APPENDIX C - DOMESTIC VIOLENCE FATALITY REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Pursuant to 15 VSA § 1140(b), the Commission is comprised of 17 members, consisting of the following:

The Attorney General, or his or her designee;

Carolyn Hanson
Assistant Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609
802-828-5512 phone
802-828-2154 fax
carolyn hanson@vermont.gov

• The Commissioner of the Department of Health, or his or her designee;

Kimberly Swartz, MHSc
Director, Preventative Reproductive Health
Division of Maternal and Child Health
Vermont Department of Health
108 Cherry St., PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402
802-865-1338 phone
kimberly.swartz@ vermont.gov

Alternate:
Sally Kerschner, RN, MSN
Vermont Department of Health
108 Cherry St., PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402
802-652-4179 phone
sally.kerschner@ vermont.gov

The Commissioner of Department for Children and Families, or his or her designee;

Ellie Breitmaier
Coordinator of the Domestic Violence Unit
Department For Children and Families
103 S. Main St.
Waterbury, VT 05671
802-769-6314 phone
ellie.breitmaier@vermont.gov

• The Commissioner of the Department of Corrections, or his or her designee;

Gary Marvel
Fields Operations Manager
VT Department of Corrections
802-479-4458
gary.marvel@vermont.gov

• The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, or his or her designee;

Capt. Daniel Trudeau
Department of Public Safety
45 State Dr.
Waterbury, VT 05671
802-244-8727 phone
daniel.trudeau@vermont.gov

Alternate:
Kathryn (Kate) Brayton
kathryn.brayton@vermont.gov

The Chief Medical Examiner, or his or her designee;

Dr. Steve Shapiro
Office of Medical Examiner
Department of Health
111 Colchester Ave. Baird 1
Burlington, VT 05401
802-863-7320 phone
Steven.shapiro@vermont.gov

 A State's Attorney with experience prosecuting domestic violence cases, appointed by the Executive Director of the Vermont State's Attorneys' Association;

Tracy Shriver, Esq.
Windham County State's Attorney
185 Main St., 2nd Floor
PO Box 785
Brattleboro, VT 05302
802-257-2860 phone
802-257-2864 fax
tracy_shriver@vermont.gov

• The Defender General, or his or her designee;

Kerrie Johnson Defender General's Office 6 Baldwin Street, 4th Floor Montpelier, VT 05620-3301

kerrie.johnson@vermont.gov

A member of the Vermont Coalition of Batterer Intervention Services;

Melissa Deas
Representative for Coalition of Batterer Services
Batterer Invention Program
PO Box 321
Bristol, VT 05443-0321
melissadeas5@gmail.com

• A member of the Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence;

(vacant)
The Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
PO Box 405
Montpelier, VT 05601
phone
fax
@vtnetwork.org

• A representative of the Vermont Council on Domestic Violence;

Heather Holter
Coordinator
Vermont Council on Domestic Violence
Montpelier, Vermont
heather holter@tds.net

• A representative of local law enforcement, appointed by the Governor;

Shawn Burke, Chief
S. Burlington Police Department
19 Gregory Dr.
S. Burlington, VT 05403
846-4111 phone
846-4102 fax
sburke@southburlingtonpolice.org

 A victim or survivor of domestic violence, appointed by the Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence;

Susan Hardin

• A physician, appointed by the Governor;

Dr. Tania Bertsch

Emergency Dept.

111 Colchester Ave.

UVM

Alternate:

Dr. Mariah McNamara

UVM

Emergency Dept. 111 Colchester Ave. Burlington, VT 05401

mariah.mcnamara1@uvmhealth.org

Burlington, VT 05401 tania.bertsch@uvmhealth.org

 The Executive Director of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council, or his or her designee;

Jennifer Firpo
Training and Curriculum Coordinator
Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council
Vermont Police Academy
317 Academy Road
Pittsford, VT 05763-9712
802-483-6228 phone
802-483-2343 fax
jennifer.firpo@vermont.gov

The Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, or his or her designee;

Emily Hawes
Director of Mental Health Services
Vermont Department of Mental Health
Agency of Human Services
26 Terrace St.
Montpelier, VT
802-828-3856 phone
emily.hawes@vermont.gov

One Judge, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court.

The Honorable Kirstin Schoonover Superior Court Judge

kirstin.schoonover@vermont.gov