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Report Suspected Child Abuse & Neglect
1-800-649-5285

If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, call Vermont’s Child Protection Line to
report it — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If the child is in immediate danger, dial 911 or the
local police first. Then, call to make a report.

All Vermonters are encouraged to report their concerns about children’s safety. Mandated
reporters are legally required to report suspected child abuse and neglect within 24 hours.

To learn more, go to http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting.

Online Mandated Reporter Training
Our two-hour training for mandated reporters will teach you about the:
2 Dynamics of child abuse and neglect
< Responsibilities of mandated reporters in Vermont

2 Role we all play in keeping children safe

Visit our website at the address below to access the training. Once you've
successfully completed the final exam, you’ll get a Certificate of Completion.

https://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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MESSAGE FROM THE DCF COMMISSIONER

I would like to welcome the new Family Services Deputy Commissioner
Christine Johnson who joined us on June 10. Christine has worked in
Human Services for the last 28 years, most recently as the Executive
Director of the Chittenden County Opioid Alliance. In that role, she
implemented a collective impact model to address the opioid epidemic,
understanding that solving this issue requires a community approach.

We are excited that she has joined our team!

For the first time, this report also includes Vermont juvenile court data. This was done

to show the life of child protection cases — from the initial intake calls taken by Family
Services staff to the conclusion of cases in court. While our caseload continues to rise, we
are beginning to see a decrease in the calls to our child protection hotline and in the court
filings related to child abuse and neglect. We are hopeful this trend will continue.

We continue looking for opportunities to prevent and address abuse in Vermont, and I
would like to highlight a few initiatives:

< We are working with the judiciary, States” Attorneys, Office of the Defender General and
legislature on Children In Need of Supervision (CHINS) reform.

< A new approach using Judicial Masters is being piloted to help improve the flow of cases
through the juvenile court.

< We are hopeful that a Family Treatment Court Pilot will be implemented to address
instances where substance use is the predominant factor in a CHINS case.

< We are engaged in a legislatively-appointed study through the University of Vermont to
look at the factors contributing to the high rate of children coming into State’s custody.

Through all of this, we hope to decrease the number of children in DCF custody and safely
keep more children in their homes or with relatives. We will continue our efforts to support
parents who are struggling with substance use, housing instability and mental health
concerns by connecting them with services to help them stabilize.

Our challenge to protect children and support families is ongoing. I am deeply appreciative
of our committed Family Services staff, foster parents and community partners who engage
with children and families on a daily basis. Thank you.

Ken Schatz, DCF Commissioner
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MESSAGE FROM THE FSD DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

I am honored to be the new Deputy Commissioner of the Family
Services Division (FSD) of the Department for Children and Families.
FSD plays a pivotal role in both child protection and youth justice

in Vermont. We work closely with our current partners and build
pathways with new ones to ensure our child welfare system is robust
and equipped to support families in their times of greatest need.

We value the role data plays in understanding how we are doing and
where to focus our attention to make improvements. This report is an
example of how we use data to understand the capacity needed in our child welfare system
and to dovetail our responses and programs.

I would like to highlight a few recent initiatives:

< In 2018, we embarked on a year-long strategic planning process that will guide our
division for the next three years. We will use the plan to focus on the priorities identified
through this process and look forward to sharing the results in the coming year.

< We are working with the Capacity Building Center for States on continuous quality
improvement in an effort to track our outcomes and evaluate our progress.

A strong system is vital to making sure children grow up in safe and healthy homes,
schools and communities. A strong system is one in which everyone plays a role.

I witness the dedication of our staff, foster and kinship foster parents and community
partners every day as they work to meet the needs of children, young people and families.

We look forward to working with you to support children and families living lives full of
love and hope.

(ot Ot

Christine Johnson, FSD Deputy Commissioner
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report provides child protection data for calendar year 2018 in Vermont.
Here are the highlights:
< 20,779 reports were made to the Child Protection Line in 2018 — 422 fewer than in 2017.

< Atleast 77% of the reports made were from mandated reporters; at least 17% were from
non-mandated reporters.

< Of the 20,779 reports received , we opened 5,326 child safety interventions:
= 3,173 investigations

= 2,153 assessments

< At the conclusion of the 5,326 child safety interventions, 1,281 cases were opened for
ongoing services.

