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Vermont’s Approach
33 V.S.A . §4912

* "Person responsible for a child's welfare" includes the child's parent,
guardian, foster parent, any other adult residing in the child's home who
serves in a parental role, an employee of a public or private residential
home, institution, or agency, or other person responsible for the child's
welfare while in a residential, educational, or child care setting, including
any staff person.

» "Sexual abuse" consists of any act or acts by any person involving sexual
molestation or exploitation of a child, including.....

e Addition of “luring” to sexual abuse definition in 2015

Because of these definitions, mandated reporters are required to report a
broader universe of cases involving suspected sexual abuse to DCF than is the
norm in other states



Vermont’s Approach

33 V.S.A . §4911

Changes in law in 2015:

* New language - “Any mandated reporter who reasonably suspects
abuse or neglect of a child shall report in accordance with provisions
of section 4914 of this title within 24 hours of the time information
regarding suspected abuse or neglect was first received or observed”

» “Reasonably suspects” replaced “reasonable cause to believe”

 Removed language that would allow mandated reporter to “cause a
report to be made” by telling another mandated reporter about the
abuse and expect that person to report on their behalf

e These changes adjusted the threshold for reporting in a way that
encouraged reporting



Vermont’s Approach

* All allegations that meet the definition of sexual
abuse that are perpetrated by an adult are assigned
to an investigation by DCF Family Services

 All of these allegations are reported to law
enforcement and jointly investigated

 Allegations involving school personnel are also
routinely shared with Agency of Education so that
concurrent licensing and/or regulatory response(s)
can occur



Vermont’s Approach

* DCF Family Services has a specialized unit that
responds to allegations of abuse by teachers (as
well as foster parents, residential treatment

program staff and others entrusted to care for a
child)

* This creates distance from local relationships that
may impact the quality/consistency of
Investigations

* Creates opportunity for more controlled, consistent
information sharing with Agency of Education



Vermont’s Approach

e DCF Family Services responds to allegation of abuse specific
to children under the age of 18.

e However, DCF Family Services will respond to allegations
even if a youth is over 18 if there is information to suggest
that other children may be at risk based on the alleged
perpetrator’s prior conduct.

e Example — 30 year old woman discloses sexual abuse by
senior high school math teacher. DCF Family Services would
accept this case if the teacher was still employed and
working with children. Case would be referred to law
enforcement and Agency of Education.



Vermont’s Approach

e Outcome of a DCF child sexual abuse investigation
may be a substantiation of the allegation

e If substantiated, following due process the
perpetrator’s name would be entered on the Child
Protection Registry

* Employers who are hiring staff to work with
vulnerable populations can, with permission from
the applicant, query the registry to determine if
they have prior substantiated cases of child abuse
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