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The Need for Regulation
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Maine milk can only be shipped in one 

direction, or must stay within Maine



FMMO 1 Marketing Area
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A new CA 

federal order 

was recently 

approved to 

be included 

in the federal 

pricing 

system.  

ME is not officially in 

Federal Order One –

but the 2 major fluid 

processing plants in 

ME are subject to 

federal order pricing 

because they sell  

< 25% of their product 

into states that are in 

the federal order – so 

ME dairy farmers are 

paid federal order 

pricing by those plants.

Industry Consolidation has resulted 
in the majority of Maine Milk 

being pooled & priced into FMMO-1



2018 Maine Dairy Industry Profile

⚫ 221 Dairy Farmers
– 216 FMMO 1 Pool Producers

⚫ 615 mil lbs raw milk production
– 608 FMMO 1 Pooled Milk

⚫ Average farm
– 2.7 mil lbs

– 150 cows

⚫ Range
– 500k lbs – 10 mil lbs

– 50 cows – 2500 cows

⚫ Pool Plants
– 90 Oakhurst PD Plant

– 53 HP Hood PD Plant

⚫ Non-pool plants
– Pineland Farms Creamery

– Houlton Farms Dairy

– Smiling Hill Farms

⚫ Producer Handlers
– 21 & increasing

⚫ Artisanal

⚫ Small scale Processors and 
Manufacturers



53 HP Hood Portland

90 Oakhurst Dairy Portland

Agrimark West Springfield

123 St Albans Coop (VT)

157 DFA Reading, PA

Farmer A Charleston

Farmer C Clinton

Farmer B, Newburgh

Charleston-Portland:  129 miles

Newburgh-Portland:  124 miles 

Newburgh-Franklin:  272 miles

Clinton-Portland:  83 miles

Sydney- Portland: 65 miles  

W. Springfield – Portland:  190 miles

Reading, PA-Portland:  469 miles

42 Garelick Farms Franklin

Farmer D Sydney

Pineland Farms Creamery (Grant’s) 

Maine and FMMO 1

Pool Producers, PD Plants

and Balancing



• FMMO 1 Total:  27 billion lbs

• ME Pool Milk:  608 billion 
lbs

• FMMO 1 Producers: 9,700 

• Maine:  221

ME = 2+% of

pool and producers 

FMMO Class I =                  8.7 billion

150 lbs fluid milk/person/yr

Boston+ metro:     6.0 million 
people

Boston Metro Class I:  900 million lbs

ME population:   1.3 million people

ME Class I:                     200 million lbs

ME Plants =                        600 million 
lbs

Boston plants = 1.1 billion lbs

(Garelick – Franklin & Hood – Boston)

Maine Supply for the Boston Fluid Market

2018 

numbers
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Maine Milk Commission

(State Order Pricing)

History and Background

• A Maine Milk Control Law was enacted in 1935 by the 87th Legislature to 

eliminate a number of serious problems confronting the dairy industry and 

the consuming public. Glaring conditions necessitating this corrective 

action included price wars, farmers failing to receive payment for milk 

deliveries, dealer bankruptcies, consumers receiving low quality milk, etc.

• Under the law, a Maine Milk Commission was created to arbitrate 

differences, establish minimum prices in designated areas after proper 

hearings and exercise general supervision over the milk industry. Its basic 

function was, and still is, to ensure that there will be a plentiful supply 

of pure, wholesome milk available at all times, in all places, at 

reasonable prices.
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Maine Milk Commission

(State Order Pricing)

• The Maine Milk Commission is comprised of five members, four of whom are 

appointed by the Governor and shall serve a term of 4 years. Within its 

membership shall be the Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and 

Forestry, ex-officio and the remaining four members shall have no official 

business or professional connection or relation with any segment of the dairy 

industry.

• The Maine Milk Commission is financed by a $0.05 per hundredweight fee on 

milk paid by licensed dealers. The Commission receives no general fund tax 

monies.

