No. 30. An act relating to professions and occupations regulated by the Office of Professional Regulation.

(H.104)

It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:

* * * Office of Professional Regulation * * *

Sec. 1. 3 V.S.A. § 121 is amended to read:

§ 121. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1) "Director" means the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation.

(2) "Licensing board" or "board" refers to the boards, commissions, and professions listed in section 122 of this title <u>subchapter</u> and, in the case of disciplinary matters or denials of licensure, either an administrative law officer appointed under subsection 129(j) of this title <u>subchapter</u> or the Director in advisor professions. Notwithstanding statutory language to the contrary, this subchapter shall apply to all those boards.

(3)(<u>A</u>) "License" includes <u>any</u> certification or, registration or a, permit, <u>commission</u>, or other official authorization to undertake a regulated activity.

(B) "Licensee" includes registrants and holders of certificates or permits any person to whom a license has been issued by a board or the Director.

(4) "Office" means the Office of Professional Regulation.

Sec. 2. 3 V.S.A. § 122 is amended to read:

§ 122. OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

The Office of Professional Regulation is created within the Office of the Secretary of State. The Office shall have a director who shall be appointed by the Secretary of State and shall be an exempt employee. The following boards or professions are attached to the Office of Professional Regulation:

* * *

(17) Board of Radiologic Technology

* * *

(29) Board of Real Estate Appraisers

* * *

(48) Notaries Public

Sec. 3. 3 V.S.A. § 127 is amended to read:

§ 127. UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE

(a) When the Office receives a complaint of unauthorized practice, the Director shall refer the complaint to Office investigators and prosecutors.

(b)(1) A person practicing a regulated profession without authority or an employer permitting such practice may, upon the complaint of the Attorney General or a State's Attorney or an attorney assigned by the Office of Professional Regulation, be enjoined therefrom by the Superior Court where the violation occurred or the Washington County Superior Court and may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000.00 \$5,000.00.

VT LEG #341855 v.1

(2)(A) The Attorney General or an attorney assigned by the Office of Professional Regulation may elect to bring an action seeking only a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000.00 \$2,500.00 for practicing or permitting the practice of a regulated profession without authority before the board having regulatory authority over the profession or before an administrative law officer.

(B) Hearings shall be conducted in the same manner as disciplinary hearings.

(3)(A) A civil penalty imposed by a board or administrative law officer under this subsection (b) shall be deposited in the Professional Regulatory Fee Fund established in section 124 of this chapter for the purpose of providing education and training for board members and advisor appointees.

(B) The Director shall detail in the annual report receipts and expenses from these civil penalties.

(c) In addition to other provisions of law, unauthorized practice shall be punishable by a fine of not more than \$5,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both. Prosecution may occur upon the complaint of the Attorney General or a State's Attorney or an attorney assigned by the Office of Professional Regulation under this section and shall not act as a bar to civil or administrative proceedings involving the same conduct.

* * *

Sec. 4. 3 V.S.A. § 129a is amended to read:

§ 129a. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) In addition to any other provision of law, the following conduct by a licensee constitutes unprofessional conduct. When that conduct is by an applicant or person who later becomes an applicant, it may constitute grounds for denial of a license or other disciplinary action. Any one of the following items or any combination of items, whether the conduct at issue was committed within or outside the State, shall constitute unprofessional conduct:

* * *

(26) Sexually harassing or exploiting a patient, client, or consumer, or doing so to a coworker in a manner that threatens the health, safety, or welfare of patients, clients, or consumers; failing to maintain professional boundaries; or violating a patient, client, or consumer's reasonable expectation of privacy.

* * *

(d)(1) After hearing, and upon a finding of unprofessional conduct, a board or an administrative law officer may take disciplinary action against a licensee or applicant, including imposing an administrative penalty not to exceed $\frac{1,000.00 \pm 5,000.00}{100.00}$ for each unprofessional conduct violation.

(2)(A) Any money received under this subsection shall be deposited in the Professional Regulatory Fee Fund established in section 124 of this title <u>chapter</u> for the purpose of providing education and training for board members and advisor appointees.

(B) The Director shall detail in the annual report receipts and expenses from money received under this subsection.

* * *

Sec. 5. 3 V.S.A. § 129b is amended to read:

§ 129b. BOARD MEMBER AND ADVISOR APPOINTMENTS

* * *

(g) For advisor professions, advisors:

(1) Advisors shall be appointed by the Secretary of State and shall serve at the pleasure of the Secretary of State. Advisor appointments shall be subject to the same conditions as those for board members under this section.

(2) The Office shall warn and conduct an open meeting including

advisors, program staff, and interested members of the public:

(A) at least once per year for each profession with 500 or fewer

active licensees; and

(B) at least twice per year for each profession with more than 500 active licensees.

Sec. 6. 3 V.S.A. § 135 is amended to read:

§ 135. UNIFORM STANDARD FOR RENEWAL FOLLOWING

EXTENDED ABSENCE

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, when an applicant seeks to renew an expired or lapsed license after fewer than five years of absence from practice, readiness to practice shall be inferred from

completion of any continuing education that would have been required if the applicant had maintained continuous licensure, or by any less burdensome showing set forth in administrative rules specific to the profession <u>or permitted</u> by the Director.

* * *

Sec. 7. PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; ANALYSIS OF STATE

REGULATORY STRUCTURES

(a) Findings.

(1) The General Assembly finds that multiple State agencies regulate a variety of professions and occupations, resulting in professional regulatory structures that vary throughout the State.

(2) The General Assembly further finds that the State should review whether transferring the regulation of certain professions and occupations to a different State agency would enhance the effectiveness of those professional regulatory structures, including by improving public protection and customer service, reducing unnecessary barriers to licensure, and increasing efficiencies in the staffing, information technology, and other necessary costs associated with professional regulation.

(b) Office of Professional Regulation, Agency of Administration, and other specified agencies; analysis and report.

(1) The Office of Professional Regulation and the Agency of Education, the Agency of Human Services, the Agency of Natural Resources, the

Department of Public Safety, and the Department of Health shall collaborate in analyzing the professions and occupations that each of those agencies regulate in order to determine whether the effectiveness of those professional regulatory structures, including the elements of effectiveness described in subdivision (a)(2) of this section, would be enhanced by transferring an agency's professional regulation to a different agency.

(2) In conducting their analysis, the agencies shall consider the professional regulation reports and other information gathered as a result of 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 156, Secs. 20 and 21.

(3) The Office of Professional Regulation and the Agency of Administration shall lead this collaboration among all the agencies named in subdivision (1) of this subsection, but are encouraged to seek any available grants from outside resources that may enable the agencies to contract with an independent entity to conduct this analysis.

(4) On or before January 15, 2020, the independent entity or, if a contract with such an entity was not executed, the Office of Professional Regulation and the Agency of Administration shall report to the House Committees on Government Operations, on Education, on Human Services, on Health, on Natural Resources, Fish, and Wildlife, and on Commerce and Economic Development and the Senate Committees on Government Operations, on Education, on Health and Welfare, on Natural Resources and Energy, and on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs with its findings and any recommendations for legislative action.

Sec. 7a. SPECIFIED PROFESSIONAL REGULATORY ENTITIES;

REPORT ON APPRENTICESHIP PATHWAYS TO LICENSURE

On or before January 15, 2020, the Office of Professional Regulation and the Agency of Administration shall collect the following information from the Agency of Education, the Agency of Human Services, the Agency of Natural Resources, the Department of Public Safety, and the Department of Health and report that information, along with the Office's own information, to the Senate and House Committees on Government Operations, the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs, and the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development:

(1) a list of all professions licensed under the entity's authority, identifying which of the licensed professions have an apprenticeship pathway to licensure and which do not;

(2) an explanation detailing why professions that do not have an apprenticeship pathway to licensure do not, and if one should be established; and

(3) a proposal for how to implement an apprenticeship pathway to licensure for those professions for which such a pathway should be established.

Sec. 7b. SPECIFIED PROFESSIONAL REGULATORY ENTITIES; REPORT ON BRIDGE-TO-LICENSURE PROGRAMS FOR CANADIAN CREDENTIALS

(a) The Office of Professional Regulation, the Agency of Education, the Agency of Human Services, the Agency of Natural Resources, the Department of Public Safety, and the Department of Health shall identify direct license equivalents, if any, to credentials issued by Canadian federal and provincial licensing bodies for professions licensed under the entity's authority and propose bridge-to-licensure programs where supplemental effort is needed to meet Vermont's licensing criteria.

(b) The Office of Professional Regulation and the Agency of Administration shall collaborate with the other agencies and departments specified in subsection (a) of this section in order to submit on or before January 15, 2020 a unified report that includes any recommended changes to statute to the Senate and House Committees on Government Operations, the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs, and the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development.

Sec. 8. CREATION OF POSITION WITHIN THE OFFICE OF

PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; LICENSING

(a) There is created within the Secretary of State's Office of Professional Regulation one new permanent classified Licensing Administrator position.

(b) Any funding necessary to support the position created in subsection (a) of this section shall be derived entirely from the Office's Professional Regulatory Fee Fund.

* * * Accountants * * *

Sec. 9. 26 V.S.A. chapter 1 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 1. ACCOUNTANTS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

* * *

§13. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(4) "Disciplinary action" or "disciplinary cases" includes any action taken by a board against a licensee, registrant, or applicant premised upon a finding of wrongdoing or unprofessional conduct by the licensee or applicant. It includes all sanctions of any kind, excluding obtaining injunctions, but including issuing warnings, other similar sanctions, and ordering restitution. [Repealed.]

(5) "Firm" means a sole proprietorship, a corporation, a partnership, association, or any other entity that practices public accountancy.

(6) "Foreign firm" means a firm not located in the United States, its territories, or possessions. [Repealed.]

* * *

(14) <u>"Sole proprietorship," when used for the specific purpose of</u> <u>describing the fee category applicable to a firm under this chapter, means a</u> <u>firm that employs only one certified public accountant.</u>

(15) "State" includes the states of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and other jurisdictions recognized by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).

* * *

§17. PENALTY

Any person who violates any provision of section 14 of this title chapter shall be subject to the penalties set forth in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licenses

* * *

§ 74a. FOREIGN REGISTRATION

(a) A foreign firm licensed or registered in another country seeking to practice temporarily in the state shall register with the board and pay the required fee. The board shall adopt rules prescribing the procedure to be followed in carrying out the registrations. Registrations under this section shall expire three months after issuance. "Firm" is as defined in subdivision 13(5) of this title. (b) A foreign firm providing public accounting services in the state of Vermont shall be registered and obtain a firm registration number.

(c) An accountant qualified for the practice of public accountancy in a foreign country may:

(1) use a title granted by that country, together with any suitable translation into English of that title, and the name of that country;

(2) temporarily practice public accounting after registering with the board under section 74a of this title. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 81. OWNERSHIP OF ACCOUNTANT'S WORKING PAPERS

* * *

(d) An accountant or accountancy firm shall have in place a plan for responsible disposition of client records in case of unexpected incapacity or firm dissolution.

* * *

* * * Dental Hygienists * * *

Sec. 10. 26 V.S.A. chapter 12 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 12. DENTISTS, DENTAL THERAPISTS,

DENTAL HYGIENISTS, AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS

* * *

Subchapter 2. Board of Dental Examiners

* * *

VT LEG #341855 v.1

§ 582. AUTHORITY OF THE BOARD

In addition to any other provisions of law, the board <u>Board</u> shall have the authority to:

* * *

(3) adopt rules pursuant to the Vermont Administrative Procedure Act as set forth in 3 V.S.A. chapter 25:

* * *

(H) setting guidelines for general supervision of dental hygienists with no less than three years of experience by dentists with no less than three years of experience to, to be known as "public-health hygienists," who may perform tasks in public or private schools or institutions <u>the settings set forth in</u> <u>section 624 of this chapter</u>; and

* * *

Subchapter 4. Dental Hygienists

* * *

§ 624. PRACTICE

(a) A dental hygienist may perform duties for which the dental hygienist has been qualified by successful completion of the normal curriculum offered by programs of dental hygiene accredited by the American Dental Association or in continuing education courses approved by the Board. A dental hygienist may perform tasks in the office of any licensed dentist consistent with the rules adopted by the Board. (b) In public or private schools or institutions, a dental <u>A public-health</u> hygienist, who shall be a dental hygienist with no less fewer than three years of experience, may perform tasks under the general supervision of a licensed dentist with no less than three years of experience as prescribed in <u>out-of-</u> office settings, including residences, schools, nursing home and long-term care facilities, clinics, hospitals, medical facilities, community health centers licensed or approved by the Department of Health, Head Start programs, and any other facilities or programs deemed appropriate by the Department of Health in a manner consistent with guidelines adopted by the Board by rule.

