# JOURNAL OF THE JOINT ASSEMBLY of the STATE OF VERMONT BIENNIAL SESSION, 2021

# IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, JANUARY 7, 2021

#### 10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

**J.R.S. 3.** Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

#### Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 7, 2021, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the voters of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the voters, *and be it further* 

**Resolved**: That the Joint Assembly shall be concurrently conducted electronically at which members of the General Assembly may participate, debate, and vote from a remote location, and be it further

**Resolved**: That should a ballot be necessary, voting by ballot shall be conducted, as practicable, consistent with Vermont's "Early or Absentee Voter" statute at 17 V.S.A. § 2531, et. seq.

#### **Presiding Officer**

Honorable David E. Zuckerman, President of the Senate, in the Chair.

#### Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

#### **Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee**

Senator White, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

For GOVERNOR	362,711
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	181,356
Wayne Billado III, Independent	1,431
Michael A. Devost, Independent	1,160
Charity Dickerson, Unaffiliated	1,037
Kevin Hoyt, Independent	4,576
Emily Peyton, Truth Matters	3,505
Philip B. Scott, Republican	248,412
Erynn Hazlett Whitney, Independent	1,777
David Zuckerman, Democratic/Progressive	99,214
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,599

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

#### PHILIP B. SCOTT

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR	356,234
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	178,118
Wayne Billado III, Independent	5,101
Ralph Corbo, Banish the F-35s	2,289
Cris Ericson, Progressive	7,862
Molly R. Gray, Democratic	182,820
Scott Milne, Republican	157,065
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,097

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

# Molly R. Gray

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Lieutenant Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For STATE TREASURER	343,845
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	171,923
Carolyn Whitney Branagan, Republican	114,177
Cris Ericson, Progressive	14,142

Elizabeth A. "Beth" Pearce, Democratic/Republican 1	197,255
Alex Wright, Independent	.17,939
Scattering (write-in votes)	332

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

#### ELIZABETH A. "BETH" PEARCE

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For SECRETARY OF STATE	346,920
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
James C. Condos, Democratic	214,666
Cris Ericson, Progressive	11,171
H. Brooke Page, Republican	99,564
Pamala Smith, Independent	21,210
Scattering (write-in votes)	309

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

#### **JAMES C. CONDOS**

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS	317,052
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Cris Ericson, Progressive	48,731
Douglas R. Hoffer, Democratic/Republican	
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

#### **DOUGLAS R. HOFFER**

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For ATTORNEY GENERAL	345,515
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Thomas J. Donovan, Democratic	234,081
Cris Ericson, Progressive	15,846
H. Brooke Page, Republican	94,892
Scattering (write-in votes)	696

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

#### THOMAS J. DONOVAN

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

All of which is respectfully submitted.

# JEANETTE K. WHITE

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

# **SARAH COPELAND-HANZAS**

Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the House

### Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Copeland-Hanzas, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

#### Dissolution

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER, JR. Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly