JOURNAL OF THE JOINT ASSEMBLY of the STATE OF VERMONT BIENNIAL SESSION, 2019

IN JOINT ASSEMBLY, JANUARY 10, 2019

10:00 A.M.

The Senate and the House of Representatives met in the Hall of the House of Representatives pursuant to a Joint Resolution which was read by the Clerk and is as follows:

J.R.S. 2. Joint resolution to provide for a Joint Assembly to receive the report of the committee appointed to canvass votes for state officers.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, January 10, 2019, at ten o'clock in the forenoon to receive the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts and Attorney General, and if it shall be declared by said Committee that there had been no election by the voters of any of said state officers, then to proceed forthwith to elect such officers as have not been elected by the voters.

Presiding Officer

Honorable David E. Zuckerman, President of the Senate, in the Chair.

Clerk

John H. Bloomer, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, Clerk.

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee

Senator White, Co-Chair, then presented the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee, which was as follows:

The Joint Canvassing Committee appointed to canvass the votes for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, State Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor of Accounts, and Attorney General respectfully reports:

That having been duly sworn, it has attended to the duties of its trust and finds the number of votes to have been:

JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

For GOVERNOR	274,087
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	137,044
Trevor Barlow, Independent	
Cris Ericson, Independent	
Christine Hallquist, Democratic	
Charles Laramie, Independent	
Stephen Marx, Earth Rights	
Emily "Em" Peyton, Liberty Union	1,839
Philip B. Scott, Republican	151,261
Scattering (write-in votes)	1,115

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

PHILIP B. SCOTT

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR	271,295
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	135,648
Murray Ngoima, Liberty Union	4,108
Don, Turner, Jr., Republican	108,417
David E. Zuckerman, Progressive/Democratic	158,530
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

DAVID E. ZUCKERMAN

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Lieutenant Governor of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For STATE TREASURER	
Necessary to have a major part of the votes	
Richard Morton, Republican	
Elizabeth A. "Beth" Pearce, Democratic	
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

ELIZABETH A. "BETH" PEARCE

received a major part of the votes, and therefore was elected Treasurer of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For SECRETARY OF STATE	267,712
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
James C. Condos, Democratic	178,863
Mary Alice Herbert, Liberty Union	
H. Brooke Paige, Republican	79,035
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

JAMES C. CONDOS

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Secretary of State of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For AUDITOR OF ACCOUNTS	259,375
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Marina Brown, Liberty Union	10,947
Douglas R. Hoffer, Democratic/Progressive	160,291
Richard Kenyon, Republican	
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to the Constitution of the State of Vermont, the Committee hereby declares that

DOUGLAS R. HOFFER

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Auditor of Accounts of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

For ATTORNEY GENERAL	267,021
Plurality, not a major part of the vote, is required	
Thomas J. Donovan, Democratic	
Rosemarie Jackowski, Liberty Union	
Janssen Willhoit, Republican	
Scattering (write-in votes)	

Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §151, the Committee hereby declares that

THOMAS J. DONOVAN

received the greatest number of the votes, and therefore was elected Attorney General of the State of Vermont for the two years next ensuing.

All of which is respectfully submitted.

JEANETTE K. WHITE Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the Senate

SARAH COPELAND-HANZAS Chair of the Joint Canvassing Committee on the part of the House

Report of the Joint Canvassing Committee Adopted

Upon motion of Representative Copeland-Hanzas, Co-Chair, the report of the Joint Canvassing Committee was adopted.

Dissolution

Thereupon, the President declared that the Joint Assembly was dissolved.

JOHN H. BLOOMER, JR. Secretary of the Senate Clerk of the Joint Assembly