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Findings and Recommendations 
 
 Vermont’s renter rebate program is a type of property tax circuit breaker intended to 

promote tax equity at a minimum cost by targeting relief to renters with the greatest 
property tax burdens measured in relation to income. 

 
 The total cost of the renter rebate was $8.7 million in 2012.  There were 13,541 claimants 

who received an average renter rebate of $641. The average monthly rent of claimants was 
$636. The average household income of claimants was $20,802. 
 

 More than 29% of occupied housing units in Vermont were occupied by renters in 2012; 
however, the percent of renter-occupied housing units varies widely across the State. 
Almost 26% of residents were members of renter-occupied households. 
 

 Although there are renters at all income levels, nearly three-quarters of renter-occupied 
housing units had household income under $50,000 in 2012. The median household income 
of renter-occupied households is less than one-half that of homeowners. 
 

 The conventional indicator of housing affordability is the percent of household income 
spent on housing. By this measure, nearly one-half of renter-occupied households are 
overburdened and nearly one-quarter are severely overburdened. 

 
 The problem of unaffordable housing is heavily concentrated among very low-income 

renters.  Over 84% of overburdened renter-occupied units have annual household incomes 
under $35,000.  
 

 On average, Vermont’s renter rebate program reduces gross rent as a percent of household 
income from 36.7% to 33.6% of household income. Gross rent, which includes the cost of 
utilities, remains above 30% for most claimants. 
 

 Rental housing assistance is available to low-income households through programs funded 
primarily by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.  However, there are 
long waiting lists for assistance and program funding has been eroding. 
 

 The design of property tax circuit breakers involves a number of policy choices. The 
committee may want to review the following issues, which are discussed in the body of this 
report: 

o Allocation of program costs between the Education and General Funds 
o Household income brackets and notch effects 
o Benefit limits 
o Adjustments for inflation 
o Adverse incentives 
o Percentage of rent deemed property taxes 
o Delivery of benefits to renters 
o Administrative costs 
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Vermont’s renter rebate program, which was established in 1970, is a type of property tax 
circuit breaker. Circuit breakers are intended to promote tax equity at a minimum cost by 
targeting relief to taxpayers with the greatest property tax burdens measured in relation to 
income. The term derives its name from an electrical circuit breaker that shuts off the electrical 
current when a system is overloaded. This report reviews issues with the State’s current-law 
renter rebate program1 and examines other ways Vermont provides assistance to renters 
coping with high rents and low incomes. The statutory charge is included in the appendix. 
 
1. Vermont’s Renter Rebate Program 

 
To be eligible for the renter rebate program, a claimant must meet all of the following 
requirements: 

 Domiciled in Vermont for the entire calendar year 

 Rented in Vermont for the entire calendar year 

 Not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer 

 Household income does not exceed $47,000 

 Only one claim per household 
 
Vermont uses a multiple threshold circuit breaker with three income brackets. Property taxes 
are limited to between 2% and 5% of household income as follows:   
 

         Under $9,999  2.0% 
         $10,000 to $24,999     4.5% 
         $25,000 to $47,000  5.0% 

 
However, the maximum rebate is limited to $3,000 per claimant regardless of the amount of 
property taxes paid in excess of these household income thresholds. 
 
To avoid providing different tax relief to households with similar property tax burdens, circuit 
breaker programs generally define income broadly to include Social Security, pensions, and 
cash public assistance.  In Vermont, household income is defined as federal adjusted gross 
income for all members of the household with a number of modifications.  Household income is 
reported to the Vermont Department of Taxes (VDT) on the Household Income Schedule, which 
is reproduced in the appendix to this report. 
 
Since renters do not pay property taxes directly, property taxes are assumed to be 21% of rent 
paid.  For this purpose, rent includes only the amount actually paid for the right to occupancy; 
payments for heat, electricity, and other services are excluded.  In addition, any federal or state 

                                                 
1
 The focus of this report is the renter rebate; however, Vermont’s renter rebate is part of a circuit breaker 

program that applies to homeowners as well as renters. With the exception of the maximum benefit and the need 
to estimate property taxes paid by renters, the parameters of the two parts of the program are identical. 
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rental subsidies are excluded.  Rent, items included in rent, and any rental subsidy are reported 
to the VDT on the Landlord’s Certificate, which is reproduced in the appendix to this report. 
 
