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MEMORANDUM
TO: Representative Janet Ancel, Chair, House Committee on Ways and Means
Senator Ann Cummings, Chair, Senate Committee on Finance
FROM: Susanne R. Young, Secretary, Agency of Administrati
Kaj Samsom, Commissioner, Department of Taxes
DATE: December 15, 2017
RE: Fantasy Sports Contests Proposal Pursuant to Section 4 of Act 70 (2017)

This proposal is submitted in accordance with Section 4 of Act 70 (2017). Act 70 allows
fantasy sports contests to be operated legally in Vermont and creates a regulatory structure for
fantasy sports operators who do business in Vermont.! Section 4 reads:

Sec. 4. FANTASY SPORTS CONTESTS; PROPOSALS
On or before December 15, 2017, the Secretary of Administration shall submit to the
House Committee on Ways and Means and the Senate Committee on Finance a proposal
Jor fantasy sports contests concerning:
(1) any amendments to the registration requirements or registration fee imposed in
Sec. 5 of this act; and
(2) an appropriate percentage tax on an appropriate measure of revenue.

Recommendations

The Secretary of Administration, after consultation with the Secretary of State,
recommends maintaining the registration requirements and $5,000 fee established in Section 5 of
Act 70 (adding 9 V.S.A § 4189). These are essentially the same registration requirements
imposed on other business entities doing business in Vermont. The current annual fee covers the
Secretary of State’s administrative costs related to registration. The Secretary further
recommends consulting with the Office of the Attorney General to determine whether additional
statutory authority is required to bill back its costs related to the enforcement provisions of the
fantasy sports contests chapter.?

19 V.S.A. ch. 116.
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The Secretary does not recommend that a new tax structure be created for fantasy sports
operators. Operators are currently subject to Vermont’s income tax laws like any other business
in Vermont, and may have a tax liability according to their individual circumstances. Individuals
who participate in fantasy sports contests may also be liable to pay personal income tax on
fantasy sports contest earnings under current Vermont law.

Registration Requirements and Fee Considerations

Act 70 requires fantasy sports operators to register annually on or before October 15 with
the Secretary of State, and to pay an annual $5,000 fee.? The general registration requirements
are the same as those imposed on any entity doing business in Vermont under titles 11-11C.*
and as stringent as those imposed on any other entity required to register with the Secretary of
State. The current $5,000 annual registration fee is adequate to cover the Secretary of State’s
costs of administration, maintenance, and other expenses due to performing the regulatory
function of registering fantasy sports operators. The current fee meets the Vermont statutory
requirement that fees be “reasonably related to the cost of providing the associated service or
product or performing the regulatory function.” “Costs” for this purpose are to be “narrowly
construed, but may include reasonable and directly related costs of administration, maintenance,
and other expenses due to providing the service or product or performing the regulatory
function.”

Some states have created a fee exemption, or a tiered, discounted, or percentage-of-
revenue-based fee structure for smaller operators to help level the playing field with larger
operators so that small operators pay a smaller portion of their revenues than they would under a
flat fee structure. The drawback to this more complex fee structure is the increased
administrative burden, and related costs, inherent in its implementation and ongoing
administration. The fee for larger operators would need to be above $5,000 to cover the
additional costs if the fees for smaller operators were lowered under a tiered structure. To avoid
added complexity and increased costs for both the State and operators, it is recommended that
the registration fee be maintained at its current level.

Vermont’s fantasy sports registration fee is comparable to other states that regulate
fantasy sports operators, except that states that charge a $5,000 fee also impose a tax on
operators. In states that impose only a fee, the fee is typically a $50,000 one-time fee. Delaware
and Missouri are exceptions, and charge both taxes and high annual fees. Delaware charges a
$50,000 annual fee. Missouri charges an annual application fee that is the lower of $10,000 or
10% of net revenue from the previous calendar year. On the other end of the spectrum, states like
Maine and Colorado only charge fees for operators who have over $100,000 in gross revenues
(Maine) or more than 7,500 players in the state (Colorado). Please refer to the chart in the
Appendix that compares the tax and fee structures imposed on fantasy sports operators in other
states.

