Renter Rebate Reform: Current Law vs. Reform Proposal

	Current Law	Reform	
Claimants per	One	No limit, but non-married adults in	
household		shared living situations receive 50%	
		scaled down credit	
Must be domiciled	Yes	Yes	
in VT full year			
Available to	No	No	
dependents			
Available to part	No	Yes, if rented for at least six months.	
year renters		Credit prorated based on months	
Sensitive to family	No	Yes, both the credit amounts and	
size		income parameters	
Sensitive to county	No	Yes, Both the credit amounts and	
of residency		income parameters	
Forms	3: Renter Rebate Form, Household	2: Renter Rebate Form and greatly	
	Income Form, Landlord Certificate	simplified Landlord Certificate	
Income limits	Household \$47,000	HUD "Very Low Income" by family size	
		by county	
Income Definition	Vermont "MAGI" of household	Medicaid "MAGI" of claimant	
Cliffs	Yes, at \$10,000, \$25,000 and	No. Smooth phaseout between HUD	
	\$47,000 of household income	extreme low income and very low	
		income.	
Adjusts for inflation	No	Yes. HUD annually inflates/resurveys	
		county income and rent	
Max/Min Credit	\$3,000 / NA	\$2,500 / \$100	
Subsidized Renter	Rent amount scaled by percent	Credit amount = 10% of gross rent	
	tenant pays after subsidy	actually paid by renter after subsidy	
Who calculates	Claimant (with Tax dept. review)	Tax Department	
	21% of contract rent minus (if less)	10% of HUD county rent based on	
Credit Calculation	percentage of income:	#exemptions (1 = 1 bedroom, 2 = 2	
(basic)	2.0% for income \$0 - \$9,999	bedroom, etc.). Credit phased out	
	4.5% for income \$10,000 - \$24,999	between HUD extremely low income	
	5.0% for income \$25,000 - \$47,000	level (ELIL = 30% of median) and very	
		low income level (VLIL/50% of median)	
Example Credit			
(2019):	21% of \$9,000 = \$1,890	HUD 10% of 2 bed avg. for Washington	
Parent and child,	5% of \$25,000 = \$1,250	County = \$1,243	
Washington county,	\$1,890 - \$1,250 = \$640	2 person: ELIL = \$18,900 and VLIL =	
\$25,000 income,		\$31,500	
\$9,000 annual rent		Phaseout Range: \$31,500 – \$18,900 =	
(=\$750 per month in		\$12,600	
contract rent which		Phaseout Proportion:	
is rent after any		\$31,500 - \$25,000 = \$6,500	
included items such		\$6,500 / \$12,600 = 51.6%	
utilities)		52% of \$1,277 = \$641	