* * *

* * * Nursing * * *

Sec. 11. 26 V.S.A. chapter 28 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 28. NURSING

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

* * *

§ 1574. POWERS AND DUTIES

(a) In addition to the powers granted by 3 V.S.A. § 129, the Board shall:

* * *

(3) Adopt rules setting standards for approval of <u>medication</u> nursing assistant and nursing education programs in Vermont, including all clinical facilities. The Board may require reimbursement for actual and necessary costs incurred for site surveys.

VT LEG #341855 v.1

(4) Adopt rules for medication nursing assistant education and competency evaluation programs and survey and approve those programs that meet the rules. [Repealed.]

* * *

Subchapter 2. Advanced Practice Registered Nurses

* * *

§ 1613. TRANSITION TO PRACTICE

(a)(1) Graduates <u>An APRN</u> with fewer than 24 months and 2,400 hours of licensed active advanced nursing practice in an initial role and population focus or fewer than 12 months and 1,600 hours for any additional role and population focus shall have a formal agreement with a collaborating provider as required by <u>board Board</u> rule.

(2) APRNs An APRN shall have and maintain signed and dated copies of all required collaborative provider agreements as part of the practice guidelines.

(3) An APRN required to practice with a collaborative provider agreement may not engage in solo practice, except with regard to a role and population focus in which the APRN has met the requirements of this subsection.

(b) An APRN who satisfies the requirements to engage in solo practice pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall notify the board <u>Board</u> that these requirements have been met.

* * *

* * * Optometrists * * *

Sec. 12. 26 V.S.A. chapter 30 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 30. OPTOMETRY

* * *

§ 1703. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(2) The "practice of optometry" means any one or combination of the following practices:

(A) The examination of <u>Examining</u> the human eyes and visual system for purposes of:

(i) diagnosing refractive and functional ability; or

(ii) diagnosing the presence of eye and adnexa disease or injury,

treating the disease or injury with the appropriate pharmaceutical agents and procedures in accordance with this chapter, and making referrals to the appropriate health care provider when warranted.

(B) The diagnosis and correction of <u>Diagnosing and correcting</u> anomalies of the refractive and functional ability of the visual system and the

VT LEG #341855 v.1

and

enhancement of visual performance including, but not limited to, the following:

(i) the prescribing and employment of <u>using</u> ophthalmic lenses,
 prisms, autorefractor or other automatic testing devices, frames, ophthalmic
 aids, and prosthetic materials as consistent with the health of the eye;

(ii) the prescribing and employment of employing contact lenses;

(iii) administering visual training, vision therapy, orthoptics, and pleoptics.

(C) Prescribing appropriate pharmaceutical agents for the diagnosis, management, and treatment of the eye and adnexa.

(D) Removing superficial foreign bodies from the eye and adnexa;

epilating the eyelashes, including by electrolysis; and punctal dilation, lacrimal irrigation, and punctal plugs insertion.

(E) Managing the following types of glaucoma in patients who are 16 years of age or older:

(i) adult primary open angle glaucoma;

(ii) exfoliative glaucoma;

(iii) pigmentary glaucoma;

(iv) low tension glaucoma;

(v) inflammatory (uveitic) glaucoma; and

(vi) emergency treatment of angle closure glaucoma.

(3) "Disciplinary action" or "disciplinary cases" includes any action taken by a board against a licensee or applicant premised upon a finding of wrongdoing or unprofessional conduct by the licensee or applicant. It includes all sanctions of any kind, including obtaining injunctions, issuing warnings, reprimands, suspensions, or revocations of licenses, and other similar sanctions and ordering restitution. "Director" means the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation.

(4) "Financial interest" means being:

(A) a licensed practitioner of optometry; or

(B) a person who deals in goods and services which that are uniquely related to the practice of optometry; or

(C) a person who has invested anything of value in a business which that provides optometric services.

(5) "Contact lenses" means those lenses that are worn for cosmetic,

therapeutic, or refractive purposes.

§ 1704. PENALTIES

A person who obtains a license by fraud or misrepresentation or who practices or attempts to practice optometry or hold himself or herself out as being able to do so in this <u>state</u> <u>State</u> without first having obtained the license required by this chapter shall be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

Subchapter 2. State <u>Board of</u> Optometry Board

§ 1707. QUALIFICATIONS; TERM OF OFFICE; REMOVAL

(a) A state board of optometry <u>The State Board of Optometry</u> is created which shall be the continuation of and successor to the state board of examiners in optometry heretofore established by chapter 29 of this title.

(b) The <u>board Board</u> shall consist of five members, three of whom shall be residents of the <u>state</u>, <u>State who</u> have had at least five years' experience in the practice of optometry in the <u>state</u>, <u>State</u> and are in the active practice of optometry at the time of their appointment; and two members who shall be representatives of the public, who shall be residents of the <u>state</u> for five years and who shall have no financial interest in the profession other than as a consumer or potential consumer of its services.

* * *

§ 1708. POWERS AND DUTIES

- (a) The board <u>Board</u> shall:
 - (1) Adopt rules under <u>3 V.S.A. chapter 25</u> the Vermont Administrative

<u>Procedure Act</u> necessary for the performance of its duties, ensuring that at least the following are established by statute or rule:

- (A) $A \underline{a}$ definition of the behavior for which a license is required;
- (B) Explanations explanations of appeal and other significant rights

given by law to licensees, applicants, and the public; and

(C) standards for acceptance of continuing education, which may identify mandatory content specific to pharmacology, and management of adverse drug reactions.

(b) The board may:

(1) exercise authority granted under 3 V.S.A. chapter 5.;

(2) use the administrative services provided by the office of professional

regulation under 3 V.S.A. chapter 5;

(3) Receive legal assistance from the attorney general of the state and

from the legal counsel for the director of the office of professional regulation.

[Repealed.]

(c) The board Board shall not limit the:

(1) limit the ownership of optometric practices to licensed optometrists;

(2) limit the number of offices or sites at which an optometrist may

practice; or

(3) limit the right of optometrists to practice in an association,

partnership, corporation, or other lawful entity with anyone.

* * *

Subchapter 3. Examinations and Licenses

* * *

§ 1715. LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

- (a) The board <u>Board</u> may grant a license to an applicant who:
 - (1) has attained the age of majority;

(2) is a graduate of an optometric school or college accredited by a regional or professional accreditation organization approved by the board <u>Board;</u>

(3) <u>holds a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification from the</u> <u>American Red Cross, the Vermont Heart Association, or a comparable source</u> <u>recognized by the Director;</u>

(4) has successfully completed an examination approved by the board Board; and

(4)(5) has paid the fee required by section 1718 of this title chapter.

(b) A failed examination may be retaken once free of charge and each examination thereafter shall be subject to payment of a fee. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 1716a. RENEWAL

Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee, provided that the person applying for renewal completes at least 20 <u>40</u> hours of continuing education, approved by the board <u>Board</u>, during the preceding two-year period <u>and holds a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation</u> <u>certification</u>. If the applicant has a special endorsement for the use of pharmaceutical agents as provided in section 1729 of this title, the applicant shall, during the preceding two-year period, complete at least 40 hours of continuing education, approved by the board, of which at least 20 hours shall be related to the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. The board may

VT LEG #341855 v.1

specify particular areas of study which must be completed to satisfy the requirements of this section. The board may, by rule, adopt continuing education requirements for those who renew their licenses after less than a full two-year period.

* * *

Subchapter 4. Unprofessional Conduct and Discipline

§ 1719. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) Unprofessional conduct is the conduct prohibited by this section and by

3 V.S.A. § 129a, whether or not taken by a license holder committed by a licensee, an applicant, or a person who later becomes an applicant.

(b) Unprofessional conduct means:

(1) Conduct which that evidences moral unfitness to practice the occupation.

(2) Any of the following except when reasonably undertaken in an emergency situation in order to protect life, health, or property:

(A) Practicing or offering to practice beyond the scope permitted by law.

(B) Performing treatments or providing services which that a licensee is not qualified to perform or which that are beyond the scope of the licensee's education, training, capabilities, experience, or scope of practice. (C) Performing occupational services which that have not been authorized by the consumer or his or her legal representative.

* * *

Subchapter 5. Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents

* * *

§ 1727. EXPIRATION DATE

(a) An optometrist shall state the expiration date on the face of every prescription written by that optometrist for contact lenses. The expiration date shall be one year after the examination date unless a medical or refractive problem affecting vision requires an earlier expiration date.

(b) An optometrist may shall not refuse to give the buyer a copy of the buyer's prescription after the expiration date; however, the copy shall be clearly marked to indicate that it is an expired prescription.

Subchapter 6. Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents

§ 1728. USE OF THERAPEUTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS

(a) An optometrist licensed under this chapter who possesses the endorsement required under section 1729 of this title, may:

(1) use and prescribe appropriate pharmaceutical agents for the diagnosis, management, and treatment of the eye and adnexa.

(2) remove superficial foreign bodies from the eye and adnexa, perform epilation of the eyelashes including electrolysis, punctal dilation, and lacrimal irrigation, and insert punctal plugs.

(b) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to permit:

(1) the use of therapeutic ultrasound, the use of injections except for the appropriate emergency stabilization of a patient, or the performance of surgery. "Surgery" means any procedure in which human tissue is cut, penetrated, thermally or electrically cauterized except when performing electrolysis, or otherwise infiltrated by mechanical or laser means in a manner not specifically authorized by this act;

(2) the use of lasers for any procedure other than diagnostic testing; or

(3) a licensee to perform indocyanine green angiography, removal of benign skin lesions involving subcutaneous injections, sub-tenons injections, retrobulbar injections, intraocular injections, ketamine (IM) for an infant's examination under anesthesia, management of skin and conjunctival neoplasms, and botox injections.

(a)(1) A licensee who employs an oral therapeutic pharmaceutical agent that might prove to have significant systemic adverse reactions or systemic side effects shall, in a manner consistent with Vermont law, ascertain the risk of systemic side effects through either a case history or by communicating with the patient's primary care provider.

(2) The licensee shall also communicate with the patient's primary care provider, or with a physician skilled in diseases of the eye, when, in the professional judgment of the licensee, it is medically appropriate.

(3) Any communication shall be noted in the patient's permanent record.The methodology of communication shall be determined by the licensee.

(b)(1) If a glaucoma patient does not respond to up to three topically administered pharmaceutical agents within a reasonable time, the licensee shall refer the patient to a licensed ophthalmologist.

(2) A glaucoma patient shall not be treated by an optometrist with more than three topically administered agents at any given time.

(3) If an oral medication is required to obtain an adequate clinical response in a glaucoma patient, the licensee shall consult with a licensed ophthalmologist as soon as clinically prudent following initiation of the oral medication.

(4) This subsection shall not require that the licensee transfer care of the patient to the consulting ophthalmologist, but does require that the patient be seen by the consulting ophthalmologist.

§ 1728a. PERMISSIBLE TREATMENTS; GLAUCOMA TYPES

(a) A licensee may treat the following types of glaucoma on patients who are 16 years of age or older:

(1) adult primary open angle glaucoma;

(2) exfoliative glaucoma;

(3) pigmentary glaucoma;

(4) low tension glaucoma;

(5) inflammatory (uveitic) glaucoma; and

(6) emergency treatment of angle closure glaucoma.

