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NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

State

Commercial Licensing or
Registration

Residential Licensing or
Registration

Bond and Financial
Requirements

Liability Insurance
Requirements

Residential
Recovery Fund

Continuing Education
Requirements

Renewal Period and Fees

Background Check
Requirements

Alabama Licensing Board for General
Contractors

Yes

No

No

General Contractors: Annual -
$200

Alabama Home Builders Licensure
Board

No

Residential Homebuilders:
Annual - $250

Alaska Department of Commerce,
Community and Economic
Development Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

8 hours by Residential
Endorsements.

General Contractors: Biennial
-$235

Residential Contractors:
Biennial - $235

Arizona Registrar of Contractors

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

General Commercial: 2 Years
$200 application, $580 fee.
Specialty Commercial: $100
application, $480 fee

General Residential: 2 Years
$180 application, $320 fee,
plus Recovery Fund.
Specialty Residential: $80
application, $270 fee, plus
Recovery Fund.

General Dual: 2 Years $200
application, $480 fee, plus
Recovery Fund.

Specialty Dual: $100,
application, $380 fee, plus
Recovery Fund.

Required for all new
applications

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org
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NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State . K . . . . X Renewal Period and Fees >
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
General and Residential
Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board |Yes Yes Yes No No No Contractors: Annual - $50 No
($100 if not renewed timely)
License applicants are
required to submit a full set of
. . . fingerprints for a criminal
gzlalfrzmla Contractors State License Yes Yes Yes Yes No No Biennial - $360 background check and submit
a disclosure statement
regarding any criminal plea or
conviction.
Local Licensing may be ) . .
Colorado . Local Licensing may be required |Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A No
required
Major Contractor: Annual -
$500
New Home Builders: Biennial
Connecticut Department of Consumer $240 and deposit $480 to
Protection Occupational and Yes-Registration Yes-Registration Yes Yes Yes Yes NHCGF
Professional Licensing Division Home Improvement
Contractor: Annual - $120
and deposit $100 to the
NHCGF
Delaware Yes No No Yes No 10 hours Annual - $75 No
. |Iftheyh Felony th
General Contractor: Biennial - ey have E_] N Om./ .ey
$595 have to provide a criminal
District of Columbia Department of history repot
Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
. € X v X i No (Trades Only) Yes Yes Yes No No
Business and Professional Licensing
Administration Home Improvement Must provide a criminal
Contractor: Biennial - $295  |history report

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org




NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research

SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

State

Commercial Licensing or
Registration

Residential Licensing or
Registration

Bond and Financial
Requirements

Liability Insurance
Requirements

Residential
Recovery Fund

Continuing Education
Requirements

Renewal Period and Fees

Background Check
Requirements

Florida Department of Business and

Professional Regulation Construction |Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 14 hours Biennial - $209 Yes
Industry Licensing Board
Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and Commercial N Applicant Is required to
Y Y Y Y N B I-$200
Residential and General Contractors e e es e ° Contractors fennial - 3 provide a background check.
Guam Contractors License Board Yes No Yes No No No Annual - $450
Licenses expire on
Hawaii Contractors License Board Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No September 30th of each even{No
numbered year - $160-$275
RCE - Registered Entity:
Annual (expires a year from
the date issued) - $35
Idaho State Contractors Board Yes-Registration Yes-Registration No Yes No No No
RCT - Registered Individual:
Annual (expires a year from
issued date on the
registrant's birthday) - $35
Illinois Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation Division of No Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A No

Professional Regulation

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org
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NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State . K . . . . X Renewal Period and Fees >
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
Indiana No Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes
| Divisi f Labor/Contract
ow.a IVI,Slon of Labor/Contractor Yes-Registration Yes-Registration Yes Yes No No Annual - $50 No
Registration
Local Licensing may be required
Kansas Department of Revenue No Contractqrs exceeding $10,000 Yes No No No N/A No
Division of Taxation to nonresident contractors and
subcontractors must be
registered with the Dept. of
Revenue.
Kentucky No Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A Only for Electrical N/A
Yes, Residential Building
Louisiana State Licensing Board for Ves Ves Yes Yes-Residential No Cons.tructlon \..lcer]ses are Annual - $100 No
Contractors Contractors Only require to maintain 4 hours
annually
Maine No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Home Improvement
Contractors: Biennial -
$380.42
Maryland Home Improvement No Yes Ves Yes Yes No Ves

Commission

Home Improvement
Subcontractors: Biennial -
$100

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org




NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State . K . . . . X Renewal Period and Fees >
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
Massachusetts Department of Public Construction Supervisor Construction Supervisor
Safety Board of Building Regulations & | " Yes No Yes Yes No , N
License License: Biennial - $100
Standards
Massachusetts Office of Consumer Yes No Yes Yes No Home Improvement
Affairs and Business Regulation Contractors: Biennial $150
Licensees are required to
show evidence of Good Moral
Character and Financial
Stability For Good Moral
3 hours per 3- year license cycle Character: Applicants are
Michigan Department of Licensing and if licensed prior to 1/1/2009 or required to indicate on the
Regulatory Affairs BPL Licensing No Yes Yes No Yes more than 6 years; 21 hours per [Triennial - $150 licensing applications whether
Division 3 years if licensed fewer than 6 they have been convicted of a
years felony and provide details on
“Request for Conviction
History” form. The
information is reviewed in
accordance to the
Occupational Licenses for
Formal Offender Act.
No commercial license but all
Minnesota Department of Labor and con.qmerafal contractors must Between $520 - $725
. i o register with the Department )
Industry Residential Building Yes Yes Yes Yes 7 hours per year for New and Renewal License
Contractors i fberr e el st depending on License Type.
Registration is free and done
online only.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org




NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State . K . . . . X Renewal Period and Fees >
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
Commercial Contractors:
2 hours annually for a residential Annual - $200
Mississippi State Board of Contractors |Yes Yes Yes Yes No license issued on or after July 1,
2015. Residential Contractors:
Annual - $100 ($110 if
expired)
Local Li i b
Missouri oca. \censing may be Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
required
Yes-Registration (independent |Yes-Registration (independent
ortars bt o |75 1 1100 o 0 s
Industry Employment Relations A P & . . P & ) No Yes No No Biennial - $53 Yes
L ) . ) requirements, unless business [requirements, unless business
Division Contractor Registration Unit | .
in Inc., or a manager-managed|in Inc., or a manager-managed
LLC) LLC)
Annual - $40 (or the
Nebraska Department of Labor Office . . appropriate notarized
Yes-Registrat N N \ N N
of Labor Standards es-Reglstration ° ° e ° ° affidavit if exempt from the
fee)
Biennial - $600 plus recovery
Nevada State Contractors Board Yes Yes Yes No Yes No fund assessment for Yes
residential contractors
New Hampshire No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
H | t
New Jersey Division of Consumer Cgrr::fa:tqgrroé‘???ennial
Affairs Office of Consumer Protection [No Yes-Registration No Yes No No -
Regulated Business Section Home Builder Contractor -
g $200 Biennial
Three Year Period - $25-
New Mexico Construction Industries & ) ; s
) L Yes Yes Yes No No Only for Electrical $100/yr depending on
Manufactured Housing Division e
classification

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org




NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State ) . . . . . . Renewal Period and Fees ;
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
New York No Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Annual (Dec. 31st)  Limited
North Carolina Li ing Board fi li is 75 Int diat
o arolina Licensing Board tor Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Only for Electrical ?cense ?s$ ntermediate
General Contractors license is $100
Unlimited license is $125
Al |- $10-560 d di
North Dakota Secretary of the State  |Yes-Registration Yes-Registration No Yes No No nnua ) $ .$ epending
on classification
Once you have been approved
by the Board, you are
i i Li i ired t let Stat
Ohio Construction Industry Licensing No (Trades Only) . - Yes . Ves Annually $60 required to complete a State
Board and Federal Background
Check prior to sitting for the
examination
Oklahoma No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Commercial: 16-80 hours each 2
years depending on the number
f ki |
Oregon Construction Contractors o key employees Commercial and Residential:
Board Yes Yes Yes Yes No Biennial - $325 No
Residential: 8-16 hours each 2
years depending on years
licensed or RMI experience
Pennsylvania Office of Attorney
General Bureau of Consumer No Yes-Registration N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Protection
Pending; 5 hours before
! i i isteri d5h Bi ial - $200.00 (late f f
RhC?de Is.land Contractors' Registration Yes-Registration Yes-Registration - Yes o regls. er!ng an .ours |enma S (la ? e§ o
& Licensing Board continuing education to be $35 imposed after expiration)
maintained by registrant

