No. R-91. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship field hockey team.

(H.C.R.73)

Offered by: Representatives Elder of Starksboro, Cordes of Lincoln, and Smith of New Haven

Offered by: Senators Bray and Hardy

Whereas, field hockey fans, arriving for the 2018 championship game at the University of Vermont, anticipated an exciting contest between the first-seeded Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles and the second-seeded Burr and Burton Academy Bulldogs, and

Whereas, despite coping with the challenge of playing on an extremely wet field, each team proved it deserved its respective top-level playoff ranking, and

Whereas, a game with greater excitement and tension could not have been imagined, and

Whereas, the Eagles led 2–0 at halftime, but the Bulldogs charged forward, scoring twice in the second half, sending the game into post-regulation play that ended victoriously for the Eagles when they scored a goal at the 4:12 mark of the second overtime period, and

Whereas, Eagles Brynn Winchester, Elizabeth Porter, Jnana Breck-Arndt, Casondra Dykstra, Molly Laurent, Evan Laurent, Sarah Lavigne, Jalen Cook, Ava Konczal, Camille Lyons, Abby Hoff, Olivia Heath, Elayna Jennings, Maizy Shepard, Sydney Perlee, Sawyer Forbes, Abby Reen, Rosa Tropp, Carly Rougier, Kira Murray, and Chessley Jackman constituted a truly exceptional squad, and Head Coach Mary Stetson and assistant coaches Lisa Roscoe, Jennifer Myers, Kayla Bessette, and Lucy Pellegrini gave the players great assistance and support, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Mt. Abraham Union High School Eagles Division II championship field hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mount Abraham Union High School.