In addition, claimants must timely file the Renter Rebate Claim, which is also reproduced in the 
appendix to this report. Normally, claimants file this form annually with the VDT by April 15th 
with their Vermont Income Tax Return; however, claimants not otherwise required to file an 
income tax return may file separately. For more than three-quarters of claimants, the rebate is 
treated as a refundable personal income tax credit. 
 
The number of claimants, average monthly rent, average household income, and average 
rebate by income class for 2012 are presented below. 
 

 
Household Income 

Number of 
Claimants 

Average 
Monthly Rent 

Average 
Household 

Income 

Average 
Renter Rebate 

Under $9,999 2,441 $284 $8,203 $544 

$10,000 to $19,999 4,501 $528 $15,101 $645 

$20,000 to $29,999 3,944 $741 $24,549 $694 

$30,000 to $39,999 2,015 $942 $34,424 $641 

$40,000 to $47,000 640 $1,123 $42,971 $668 

Total/Average 13,541 $636 $20,802 $641 

 
The number of claimants, the total cost of the renter rebate program, and the average rebate 
for tax years 1999 to 2012 are presented below. 
 

 
Tax Year 

Number of 
Claimants 

 
Amount of Rebate 

 
Average Rebate 

1999 11,620 $5,257,244 $452 
2000 10,324 $4,704,796 $456 
2001 10,406 $4,866,323 $468 
2002 11,131 $5,636,205 $506 
2003 11,525 $6,136,097 $532 
2004 11,037 $5,913,113 $536 
2005 11,251 $6,353,863 $565 
2006 11,529 $6,924,340 $601 
2007 12,408 $7,238621 $583 
2008 13,150 $8,108,943 $617 
2009 13,745 $8.811,700 $641 
2010 13,859 $8,609,210 $621 
2011 13,636 $8,748,066 $642 
2012 13,541 $8,685,183 $641 

 
Since the renter rebate is based on a claimant’s education and municipal property taxes, the 
cost of the program is borne by both the State’s Education Fund and General Fund.  The 
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Education Fund has borne 70% of the total cost and the General Fund has borne 30% of the 
total cost. Although this allocation has been used since the implementation of Act 60 in FY1999, 
it does not reflect the portions of the total rebate attributable to the education and municipal 
property taxes. 
 
2. Renters in Vermont 
 
Information on renter-occupied households published by the VDT is limited to renters who 
have applied for a rebate. To gain a broader picture of renters in Vermont, US Census Bureau 
data2 on housing tenure, income, rent, and rental housing affordability are presented below. 
Note that the definitions of both household income and gross rent for the purposes of 
Vermont’s renter rebate differ from the US Census Bureau definitions. 
 

Renter-Occupied Housing Units 

In 2012, 75,006 or more than 29% of total occupied housing units were occupied by renters. 
The percentage of total occupied housing units occupied by renters varies widely across the 
State from a high of 36% in Chittenden County to a low of 16% in Essex County. Renter-
occupied households in Vermont are smaller on average than owner-occupied households.  In 
2012, there were 155,783 members of renter-occupied households accounting for almost 26% 
of the state’s total population. 

 
Household Income of Renters 

Although renter-occupied units account for more than 29% of all occupied housing units in 
Vermont, renter-occupied households account for only about 16% of total household income.  
In 2012, the median household income for renter-occupied households was $30,943 compared 
to $64,771 for owner-occupied households. Nearly three-quarters of renter-occupied housing 
units had household income under $50,000.   
 

                                                 
2 

All US Census Bureau data used in this section of the report is from the 2010-2012 American Community Survey - 
3-year estimates.

 

70.9% 

29.1% 

Housing Tenure 

Owner-Occupied
Units

Renter-Occupied
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Gross Rent 

Contract rent is the monthly rent agreed to or contracted for, regardless of any furnishings, 
utilities, fees, meals, or services that may be included. Gross rent is contract rent plus the 
estimated average monthly cost of utilities and fuels. Median gross rent in 2012 was $859 per 
month. Median rent varies widely across the State from a high of $991 per month in Chittenden 
County to a low of $629 per month in Essex County.  

