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Contact Information:  

If you have questions about this document or would like additional information please contact: 

Early Education Team, Student Support Services, at AOE.UPK@vermont.gov  

PreK Staff Qualifications and Instructional Models impacted by 

COVID-19 

Purpose 

A Strong and Healthy Start: Safety and Health Guidance for Reopening Schools, Fall 2020 and 

the Vermont Agency of Education (AOE)  Hybrid Learning During the 2020-2021 School Year 

established state-level guidance for reopening schools for the 2020-2021 school year, and 

described both the health requirements and instructional options necessary to ensure 

continuous operation of schools. This supplemental guidance addresses prequalified public and 

private prekindergarten education (PreK) program staff qualification requirements and PreK 

instructional models impacted by COVID-19.   

Background 

Act 166 of 2014, Vermont’s Universal Prekindergarten Education law, ensures that each and 

every child who is 3, 4 or 5 years of age and not enrolled in kindergarten has the opportunity to 

access and participate in a prequalified prekindergarten education program at public expense. 

This means that each child is entitled to receive PreK education by a licensed early childhood 

educator (ECE) or early childhood special education (ECSE). Act 166 February 2019 Memo  

states that private PreK program’s licensed ECE/ECSE must be "physically present on site" 

during PreK hours of instruction. 

Staff Qualification Requirements by PreK Program Type 

Public PreK Program 

As a requirement under Act 166, teachers in each PreK classroom in a school district operated 

PreK program shall hold a valid Vermont educator license with an endorsement in either early 

childhood education or early childhood special education. 

Private PreK Program 

As a requirement under Act 166, private PreK programs shall employ, or contract for the 

services of, at least one teacher who holds a valid Vermont educator license with an 

endorsement in either early childhood education or early childhood special education. Ten 

hours that the licensed teacher is present shall coincide with the hours of prekindergarten 

education paid for by tuition from districts.  For licensed family childcare homes that are 

prequalified private PreK programs, a licensed ECE/ECSE may provide weekly training and 

supervision virtually or telephone.  

 

mailto:AOE.UPK@vermont.gov
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-hybrid-learning-during-the-2020-2021-school-year_0.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2014/Docs/ACTS/ACT166/ACT166%20As%20Enacted.pdf
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Therefore, if a public or private PreK program provides an option for families to offer 

remote/distance or hybrid learning model then PreK instruction must be delivered by the 

program’s employed/contracted licensed ECE/ECSE. Private PreK programs who choose to 

implement a remote/distance and/or hybrid learning model of PreK instruction must notify 

partnering school districts of their intent, and both parties must agree to the terms of a plan and 

amend their contract as warranted.  

Waivers from Holding an Online Teaching Specialist (OTS) Endorsement 

At their July 9, 2020, meeting, the Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators voted to 

extend a waiver from holding an Online Teaching Specialist (OTS) endorsement to licensed 

educators who remotely teach students PreK-12. This waiver holds educators harmless based 

on school district and/or private PreK programs’ plans to implement remote/distance and/or 

hybrid learning models. This waiver now extends to December 31, 2020, and is anticipated to be 

revisited for possible extension by the Standards Board.  

Use of a Substitute in the Event of Illness of a Licensed ECE/ECSE Teacher 

In the case of COVID-19-related illness of a licensed ECE/ECSE teacher for prequalified public 

or private prekindergarten education programs, a substitute may be used for on-site, 

remote/distance or hybrid learning for 30 school days. Private PreK programs must notify 

school district partners about the program’s plan for continuing PreK education for students 

enrolled as well as complete the AOE Change Form as soon as possible. If a public or private 

PreK program requires an extension period beyond 30 days, the program may submit a written 

request to the AOE for a waiver for an additional 45 school days. As part of the Universal 

Prekindergarten (UPK) Accountability and Continuous Improvement System, approval of 45 

school day extension period will be tracked by the AOE. 

Expectations for PreK Instructional Models by Step 

The Vermont Department of Health and AOE’s A Strong and Healthy Start: Safety and Health 

Guidance for Reopening Schools, Fall 2020 and the AOE’s Hybrid Learning During the 2020-

2021 School Year established the basic state-level direction for reopening schools for the 2020-

2021 school year, and described both the health requirements and instructional options 

necessary to ensure their continuous operation.  

The three step levels align with different instructional models and are detailed below:  

Step I: Schools are closed for in-person instruction 

Remote learning opportunities should be provided for all students. Schools should support 

provision of student services such as school meal programs, as feasible.  

• Remote Learning: Students receive instruction online or through distributed materials.  

Students and staff would be utilizing remote learning and would not be gathering in 

groups on school grounds. 

• Remote/Distance Learning: “Hours” to implement weekly PreK education may include 

a combination of developmentally appropriate remote instruction, educational materials 

https://www.cognitoforms.com/VermontAgencyOfEducation/Act166UniversalPrekindergartenChangesToPrequalifiedProgram
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-hybrid-learning-during-the-2020-2021-school-year_0.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-hybrid-learning-during-the-2020-2021-school-year_0.pdf


UPK Staff Qualifications and  

Instructional Models 

(Revised: August 21, 2020) 

Page 3 of 5 

 

 

and resources, as well as accompanying family-led activities and resources that are 

aligned with the Vermont Early Learning Standards.  
 

