## No. R-118. Joint resolution providing for a Joint Assembly to vote on the retention of eight Superior Judges and one Magistrate.

## (J.R.S.17)

By Senator Nitka,

*Whereas*, declarations have been submitted by the following eight Superior Judges that they be retained for another six-year term, Judge William D. Cohen, Judge Robert P. Gerety, Jr., Judge Kevin William Griffin, Judge Samuel Hoar, Jr., Judge Elizabeth D. Mann, Judge Megan J. Shafritz, Judge Timothy B. Tomasi and Judge Thomas A. Zonay and one Magistrate that she be retained for another six year term, Magistrate Alicia Humbert, and

*Whereas*, the procedures of the Joint Committee on Judicial Retention require at least one public hearing and the review of information provided by each candidate and the comments of members of the Vermont bar and the public, and

*Whereas*, the Committee was unable to fulfill its responsibilities under subsection 608(b) of Title 4 to evaluate the judicial performance of the candidates seeking to be retained in office by March 14, 2019, the date specified in subsection 608(e) of Title 4, and for a vote in Joint Assembly to be held on March 21, 2019, the date specified in subsection 10(b) of Title 2, and

*Whereas*, subsection 608(g) of Title 4 permits the General Assembly to defer action on the retention of judges to a subsequent Joint Assembly when the Committee is not able to make a timely recommendation, *now therefore be it* 

## **Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:**

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Wednesday, March 27, 2019, at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon to vote on the retention of eight Superior Judges and one Magistrate. In case the vote to retain said Judges and Magistrate shall not be made on that day, the two Houses shall meet in Joint Assembly at ten o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon, on each succeeding day, Saturdays and Sundays excepted, and proceed until the above is completed