(b) This section shall not prohibit a licensee from administering appropriate emergency stabilization treatment to a patient. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 1728c. USE OF ORAL THERAPEUTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENT; COMMUNICATION WITH PRIMARY CARE PROVIDER

A licensee who employs an oral therapeutic pharmaceutical agent that might prove to have significant systemic adverse reactions or systemic side effects shall, in a manner consistent with Vermont law, ascertain the risk of systemic side effects through either a case history or by communicating with the patient's primary care provider. The licensee shall also communicate with the patient's primary care provider, or with a physician skilled in diseases of the eye, when in the professional judgment of the licensee, it is medically appropriate. The communication shall be noted in the patient's permanent record. The methodology of communication shall be determined by the licensee. [Repealed.]

§ 1728d. DURATION OF GLAUCOMA TREATMENT WITHOUT

REFERRAL

(a) If a glaucoma patient does not respond to up to three topically administered pharmaceutical agents within a reasonable time, the licensee shall refer the patient to a licensed ophthalmologist. No glaucoma patient shall be treated by an optometrist with more than three topically administered agents at any given time.

(b) If an oral medication is required to obtain an adequate clinical response, the licensee shall consult with a licensed ophthalmologist as soon as clinically prudent following initiation of the oral medication. This section shall not require that the licensee transfer care of the patient to the consulting ophthalmologist, but does require that the patient be seen by the consulting ophthalmologist. [Repealed.]

§ 1729. ENDORSEMENTS AND REQUIREMENTS

(a) Upon application, the board shall certify eligible licensees to use and prescribe therapeutic drugs and to perform those procedures authorized by subdivision 1728(a)(2) of this title, if the applicant meets the requirements of section 1715 of this chapter for licensure by examination or meets the requirements of section 1716 of this chapter for licensure by endorsement, and is authorized under the license of another jurisdiction to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

(b) A licensee certified under this section shall affix current documentation of certification to the license in the manner provided by the board.

(c) A licensee who is certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents shall demonstrate proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification as a condition of initial certification and of license renewal. Acceptable courses shall include:

(1) courses in external cardiopulmonary resuscitation which are approved by the Vermont Heart Association or the American Red Cross; and

(2) courses which include a review of diseases or conditions which might produce emergencies such as anaphylactic shock, diabetes, heart condition, or epilepsy.

(d) A licensee certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents shall, as part of required continuing education, receive not less than 50 percent of his or her continuing education in the use of pharmaceuticals, including treating possible complications arising from their use, and the treatment of glaucoma. [Repealed.]

§ 1729a. PREREQUISITES TO TREATING GLAUCOMA

A licensee who is already certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents and who graduated from a school of optometry prior to 2003 and is not certified in another jurisdiction having substantially similar prerequisites to treating glaucoma shall, in addition to being certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, provide to the board verification of successful completion of an 18-hour course and examination offered by the State University of New York State College of Optometry or similar accredited institution. Successful completion shall include passing an examination substantially equivalent to the relevant portions on glaucoma and orals of the examination given to current graduates of optometry school and shall require the same passing grade. The course shall cover the diagnosis and treatment of

VT LEG #341855 v.1

glaucoma and the use of oral medications and shall be taught by both optometrists and ophthalmologists. In addition, the licensee shall collaborate with an optometrist who has been licensed to treat glaucoma for at least two years or an ophthalmologist regarding his or her current glaucoma patients for six months and at least five new glaucoma patients before treating glaucoma patients independently. These five new glaucoma patients shall be seen at least once by the collaborating glaucoma-licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist. [Repealed.]

Sec. 13. OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; STUDY OF

OPTOMETRIC ADVANCED PROCEDURES

(a) The Office of Professional Regulation shall conduct a study to evaluate the safety and public health needs of enlarging the scope of practice of optometrists to include advanced procedures. In conducting this study, the Office shall consult with relevant stakeholders, including the Vermont Board of Optometry, the Vermont Optometric Association, the Vermont Board of Medical Practice, the Vermont Department of Health, and the Vermont Ophthalmological Society.

(b) The study shall evaluate, among other considerations, approaches to advanced procedures in jurisdictions outside Vermont, patient need for access to additional practitioners, effects on patient access to care, effects on patient safety, costs to the health care system, and the existing education and training for optometrists, including the degree to which it addresses training in advanced procedures. The Office shall inquire into the specific clinical training for both optometrists and ophthalmologists for specific procedures.

(c) On or before January 15, 2020, the Office shall report its findings,

including any recommendations for legislative action, to the House

Committees on Government Operations and on Health Care and to the Senate

Committees on Government Operations and on Health and Welfare.

* * * Pharmacy * * *

Sec. 14. 26 V.S.A. chapter 36 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 36. PHARMACY

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

* * *

§ 2022. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(7) "Drug outlet" means all pharmacies, wholesalers, manufacturers, and other entities that are engaged in the <u>manufacture</u>, dispensing, delivery, or distribution of prescription drugs.

* * *

(11)(A) "Manufacturing" means the production, preparation,

propagation, conversion, or processing of a drug or device, either directly or indirectly, by extraction from substances of natural origin or independently by means of chemical or biological synthesis. (B) "Manufacturing" includes the packaging or repackaging of a drug or device or; the labeling or relabeling of the container of a drug or device for resale by a pharmacy, practitioner, or other person; and virtual manufacturing by an entity that sells its own prescription drug or device without physically possessing the product.

* * *

(19)(<u>A</u>) "Wholesale distributor" means any person who is engaged in wholesale distribution of prescription drugs, but <u>including virtual distribution</u> by an entity that sells a prescription drug or device without physically possessing the product.

(B) "Wholesale distributor" does not include any for-hire carrier or person hired solely to transport prescription drugs.

* * *

Subchapter 2. Board of Pharmacy

§ 2031. CREATION; APPOINTMENT; TERMS; ORGANIZATION

(a)(1) There is hereby created the Board of Pharmacy to enforce the provisions of this chapter.

(2) The Board shall consist of seven <u>eight</u> members, five of whom shall be pharmacists licensed under this chapter with five years of experience in the practice of pharmacy in this State. <u>One member shall be a pharmacy</u> <u>technician registered under this chapter.</u> Two members shall be members of the public having no financial interest in the practice of pharmacy. (b) Members of the Board shall be appointed by the Governor pursuant to3 V.S.A. §§ 129b and 2004.

§ 2032. POWERS; DUTIES; LIMITATIONS

(a) The Board shall adopt rules necessary for the performance of its duties, including:

(1) scope of the practice of pharmacy;

(2) qualifications for obtaining licensure;

(3) explanations of appeal and other rights given to licensees, applicants, and the public; and

(4) rules regulating pharmacy technicians; and

(5) provisions for the inspection of any regulated entity or commercial

location where legend drugs are manufactured or kept.

* * *

(c) The Board of Pharmacy shall also have the following responsibilities in regard to medications, drugs, legend devices, and other materials used in this State in the diagnosis, mitigation, and treatment or prevention of injury, illness, and disease:

(1) The the regulation of the sale at retail and the, compounding,

<u>administration, and</u> dispensing of medications, drugs, legend devices, and other materials, including the right to seize any such drugs, legend devices, and other materials found to be detrimental to the public health and welfare by the Board pursuant to an appropriate hearing as required under the Administrative Procedure Act;

(2) The <u>the</u> specifications of minimum professional and technical equipment, environment, supplies, and procedures for the compounding or dispensing of such medications, drugs, legend devices, and other materials within the practice of pharmacy;

(3) The <u>the</u> control of the purity and quality of such medications, drugs, legend devices, and other materials within the practice of pharmacy; <u>and</u>

(4) The <u>the</u> issuance of certificates of registration and licenses of drug outlets; and

(5) The development of criteria for a standardized tamper resistant prescription pad that can be used by all health care providers who prescribe drugs. Such criteria shall be developed in consultation with pharmacists, hospitals, nursing homes, physicians and other prescribers, and other affected parties.

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licensing

* * *

§ 2042b. PHARMACY TECHNICIANS; NONDISCRETIONARY TASKS; SUPERVISION

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a registered pharmacy technician may perform packaging or other nondiscretionary tasks only while assisting and under the supervision and control of a pharmacist.

(b) This section does not authorize a pharmacy technician to perform packaging or other nondiscretionary tasks without a pharmacist on duty, and without being under the supervision and control of a pharmacist.

(c) This section does not authorize a pharmacy technician to perform any act requiring the exercise of professional judgment by a pharmacist.

(d) The Board may adopt rules to specify tasks that a pharmacy technician may perform under the supervision and control of a pharmacist pursuant to subsection (a) of this section. A pharmacy or pharmacist that employs a pharmacy technician to perform tasks specified in subsection (a) shall do so in conformity with the rules adopted by the Board pursuant to this section.

(e) [Repealed.]

(f)(1) A pharmacist on duty shall be directly responsible for the conduct of a pharmacy technician.

(2) A pharmacist responsible for a pharmacy technician shall be on the premises at all times, or in the case of a remote pharmacy approved by the Board, immediately available by a functioning videoconference link.

(3) A pharmacist shall verify a prescription before medication is provided to the patient. [Repealed.]

* * *

Subchapter 5. Registration of Facilities

§ 2061. REGISTRATION AND LICENSURE

- (a) All drug outlets shall biennially register with the Board of Pharmacy.
- (b) Each drug outlet shall apply for a license in one or more of the

following classifications:

- (1) Retail.
- (2) Institutional.
- (3) Manufacturer.
- (4) Wholesale distributor.
- (5) Investigative and research projects.
- (6) Compounding.
- (7) Outsourcing.
- (8) Home infusion.
- (9) Nuclear.
- (10) Third-party logistics provider.

* * *

Subchapter 6. Wholesale Distributors and Manufacturers

§ 2067. WHOLESALE DISTRIBUTOR DISTRIBUTORS AND

MANUFACTURERS; LICENSURE REQUIRED

(a) A person who is not licensed under this subchapter shall not engage in

wholesale distribution or manufacturing in this State.

* * *

(c) The Board may require a separate license for each facility directly or indirectly owned or operated by the same business entity within this State, or for a parent entity with divisions, subsidiaries, or affiliate companies within this State when operations are conducted at more than one location and there exists joint ownership and control among all the entities.

(d) An agent or employee of any licensed wholesale distributor <u>or</u> <u>manufacturer</u> shall not be required to obtain a license under this subchapter and may lawfully possess pharmaceutical drugs when that agent or employee is acting in the usual course of business or employment.

§ 2068. REQUIREMENTS; APPLICANTS; LICENSES

An applicant shall satisfy the board <u>Board</u> that it has, and licensees shall maintain, the following:

(1) Acceptable storage and handling conditions plus facilities standards.

(2) Minimum liability and other insurance as may be required under any applicable federal or state law.

(3) A security system which that includes after hours, central alarm or comparable entry detection capability, restricted premises access, adequate outside perimeter lighting, comprehensive employment applicant screening, and safeguards against employee theft.

(4) An electronic, manual, or any other reasonable system of records, describing all wholesale distributor activities governed by this subchapter for the two-year period following disposition of each product, which shall be

reasonably accessible, as defined by the board <u>Board</u> by rule, during any inspection authorized by the board <u>Board</u>.

(5) Officers, directors, managers, and other persons in charge of wholesale drug distribution, <u>manufacture</u>, storage, and handling, who shall at all times demonstrate and maintain their capability to conduct business according to sound financial practices as well as state and federal law.

* * *

(9) Operations in compliance with all federal requirements applicable to wholesale drug distribution.

(10)(<u>A</u>) Compliance with standards and procedures which that the board <u>Board</u> shall adopt by rule concerning provisions for initial and periodic on-site inspections, criminal and financial background checks, ongoing monitoring, reciprocity for out-of-state wholesale drug distributors <u>entities</u> inspected by a third party organization recognized by the <u>board Board</u> or inspected and licensed by a <u>state State</u> licensing authority with legal standards for licensure that are comparable to the standards adopted by the <u>board Board</u> pursuant to this subdivision (<u>10</u>), protection of a wholesale drug distributor's proprietary information, and any other requirements consistent with the purposes of this subdivision (<u>10</u>).