39V.S.A. §4189.
‘Id. '
532 V.S.A. § 603(2); see also: 32 V.S.A. § 605(d)(2).
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Act 70 requires fantasy sports operators to comply with several business practices
intended to provide protections to consumers who choose to participate in fantasy sport contests,
and are enforceable by the Office of the Attorney General. The Attorney General may also adopt
rules to implement the fantasy sports contests chapter, and may conduct civil investigations,
enter into assurances of discontinuance, and bring civil actions.® At this early stage of operations
in Vermont, the Secretary recommends consulting with the Office of the Attorney General to
amend its authority as necessary to provide bill back authority or some other mechanism to cover
the cost of any investigations or enforcement activities taken under chapter 116, in a manner that
would not limit the authority to actions filed in court. Initially, this would ensure that the State’s
costs are covered by the operator investigated and offset the burdens of a flat fee on smaller
operators. Similar “bill back” authority exists for other departments, such as the Department of
Public Service’ and the Department of Financial Regulation.®

Tax Considerations

Act 70 did not impose any additional taxes on fantasy sports operators in Vermont. The
Secretary does not recommend imposing any taxes in addition to those applicable to both fantasy
sports operators and players under current Vermont law.® Vermont’s business income tax laws
will apply to fantasy sports operators in the same way that they apply to other business entities.
Regardless of the fantasy sports operator’s legal structure (e.g., as a C corporation, S corporation,
limited liability company, or partnership), it will likely be required to file and pay at least the
minimum tax.'® Additionally, the earnings made by individual players will be taxed under the
same personal income tax sections applicable to any other individual with Vermont taxable
income. The consumer protection sections in the Act reinforce this by requiring fantasy sports
operatorsl to notify players that winnings of a certain amount may be subject to income
taxation.'!

Imposing a tax with the limited information currently available about annual revenue
likely to be generated in Vermont from fantasy sports operators raises many concerns regarding
complexity, administrative costs, regressivity, and market impact. The Vermont Department of
Taxes estimates that implementing and administering a new tax on fantasy sports operators
would cost a minimum of $80,000 per year for the first several years. These costs arise from
human resources and information system investments. Said another way, the minimum annual
revenue that the tax would have to generate to pay for itself is $80,000. In order to generate
$80,000, the tax rate on operators would have to be at least 11% of annual net revenues. '2

69 V.S.A. § 4190(b).

7 See, e.g., 30 V.S.A. §§ 20-21.

8 See,e.g., 8 V.S.A. § 3563.

°32 V.S.A. ch. 151.

1932 V.S.A. §§ 5811(15)(B), 5832, 5862(a), 5915, 5921.

19 V.S.A. § 4186(a)(8).

1> See Vermont Legislative Joint Fiscal Office, Fiscal Note (March 23, 2017), available online
<http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/201 8/WorkGroups/Senate%20Finance/Bills/S.136/S.136~Sara%2
0Teachout~Fiscal%20Note~3-24-2017.pdf>. This 11% tax rate was based on the tax rate proposed at the time in
Senate bill S.136 (the bill that became Act 70).
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Other states have structured their fantasy sports tax as a percentage between 6% and
15.5% of operators’ revenues, occasionally tiered depending on the amount of revenue earned.
The base taxed in other states varies from net revenues, adjusted revenues, net-adjusted revenues,
or gross revenues from contests within the State. A tax based on net revenue rather than gross
revenue is preferential for operators because net revenue represents actual profit. A tax based on
gross revenues does not take into account contest winnings paid out to players and reduces the
profit operators actually receive.

