c/o LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL 115 STATE STREET MONTPELIER, VT 05633-5301

Rep. Sandy Haas, Vice Chair

Rep. Thomas Burditt Rep. Martin LaLonde Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan



PHONE: (802) 828-2231 FAX: (802) 828-2424

Sen. Joe Benning, Chair Sen. Becca Balint Sen. Alison Clarkson Sen. Richard Sears

## STATE OF VERMONT

## Legislative Committee on Judicial Rules

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

## **AGENDA**

See the livestream video here

10:00 a.m. Hon. John A. Dooley, Associate Justice (Ret.), Vermont Supreme Court,

Chair, Special Advisory Committee on Rules for Electronic Filing;

Hon. Walter Morris (Ret.), Reporter; Jeff Loewer, Chief Information

Officer, Vermont Supreme Court.

- 1. Emergency Rules (promulgated July 15, 2020; effective immediately).
- **a. Vermont Rules for Electronic Filing Rules 3(b) and 4.** Exceptions to electronic filing requirements and registration process for electronic filing system.
- 2. Update on status and implementation of electronic filing system.
- 10:30 a.m. 3. Practitioner Testimony on Electronic Filing System.

Matt Valerio, Vermont Defender General; Jordana Levine, Esq., Windsor County Primary Public Defense Contractor.

John Campbell, Executive Director, Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs; Tracy Shriver, Windham County State's Attorney; Ward Goodenough, Windsor County State's Attorney.

- 11:00 a.m. Harold Eaton, Jr., Associate Justice, Vermont Supreme Court, Co-Chair, Vermont Supreme Court Jury Restart Committee.
  - 4. Report on Resumption of Criminal Jury Trials.
- 11:30 a.m. Adjourn

If you have questions and/or comments, please contact Mike Ferrant at 802-828-2271 or <a href="mailto:mferrant@leg.state.vt.us">mferrant@leg.state.vt.us</a>