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States That Offer lax Credits to Employers for Hiring Apprentices 

~} W as this page helpful? 

Alabama 
This law provides an income tax credit of $1,000 to an employer for each qualified apprentice of an employer and would also wp the 

cumulative tax creditr allowed at $3,000,000 for the frst hvo tax years following the passage of the bill and $5,000,000 for each tax year 

thereafter. This law also requires the Workforce Development Division of the Department of Commerce to provide an annual report to 

certain legislative committees regarding the effectiveness of the program. 

Employers hiring a youth apprentice shall be given a credit in the amount of $2,000 or 10 percent of the wages earned by the youth 

apprentice, whichever is less, against the tax imposed by the Arkansas Income Tax act. 
jitso`//ace Arkansas.gov cte Spe_rj  alProgra s gprenticeshipggplied5ciences/ygythApprent' 'p PageslfaxIncentiveEmplgyel~px 

Connecticut 
Any taxpayer who employs an apprentice enrolled and registered under the terms of a qualified manufacturing program is entitled to a 

tax credit far each eligible apprentice of up to $4,800.00 maximum or 50% of actual wages, whichever is less, provided such 
apprenticeships meet state requirements. 
iht p•//www ctdol.state.ct.us/pLgg~iptLappren/taxcr.htm 
Guam 
Any business that employs apprentices may receive a tax credit against its business privilege tax liability equal to 50 percent of all eligible 

costr paid or incurred by a program participant to train an apprentice. Eligible costs include direct wages and benefts of the apprentice, 

instructor costr, training costr and personal protective equipment costs. 
~p://www.guamcourts.org~~ilemfLaws/GCA/22gca 22gc044.pAf 
Louisiana 
Any program sponsor (employer/contractor) who pays the wages of an apprentice that is registered with the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission, Apprenticeship Division may receive a tax credit equal to $1/hour worked per calendar year, with a maximum allowable 

amount far each apprentice of $1,000/year. 
gip•//www laworks net/downloads/APPJAct 472 Appre 'p Tax Credit.q~ 
Maryland 
Maryland Apprenticeship Tax Credit provides a State income tax credit to Registered Apprenticeship Sponsors or participating employers 

(Employer) which hire an eligible Registered Apprentice(s). The Employer may qualify fora $1,000 tax credit for each eligible Registered 

Apprentice. 
hops•//wvuw dllr state.md us/em ~Ioyment ggr[aRortaxcreditinfoshtml 
Missouri -
The Youth Opportunity Program offers 50 percent tax credits for monetary contributions and wages paid to youth in an approved 

internship, apprenticeship or employment project, and 30%tax credits.for property or equipment contributions used specifcally for the 

project. 
ih p•//www.ded.mo.gov/BCS°/a20Programs/BCSProgramDetails.aspx?BC gramID=85 
Montana 
HB 308 provides state businesses with a $750 tax credit for every person hired where the worker is offered on-the-job training through 

the Montana Registered Apprenticeship once. For every veteran hired and given an apprenticeship opportunity, businesses will be 

provided a $1,500 tax credit. The apprenticeship tax credit will allow veterans to use skills and leadership they learned while serving in 