(B) The board Board rules may recognize third party accreditation in satisfaction of some or all of the requirements of this subdivision (10).

* * *

§ 2076. INSPECTION POWERS; ACCESS TO WHOLESALE

DISTRIBUTOR AND MANUFACTURER RECORDS

(a) A person authorized by the Board may enter, during normal business hours, all open premises purporting or appearing to be used by a wholesale distributor <u>or manufacturer</u> for purposes of inspection.

(b)(1) Wholesale distributors <u>and manufacturers</u> may keep records regarding purchase and sales transactions at a central location apart from the principal office of the wholesale distributor or the location at which the drugs were stored and from which they were shipped, provided that such records shall be made available for inspection within two working days of a request by the Board.

(2) Records may be kept in any form permissible under federal law applicable to prescription drugs record keeping.

* * *

Sec. 15. OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; EVALUATION OF PHARMACIST PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY

(a) The Office of Professional Regulation shall evaluate the costs and benefits of incorporating prescribing authority into the scope of practice of licensed pharmacists. This evaluation shall be conducted in consultation with relevant stakeholders and shall include consideration of:

(1) approaches to clinical pharmacy in jurisdictions outside Vermont;

(2) potential impacts on patient safety and on primary and preventive care delivered by other health care professionals;

(3) effects on patient access to care; and

(4) the appropriate extent, if any, of the prescribing authority.

(b) On or before January 15, 2020, the Office shall report its findings and

any recommendations for legislative action to the House and Senate

Committees on Government Operations, the House Committee on Health Care,

and the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare.

* * * Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons * * *

Sec. 16. 26 V.S.A. chapter 41 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 41. REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND SALESPERSONS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

* * *

§ 2213. PENALTIES

A person who shall violate any provision of this chapter shall be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licenses

* * *

§ 2292. ELIGIBILITY

* * *

(b)(1) A license as a real estate salesperson shall be granted to a person who satisfies all of the following:

(A)(1) has passed an examination as required by the Commission;

(B)(2) is at least 18 years of age;

(C)(3) has been employed by or become associated with a brokerage firm and that firm's principal broker; and

(D)(4) has completed a course of instruction, approved by the Commission, of at least 40 hours.

(2)(A) An initial salesperson license shall expire 90 days from issuance.

(B) The license of a salesperson who has provided documentation to the Commission showing successful completion of eight hours of instruction addressing topics specified by the Commission relating to the salesperson's postlicensure practice of the profession shall be renewed without application or fee and remain valid until the end of the biennial licensing period.

(3) Has been employed by or become associated with a brokerage firm and that firm's principal broker.

(4) Has completed a course of instruction, approved by the Commission, of at least 40 hours.

* * *

§ 2293. RENEWAL OF LICENSE; EXPIRED LICENSE

(a) Licenses shall be renewed every two years without examination and on payment of the required fees, provided that the person applying for renewal

completes at least 24 hours of instruction for brokers and 16 hours of instruction for salespersons, approved by the Commission, during the preceding two-year period. Four hours of this continuing education instruction shall address legislation and other topics specified by the Commission for each renewal period.

(b)(1) A broker or salesperson applying for reinstatement of a license that has expired shall be assessed both the renewal fee and late renewal penalty established by the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation and shall not be assessed renewal fees for the years during which the license was expired.

(2) Reinstatement shall not take place until the applicant completes the continuing education required for the previous renewal period.

(c)(1) If a broker or salesperson's license has expired for greater than five consecutive years, the broker or salesperson shall apply for reinstatement in accordance with the initial licensure requirements as set forth in section 2292 of this chapter, including a course of instruction and examination.

(2) The Commission may waive the reinstatement requirements based upon licensed practice in another state.

(d) The Commission may waive or postpone compliance with the instructional requirements of this section in cases of extreme hardship on the part of the licensee. No licensee, however, may receive a postponement or waiver for two successive two-year periods of licensure. The Commission may

VT LEG #341855 v.1

accept fewer hours of continuing education instruction for renewal of a license on a prorated basis following an initial licensing period of less than two years.

(e) [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 2296. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

Unprofessional conduct means the following conduct and <u>In addition to</u> the conduct set forth in 3 V.S.A. § 129a, the following conduct by those regulated under this chapter constitutes unprofessional conduct:

(1) makes a material misstatement in the application for his or her license;

(2) uses dishonest or misleading advertising;

(3) demonstrates incompetency to act as a real estate broker or salesperson;

(4) is found by the Commission to be guilty of fraud or fraudulent practices; or is convicted for violating this chapter; or is convicted of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, or conspiring to defraud;

(5) commingles <u>commingling</u> money or other property to which the licensee's clients or other persons are entitled with the licensee's own, except to the extent nominal sums of the licensee's funds may be required to maintain an open trust account;

(6)(2) fails <u>failing</u> to inform clients, establish trust and escrow accounts, maintain records, and otherwise act in accordance with the provisions of section 2214 of this chapter with respect to all monies received by the licensee as a real estate broker, or as escrow agent, or as the temporary custodian of the funds of others, in a real estate transaction;

(7)(3) fails failing promptly to segregate any properties received that are to be held for the benefit of others;

(8) is found by the Commission to have engaged in any act or conduct, whether of the same or different character as that described in this section, that contributes to or demonstrates incompetency or dishonest fraudulent dealings;

(9)(4) fails <u>failing</u> to fully disclose to a buyer all material facts within the licensee's knowledge concerning the property being sold;

(10)(5) fails <u>failing</u> to fully disclose to a buyer the existence of an agency relationship between the licensee and the seller.

* * *

* * * Opticians * * *

Sec. 17. 26 V.S.A. chapter 47 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 47. OPTICIANS

* * *

Subchapter 2. Administration

§ 2661. POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE DIRECTOR; DUTIES

(a) The director <u>Director</u> shall:

(1) provide general information to applicants for licensure as opticians;

(2) explain appeal procedures to opticians and applicants and complaint procedures to the public;

(3) administer fees established by law;

(4) receive applications for licensure, issue licenses, to applicantsqualified under this chapter, deny or renew licenses and issue, revoke, suspend,condition, and reinstate licenses as ordered by an administrative law officer;

(5) refer complaints and disciplinary matters to <u>for adjudication by</u> an administrative law officer:

(6) conduct or specify examinations and pass upon the qualifications of applicants for reciprocal registration;

(7) conduct hearings as necessary for the issuance, renewal, or discipline of a license; and

(8) establish by rule standards of education required of applicants, as well as minimum standards for any school presenting a course for present or future opticians.

(b) The director <u>Director</u> may, after consultation with the advisor appointees, adopt rules necessary to perform the director's duties under this chapter, <u>including rules governing apprenticeship and continuing education</u>. <u>Rules adopted under this section shall not prohibit lawful advertising, the</u> <u>display of ophthalmic materials or merchandise, limit the place or location</u> where opticians may practice, nor be designed to limit the number of opticians in the State.

* * *

§ 2665. POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE DIRECTOR

(a) The Director shall:

(1) adopt only those rules necessary for the full and efficient

performance of its duties;

(2) conduct examinations and pass upon the qualifications of applicants for reciprocal registration;

(3) establish standards of education required of applicants for licensing and establish, by appropriate rules, the minimum standards for any school presenting a course for present or future opticians;

(4) conduct any necessary hearings in connection with the issuance, renewal, suspension, or revocation of a license;

(5) [Repealed.]

(6) adopt rules establishing continuing education requirements and approve continuing education programs to assist a licensee in meeting these requirements.

(b) The Director shall not:

(1) adopt any rules prohibiting lawful advertising, the display of ophthalmic materials or merchandise, or limiting the place or location where opticians may practice; or

VT LEG #341855 v.1

(2) adopt any rules specifically designed to limit the number of opticians in this State. [Repealed.]

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licenses

§ 2671. APPLICATIONS

Any person who desires to practice as an optician <u>be licensed under this</u> <u>chapter</u> shall file a written <u>submit an</u> application for a license and the <u>application</u> as specified by the Director, accompanied by payment of the <u>required</u> fee with the office on forms provided by the office. An applicant shall submit satisfactory proof that he or she meets the qualifications under section 2672 of this title <u>chapter</u>.

§ 2672. QUALIFICATIONS

No <u>A</u> person may <u>shall not</u> be examined or licensed under this chapter, except as otherwise provided in this chapter, unless the applicant has attained the age of majority <u>he or she has obtained a high school education or its</u> <u>equivalent</u> and possesses the following qualifications:

(1) Education. Has completed:

(A) Has obtained a high school education or its equivalent and has completed at least a two-year course of study in a school of ophthalmic dispensing approved by the board <u>Director</u> or a school which <u>that</u> is a candidate for accreditation by an accreditation agency approved by the United States Department of Education and by the director <u>Director</u>; or

VT LEG #341855 v.1

(2)(B) Has completed three <u>at least two</u> years of practical training and experience, approved by the director <u>Director</u>, under the supervision of a licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist; or

(C) the National Academy of Opticianry Ophthalmic Career Progression Program, including at least one year of practical training and experience, approved by the Director, under the supervision of a licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist; and

(2) Examination. Has passed an examination recognized by the Director that shall include assessment of competency in ophthalmic materials; laboratory, practical, and physiological optics; prescription interpretation; dispensing preparation; adjustment of lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, prisms, tinted lenses, and appurtenances; the use of lensometers or equivalent instruments; adjusting instruments; and pupillary and facial measurements.

§ 2673. EXAMINATION; LICENSES

(a) Examinations for licenses shall be conducted at least once each year and shall be devised in form and substance to evaluate fairly the applicant's qualifications to practice as a licensed optician. The examination shall include, but not be limited to, ophthalmic materials, laboratory, practical and physiological optics, prescription interpretation, dispensing preparation, adjustment of lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, prisms, tinted lenses, and appurtenances, the use of lensometers or equivalent instruments, adjusting instruments, and pupillary and facial measurements.

(b) Any applicant passing the examination and meeting the requirements established by the director shall be issued a license under this chapter.

[Repealed.]

* * *

* * * Radiology * * *

Sec. 18. 26 V.S.A. chapter 51 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 51. RADIOLOGY

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

§ 2801. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) "Board" "Director" means the board of radiologic technology

Director of the Office of Professional Regulation.

(2) "Practice of radiologic technology" means the practice of:

- (A) radiography; or
- (B) nuclear medicine technology; or

(C) radiation therapy.

(3) "Practice of radiography" means the direct application of ionizing radiation to human beings.

(4) "Practice of nuclear medicine technology" means the act of giving a

radioactive substance to a human being or the act of performing associated imaging procedures, or both.

(5) "Practice of radiation therapy" means the direct application of ionizing radiation to human beings for therapeutic purposes or the act of performing associated imaging procedures, or both.

(6) "Licensed practitioner" means a person licensed under this title to practice medicine, osteopathy, <u>advanced practice registered nursing</u>, dentistry, podiatry, naturopathic medicine, or chiropractic.

(7) "Financial interest" means being:

(A) a licensed practitioner of radiologic technology; or

 (B) a person who deals in goods and services which that are uniquely related to the practice of radiologic technology; or

(C) a person who has invested anything of value in a business which that provides radiologic technology services.

(8) "Unauthorized practice" means conduct prohibited by section 2802 of this <u>title chapter</u> and not exempted by section 2803 of this <u>title chapter</u>.

(9) "Direct personal supervision" means that the person being

supervised remains in the physical presence of the supervisor at all times.

(10) "General supervision" means that the supervisor is readily available

for consultation or intervention on the premises where radiologic technology services are being provided.

(11) "ARRT" means the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.

(12) "NMTCB" means the Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board.

(13) "Office" means the Office of Professional Regulation.