 
 
Rental Housing Affordability 

The conventional public policy indicator of housing affordability is the percent of household 
income spent on housing. Housing expenditures that exceed 30% of household income have 
historically been viewed as an indicator of a housing affordability problem. By this measure, 
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nearly half of renter-occupied households are overburdened and nearly one-quarter of renter-
occupied households are severely overburdened. 
 

 
 
The problem of unaffordable housing is heavily concentrated among very low-income renters. 
Over 84% of renter-occupied units, or 30,664 units, with housing costs in excess of 30% of 
household income have annual household incomes under $35,000. The percentage of renters 
with housing costs in excess of the 30% threshold varies widely across the state, but nearly one-
third of all overburdened renter-occupied households are in located in Chittenden County. 
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3. Evaluation of Vermont’s Renter Rebate Program 

The design of a circuit breaker program involves a number of policy choices.  This section 
provides an evaluation of Vermont’s current renter rebate program that relies on a report on 
property tax circuit breakers published by the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy in 2009.3 
 
Adequate Relief 

Some states calculate circuit breakers according to a prescribed formula, but may not fully fund 
their program.  In Vermont, the Legislature has generally chosen to fund the full cost of the 
renter rebate program through the annual State budget.  In FY1992 and FY1993, claimants 
under 65 years of age were paid 90% and 96%, respectively, of the amount prescribed by the 
renter rebate formula. 
 
The following table compares gross rent as a percent of household income before and after the 
renter rebate is deducted from gross rent. On average, the rebate reduces gross rent from 
36.7% to 33.6% of household income.  However, gross rent as a percentage of household 
income remains above 30% for all but the highest income class.  
 

 
Treatment of the Elderly 

Most states limit their circuit breaker programs to the elderly, viewing age as a proxy for low 
income and an indication of financial need.  However, the elderly are actually less likely to live 
in poverty than other taxpayers. Vermont’s renter rebate program was initially available to 
residents 65 years of age or older only; however, the program was expanded to include 
taxpayers under the age of 65 in 1974. Although the poverty rate is generally higher among 
non-elderly, some states target relief to the elderly to reduce resistance to property tax 

                                                 
3
 Bowman, John H., Daphne A. Kenyon, Adam Langley, and Bethany P. Paquin. 2009. Property Tax Circuit Breakers: 

Fair and Effective Relief for Taxpayers, Cambridge, MA: Lincoln Institute for Land Policy. 
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increases.  In Vermont, the elderly in Vermont do receive special treatment under an asset test, 
which is discussed below. 
 
Definition of Household Income 

Most states, including Vermont, define household income broadly to include Social Security, 
private pensions, and public cash assistance.  Defining household income too narrowly distorts 
property tax relief and may result in different relief to households paying identical shares of 
their income in property taxes.  Over time, more types of income have been excluded from the 
definition of household income in Vermont.  Although intended to make the circuit breaker 
program more equitable, excluding some types of income complicates both compliance and 
administration of the program.  
 
Net Worth 

Although two households may have identical annual household income, they may not be 
equally well-off if one household has significantly higher net worth.  However, reporting net 
worth would require claimants to list and value their assets and obligations, which may present 
problems of discovery and valuation. Even if discovery is not a problem, valuation may be 
problematic since the value of assets may fluctuate significantly.  
 
In 2011, Vermont introduced a proxy for net worth into its definition of household income 
definition that double-counts interest and dividend income over $10,000 annually. This avoids 
valuation and discovery issues, but it counts only realized income produced by certain assets.  
Subsequent legislation applied the asset test to non-elderly taxpayers only, which may result in 
similarly situated taxpayers paying different amounts in property tax.   
 
Income Limits 

Almost all states with circuit breaker programs incorporate income limits; however, they are 
not always comparable since states define income differently.  The argument in favor of income 
limits is that they restrict tax relief to renters who most need assistance and may hold down the 
total cost of the program. However, even without an income limit, relief is targeted toward 
renters with lower income because rent is generally a smaller percentage of household income 
at higher income levels. In past years, Vermont’s income limit has varied widely, ranging from a 
low of $25,000 to no limit. 
 
