State of Vermont House of Representatives



Montpelier, Vermont

Concurrent House Resolution

H.C.R. 284

House concurrent resolution congratulating the St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers on winning their fourth consecutive Division I girls' indoor track and field championship

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Lawrence of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, Quimby of Concord, and Toll of Danville

Offered by: Senators Kitchel and Benning

Whereas, the continuing athletic excellence of the St. Johnsbury Academy Division I girls' indoor track and field team garnered the Hilltoppers the Division I crown in 2015, 2016, and 2017, and

Whereas, the same drive and highly developed skills predominated the team's preparations for the 2018 Division I championship meet held at the University of Vermont, and

Whereas, the Hilltoppers met every expectation, scoring first in the 55-meter dash, the 55-meter hurdles, the 300-meter dash, the 1,000-meter run, the pole vault, the weight throw, the long jump, and the 200-, 400-, and 800-meter relay races, tallying 126 more points than second-place Essex High School, and winning a fourth consecutive Division I championship, and

Whereas, these talented Hilltoppers were Katherine Cowan, Annie Cunningham, Bridget Webber, Hannah Wescott, Siniah Yates-Moses, Callahan Beck, Natalie Cartwright, Danielle Chesborough, Breanna Fearon, Rebecca Green, Nora Heffernan, Riley Higgs, Zekiah Lewis, Katie Neuharth, Lia Rotti, Jen Rotti, Rory Young, Sadie Chapman, Lilly Leach, Isabella Bostic, Molly Brennan, Charlotte Flanders, and Sierra Shippee, and

Whereas, Head Coach Chip Langmaid, assistant coaches Stephen Badgley, Andra Hibbert, and Michael Zahner, and volunteer coaches Brandon Legendre and Felisha Olmstead comprise an outstanding group of instructors and mentors, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers on winning their fourth consecutive Division I girls' indoor track and field championship, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.