• Among the specified powers granted by the Legislature, the Commission has 

the authority to set minimum prices paid to producers as well as minimum 

retail and wholesale milk prices. The Milk Commission is authorized to audit 

dealers' books and to determine the utilization of all milk purchased.

https://www.maine.gov/dacf/milkcommission/commission_members.shtml
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Maine Milk Commission
(Studies to Determine Appropriate Minimum Pricing Levels)

Studies conducted via RFP/contract on 3-year rotation.

• Cost of Production (Producer Margin) – Ch. 26

Last completed on 2017 calendar year.  

Awaiting Legislative review/approval – Jan/Feb 2019

• Cost of Processing (Dealer Margin) – Ch. 29

Study complete on 2018 processing costs.  

Public comment period closed Nov 5, 2018.  

Decision anticipated at Nov 20, 2018 monthly price setting hearing.

• Cost of Retailing (Retailer Margin) – Ch. 27

(Herbein & Company contracted to conduct this study with a final report due by 

December 2019.)



Breakdown of Federal Order Pricing 

Statistical Uniform Blend

(retroactive 2-months)12

Chapter 3 Rule:  

Monthly Schedule of 

Minimum Prices

Class I Federal Order Announced Price

Producer Margin (Cost of Production 

Adjustment, based on Ch 26 studies)

Federal & State Promotion Fee

Over-Order Premium (Set by Co-ops) - % 

of Class I sales = pd to farmers

Federal Components Pricing

Minimum Wholesale & Retail Prices, 

by size of container
(Based on Chapter 27 & 29 Studies)
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Maine Milk Commission
(Maine Milk Pool)

• The Maine Milk Pool was created by state statute in 1983, to allow the 

Commission to assess a Producer Margin (also known as a “Cost of 

Production adjustment”, or “an Adjustment for Maine conditions”) as 

needed through the Maine Minimum Price setting system.

• Established as a set amount, but calculated using the each milk dealer’s 

Class I utilization rate, the amount is collected each month from each milk 

handler/dealer, pooled together, and equally distributed to Maine dairy 

farms.

• Initially limited to 15-cents/cwt, the Producer Margin is established each month 

through rulemaking, after a public hearing during which testimony can be offered 

to update the Commission on the financial conditions of Maine farms.  In later 

years, the Producer Margin has risen as high as $1.68/cwt, however, declines in 

Class I sales have also lead to smaller percentages of the set amount being 

collected and distributed. 



14

Maine Milk Pool Program

Flow of funding

Agriculture distributes funds to Processors

for distribution back to farmers,

based upon department calculations

Funds from Milk Processors

on milk sold in Maine

based upon premium

set by Milk Commission monthly

Processors 

(Houlton Farms, Garelick Farms, 

Hoods & Oakhurst)

send funds to

Department of Agriculture

Smiling Hill Farm, 

1

3

2
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Maine Milk Commission

Chapter 14 Rule:  30 Days Notice

01 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION AND FORESTRY

015 MAINE MILK COMMISSION

SUMMARY: Notice requirement adopted by the Maine Milk Commission for distributors to give 

before terminating milk deliveries to a customer.

Distributors must give 30 days written notice by registered or certified letter before terminating delivery to any 

customer in their delivery area or in the traditional delivery areas of a distributor they have purchased. The 30 

days notice requirement does not apply to cancellations resulting from failure to pay bills.

2. The notice will identify the closest delivery point where the distributor's product will be available 

for pickup by the affected customer.

3. The distributor will identify other distributors, if any, by name and address who are servicing the 

area and from whom a replacement supply may be available.

4. A copy of the notice dated and signed by an official of the distributor will be sent to the Maine Milk 

Commission identifying the customer by name and address, within the same 30 days requirement.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 M.R.S.A. §2953 (PL 1975, c. 5A Section 2, May 11, 1989).