< At the conclusion of the 3,173 investigations, we substantiated 999 reports.
< Based on these substantiated reports, there were:

= 1,182 unique child victims

= 1,036 incidents of abuse

* 162 of physical abuse

382 of sexual abuse

65 of risk of sexual abuse
392 of risk of harm

35 of emotional maltreatment/neglect

< During the last quarter of 2018, there were:
= 1,283 children in DCF custody

= 743 children in the conditional custody of a parent, relative or other person known to
the child and family

= 512 families getting ongoing services after an investigation or assessment determined
there was a high to very high-risk of future maltreatment
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REPORTS OF SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE & NEGLECT

We encourage all Vermonters to call our Child Protection Line if they are
concerned about a child’s safety and well-being— whether or not they are
mandated by law to do so. 1-800-649-5285

Reports to the Child Protection Line

20,779 in 2018 from 2014 to 2018
The number of reports 22,000
made to Vermont’s Child 20,000
Protection Line decreased 18,000
slightly — from a high of 16,000
21,201 in 2017 down to ’
20,779 in 2018. That's 14,000
422 fewer reports. 12,000
10,000
oy Loy 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018
ﬁ ﬂ M Reports| 19,288 | 20,233 | 20,583 | 21,201 | 20,779

At least 77% of reports came from mandated reporters.
At least 17% of reports came from non-mandated reporters.

Reports Alleging Child Abuse and Neglect
by reporter type (2018)

Anonymous | 3%
Unspecified — 3%

Non-Mandated — 17%
Other Mandated — 7%
Social Services — 7%
Mental Health — 13%
Medical — 6%

Legal/Law Enforcement 12%

Education I 32%

Learn more about mandated reporters at https.//dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated.
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FLOWCHART SHOWING WHAT HAPPENS TO REPORTS

May be
Intake Not |- > referred to
Report Accepted community

services

Accepted
Unsubstantiate, / \\
low or moderate dLOWtor »
: moderate ris
risk — case q -
- Investigation Assessment [—>| _
closed within g Ca_;?_ Clzged
60 days within
. / \/ \ \ to 60 days
Unsubstantiate, Substantiate, Substantiate, . e
high or very high low or high or very ligh or very hig
risk - case moderate high risk - risk- case opened
opened for risk - case case opened for ongoing services
ongoing closed within for ongoing
services 60 days services

Substantiate Case transferred to ongoing
Report Family Services worker
Due process, Initial case plan due 60 days Initial case plan due within
right to appeal from date of risk assessment 60 days of child(ren)
substantiation if no child(ren) in custody coming into custody

l

Risk reassessment every
90 days from initial case plan

Child
Protection

Registry Low/moderate risk = case closed

High/very high risk = case remains open

To learn more about what happens to the reports we receive, visit our website at

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated/what-happens.
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REPORTS ACCEPTED FOR INTERVENTION

5,326 Child Safety Interventions in 2018

Vermont law authorizes two types of intervention:

1. Assessments
2. Investigations

While the preferred intervention is usually assessment, an investigation
is legally required in certain situations. To learn more, read FSD Policy

52 - Child Safety Interventions: Investigations & Assessments online at
https://dcf.vermont.gov/fsd/policies.

DA

CALENDAR YEAR

2014

2015

2016

2017

2018

Calls to Vermont’s Child

. . 19,288 | 20,233 | 20,583 | 21,201 20,779
Protection Line
Total reports accepted for 5,846 | 5,630 5,509 @ 5,527 | 5,326
intervention (30%) (28%) (27%) (26%) (25%)
- Investigations 2,877 2,634 2,835 3,054 3,173
- Assessments 2,969 2,996 2,674 2,473 2,153
¢ Child abuse assessments 1,688 1,618 1,421 1,351 1,130
* Family assessments 1,281 1,378 1,253 1,122 1,023
Outcomes of interventions:
- Investigations substantiated? 652 773 737 876 999
- Cases opened for services? 916 1,050 | 1,068 | 1,230 | 1,281

1 INVESTIGATIONS SUBSTANTIATED: A report is substantiated if the evidence found during the
investigation would lead a reasonable person to believe the child was abused or neglected.