Another concern is the impact of a tax on an operator’s decision to do business in
Vermont. The fantasy sports market seems to have a few large operators, and many small
operators. Legislative testimony from industry representatives in Vermont and other states has
highlighted that a tax and a fee are more easily absorbed by large operators, which could give
them a competitive edge, and potentially stifle competition from smaller operators. Some states
have mitigated the regressive impact of taxes on smaller operators by exempting operators
making below a certain threshold of revenue, such as Maine’s model that sets the threshold for
tax liability at $100,000 in annual gross revenue. While this may help make a new tax more
equitable, this approach again increases complexity for taxpayers, which in turn increases
compliance costs. A complex tax structure could have a negative impact on a new market.

Conclusion

The registration requirements and annual $5,000 fee created by Act 70 are sufficient to
cover the costs of registering fantasy sports operators. It may be useful to create, as necessary,
bill back authority or another mechanism for the Office of the Attorney General to cover its
enforcement expenses. There is no need to impose an additional tax, because operators and
individual players will be subject to Vermont income tax laws. Moreover, the cost of
administering the tax during the first few years would absorb most, if not all, revenues generated
according to current information and estimates. As a new industry with potential for growth, it
would be worthwhile to revisit the question of whether the cost of regulating the industry is met
through the current fees, revenues, and enforcement mechanisms included in Act 70 after the
industry has operated in Vermont over a period of years allowing for better information and data
regarding Vermont’s fantasy sports contest market.
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OTHER STATES’ TAXES AND FEES ON FANTASY SPORTS

18 states have taken legislative action to legalize daily fantasy sports.'* The majority of states regulate operators in some way, with the
primary goal being consumer protection. 13 states impose a tax, a fee, or both, which are compared in the chart below.

State & Bill Tax],?’Fee, o Tax Rate Tax Base Flat Fee Revenue Regulatory
oth Body
Gross paid fantasy Department of
1A517(251nsas (Act Tax 8% sports game Unknown Finance and
0f2017) L
revenues Administration
All operators must
register, but only fantasy
contest
operators with more than
7,500 fantasy contest
participants in Colorado Division of
are required to pay a Projections Professions and
Colorado (HB Fee licensing fee. FY16-17: $125, Occupations,
1404 0of 2016) 7909; FY17-18: Department of
Fee to be determined by | $210,790 Regulatory
Division of Professions Agencies
and Occupations (not set
in statute or rule. C.R.S.
12-15.5.105; C.C.R. 751-
1).
Initial registration fee:
Connecticut (SB- ) Gross receipts of $15,000 Proiection Commissioner of
1502 of 2017) Both tax & fee | 10.5% fantasy contest . . _J_FYI 9 $500,000 Consurper
operator Annual registration Protection

renewal fee: $15,000

13 Ohio’s legislature passed HB 132 of 2017, but at the time of writing this report, the bill had not yet been signed by the Governor. The following 18 states have enacted
legislation legalizing and regulating fantasy sports: Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Vermont, and Virginia. Out of those states, four did not include fees or taxes: Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts
and New Hampshire. Three other states have not taken legislative action because fantasy sports were determined to already be legal under state law: Nevada (interactive
gaming license required for $500,000 initial application fee, $250,000 annual renewal fee), Rhode Island, and West Virginia. Although the Massachusetts’ Attorney General
also found that fantasy sports were already legal under state law, legislation was nonetheless enacted to explicitly legalize and regulate them. Maryland’s Attorney General has
questioned whether the state’s 2012 gambling statute applied to daily fantasy sports, although no clarifying legislation has been enacted.




