1	TO THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:
2	The Committee on Government Operations to which was referred House
3	Bill No. 716 entitled "An act relating to approval of the adoption of the charter
4	of the Edward Farrar Utility District and the merger of the Village of
5	Waterbury into the District" respectfully reports that it has considered the same
6	and recommends that the bill be amended in Sec. 3, 24 App. V.S.A. chapter
7	705, by striking Sec. 3 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof a new Sec. 3
8	to read:
9	Sec. 3. 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 705 is added to read:
10	CHAPTER 705. EDWARD FARRAR UTILITY DISTRICT
11	§ 1. ESTABLISHMENT
12	There is hereby established a body politic and corporate known as the
13	Edward Farrar Utility District (District) whose inhabitants shall be those of the
14	Village of Waterbury.
15	§ 2. PURPOSE
16	The District is established for the purpose of providing water and sewer
17	services as provided by 24 V.S.A. chapters 89 (waterworks), 97 (sewage
18	system), and 101 (sewage disposal system); and holding, maintaining, and
19	
	administering any property, assets, and liabilities that it shall acquire from the

1	§ 3. BOUNDARIES
2	The boundaries of the District are coextensive with the current boundaries
3	of the Village of Waterbury.
4	§ 4. VOTERS; GRAND LIST
5	(a) Voters. The checklist of legal voters of the Town of Waterbury residing
6	within the District shall be the checklist of legal voters of the District.
7	(b) Grand list. The grand list of the District shall be the grand list of the
8	Town of Waterbury property within the District.
9	§ 5. BOARD OF UTILITY COMMISSIONERS
10	(a) The legislative body of the District shall be the Board of Utility
11	Commissioners consisting of five persons.
12	(b) Commissioners shall be elected by Australian ballot from among the
13	legal voters of the District.
14	(c) Commissioners' terms shall be staggered and commence upon election,
15	and the length of Commissioners' terms shall be as follows:
16	(1) three Commissioners shall serve a term of three years; and
17	(2) two Commissioners shall serve a term of one year.
18	§ 6. POWERS
19	(a) The District shall have the power and authority to:
20	(1) own, operate, maintain, improve, and extend:

1	(A) public water supply systems as provided by 24 V.S.A.
2	chapter 89; and
3	(B) sewerage collection, treatment, and disposal systems as provided
4	by 24 V.S.A. chapters 97 and 101;
5	(2) establish rates, charges, and fees for water service pursuant to
6	24 V.S.A. chapter 89, and for sewer service pursuant to 24 V.S.A. chapters 97
7	and 101.
8	(3) levy taxes upon its grand list and impose such assessments as
9	allowed by law for any purpose for which it is authorized under this charter;
10	(4) hold, manage, purchase, and sell real estate, deposits, accounts,
11	contract rights, investments, reserve funds, loan funds, and loan programs as it
12	shall acquire from the Village of Waterbury or may otherwise acquire; and
13	(5) incur debt in the manner provided by general law for the purposes
14	authorized under this charter.
15	(b) Extraterritorial water and sewer service may be provided under such
16	terms as the Board of Utility Commissioners deems advisable.
17	§ 7. DISTRICT OFFICERS
18	(a) At the discretion of the Board of Utility Commissioners, the District
19	may engage and employ a manager and such additional personnel as it deems
20	necessary.

1	(b) The Board of Utility Commissioners shall appoint a district clerk and
2	district treasurer, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Board.
3	§ 8. ANNUAL MEETING
4	(a) Until changed in the manner provided by general law, the annual
5	meeting of the District shall be held on the second Wednesday of May,
6	commencing on May 8, 2019. The annual and special meetings shall be
7	warned in the same manner as for annual and special town meetings.
8	(b) Unless provided for otherwise by vote of the District, the general laws
9	of the State shall control in all matters relating to the call, notice, and conduct
10	of annual and special District meetings.
11	(c) The Board of Civil Authority shall be the Board of Utility
12	Commissioners, the District Clerk, and the Town of Waterbury justices of the
13	peace residing within the District, all of whom shall constitute election
14	officials for all District purposes.
15	
16	
17	(Committee vote:)
18	
19	Representative
20	FOR THE COMMITTEE