§ 2802. PROHIBITIONS

(a) [Repealed.]

(b) No \underline{A} person shall <u>not</u> practice radiologic technology unless he or she is licensed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

(c) No <u>A</u> person shall <u>not</u> practice radiography without a license for radiography from the board unless exempt under section 2803 of this title chapter.

(d) [Repealed.]

(e) No <u>A</u> person shall <u>not</u> practice nuclear medicine technology without a license for that purpose from the board unless exempt under section 2803 of this title chapter.

(f) No <u>A</u> person shall <u>not</u> practice radiation therapy technology without a license for that purpose from the board unless exempt under section 2803 of this title chapter.

§ 2803. EXEMPTIONS

The prohibitions in section 2802 of this chapter shall not apply to dentists licensed under chapter 12 of this title and actions within their scope of practice nor to:

(1) Licensed practitioners acting within the scope of practice for their licensed field, provided that their practice acts and rules adopted thereunder make provisions for have been expressly found by the Director, in consultation with advisors appointed under this chapter, to match or surpass the training in radiation safety and proper radiation practices determined in consultation with the Board required by this chapter and rules adopted under this chapter.

* * *

(5) Any of the following when operating dental radiographic equipment to conduct intraoral radiographic examinations under the general supervision of a licensed practitioner; and any of the following when operating dental radiographic equipment to conduct specialized radiographic examinations, including tomographic, cephalometric, or temporomandibular joint examinations, if the person has completed a course in radiography approved by the Board of Dental Examiners and practices under the general supervision of a licensed practitioner:

* * *

(D) a student of dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting as part of the training program when directly supervised by <u>under the direct</u> <u>supervision of</u> a licensed dentist, licensed dental therapist, licensed dental hygienist, or registered dental assistant.

* * *

(7) Researchers operating bone densitometry equipment for body composition upon successful completion of courses on body composition and radiation safety approved by the Board Director. The Board Director shall not require this coursework to exceed eight hours. The Board Director may consider other exemptions from licensure for bona fide research projects subject to course and examination requirements as deemed necessary for public protection.

§ 2804. COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT OF CERTAIN LICENSED PRACTITIONERS

(a) Unless the requirements of subdivision 2803(1) of this chapter have been satisfied, a physician, as defined in chapter 23 of this title; podiatrist, as defined in chapter 7 of this title; chiropractic physician, as defined in chapter 10 of this title; osteopathic physician, as defined in chapter 33 of this title; or naturopathic physician, as defined in chapter 81 of this title, <u>licensed</u> <u>practitioner</u> shall not apply ionizing radiation to human beings without first having satisfied the Board Director of his or her competency to do so.

(b) The Board Director shall:

(1) consult with the appropriate licensing boards concerning suitable performance standards; and

(2) by rule, provide for periodic recertification of competency.

(c) A person subject to the provisions of this section shall be subject to the fees established under subdivisions 2814(4) and (5) of this chapter.

(d) This section does not apply to radiologists who are certified or eligible for certification by the American Board of Radiology, nuclear cardiologists who are certified or eligible for certification by the Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology, or interventional cardiologists and electrophysiologists who are certified or eligible for certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

§ 2805. PENALTY AND ENFORCEMENT

A person found guilty of violating section 2802 or 2804 of this title <u>chapter</u> shall be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

Subchapter 2. Board of Radiologic Technology Administration § 2811. BOARD <u>REGULATION</u> OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGY;

DIRECTOR; ADVISOR APPOINTEES

(a)(1) A board of radiologic technology is created, consisting of six
 members. The board shall be attached to the office of professional regulation
 The Director shall administer the provisions of this chapter.

(2)(A) The Secretary of State shall appoint six persons of suitable qualifications in accordance with this section to advise the Director in matters concerning radiologic technology, radiologic safety, and the optimal administration of this chapter.

(B) The Secretary shall appoint the advisors for five-year staggered terms. Four of the initial appointments shall be for four-, three-, two-, and oneyear terms.

(3) The Director shall consult the appointed advisors prior to exercising interpretive discretion, adopting or amending rules, and determining any substantial regulatory question presented in the course of administering this chapter.

(b) One member of the board <u>advisor</u> shall be a member of the public who has no financial interest in radiologic technology other than as a consumer or possible consumer of its services. The public member shall have no financial interest personally or through a spouse.

(c) One member of the board <u>advisor</u> shall be a radiologist certified by the American Board of Radiology.

(d) Three members of the board <u>advisors</u> shall be licensed under this chapter, one representing each of the three following primary modalities: radiography; nuclear medicine technology; and radiation therapy.

(e) One member of the board <u>advisor</u> shall be a representative from the radiological health program of the Vermont department of health <u>Department</u> <u>of Health</u>.

(f) Board members shall be appointed by the governor. [Repealed.]
§ 2812. <u>DIRECTOR</u>; POWERS AND DUTIES

(a) The Board Director shall adopt rules necessary for the performance effective administration of its duties this chapter, including:

(1) a definition of the practice of radiologic technology, interpreting section 2801 of this title chapter;

(2) qualifications for obtaining licensure, interpreting sections 2821aand 2821b of this chapter;

(3) explanations of appeal and other significant rights given to applicants and the public;

(4) procedures for disciplinary and reinstatement cases;

(5) [Repealed.]

(6) procedures for mandatory reporting of unsafe radiologic conditions or practices;

(7) procedures for continued competency evaluation;

(8) procedures for radiation safety;

(9) procedures for competency standards for license applications and renewals.

(b) The Board Director shall:

(1) [Repealed.]

(2) use the administrative and legal services provided by the Office of

Professional Regulation under 3 V.S.A. chapter 5; [Repealed.]

(3) investigate suspected unprofessional conduct;

(4) periodically determine whether a sufficient supply of good quality

radiologic technology services is available in Vermont at a competitive and reasonable price and take suitable action, within the scope of its <u>the Office's</u> powers, to solve or bring public and professional attention to any problem that it finds in this area; and (5) as a condition of renewal require that a licensee establish that he or she has completed a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education as approved by the Board, the specific requirements of which may be specified by rule.

(c) The Board Director may:

(1) Refer cases of apparent improper radiologic technology practice to any occupational board with authority over the person concerned.

(2) Investigate suspected cases of unauthorized practice of radiologic technology, and refer any such case to <u>the Office's State prosecuting attorney</u>, the Attorney General, or a State's Attorney for possible prosecution and injunctive relief.

* * *

(8)(A) Conduct a competency evaluation where radiographic services are performed by licensees and licensed practitioners required to demonstrate competency under section 2804 of this title <u>chapter</u> to ensure that optimum radiologic technology practices are used to minimize patient and occupational radiation dose. The fee required under section 2814 of this title shall not be assessed more than once in any two-year period against any licensed practitioner evaluated under this subdivision.

(B) The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation may contract with the Department of Health or others to perform evaluations under this subsection subdivision (8).

§ 2813. BOARD PROCEDURES

(a) Annually, the board shall meet to elect a chairperson and a secretary.

(b) Meetings may be called by the chairperson and shall be called upon the request of any other two members.

(c) Meetings shall be warned and conducted in accordance with 1 V.S.A. chapter 5.

(d) A majority of the members of the board shall be a quorum for

transacting business.

(e) All action shall be taken upon a majority vote of the members present and voting, unless otherwise provided in 1 V.S.A. chapter 5.

(f) The provisions of the Vermont Administrative Procedure Act relating to contested cases shall apply to proceedings under this chapter.

(g) Fees for the service of process and attendance before the board shall be the same as the fees paid sheriffs and witnesses in superior court. [Repealed.]

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licensing

* * *

§ 2821a. LICENSE FOR PRIMARY MODALITIES; COMMON

REQUIREMENTS

The board <u>Director</u> shall recognize and follow the ARRT and the NMTCB primary certification process. The board <u>Director</u> shall issue a license to practice in one of the following three primary modalities to any person who in

addition to the other requirements of this section, has reached the age of majority and has completed preliminary education equivalent to at least four years of high school:

(1) Radiography. The board <u>Director</u> shall issue a radiography license to any person who, in addition to meeting the general requirements of this section:

* * *

(2) Nuclear medicine technology. The board <u>Director</u> shall issue a nuclear medicine technology license to any person who, in addition to meeting the general requirements of this section:

* * *

(3) Radiation therapy. The board <u>Director</u> shall issue a radiation therapy license to any person who, in addition to meeting the general requirements of this section:

* * *

§ 2821b. LICENSE FOR POSTPRIMARY MODALITIES

(a) The Board recognizes and follows Director shall recognize and follow the ARRT and NMTCB postprimary certification process for <u>in</u> the following postprimary practice categories: mammography, computed tomography (CT), cardiac-interventional radiography, vascular-interventional radiography, and positron emission tomography (PET).

* * *

§ 2822. PROCEDURE FOR DENIAL OF LICENSE

When the board intends to deny an application for license, it shall send the applicant written notice of its decision by certified mail. The notice shall include a statement of the reasons for the action. Within 30 days of the date that an applicant receives such notice, the applicant may file a petition with the board for review of its preliminary decision. At the hearing, the burden shall be on the applicant to show that a license should be issued. After the hearing, the board shall affirm or reverse its preliminary denial. [Repealed.]

§ 2823. RENEWAL AND PROCEDURE FOR NONRENEWAL

(a) Each radiographer, nuclear medicine technologist, and radiation therapist licensed to practice by the board shall apply biennially for the renewal of a license. One month prior to the renewal date, the office of professional regulation shall send to each of those licensees a license renewal application form and a notice of the date on which the existing license will expire. The licensee shall file the application for license renewal and pay a renewal fee. In order to be eligible for renewal, an applicant shall document completion of no fewer than 24 hours of board-approved continuing education. Required accumulation of continuing education hours shall begin on the first day of the first full biennial licensing period following initial licensure.

(b) A person who practices radiography, nuclear medicine technology, or radiation therapy and who fails to renew a license or registration or fails to pay

the fees required by this chapter shall be an illegal practitioner and shall forfeit the right to practice until reinstated by the board.

(c) The board shall adopt rules setting forth qualifications for reinstating lapsed licenses. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 2825a. LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

The board <u>Director</u> may grant a license to an applicant who possesses a license in good standing in another state and possesses the applicable ARRT or NMTCB primary and postprimary certifications as set forth in sections 2821a and 2821b of this subchapter, respectively.

Subchapter 4. Discipline

§ 2831. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) Unprofessional conduct is the conduct prohibited by this section and by
 3 V.S.A. § 129a, whether or not taken by a license holder.

(b) Conduct by a radiologic technologist which evidences moral unfitness to practice the profession constitutes unprofessional conduct. When that conduct is by an applicant or person who later becomes an applicant, it may constitute grounds for denial of a license.

(c) Unprofessional conduct includes the following actions by a licensee:

(1) practicing or offering to practice beyond the scope permitted by law;

(2) accepting and performing responsibilities which the licensee knows

or has reason to know that he or she is not competent to perform;

(3) making any material misrepresentation in the practice of the profession, whether by commission or omission;

(4) agreeing with any other person or organization, or subscribing to any code of ethics or organizational bylaws, when the intent or primary effect of that agreement, code, or bylaw is to restrict or limit the flow of information concerning alleged or suspected unprofessional conduct to the board.

[Repealed.]

§ 2832. DISCIPLINE OF LICENSEES

(a) The board shall accept oral and written complaints from any member of the public, any licensee, any state or federal agency, or the attorney general. The board may initiate disciplinary action in any complaint against a licensee and may act without having received a complaint.

(b) The burden of proof shall be on the state to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the licensee has engaged in unprofessional conduct.

(c) After hearing and upon a finding of unprofessional conduct, the board may:

(1) revoke a license;

(2) suspend a license; or

(3) issue a warning to a licensee.

