Lamoille FiberNet Communications Union District



What is Lamoille FiberNet?

Lamoille FiberNet is a CUD (Communications Union District) serving Lamoille County. Lamoille FiberNet CUD was organized under Vermont Legislation, VSA 30 Chapter 82 which enabled the formation of CUDs in Vermont to provide high speed, symmetrical Internet access to all Vermont residents.

Our original member towns included Belvidere, Cambridge, Eden, Johnson, Hyde Park, Morristown and Waterville and in the last year we have also added Stowe, Wolcott and Elmore. Our mission is to provide locally-controlled, affordable, and reliable high-speed Internet service to every address in our 10 member towns.



Lamoille FiberNet Grants Received

In 2021 we received a \$120,970 ARPA grant to support our mission. We also received a \$30,000 USDA RDBG grant through The Lamoille County Planning Commission (LCPC) to assist in the mission of providing broadband to our member towns. In support of the USDA RDBG grant, The LCPC granted us \$7500 and the Lamoille Economic Development Corporation (LEDC) granted us \$3500. Both the LCPC and LEDC Grants are to help with administrative expenses. We also received a DPS Grant of \$420,000 to partner with NEK Broadband in providing service to non-served communities in their region. In December 2021 We received a pre-construction grant for \$1,197,000 from the Vermont Community Broadband Board.



Lamoille FiberNet Supporting Our Community

Internet Access for Students ٠ and the Public: Lamoille FiberNet **Communications Union District** partnered with Lamoille North Supervisory Union (LNSU) and Lamoille South Unified Union School District (LSUU) to provide internet connectivity to students in need. This was crucial to addressing the immediate need for individuals to be connected during the pandemic. LFCUD also partnered with Morristown Centennial Library and Stowe Free Library to off public WiFi.



Current Activity

- Reviewing High Level Design
- Negotiating with ISP
- RFP For Project Management Vendor
- RFP for Audit
- RFP for Municipal Advisor
- Meeting Grant Requirements
- Hiring Grant Administrator/Office Coordinator
- Finalizing Strategic Plan
- Meeting Equipment Vendors





Submitted by LFCUD Governing Board

Jeff Tilton (Vice Chair) and Lucy Rogers (Waterville) Jane Campbell (Chair), John Meyer and Carl Fortune (Morristown) Charlotte Reber, Doug Molde and Paul Warden (Johnson) Michael Rooney (Chair), Jack Wool and Carol Fano (Hyde Park) Liza Jones and Stephanie Van Blunk (Eden) Timothy Humphrey and Sam Lotto (Cambridge) Carol Caldwell Edmonds and Kipp Verner (Belvidere) Stephen Friedman, Chris Foran and Scott Weathers (Stowe) Bruce Wheeler and Michael Davidson (Wolcott)

For more information, please reach out to your town representatives or Val Davis LFCUD Executive Director at director@lamoillefiber.net

