybrid All-Electric
Tax Filing Status Income (AGI) Limits Electric Vehicle Vehicle
Individual filing as single or $50,000 or less $3,000 $4,000
head of household
Over $50,000 up to $1,500 $2,500
$100,000
Individual filing as qualifying $50,000 or less $3,000 $4,000
widower
Over $50,000 up to $1,500 $2,500
$125,000
Married filing jointly $50,000 or less $3,000 $4,000
Over $50,000 up to $1,500 $2,500
$125,000
Married filing separately $50,000 or less $3,000 $4,000
Over $50,000 up to $1,500 $2,500
$100,000

*Incentives limited to one per individual or married couple filing jointly.

D. Used Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Incentive Program (MileageSmart) and Emissions-Repair
Program

In November 2019, VTrans entered a grant agreement with Capstone Community Action to run
the used fuel-efficient vehicle and emissions-repair incentive programs. After being sidetracked
by its work to address the global pandemic’s economic impacts, Capstone stood up a used fuel-
efficient vehicle incentive program, which it calls MileageSmart, and began paying incentives in



September 2020. Capstone determined that it was not able to launch an emissions-repair program
due to insufficient program resources.

Capstone invested about $10,000 in designing an emissions-repair program before abandoning
that effort. By December 2020 Capstone had exhausted the remainder of the $150,000 that
VTrans granted to Capstone to run both MileageSmart and the emissions-repair program. Since
that time, Capstone has continued to run MileageSmart at its own administrative cost. Of the
$750,000 of incentive funding the Legislature made available for both MileageSmart and the
emissions-repair program, about $680,000 of incentive funding remains unspent.

The 2020 Transportation Bill authorized VVTrans to allocate up to $50,000 of additional
administrative funding to Capstone to run both the used fuel-efficient vehicle and emissions-
repair incentive programs. This additional administrative funding was not available until the
enactment of the Appropriations Bill (Act 154) on October 2, 2020. VTrans did not seek to enter
into a second amended grant agreement with Capstone after the Appropriations Bill passed
because the Legislature was clear that these additional $50,000 of administrative funds were to
be used for both MileageSmart and the emissions-repair program, and Capstone was firm that it
would not be able to stand up and operationalize an emissions-repair program, even with these
additional funds.

While MileageSmart incentives are not limited to PEVs, over half the incentives Capstone has
paid have supported PEVs, and most or all the rest have been conventional hybrids. So far about
$69,000 in incentive funding of the $750,000 of incentive funds made available for the Capstone
programs has been distributed. The average incentive has been $3,700 per car, so about 185
incentives remain. With uptake of between 10-15 incentives per month, it is estimated that this
funding would remain available for 12-18 months. The $50,000 the Legislature authorized for
the MileageSmart and emissions-repair program could be made available to Capstone to continue
running MileageSmart through the budget adjustment process. MileageSmart is helping people in
need get into reliable transportation and is also helping bring the benefits of electric motoring to
low-income Vermonters.

Although Capstone was not able to stand up the emissions-repair incentive program, an
emissions-repair program in Vermont run by a private administrator with adequate technical
resources and knowledge of emissions repair programs could be a viable and cost-effective path
forward. An emissions-repair program would assist people who need emissions repairs to a
vehicle that passes the safety inspection but who cannot afford to purchase a vehicle, even with
other incentive funds available. Repairing a vehicle that has significant remaining useful life can
make better financial sense than purchasing a vehicle. An emissions repair program would also
advance the State’s goals of protecting air quality by ensuring that vehicles are able to operate as
designed to reduce emissions and protect the public health. DEC, which runs the State’s mobile-
source emissions air-quality program, would be the appropriate agency to oversee an emissions
repair program if provided with adequate resources.



MileageSmart Program Elements

The used fuel-efficient vehicle incentive program must limit purchase incentive payments to
used pleasure cars with EPA fuel efficiency ratings of at least 40 miles per gallon when these
vehicles were new. Point-of-sale incentives must be provided through the State’s network of
community action agencies and must be limited to applicants with incomes that would qualify
them for services through the State’s Weatherization Program. The 2019 and 2020
Transportation Bills establish a maximum incentive of $5,000 under this program.

Emissions-Repair Program Elements

The emissions-repair program applies to vehicles that failed emissions testing, that require
repairs to pass testing that are not covered by warranty, and that will be able to pass inspection
once repairs are made under the program. Incentives must be commensurate to the vehicle’s fair
market value and may not exceed $2,500. $2,500 incentives are available only for vehicles with
fair market values of at least $5,000. Income eligibility is measured by the same criteria as the
State’s Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).