Notch Effects 

Income limits and income brackets may create notch effects - a situation in which a small 
change in income causes a larger change in property tax relief.  Income limits produce a notch 
effect when benefits are entirely eliminated above a limit as opposed to being reduced 
gradually.  Vermont’s rebate program currently provides full benefits to renters with household 
income up to $47,000, but eliminates them entirely above that threshold.  
 
Income brackets may also produce a notch effect when the thresholds are not applied 
incrementally. The following graph illustrates the notch effect in Vermont’s rebate program 
between the first and second household income tiers.  The maximum impact of this notch 
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effect on individual claimants is $250. A much smaller notch effect also exists between the 
second and third household income tiers.  
 

 
 
Benefit Limits 

Most states set a maximum benefit between the poverty line and median income; however, 
some states have much higher limits.  A few states have multiple benefit limits where the 
maximum benefit declines with income.  Vermont’s maximum benefit is currently the highest 
nationally, but it has varied widely over the years from a low of $500 to an unlimited amount.  
Most recently, the benefit limit was reduced from $8,000 to $3,000 beginning in 2012. 
 
The following table shows the total cost of the rebate under current law and with lower benefit 
limits in 2012. Since the number of claimants in the highest rebate amount classes is small, the 
savings attributable to a reduction in the maximum benefit is also small. For example, reducing 
the maximum to $2,000 would affect only 178 claimants and reduce the cost of the rebate by 
about $192,000.  
 

Rebate Amount 
Class 

Number of 
Claimants 

Total Cost of Rebate 

$3,000 Cap $2,000 Cap $1,000 Cap 

Under $999 10,741 $4,521,745 $4,521,745 $4,521,745 
$1,000 to $1,499 1,842 $2,227,177 $2,227,177 $1,842,000 
$1,500 to $1,999 578 $980,556 $980,556 $578,000 
$2,000 to $2,499 204 $448,393 $408,000 $204,000 
$2,500 to $2,999 93 $252,527 $186,000 $93,000 
$3,000 85 $255,000 $170,000 $85,000 

Total 13,543 $8,685,398 $8,493,478 $7,323,745 
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 Adjusting for Inflation 
All circuit breaker programs include parameters setting specific dollar amounts.  Unless these 
parameters are increased with inflation, the benefits lose their value over time and fewer 
taxpayers will qualify for relief. Vermont has made a number of changes to these parameters 
over the years; however, they have not been systematic.  Many states, including Vermont, do 
not have automatic indexation for their circuit breaker programs.  For example, the current 
household income eligibility limit was last increased to $47,000 in 1995 and the household 
income brackets were last revised in 2005. 
 
Adverse Incentives 

Circuit breakers may lead to higher spending because some taxpayers may vote for additional 
services knowing that higher taxes will be entirely offset by circuit breaker benefits.  Threshold 
programs, such as Vermont’s, that offset 100% of property taxes above a certain threshold level 
result in a marginal property tax liability of zero. To diminish adverse incentives in threshold 
programs, the program may include a co-payment requirement.  Under a co-payment 
requirement, taxpayers are required to pay a percent of the property tax above the threshold.   
 
Property Taxes Paid by Renters 

Circuit breaker programs that include renters generally assume that the entire property tax on 
rental units is passed through to tenants in the form of higher rents.  This is unlikely since the 
ability of landlords to shift the tax burden to their tenants largely depends on whether renters 
are able to move to similar municipalities in the area with lower property tax rates.  If renters 
are able to choose where to rent, landlords may be compelled to pay at least part of the 
property tax themselves.  
 
In Vermont, the nonresidential property tax that is applied to rental properties is uniform, so 
the total property tax rate on rental units varies only by the municipal property tax rate, which 
accounts for about one-third of total property taxes statewide. Consequently, in Vermont it 
may be possible for landlords to pass on more of the property tax liability to tenants through 
higher rents than in states where property tax rates vary more widely between municipalities.  
 
