
Consumer Pass Through Telecommunications Taxes and Fees 
 

Service Type  Taxes and Fees  Revenue  Notes 

Broadband Internet 
Access Services 

None    The Internet Tax 
Freedom Act prohibits 
states and 
municipalities from 
taxing BIAS. 

Cable Video Services  Sales Tax (6%) 
 

PEG Access Fee 
(Franchise fee) 
(5%) 

 

 

 

~ $8 million 

Cable video service is 
subject to state sales 
tax. The Cable Act 
allows up to 5% 
franchise fee for cable 
related purposes. 
Vermont  

Telecommunications 
Services 

State Sales Tax 
(6%) 

 

Vermont Universal 
Service Fund 
(2.4%)  

 

Federal USF 
(33.4%) 
 

Federal Excise tax 
(3%) 

 

 

 

$5.5 million 

 

 

No State 
specific data 
at USAC 

VUSF charge on retail 
telecommunications 
services. 

 

Federal USF on 
Interstate portion of 
bill.  
 

Both Funds assess 
revenue on VoIP 
 

Charged on non‐long 
distance charges 
 

 
   



Other Taxes and Fees 
 

Tax  Services  Revenue  Notes 

Gross Receipts 
Tax (to fund the 
PSD and PUC) 

Telephone 

Cable 

CMRS 

$559,000  

$1,540,000 

$725,0000 

.005%  of gross revenue or $500 

.005% of gross revenue or $500 

.005% of gross revenue or $500 

30 V.S.A. § 22 
Telephone 
personal 
property tax 

Regulated 
telephone 

~3.5 million  2.37% of plant Net Value. Paid by very 
few wireline telecommunications 
companies. Not paid by CMRS. 

 


