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An act relating to the Interstate Compact
on the Placement of Children
Act 101 (S.72)

o ICPC regulates the placement of all child-welfare involved cases and domestic adoptions across
state lines
o Includes interstate placements of:
* Foster care
*  Kinship care
*  Placements with non-custodial parents
- " Conditional custody orders

»  Residential care
- wE

*  Adoptions (public and private)
o ICPCdoes not apply to out-of-state placements in:
* Hospitals

iy
!f *  Psychiatric hospitals
i 3 l‘ * Educational facilities - like boarding schools




ICPC

Current Compact New Compact
* Written in 1960 and adopted by * Written in 2004 with stakeholders
Vermont in 1972 across the country, including a
* Governing process and structure \(éirnn;(r)anlt Assistant Attorney

are outdated
e Takes effect 18 months after the
35t state adopts the compact

* Vermont became the 14t state to
adopt which provides a seat at the
table for rulemaking



An act relating to
access to adoption
records

Act 100 (H.629)

The purpose of this act is to permit
an adopted person who is 18 years
of age or older to obtain a certified
copy of the person’s original birth
certificate regardless of whether the
adoptee’s former parent has
consented to such disclosure.



Can | get identifying information?
Adoption finalized before July 1, 1986:

* Requires the mutual consent of the
adult adoptee and birthparent or
sibling.

Adoption finalized on/after July 1, 1986:

* Identifying information about a
birthparent may be released to the
adoptee unless they requested that
it not be disclosed (non disclosure).

* Information about an adoptee or
birth sibling may only be released
with their consent.

What if I'm denied information?
You may petition the court if:

* You are denied “non-identifying”
information you're entitled to by law.

* You are the adoptee, and the
Reqistry has denied your request for
identifying information.

How do | petition the court?

Call the Registry at (802) 241-0906. We
can explain the petition process and
refer you to the appropriate court.

Vermont’s Adoption Law
https://legislature.vermont.gov/

What if | want to be found?

Contact the Registry to file a Consent to
the Release of Identifying Information
about you. And inform us if you move.

What if | don’t want my identity

disclosed?

Contact the Registry to file a request for
nondisclosure. This does not guarantee
that you won't be found.

Is there a cost?

The Reqgistry, courts, and agencies may
charge reasonable fees to cover the
cost of compiling the information. Any
fees will be disclosed in advance.

What if there is newly available

health information?

Adoptive parents, adoptees, and birth
family members who become aware of
health information that could seriously
affect the health or reproductive
decisions of another party should
contact the Registry. We will attempt
to notify the affected party as long as
you have a certified statement from a
physician confirming the information.

Vermont Adoption Registry

280 State Drive, HC 1 North

Waterbury, VT 05671-1030
(802) 241-0906
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The Vermont
Adoption Registry
Finding Your Roots

dcf.vermont.gov/vt-adoption-registry
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INFORMATION ABOUT ADOPTIONS FINALIZED IN VERMONT

Non-ldentifying Information

* A summary of information from
the adoption record — about the
adoptee’s history, the adoption,
and the adoptive parents.

A summary of information from
the adoption record — about the
birthparents, any birth siblings,
and the adoptee’s background
(e.qg., health, genetic, and social).

Identifying Information

Facts (e.g.,full name, date of birth,
and last known address) to help
establish the identity and location of:

* An adoptee
* A birthparent
* A birth sibling

Original Birth Certificate

A non-certified copy of the adoptee’s
original birth certificate.

Who can request it?

Birthparent
Birth grandparent
Birth sibling (half or whole)

Adult or emancipated adoptee
Adoptive parent

Adoptee’s legal guardian/custodian
Direct descendant of deceased

adoptee or a parent/guardian if
under 18

Who can request it?

Adult or emancipated adoptee

Direct descendant of deceased
adoptee or a parent/quardian if
under 18

Birthparent
Birth sibling (18+)

Who can request it?

Birthparents: send a copy of an
identification (e.g., driver’s license).

Adoptees born in VT and entitled to
identifying information: send a copy

of a document from the Registry or
court authorizing its release to you.

Where do you get it?

