(Draft No. 1.2 – H.144) 2/23/2017 - MCH - 12:01 PM

1	TO THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:
2	The Committee on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife to which was
3	referred House Bill No. 144 entitled "An act relating to the membership of the
4	Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel" respectfully reports that it
5	has considered the same and recommends that the bill be amended by striking
6	out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
7	Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. § 1700 is amended to read:
8	§ 1700. CREATION; MEMBERSHIP; OFFICERS; QUORUM
9	(a) There is created a Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel
10	which shall consist of the following:
11	(1) The Secretary of Human Services, ex officio, or designee.
12	(2) The Secretary of Natural Resources, ex officio, or designee.
13	(3) The Commissioner of Public Service, ex officio, or designee.
14	(4) The Secretary of Commerce and Community Development, ex
15	officio, or designee.
16	(5) <u>The member of the House of Representatives representing the Town</u>
17	of Vernon.
18	(6) One member of the House Committee on Natural Resources and
19	Energy of Representatives from Windham County, other than the House
20	member representing the Town of Vernon, chosen by the Speaker of the
21	House.

(Draft No. 1.2 – H.144) 2/23/2017 - MCH - 12:01 PM

1	(6)(7) One member of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and
2	Energy from Windham County, chosen by the Committee on Committees.
3	(7)(8) One representative of the Windham Regional Commission or
4	designee, selected by the Regional Commission.
5	(8)(9) One representative of the Town of Vernon or designee, selected
6	by the legislative body of that town.
7	(9)(10) Six members of the public, two each selected by the Governor,
8	the Speaker of the House, and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Under
9	this subdivision, each appointing authority initially shall appoint a member for
10	a three-year term and a member for a four-year term. Subsequent
11	appointments under this subdivision shall be for terms of four years.
12	(10)(11) Two representatives of the owners of the Vermont Yankee
13	Nuclear Power Station (VYNPS or Station) selected by the owner of the
14	Station.
15	(11)(12) A representative of the International Brotherhood of Electric
16	Workers (IBEW) selected by the IBEW who shall be a present or former
17	employee at the VYNPS.
18	(12)(13) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of
19	Chesterfield, Hinsdale, Richmond, Swanzey, and Winchester, New Hampshire,
20	when selected by the Governor of New Hampshire at the invitation of the
21	Commissioner of Public Service.

(Draft No. 1.2 – H.144) 2/23/2017 - MCH - 12:01 PM

1	(13)(14) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of
2	Bernardston, Colrain, Gill, Greenfield, Leyden, Northfield, and Warwick,
3	Massachusetts, when selected by the Governor of Massachusetts at the
4	invitation of the Commissioner of Public Service.
5	* * *
6	Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE
7	This act shall take effect on passage.
8	
9	(Committee vote:)
10	
11	Representative

FOR THE COMMITTEE

Page 3 of 3