
FEDERATION OF TAX ADMINISTRATORS -- JANUARY 2016

                 STATE PERSONAL INCOME TAXES:  FEDERAL STARTING POINTS

Federal Tax Base Used as
Relation to Federal   Starting Point to Calculate

STATE Internal Revenue Code State Taxable Income
ALABAMA --- ---
ALASKA no state income tax ---
ARIZONA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
ARKANSAS --- ---
CALIFORNIA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
COLORADO Current taxable income
CONNECTICUT Current adjusted gross income
DELAWARE Current adjusted gross income
FLORIDA no state income tax ---
GEORGIA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
HAWAII 12/31/14 adjusted gross income
IDAHO 1/1/15 taxable income
ILLINOIS Current adjusted gross income
INDIANA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
IOWA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
KANSAS Current adjusted gross income
KENTUCKY 12/31/13 adjusted gross income
LOUISIANA Current adjusted gross income
MAINE 12/31/14 adjusted gross income
MARYLAND Current adjusted gross income
MASSACHUSETTS 1/1/05 adjusted gross income
MICHIGAN Current (a) adjusted gross income
MINNESOTA 12/31/14 taxable income
MISSISSIPPI --- ---
MISSOURI Current adjusted gross income
MONTANA Current adjusted gross income
NEBRASKA Current adjusted gross income
NEVADA no state income tax ---
NEW HAMPSHIRE on interest & dividends only ---
NEW JERSEY --- ---
NEW MEXICO Current adjusted gross income
NEW YORK Current adjusted gross income
NORTH CAROLINA 1/1/15 adjusted gross income
NORTH DAKOTA Current taxable income
OHIO 3/22/13 adjusted gross income
OKLAHOMA Current adjusted gross income
OREGON 1/3/13 taxable income
PENNSYLVANIA --- ---
RHODE ISLAND Current adjusted gross income
SOUTH CAROLINA 12/31/14 taxable income
SOUTH DAKOTA no state income tax ---
TENNESSEE on interest & dividends only ---
TEXAS no state income tax ---
UTAH Current adjusted gross income
VERMONT 1/1/14 taxable income
VIRGINIA 12/31/14 adjusted gross income
WASHINGTON no state income tax ---
WEST VIRGINIA 12/31/14 adjusted gross income
WISCONSIN 12/31/13 adjusted gross income
WYOMING no state income tax ---

DIST. OF COLUMBIA Current adjusted gross income

Source:  Compiled by the Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.
Notes:
 --- state does not employ a federal starting point. Current indicates state has adopted IRC as
     currently in effect. Dates indicate state has adopted IRC as ammended to that date.
(a)  Michigan's taxpayers can choose to use either current or 1/1/96 federal law.

(as of January 1, 2016)



Federal (1040):

Income net losses
Total Income

“above the line adjustments” – itemization hurdle
e.g. Educator Expenses; Alimony, Self-employed health insurance and retirement savings

Adjusted Gross Income

Personal Exemption
Standard or Itemized Deductions

Taxable Income

Tax calculation
AMT
Credits

State (IN-111):

Federal Taxable Income

ADDITIONS:
 Income from Non-VT State and Local Obligations
 Bonus Depreciation
 Addback of State and Local Income Taxes (full amount)
 Addback of Itemized Deductions

(amounts above 2.5X Standard excluding Charitable and Medical)

SUBTRACTIONS:
 Interest Income from US Obligations
 Capital Gains Exclusion
 Adjustment for Prior Year’s Bonus Depreciation

Vermont Taxable Income

Tax calculation
Credits
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Table 3:  Standard Deduction by State (Tax Year 2015) 

 
State % of AGI   Single   Married-J   Married-S Head of Household 
 

Alabama  $2,500-$2,000 $7,500-$4,000 $3,750-$2,000 $4,700-$2,000 

Arizona  $5,091 $10,173 $5,091 $10,173 

Arkansas  $2,200 $4,400 $2,200 $2,200  

California  $4,044 $8,088 $4,044 $8,088 

Colorado  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

 

Connecticut  $14,500 - $0 $24,000 - $0 $12,000 - $0 $19,000 - $0 

Delaware  $3,250 $6,500 $3,250 $3,250 

District of Columbia  $5,200 $8,350 $5,200 $6,500 

Georgia  $2,300 $3,000 $1,500 $2,300 

Hawaii  $2,200 $4,400 $2,200 $3,212 

Idaho  Federal Federal  Federal Federal 

Illinois  None None None None 

Indiana  None None None None 

Iowa  $1,950 $4,810 $1,950 $4,810 

Kansas  $3,000 $7,500 $3,750 $5,500 

 

Kentucky  $2,440 $2,440 $2,440 $2,440 

Louisiana*  $4,500 $9,000 $4,500 $9,000 

Maine  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Maryland 15% $1,500-$2,000 $3,000-$4,000 $1,500-$2,000 $3,000-$4,000 

Massachusetts  None None None None 

Michigan  None None None None 

Minnesota  Federal Federal Federal  Federal 

Mississippi  $2,300 $4,600 $2,300 $3,400 

Missouri  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Montana 20% $1,940 - $4,370  $3,880 - $8,740  $1,940 - $4,370 $3,880 - $8,740 

Nebraska  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

New Hampshire  None None None None 

New Jersey  None None None None 

New Mexico  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

New York  $7,900 $15,850 $7,900 $11,100 

 