From the agency that handled
the adoption. If you don’t know
the agency, contact the Adoption
Registry for a referral.

The Registry can provide non-
identifying information if:

* The agency is no longer active
* There was no agency involved
* It was a state adoption

Where do you get it?

* Without a court order, you may
only get it from the Registry.

* With a court order, you may get it
from the Registry or agency that
handled the adoption.

See the back to learn more.

Where do you get it?
Send a request with a copy of the
relevant document to:

Vital Records Office

Vermont Department of Health
PO Box 70

Burlington, VT, 05402-0070
1-800-439-5008




A few
highlights...

A person who is listed as a parent on an adoptee’s
original birth certificate may file a contact
preference form with the Registry indicating
whether the parent would like to be contacted by
the adoptee, prefer to be contacted by the adoptee
only through an intermediary, or prefer not to be
contacted by the adoptee at this time.

The act directs the Department for Children and
Families to undertake a public education campaign
about the change in the law prior to the new
policy’s effective date of July 1, 2023.




In response to requests from survivors from St.

Joseph’s Orphanage in Burlington who have had

difficulty obtaining records concerning their care, the

act requires the Vermont State Archives and Records

Administration, in consultation with the Department

Reco rd S for Children and Families and other interested parties,

. to report to various legislative committees on the laws

concerni ng governing records related to children who were

, placed by a child-placing agency in foster homes or

children who residential child care facilities and who are not

adopted and a recommendation for legislation to

dlre n Ot ensure that these children have access to records '
concerning their background, medical history, and

d d O pte d other pertinent information relating to their time

under the care and supervision of an agency. /

o

Sec. &a.
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An act
relating to
regulating

licensed small
cannabis
cultivation as
farming
Act No. 158
(S.188)



Commercial and Personal Cultivation

* Licensed small cultivators (not more than 1,000 square
feet) who grow cannabis outdoors on land already subject
to Required Agricultural Practices will be afforded farming
exemptions regarding land use requirements and
permitting under Act 250 and local zoning and will be able
to keep the parcel enrolled in the Use Value Appraisal
Program, provided the parcel was already enrolled prior to
cultivation of cannabis.

» Establishes the same statutory standard for cultivation of
cannabis for both “home grow” and commercial use: on
property lawfully in possession of the cultivator or with the
written consent of the person in lawful possession of the
property and in an area that is screened from public view
and access is limited to the cultivator and persons 21 years
of age or older who have permission from the cultivator.
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) « Hemp is currently regulated by the Vermont Agency of
E‘F Agriculture, Food and Markets
VA4  The act requires the Cannabis Control Board to submit to the
/ ﬁ],, House Committees on Agriculture and Forestry and on Ways
27 L and Means and the Senate Committees on Agriculture and on
' 'EG;;',;';;E Finance written recommendations on how the Cannabis
S\ 2= Control Board would regulate hemp products; hemp
Ku_J 2% /,f ‘il \ ;::{ il processors; and hemp product manufacturers
o e 3 » Moves the Cannabis Control Quality Program from AAFM to
— N ";tk"”-;igg__y the Cannabis Control Board
AV
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Grants the Cannabis
Control Board the
authority to regulate
synthetic cannabinoids
and hemp-derived
cannabinoids, including
delta-8 and delta-10
tetrahydrocannabinol




Cannabis
Concentrates

* Vermont originally banned concentrated cannabis
products with greater than 60 percent
tetrahydrocannabinol

e This act allows solid and liquid concentrates to be
manufactured and sold to other licensees but not to
the public

* The act also requires the Cannabis Control Board to
report to the General Assembly with a summary of
the regulated market share for solid concentrates
above 60 percent THC and the status of the illicit
market for those products in other states with a
regulated adult-use cannabis market
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PR 5, Declaration of rights; right to personal
reproductive liberty



Article 22. [Personal reproductive liberty]

That an individual’s right to personal reproductive autonomy is central to
the liberty and dignity to determine one’s own life course and shall not be

denied or infringed unless justified by a compelling State interest achieved
by the least restrictive means.

The amendment shall become a part of the Constitution of the State of

Vermont on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November 2022 when
ratified and adopted by the people