(d) Before or after hearing, the board may approve a negotiated agreement between the parties when it is in the best interest of the public health, safety, or welfare to do so. Such an agreement may include, without limitation, any of the following conditions or restrictions which may be in addition to or in lieu of suspension:

(1) a requirement that a licensee submit to care or counseling;

(2) a restriction that a licensee practice only under supervision of a

named person or a person with specified credentials;

(3) a requirement that a licensee participate in continuing education in

order to overcome specified practical deficiencies;

(4) a requirement that the scope of practice permitted be restricted to a specified extent. Such an agreement may be modified by the parties after obtaining the approval of the board.

(e) An interested party may petition the board for modification of the terms of an order under this section.

(f) Where a license has been revoked, the board may reinstate the license on terms and conditions it deems proper. [Repealed.]

* * *

Sec. 19. TRANSITIONAL PROVISION; RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGY RULES

On the effective date of Sec. 18 of this act (amending 26 V.S.A. chapter 51 (radiology)), the rules of the Board of Radiologic Technology shall constitute the rules of the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation for the practice of radiologic technology.

* * * Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors * * *

Sec. 20. 26 V.S.A. § 3231 is amended to read:

§ 3231. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(5) "Practice of alcohol and drug abuse counseling" means the application of methods, including psychotherapy, that assist an individual or group to develop an understanding of alcohol and drug abuse dependency problems <u>or process disorders</u>, and to define goals and plan actions reflecting the individual's or group's interests, abilities, and needs as affected by alcohol and drug abuse dependency problems and comorbid conditions.

* * *

* * * Real Estate Appraisers * * *

Sec. 21. 26 V.S.A. chapter 69 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 69. REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

§ 3311. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(7) <u>"Board"</u> <u>"Director"</u> means the Board of Real Estate Appraisers established under this chapter <u>Director of the Office of Professional</u> <u>Regulation</u>. (8)(<u>A</u>) "Disciplinary action" means any action taken by the Board any regulatory or certifying authority against a licensed real estate appraiser or applicant premised Θ upon a finding that the person has engaged in unprofessional conduct.

(B)(i) The term includes all sanctions of any kind, including obtaining injunctions, refusing to grant or renew a license, suspending, revoking, or restricting a license, and issuing warnings.

(ii) The term does not include monetary civil penalties imposed by a hearing officer in relation to an express finding under 3 V.S.A. § 129(a)(3) that the subject matter does not constitute unprofessional conduct.

(9) "Office" means the Office of Professional Regulation.

§ 3312. PROHIBITIONS; PENALTY; EXEMPTION

(a) Unless licensed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, $\frac{1}{100}$ a person $\frac{1}{100}$ may shall not:

(1) <u>Perform perform</u> an appraisal in a federally related transaction when a licensed or certified appraiser is required by the Act.; or

(2) Use <u>use</u> in connection with his or her name any letters, words, or insignia indicating that he or she is a <u>state State</u> certified or licensed real estate appraiser.

(b) An individual who violates a provision of subsection (a) of this section shall be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

(c) A registered appraisal management company shall not be required to be licensed in order to acquire and provide finished appraisals to third parties.

Subchapter 2. Administration

§ 3313. BOARD <u>REGULATION</u> OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS;

DIRECTOR; ADVISOR APPOINTEES

(a)(1) A board of real estate appraisers is established. The board shall consist of six members appointed by the governor pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §§ 129b and 2004 The Director shall administer the provisions of this chapter.

(2)(A) The Secretary of State shall appoint six persons of suitable qualifications in accordance with this section to advise the Director in matters concerning real estate appraisal.

(B) The Secretary shall appoint the advisors for five-year staggered terms. Four of the initial appointments shall be for four-, three-, two-, and oneyear terms.

(3) The Director shall consult the appointed advisors prior to exercising interpretive discretion, adopting or amending rules, and determining any substantial regulatory question presented in the course of administering this chapter.

(b) Three members <u>advisors</u> shall be real estate appraisers licensed under this chapter who have been actively engaged in the full-time practice of real estate appraising for five years preceding appointment and have been practicing in Vermont for the two-year period immediately preceding appointment.

(c) Two members <u>advisors</u> shall be public members who shall have no direct financial interest personally or through a spouse, parent, child, brother, or sister in real estate appraising.

(d) One member <u>advisor</u> shall be a public member actively engaged in the business of banking, including lending for the purpose of buying real property, or shall be a person who is a consumer of appraisal services in the regular course of his or her business.

§ 3314. BOARD DIRECTOR; POWERS AND DUTIES

(a) The **Board** <u>Director</u> shall administer the provisions of this chapter in a manner that conforms in all respects with the requirements of the Act.

(b) In addition to it's the Director's other powers and duties under this chapter, the Board Director shall:

(1) Receive and review applications.

(2) Collect the registry fee as required by the Act and transmit that fee to

the ASC. The registry fee shall be in addition to State licensing and registration fees.

(3) Annually publish a roster of all licensees and transmit the roster to the ASC as required by the Act.

(4) Register appraisal management companies.

(5) The Board may make <u>Make</u> inquiries it <u>he or she</u> deems necessary into the character, integrity, and reputation of the applicant.

(6) Perform other functions and duties as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of this chapter and to comply with the requirements of the Act, including by adopting rules defining and regulating appraisal management companies in a manner consistent with the Act.

§ 3315. RULES

(a) The Board Director may adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of this chapter.

(b) The Board <u>Director</u> shall adopt rules relating to procedures for processing applications, issuing licenses, registering trainees, inspecting records, and instituting and conducting disciplinary proceedings.

Subchapter 3. Licenses, Certifications, and Registrations § 3316. LICENSING AND REGISTRATION FEES

* * *

§ 3317. APPLICATION

An individual who desires to be licensed under this chapter shall apply to submit an application as specified by the board in writing on a form furnished by the board. The application shall be Director, accompanied by payment of the required fee.

§ 3318. EXAMINATION

The Board Director shall examine applicants for using an AQB-approved qualifying examination for applicable to the credential sought by the applicant. § 3319. TEMPORARY PRACTICE

The board <u>Director</u> shall issue a temporary license to an individual, after filing of an application and fee, who is a certified or licensed real estate appraiser in another jurisdiction if all of the following apply:

 (1) The <u>the</u> property to be appraised is part of a federally related transaction for which a licensed or certified appraiser is required by the Act-;

(2) The the applicant's business is of a temporary nature-; and

(3) The the applicant registers with the board Office.

§ 3319a. APPRAISER TRAINEE REGISTRATION

(a)(1)(A) A person who has completed a course of instruction approved by the AQB may work as a certified residential or certified general appraiser trainee provided the person is registered with the Board Office.

(B) An appraiser trainee shall work under the direct supervision of an appraiser who holds either a certified residential or a certified general license in good standing and has held the certified residential or certified general license for at least the minimum number of years required by the AQB.

(2)(A) An appraiser trainee may perform activities within the scope of practice of the license sought, provided that the supervising appraiser reviews and signs all resulting appraisals.

(B) The supervising appraiser shall be professionally responsible for such activities performed by the trainee.

(3) As used in this section subsection, "good standing" means that the appraiser supervisor holds a current, unrestricted license.

(b) [Repealed.]

(c) The Board <u>Director</u> may, in its discretion, give credit for training hours, not exceeding 10 percent of the total hourly experience requirement, for hours worked or training given that does not include or is unrelated to a site inspection.

(d) Appraiser trainees registered with the Board as of July 1, 2013 and who continue on to satisfy the requirements specified by the AQB may become State licensed appraisers, notwithstanding the elimination of that license category.

§ 3320. LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

The Board Director shall waive all licensing requirements for an appraiser applicant holding a valid certification from another state if:

(1) the appraiser licensing and certification program of the other state is in compliance with the provisions of the Act; and

(2) the appraiser applicant holds the valid certification from a state whose requirements for certification or licensing meet or exceed the licensure standards established by this chapter.

* * *

§ 3321. RENEWALS

* * *

(c) The <u>Board Director</u> may reactivate the license of an individual whose license has lapsed for more than 30 days upon payment of the renewal fee, the reactivation fee, and the late renewal penalty, provided the individual has satisfied all requirements of AQB for reactivation.

(d) The Board Director may require, by rule, as a condition of reactivation, that an applicant undergo review of one or more aspects of the applicant's professional work in the practice of real estate appraising, provided that the manner and performance results of the review be specified by the Board Director. Such a review requirement shall:

* * *

§ 3322. USE OF LICENSE NUMBER; CONSUMER FEE DISCLOSURE

(a)(1) Each licensee or registrant shall be assigned a license or registration number which that shall be used in a report, a contract, engagement letter, or other instrument used by the licensee or registrant in connection with the licensee's or registrant's activities under this chapter. The license number shall be placed adjacent to or immediately below the title the licensee is entitled to use under this chapter.

(2) The Each licensed appraiser shall ensure that the registration number and the appraiser's fee for appraisal services shall appear adjacent to or immediately below the appraisal management company's registered name on documents supplied to clients or customers in this state <u>State</u>.

(b) The Each licensed appraiser shall include within the body of the appraisal report the amount of the appraiser's fee for appraisal services.

§ 3323. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) The following conduct by a licensee and the conduct set forth in

3 V.S.A. § 129a constitute unprofessional conduct. When that conduct is by an applicant or a person who later becomes an applicant, it may constitute grounds for denial of a license:

* * *

(8) Violating any term or condition of a license restricted by the board Office.

(9) Failing to comply with practice standards adopted by the board Director.

* * *

 (d) After hearing, and upon a finding of unprofessional conduct, the board may take disciplinary action against a licensee, applicant, or registrant.
 Without limitation, disciplinary action may include any of the following:

(1) suspending or conditioning a license or registration;

(2) requiring a licensee to submit to care or counseling;

(3) requiring that a licensee practice only under supervision of a named

person or a person with specified credentials;

VT LEG #341855 v.1

(4) requiring a licensee to participate in continuing education in order to overcome specified practical deficiencies;

(5) limiting the scope of the licensee's practice. [Repealed.]

(e) Appeals from decisions of the board disciplinary orders and final <u>license denials</u> shall be governed by the provisions of 3 V.S.A. § 130a.

§ 3324. RECORD RETENTION

 (a) A licensee or registrant shall retain all records related to an appraisal, review, or consulting assignment for no less <u>fewer</u> than five years after preparation.

(b) A licensee or registrant shall retain records under this section that relate to a matter in litigation for two years after the litigation concludes or in conformance with the "Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice," as promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation, whichever period is longer.

(c) With <u>Upon</u> reasonable notice, a licensee or registrant shall produce <u>provide to the Director for inspection and copying</u> any records governed by this section for inspection and copying by the board or its authorized agent.

§ 3325. REPORTING

An appraiser who reports to the board <u>Director</u> appraisal work being performed which <u>that</u> does not comply with the provisions of this chapter shall not be considered to have violated the ethics provision of the uniform standards of professional practice.

VT LEG #341855 v.1

Sec. 22. TRANSITIONAL PROVISION; REAL ESTATE APPRAISER RULES

On the effective date of Sec. 21 of this act (amending 26 V.S.A. chapter 69 (real estate appraisers)), the rules of the Board of Real Estate Appraisers shall constitute the rules of the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation for the practice of real estate appraisal.

* * * Acupuncturists * * *

Sec. 23. 26 V.S.A. chapter 75 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 75. ACUPUNCTURISTS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

§ 3401. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) "Acupuncture" or the "practice of acupuncture" means the insertion of fine needles through the skin at certain points on the body, with or without the application of electric current or the application of heat to the needles or skin, or both, for the purpose of promoting health and balance as defined by traditional and modern Oriental theories. Acupuncture involves the use of traditional and modern Oriental diagnostic techniques, acupuncture therapy, and adjunctive therapies, including but not limited to: nonprescription remedies, exercise, nutritional and herbal therapies, therapeutic massage, and lifestyle counselling well-being or to prevent or alleviate pain or unease.

(4) "Disciplinary action" includes any action taken by an administrative law officer appointed pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 129(j) against a licensed acupuncturist or applicant premised on a finding of unprofessional conduct. Disciplinary action includes all appropriate remedies, including denial of or renewal of a license, suspension, revocation, limiting, or conditioning of the license, issuing reprimands or warnings, and adopting consent orders.

