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• SFY 2016: TOTAL Medicaid spending was $1.69 billion.   
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Provider Taxes 
Context 

• Vermont’s provider tax revenues are deposited into the State Health 
Care Resources Fund 

• Provider taxes account for: 

– 9% of TOTAL funding sources for Medicaid (including federal 
dollars). 

– 23% of state dollars used for Medicaid 

– 54% of revenues in the state health care resources fund 
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• States can use provider tax revenues as part 
of the state share of Medicaid 

• Federal law does not prohibit provider tax 
revenue from exceeding 25% of the State 
Medicaid dollars used to get federal match 
• Unless it does…. 

• 42 USC § 1396b(w)(5) says there is a 25% cap 

• But 42 USC § 1396b(w)(1)(A)(iv) says (w)(5) applied 
“only with respect to State fiscal years (or portions 
thereof) occurring on or after January 1, 1992, and 
before October 1, 1995”  

• Still waiting on final confirmation from CMS 
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• Provider taxes must comply with federal law, 
including: 
– Must be broad based – must apply across class of 

health care items/services/providers 

– Must be uniformly applied – e.g., same licensing 
fee across class, same per-bed licensing fee across 
class, same assessment rate on gross or net 
receipts 

– Must not hold providers harmless – cannot 
guarantee, directly or indirectly, that tax paid will 
be returned to providers to make them whole 
• Safe harbor: presumption that this requirement is met 

if tax is ≤ 6 percent of net patient revenue 

 

Provider Tax 
Overview 



6 

Current Vermont Provider Tax 
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Provider Tax: Classes 

19 Federal Classes of Health Care Services 
Inpatient hospital services* Services of managed care 

organizations 
Therapist services 

Outpatient hospital 
services* 

Ambulatory service centers Nursing services  

Nursing facility services*  Dental services Laboratory and x-ray 
services  

Services of intermediate 
care facilities* 

Podiatric services Emergency ambulance 
services* 

Physicians’ services  Chiropractic services Other health care items or 
services for which the state 
has enacted a licensing or 
certification fee 

Home health care 
services* 

Optometric services 

Outpatient prescription 
drugs* 

Psychological services 

* Class currently assessed in Vermont 
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Based on a 50-state survey conducted by Kaiser in Oct. 
2015: 
 

• In 2003, 21 states had at least one provider tax.  By  
2013, all but one state (Alaska) had at least one 
provider tax. 

• The most common type of provider tax in place was 
for nursing homes (44 states), followed by Hospitals 
(39 states) and Intermediate Care Facilities (37 
states). 

Provider Taxes: Other States 

Source: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and Uninsured Survey of Medicaid officials in 50 states and DC.  
Conducted by Health Management Associates, October 2015 
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Provider Taxes: Other States 

Source: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and Uninsured Survey of Medicaid officials in 50 states and DC.  Conducted by Health 
Management Associates, October 2015 



Provider Taxes 
in all 50 states 

and DC 

10 

Source: Kaiser Commission 
on Medicaid and Uninsured 
Survey of Medicaid officials 
in 50 states and DC.  
Conducted by Health 
Management Associates, 
October 2015 