Tax is called a fee

State & Bill Taxl,aFee, s Tax Rate Tax Base Flat Fee Revenue Regulatory
oth Body
Fees will be reduced to
as not exceed 10% of
operator’s gross receipts
for registration period.
Commission to
" be designated by
Projections Governor (ma
Delaware (H.B. Both tax & fee | 15.5% Net-adjusted $50,000 annual licensing | $100,000 annually, be current Y
249 of 2017) ' revenues fee based only on fees
(2 operators) agency or it
within 30 days
of signing.
Projections
1. Initial license
1. $50,000 one-time fee in FY2017:
licensing fee that $250,000 . .
- Indiana Gaming
may be increased up $3.75M Commission
Indiana (Act 339 Fee to $75,000 if division | 2. Renewal fee Paid ’
0f 2016) needs to cover starting Fantasy Sports
operation costs FY2018: Division
2. $5,000 annual $25,000-
renewal fee $250,000
$2,500 initial and annual
Gross fantasy renewal licensing fee
. contest revenues; only for operators with
11\44311112:2((% 7 Both tax & fee | 10% only applies to over $100,000 in $110.000 annually ?Egﬁ?gﬁ; tt;f
operators with over | revenue during 12 '
$100,000 in revenue | months preceding
application.
WetNississippi ) No projections Mississippi
Mississippi (HL.B. Both tax & fee | 8% EMEES $5,0QO l_1cense conducted by Miss. | Gaming
967 of 2017) application fee legis] S .
egislature Commission




State & Bill Tax],gFee, l Tax Rate Tax Base Flat Fee Revenue Jiegriling
oth Body
for “privilege of
conducting fantasy
sports contests in
Mississippi”
Net revenue from s Fumus app icaion
previous calendar fee that is lower of:

3 . year. SLOI000 el (oTof Projections Missouri
ll\gff";‘tf 1281%3. Both tax & fee | 11.5% | ;f;jf:f:‘::éfé;‘r $500,000- Gaming
e "Fax is called _ Sfear $750,000 Commission

fj:,{lual QRSIaton 2. Investigation fee no
more than $50,000
Dept. of Law &
Public Safety,
New Jersey (A- Tax 10.5% Fantasy sports gross Tax (projected): Div. Consumer
3532 0f 2017) : revenue $6.6 million Affairs
15% on interactive
fantasy sports gross
New York revenue generated in NY State
(S.8153/A.10736 | Tax 15% + 0.5% state $4,000,000 Gaming
0f 2016) Commission
0.5% capped at
$50,000
$50,000 application fee | Projections
for 5-year license First year:
Monthly fantasy ° nonlr.e ﬁi{ldatf)‘le ' $2519’O(t).0 f
. i application fee application fees .
Pennsylvania (Act Both tax & fees | 15% conteshaciusted cgrrl)not exceed ($50,000 initial PA Gaming

42 0f 2017)

revenues (from
previous month)

amount necessary to
reimburse board for
all costs incurred in
application process.

application fee)

Annual tax
revenues:

Control Board




Tax, Fee, or

Regulatory

State & Bill Both Tax Rate Tax Base Flat Fee Revenue Body
$2,100,000
$10,000 license renewal
fee
To be established by
SOS:
1. Nonrefundable
application fee;
Adjusted revenues 2. Nonrefundable fee Secretary of
of a fantasy sports for licensure; State Di}:/ision
Tennessee (S.B. contest offered by a | 3. Annual licensure No projections of C};ari table
2109, Pub. Ch. Both tax & fees | 6% fantasy sports renewal fee; conducted by licitati
No. 978 of 2016) operator to 4. Late fees; Tenn. legislature Solicitations,
Tennessee 5. Correction of antasy) S_p orts
. . d Gamin
consumers information fee; . g
6. Change of
information fee;
7. Online transaction
fee.
Secretary of
Vermont (Act 70 Fee $5,000 annual Projected: State; Office of
of 2017) registration fee $80.000 the Attorney
General
1. $50,000 initial As of 10/12/17: 9
registration fee companies are Department of
Virginia (S.646 of Fee 2. Subsequent fee to be | registered in VA Agriculture and
2016) set by regulating (total actual Consumer
agency (none revenue = at least | Services

apparently charged)

$400,000).