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org




NASCLA State Contractor Licensing Research
SUMMARIZATION OF LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Commercial Licensing or Residential Licensing or Bond and Financial |Liability Insurance |Residential Continuing Education . Background Check
State ) . . . . . . Renewal Period and Fees ;
Registration Registration Requirements Requirements Recovery Fund Requirements Requirements
. . . Only if they've been convicted
South Carolina Contractors' Licensin, I :
Board e Yes Yes No No No No Commercial: Biennial - $350 |of a felony or have pled guilty
to a criminal offense.
Residential Builders: Biennial
”[Only if they've b icted
South Carolina Residential Builders Yes Ves Ves No No No before June 30th, of each ofnayf:eloneyo\:'ehaizn ICSJVEHT
Commission even year (2010, 2012, 2014, ) .\/ plec gulity
to a criminal offense.
etc.) - $160
South Dakota No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tennessee Board for Licensing Yes Yes Ves Yes 8 Only for Electrical Commercial and.HorTme -
Contractors Improvement: Biennial - $250
Tt D tment of Li ing &
exas Department ot Hicensing No Yes - Registration N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Regulation
Biennial: Renewed Nov. 30th
Utah Department of Commerce
L ) of each odd year - Fees
Division of Occupational and Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 12 hours every 2 years
. X i dependent on number of
Professional Licensing e .
classifications obtained
Vermont No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Virginia Department of Professional Biennial (expires on the last
and Occupational Regulation Board for |Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No day of the month) - $245-
Contractors $290 depending on Class
Washington State'Department of Yes-Registration Yes-Registration Yes Yes No No Biennial - $113.40 No
Labor and Industries
West Vlrglnla'les'lon of Labor Yes Yes No No No No Annual - $90 No
Contractors Licensing Board
Wisconsin No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Wyoming No Local Licensing may be required [N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.
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NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF STATE
CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State Bond and Financial Requirements
Financial statement required.
A performance bond in the amount of $15,000 is required of each heating, refrigeration, and air conditioning
business.

Alabama

License bonds range from $5,000 to $100,000 are required of all contractor license applicants

Project Financial Limits are based in the applicant's new worth or working capital (whichever results in the
lower amount).

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and
Economic Development Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing

$25,000 for General Contractors
$20,000 for Residential Endorsement
$10,000 for Mechanical Administrator

$5,000 for Specialty Contractors

Arizona Registrar of Contractors

License bonds range from $2,500 to $100,000 are required of all contractor license applicants. The amount of
the bond is based on the type of license applied for and the anticipated annual gross volume of work.

Residential Contractor license applicants are required to participate in a consumer's recovery fund or,
alternatively, post a $200,000 bond.

All licenses, other than a residential contractor's license, require submittal of a detailed statement of current
financial condition. A swimming pool contractor shall also submit a detailed statement of current financial
condition.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF STATE
CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

Commercial Contractors must have an audited or reviewed financial statement if they perform projects of
$750,000 or more. They must submit a compiled financial statement from a CPA if their projects are less than
$750,000. They must file a surety or cash bond in the sum of $10,000.

Residential Contractors must submit a financial statement

California Contractors State License Board

A Contractor's Bond in the amount of $15,000 is required on all active licenses.

A separate "Bond of Qualifying Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is required for a responsible managing
employee on an active license.

A Separate "Bond of Qualifying Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is required for a responsible managing
officer, member or manager owning less than 10% of the voting stock or equity of a corporate license.

A responsible managing officer, member or manager owning 10% or more of the voting stock or equity of a
corporate license is exempt from posting this additional bond.

A $100,000 LLC Employee/Worker Bond (in addition to the $15,000 Contractor Bond) is required for all active
licenses for the benefit of any employee or worker damaged by an LLC's failure to pay wages, interest on
wages, or fringe benefits, as well as other contributions.

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
Occupational and Professional Licensing Division

A bond of $10,000 may be ordered by the Commissioner.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLAN

NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

District of Columbia Department of Consumer and
Regulatory Affairs Business and Professional
Licensing Administration

Home Improvement Contractors must have a surety bond of $25,000

Florida Department of Business and Professional
Regulation Construction Industry Licensing Board

Credit Report and Financial Statement Required (not more than 12 months old).

The amount of the licensing bond or letter of credit is based on the type of license requested: $20,000 for
Division | contractors and $10,000 for Division Il contractors.

A net worth ranging from $2,500 to $20,000 (depending on classification) is required.
Contractors must execute a payment/performance bond when awarded a public works contract exceeding
$100,000.

The governing authority may exempt the contractor from the bond requirement, if the contract does not
exceed $200,000.

Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and
General Contractors

CPA notarized reference letter to prove a minimum net worth of $150,000.

Contracts exceeding 510,000 must be registered with the State Dept. of Revenue.

Guam Contractors License Board

When renewing a license, if an application is made for reinstatement of a suspended or revoked license as a
result of violation of the Government Code of Guam, the Board may require as an added requirement for the
reinstatement, proof of financial integrity such as a bond in an amount and under terms to be determined by
the Board. The sum of any such bond shall be based on the magnitude of the operations of the applicant.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF STATE
CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

Hawaii Contractors License Board

Credit Report covering the previous five years (or more) on each individual applicant, responsible managing
employee, each partner and each officer of a corporation.

A current financial statement prepared and signed by a CPA.

A current tax clearance from the Department of Taxation.

Bonds in varying amounts ($5,000 minimum) may be imposed by the Board for a variety of reasons (weak
financial statement, etc.).

lowa Division of Labor/Contractor
Registration

Out-of-state contractors must file, with the Division of Labor, a surety bond prior to work commencing if the
contract is in excess of $5,000.

A project bond equal to 5% of the contract price of $1,000, whichever is greater or a $50,000 two year Blanket
Bond may be filed.

Kansas Department of Revenue
Division of Taxation

For contractors that are required to be registered, a bond in the amount of 5% of the contract amount
(minimum $1,000) must be filed with the Dept. of Revenue.

For projects exempt under a project exemption certificate, a 4% bond is required (51,000 minimum).

Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors

Independently prepared financial statements and written references from a financial institution, material
supplier or contractor are required with the application.

Nonresidential contractors and subcontractors must register with the Dept. of Revenue and Taxation, if the
contract is in excess of $3,000.

The contractor shall also post a bond or other surety in the minimum amount of $1,000.

Maryland Home Improvement
Commission

Home Improvement Contractors must show a minimum $20,000 financial solvency, based on total assets,
liabilities, credit rating and net worth. $20,000 Surety Bond may be posted if not financially solvent.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory
Affairs BPL Licensing Division

Applicants for licensure or relicensure must submit evidence of financial stability; may be denied for becoming
insolvent, filing a bankruptcy action, becoming subject to a receivership, assigning for the benefit of creditors,
failing to satisfy judgments or liens, or failing to pay an obligation as it becomes due in the ordinary course of
business.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Applicable only when license has been revoked: the licensee must obtain a surety bond in the amount of at
least $40,000 prior to reinstatement of a license.

Mississippi State Board of
Contractors

Commercial licensees applicants must present a reviewed financial statement showing a net worth of $50,000
for a major classification or $20,000 for a specialty classification.

Renewal - Commercial licensees shall furnish a balance sheet prepared in accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles showing a net worth of $50,000 for a major classification or $20,000 for a specialty
classification.

Montana Department of Labor and Industry
Employment Relations Division Contractor
Registration Unit

Bid bonds are required in all cases where a public authority is authorized by law to solicit bids, tenders, or
proposals for public works, improvements, or undertakings of any kind. A contractor must post a performance
bond with a surety licensed in Montana that assures that the contractor will faithfully perform the provisions of
the contract. Public works projects must be secured by a payment bond. The payment bond is conditioned on
the contractor paying all laborers, mechanics, subcontractors, and material suppliers, and paying all persons
who supply the contractor with provisions, provender, material, or supplies for performing the work.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLAN

NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

Nevada State Contractors Board

Bonds range from $1,000 to $500,000 and are determined by the Board.
Financial statements are required.
Monetary limits are determined by the Board based on evaluation of financial data.

$10,000 Consumer Protection Bond required.

New Mexico Construction Industries and
Manufactured Housing Division

Financial statements reflecting minimum working capital amounts are require to be submitted.

New York

For Home improvement contractors - If you do not enroll your business in the Trust Fund, you must submit a
copy of a $20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed. The copy of the bond must name the
Department of Consumer Affairs as the Certificate Holder. Your corporate name, Doing-Business-As (DBA)
name (if any), and premises address must be exactly the same on all documents. You must also submit a copy
of the bond receipt showing that the bond has been paid in full and does not expire before the end of the
licensing period.

North Carolina Licensing Board for General
Contractors

Required minimum working capital amounts are $17,000 for limited, $75,000 for intermediate and $150,000
for unlimited.

Intermediate and unlimited licensure must submit audited financial statements with classified balance sheets
prepared by CPAs or independent accountants engaged in public practice of accountancy.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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State Bond and Financial Requirements

Commercial General Contractor Level 1: $75,000
Commercial General Contractor Level 2: $20,000
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1: $50,000
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2: $20,000
Commercial Developer: $20,000

Oregon Construction Contractors
Board Residential General Contractor: $20,000
Residential Specialty Contractor: $15,000
Residential Limited Contractor: $10,000

Residential Developer: $20,000

Commercial: Financial statements are required and depending on net worth must meet certain requirements.

Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General Bureau of  |Only prime contractors are required to submit a financial statement. An audited statement is required when a
Consumer Protection prime contractor's net working capital is in excess of $50,000.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLA Contractor State Licensing Research
BOND AND FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

State

Bond and Financial Requirements

South Carolina Residential Builders
Commission

Residential Builders $15,000 (regardless of the total cost of construction) Residential Specialty Contractor
License (Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing) $10,000 (if the total cost of construction exceeds $5,000) and Residential
Specialty Registrant $5,000 (if the total cost of construction exceeds $5,000).

Tennessee Board for Licensing
Contractors

Financial Statement - Contact a Certified Public Accountant (CPA or PA) to prepare a financial statement in the
required format:

A "Review" is required for limits of $1,500,000 or less; an "Audit" is required for limits exceeding $1,500,000.

The financial statement's net worth and working capital, in addition to experience, determine the monetary
limit assigned to the license.

Demonstrate financial responsibility by answering questions in a financial questionnaire in the application.

Utah Department of Commerce Division of
Occupational and Professional Licensing

Contractors are classified in 3 classes based on the value of individual contracts and annual volume.

Virginia Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation Board for Contractors

General contractors must post cash deposits or surety bonds of $12,000.

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries

Required to carry liability insurance of $200,000 for public liability.

Required to carry liability insurance of $50,000 for property damage.

West Virginia Division of Labor Contractors
Licensing Board

If commercial contractor has employees, a wage bond is required to be posted for 1 year. Exemption and
Waiver processes are available.

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State

Liability Insurance Requirements

Alaska Department of Commerce,
Community and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

Contractors must provide proof of insurance in the minimum amounts of:
$20,000 for Property Damage
$50,000 for Injury/death to one person

$100,000 for Injury/death to more than one person

Arizona Registrar of Contractors

Proof of workers' compensation, but no liability insurance requirement.

California Contractors State
License Board

A certificate of insurance for workers' compensation is required on all active licenses if employees are hired. Workers’
compensation insurance is required of all licensees holding the C-39 Roofing classification, regardless of whether they claim
employees or not.

Liability insurance with the cumulative limit of at least $1,000,000 for licensees with five or fewer persons listed as members of the
personnel of record for an LLC entity license is required. Also, an additional $100,000 is required for each additional member of the
personnel of record, not required to exceed $5,000,000 total.

Connecticut Department of Consumer
Protection Occupational and Professional
Licensing Division

Must prove compliance with workers' compensation requirements.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State

Liability Insurance Requirements

District of Columbia Department of
Consumer and Regulatory Affairs Business
and Professional Licensing Administration

General Contractor:

Class A license limits of at least $2,500,000 per occurrence (primary or umbrella) for bodily injury and property damage arising in
any way from the issuance of the license

Class B license limits of at least $1,500,000 per occurrence (primary or umbrella) for bodily injury and property damage arising in
any way from the issuance of the license;

Class C license limits of at least $500,000 per occurrence, $1,000,000 in the aggregate combined single limit for bodily injury or
property damage arising in any way from the issuance of the license;

Class D license limits of at least $500,000 per occurrence, $1,000,000 in the aggregate combined single limit for bodily injury or
property damage arising in any way from the issuance of the license;

Class E license limits of at least $500,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or property damage arising in any way from the issuance
of the license.

Home Improvement Contractors must have insurance coverage of $100,000 for public liability and $50,000 for property damage.

Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential
and General Contractors

Certificate of Insurance in the name of the individual showing proof of general liability insurance in a minimum amount of
$500,000 per occurrence. Proof of workers compensation insurance must also be shown.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State

Liability Insurance Requirements

Hawaii Contractors License Board

Prior to licensure, applicants must submit a certificate of insurance for worker's compensation and a certificate of insurance from
their insurer showing liability coverage in the following amounts:

Property damage liability: $50,000 per occurrence
Bodily Injury: $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence

Idaho State Contractors Board

Applicant must include proof of a current $300,000 minimum general liability policy in effect with completed operations and
general aggregate coverage.

Proof of current worker's compensation coverage or acceptable statements of exemption.

lowa Division of Labor/Contractor
Registration

Contractors employing employees must provide proof of workers' compensation insurance.

Louisiana State Licensing Board for
Contractors

Residential construction contractors, home improvement registrants and mold remediation contractors must file insurance
certificates for workers' compensation for the statutory limits and for liability coverage in a minimum amount of $100,000.

Maryland Home Improvement
Commission

Contractors must show proof of current $50,000 liability insurance at time of application for original and renewal license.

Massachusetts

All contractors must carry workers' compensation insurance.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Show proof of worker's compensation or exemption there-from.
A certificate of insurance with limits of $100,000 per occurrence; and

$10,000 in property damages must be provided.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State

Liability Insurance Requirements

Mississippi State Board of
Contractors

Commercial contractors must provide a certificate of insurance evidencing current minimum coverage of $300,000 per occurrence

and $600,000 aggregate. Residential contractors must show proof of general liability insurance coverage, but there is no
requirement for a minimum policy amount.

A certificate of insurance evidencing current workers' compensation.

Montana Department of Labor and Industry
Employment Relations Division Contractor
Registration Unit

Proof of workers' compensation coverage. The workers' compensation laws have been amended to address continuing issues in
the construction industry regarding certain exempt individuals. As of July 1, 2011, any managers of a manager-managed limited
liability company (LLC) who work in the construction industry will be required to either be covered by workers' compensation
insurance or obtain an Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate (ICEC) from the Department of Labor and Industry. See:
Senate Bill 287, enacted as Chapter 200, Laws of 2011.

Nebraska Department of
Labor Office of Labor Standards

Proof of unemployment compensation coverage.

Proof of workers' compensation coverage.

Nevada State Contractors
Board

Proof of compliance with industrial insurance laws of the State of Nevada.

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs
Office of Consumer Protection Regulated
Business Section

Home Improvement Contractors must have a policy of commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000
per occurrence.

North Carolina Licensing Board for General
Contractors

Proof of workers' compensation coverage.

North Dakota Secretary of the State

A copy of a certificate of insurance indicating liability coverage as proof that the applicant has secured liability insurance.

Ohio Construction Industry
Licensing Board

Carry minimum $500,000 contractor liability coverage

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State

Liability Insurance Requirements

Oregon Construction Contractors
Board

Commercial General Contractor Level 1: $2,000,000
Commercial General Contractor Level 2: $1,000,000
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1: $1,000,000
Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 2: $500,000
Commercial Developer: $500,000

Residential General Contractor: $500,000
Residential Specialty Contractor: $300,000
Residential Limited Contractor: $100,000

Residential Developer: $500,000

All require workers' compensation.

Rhode Island Contractors' Registration &
Licensing Board

Minimum is $500,000 combined single limit, bodily injury and property damage.

Worker's compensation required.

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors

Commercial and Home Improvement License: proof of insurance for general liability and worker's compensation.

Utah Department of Commerce Division of
Occupational and Professional Licensing

Proof of liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000/$300,000.

Worker's compensation required.

Washington State Department of Labor &
Industries

Required to carry liability insurance of $200,000 for public liability.

Required to carry liability insurance of $50,000 for property damage.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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State Liability Insurance Requirements

Liability Insurance is not a requirement. However, entity must provide WV Business Registration Certificate.
West Virginia Division of Labor Contractors

Licensing Board ) ) ) S )
Proof of Employment Security and Workers' Compensation coverage is also required if entity has employees.

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLAR
F,‘lﬁﬁi*;oﬂ‘:?. CONTRACTOR RECOVERY FUNDS
Payout Limits
State Fund Since Claimant Contractor Group Covered Revenue Source
Alabama 1993 $20,000 $50,000 Homeowners S60 no more than once a year
Funded by assessments paid upon
Arizona Registrar of Contractors 1981 $30,000 $200,000 Homeowners ! o Y paidup
application and renewal
Connecticut Department of Consumer . .
Contractors must submit a deposit of $100
Protection Occupational and N/A N/A N/A N/A P >
. . . . to the Home Improvement Guaranty Fund.
Professional Licensing Division
Florida Department of Business and One-half percent per sauare foot
Professional Regulation Construction 1993 S50,000 S50,000 Homeowners P . p. g .
. ) surcharge on building permits
Industry Licensing Board
Hawaii Contractors License Board 1974 $12,500 $25,000 Homeowners S150 for new licenses
Homeowner must
20,000; $7,500 ide in h t
Maryland Home Improvement »20,000; 57, i or $100,000 (unless res! em ) ome asto $100 for new licensees; $125 every 2 years
L 1985 less may be decided ) which claim is made or .
Commission ) . reimburses Fund) upon renewal of license
without a hearing does not own more
than 3 dwelling places

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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CONTRACTOR RECOVERY FUNDS