Nevertheless, all states assume that the entire property tax on rental units is passed through to 
tenants. The actual property tax on individual rental housing units is then estimated by 
specifying a percent of gross rent that is assumed to be property tax.  The most common 
percentage used is 20%, but the range is currently 6% to 35%.  In Vermont, the percentage of 
rent deemed property taxes has varied over the years from a high of 24% to a low of 20%. Prior 
to 2012, a claimant could use the higher of the actual property tax paid on the rental unit or a 
fixed percentage of rent, but this option was repealed to make it easier for landlords to comply 
with the law. 
 
Data on actual rents and property taxes for individual rental properties are not readily 
available; however, in 2005 the Minnesota Department of Revenue surveyed landlords to 
collect such information.  Their study concluded that the property tax as a percentage of rent 
averaged 11.7% with over 90% of rental units falling below 15%.  Generally, urban renters paid 
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more than suburban renters and those in the nonmetropolitan area.  Also, renters in buildings 
with one to three units paid much higher taxes on average than tenants in larger apartment 
buildings.   
 
If a circuit breaker program assumes that renters pay more of the property tax on their 
apartments than they actual pay, a rent subsidy is effectively added to the renter rebate 
program. While a subsidy may be justified given the rental housing affordability problem in 
Vermont, a rental subsidy is not an explicit goal of a property tax relief program. Rental housing 
assistance programs or anti-poverty programs more generally may be better alternatives suited 
to providing assistance to low-income renters.  
 
Lowering the percentage of rent assumed to be property taxes would significantly reduce the 
cost of the Vermont’s renter rebate program by reducing the number of claimants and the 
average benefit received by those who still qualify. For example, the following table shows the 
impact of assuming only 15% of rent is property taxes. 
 
 

 
 
Household 
Income 

Allocable Rent at 21% Allocable Rent at 15% 
 

Cost of 
Rebate 

Number of 
Claimants 

Average 
Rebate 

Cost of 
Rebate 

Number 
of 

Claimants 

Average 
Rebate 

 
Under $10,000 $1,326,216 2,523 $526 $830,999 2,463 $337 

$10,000-$19,999 $3,025,436 4,657 $650 $1,398,498 3,260 $429 

$20,000-$29,999 $2,827,895 4,039 $700 $966,053 2,386 $405 

$30,000-$39,999 $1,204,933 1,869 $645 $271,635 648 $419 

$40,000-$47,000 $363,586 548 $663 $65,737 149 $441 

Total $8,748,066 13,636 $642 $3,532,923 8,906 $397 

 
 
4. Administration 
 
Delivery of Property Tax Relief to Renters 

Since renters do not receive property tax bills, states use one of two methods to deliver 
property tax relief to renters:  a direct rebate check or a refundable personal income tax credit.  
Vermont uses a refundable personal income tax credit.  Either the taxpayer’s personal income 
tax bill is reduced by the amount of the credit when the annual income tax return is filed or, if 
the credit results in a negative tax bill, the difference is refunded to the taxpayer. 
 
The advantage of this approach is that a separate tax relief program does not need to be 
established so administrative and compliance costs are reduced.  However, claimants must wait 
for relief until filing their income tax returns.  In most states, renters who would not otherwise 
be required to file an income tax return are required to do so and they may not perceive the 
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credit as property tax relief since it is so closely linked to the personal income tax.  There is also 
a longer delay in receiving benefits. 
 
Vermont uses both methods to deliver property tax relief to renter-occupied households.  
About three-quarters of claimants are required to file personal income tax returns and receive 
their benefit as a refundable personal income tax credit. The remainder of those renter-
occupied households eligible for a rebate may file a stand-alone renter rebate claim 
accompanied by the Landlord’s Certificate and the Household Income Schedule. These 
claimants receive a direct rebate check. 
 
In a 2013 report to the Legislature, the VDT recommended delinking the renter rebate claim 
from the personal income tax form to prevent delays in processing income tax returns and 
refunds to many taxpayers.  The report also recommends removing the existing option to apply 
the renter rebate claim to personal income tax liability.  In 2011, only 943 of 13,640 claimants 
utilized this option. Under this scenario, the renter rebate claim form would stand alone and 
eligible renters would receive a check directly from the State. 
 