Step II: Schools are open for in-person instruction with enhanced physical distancing 

measures and for children who live in the local geographic area only 

• In-Person Learning: Students receive instruction at school. In this disposition, schools 

should create as much space between students and teachers as is feasible during the day, 

but will not be held strictly to enforcing, at a minimum 3-6 feet of physical distancing 

during primary instructional time in the classroom for PreK-Grade 5. Activities and 

extracurricular programming should continue to follow the A Strong and Healthy Start: 

Safety and Health Guidance for Reopening Schools, Fall 2020. 

• Hybrid Learning: Some combination of in-person learning and remote learning. A 

hybrid schedule can take many forms. In the growing array of educational options 

available to students and their parents, a hybrid model gives students both the 

experience of learning in a classroom and the personalization provided by online 

learning that is teacher-facilitated. 

o Remote/Distance Learning: “Hours” to implement weekly PreK education may 

include a combination of developmentally appropriate remote instruction, 

educational materials and resources, as well as accompanying family led 

activities and resources that are aligned with the Vermont Early Learning 

Standards.  

Step III: Schools are open for in-person instruction with distancing measures 

Restrict attendance to those from limited transmission areas (other Step III areas) only. 

Group Size for In-Person Instruction by PreK Program Type 

Public PreK Programs 

The A Strong and Healthy Start: Safety and Health Guidance for Reopening Schools, Fall 2020 

states that children must be kept in groups, not to exceed the maximum number allowed by 

state guidance, including teachers and staff. 

Private PreK Programs 

The Vermont Department of Health’s  Guidance for Child Care and School Age Camps/Care 

states: 

• Children must be kept in groups, not to exceed the maximum number allowed by state 

Executive Order, including teachers and staff, although keeping children in pods of 25 is 

considered best practice.  

• Staff and family childcare providers are responsible to set-up the environment and to 

adjust practices based upon Vermont Department of Health COVID-19 health guidance. 

https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/COVID19-Health-Guidance-Childcare-Summer-Programs.pdf
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Children should be encouraged and supported by adhering to health and safety 

procedures as is developmentally appropriate.   

For Both Public and Private PreK Programs 

Please note that when childcare licensing regulations for classroom capacity require a smaller 

group size than the state Executive Order, both public and private PreK programs are required 

to continue to follow the smaller group size. 

Physical Distancing by PreK Program Type 

Public PreK Programs 

A Strong and Healthy Start: Safety and Health Guidance for Reopening Schools, Fall 2020 

recommends: 

• Physical distancing between 3-6 feet is acceptable in younger children (PreK to Grade 5) 

and when possible students should be spaced at least 3 feet apart.  

• When physical distancing is not possible, it is even more important for students and 

staff to adhere to the facial covering requirement. 

• Adults and adult staff within schools should maintain a distance of 6 feet from other 

adults as much as possible.  

• Teachers and staff should maintain a distance of 6 feet from students as much as 

possible. However, brief periods of closer contact, such as when a student may need 

one-on-one guidance, clarification or assistance are expected and permitted. In these 

cases, staff should stand/kneel/sit side-by-side students (rather than face-to-face) for 

brief amounts of time (less than 15 minutes). 

Private PreK Programs 

• Follow Guidance for Childcare and School Age Camps/Care on physical distancing 

practices.  

• For private PreK programs located in school buildings, please follow the public PreK 

programs physical distancing practices as stated above. 

Additional Practices to Consider  

• Rearrange furniture and play spaces to meet social distancing recommendations. 

• Use carpet squares, yarn, masking tape, mats, trays or other items to ensure children 

identify their learning spaces and appropriate boundaries. 

• Model social distancing when interacting with students, parents and colleagues. 

• Create and develop a scripted social story or role play activity to help children with 

disabilities who have trouble understanding what social distancing is. 

• Have fun with hula-hoops to emphasize personal ‘bubble space’ for each child. Place 

hula-hoops on floor for children to sit in during circle time; stand in when painting at 

the easel, or use during transition in hallway etc.  

https://education.vermont.gov/sites/aoe/files/documents/edu-vdh-guidance-strong-healthy-start-school-health-updated-8-11.pdf
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/COVID19-Health-Guidance-Childcare-Summer-Programs.pdf
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• Provide positive verbal reminders coupled with visual prompts/photographs to support 

children’s understanding of expectations.   

• Rotate small groups of children through center time play (centers). 

• Provide individual sensory bins to support sensory exploration for each and every 

child’s needs. 

• Pretend to be a butterfly, octopus, long snake or alligator as a tangible way to emphasize 

appropriate space and distance between children.  

• Offer students more opportunities for individual play and solo activities. For example, a 

teacher may ask students to draw, color, cut shapes or do puzzles to improve and 

practice their fine motor skills. 

• Plan activities that do not require close physical contact between multiple children. 

• Stagger indoor and outdoor play and adjust schedules to reduce the number of children 

in the same play area. 

• Send home a tip sheet for parents and caregivers so they learn about social distancing 

and the strategies that may help their children practice social distancing outside of the 

school environment. 

Resources 

AOE Act 166 Guidance: February 2019 Memo 

Vermont State Board of Education Manual of Rules Series 2600 Prekindergarten Education. 

Connecting with Families. National Center for Pyramid Model Innovations (NCPMI). 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Prevention: General Requirements and Prevention Ideas for 

Workplaces. CDC 

CDC Readiness and Planning Tool to Prevent the Spread of COVID-19 in K-12 Schools. CDC 
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