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FREQUENTLY – AND INFREQUENTLY – ASKED QUESTIONS  

TYLER FILE-AND-SERVE E-FILING USE FEE 
 
 

Q.  Why did we choose our funding model?  How were fees arrived at? 
 

• We chose our model to minimize the cost to Vermonters and risk to the Judiciary by developing 
a sustainable funding model. 
 

o Odyssey File and Serve is a hosted software as a service model, run, supported, and 
hosted by Tyler Technologies.  For this, they charge either users or court systems 
amounts based on expected volume and adoption rates 

o When contracting with Tyler, we had only initial estimates for rollout plans, including 
regions, e-filing rollout schedule, etc 

o Instead of agreeing to a fixed amount borne by the Judiciary, regardless of rollout or 
adoption rate, we chose a smaller per-filing use fee supported by users of the 
system.  This came with broad-based waivers to relieve from paying this use fee any 
filings exempted from paying court filing fees by the legislature, such as criminal filings, 
filings by government lawyers, filings on behalf of litigants who meet certain income 
guidelines, and the like.  Self-represented litigants are not required to e-file.  The fee 
negotiated with Tyler is also based on our making e-filing mandatory for attorneys who 
are not otherwise exempt. 

o This approach allowed us to design a predictable, sustainable funding model.  This was 
demanded of us by the Legislature.  We were counseled to pick an off-the shelf, proven 
solution (Tyler) and a sustainable long term funding model. 

o Tyler’s estimates of 2.5 average filings per case would result in e-filing use fees 
averaging $13.13 for those who pay. 
 

• The contract term, which expires, subject to renewal option, in June of 2022, allows Vermont to 
gain experience with e-Filing, which was just rolled out, as Vermont proceeds through the 
implementation of the electronic case management system project and adjust funding models 
as needed.  The project will be fully rolled out early in 2021, after which data can be collected 
about the impact of the fee and its relation to the cost of e-filing services. 
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Q.  I’ve heard that the Public Utility Commission offers “free” efFiling.  How do they do that, and why             
doesn’t the Judiciary do that? 
 

• The funding model of the Public Utility Commission is traditionally based on a gross receipts tax 
imposed on utility bills.  Recently, the Commission has enacted application fees for projects 
whose applicants are not subject to this tax.  This fee may range from $100 - $10,000 or more 

• No State General Funds are used for operations 

• The PUC fears shortfalls in 2021 because of anticipated lower gross receipts taxes.  A needed 
system upgrade may be put on hold due to these issues. 

• Yearly volume is approx. 13,000 “non-State-gov” filers. 
 

Q.  I heard Rhode Island “got a better deal” than Vermont?  Is that true? 
 

• Rhode Island has a per-case eFiling use fee, rather than per-filing, charge of $17.50.  This is paid 
to Tyler.  They add a $3.25 technology fee per case that funds Tyler yearly maintenance.  Credit 
card fees are the same as Vermont. 

• Rhode Island has about 60,000 civil filings a year.  This results in approx. $1MM paid to Tyler in 
eFiling use fees. 

• Using Tyler’s estimates, Rhode Island users are paying MORE on average than Vermonters 
 
Q. I’ve heard that PACER, the legacy federal e-filing system, is free. Why don’t we have a model like that? 
 

• PACER is not free. There is a cost for each search and each document viewed.    (We do not 
charge for searches or views of documents, at all).   The fee schedule for the federal system can 
be found here:   https://www.pacer.gov/documents/epa_feesched.pdf 

• PACER does not charge a per-filing or per-case fee, but does charge for access to files and 
documents, and many users believe that these fees are excessive and unwarranted.   There will 
be no similar fee for access to files and documents in the Vermont system.     

 
Q. I thought the Legislature established fees.  What is the authority of the Judiciary to establish fees? 
 

The Legislature has explicitly recognized the Supreme Court’s broad discretion “under their 
general rulemaking power .  .  . [to] .  .  . establish uniform rules to govern the allowance of fees 
not specified by law for services and expenses in the courts of the State.”  32 V.S.A. sec. 1403 
(emphasis added).  Pursuant to that authority, the Supreme Court’s Administrative Order 19 
authorizes the Court Administrator to establish fees to be paid for transcripts, and the Court 
Administrator, under her broad authority for “all fiscal operations” of the courts, has in turn 
entered into contracts with transcription services requiring appellants to pay the service directly 
for the transcripts within limits specified in the contract.  See V.R.A.P. 10(b)(7) and Reporter’s 
Notes to the 2013 Emergency Amendment.   