Payout Limits

State Fund Since Claimant Contractor Group Covered Revenue Source
For any one job and One time registration fee of: $100 for 0-3
Massachusetts Office of Consumer N/A the actual damages; |up to $75,000 Homeowners employees; $200 for 4-10 employees;
Affairs and Business Regulation or $10,000 against any one $300 for 11-30 employees; and $500 for
contractor. 30+ employees.
S50 membership fee; suppliers must have
separate membership or each retail
Michigan Department of Licensing and location; $10 initial membership fee for
1982 100,000 N/A Homeowners . .
Regulatory Affairs BPL Licensing Division > / licensees; $10 per year membership
renewal fee for each license or
membership
160 fee if gross annual receipts are less
S50,000; ho more > g ) P
. than $1 million; $210 fee if gross annual
Minnesota Department of Labor and than $15,000 may be } . -
N/A } N/A Homeowners receipts are $1 million to $5 million; or
Industry paid under the . )
$260 fee if gross annual receipts are more
accelerated process I~
than S5 million
Est. 1999, Biannual assessments for residential
Nevada State Contractors Board effective as of|$35,000 $400,000 Homeowners
contractors
2001
o ) $10 per building permit; $1 is kept by
North Carolina Li Board fi Not t d 10% of
orth t-arolina Licensing board for 1991 Ot to excee °0 N/A Homeowners permit issuing authority for admin fees; $9

General Contractors

the Fund

is forward to the HRF.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies

23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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CONTRACTOR RECOVERY FUNDS

Payout Limits

State Fund Since Claimant Contractor Group Covered Revenue Source
Utah Department of Commerce Division
of Occupational and Professional 1994 $75,000 per residence |$500,000 Homeowners $195 initial fee
Licensing
Virginia Department of Professional and —_ . .
Occupational Regulation Board for 1980 $20,000 $.40'O.OO per Homeowners 225 on initial appl|ca4t|ons anq special
biennium assessments as provided for in the law

Contractors

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLA Trade License Research

NASCLAN
:lo\..ir‘:;:;é:f:;’:‘h;.;!ix! SUMMARIZATION
State Licensing Examination Required
State Electrical Plumbing HVAC/R
Alabama Yes Yes Yes
Alaska Yes Yes Yes
Arizona Yes Yes Yes
Arkansas Yes Yes Yes
California Yes Yes Yes
Colorado Yes Yes No
Connecticut Yes Yes Yes
Delaware Yes Yes Yes
District of Columbia Yes Yes Yes
Florida Yes Yes Yes
Georgia Yes Yes Yes
Guam Yes Yes Yes
Hawaii Yes Yes Yes
Idaho Yes Yes Yes
[llinois No No No
Indiana No Yes No
lowa Yes Yes Yes
Kansas No No No
Kentucky Yes Yes Yes
Louisiana Yes Yes Yes
Maine Yes Yes No
Maryland Yes Yes Yes
Massachusetts Yes Yes No
Michigan Yes Yes Yes
Minnesota Yes Yes No
Mississippi Yes Yes Yes
Missouri No No No

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLAA
:Io\..i&::;é:f:;’:‘h;.;!im. SUMMARIZATION
State Electrical Plumbing HVAC/R
Montana Yes Yes No
Nebraska Yes No No
Nevada Yes Yes Yes
New Hampshire Yes Yes No
New Jersey Yes Yes Yes
New Mexico Yes Yes Yes
New York No No No
North Carolina Yes Yes Yes
North Dakota Yes Yes No
Ohio Yes Yes Yes
Oklahoma Yes Yes Yes
Oregon Yes Yes Yes
Pennsylvania No No No
Rhode Island Yes Yes Yes
South Carolina Yes Yes Yes
South Dakota Yes Yes No
Tennessee Yes Yes Yes
Texas Yes Yes Yes
Utah Yes Yes Yes
Vermont Yes Yes No
Virginia Yes Yes Yes
Washington Yes Yes Yes
West Virginia Yes Yes Yes
Wisconsin Yes Yes Yes
Wyoming Yes No No

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the
information given in this report is accurate.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Alabama Electrical Contractors

Every electrical contractor licensee shall
complete 14 hours every 2 years for renewal.

Journeyman Electrician - $35.00
Annually

Gross Volume: $150,000 or less =
$2,500 Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of $150,000
but not more than $500,000 = $7,000
Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of $500,000
but not more than one million =
$17,500 Bond

Yes No
Board Journeymen are not required to submit
continuing education hours for renewal. Electrical Contractor - $150 Annually
Alaska Department of
Commerce, Community and ) - )
i L Electrical Administrator licensee shall complete . .
Economic Development Division |Yes No Biennial - $200
. ) one 8 hour approved workshop or course.
of Corporations and Professional
Licensing
Residential:
Gross Volume: $100,000 or less =
$4,250 Bond
Specialty Residential - $540 for 2
Gross Volume: $375,000 or more = Years = 5270 Renewal Fees + 5270
$7.500 Bond Recover Fund
Gross Volume: $375,000 or more =
$7,500 Bond
Arizona Registrar of Contractors |Yes No Commercial:

Specialty Commercial - $480 for 2
Years

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Arizona Registrar of Contractors

Gross Volume: In excess of 1 million
but not more than 5 million = $25,000
Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of 5 million
but not more than 10 million =
$37,500 Bond

\ Yes No Dual Specialty - $650 Biennial
cont'd s
Gross Volume: 10 million or more -
$50,000 Bond
Dual:
Separate residential and commercial
bonds are required based on the
estimated value of contracting.
Master - S50 Annually
Residential Master - $50 Annually
Journeyman - $25 Annually
Arkansas Board of Electrical Journeyman and Master Electricians must Residential Journeyman - $25 Annually
Yes complete at least 8 hours every 3 years for No

Examiners

renewal.

Air Conditioning Electrician - $25
Annually

Industrial Maintenance - $25 Annually

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org




NASCLA)

MATIONAL ASSECIATION OF STATE
CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLA Trade License Research

ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Arkansas Board of Electrical
Examiners cont'd

Yes

Journeyman and Master Electricians must
complete at least 8 hours every 3 years for
renewal.

No

Sign Specialist - $25 Annually

California Contractors State
License Board

Yes

No

A Contractor's Bond in the amount of
$15,000 is required on all active
licenses.

A separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is
required for responsible managing
employee.

A Separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is
required for responsible managing
officer, member or manager owning
less than 10% of the voting stock or
equity of a corporate license.

A $100,000 LLC Employee/Worker Bond
(in addition to the $15,000 Contractor
Bond) is required for all active Limited
Liability Company (LLC) licenses for the
benefit of any employee or worker
damaged by an LLC's failure to pay wages,
interest on wages, or fringe benefits, as
well as other contributions.

Biennial - $360

California Contractors State
License Board cont'd

Yes

No

A responsible managing officer,
member or manager owning 10% or
more of the voting stock or equity of a
corporate license is exempt from
posting this additional bond.

Biennial - $360

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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ELECTRICAL

Electrical Examiners

years must submit 5 CE hours at the first
renewal.

Beginning with the licensee’s second renewal, 5
of the 10 CE hours required for renewal must
be related to the National Electrical Code.

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees
24 hours of continuing education each renewal
Colorado State Electrical Board [Yes ) & No Annually - S30
period.
Limited/Unlimited Journeyman - $120
. ) Annually
Connecticut Department of Ves At least 7 hours must be completed in order to No
Consumer Protection renew license.
Limited/Unlimited Contractor - $150
Annually
Must complete 10 hours of approved CE during
each renewal period with the following
exceptions:
A person licensed less than one year does not
need to complete CE at the first renewal;
Delaware State Board of ) Biennial - Licensees are notified of the
Yes A person licensed one year but less than two No amount of the renewal fee at the time

of renewal.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

District of Columbia Department
of Consumer and Regulatory
Affairs Occupational and

Designated Master - $2,000

Designated Master Specialist - $1,000

Contractor - $4,000

. . . Yes No Biennial - $110
Professional Licensing
Administration Board of
Industrial Trades Contractor Specialist - $2,000
Florida Department of Business
and Professional Regulation ) —
. g . . es 14 hours must be completed in order to renew. [No Biennial - $300
Electrical Contractors Licensing
Board
Georgia Construction Industr
] g. ¥ Yes Complete at least 4 hours annually for renewal. [No Biennial - $75
Licensing Board
Guam Contractors License Board |Yes No No Annually - $450
Furnish the board with proof of attendance at
an educational course related to current
updates of the National Electrical Code
conducted or approved by the community
colleges; or
Hawaii Contractors License
Yes No Triennial - $306

Board

Successfully complete a course conducted or
approved by the University of Hawaii
Community Colleges or an examination
prescribed by the on current updates to the
National Electrical Code

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

24 hours of continuing education every 3 years.

Apprentice - $50/5 years
Specialty Trainee - $30/3 Years

Contractor - $100 Annually

Specialty Contractor - $100 Annually

Safety Electrical Bureau

Idaho Division of Building Safety |Yes No
Journeyman - $45 Triennial
16 hours of which must be on the 2008 Code ) )
) L Master - $45 Triennial
changes, in order to renew their license.
Specialty Journeyman - $45 Triennial
Illinois N/A N/A N/A N/A
Indiana N/A N/A N/A N/A
Apprentice - $20 Annually
Unclassified Person - $20 Annually
i Electrical Contractor - $375 Triennial
lowa Department of Public Yes Total of 6 hours needed to renew. No

Master (Class A) - $375 Triennial

Master (Class B) - $375 Triennial

Journeyman (Class A) - $75 Triennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLA| ELECTRICAL

CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees

lowa Department of Public Journeyman (Class B) - $75 Triennial

. , es Total of 6 hours needed to renew. No
Safety Electrical Bureau cont'd
Special - $75 Triennial
Kansas N/A N/A N/A N/A
Kentucky Department of Electrical Contractor - $200 Annually
Housing, Buildings and
i o Yes 6 hours needed to renew. No
Construction Division of Master - $100 Annually
Electrical Electrician - $50 Annually
Louisiana State Licensing Board
g Yes No No Annually - $100
for Contractors
Master and Senior Master - complete a Master - $150 Biennial
rogram of study comprising of 576 hours for
P ) .g ) v P & Senior Master - $20 Biennial
initial license.