North Carolina  $7,500 $15,000 $7,500 $12,000 

North Dakota  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Ohio  None None None None 

Oklahoma  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Oregon  $2,145 $4,295 $2,145 $3,455 

Pennsylvania  None None None None 

Rhode Island  $8,275 - $0 $16,550 - $0 $8,275 - $0 $12,400 - $0 

South Carolina  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Tennessee  None None None None 

Utah  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Vermont  Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Virginia  $3,000 $6,000 $3,000 $3,000 

West Virginia  None None None None 

Wisconsin  $10,250 - $0 $18,460 - $0 $8,770 - $0 $13,240 - $0 
 
 

*These amounts represent the combined standard deduction and personal exemptions (excluding additional exemptions for dependents, 

elderly, and blind individuals), which are built into the tax tables. 
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Table 4:  Personal Exemptions/Credits by State (Tax Year 2015) 
 

         Blind--B 

 Exemption/     Head of   Handicapped Deaf--D 

State   Credit   Single Married-J Married-S Household Elderly Dependent Dependent Disabled--DS 
 

Alabama Exemption $1,500 $3,000 $1,500 $3,000 $-0- $300-$1,000 $-0-  $-0- 

Arizona Exemption 2,100 4,200 2,100 4,200/3,150 2,100 2,300  -0- B   1,500 

Arkansas Credit 26 52 26 52 26 26 500 B,D   26 

California Credit 109 218 109 109 109 337  -0- B   109 

Colorado Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 
 

Connecticut Credit 0-75% 0-75% 0-75% 0-75% -0-  -0-  -0-   -0- 

Delaware Credit 110 220 110 110 110 110  -0-   -0- 

Dist. of Columbiaa Exemption 1,775 3,550 1,775 3,550 1,775 1,775  -0- B   1,775 

Georgia Exemption 2,700 7,400 3,700 2,700  -0- 3,000  -0-  -0- 

Hawaiia Exemption 1,144 2,288 1,144 1,144 1,144 1,144  -0- B,D,DS 7,000 
 

Idaho Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Illinois Exemption 2,150 4,300 2,150 2,150 1,000 2,150  -0- B   1,000 

Indiana Exemption 1,000 2,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,500  -0- B   1,000 

Iowa Credit 40 80 40 80 20 40  -0- B   20 

Kansas Exemption 2,250 4,500 2,250 4,500  -0- 2,250  -0-  -0- 
 

Kentucky Credit 10 20 10 10  40 10  -0- B   40 

Louisiana Exemption 1,000b 2,000b 1,000b 1,000b 1,000 1,000  -0- B   1,000 

Maine Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Maryland Exemption 3,200 6,400 3,200 6,400 1,000 3,200  -0- B   1,000 

Massachusetts Exemption 4,400 8,800 4,400 6,800 700 1,000  -0- B   2,200 
 

Michigan Exemption 4,000 8,000 4,000 4,000 -0- 4,000  -0- B,D,DS 2,600 

Minnesotaa Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Mississippi Exemption 6,000 12,000 6,000 8,000 1,500 1,500  -0- B   1,500 

Missouri Exemption 2,100 4,200 2,100 3,500  -0- 2,200/1,200  -0-  -0- 

Montana Exemption 2,330 4,660 2,330 2,330 2,330 2,330 2,330 B   2,330 
 

Nebraska Credit 130 260 130 130  -0- 130  -0-  -0- 

New Hampshire Exemption 2,400 4,800 2,400 2,400 1,200  -0-  -0- B, DS  1,200 

New Jersey Exemption 1,000 2,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,500/1,000  -0- B, DS  1,000 

New Mexicoc Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

New York Exemption  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0- 1,000  -0-   -0- 
 

North Carolina None  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0- 

North Dakota Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Ohio Exemption 1,700-2,200 1,700-2,200 1,700-2,200 1,700-2,200 -0- 1,700-2,200 -0-   -0- 

Oklahoma Exemption 1,000 2,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000  -0- B   1,000 

Oregona Credit 194 388 194 194  -0- 194 194 DS  194 
 

Pennsylvania None  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0-  -0- 

Rhode Islanda Exemption $3,850 $7,700 $3,850 $3,850 -0- $3,850 -0-  -0- 

South Carolinad Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Tennessee Exemption 1,250 2,500 1,250 1,250 -0-  -0-  -0- B, DS  Exempt 

Utahe Exemption/Cr 3,000 6,000 3,000 3,000  -0- 3,000 3,000  -0- 
 

Vermont Exemption Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal Federal 

Virginia Exemption 930 1,860 930 930 800 930  -0- B   800 

West Virginia Exemption 2,000 4,000 2,000 2,000  -0- 2,000  -0-  -0- 

Wisconsin Exemption 700 1,400 700 700 250 700  -0-   -0-  
 

 

 

a  Based on state income thresholds, the exemption is phased out at higher incomes or eliminated in the case of Oregon's tax credit. 
b  These personal exemption amounts are included in the combined standard deduction/personal exemption figures shown in Table 3.  
c   An additional exemption of up to $2,500 is provided for each federal exemption claimed by low- and middle-income taxpayers, subject to phase-out.  
d  Exemptions are not subject to high-income phase-out, and an additional exemption of $4,000 is allowed for each child under 6 years of age. 
e  The credit equals the sum of exemptions and deductions multiplied by 6%, subject to phase-out based on income. 

 