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 1990



Prices per 1 gallon whole milk

Milk 
Money

⚫ November 2021 Prices

⚫ Based on information from the Maine Milk Commission

Average Price Paid 

by Maine Consumer
($49.53/cwt)

$4.31

Minimum Price

Paid to Farmer ($17.69/cwt)

(Federal Order Statistical Uniform Blend Price)

$1.59

Minimum Price Paid 

to Maine Processor ($39.67/cwt)

$3.48

Maine Retail 

Minimum Price

$3.94

Maine Farmer Short-run 

Breakeven Cost of Production*  
($21.94/cwt)       *2020 Maine Cost of Production Study, adopted by the Maine 

Milk Commission, pending Legislative approval of major substantive rule & 

incorporation into the Maine Dairy Stabilization “Tier” Program.

$1.89

16



What goes in the Milk Check?

+ Blend Price

+ Over-order premium

+ Quality or Volume premiums

+ Components (protein, butterfat, other solids)

+ State Premiums
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What comes out of the Farmer’s 
Milk Check?

- Transportation (Stop & Hauling / Fuel Adjustment)

- Promotion (15¢ / cwt)

- Maine Milk Commission (2.5¢ / cwt)

- MDIA (1¢ / cwt {mandatory})

- Co-operative dues & equity share payments

- Marketing Charges (often charged by the Co-op)

- CWT Program (2¢ / cwt)

- Other designated payments

*Loan payments

*Monthly Bills

18
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The Pricing Disconnect….
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Maine’s Organic Dairy Farmers also 

Feel the Pinch – but slightly differently

Maine organic dairy farmers 

can benefit from the 

predictability of contract pricing, 

but are subject to significantly 

higher input costs & compliance 

requirements for certification.

21

Increasing competition from milk-alternative beverages and 

slower-than-anticipated growth in organic milk sales have created 

slack in the supply-and-demand balance of organic milk, leading 

to an erosion of premiums, addition of marketing/transportation 

charges, implementation of quota limitations on production, and 

reduction in contract prices.  
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Early Maine State Efforts

1984 – Maine dairy farmers created a volunteer group to talk 

about industry challenges & find ways to work together to 

solve them.  (Creation of Maine Dairy Industry Association)

1991 – Created the Maine Dairy Farm Stabilization Act & 

Vendor Fee (MRSA Title 36; Part 7; Ch. 708-A  - Collected 5-cent/gal on milk processed in 

Maine and paid $ from dedicated account back to Maine dairy farmers.)

1994 – Massachusetts enacted similar legislation, which was 

struck down  by the courts (West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy  512 US 186 - 1994)

1994 – Maine revised its program in response to the court 

case.   



Regional & Federal Changes

23

1997 – Northeast Dairy Compact was ratified by NE states and 

approved by Congress.  

Maine repealed its Dairy Farm Stabilization / Vendor Program.  

2000 – Federal Order System implemented component 

based pricing (instead of the Minnesota-Wisconsin price 

discovery system).

2001 – Northeast Dairy Compact failed to be re-authorized 

by Congress.  



A Maine way to deal 
with the problem…
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Getting the local 

media to cover 

stories about 

struggling farms –

putting a face to 

the problem



The Tier Program Concept

Fill the gap between the 

price farmers are paid 

and their cost 

of production

25



Current 
Maine Dairy Stabilization Program

Tier Levels         (Effective 7-1-2012)
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Tier Level: Annual Production 

Range:

Target Price:

Tier 1 0 – 16,790  CWT $21.00

Tier 2 16,791 to 49,079 CWT $20.36

Tier 3 49,080 to 76,803 CWT $18.01

Tier 4 Over 76,803 CWT $17.83



Traveling through the Tiers

June – Everyone’s production starts at 0 pounds = Tier 1

Move through the Tiers

More cows = move faster

27



Understanding How to Calculate 
the Tier Payments     (August 2021 prices)

Basic Price for Milk (Statistical Blend) $18.44 

Over Order Premium for  +  $    .52

( average / 33% Class I utilization of $1.04)