Limited - $100 Biennial
Journeyman and Senior Journeyman - if they imited - 3 1ennia

choose this type of requirement; need to
Yes complete 576 hours for initial license. No Senior Limited - $20 Biennial

Maine Department of
Professional and Financial
Regulation Office of Professional
and Occupational Regulation

Journeyman - $80 Biennial
A Master, Journeyman, Limited or Journeyman-

in-training shall also certify at time of renewal
to completion of an approved 15 hours. Senior Journeyman - $20 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Maryland Board of Master
Electricians

Yes

No

No

Master - $25 Biennial

Qualified Agent - $25 Biennial

Massachusetts Board of State
Examiners of Electricians

es

Complete 21 hours for renewal.

No

Master (Class A) - $117 Triennial
Journeyman (All Classes) - S78
Triennial

Master (Classes AA, MR and RA) -
$117 Triennial

Systems Contractor - $117 Triennial

Systems Technician - $78 Triennial

Michigan Department of
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Construction Codes
Electrical Division

3

es

Master, Journey, Fire Alarm Specialty

Technician License require 15 hours of a Code

Course for renewal.

Sign Specialist and License require 8 hours of a

Code Course for renewal.

No

Electrical Contractor - $300 Triennial

Fire Alarm - $S300 Triennial

Sign Specialty - $200 Triennial
Master - $50 Annually

Journeyman - $40 Annually

Apprentice - $15 Annually

Specialty Apprentice - $15 Annually

Sign Specialist - $40 Annually
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Minnesota Department of Labor
and Industry Electrical Licensing
and Inspection

Yes - Class A
Journeyman (AJ),
Maintenance
Electrician (MN),
Installer B (IB), Power
Limited Technician
(PL), Satellite Installer
(SI), Lineman (LN),
Class A Master (AM)

Other licenses do not
require examination.

16 hours of Board approved courses per
renewal cycle in which at least 12 hours must

be on the NEC.

Electrical Contractor - $25,000

Class A Journeyman (AJ), Maintenance
Electrician (MN), Installer B (IB),
Power Limited Technician (PL),
Satellite Installer (SI) - $50 Exam, $38
New License, $43 Renewal License

Lineman (LN) - $50 Exam, $38 New
License, $38 Rewewal License

Class A Master (AM) - S50 Exam, $68
New License, $73 Renewal License

Mississippi State Board of

2 hours annually for a residential license issued

renewal cycle.

Y N C ial Contractor - $400
Contractors s on or after July 1, 2015 © ommercial Contractor - 5
Missouri N/A N/A N/A N/A
Master - $200 Biennial
Journeyman - $200 Biennial
16 hours of Board approved courses per ) ) ) )
Montana State Electrical Board |Yes PP P No Residential - $200 Biennial

Limited Contractor - $300 Biennial

Unlimited Contractor - $300 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Nebraska State Electrical Board

Yes

Minimum of 12 hours must be completed with
at least 6 of those hours on the NEC in order to

renew.

No

Contractor - $125 for even numbered
year and $250 for odd numbered year
Biennial

Fire Alarm - $25 for even numbered
year and $50 for odd numbered year
Biennial

Journeyman - $25 for even numbered
year and $50 for odd numbered year
Biennial

Residential Wireman - $25 for even
numbered year and $50 for odd
numbered year Biennial

Apprentice - $20 for even numbered
year and $40 for odd humbered year
Biennial

Nevada State Contractors Board

Yes

No

Range from $1,000 to $500,000

Biennial - $600 plus recovery fund
assessment

New Hampshire Electricians
Board

Yes

Master and Journeyman have to complete 15

hours in order to renew.

No

Corporation/Partnership - $125
Annually due last day of the month of
May.

Apprentice - $30 Annually due last da
of the ID expiration date.

Master - $270 Triennial due last day of
the birth month.

Journeyman - $150 Triennial due last
day of the birth month.
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CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees

Journeyman - minimum of 10 hours for o
Contractor - $150 Triennial

New Jersey Department of Law renewal.

and Public Safety Division of

Consumer Affairs Board of Yes $1,000 surety bond

Examiners of Electrical Contractors - minimum of 34 hours for renewal. Business Permit - $75 Triennial
Contractors

Electrical - $300 Triennial

Residential Wiring - $300 Triennial
Electrical Specialty - $300 Triennial
New Mexico Construction

. L . Journeyman Lineman - minimum of 16 hours $10,000 Consumer Protection Code Other Classifications - $150 Triennial
Industries Division Regulation Yes

and Licensing Department forrenewal. Bond Additional Classifications - $150
Triennial
Journeyman - $75 Triennial
New York N/A N/A N/A N/A
Limited, Intermediate, Unlimited and Special Unlimited - $180 Annually

Restricted Single Family Dwelling Classifications
complete at least 8 hours of approved

P ; ) . P Intermediate - $130 Annually
continuing education for license renewal.

Limited - $85 Annually
North Carolina Board of Special Restricted Fire Alarm/Low Voltage,

Examiners of Electrical Yes Special Restricted Elevator, Special Restricted Intermediate - in excess of 550,000

Contractors Plumbing and Heating, Special Restricted Unlimited - in excess of $130,000 SP-SFD - 585 Annually

Ground Water Pump, Special Restricted Electric
Sign and Special Restricted Swimming Pool
Classifications - complete at least 4 hours of
approved continuing education for license Special Restricted - $85 Annually
renewal.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

North Dakota State Electrical

8 hours are required to renew a license each

Master Electrician - $5,000

Master - S50 Annually

Codes Division

Limited Journeyman Manufacturing Plant and
Limited Residential - minimum 16 hours for
renewal in which 8 must include Code Change .

are part of the Construction
Contractors Board requirements, the
rest of the requirements are from
DCBS, Building Codes Division)

Yes
Board year. Class B - $4,000 Journeyman - $25 Annually
Ohio Construction Industr
] ) ¥ Yes 8 hours each year to renew No Annually - S60
Licensing Board
Contractor - $200 Annually
Journeyman - $75 Annually
Contractor and Journeyman - at least 6 hours A tice - S25 A Ily Registrati
Oklahoma Construction Y ) ppren |c§ ? nnually Regis Ara on
) Yes every 36 months are required to renew a $5,000 which expires one (1) year from issue
Industries Board )
license. date
Alarm Endorsement - $25 Annually
(background check required)
Contractor - $375 Triennial
General Supervising, Limited Supervising and Contractor, Limited Energy - $375
General Journeyman - minimum 24 hours for ~ [Residential Endorsements range from |Triennial
renewal in which 12 must include Code Change. [$10,000 to $20,000 and Commercial
Oregon Department of Endorsements range from $20,000 to [Contractor, Limited Maintenance
75,000 (Note: the bond requirements|Specialty - $375 Triennial
Administration Services Building |No >75, ( q P yoo

Contractor, Limited Maintenance
Specialty HVAC - $75 Triennial

Contractor, Limited Pump Installation
Specialty - $75 Triennial
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Eﬁé&l;ﬁ. ELECTRICAL

CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees

Residential Endorsements range from |Contractor, Limited Sign - $375
$10,000 to $20,000 and Commercial

Oregon Department of Limited Renewable Energy Technician and Endorsements range from $20,000 to |Contractor, Renewable Energy,
g. . p. ) S Limited Journeyman Sign - minimum 4 hours for|$75,000 (Note: the bond requirements|Limited - $375 Triennial
Administration Services Building |No ) ) ) )
L , renewal in which 2 hours must include Code are part of the Construction
Codes Division cont'd )
Change. Contractors Board requirements, the

Contractor, Restricted Energy - $375

rest of the requirements are from T
Triennial

DCBS, Building Codes Division)

General Journeyman - $100 Triennial

Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A

Contractor - $120 Biennial

Journeyperson - $36 Biennial
Limited - $120 Biennial
Qil Burner - $120 Biennial

Journeyperson Qil Burner - $36

Rhode Island Department of Biennial

Labor and Training Division of Yes No No

Professional Regulation Fire Alarm Contractor - $120 Biennial

Fire Alarm Installer - $36 Biennial
Lightning Protection Contractor - $120
Biennial

Lightning Protection Installer - $36
Biennial

Apprentice - $20 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees

Commercial - $135 Biennial
South Carolina Yes No Residential - $10,000

Residential - $160 Biennial

Contractor - $100 Biennial

South Dakota State Electrical Yes Must have at least 16 hours 8 of which must be $10,000 Journeyman - 540 Biennial
Commission code-related every even year to renew license. Apprentice - $20 Biennial

