State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 162

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division III championship field hockey team

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, Quimby of Concord, Seymour of Sutton, and Toll of Danville

Offered by: Senators Kitchel and Benning

Whereas, until 2018, no St. Johnsbury Academy field hockey team had ever won a divisional championship, but this past fall's team comprised a talented squad, including 10 returning players, and

Whereas, the fourth-seeded Hilltoppers earned a berth in the decisive Division III contest against second-seeded Stowe, and the two teams played under less than ideal weather conditions at the University of Vermont's Moulton Winder Field, and

Whereas, after a scoreless first half, St. Johnsbury took a more offensive tack, scoring two goals to seal a 2–0 Division III championship victory, and concluded the season with both a 13-3-1 record and an impressive 11-game unbeaten streak, and

Whereas, Hilltoppers Anona Henning, Morgan Belknap, Michaela Roy, Natalie Cartwright, Haleigh Daft, Morgan Stanton, Madi Labounty, Ella Ceppetelli, Taryn Tremblay, Izzy Wajda, Grace Limoges, Polly Currier, Sydney Strohm, Alexa Maher, Hannah Roberts, Grace Clark, Ozora Rice, Ally Corrow, Jane Goodrich, Mikaela Strzempko, Delaney Payeur, Breanna Fearon, Lilly Laufenberg, Madison Duranleau, Hannah Angell, Alexis Duranleau, Melanie Coons, and Elizabeth Mastroianni-Douglass were each dedicated to the team's success, and

Whereas, Head Coach Tara Bailey, assistant coaches Olivia Cunningham and Kathryn Vereline, and team manager Jahla Kimball each contributed to the Hilltoppers' great 2018 season, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division III championship field hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.