No. R-150. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Thetford Academy Panthers girls' soccer team on winning a second consecutive Division III championship.

(H.C.R.124)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Briglin of Thetford

Whereas, girls' soccer at Thetford Academy has recently reached great heights, with the Panthers appearing in the 2016 Division III championship game and winning the 2017 title, and

Whereas, 2018 proved another great season on the field, as Thetford earned the top seed in the playoff competition, and its string of victories in the preliminary rounds resulted in a playoff berth against the sixth-seeded Vergennes Union High School Commodores, and

Whereas, at the decisive game played in Randolph, both teams were battling the rainy weather as well as the opposing squad, and

Whereas, a defensively dominated first half broke open with one minute and eleven seconds remaining as Thetford scored with a head-propelled goal, and in the second half the Panthers added a crucial goal, ensuring a 2–1 victory, despite the Commodores' scoring before the game's conclusion, and

Whereas, the Panthers' 2018 championship roster consisted of Emma Berard, Emma Colby, Gevie Horster, Kiana Johnson, Abby Berard, Chloe Benjamin, Ellen Veracka, Casey MacVeagh, Emi Vaughan, Grace Davis, Namya Benjamin, Kiran Black, Jade Jamieson, Arwen Clayton, Kelsey Smith, Lily MacVeagh, Lily Brown, Madi Powers, Autumn Horniak, Emma Thorburn, Crystal Parshley, Lexi Gaetz, and Becca Wells, and

Whereas, Head Coach Dave Williams and assistant coaches Ted MacVeagh and Patty Sevigny were proud of their players' accomplishment, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Thetford Academy Panthers girls' soccer team on winning a second consecutive Division III championship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Thetford Academy.