1	H.731
2	Representative Marcotte of Coventry moves that the bill be amended by
3	striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the
4	following:
5	Sec. 1. 21 V.S.A. § 625 is amended to read:
6	* * * Misclassification of Employees * * *
7	625. CONTRACTING OUT FORBIDDEN; PROHIBITED ACTS;
8	PENALTIES
9	(a) An employer shall not be relieved in whole or in part from liability
10	created by the provisions of this chapter by any contract, rule, regulation, or
11	device whatsoever.
12	(b) A person who, for the purpose of avoiding its obligations under this
13	chapter, provides an individual who is or will be performing services for the
14	person with substantial and material assistance related to the establishment of
15	an independent business, including the registration of an unincorporated
16	business with the Vermont Secretary of State, the establishment of a
17	corporation or L.L.C., or the acquisition of a federal Employer Identification
18	Number, may, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, be assessed an
19	administrative penalty of not more than \$5,000.00. As used in this subsection,
20	"substantial and material assistance" does not include:

1	(1) inquiring about whether an unincorporated business, corporation, or
2	L.L.C. is actively registered with the Secretary of State;
3	(2) inquiring about whether an individual operates an unincorporated
4	business, corporation, or L.L.C.; or
5	(3) referring an individual to a State agency, department, or website
6	related to the registration or establishment of an unincorporated business,
7	corporation, or L.L.C.
8	Sec. 2. 21 V.S.A. § 1369 is amended to read:
9	§ 1369. FALSE STATEMENTS TO AVOID UNEMPLOYMENT
10	PROGRAM OBLIGATIONS
11	(a) A person who willfully makes a material false statement or
12	representation to avoid becoming or remaining subject to this chapter, or to
13	avoid or reduce a contribution or other payment required of an employer under
14	this chapter for either herself or himself or for any other person, after notice
15	and opportunity for hearing, may be assessed an administrative penalty of not
16	more than \$5,000.00.
17	(b) An employing unit or employer who, for the purpose of avoiding its
18	obligations under this chapter, provides an individual who is or will be
19	performing services for the employing unit or employer with substantial and
20	material assistance related to the establishment of an independent business,
21	including the registration of an unincorporated business with the Vermont

1	Secretary of State, the establishment of a corporation or L.L.C., or the
2	acquisition of a federal Employer Identification Number, may, after notice and
3	an opportunity for a hearing, be assessed an administrative penalty of not more
4	than \$5,000.00. As used in this subsection, "substantial and material
5	assistance" does not include:
6	(1) inquiring about whether an unincorporated business, corporation, or
7	L.L.C. is actively registered with the Secretary of State;
8	(2) inquiring about whether an individual operates an unincorporated
9	business, corporation, or L.L.C.; or
10	(3) referring an individual to a State agency, department, or website
11	related to the registration or establishment of an unincorporated business,
12	corporation, or L.L.C.
13	* * * Workers' Compensation Administration Fund * * *
14	Sec. 3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION RATE OF CONTRIBUTION
15	For fiscal year 2019, after consideration of the formula in 21 V.S.A.
16	§ 711(b) and historical rate trends, the General Assembly has established that
17	the rate of contribution for the direct calendar year premium for workers'
18	compensation insurance shall remain at the rate of 1.4 percent. The
19	contribution rate for self-insured workers' compensation losses and workers'
20	compensation losses of corporations approved under 21 V.S.A. chapter 9 shall
21	remain at one percent.

1	* * * Discontinuance of Workers' Compensation Benefits * * *
2	Sec. 4. 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 199, Sec. 54a is amended to read:
3	Sec. 54a. REPEAL
4	21 V.S.A. § 643a shall be repealed on July 1, 2018 2023.
5	Sec. 5. 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 199, Sec. 69 is amended to read:
6	Sec. 69. EFFECTIVE DATES
7	* * *
8	(b) Sec. 54b (reinstatement of current law governing discontinuance of
9	workers' compensation insurance benefits) shall take effect on July 1, 2018
10	<u>2023</u> .
11	* * *
12	* * * Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Act * * *
13	Sec. 6. 21 V.S.A. § 225 is amended to read:
14	§ 225. CITATIONS
15	(a)(1) If, upon inspection or investigation, the Commissioner or the
16	Director, or the agent of either of them, finds that an employer has violated a
17	requirement of the VOSHA Code, the Commissioner shall with reasonable
18	promptness issue a citation to the employer and serve it on the employer by
19	certified mail or in the same manner as a summons to the Superior Court.
20	Each citation shall be in writing and shall describe with particularity the nature
21	of the violation, including a reference to the provisions of the statute, standard,

