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Individual Mandate Penalty

The individual shared responsibility penalty (a.k.a. the
“individual mandate” penalty) was eliminated as part of the
Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017.

o Effective 2019

o Note: individual mandate language still exists, just
without a penalty.



Individual Mandate Penalty

Potential Impacts:

* Although not effective until 2019, there will likely be
confusion and a likelihood that many people will drop or
not renew their coverage in 2018.

— Not yet known how rigorously the IRS will enforce the
penalty in 2018

* This will affect health insurance markets, hospital budgets,
and the health care system as a whole.



CBO & JTC Estimates

e According to estimates from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) and
the staff of the Joint Committee on Taxation (JTC):

— The number of people without health insurance will decrease nationwide by
4 million in 2018 and 13 million by 2027

— This will reduce the federal deficit by

5338 billion between 2018 and 2027
Mostly from reductions in federal spending on subsidies and Medicaid

— Average premiums in the non-group market would increase by
Approx. 10% in most years over the next decade

* Assumes impacts are mainly due to healthy people being less likely to
obtain insurance, and because the resulting premium increases would

cause more people to not purchase insurance (especially in the non-
group market).



Penalty (until end of 2018)

The Individual Mandate Penalty is calculated as the greater of either:
* A percentage of applicable income, or

* Avyearly flat dollar amount assessed on each taxpayer (and
dependents)
— All of whom were without coverage for the entire year
— The penalty for children is 7 the adult penalty
— Limited to 3 times the flat dollar amount

— Example: $695 x 3 = 52,085 maximum per family

Annual Individual Mandate Penalty

Percentage of Applicable

Year Income Flat Dollar Amount
2014 1.0% $95

2015 2.0% $325

2016 2.5% $695

2017 and Beyond 2.5% $695 adjusted for inflation?

Source: Internal Revenue Code (IRC) §5000A.

 There are several exemptions including religious conscience, hardship,
health care ministry, incarceration, Native American Status, etc.



Penalty in Vermont

e According to the Congressional Research Service (CRS),
Vermonters paid $3.4 million and $6.1 million in penalties for
tax year 2014 and 2015, respectively.

Percentage of Total Amount
Retruns with of Reported

Tax Year Reported Penalties
Penalties {in millions)
2014 4.8% 53.4
2015 3.9% 56.1

Source: Congressional Research Service using IRS Data.
https://fa=.org/sgpfors/misc/R44438. pdf

e Data for 2016 are not available.



Penalty in Vermont

12,890 Vermont returns reported penalties in tax year 2015.

 76% of the returns and penalties were paid by households with gross
adjusted incomes between $10,000 and $75,000.

e 40% with AGI between $25,000 and $50,000

Individual Mandate Penalty by Income, Tax Year 2015

Number of Penalty
Gross Adjusted Returns with Amount Paid
Income Reported Penalty % (in thousands) %
Under $10,000 40 0.3% S9 0.1%
$10,000 to $24,999 4,080 31.7% $1,087 17.8%
525,000 to $49,999 6,020  46.7% 52,386  39.1%
S50,000 to $74,999 1,750 13.6% 51,191 195%
$75,000 to $99,999 550 4.3% 5560 9.2%
$100,000 to $199,99¢ 370 2.9% S618  10.1%
Over $200,000 80 0.6% 5253 4.1%
12,890 $6,104

Source: IRS Data www.irs.gov/pub/irs-soi/15in46vt.xlsx




Other States

e Massachusetts

Currently the only state with an individual mandate law on the books.
Individual mandate passed in 2006. Remained in law after ACA enacted.
Policy makers considering if/how to change law for 20109.

See last slide for penalty details.

 Maryland (proposed legislation)

Established a commission to review options.

Sets fee similar to ACA.

State would actively help people get insurance.

Auto-enroll people who have no cost coverage available to them.

Would give people the option to apply penalty towards health insurance.

» State would hold their penalty in an escrow/escrow-like account until next enrollment
period.

* Filers would have to opt out of this, affirmatively choosing to pay their fine to the
state and NOT get coverage.

Details are subject to change.

Bill introduced by committee chairs in both chambers. Governor’s position
unclear at this time.



Other States

Other states known to actively be considering an individual
mandate include:

— CT, DC, RI, CA, WA
— Consistent with State that have state-based exchanges.
— Nothing has passed yet (that we know of) so details are fluid.

— Strategies considered have included:
e Auto-enrollments
* Continuous coverage requirements

* Reinsurance to bring costs down and make premiums more
affordable.

* Incentivize people, particular younger and healthier, to
buy/maintain insurance.



Reference:
Massachusetts Mandate Penalty Detail

 Massachusetts Penalty:
— Individuals up to 150% FPL = not subject to penalty since they have no
premium for Connector Care health insurance.
— 150.1% to 300% FPL = half the lowest price Connect Care premium individual
would pay at their income level
— >300% FPL = age specific:
* Ages 18-30 = half the lowest price catastrophic plan offered through
Health Connector.
* Ages 31 and above = half the lowest price bronze plan based on Health

Connector.
Individual
| 150.1-200% 200.1-250% 250.1-300% Above 300% FPL Above 300% FPL
ncome
- +
Category* FPL FPL FPL Age 18-30 Age 31
p It $20/month $£39/month $59/month $60/month $91/month
ena
y $240/year $468/year $708/year $720/year $1.092/year

* People facing mandate violation penalties pay the federal penalty
first. If the state penalty is greater they pay the state the
remainder.



