No. R-135. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2019 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III boys' basketball championship team.

(H.C.R.109)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Briglin of Thetford

Offered by: Senator MacDonald

<u>Whereas</u>, during the regular season, the Thetford Academy Panthers and the Williamstown Blue Devils split their two-game series, each winning at their opponent's home court, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the third-seeded Thetford Academy Panthers earned the chance in 2019 to block the Blue Devils from winning yet another Division III title, and

<u>Whereas</u>, despite past championship game challenges, Thetford was eager to engage Williamstown in basketball battle, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the game did not start ideally for the Panthers, as they trailed 16–4 at the first quarter's conclusion, but by halftime they were narrowly on top 28–27, and at the final whistle they had secured a 73–64 victory and the 2019 Division III crown, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Panthers who played an amazing championship game and had a great season were Seth Boyce, Ethan Steingas, Ryen Wolf, Eli Dunnet, Tony Pippin, Alex Emerson, Carter Blain, Owen Deffner, Jake Colby, Jackson Ransom, and Eamon Deffner, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Jason Gray, assistant coaches Tim Ouellette and Ray Thorburn, and team managers Skyra Colter and Allyson Perry each cheered the Panthers to victory, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2019 Thetford Academy Panthers Division III boys' basketball championship team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Thetford Academy.