=  $ 18.96

28



Traveling through the Tiers

Each farm’s production is 

individually tracked each month

Each farm’s Tier Payment is 

individually calculated 

for each month
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Understanding How to Calculate 
the Tier Payments    (August 2021 prices)

Support Level Minimum Price Tier Payment

Tier 1 $21.00 - $18.96  = $2.04 / cwt

Tier 2 $20.36 - $18.96 = $1.40 / cwt

Tier 3 $18.01 - $18.96 = no payment (-$ .95)

Tier 4 $17.83 - $18.96 = no payment (-$1.13)

1-30-19 edition

30



2019 Cost of Production Study 
Tier levels
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Tier Level: Annual Production 

Range:

Cash Operating Costs 

/ Average Short-run 

Breakeven Costs:

Tier 1 0 – 16,790  CWT $23.05

Tier 2 16,791 to 49,079 CWT $21.44

Tier 3 49,080 to 76,803 CWT $20.93

Tier 4 Over 76,803 CWT $20.21

These numbers have been approved by the Maine Milk Commission, but have not been reviewed by the Maine Legislature or adopted for use in 

the Maine Dairy Stabilization “Tier” Program.  (Est. dates of review:  January-March 2022)



Milk Money – Part 2

Milk Handling Fee

First entity to touch 

milk, pays fee to 

state of Maine
32



Current Handling Fee Schedule
Effective March 2010

Class I Price 

of Milk

Class I

of Milk

Per Gallon 

Fee

$21.00 and over $ 0.04

$20.00 to $20.99 $ 0.08

$19.50 to $19.99 $ 0.12

$19.00 to $19.49 $ 0.16

$18.50 to $18.99 $ 0.20

$18.00 to $18.49 $0.24

Handling Fee increases incrementally by $.04 every $.50 of Class I price

Maximum Fee Rate = $0.84 / gal 

(reached when Class I price falls below $10.99/cwt)
33



Money In is NOT Money Out
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Milk Tier Program Flow of funding

Distributors
or Retailers send 
these funds to
Maine Revenue 

Services

Agriculture requests 
general fund transfers 
(if necessary) based 

upon calculations 
& distributes funds to 

200 farmers

Funds from Milk 
Distributors or Retailers

(Handling fee)
i.e. Hood, Oakhurst
based upon rate set 

monthly
by Federal Market Order 1



Total Cost of the Tier Program
2003-2021

35

Total Dairy/Tier Program $150,942,692

State Expenditures (19 years)

Average Spent Per Year $    7,944,352

Annual General Fund $    2,500,000

Budget Line

Total Handling Fee Receipts $  58,907,159

(Aug. 2005-Dec. 2021)
.

Average Collected Per Year $   3,681,697



Low milk prices 
impact every state
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The Tier Program IS Unique to Maine
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=

Amount of Milk 

Produced on Farm =
Amount of Total Dairy Products 

Maine People Consume



Maine Dairy Farms vs. Milk 
Production      1945-2020
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Maine Dairy Farms vs. Milk 
Production      1945-2020
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Delaware 50 20 60% 

New Jersey 109 40 63% 

New Hampshire 216 94 56% 

Michigan 2158 1153 47% 

Massachusetts 220 125 43% 

US 54599 31657 42% 

Maryland 511 340 33% 

Rhode Island 16 11 31% 

Wisconsin 9037 6682 26% 

Texas 467 351 25% 

Minnesota 3844 3047 21% 

New York 4646 3650 21% 

Pennsylvania 6914 5430 21% 

Vermont 841 664 21% 

California 1892 1534 19% 

Maine 246 214 13% 

Connecticut 108 100 7% 

Changes in Dairy Farm Numbers 
2017 – 2020

40

2017 2020 % Loss 



Maine Dairy Industry’s reaction 
to Pandemic Economy
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Restaurants & Public Venues Closed 

or only Partially open/operating

Milk Prices Plummet 



Federal Legislative Issues

Since 2005

MDIA has been working 

to find a national 

solution that would 

restore balance between 

dairy farmers, 

processors, & retailers.
42