Administrative Costs 

The VDT has concerns about the high administrative cost of the renter rebate program.  In 
FY2012, the DVT received between 6,000 and 7,000 telephone calls for 16,390 renter rebate 
claims. Of those claims, 77% required some form of individualized intervention by VDT. This 
was either a letter being sent automatically or an examiner reviewing the return and possibly 
sending a letter or a combination of both. Some of the claimants were sent follow-up letters. A 
total of 5,618 claims went to a work list for an examiner to review. Common reasons for this are 
rent that is much higher than the household income reported or the Landlord’s Certificate or 
Household Income Schedule contains errors or is missing. 

  
The VDT also believes there are excessive administrative burdens placed on claimants in 
accessing the renter rebate program.  Claimants are required to submit three separate forms 
(Renter Rebate Claim, Household Income Schedule, and Landlord’s Certificate) that rely upon 
the claimant to collect information from a third party, their landlords, in order to file their claim 
accurately.  
 
To reduce the administrative and compliance costs that arise with the renter rebate program, 
the VDT believes it is worthwhile to explore both simplifying the filing process and putting 
mechanisms in place to focus more succinctly the property tax relief program on low-income 
renters.  
 
Further, the VDT has recommended electronic administration of the program.  This 
recommendation is a part of the Department’s goal to reduce paper transactions and manual 
data entry in order to improve taxpayer convenience, increase turnaround speeds, and 
decrease errors.   
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The VDT has also suggested that the Legislature set a fixed date for the mailing of renter rebate 
checks to reduce the number of telephone calls and e-mails the VDT receives during the tax 
season. 
 
6. Alternative Ways Vermont Assists Low-Income Renters 

 
Rental housing assistance is available to low-income households in one of two models: tenant-
based assistance and project-based assistance.  Funding for these programs is generally 
provided by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.  Depending on the 
program, the funding is directed to state government; nonprofit or private housing developers; 
public housing authorities, or other housing agencies.  Each program has different income and 
eligibility rules. 
 
Tenant-Based Assistance 

Tenant-based assistance is a rental subsidy that is tied to an individual household that moves 
into any qualifying rental housing unit. The housing may be private housing that may not have 
been developed with the intention of accepting low-income tenants, but if the quality and the 
cost of the unit fall within a certain range, it may qualify for tenant-based assistance. 
 
Under the Housing Choice Voucher program, a family or individual may apply for rental 
assistance that will enable them to afford a privately owned apartment. Eligibility is limited to 
applicants with incomes below 50% of the area median income.  The unit must meet housing 
quality standards and have reasonable rent by local market standards.  Households pay about 
30% - but no more than 40% - of their income for rent and utilities. The remainder is paid for by 
the Public Housing Authority. 
 
In addition to the Housing Choice Voucher program, there are several tenant-based rental 
assistance programs that are targeted to a specific population such as a family trying to reunite 
with children, people with disabilities, people who are homeless, and people who are elderly. 
Specific income eligibility varies by program. 

 
Project-Based Assistance 

Project-based assistance assigns a rental subsidy to a specific rental housing unit, and any 
eligible tenant that moves into that unit will receive assistance to cover that portion of rent that 
is otherwise unaffordable. Housing with project-based assistance is often developed with the 
purpose of accepting low-income tenants. Developers of affordable rental housing are able to 
access a variety of federal, state, and local housing programs to build a project. These include 
programs for rural development  

 
In addition, a nonrefundable tax credit may be taken for an affordable rental housing project, 
provided that the project has been authorized by the Vermont Housing Finance Agency. The 
amount of the credit is based on a taxpayer’s eligible cash contribution and the Agency’s 
allocation plan. Total tax credits available to the taxpayer are the amount of the first-year 
allocation plus the succeeding four years’ deemed allocation.  
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Appendix 

 
Statutory Charge – Sec. 4 of Act 60 of 2013 

RENTERS; STUDY 

The Joint Fiscal Office shall report to the General Assembly on how the State can provide 
assistance to renters. The report shall review issues with the current renter rebate program and 
examine other ways to provide assistance to renters with high rents and low incomes. The 
report shall be due on or before January 15, 2014 and shall include specific findings and 
recommendations. The Joint Fiscal Office shall have the assistance of the Department of Taxes 
and the Office of Legislative Council. 
 
 
 

 