(5) "Secretary" means the secretary of state.

§ 3401a. SCOPE OF PRACTICE

(a) A licensed acupuncturist may, in addition to the practice of acupuncture employing fine needles, in a manner consistent with acupuncture theory, employ electrical, magnetic, thermal, and mechanical skin stimulation techniques; nonlaboratory diagnostic techniques; nutritional, herbal, and manual therapies; exercise and lifestyle counseling; acupressure; and massage.

(b) A licensed acupuncturist shall not offer diagnosis of any human pathology except for a functional diagnosis, based upon the physical complaint of a patient or acupuncture theory, for purposes of developing and managing a plan of acupuncture care, or as necessary to document to insurers and other payers the reason a patient sought care.

§ 3402. PROHIBITIONS; OFFENSES; EXEMPTIONS; EVALUATING NONACUPUNCTURISTS

(a) Except as provided in <u>subsections (d) through (g) of this</u> section 3412 of this title, a person shall not practice acupuncture unless he or she is licensed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

* * *

(d) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall prevent a student from performing acupuncture under the supervision of a competent licensed acupuncturist instructor:

(1) within a school or a college or an acupuncture department of a
 college or university that is licensed by the Vermont Agency of Education or
 certified by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental
 Medicine;

(2) as a student in a Director-approved apprenticeship; or

(3) as an intern in any hospital.

(e) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall prevent a person who is licensed or certified as an acupuncturist in another state or Canadian province from practicing acupuncture for no more than five days in a calendar year as part of a health care professional educational seminar or program in Vermont, if the educational seminar or program is directly supervised by a Vermontlicensed health care professional whose scope of practice includes acupuncture. (f) This chapter shall not be construed to limit or restrict in any way the right of a licensed practitioner of a health care profession regulated under this title from performing services within the scope of his or her professional practice.

(g) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall prevent an unlicensed person from engaging in auriculotherapy, an unregulated practice wherein needles are inserted into the external human ear, provided such person:

(1) has appropriate training in clean needle technique;

(2) employs sterile, single-use needles, without reuse;

(3) does not purport to treat any disease, disorder, infirmity, or affliction;

(4) does not use any letters, words, or insignia indicating or implying that the person is an acupuncturist; and

(5) makes no statement implying that his or her practice of auriculotherapy is licensed, certified, or otherwise overseen by the State.

(h) The Director, with cooperation of the relevant professional regulatory boards, shall monitor and evaluate whether nonacupuncturists employing acupuncture as a therapeutic modality are doing so safely, within their scopes of practice, and in a manner consistent with the public health, safety, and welfare.

* * *

Subchapter 2. Administration

§ 3403. DIRECTOR; FUNCTIONS

* * *

§ 3404. ADVISOR APPOINTEES

(a)(1) The secretary of state Secretary of State shall appoint two licensed acupuncturists to serve as advisors in matters relating to acupuncture as set forth in 3 V.S.A. § 129b.

(2) Appointees shall have at least three years' experience as an acupuncturist immediately preceding appointment and shall be actively engaged in the practice of acupuncture in Vermont during incumbency.

(b) The director <u>Director</u> shall seek the advice of the acupuncturist advisors in carrying out the provisions of this chapter. They shall be entitled to compensation and necessary expenses in the amount provided in 32 V.S.A. § 1010 for attendance at any meeting called by the director for that purpose.

Subchapter 3. Licenses

§ 3405. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSURE

To be eligible for licensure as an acupuncturist, an applicant shall be at least 18 years of age and shall furnish satisfactory proof that he or she has:

(1)(A) completed a program in acupuncture and Oriental medicine and has received <u>holds</u> a degree or diploma from an educational institution in candidacy or accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine or an <u>a substantially</u> equivalent or successor accrediting

organization approved by the U.S. Department of Education and the Director-The training received in the program shall be for a period of not less than three academic years, and, which shall include at least two academic years and a minimum of 800 400 hours of supervised clinical practice; or

(B) completed a training program no later than December 31, 2010 with a preceptor approved by the Director where the training program is approved by the Director and begun prior to December 31, 2007 and which shall include earning a minimum of 40 points earned in any one of the following categories or combination of categories:

(i) self-directed study-10 points for study equivalent to one year of full time academic work in acupuncture and Oriental medicine, for a maximum of two years or 20 points;

(ii) apprenticeship-10 points for each 1,000 documented contact hours, up to a maximum of 13.5 points per year;

(iii) completed academic work in an accredited acupuncture program as described in subdivision (1) of this section five points for each sixmonth period of completed academic study in the field of acupuncture and Oriental medicine, up to a maximum of four periods or 20 points;

(iv) preceptors shall be licensed and in good standing and meet the standards of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine in order to be approved, with no preceptor having more than two apprentices at any one time; and (2) passed the examination described in section 3406 of this title chapter.

§ 3406. EXAMINATION

(a) The <u>director</u> <u>Director</u> shall examine applicants for licensure and may use a standardized national examination. The examination shall include the following subjects:

(1) Anatomy and physiology.

(2) Traditional Oriental Acupuncture pathology.

(3) Traditional Oriental Acupuncture diagnosis.

(4) Hygiene, sanitation, and sterilization techniques.

(5) The principles, practices, and techniques of acupuncture and Oriental medicine.

(6) Clean needle techniques.

(7) Chinese herbology for those licensed after January 1, 2007 who

intend to employ nonprescription remedies and herbal therapies.

(b) The <u>director</u> <u>Director</u> may adopt rules necessary to perform his or her duties under this section.

§ 3407. LICENSURE WITHOUT EXAMINATION

(a) The director <u>Director</u> may waive the examination requirement under subdivision 3405(3) <u>3405(2)</u> of this title <u>chapter</u> if the applicant is an acupuncturist regulated under the laws of another state who is in good standing to practice acupuncture in that state and, in the opinion of the director <u>Director</u>, the standards and qualifications required for regulation of acupuncturists in that state are substantially equivalent to those required by this chapter.

(b) The <u>director Director</u> may waive the examination requirement under subdivision <u>3405(3)</u> <u>3405(2)</u> of this <u>title chapter</u> for an applicant who has furnished evidence of having passed the examination administered by the National <u>Certification</u> Commission for the Certification of for <u>Acupuncturists</u> <u>Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine</u>.

* * *

§ 3408. RENEWALS

(a) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee and furnishing satisfactory evidence of having completed 30 hours of continuing education credit during the preceding two years. The director <u>Director</u> may adopt rules for the approval of continuing education programs and the awarding of credit.

(b) Biennially, the director shall forward a renewal form to each licensed acupuncturist. Upon receipt of the completed form and the renewal fee, the director shall issue a new license.

(c) A license that has expired for three years or less shall be renewed upon meeting the renewal requirements and paying a late renewal penalty. A license that has expired for more than three years shall not be renewed; the applicant shall be required to apply for reinstatement. The director may adopt rules relating to reinstatement to assure that the applicant is professionally qualified.

* * *

§ 3410. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) A licensed acupuncturist or applicant shall not engage in unprofessional conduct.

(b) Unprofessional conduct means any of the conduct listed in this section and 3 V.S.A. § 129a, whether committed by a licensed acupuncturist or an applicant:

(1) Using dishonest or misleading advertising.

(2) Addiction to narcotics, habitual drunkenness, or rendering

professional services to a patient if the acupuncturist is intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.

(3) Sexual harassment of a patient.

(4) Engaging in sexual intercourse or other sexual conduct with a patient with whom the licensed acupuncturist has had a professional relationship within the previous two years.

(c) After hearing and upon a finding of unprofessional conduct, an administrative law officer appointed under 3 V.S.A. § 129(j) may take disciplinary action against a licensed acupuncturist or applicant. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 3412. ACUPUNCTURE DETOXIFICATION; SPECIALIZED

CERTIFICATION

(a) A person not licensed under this chapter may obtain a specialized certification as an acupuncture detoxification technician to practice auricular acupuncture according to the National Acupuncture Detoxification Association protocol from the board for the purpose of the treatment of alcoholism, substance abuse, or chemical dependency if he or she provides documentation of successful completion of a board approved training program in acupuncture for the treatment of alcoholism, substance abuse, or chemical dependency which meets or exceeds standards of training established by the National Acupuncture Detoxification Association.

(b) Treatment permitted under this section may only take place in a state, federal, or board-approved site under the supervision of an individual licensed under this chapter and certified by the National Acupuncture Detoxification Association.

(c) A person practicing under this section shall be subject to the requirements of section 3410 of this title.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to modify any of the requirements for licensure of acupuncturists contained in this chapter, nor shall it grant any rights to practice acupuncture which exceed the scope of this section.

(e) The fee for obtaining a specialized certification or renewal of a specialized certification under this section shall be that established in 3 V.S.A. § 125(b).

(f) Anyone certified under this section, while practicing the National Acupuncture Detoxification Association protocol, shall be referred to as an acupuncture detoxification technician. [Repealed.]

* * * Athletic Trainers * * *

Sec. 24. 26 V.S.A. chapter 83 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 83. ATHLETIC TRAINERS

§ 4151. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(3) "Athletic training" means the application of principles and methods of conditioning, the prevention, immediate care, recognition, evaluation, assessment, and treatment of athletic and orthopedic injuries within the scope of education and training, the organization and administration of an athletic training program, and the education and counseling of athletes, coaches, family members, medical personnel, and communities, <u>and groups</u> in the area of care and prevention of athletic and orthopedic injuries. <u>Athletic training may only be applied in the "traditional setting" and the "clinical setting":</u>

(A) Without further referral, to athletes participating in organized sports or athletic teams at an interscholastic, intramural, instructional, intercollegiate, amateur, or professional level.

(B) With a referral from a physician, osteopathic physician, advanced practice registered nurse, physician assistant, dentist, or chiropractor, to athletes or the physically active who have an athletic or orthopedic injury and have been determined, by a physician's examination, to be free of an underlying pathology that would affect treatment.

* * *

(10) "Referral" means sending a patient for treatment <u>determination</u>, recorded in writing, by an allopathic or osteopathic physician, podiatrist, advanced practice registered nurse, physician assistant, physical therapist, naturopath, dentist, or chiropractor, that an athlete or physically active individual should be treated by an athletic trainer, and that such person is free of an underlying pathology that would affect treatment.

(11) <u>"Settings" means any areas in which an athletic trainer may</u> practice athletic training. These areas include:

(A) "Traditional setting" means working with any organized sports or athletic teams at an interscholastic, intramural, instructional, intercollegiate, amateur, or professional level.

(B) "Clinical setting" means an outpatient orthopaedic or sports medicine clinic that employs one of the following: physician, osteopathic physician, chiropractor, or physical therapist. [Repealed.]

(12) "Underlying pathology" means any disease process, including neuromuscular disease, diabetes, spinal cord injuries, and systemic diseases.

§ 4151a. PRACTICE CONTEXTS; REFERRAL REQUIRED FOR

CLINICAL CARE

(a) A person licensed under this chapter may provide athletic training:

(1) by formal engagement with a team, school, college, university, league, or other sporting organization, to affiliated athletes participating in organized sports or athletic teams at an interscholastic, intramural, instructional, intercollegiate, amateur, or professional level;

(2) upon referral of an athlete or physically active individual to an athletic training clinic:

(3) by engagement with an employer or organization for the purpose of educating groups on the care and prevention of athletic and orthopedic injuries or conditioning appropriate to physical demands upon employees or members; or

(4) in a bona fide emergency necessitating response care of an injured athlete.

(b) Practice outside the settings set forth in subsection (a) of this section, including clinical practice without referral, exceeds an athletic trainer's scope of practice. Such practice is not entitled to the protections of § 4160 of this chapter and may be sanctioned as unprofessional conduct.