  
The circumstances here are closely analogous to the payment of transcription fees.  The 
contract with Tyler Technologies authorizes direct payment of an e-filing use fee—a fee that is 
not otherwise “specified by law”—and the requirement is memorialized in the Electronic Filing 
Rules promulgated by the Court and reviewed by the legislative Committee on Judicial 
Rules.  See Vt. Rules for Electronic Filing, Rule 10 (providing for payment of “court fees and 
efiling fees” and setting forth payment exemptions).   As discussed, the Supreme Court’s 

https://www.pacer.gov/documents/epa_feesched.pdf
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authority to provide by rule for such a fee “for services” is clearly recognized in 32 V.S.A. sec. 
1403, and the Court Administrator is broadly authorized to act at the Court’s direction to 
contract for their payment to the vendor. 

  
The Vermont Supreme Court’s power to make and promulgate such rules governing the 
administration of the courts finds express recognition in the Vermont Constitution, Chapter II. 
Section 37, as well as 32 V.S.A. section 1403, which codifies the Court’s residual constitutional 
authority to make general rules for the imposition of fees.  That power has been widely held to 
include the inherent judicial authority to compel the payment of fees reasonably necessary to 
carry out the Judiciary’s core responsibilities.  Indeed, case law has expressly recognized that 
courts must retain the “inherent judicial power” to “charge and collect reasonable filing fees” or 
risk being rendered “ineffectual.”  Blackjack Bonding v. city of Las Vegas Municipal Court, 14 
P.3d 1275, 1280 (Nev. 2000).   Similar holdings have recognized the Judiciary’s inherent 
authority to charge and collect reasonable attorney registration fees, even in the absence of 
enabling legislation, pursuant to the court’s core responsibilities for attorney licensing and 
discipline.  See, e.g., Board of Overseers of the Bar v. Lee, 422 A.2d 998, 1003 (Me. 1980) 
(holding that the Supreme Judicial Court “has inherent power not only to regulate attorneys . . . 
but also to impose .  .  . such registration fees as are reasonably required to enable the Court to 
carry out its responsibilities”). 

  
Accordingly, the Court’s power to enact the e-filing use fee in question is well-established.    

 
Q. I’ve heard that there was no advance disclosure of the Tyler File and Serve e-filing use fee before 
the pilot program was begun.  Why was this hidden from attorneys? 
 

• The fact that there would be a per e-filing envelope use fee was disclosed and discussed with 
the bar in the following public contexts, available to VBA members (and others):   
 

o January 2019—Mid-Winter Thaw—presentation by Andrew Stone, Judge Kate Hayes, 

Michael Kennedy.    

o March 2019—VBA spring meeting – seminar—presentation by Andrew Stone, Laura 

LaRosa of Vermont Trial Court Operations, and Judge Kate Hayes.   

o Each Newsletter sent by Patricia Gabel, State Court Administrator—in April, July and 

December 2019 contained links to the website with FAQs that included detailed 

information about the fees.   

o Summer 2019--- Trial court operations staff met with the county bar associations and 

State agencies in Windsor, Windham, and Orange Counties to discuss and describe the 

plan for the project and answer any questions.     

o E-filing Rules Committee—the e-filing rules required substantial review and revision, 

and a new committee was created to engage in that process, beginning in January 2019.   

VBA Executive Director Teri Corsones, Sue Steckel, and Eric Avildsen, who are all 

members of the VBA were all members of the committee.  The fact that there were 

going to be per-case-filing fees payable to the vendor was discussed many times during 

these meetings.   There were more than 15 meetings over a 12 month period, and the 

rules were reviewed in detail and amended to reflect the suggestions of all members, 

including the bar.    
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Q. The fees are unfair.  Why penalize litigants who need to file more documents? 
 

