Re-Housing Recovery Program- 8/28/2020
e $6.2M of CRF
e LOI/NOFA- received 7 applications- selected 5
e Program Expansion Requests- occupied code violation units-(max 10%),
Energy Star Mobile Home replacement for rentals-(currently no), new unit
creation/ADU’s-(currently no)

Grant Agreements

Windham Windsor Housing Trust 25 units $937,500
NeighborWorks of Western Vermont 45 units $1,687,500
Downstreet 20 units $750,000
Champlain Housing Trust 20 units  $750,000
RuralEdge 20 units $750,000
Total 130 units $4,875,000

Rental Unit Rehabilitation.

Subrecipient shall administer a Re-housing Recovery Program to financially assist Vermont
landlords to restore blighted, vacant, and code-violating rental units to provide housing for
homeless and low-income residents who face an affordable housing shortage as a result of
the COVID-19 emergency.

1. Subrecipient shall submit the grant payment directly to the landlord.

2. Subrecipient shall develop a standard application form for landlords outlining the
application process that provides clear instructions and examples. The application shall
solicit voluntary demographic information from applicants for the purposes of research and
analytics to measure the program’s effectiveness in serving various populations.

3. Subrecipient shall implement a selection process that ensures equitable approval of
applications and a distribution system that ensures accountability for owners receiving the
funds.

4.  Subrecipient shall develop eligibility requirements to ensure the funds are applied towards
owners equitably.




5. Subrecipient shall develop eligibility requirements to ensure the proposed units meet the
requirements set in statute, including:

5.1.
5.2.

5.3.

5.4.
5.5.

5.6.

A property owner may apply for a grant of up to $30,000.00 per unit.

Units must be blighted, vacant, or otherwise not comply with applicable rental
housing health and safety laws. (See H.966/Act 137 for definitions).

Property owner shall:
5.3.1. Match at least 10% of the value of the grant; and

5.3.2.  Comply with applicable permit requirements and rental housing health and
safety laws.

Renovated units are made available to persons affected by the COVID-19 emergency.

The Landlord shall grant a Housing Affordability Covenant to Subrecipient, to be
recorded in the appropriate town land records which states that the rent charged
remains at or below annually published HUD Fair Market Rent for the County or
Metropolitan Statistical Area for at least five years;

If a property owner sells or transfers a property improved with grant funds within five
years of receiving the funds, the property continues to remain affordable for the
remainder of the five-year period via the Housing Affordability Covenant

6.  Subrecipient shall encourage and incentivize property owners to work with local continua
of care organizations (CoCs), including, but not limited to, requiring the owner to accept
the Standard Rental Application form used by the CoCs, and requiring the owner to review
a minimum of three applications referred via the local CoC.

Subrecipient shall limit awards to property owners to 15 units per owner. Subrecipient, in
coordination with DHCD may grant an exception to the unit limit for good cause.



