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This act summary is provided for the convenience of the public and members of the 

General Assembly.  It is intended to provide a general summary of the act and may not be 

exhaustive.  It has been prepared by the staff of the Office of Legislative Council without 

input from members of the General Assembly.  It is not intended to aid in the 

interpretation of legislation or to serve as a source of legislative intent.  

 

Act No. 60 (S.149).  Transportation; motor vehicles 

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to vehicles and the 

Department of Motor Vehicles 

This act:  

• Public Records.  Deletes language on what Department of Motor Vehicles 

(“Department”) records are public records and replaces it with language 

requiring the Department to comply with the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, 

18 U.S.C. chapter 123 as amended and updates the fee structure for public 

records requests for Department records requiring custom computer 

programming. 

• Credentialing.  Eliminates the requirement that renewed junior operator’s 

licenses meet the requirements of 23 V.S.A. § 610(b), increases how long a 

photograph for a license lasts from eight years to nine years, and establishes 

that nondriver identification cards and operator’s licenses expire at midnight 

on the eve of the second or fourth anniversary of the holder’s birth. 

• Commercial Driver License.  Permits the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles 

(“Commissioner”) to waive the knowledge test and the tests required for 

passenger endorsement, tank vehicle endorsement, and hazardous materials 

endorsement in addition to the skills test if the driver meets certain 

requirements and extends the commercial learner’s permit length from six 

months to one year. 

• Reciprocity.  Permits the Commissioner to consider a nonresident operator 

who does not have a license or permit to operate a motor vehicle issued by 

another United States jurisdiction as licensed or permitted for vehicle 

operation in Vermont for one year, as opposed to 30 days for vacation 

purposes, if the individual meets the following requirements:  holds a valid 

license or permit to operate a motor vehicle from a jurisdiction outside the 

United States; is at least 18 years of age, is lawfully present in the United 

States, and has been in the United States for not more than one year; and 

possesses an international driving permit.  Also permits the Commissioner to 

waive the operator’s license examination for someone with a chauffeur’s or 

operator’s license from another jurisdiction, not just state, where the required 

examination is similar to Vermont’s. 
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• Replacement License.  Clarifies when a replacement license may be issued 

and eliminates the usage of the phrase “duplicate license.” 

• Administrative Penalties for Inspection Stations and Mechanics.  Clarifies that 

the lookback period for administrative penalties for inspection stations and 

mechanics is three years and eliminates parenthetical descriptions for the 

different categories of administrative penalties. 

• Display of Inspection Sticker Penalty.  Separates out the prohibition on 

displaying an inspection sticker on a different vehicle than the one to which it 

was issued as a new subdivision. 

• Trailer Registration.  Eliminates the requirement that vehicle owners who 

have apportioned power units registered in Vermont under the International 

Registration Plan register their trailers in Vermont. 

• Automated Vehicle Testing.  Adds a new chapter to codified law on 

automated vehicle testing, adds approval of the testing of automated vehicles 

on public highways as a responsibility of the Traffic Committee, and directs 

the Agency of Transportation (“Agency”) to identify the municipalities that 

want to preapprove automated vehicle testing and prepare an Automated 

Vehicle Testing Guide by January 1, 2021. 

• Transfer of Motor Vehicles.  Extends deadlines to file with the Commissioner 

applications for certificates of title and notifications regarding the issuance of 

number plates to at least 30 days after acquisition of the motor vehicle prior to 

transfer and creates a new process to show proof of transfer to the 

Commissioner if title is held by a finance source. 

• Translation of Documents for Operator Licensing.  Requires that any written 

forms, applications, or tests used by the Department for operator licensing be 

translated into primary languages of nations from which individuals assisted 

by the U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Vermont in the prior 10 

years hail, as determined on an annual basis by the Department in consultation 

with the U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Vermont. 

• Use of Interpreters at Oral Examination and Road Test for Operator 

Licensing.  Permits an applicant for an operator’s license to have an individual 

of his or her choosing at the oral examination or road test to serve as an 

interpreter. 

• Department of Motor Vehicles Training.  Requires the Commissioner, in 

collaboration with the U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants Vermont 

and the Association of Africans Living in Vermont, to provide an online or in-

person training that emphasizes strategies to recognize and address cultural 

differences and other potential barriers to equal access to all Department 

employees who directly interact with the public by January 1, 2020, and then 
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on an on-going basis, within one month of an employee who directly interacts 

with the public’s date of hire. 

• Junior Operator Use of Portable Electronic Devices.  Establishes minimum 

and maximum civil penalties and point assessments for first and second or 

subsequent violations of the existing prohibition on a person under 18 years of 

age using a portable electronic device while operating a motor vehicle on a 

highway. 

• Master License Agreement Study.  Requires the Agency, in consultation with 

the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, to report on the use and contents of 

master license agreements and other agreements or contracts by the Agency 

when a municipality, utility, or other person needs to use the right-of-way for 

the line of railroad owned by the State by November 15, 2019. 

• Proof of Motor Vehicle Registration.  Creates a $5.00 civil penalty exempt 

from surcharges under 13 V.S.A. § 7282(a) when an individual is cited for 

operating a motor vehicle without carrying proof of registration or having the 

registration sticker displayed within the 14 days following the expiration of 

the motor vehicle’s registration. 

• Proof of Motor Vehicle Inspection.  Exempts the already existing $5.00 civil 

penalty for operating a motor vehicle without proof of inspection within the 

14 days following expiration of the motor vehicle inspection sticker from 

surcharges under 13 V.S.A. § 7282(a). 

Multiple effective dates, beginning on June 14, 2019 