Class B - $40 Biennial

Inspector - $40 Biennial

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractor - $200 Biennial

Yes No No
Contractors
Limited - $50 Biennial

Contractor - $110 Annually
Sign Contractor - $110 Annually

Residential Appliance Install
Contractor - $110 Annually

Texas Department of Licensin Master - $45 Annually

P . g Yes Must complete 4 hours for renewal. No
and Regulation )
Master Sign - $45 Annually
Journeyman - $30 Annually

Journeyman Sign - $30 Annually

Residential Wireman - $20 Annually

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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CONTIACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Requirements Bond & Financial Requirements Renewal Periods and Fees

Maintenance - $20 Annually
Residential Appliance Installer - $30
Texas Department of Licensing

. , Yes Must complete 4 hours for renewal. No Annually
and Regulation cont'd

Apprentice Training Program
Registration - $95 Annually

Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Occupational and Yes 16 hours must be completed for renewal. No Biennial - $63
Professional Licensing

Master - $150 Triennial

Vermont Department of Public Journeyman - $115 Triennial
L . es Complete 15 hours for renewal. No

Safety Division of Fire Safety
Type S - $115 (per field) Triennial
Class A - $290 Biennial

Virginia Department of Class B - $275 Biennial

Professional and Occupational |Yes Complete 3 hours for renewal. No

Regulation Board for Contractors Class C - $245 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Trainee - total of at least 16 hours must be
completed by the time certificate expires.

Journeyman and Specialty - must take 24 hours

Contractor - $266.10 Biennial

Electrician - $80.10 Triennial

Electrical Administrator - $152.20
Triennial

Fire Marshal

Washington Electrical Licensing [Yes in the 3 years between certificate renewals. Contractor - $4,000 o o
Telecommunication Administrator -
$101.40 Biennial

Electrical Administrator, Electrician or Master Trainee - $51.20 Biennial
Electrician - must take 24 hours of continuing
education course work in the 3 years between o
certification renewals. Master - $152.20 Triennial
o . Master - S50 Annuall
West Virginia State Fire Journe r:an $50 Ant)uall
Commission Office of the State |Yes No No v Y

Apprentice - S50 Annually
Specialty - S50 Annually
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ELECTRICAL

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Requirements

Bond & Financial Requirements

Renewal Periods and Fees

Wisconsin Department of Safety
and Professional Services Trades
Credentialing Unit

Yes

Yes - For all licensing please visit the following
website address: http://dsps.wi.gov/sb/SB-
DivContinuingEducation.html

Dwelling Contractor Qualifier Initial Training
Credits - The Dwelling Contractor Initial Training
courses are 12 hour courses. Separate courses
of 1, 2, 3 hours, etc., cannot be added up to
give credit for the initial course.

After receiving the qualifier certification, a
person needs to attend 12 hours of continuing
education over two years to renew the qualifier
certification. These 12 hours of continuing
education can be from adding together using
classes of 1, 2, 3 hours, etc. The education must
be completed three months before the renewal
date to allow processing of the attendance
records.

No

Apprentice - $30 Annually
Contractor - $200 Quadrennial
Journeyman - $100 Quadrennial

Residential Master - $200 Quadrennial

Wyoming Department of Fire
Prevention and Electrical Safety

Yes

Each journeyman and master electrician must
provide proof of not less than 16 hours of
training on the National Electrical Code or
advances in the electrical industry.

Annually - $100

Contractor - S400

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.
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State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters

Apprentice - $25 Annually

Journeyman - $50 Annually

Commercial:

Gross Volume: $150,000 or less =
Gross Volume: In excess of $150,000
but not more than $500,000 = $7,000
Bond

L Yes Yes No Master - $150 Annually
Examining Board
Medical Gas Piping - $25 to renewal
fees
Alaska Department of Commerce,
Community and Economic Must let ini f8h f
Y | Ec . Ves ust complete a minimum o ours for No Biennial - $250
Development Division of Corporations renewal.
and Professional Licensing
Residential:
Gross Volume: Less than $375,000 =
4,250 Bond
2 Specialty Residential - $590
Gross Volume: $375,000 or more = |Biennial
Arizona Registrar of Contractors Yes No 57,500 Bond

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
cont'd

Yes

No

Gross Volume: In excess of $500,000
but not more than one million =
$17,500 Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of one
million but not more than five million
=$25,000 Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of five
million but not more than ten million
=$37,500 Bond

Gross Volume: 10 million or more -
$50,000 Bond

Dual:

Separate residential and commercial
bonds are required based on the
estimated value of contracting.

Specialty Commercial - $480 for 2
Years

Dual Specialty - $650 Biennial

Dual Specialty - $650 Biennial
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PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Arkansas Department of Health

Yes

No

A Contractor's Bond in the amount of
$15,000 is required on all active
licenses.

Master - $200 Annually

Restricted Supervising Solar
Mechanic - $200 Annually

Restricted Residential Maintenance
- $200 Annually

Restricted Water and Sewer - $200
Annually

Gas Utility License - $200 Annually

Journeyman - $75 Annually

Restricted Solar - $75 Annually

Restricted Gas - $75 Annually

Apprentice - $25 Annually

Restricted Governmental
Maintenance - $100 Annually

Restricted Supervising Hospital
Maintenance - $100 Annually

Restricted Hospital Maintenance -
$37.50 Annually

Gas Utility Serviceman - $25
Annually

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

California Contractors State License
Board

Yes

No

A separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000
is required for responsible managing
employee.

A $100,000 LLC Employee/Worker Bond
(in addition to the $15,000 Contractor
Bond) is required for all active Limited
Liability Company (LLC) licenses for the
benefit of any employee or worker
damaged by an LLC's failure to pay wages,
interest on wages, or fringe benefits, as
well as other contributions.

A Separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000
is required for responsible managing
officer, member or manager owning
less than 10% of the voting stock or
equity of a corporate license.

A responsible managing officer,
member or manager owning 10% or
more of the voting stock or equity of
a corporate license is exempt from
posting this additional bond.

Biennial - S360
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PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Colorado Examining Board of

Residential - $100 Biennial

Yes No No - i i
Plumbers Journeyman - $120 Biennial
Master - $140 Biennial
Unlimited Contractor - Must complete 7 Unlimited Contractor - $150
hours to renew. Annually
Limited Contractor - Must complete 5
P Limited Contractor - $150 Annually
. hours to renew.
Connecticut Department of Yes No
Consumer Protection Unlimited Journeyperson - Must Unlimited Journeyperson - $120
complete 5 hours to renew. Annually
Limited Journeyperson - Must complete Limited Journeyperson - $120
3 hours to renew. Annually
Biennial - Licensees are notified the
Delaware Yes No Designated Master Plumber - $5,000 |amount of the renewal fee at the
time of renewal.
Contractor Plumber - $5,000
District of Columbia Department of
Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
Occupational and Professional Yes No Designated Master Gas Fitter - $5,000|Biennial - $110

Licensing Administration Board of
Industrial Trades

Contractor Gas Fitter - $5,000

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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AT T PLUMBING
State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
Florida Department of Business and 14 hours is required each biennium prior
Professional Regulation Construction |[Yes to the renewal period for both certified |No Biennial - $209
Industry Licensing Board and registered contractors.

Master - $75 Biennial

Georgia Construction Industry Ves Complete at least 4 hours per year for No

Licensing Board renewal. Journeyman - $35 Biennial

Guam Contractors License Board Yes No No Annually - $450

Successfully complete a course
conducted or approved by the University

of Hawaii Community Colleges or an Journey Work/ Master - $306

Hawaii Contractors License Board Yes o . Contractor Plumber - $2,000 . )
examination prescribed by the on Triennial
current updates to the National
Plumbing Code
Apprentice - $50/5 Years
Journeyman - $7.20 Triennial
16 hours of continuing education in . .
Idaho Division of Building Safety Yes g N/A Contractor - $36 Triennial

every 3 years
Specialty Journeyman - $7.20

Triennial

Specialty Contractor - $36 Triennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
lllinois N/A N/A N/A N/A
Journeyman - $30 Biennial
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency Ves Must complete at least 1 credit for No Contractor - 5100 B@nmal
Plumbing Commission renewal. Contractor Corporation - 5100
Biennial
Apprentice - $10 Biennial
Apprentice - S50 Biennial
A single trade license is required to Jqurn.eyperson - 3180 per trade
- Biennial
complete a minimum of 8 hours.
Master - $240 per trade Biennial
lowa Department of Public Health
Plumbing and Mechanical Systems  |Yes No Contractor - $250 Biennial
Board
Special Restricted - $50 Biennial
A multiple trade license is required to
complete a minimum of 14 or 16 hours. Combined - Sum total of each
separate license fee reduced by
30% Biennial
Kansas N/A N/A N/A N/A
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State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
. Journeyman - $60 Annually
Kentucky Department of Housing, Completion of 8 hours prior to license
Buildings and Construction Division of |Yes P P No
Plumbin renewal.
g Master - $250 Annually
J - t lete 4 h f
ourneyman - must complete 4 hours for Journeyman - $40 Annually
renewal.
State Plumbing Board of Louisiana Yes No
Master - t lete 6 h f
aster - must complete 6 hours for Master - $180 Annually
renewal.
Trainee - $100 Biennial
Maine Department of Profession| and
FlnanC|a'1I Regulation Offlcg of No No No Journeyman - $200 Biennial
Professional and Occupational
Regulation o
Master - $200 Biennial
Apprentice - $15 Biennial
Journeyman - $35 Biennial
Maryl'ar.ld Board of Master Yes No No Master - $70 Biennial
Electricians
Propane Certificate - $35 Biennial
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PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Massachusetts Board of State