Page 4 of 8

1	rule, or order alleged to have been violated, as well as the penalty, if any,
2	proposed to be assessed pursuant to section 210 of this title. In addition, the
3	citation shall fix a reasonable time for the abatement of the violation.
4	(2) By rule, the Commissioner shall prescribe adopt procedures for
5	issuance of a notice in lieu of a citation with respect to de minimus minimis
6	violations which that have no direct or immediate relationship to safety or
7	health, and for hearing interested parties before a civil penalty is assessed.
8	(b) Each citation issued under this section, or a copy or copies thereof \underline{of}
9	the citation, shall be prominently posted, as prescribed in rules promulgated
10	adopted by the Commissioner, at or near each place a violation referred to in
11	the citation occurred or existed.
12	* * *
12 13	* * * Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read:
13	Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read:
13 14	Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read: § 226. ENFORCEMENT
13 14 15	 Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read: § 226. ENFORCEMENT (a)(1) After issuing a citation under section 225 of this title, the
13 14 15 16	 Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read: § 226. ENFORCEMENT (a)(1) After issuing a citation under section 225 of this title, the Commissioner shall notify the employer by certified mail or by service by an
13 14 15 16 17	 Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read: § 226. ENFORCEMENT (a)(1) After issuing a citation under section 225 of this title, the Commissioner shall notify the employer by certified mail or by service by an agent, of the penalty, if any, proposed to be assessed under section 210 of this
 13 14 15 16 17 18 	 Sec. 7. 21 V.S.A. § 226 is amended to read: § 226. ENFORCEMENT (a)(1) After issuing a citation under section 225 of this title, the Commissioner shall notify the employer by certified mail or by service by an agent, of the penalty, if any, proposed to be assessed under section 210 of this title. The <u>An</u> employer shall have, within 20 days after personal service or

1	(2) If an employer does not notify the Commissioner as provided in this
2	subsection and an employee does not file a notice under subsection (c) of this
3	section, the citation and assessment penalty, as proposed, shall be deemed a
4	final order of the Review Board and not subject to review by any court or
5	agency.
6	(b)(1)(A) If the Commissioner on inspection or investigation finds that an
7	employer has failed to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued
8	within the period permitted for its correction (which period shall not begin to
9	run until the entry of a final order by the Review Board in the case of any
10	review proceedings under this section initiated by the employer in good faith
11	and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, or on the day the citation
12	and assessment becomes final under subsection (a) of this section), the
13	Commissioner shall notify the employer by certified mail of such the failure
14	and of the penalty proposed to be assessed under section 210 of this title by
15	reason of such the failure.
16	(B) The period to correct a violation shall begin to run:
17	(i) when a final order is entered by the Review Board in relation to
18	review proceedings under this section that are initiated by an employer in good
19	faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties; or
20	(ii) on the day the citation and penalty become final under
21	subsection (a) of this section.

1	(2) The employer shall have 20 days after the receipt of the notice
2	within which to notify the Commissioner that he or she wishes to appeal the
3	Commissioner's notification citation or the proposed assessment of penalty. If
4	within 20 days from the receipt of the notification issued by the Commissioner,
5	the employer fails to notify the Commissioner that he or she intends to appeal
6	the notification or proposed assessment of penalty, the notification <u>citation</u> and
7	assessment, as proposed, shall be deemed a final order of the Review Board
8	and not subject to review by any court or agency.
9	(c) If an employer notifies the Commissioner that he or she intends to
10	contest a citation issued under section 225 of this title or notification issued
11	under subsection (a) or (b) of this section, or if, within 20 days of after the
12	issuance of a citation issued under section 225 of this title, any employee or
13	representative of employees files a notice with the Commissioner alleging that
14	the period of time fixed in the citation for the abatement of the violation is
15	unreasonable, the Commissioner shall immediately advise the Review Board
16	of such the notification and the Review Board shall afford an opportunity for a
17	hearing. Unless the <u>a</u> notice is timely filed, the proposed penalty and, in
18	appropriate cases, the notification of the Commissioner citation shall be
19	deemed a final order of the Review Board not subject to review by any court or
20	agency.

1	(d) After hearing an appeal, the Review Board shall thereafter issue an
2	order based on findings of fact affirming, modifying, or vacating that affirms,
3	modifies, or vacates the Commissioner's citation or proposed penalty, or both,
4	or directing provides other appropriate relief , and the. The order shall become
5	final 30 days after its issuance unless judicial review is timely taken under
6	section 227 of this title. The rules of procedure prescribed adopted by the
7	Review Board shall provide affected employees or their representatives with
8	an opportunity to participate as parties in hearings a hearing under this
9	subsection.
10	* * * Effective Date * * *
11	Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE
12	(a) This section and Secs. 4 and 5 shall take effect on passage.
13	(b) The remaining sections shall take effect on July 1, 2018.