Municipal Road General Permit (MRGP)

Summary of Existing and Proposed MRGP Fee Structures

1. Current MRGP Operating Fee structure:

• 248 municipalities x \$2,000= \$496,000

Total current MRGP Operating Fees per year= \$496,000*

2. Proposed MRGP Operating Fee structure:

- 15-Tier 1 municipalities x \$1,800= \$27,000
- 172-Tier 2 municipalities x \$1,350= \$232,200
- 61-Tier 3 municipalities x \$500= \$30,500

Total proposed MRGP Operating Fees for 248 municipalities= \$289,700*

*Under both current and proposed MRGP fees, municipalities pay the following additional fees:

MRGP application fee (one-time fee): $248 \times $400 = $99,200$ and MRGP administrative processing fee (once every 5 years) $248 \times $240 = $59,520$.

Summary of methodology used to determine MRGP municipal coverage and fee structure:

- Population data from 2010 Census.
- Municipalities that have operational control over their municipal roads fall under MRGP
 coverage and will pay applicable fees. Cities, towns, and those incorporated villages with road
 budgets and/or road crews deemed applicable municipalities for MRGP coverage. These
 municipalities are required to annually report to VTrans their individual municipal road mileage
 by road class. This is mandated by <u>V.S.A. Title 19</u>, <u>Chapter 3</u>, <u>sections 305 and 306</u>
- 9 disincorporated and unorganized towns and gores exempt from MRGP
- 13 MS4 municipalities exempt from MRGP annual operating, administrative, and application fees

Population	Miles of Road Maintained	Annual Operating Fee	# of municipalities in this category
Population <u>></u> 5,000		\$1800	14
Population <u>></u> 2500<5000	≥95 miles	\$1800	1
Population <u>></u> 2500<5000	<u>></u> 25<95 miles	\$1350	39
Population <u>></u> 2500<5000	<25 miles	\$ 500	1
Population <u>></u> 500<2500	>25 miles	\$1350	133
Population <u>></u> 500<2500	<25 miles	\$ 500	27
Population <500		\$ 500	33
MS4 Communities		\$ 0	13
Unincorporated/Disincorporated		\$ 0	9

Appendix: Proposed MRGP Municipalities Tiered Categories and Exempt Municipalities

1. Proposed MRGP Tiered Municipalities:

Tier 1 MRGP municipalities (15 total):

- Municipalities with population greater than 5,000
- Municipalities with 95 or more road miles and population greater than 2,500

Barre City	Brattleboro	Jericho	Morristown	St. Johnsbury
Barre Town	Chester	Middlebury	Northfield	Springfield
Bennington	Hartford	Montpelier	Rockingham	Waterbury

Tier 2 MRGP municipalities (172 total):

• Municipalities with 25-94 road miles and population greater than 500 but less than 5,000

Addison	Charlestown	Franklin	Lyndon	Pomfret
Albany	Charlotte	Georgia	Manchester	Poultney
Alburgh	Chelsea	Glover	Marlboro	Pownal
Arlington	Chittenden	Grafton	Marshfield	Putney
Bakersfield	Clarendon	Grand Isle	Middlesex	Randolph
Barnard	Concord	Greensboro	Middletown	Reading
Barnet	Cornith	Groton	Springs	Readsboro
Barton	Cornwall	Guilford	Monkton	Richford
Benson	Coventry	Halifax	Montgomery	Richmond
Berkshire	Craftsbury	Hardwick	Moretown	Ripton
Berlin	Danby	Hartland	Morgan	Rochester
Bethel	Danville	Highgate	Mount Holly	Roxbury
Bradford	Derby	Hinesburg	Newark	Royalton
Braintree	Dorset	Holland	New Haven	Rupert
Brandon	Dover	Hubbardton	Newbury	Ryegate
Bridgewater	Dummerston	Huntington	Newfane	Salisbury
Bridport	Duxbury	Hyde Park	Newport (City)	Shaftsbury
Brighton	East	Irasburg	Newport	Sharon
Bristol	Montpelier	Jamaica	(Town)	Sheffield
Brookfield	Eden	Jay	Norwich	Sheldon
Browington	Elmore	Johnson	Orange	Shoreham
Burke	Enosburgh	Killington	Orwell	Shrewsbury
Cabot	Fair Haven	Leicester	Pawlet	Starksboro
Calais	Fairfax	Lincoln	Peacham	Stockbridge
Cambridge	Fairfield	Londonderry	Pittsfield	Stowe
Canaan	Fayston	Lowell	Pittsford	Strafford
Castleton	Ferrisburgh	Ludlow	Plainfield	Sunderland
Cavendish	Fletcher	Lunenburg	Plymouth	Sutton

Swanton	Underhill	Warren	West Windsor	Williamstown
Thetford	Vernon	Washington	Westford	Wilmington
Tinmouth	Vershire	Waterford	Westminster	Windsor
Topsham	Waitsfield	Weathersfield	Weston	Winhall
Townshend	Walden	Wells	Weybridge	Wolcott
Troy	Wallingford	West Fairlee	Wheelock	Woodbury
Tunbridge	Wardsboro	West Rutland	Whitingham	Woodstock

$Tier\ 3\ MRGP\ municipalities\ (61\ total).$

• Municipalities with less than 25 road miles and/or population less than 500.

Andover	Goshen	Mendon	Proctor	Wells River
Athens	Granby	Mount Tabor	Sandgate	Village
Baltimore	Granville	North	Searsburg	West Haven
Barton	Guidhall	Bennington	South Hero	Westfield
Village	Hancock	Village	St. George	Westmore
Belvidere	Ira	North Hero	Stamford	Whiting
Bloomfield	Isle LaMotte	North Troy Village	Stannard	Windham
Bolton	Kirby	Norton	Stratton	Woodford
Brookline	•	Old		Woodstock
Brunswick	Landgrove	Bennington	Sudbury	Village
Derby Line	Lemington	Orleans	Swanton Village	Worcester
Village	Ludlow Village	Village	Vergennes	
Enosburgh	-	Panton	(City)	
Falls	Lyndonville	Peru	Victory	
East Haven	Maidstone	Poultney	Waltham	
Fairlee	Manchester Village	Village	Waterville	
	v mage		vv atel ville	

Municipalities exempt from MRGP fees:

MS4 municipalities (13 total):

Burlington Essex Rutland Town

Junction

Shelburne

St. Albans

Winooski

City

Colchester

Essex

Milton

South

St. Albans Town

Rutland City Burlington

Williston

Disincorporated and Unorganized municipalities (9 total):

Averill Ferndinand Warren Gore Somerset

Glastenbury Averys Gore Warners Grant **Buels Gore** Lewis