• All litigants who are eligible for court fee waiver are also eligible for waiver of the e-filing 
payments to Tyler, no matter how many documents they file.  Self-represented litigants are not 
required to e-file.  Civil attorneys who represent clients who are not eligible to have court fees 
waived will not have the e-filing fee waived either. The policy follows the legislative regime for 
who should pay fees.    

• The e-filing rules have exceptions that enable litigants to avoid e-filing of extremely voluminous, 
cumbersome, or awkward documents that would be better filed by some other method.  No e-
filing fee would be charged for anything that is filed non-electronically with court’s permission.    

 
Q. Why is the $5.25 e-filing user fee so high – it amounts to more than the cost of stamps? 
 

• There is one $5.25 fee per “envelope.”   It’s recommended that the total amount of documents 
in the filing not exceed 25 mg (about 100 pp).     Estimated cost of postage alone for a single 20 
pp document-- $1.75.   (leaving aside stationery, large envelopes, and staff time to prepare 
them).    

 
Q. So Attorneys will have to pass on or absorb the fees in filings that are not exempt from the use fee? 

• This is true, just as they have to pass on or absorb fees for postage, envelopes and stationery, 
messengers, UPS and Fedex costs.  Those costs will be significantly lower due to the availability 
of e-filing.  

 
Q. Isn’t this fee imposition system totally arbitrary—family, civil and probate litigants will bear 

disproportionate amount of costs—juvenile and criminal litigants will not pay? 

• Cases and filers who have been exempted from paying court filing fees by the legislature are 

exempted from paying Tyler e-filing use fees.  It is not arbitrary.  It is based on policy decisions 

made by the legislature.  In general, costs are imposed on the litigants who are able to pay filing 

fees.   Litigants who cannot afford to pay fees may file waiver applications no matter what 

docket they file in.     Criminal, juvenile, and mental health case litigants are provided counsel at 

state expense; as a matter of public policy it would not make sense to require them to pay e-

filing fees.    Self-represented litigants are not required to e-file. 

Q. Don’t these fees amount to a tax on attorneys? 

• These costs are not a tax.  The fee is the cost of the service provided by Tyler to provide 
electronic filing.   Attorneys whose clients can afford to pay them will pay these fees.  Attorneys 
whose clients cannot afford to pay them will be able to apply for and obtain waivers of these 
fees.       

Q. The Judiciary has had a protocol set up in a couple of county unit civil divisions called E cabinet that 

does not impose fees.   Why not handle the e-filing the same way? 

 

• E-cabinet was a very early, primitive and inadequate pilot program.  It has served an invaluable  
function in assisting the bar and the court in very limited case types, in limited areas.   It has not 
enabled the court to eliminate paper files; it has not enabled easy e-service of documents or full 
e-access to court files.   The court has charged for the services available to Courts Online.   In 
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Odyssey, there will no longer be a charge for the access to court files that Courts Online 
provides.     

 
Q.  The Judiciary said that there are also FAQs and answers posted on the Judiciary website.  What do 
those FAQs say? 
 

• Filing Fees 
 

All filing fees are paid through OFS at the time of filing. Filers create a payment account 
to pay with a MasterCard, Visa, or Discover credit card or with e-checks. 

 
In addition to case-related filing fees paid to the Court, there is a fee of $5.25 system 
use fee for each “envelope” (an assemblage of documents filed together at one time in 
one case) submitted to the court. This fee is charged by the system vendor and is not 
paid to the Court. 

 
Government agency filers and others who are statutorily exempt from paying filing fees 
may file via a “waiver” account that can be set up for each registered user. 
A waiver account would also be used by anyone filing an Application to Waive Filing and 
Service Fees (formerly IFP/In Forma Pauperis). Filers upload the completed application 
along with their other filing(s) and are notified after court review whether the 
application has been granted. 

 
Case filing fees paid to the Court are established by statute. Current fees and 
authorizing statutes are available at https://www.vermontjudiciary.org/fees . 

    

• Electronic Filing Questions 
 

Attorneys and self-represented litigants will use Odyssey File & Serve to electronically file 
documents with the court via a secure, web-based portal. Electronic filing will be permitted on 
every case type in every division. Odyssey File & Serve will be available 24 hours a day and 7 
days a week. Odyssey File & Serve is also known as eFileVT. 
 