2 CASES OPENED FOR SERVICES: A case is opened for ongoing services if, during any type of

intervention, the assessed risk of future maltreatment is determined to be high or very high.



https://dcf.vermont.gov/fsd/policies

VICTIMS OF CHILD ABUSE & NEGLECT

The data in the table below is based on substantiated reports?! of child
abuse and neglect. The number of unique child victims listed is an
unduplicated count. This means that each child victim is counted only
once, regardless of the number of times they were found to be victimized
during the reporting year.

o Unique Child Victims, 2005 - 2018
1,182
1,098
1,100
992 984
942 945
900 866 868
782
757
737 699 724 713
700
500
300
100
N © ~ 0 o o — ~ ™ < N © ~ )
-100 Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q

! When DCF investigates a report of child abuse or neglect, we must decide whether a reasonable
person would believe that it happened. If the answer is YES, the report is substantiated and
the person’s name is added to the Child Protection Registry - a database of all substantiated
reports of child abuse and neglect dating back to January 1, 1992.
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ONGOING FAMILY SERVICES CASELOAD

Our ongoing caseload includes the following types of cases:

2 Kids in DCF custody:
When a family court judge places a child in the temporary
custody of the Department for Children and Families because
of concerns about a child’s safety and well-being.

2 Kids in conditional custody:
When a family court judge places a child in the conditional
custody of a parent, relative or other person known to the
family and orders DCF to stay involved — to supervise,
provide services and ensure the child’s safety.

2 Families getting ongoing support:
When an investigation or assessment determines there’s a
high to very high risk of future maltreatment and a case is
opened for ongoing services.

Family Services Ongoing Caseload
point-in-time, Q4 annually

00
O
—
—

M Kids in DCF custody W Kidsin conditional custody m Families getting ongoing support
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VERMONT JUVENILE COURT DATA

Vermont court cases include two main categories of juvenile cases:

1. CHildren In Need of care and Supervision (CHINS), which includes children
who may have been abandoned, abused or neglected; beyond their parent’s

control; and truant.

2.Youth who committed a delinquent act.

The data in the table below comes from the Vermont Judiciary’s Annual

Statistical Report. To see the full reports, go to http://www.vermontjudiciary.

org/about-vermont-judiciary/court-statistics-and-reports.

STATE FISCAL YEAR

FY2014 FY2015

FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019

CHINS — abused or neglected 809 | 1,065 | 1,066 921 | 1,100 | 897
CHINS — truant 123 112 137 165 183 130
CHINS — beyond parent’s control 93 84 85 65 75 68
Delinquency 668 704 738 705 884 708
Youthful offender 54 44 43 33 33 5041
TOTAL 1,747 | 2,009 | 2,069 | 1,889 | 2,275 | 2,307

1. In 2016, the Vermont legislature changed the law to make youth 21 years of age or younger eligible for
youthful offender status when charged with a crime in Vermont.

This was done to:

< Bring the law more in line with science that shows youth in that age group don’t have fully developed
brains and are more amenable to treatment and rehabilitation.

< Avoid treating juveniles as adults, with the exception of the most serious offenses.

< Mitigate major consequences for youth charged in adult court (e.g., a public record, exclusion from

the military and ineligibility for student loans).

This change expanded the population eligible for youthful offender status, resulting in a significant

increase in the number of youthful offender cases starting July 1, 2018.
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ADDITIONAL CHILD PROTECTION DATA

Visit the DCF website for additional child protection data, including:
2 Annual child protection reports dating back to 2006
< Profiles of interventions & outcomes by district, for 2014 to 2018
2 2018 data on:

= Reports substantiated by abuser-child relationship

= Reports substantiated by age of abuser

= Reports substantiated by gender of abuser

= Reports substantiated by gender of victim & type of abuse

= Reports substantiated by type of abuse

= Reports substantiated by victim’s age and type of abuse

https://dcf.vermont.gov/child-protection-data
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HELP PREVENT CHILD
ABUSE IN VERMONT

If you suspect that a child is
being abused or neglected,
call Vermont’s Child Protection Line
— 24 hours a day, 7 days a week —
to make a report.

1-800-649-5285

dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting
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