§ 4152. PROHIBITION; OFFENSES

(a) No <u>A</u> person may <u>shall not</u> use in connection with the person's name any letters, words, or insignia indicating or implying that the person is a licensed athletic trainer unless the person is licensed in accordance with this chapter.

(b) A person who violates any of the provisions of subsection (a) of this section shall be subject to the penalties provided in 3 V.S.A. § 127(c).

§ 4153. EXEMPTIONS

The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to:

* * *

(2) a person who assists or provides response care to an injured athlete and who does not attempt to assess the injury, provide follow-up treatment, or otherwise practice athletic training as defined in this chapter; [Repealed.]

(3) a person duly licensed under the laws of this state <u>State</u> who is practicing within the scope of the profession for which the person is licensed; or

(4) the practice of athletic training which that is incidental to a program of study by a person enrolled in an athletic training education program approved by the director Director, or graduates of an approved athletic training education program pending the results of the first licensing examination

scheduled by the director following graduation. Graduates shall practice under the supervision of a licensed athletic trainer and shall have an application for licensure by examination on file working under the direct supervision of a person licensed under this chapter within 90 days following graduation from that program.

* * *

§ 4157a. TEMPORARY LICENSURE

An applicant who is currently certified by and in good standing with the National Athletic Trainers Association Board of Certification, or who is currently licensed or certified and in good standing in another state, shall be eligible for a 60 day temporary license. Applicants under this section shall meet the requirements of section 4158 of this title. Temporary practice shall not exceed 60 days in any calendar year. [Repealed.]

§ 4158. APPLICATION

A person who desires to be licensed as an athletic trainer shall apply to the director in writing, on a form furnished by the director, accompanied by payment of a fee required pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 125 and evidence that the applicant meets the requirements set forth in section 4156 or 4157 of this title. [Repealed.]

§ 4158a. RENEWALS

(a) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee.

(b) Biennially, the director shall forward a renewal form to each license holder. Upon receipt of the completed form and the renewal fee, the director shall issue a new license.

(c) Any application for renewal of a license which has expired shall be accompanied by the renewal fee and late fee. A person shall not be required to pay renewal fees for years during which the license was lapsed.

(d) The director may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke a person's right to renew licensure if the license has lapsed for five or more years. [Repealed.]

§ 4159. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

(a) A licensed athletic trainer shall not engage in unprofessional conduct. When such conduct is committed by an applicant, it shall be grounds for denial of the application or other disciplinary action.

(b) Unprofessional conduct means the following conduct and conduct set forth in 3 V.S.A. § 129a:

(1) Failing to make available to a person using athletic training services, upon that person's request, copies of documents in the possession or under the control of the practitioner, when those documents have been prepared for the user of services.

(2) Conduct which evidences unfitness to practice athletic training.

(3) Sexual harassment of a person using athletic training services.

(4) Engaging in a sexual act as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3251 with a person using athletic training services.

(5) Any of the following except when reasonably undertaken in an emergency in order to protect life, health, or property:

(A) Practicing or offering to practice beyond the scope permitted by law.

(B) Performing athletic training services which have not been

authorized by the consumer or his or her legal representative.

(6) Conduct prohibited under any other laws relating to athletic training.

(c) After notice and an opportunity for hearing, and upon a finding of

unprofessional conduct, an administrative law officer may take disciplinary

action against a licensed athletic trainer or applicant. [Repealed.]

* * *

* * * Applied Behavior Analysts * * *

Sec. 25. 26 V.S.A. chapter 95 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 95. APPLIED BEHAVIOR ANALYSTS

* * *

Subchapter 3. Licenses

* * *

§ 4925. RENEWALS

* * *

(b) Biennially, the Director shall provide notice to each licensee of license expiration and renewal requirements. Upon receipt of the completed form and the <u>a complete and satisfactory</u> renewal <u>application and</u> fee, the Director shall issue a new license.

* * *

(d)(1) The Director may reinstate the license of an individual whose license has expired upon payment of the required fee and reinstatement penalty, provided the individual has satisfied all the requirements for renewal, including continuing education.

(2) The Director may adopt rules necessary for the protection of the public to assure the Director that an applicant whose license has expired or who has not worked for more than three years as an applied behavior analyst or an assistant behavior analyst is professionally qualified for license renewal. Conditions imposed under this subsection shall be in addition to the other requirements of this section. [Repealed.]

* * *

§ 4927. APPLICATIONS

Applications for licensure and license renewal shall be on forms provided by the <u>The</u> Director <u>shall promulgate applications for licensure and license</u> <u>renewal</u>. Each application shall contain a statement under oath showing the applicant's education, experience, and other pertinent information and shall be accompanied by the required fee.

* * *

* * * Notaries Public * * *

Sec. 26. 24 V.S.A. § 1160 is amended to read:

§ 1160. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS; OATH

(a) A town clerk, commissioned as a notary public pursuant to 26 V.S.A. chapter 103, may take acknowledgements of deeds and other instruments throughout his or her county.

(b) In his or her county, he or she may administer oaths in all cases where an oath is required, without being commissioned as a notary public pursuant to 26 V.S.A. chapter 103.

(c)(1) Each town clerk may designate from among the members of his or her staff at least one notary public to be available to perform notarial acts for the public in the town clerk's office during normal business hours free of charge.

(2) Each individual designated by the town clerk under this subsection shall be commissioned as a notary public pursuant to 26 V.S.A. chapter 103 and shall be exempt from the notary public application fee under that chapter. Sec. 27. 26 V.S.A. § 5304 is amended to read:

§ 5304. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

* * *

(8) "Notarial officer" means a notary public or other <u>an</u> individual authorized to perform a notarial act <u>under authority and within the jurisdiction</u> <u>of another state, under authority and within the jurisdiction of a federally</u> <u>recognized Indian tribe, under authority of federal law, under authority and</u> <u>within the jurisdiction of a foreign state or constituent unit of the foreign state,</u> <u>or under authority of a multinational or international governmental</u> <u>organization</u>.

* * *

Sec. 28. 26 V.S.A. § 5305 is amended to read:

§ 5305. EXEMPTIONS

(a) Generally Judiciary- and law enforcement-related employees.

(1) <u>Employee exemptions.</u>

(A) Judiciary-related.

(i) The persons set forth in subdivision (2)(A) of this subsection,

when acting within the scope of their official duties, are exempt from all of the requirements of this chapter, <u>including the requirement to pay the fee set forth</u> <u>in section 5324 of this chapter</u>, except for the requirements:

(A) <u>requirement</u> to apply for a commission as set forth in section 5341(a), (b)(1)–(3), (c), (d), and (e) of this chapter; and

(B) unless exempted under subsection (c) of this section, to pay the fee set forth in section 5324 of this chapter.

(ii) A commission issued to a person under this subdivision (A) shall not be considered a license.

(B) Law enforcement-related.

(i) The persons set forth in subdivision (2)(B) of this subsection, when acting within the scope of their official duties, shall be commissioned as notaries public authorized to perform a notarial act as a matter of law and are exempt from all of the requirements of this chapter, including the requirement to pay the fee set forth in section 5324 of this chapter.

(ii) A notarial act that identifies the notary public as a person who is exempt under this subdivision (B) shall establish as a matter of law that the person is commissioned as a notary public for the purpose of acting within the scope of official duties under this subsection.

(2) <u>Employees, defined.</u>

(A) <u>Judiciary-related.</u> Persons employed by the Judiciary, including judges, Superior Court clerks, court operations managers, Probate registers, case managers, docket clerks, assistant judges, county clerks, and after-hours relief from abuse contract employees.

(B) <u>Law enforcement-related.</u> Persons employed as law enforcement officers certified under 20 V.S.A. chapter 151; who are noncertified constables; or who are employed by a Vermont law enforcement agency, the Department of Public Safety, of Fish and Wildlife, of Motor Vehicles, of Liquor Control, or for Children and Families, the Office of the Defender General, the Office of the Attorney General, or a State's Attorney or Sheriff.

(3) <u>Official duties, defined.</u> As used in subdivision (1) of this subsection, "acting within the scope of official duties" means that a person is notarizing a document that:

(A) he or she believes is related to the execution of his or her duties and responsibilities of employment or is the type of document that other employees notarize in the course of employment;

(B) is useful or of assistance to any person or entity identified in subdivision (2) of this subsection (a);

(C) is required, requested, created, used, submitted, or relied upon by any person or entity identified in subdivision (2) of this subsection (a);

(D) is necessary in order to assist in the representation, care, or protection of a person or the State;

(E) is necessary in order to protect the public or property;

(F) is necessary to represent or assist crime victims in receiving restitution or other services:

(G) relates to a Vermont or federal court rule or statute governing any criminal, postconviction, mental health, family, juvenile, civil, probate,Judicial Bureau, Environmental Division, or Supreme Court matter; or

(H) relates to a matter subject to Title 4, 12, 13, 15, 18, 20, 23, or 33 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated.

(b) Attorneys.

(1) Attorneys licensed and in good standing in this State are exempt from:

(A) the examination requirement set forth in subsection 5341(b) of this chapter; and

(B) the continuing education requirement set forth in section 5343 of this chapter.

(2) If a complaint of a violation of this chapter is filed in regard to a Vermont licensed attorney, the Office shall refer the complaint to the Professional Responsibility Board and shall request a report back from the Board regarding the final disposition of the complaint.

(c) Fees Town clerks, assistants, and justices of the peace. The following

persons are exempt from the fee set forth in section 5324 of this chapter:

(1)(A) a judge, clerk, or other court staff, as designated by the Court Administrator; A town clerk and his or her assistants may perform notarial acts as notaries public throughout the town clerk's county, provided that they shall comply with all of the requirements of this chapter, except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(B) Subject to the provisions of subdivision (A) of this subdivision (1), performing notarial acts as a notary public shall be considered within the scope of the official duties of a town clerk and his or her assistants. (2) State's Attorneys and their deputies and Assistant AttorneysGeneral, public defenders, and their staff;

(3) justices <u>Justices</u> of the peace and town clerks and their assistants; and

(4) State Police officers, municipal police officers, fish and game wardens, sheriffs and deputy sheriffs, motor vehicle inspectors, employees of the Department of Corrections, and employees of the Department for Children and Families are exempt from the fee set forth in section 5324 of this chapter.

(d) Unauthorized practice. Nothing in this section is intended to prohibit prosecution of a person under 3 V.S.A. § 127 (unauthorized practice).

Sec. 29. 26 V.S.A. § 5361 is amended to read:

§ 5361. NOTARIAL ACTS IN THIS STATE; AUTHORITY TO PERFORM

(a) A notarial act, as defined in subdivision 5304(7)(A) of this chapter, may only be performed in this State by a notary public commissioned under this chapter.

(b) The signature and title of an individual performing a notarial act in this State are prima facie evidence that the signature is genuine and that the individual holds the designated title.

* * * Massage Services * * *

Sec. 30. OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION; ADDENDUM TO PRELIMINARY SUNRISE ASSESSMENT ON MASSAGE THERAPY

(a) On or before January 15, 2020, the Office of Professional Regulation shall prepare and submit to the Senate and House Committees on Government Operations an Addendum to its 2015-2016 Preliminary Sunrise Assessment on Massage Therapy, dated January 5, 2016. The Addendum shall apply the criteria set forth in 26 V.S.A. chapter 57 (review of regulatory laws) to assess whether new regulation of businesses or individuals offering massage services will serve the interests of public safety pertaining to sexual misconduct and human trafficking. Development of the Addendum shall not require the Office to repeat its 2010 and 2016 analyses of proposals by applicants for sunrise review.

(b) In preparing the Addendum, the Office shall consult with the Vermont Center for Crime Victim Services, the Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence, the Vermont Department of Public Safety, the Vermont Police Association, the Vermont Association of Chiefs of Police, the Vermont Human Trafficking Task Force, representatives of massage therapists, and such other advocacy organizations, researchers, State and federal agencies, and law enforcement authorities as the Office may deem appropriate.

* * * Effective Date * * *

Sec. 31. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July, 1, 2019. Date Governor signed bill: May 23, 2019