• How do I access Odyssey File & Serve? 

o You can access File & Serve directly through the following 

link: https://vermont.tylerhost.net/ofsweb 

• Do I have to electronically file (aka efile)? 

o Attorneys are required to efile where Odyssey has been implemented. Self-represented 

litigants will have the option to efile. To learn more about efiling requirements, please 

review the promulgated efiling rules: 

2020 Vermont Rules for Electronic Filing 
 

• When can I begin efiling? 

https://vermont.tylerhost.net/ofsweb
https://www.vermontjudiciary.org/sites/default/files/documents/PROMULGATED%2012-10-19%20VREF%202020_0.pdf
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o Users will be able to efile in a region about 30-60 days after the region’s trial courts 

transition onto Odyssey. The date will be announced with as much advanced notice as 

possible. Efiling will begin in the Orange, Windham and Windsor trial courts on April 20, 

2020 and in the Judicial Bureau on April 27, 2020. 

• Will mandatory efiling be phased in gradually?    

o No. Once a date has been established for a region that has transitioned onto Odyssey, 

electronic filing for attorneys will be mandatory from that date forward. Advance notice 

will be provided. 

• Is there a cost associated with efiling? 

o Filing fees are determined by statute and will not be impacted by Odyssey. However, 

Odyssey File & Serve does have a processing fee of $ 5.25 for use of the system (i.e. 

every time a filing is submitted), as well as a credit card service charge of 2.89% of any 

filing fees paid.  This will automatically be added any applicable filing fee, unless the filer 

has an approved fee waiver application, or is exempt by Rules of Electronic filing, such 

as a government agency.     

• Why was I charged the processing fee ($5.25) twice? 

o Tyler Technologies' charges a $5.25 processing fee “per envelope." Upon initial 

submission, there’s a pre-authorization of the charges and a hold for the charges placed 

against the credit card. If the entire submission is rejected, then the hold is dropped and 

the card is never charged. When a submission includes multiple filings, but some filings 

are rejected, a new envelope is created when the corrected filings are submitted 

resulting in multiple charges when two or more envelopes are accepted. 

• What case types will have efiling? 

o Efiling will be available for all divisions and all case types. This even includes mental 

health cases and guardianship cases. 

• Who do I contact when I have technical problems with efiling? 

o When Odyssey File & Serve goes live, you will need to contact our vendor partner, Tyler 

Technologies, for technical questions. They can be reached via email or phone 

at efiling.support@tylertech.com or 1-800-297-5377. 

• What is the process for filing documents under seal? 

o A provision for the filing of confidential documents or sealed documents will be made in 

the Odyssey system. Currently, however, configuration of Odyssey is ongoing, so 

detailed instructions are not available. 

• If an e-filer includes confidential information by mistake, will the filer be able to correct it? 

o Corrections will be allowed. However, as configuration of Odyssey is ongoing, detailed 

instructions are not yet available. 

mailto:efiling.support@tylertech.com
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• Can my staff and/or associates efile documents on my behalf? 

o Yes. After establishing a firm account in File & Serve, you can add users with different 

levels of permission. 

• What will users be expected to do if Odyssey File & Serve is temporarily non-operational? 

o If there is a prolonged system outage, the court will make accommodations regarding 

filing deadlines. We are always prepared to accept paper filings in emergency situations. 

• How many megabytes can I efile at one time? 

o It is recommended that each document be no larger than 5 megabytes and that each 

“envelope” be no more than 25 megabytes/ 

• If I registered in the Public Portal, do I still have to register in Odyssey File & Serve? 

o Yes. You must register separately for the portal and for File & Serve. 

• Do I have to keep paper copies of documents that I have efiled? 

o Retention of paper copies is not required by the court, though there may be separate 

statutes or rules that continue to require this. 

• Will Odyssey File & Serve allow users to send documents to other parties in the case? 

o Yes, one of its functions is electronic service. Subject to other rules and statutes 

governing service, you can set up a service contact in Odyssey File & Serve. 

 
 

 

 


