State of Vermont Senate Chamber



Montpelter, Vermont

Joint Senate Resolution

By Senator Nitka,

J.R.S. 44. Joint resolution providing for a Joint Assembly to vote on the retention of six Superior Judges.

Whereas, declarations have been submitted by the following six Superior Judges that they be retained for another six-year term, Judge Thomas S. Durkin, Judge David Fenster, Judge Kerry A. McDonald-Cady, Judge Robert A. Mello, Judge John Pacht, and Judge Helen M. Toor, and

Whereas, the procedures of the Joint Committee on Judicial Retention require at least one public hearing and the review of information provided by each candidate and the comments of members of the Vermont bar and the public, and

Whereas, the Committee is unable to fulfill its responsibilities under subsection 608(b) of Title 4 to evaluate the judicial performance of the candidates seeking to be retained in office by March 17, 2022, the date specified in subsection 608(e) of Title 4, and

Whereas, subsection 608(g) of Title 4 permits the General Assembly to defer action on the retention of judges to a subsequent Joint Assembly when the Committee is not able to make a timely recommendation, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, March 24, 2022, at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon to vote on the retention of six Superior Judges. In case the vote to retain said Judges shall not be made on that day, the two Houses shall meet in Joint Assembly at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon, on each succeeding day, Saturdays and Sundays excepted, and proceed until the above is completed.