Must complete 12 hours of approved

Apprentice (Class A) - $40 Biennial

Journeyman (Class J) - $52 Biennial

Y N
Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters es education for renewal. ©
Master (Class M) - $78 Biennial
Apprentice - $15 Annually
Michigan Department of Licensing Must complete a 5 hour Code course Journeyman - $40 Annually
and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Yes within 1 year when there is a Code No
Construction Codes Plumbing Division change/update. Contractor - $300 Triennial
Master - $300 Triennial
Journeyman and Master must take 16
hours of approved CE each in a 2 year Master - $50 Exar, $68 New
Yes - Master license cycle to renew. i i
i . . License, $73 Renewal License
Minnesota Department of Licensing & [Plumber and
. ) $25,000 surety bond
Enforcement Journeyman Registered Unlicensed Plumbers
. ) Journeyman - $50 Exam, $38 New
Plumber (Plumbing Apprentices) must take 2 . :
. . License, $43 Renewal License
hours of CE to renew registration each
year.
Mississippi State Board of Contractors|Yes No No Commercial Contractor - $400
Missouri N/A N/A N/A N/A
Master - $265 Annually
Montana Board for Plumbers Yes Must complete 4 hours annually. Journeyman - $180 Annually
Medical Gas - $30 Annually
Nebraska N/A N/A N/A N/A
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MMW“. PLUMBING
State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
Biennial - $600 pl fund
Nevada State Contractors Board Yes No Range from $1,000 to $500,000 lennial - 5 pius recovery fun
assessment
New Hampshire Mechanical Licensing|, Must complete 6 hours per 2 year \o Master - 5300 Biennial
and Safety Board renewal cycle. Journeyman - $180 Biennial

New Jersey Department of Law and
Public Safety Division of Consumer Ves 5 hours of Board approved continuing
Affairs State Board of Examiners of education every renewal period.

Master Plumbers

$3,000 Biennial - S160

Contractor - $S300 Triennial

New Mexico Construction Industries 16 hours of continuing education in . Other Classifications - $150
- . . ; . $10,000 Consumer Protection Code . .
Division Regulation and Licensing Yes every 3 year period for renewal of a Bond Triennial
Department journeyman certificate of competence. Additional - $150 Triennial
Journeyman - $75 Triennial
New York N/A N/A N/A N/A
North Carolina State Board of
Examiners of Plumbing, Heating & Yes No No Annually - $130
Fire Sprinkler
] o Journeyman - $75 Annually
At least 4 hours required within a two
North Dakota State Plumbing Board |Yes year period for Journeyman and Master |No

plumbers. Master - $165 Annually
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Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLA Trade License Research

PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing

Regulation

Board Yes 8 hours each year to renew No Annually - $60
Contractor - $200 Annually
) ) Contractor and Journeyman - at least 6 Journeyman - 575 Annually
Oklahoma Construction Industries :
Board Yes hours evgry 36 months are requiredto  |$5,000 Apprentice - $25 Annually
renew a license. Registration which expires 1 year
from issue date
Journeyman - $180 Triennial
Journeyman - must complete 24 hours Residential End ; ¢
Oregon Department of for renewal. esidential Endorsements range from |, e Heater Installer - $100
. . . . $15,000 to $20,000 and Commerecial o
Administration Services Building No Triennial
L Endorsements range from $20,000 to .
Codes Division $75 000 Business/Contractor - $450
Solar - 8 hours per 3 year cycle. ' Triennial
Solar - $100 Triennial
Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A
Contractor Master - $120 Biennial
Master - $120 Biennial
Journeyperson - $36 Biennial
Rhode Island Department of Labor A ) $20 Biennial
and Training Division of Professional |Yes No No pprentice - lennia

Master Irrigator - $120 Biennial

Journeyperson Irrigator - $36
Biennial

Apprentice Irrigator - $20 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies

23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027

Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org
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NASCLAR
Eijn':“;“ﬂ:‘?. PLUMBING
State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
. ) ) Commercial - $350 Biennial
South Carolina Yes No Residential - $10,000

Residential - $160 Biennial

Master Plumber - $240 Annually

Journeyman Plumber- $85 Annually

Water Conditioning Contractor -
$125 Annually

Water Conditioning Installer - $100
Annually

Water Conditioning Apprentice -
After first 2 years, $50 Annually

Appliance Contractor - $125

South Dakota Department of Labor Complete at least 4 hours per year for
Yes No Annually

State Plumbing Commission renewal.

Appliance Apprentice - After first 2
years, $50 Annually

Sewer Contractor - $125 Annually

Sewer Apprentice - After first 2
years, $50 Annually
Underground Contractor - $125
Annually

Underground Apprentice - After
first 2 years, $50 Annually

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractor - $200 Biennial
Yes No No

Contractors Limited - $50 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLA Trade License Research

PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Texas State Board of Plumbing
Examiners

Yes

Tradesman Plumber-Limited and

Journeyman Plumber - 24 or 48 hours

required.

No

Master - $230 Annually
Journeyman - $40 Annually
Medical Gas Endorsement (Master)
- $55 Triennial

Medical Gas Endorsement
(Journeyman) - $14 Triennial

Inspector - $55 Annually

Water Supply Protection
Endorsement (Master) - $55
Triennial

Water Supply Protection
Endorsement (Journeyman) - $14
Triennial

Tradesman-Limited - $36 Annually

Apprentice - $18 Annually
Residential Utilities Installer - $18
Annually

Drain Cleaner - $18 Annually

Drain Cleaner-Restricted - $18
Annually

Multipurpose Residential Fire
Protection Sprinkler Endorsement
(Master) - $55 Triennial

Multipurpose Residential Fire
Protection Sprinkler Endorsement
(Master) - $14 Triennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies

23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027

Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625

www.nascla.org
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NASCLAB

AT T PLUMBING

State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

Utah Department of Commerce Must complete 12 hours of course work

Division of Occupational and Yes with a minimum of 8 hours on current No Biennial - $63

Professional Licensing Codes.
Master - $120 Biennial
Journeyman - $90 Biennial

Vermont Department of Public Safety Ves No No

Division of Fire Safety Specialist - $50 per field Biennial
Certificate - $10 Biennial
Class A - $290 Biennial

Virginia Department of Professional Class B - $275 Biennial

and Occupational Regulation Board |Yes Complete 3 hours for renewal. No

for Contractors Class C - $245 Biennial
Journeyman/Residential - $121.60
Biennial

i D L Backflow Specialty - $83.90 Biennial

:sthln.gto:I ezartrcnen:c‘of 'abor & v Must obtain 16 hours within a 2 year N P Y

n u.strles umber Certification es renewal cycle. o) Medical Gas - $83.60 Biennial

Section Trainee - $45.20 Annually
Domestic Pump Specialty - $182.50
Triennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

Master - $75 Annually
Yes No No Journeyman - $75 Annually
Plumber-In-Training - S50 Annually

West Virginia Division of Labor
Licensing Section

Master - $500 Quadrennial
Master - no continuing education

requirement for the initial term.
Subsequent renewals require at least 24

hours by December 31 of the year before Master Restricted - $500
their credential expires. Quadrennial
. . ¢ Saf q Master Restricted - no continuing Master Restricted Service - $500
Wlscon§|n Depar’Fment of Safety an education requirement for the initial Quadrennial
Professional Services Trades Yes No

term. Subsequent renewals require at
least 12 hours by December 31 of the
year before their credential expires. Apprentice - $15 Annually

Credentialing Unit

Master Restricted Service - no continuing
education requirement for the initial
term. Subsequent renewals require at
least 12 hours by December 31 of the
year before their credential expires.

Master Restricted Appliance - $500
Quadrennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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NASCLA Trade License Research

PLUMBING

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Wisconsin Department of Safety and

POWTS Inspector - no continuing
education requirement for the initial
term. Subsequent renewals require at
least 12 hours by March 30 of the year
the credential expires.

