Sent: Thursday, February 22, 2018 8:06 PM

To: Maxine Grad < Mgrad@leg.state.vt.us >; Ed Read < ERead@leg.state.vt.us >

Subject: Thoughts on Reducing School Shootings

Governor Scott,

Representatives Grad and Read:

The shootings in Florida are a parents worse nightmare.

We numbly sit and watch these shootings time after time and wonder what is wrong with our US Congress that does not take ANY action to stop future attacks on adults and children.

I don't have any faith in the US Congress addressing the issue of public safety, other than maybe banning bump-stocks for guns.

At the Vermont level we may be able to accomplish a policy which compares the AR-15 to another the instrument of carnage, the automobile, and make some comparisons.

Both have age requirements.

We could make the age to purchase a firearm the same as the voting age.

That would make a more mature individual able to purchase a firearm than someone who is still in high school.

Both require test.

I'm not sure if there is a test for purchasing a firearm, but we could make a safety course a requirement. And for a AR-15 we could require three people sign a notarized form that states the purchaser is of sound mind.

The automobile has a registration fee.

Since there may be many AR-15 rifles in the state there should be a 3 month period to register this firearm. The registration fee could be \$100 and would require all the information that is on an automobile registration.

The serial number would be used in place of the VIN and there would be a picture ID, like the drivers license, issued to the owner.

After the initial registration period any AR-15's found in a person's possession would result in confiscation of the firearm until a fine \$5,000 or six months in jail has been served.

There should be an annual registration of \$25

Data Base

Like the motor vehicle date base the state would maintain a data base of these firearms.

Sellers of AR-15's

Selling AR-15's would be allowed by a licensed seller but there would be a fee of \$5,000 associated with each new sale. The buyer require three people sign a notarized form that states the purchaser is of sound mind.

If a registered holder of an AR-15 would like to sell their firearm they could sell to one of the registered dealers.

While these suggestions may not be enacted in whole or in part they should be part of a discussion on how things could be done to reduce the possibility a similar tragedy here in Vermont.

Thanks for taking time to read these suggestion.

Respectfully,

Russ Bowen 488 Farm Rd Fayston, Vt 05673