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This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the General 

Assembly.  It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be 

exhaustive.  It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Council without 

input from members of the General Assembly.  It is not intended to aid in the interpretation 

of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.  

 

Act No. 149 (S.339).  Motor vehicles; transportation; public records 

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to vehicles 

This act:  

• Nondriver Identification Cards.  Adds a new subsection (m) to 23 V.S.A. 

§ 115 establishing a fee of $0.00 for a nondriver identification card issued to 

“[a]n individual sentenced to serve a period of imprisonment of six months or 

more committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections . . ..”  

• Electronic In-Transit Permit.  Adds a new section, 23 V.S.A. § 518, creating 

an electronic in-transit permit to be issued by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles and available for inter- and intrastate transit when the applicant 

purchases the motor vehicle from someone other than a registered motor 

vehicle dealer. 

• U.S. Armed Forces License Extensions.  Expands the license extension for 

members of the U.S. Armed Forces to also apply for an immediate family 

member of a member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is out of State because of 

service in the U.S. Armed Forces or the Reserve Component of the U.S. 

Armed Forces. 

• Waiver of Examination.  Expands, from one year to three years, the length of 

time that a chauffeur’s or operator’s license from a jurisdiction other than 

Vermont can be expired and the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles 

(Commissioner) still have the discretion to waive the required examination. 

• Suspensions.  Adds a new subsection (g) to 23 V.S.A. § 671 establishing that 

if the Commissioner receives official notice that an individual’s right to 

operate a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked in another jurisdiction, 

the Commissioner may suspend the individual’s license or right to operate in 

Vermont after the opportunity for a hearing. 

• Waiver of Reinstatement Fee.  Authorizes the Judicial Bureau hearing officer 

to waive the reinstatement fee required pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 675(a) in 

certain circumstances. 

• School Buses.  Changes when school buses need to be inspected and the 

permissible and required colors of school buses. 



Act No. 149  Page 2 of 3 

2020 

 

VT LEG #349275 v.2 

 

• Exempt Vehicle Title.  Makes an exempt vehicle title available when a motor 

vehicle is more than 15, as opposed to 25, years old. 

• Weight and Length Restrictions.  Adds additional exceptions for heavy-duty 

tow and recovery vehicles and towaway trailer transporter combinations and 

makes additional changes regarding commercial motor vehicle weights. 

• Commercial Motor Vehicle Operations.  Adds a definition for “mail” and 

utilizes the definition in 23 V.S.A. chapters 27, 28, and 35; modifies the 

process of issuing credits and refunds for diesel tax and apportioned 

registration fees; and reorganizes the section on disqualification of a 

commercial driver’s license to be appropriately grouped and adds a new basis 

for a disqualification for life (a felony involving an act or practice of severe 

forms of trafficking in persons involving a motor vehicle). 

• Snowmobiles.  Permits proof of snowmobile education certificate to be shown 

with a copy, which can be shown on a portable electronic device; and corrects 

references to fines that are civil penalties and an incorrect internal citation. 

• All-Terrain Vehicles.  Modifies the definition of an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) 

to have a maximum dry weight of up to 2,500 pounds as opposed to 1,700 

pounds. 

• Online Permitting System.  Authorizes the Commissioner to initiate the design 

and development of a centralized online permitting system for weight and 

length permits issued by the Agency of Transportation with the capability of 

expanding the system for weight and length permits issued by municipalities. 

• Permitting Report.  Requires the Agency of Transportation to study and report 

on safety or financial implications to infrastructure if certain permits are not 

required. 

• Public Records Request Report.  Requires the Department of Motor Vehicles 

to prepare a report on the release of personal information pursuant to 23 

V.S.A. §§ 104 and 114. 

• Lighted STOP/SLOW Paddles.  Requires the Agency of Transportation to 

conduct a pilot program on the use of lighted STOP/SLOW paddles and 

prepare a report on the same. 

• Speeding in a School Zone.  Adds a new section, 23 V.S.A. § 1017, doubling 

the civil penalty for violating a speed limit in a school zone. 

• Use of Handheld Devices.  Doubles the civil penalties for violating the use of 

handheld devices statutes, 23 V.S.A. §§ 1095a and 1095b, in a school or work 

zone. 
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• Texting.  Doubles the civil penalties for violating the texting prohibited 

statute, 23 V.S.A. § 1099, and modifies the point assessments to include 

gradation based on location and number of convictions. 

• Move Over Law.  Specifies that, if safety conditions permit, an operator 

approaching certain stationary vehicles should make a lane change to a lane 

farther away from the stationary vehicle and requires that if an operator must 

remain in the lane adjacent to the stationary vehicle the operator shall slow 

down to a reasonable, safe, and prudent speed given the safety conditions; 

requires an operator who approaches a work zone to proceed with caution and 

slow down to a reasonable, safe, and prudent speed given the safety conditions 

and make a lane change away from workers if they are only present on one 

side of the highway and it is safe to make such a lane change. 

• Railroad Crossings.  Adds a new subdivision (86) to 23 V.S.A. § 4 defining 

“on-track equipment” and expands railroad crossing laws regarding railroad 

trains to also apply to other on-track equipment. 

• Sunsets.  Extends sunsets for certain municipal regulations of transportation 

network companies and regulations of automated license plate recognition 

systems an additional two years and repeals the sunset of an inspection 

exemption for vehicles used for the U.S. Postal Service. 

• Translated Documents and Use of Interpreters.  Extends the time when the 

Department of Motor Vehicles shall have certain documents translated and 

allow the use of interpreters for certain testing to October 1, 2020 from July 1, 

2020. 

• Learner’s Permits.  Allows a learner’s permit to be issued without a 

photograph.  

Multiple effective dates, beginning retroactively on June 1, 2020 