POWTS Inspector - $40
Quadrennial

Professional Services Trades Yes No
Credentialing Unit cont'd
POWTS Maintainer - no continuing
education requirement for the |n.|t|al POWTS Maintainer - $90
term. Subsequent renewals require at Quadrennial
least 12 hours by March 30 of the year
the credential expires.
Wyoming N/A N/A N/A N/A

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies

23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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NASCLAN HVAC/R

CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

State Exam Required |Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning &

Yes Must complete 4 hours each year. 15,000 per year Annually - $165
Refrigeration Contractors P Y $15,000 pery y-$

Alaska Department of Commerce,

Community and Economic Development Must complete a minimum of 8

Division of Corporations and Professional Yes hours for renewal. No Biennial - 5250

Licensing
Residential:
Gross Volume: Less than $375,000 = Specialty Residential - $540 for 2
$4,250 Bond Years = $270 Renewal Fees +
Gross Volume: $375,000 or more = $270 Recover Fund
$7,500 Bond
Commercial: Specialty Commercial - $480
Gross Volume: $150,000 or less = Biennial
$4,250 Bond

Arizona Registrar of Contractors Yes No

Gross Volume: In excess of $150,000 but
not more than $500,000 = $7,000 Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of $500,000 but
not more than one million = $17,500
Bond

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
www.nascla.org
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HVAC/R

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Arizona Registrar of Contractors

Gross Volume: In excess of one million
but not more than five million = $25,000
Bond

Gross Volume: In excess of five million
but not more than ten million = $37,500
Bond

. Yes No Dual Specialty - $650 Biennial
cont'd
Gross Volume: Ten million or more -
$50,000 Bond
Dual:
Separate residential and commercial
bonds are required based on the
estimated value of contracting.
Class A - $200 Annually
Class B - $150 Annually
Arkansas Department of Health Yes No No

Class C - $100 Annually

Employee Registration - $25
Annually

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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State Exam Required |Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

Class D - $150 Annually
Arkansas Department of Health cont'd Yes No No

Class E - $150 Annually

A Contractor's Bond in the amount of
$15,000 is required on all active
licenses.

A separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is
required for responsible managing
employee.

California Contractors State License Board Yes No Biennial - $360
A $100,000 LLC Employee/Worker Bond (in
addition to the $15,000 Contractor Bond) is
required for all active Limited Liability
Company (LLC) licenses for the benefit of
any employee or worker damaged by an
LLC's failure to pay wages, interest on
wages, or fringe benefits, as well as other
contributions.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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J~ HVAC/R

CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIE

State Exam Required |Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

A Separate "Bond of Qualifying
Individual" in the amount of $15,000 is
required for responsible managing
officer, member or manager owning less
than 10% of the voting stock or equity of

California Contractors State License Board a corporate license.

, Yes No Biennial - $360
cont'd
A responsible managing officer, member
or manager owning 10% or more of the
voting stock or equity of a corporate
license is exempt from posting this
additional bond.
Colorado N/A N/A N/A N/A
) Annually - $65
Connecticut Department of Consumer
. Yes No No
Protection Contractor - $75 Annually

Biennial - Licensees are notified
Delaware Yes No No the amount of the renewal fee at
the time of renewal.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLA Trade License Research

HVAC/R

State

Exam Required |Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

District of Columbia Department of
Consumer and Regulatory Affairs

Yes No 5,000 Biennial - $110

Occupational and Professional Licensing > ?

Administration Board of Industrial Trades

Florida Department of Business and 14 hours is required each biennium

Professional Regulation Construction Industry |Yes prior to the renewal period for both |No Biennial - $209

Licensing Board certified and registered contractors.

Georgia Construction Industry Licensin Complete at least 4 hours annuall

g Y g Yes P y No Biennial - $75

Board must be completed.

Guam Contractors License Board Yes No No Annually - $450
Contracting Entities - $275
Biennial

Hawaii Contractors License Board Yes No No

Managing Employees - $160
Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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HVAC/R

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Apprentice - $50/5 years

Journeyman - $25 Annually

Contractor - $50 Annually

and Mechanical Systems Board

A multiple trade license is required to
complete a minimum of 14 or 16
hours.

Idaho Division of Building Safety Yes No $2,000
Specialty Journeyman - $25
Annually
Specialty Contractor - $50
Annually
lllinois N/A N/A N/A N/A
Indiana N/A N/A N/A N/A
Apprentice - $50 Biennial
Journeyperson - $180 per trade
Biennial
A single trade license is required to Master - $240 per trade Biennial
complete a minimum of 8 hours.
lowa Department of Public Health Plumbing o
Yes No Contractor - $250 Biennial

Special Restricted - $50 Biennial

Combined - Sum total of each
separate license fee reduced by

30% Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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NASCLA Trade License Research

HVAC/R

Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors

State Exam Required |Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees

Kansas N/A N/A N/A N/A
Journeyman - S50 Annually
Master - $250 Annually

Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings Yes A minimum of 8 hours must be No

and Construction Division of HVAC completed for renewal. Limited Journeyman Mechanic -
S50 Annually
Limited Journeyman Installer -
S50 Annually

Louisiana State Licensing Board for Ves No No Annually - $100

Contractors

Maine N/A N/A N/A N/A
Apprentice - $10 Biennial
Journeyman - $20 Biennial

Maryland Board of Heating, Ventilation, Air Yes No No Limited - $75 Biennial

Master Restricted - $25 (max
$75) Biennial

Master - $75 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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HVAC/R

State Exam Required |Continuing Education Required Bond Requirements Renewal and Fees
Massachusetts N/A N/A N/A N/A
No but a licensee t maintai
Michigan Department of Licensing and utatice S. mus main .am .
. . records of continuing education Mechanical Contractor - $300
Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Construction Yes ) No o
) . hours earned for 4 consecutive years Triennial
Codes Mechanical Division .
for auditing purposes.
Minnesota N/A N/A N/A N/A
Mississippi State Board of Contractors Yes No No Commercial Contractor - $400
Missouri N/A N/A N/A N/A
Montana N/A N/A N/A N/A
Nebraska N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bi ial - S600 pl
Nevada State Contractors Board Yes No Range from $1,000 to $500,000 lennial - 3 plus recovery
fund assessment
New Hampshire N/A N/A N/A N/A
New J Divisi fC Affai
ew Jersey |v.|5|on o} ons.umer .alr.? 5 hours of Board approved
Board of Examiners of Heating, Ventilation, . ) .
Yes continuing education every renewal |No Contractors - $160 Biennial

Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Contractors

period.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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HVAC/R

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

New Mexico Construction Industries Division

16 hours of continuing education in
every 3 year period for renewal of a

$10,000 Consumer Protection Code

Contractor - $300 Triennial

Other Classifications - $150
Triennial

. ) . Yes ) .
Regulation and Licensing Department journeyman certificate of Bond
Competence‘ Add|t|0na| - $150 Triennial
Journeyman - $75 Triennial
New York N/A N/A N/A N/A
North Carolina State Board of Exami f
or .aroma. ate .oar o. xaminers o Ves No No Annually - $130
Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler
North Dakota N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board Yes 8 hours each year to renew No Annually - S60

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Telephone: (623) 587-9354 Fax: (623) 587-9625
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HVAC/R

State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Contractor and Journeyman - at least

Contractor - $200 Annually

Journeyman - $75 Annually

Training Division of Professional Regulation

Oklahoma Construction Industries Board Yes 6 hours every 36 months are $5,000
required to renew a license. )
Apprentice - $25 Annually
Registration which expires 1 year
from issue date
Residential Endorsements range from
Oregon Department of Administration Ves N/A $15,000 to $20,000 and Commercial Contractor, Limited Maintenance
Services Building Codes Division Endorsements range from $20,000 to Specialty HVAC - $75 Triennial
$75,000
Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A
Master - $240 Biennial
Contractor Master - $120
Biennial
Master 1 - $120 Bi ial
Rhode Island Department of Labor and aster 1-5 lennia
Yes No No

Master 2 -$48 Biennial

Journeyman 1 - $36 Biennial

Journeyman 2 - $30 Biennial

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
23309 North 17th Drive, Building 1, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027
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State

Exam Required

Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Commercial - $135 Biennial

South Carolina Yes No Residential - $10,000
Residential - $160 Biennial
South Dakota N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors Yes No No Contractor - $200 Biennial
Environmental Class A and B- $65
Complete 8 hours to renew license. 1 Annually
of the hours must be instruction on ;
Texas Department of Licensing and . Commercial Class A and B- 565
) Yes Texas laws and rules regulating the  |No Annuall
Regulation . o v
conduct of air conditioning and
refrigeration contractors. ACR Technician - $20 Annually
Utah Department of Commerce Division of
P . . . Yes Complete 6 hours for renewal. No Biennial - $113
Occupational and Professional Licensing
Vermont N/A N/A N/A N/A

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
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HVAC/R

State

Exam Required |Continuing Education Required

Bond Requirements

Renewal and Fees

Virginia Department of Professional and

Class A - $290 Biennial

Occupational Regulation Board for Yes Complete 3 hours for renewal. No Class B - $275 Biennial
Contractors
Class C - $245 Biennial

Washington Department of Labor & o

N N 6,000 B [-$113.40
Industries Plumber Certification Section © © >, lennial - 5
West Virginia State Fire Commission Office of

Y N N A lly - S50
the State Fire Marshal e © © nnually - 5
Wisconsin Department of Safety and
Professional Services Trades Credentialing Yes Yes No Quadrennial - $160
Unit
Wyoming N/A N/A N/A N/A

Do not take action based on this report alone. Contact the agency to verify the information given in this report is accurate.
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