115 STATE STREET MONTPELIER, VT 05633 TEL: (802) 828-2228

FAX: (802) 828-2424



SEN. VIRGINIA "GINNY" LYONS, CHAIR REP. PAUL LEFEBVRE, VICE CHAIR REP. MARY SULLIVAN, CLERK SEN. CAROLYN WHITNEY BRANAGAN SEN. CHRISTOPHER BRAY. SEN. MARK A. MACDONALD REP. CURTIS MCCORMACK REP. WARREN VAN WYCK

STATE OF VERMONT **GENERAL ASSEMBLY** JOINT ENERGY COMMITTEE

Wednesday March 1, 2017, 8:00 a.m. Room 8, State House

Members Present: Sens. Branagan, Bray, Lyons, and MacDonald; Reps Lefebvre, McCormack,

Sullivan, and Van Wyck

Staff Present: Aaron Adler, Legislative Counsel

Faith Brown, Committee Assistant

The meeting began at 8 a.m. On motion of Sen. MacDonald, the committee unanimously voted that Counsel Adler preside over the election of the chair. Rep. McCormack nominated Sen. Lyons. Rep. Lefebvre nominated Sen. Bray.

On motion of Sen. Bray, the committee unanimously voted to conduct the election by paper ballot.

Sens. Bray and Lyons each made a statement regarding his or her candidacy, following which the members voted by paper ballot. The vote was 5-3 for Sen. Lyons to be Chair.

Sen. Lyons presided over the remainder of the meeting. On motion of Sen. Branagan, the committee unanimously voted to elect Rep. Lefebvre to be Vice Chair.

On motion of Sen. Lyons, the committee unanimously voted to elect Rep. Sullivan to be Clerk.

The committee adjourned at approximately 9:00 a.m.

The committee will meet again on March 15, 2017 at 8 a.m. in Room 11 of the State House.

Respectfully submitted,

Aaron Adler. Committee Counsel