the military to industry sectors. 
~~~g.r~5,gov/bills/2017/BiIIPdf/HB0308 p~ 
Nevada 
Exemptr from taxation all qualified real and personal property of an apprenticeship program. Title 32 Revenue and Taxation, Chapter 361 

Property Tax, NRS 361.106 
http~g state nv usINRS/NRS-361 html#NR53615ec106 
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Rhode Island 
Employers that hire apprentices in certain manufacturing occupations may be eligible for a tax credit of 50 percent of actual wages or 
$4,800, whichever is less. 
~h $p: //www.dlt. ri.gov/esu/tax[reditr. htm 
South Carolina 
Eligible businesses can receive a tax credit of $1,000 for each registered apprentice employed for at least seven monNs during each year 
of an apprentice's program, for up W four years of such a program. 
http• www.apprenticeshipcarolina com/resources html 
Virginia 
Employers may claim a tax credit for providing eligible worker retraining to qualifed employees including apprentices that are approved 
by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council. The credit is 30 percent of all training costr through a community college, or up to $100 annual 
credit for each employee if incurred at a private school. 
~~://www.tax.virg'~r~.gov/taxforms/Bu in ~5/ r di /5 h dule°/ 0 R°/ OIn truction Rd( 
West Virginia 
Employers may claim a tax credit for hiring apprentices in the construction trades. the credit may not exceed $1000 or 50 percent of the 
actual wages paid in the tax year for the apprenticeship. 
~h ~.legisstate wv.us/wvmde/Code cfm~chap=ll&art=13W 

States That Offer Tuition Support for Registered Apprentices 
California 
Funds allow community colleges to provide most instruction for apprenticeship programs. http://www.cde ca.gov ci ap a mi .a p 
Delaware 
The Adult Education and Work Force Training Grant portion of HB #200 provides funds to Vocational Technical Schools to support tuition 
for registered apprentices. 
hi5p~gis.delaware.gov/LIS/1is147 nsF/a6df4f28b249456485256ae9006164c0/0658150a75051e858s257b8600632566~0oenDo[ument 
Florida 

• State Statute 446.051(2) encourages Career educational institutions to cooperate and assist in providing facilities, equipment 
and supplies, and instructor's salaries for the performance of related and supplemental instruction associated with the registered 
program. 
http: w.leg.state.Fl.us/Statutes/indez.cfm?App mode=Display Statute&Search String=&URL=0400-
0499/0446/Sections/0446 OS1 html 

• 2012 Florida Statute, 1009.25 Fee exemptlons far studentr enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program, as defined in s. 
446.021. 
~p~g state.fl us/statutes/indez.dm~App mode=Display Statute&URL=1000-1099/1009/Sections/1009 25 html 

Georgia 
Georgia residents who are attending a Georgia public technical college to earn a certificate or diploma are eligible for a HOPE Grant 
regardless of high school graduation date or grade average. This fund covers approximately 70% of student expenses. Additionally, the 
State Legislature has established the Hope Career Grant for seleR high demand occupations. Additlonal funding is allocated each year to 
allow for virtually free tuition for students entering these select occupations. 

Seventy percent (70%) of its Manpower Development Fund is allocated to the Apprenticeship Training Program at the Guam Community 
College to be expended exclusively to fund the administrative and instructional cosFs for the operation of the apprenticeship training 
programs; advertising and outreach programs for the promotion of the apprenticeship training programs; and direct financial assistance 
to students enrolled in the apprenticeship program. 

Indiana 
The state created a special employment and training fund, IC 22-4-25-1, from the penalties and interest from the Unemployment 
Insurance system to fund various training programs. Ivy Tech Community College receives funds to train apprentices in joint labor 
management apprenticeship programs. Funds are also used to pay instructors far general education towards an Pssociate's degree and 
journey worker upgrade courses. 
~h  : ww .gov/Ieoislative/idmde/title22/ar4/ch25 p~f . 
Iowa 
The Iowa Departmerrt of Economic Development funds $1 million a year to support Registered Apprenticeship through the Iowa Jobs 
Training Program (260F). It provides job paining services to current employees of eligible businesses that are located in the state. 
Businesses can work with their local Iowa community college, which will assess training needs, determine the availability of funds and 
provide training. Funds go to businesses, not apprentices. 

Maine Revised Statutes Title 26, §3211, 6-A states that the Maine Department of Labor "shall underwrite 50 percent of tuitlon costr for 
apprentices in good standing atpublic educational institutions and provide training cost assistance W sponsor groups in ac[ordance with 
sponsor policies. 
http://www.mainelegislature.orgLgis/s~Ntes/26/title26sec3211 html 
North Carolina 
The State Board of Community Colleges may provide by general and uniform regulations for waiver of tuition and registration fees for 
courses provided to studentr who are participating in a Registered ApP~enticeship program that requires the participantr to be high 
school studentr when entering the program. 
www.ndeg.net/EnactedLeglslAtion/SessionLaws/HTML~2015-2016/SL~016-94 html 
Tennessee -
The state offers tuition assistance up ro $11,600 for hvo years ($5,800 per year) at the schools, institutions, and entlties governed by the 
Tennessee Board of Regents and the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees, as well as state certified apprenticeship programs. 
Tuition assistance benefitr are available for a tv✓o-year period beginning when an employee is separated due to a reduction in force. 
httn://Cn'g v toll gepays v p.htm 
Texas 
The Texas Workforce Commission provides funds to local public educational institutions to support the costs of related classroom 
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instruction in registered apprenticeship training programs. Local education agencies act as fscal agents for registered apprenticeship 
training programs. 
~tp~//www hvc state.6c.us/sues/apprentice/agprentice.html 
Washington State 
Registered apprentices may be given a 50 percent tuition reduction at community and technical colleges. The State Board for 
Community and Technical Colleges issues policy on tuition and fee rates annually. (See attached "Apprenticeship Fee Guidance;' from the 
Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.) 
www sbdc edu/college/f tuition.aspx 
Wisconsin 
Apprentices pay $120 per credit (36 hours). The 144 hours of related instruction per year requirement costs $480. Apprentices are paid 
their hourly wage to attentl class, and in same cases, tuition is reimbursed by sponsors or joint training funds. 
Wisconsin Statutes also see 5106. Su6chapterl Apprentice Programs, esp. 5.106.01(6) 
1L~(os•//does.legis.wisconsin.gov/stah~tes/statutes/106 
S. 38.001(lm) and (2a) Mission and Purpose - diredreference to training ofapprentices 
WTCS State Board Policies (~CSB). 
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