House Calendar

Thursday, May 11, 2017

128th DAY OF THE BIENNIAL SESSION

House Convenes at 9:30 A.M.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page No.

ACTION CALENDAR

Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 3, 2017 Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 167 Alternative approaches to addressing low-level illicit drug use	3267
Rep. Turner Amendment	3310
Rep. Turner Amendment	.3311

Unfinished Business of Monday, May 8, 2017 Favorable with Amendment

S. 122 An act relating to increased flexibility for school district mergers	3312
Rep. Sharpe for Education	
Rep. Ancel for Ways and Means	3323
Rep. Juskiewicz for Appropriations	3323

Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 10 2017 Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 29 Permitting Medicare supplemental plans to offer expense discounts3323

NOTICE CALENDAR

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 143 Automobile insurance requirements and transportation network	
companies	8

Committee of Conference Report

S. 34 An act relating to cross-promoting development incentives and State	
policy goals	37

Ordered to Lie

ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR

Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 167

An act relating to alternative approaches to addressing low-level illicit drug use

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Misdemeanor Possession of Drugs Study * * *

Sec. 1. MISDEMEANOR POSSESSION OF DRUGS; PRETRIAL SERVICES

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly to encourage persons cited or arrested for a misdemeanor drug possession charge to engage with pretrial services, and, if appropriate, enter treatment, and that, in turn, a person who complies with such conditions will be eligible for dismissal of the charge.

(b) The Attorney General, the Defender General, and the Executive Director of the Department of State's Attorneys and Sheriffs shall work collaboratively to develop a specific legislative proposal to accomplish this intent with an implementation date of July 1, 2018 and report to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary and on Appropriations, the Senate Committee on Health and Welfare, and the House Committee on Human Services on or before November 1, 2017.

* * * Findings * * *

Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT

The General Assembly finds the following:

(1) According to a 2014 study commissioned by the administration and conducted by the RAND Corporation, marijuana is commonly used in Vermont with an estimated 80,000 residents having used marijuana in the last month.

(2) For over 75 years, Vermont has debated the issue of marijuana regulation and amended its marijuana laws numerous times in an effort to protect public health and safety. Criminal penalties for possession rose in the 1940s and 50s to include harsh mandatory minimums, dropped in the 1960s and 70s, rose again in the 1980s and 90s, and dropped again in the 2000s. A

study published in the American Journal of Public Health found that no evidence supports the claim that criminalization reduces marijuana use.

(3) Vermont seeks to take a new comprehensive approach to marijuana use and abuse that incorporates prevention, education, regulation, treatment, and law enforcement which results in a net reduction in public harm and an overall improvement in public safety. Responsible use of marijuana by adults 21 years of age or older should be treated the same as responsible use of alcohol, the abuse of either treated as a public health matter, and irresponsible use of either that causes harm to others sanctioned with penalties.

(4) Policymakers recognize legitimate federal concerns about marijuana reform and seek through this legislation to provide better control of access and distribution of marijuana in a manner that prevents:

(A) distribution of marijuana to persons under 21 years of age;

(B) revenue from the sale of marijuana going to criminal enterprises;

(C) diversion of marijuana to states that do not permit possession of marijuana;

(D) State-authorized marijuana activity from being used as a cover or pretext for the trafficking of other illegal drugs or activity;

(E) violence and the use of firearms in the cultivation and distribution of marijuana;

(F) drugged driving and the exacerbation of any other adverse public health consequences of marijuana use;

(G) growing of marijuana on public lands and the attendant public safety and environmental dangers posed by marijuana production on public lands; and

(H) possession or use of marijuana on federal property.

(5) Revenue generated by this act shall be used to provide for the implementation, administration, and enforcement of this chapter and to provide additional funding for State efforts on the prevention of substance abuse, treatment of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts to combat the illegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in this subdivision, "criminal justice efforts" shall include efforts by both State and local criminal justice agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors, public defenders, and the courts.

* * * Prevention * * *

Sec. 3. MARIJUANA YOUTH EDUCATION AND PREVENTION

(a)(1) Relying on lessons learned from tobacco and alcohol prevention efforts, the Department of Health, in collaboration with the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets, the Agency of Education, and the Governor's Highway Safety Program, shall develop and administer an education and prevention program focused on use of marijuana by youth under 25 years of age. In so doing, the Department shall consider at least the following:

(A) Community- and school-based youth and family-focused prevention initiatives that strive to:

(i) expand the number of school-based grants for substance abuse services to enable each Supervisory Union to develop and implement a plan for comprehensive substance abuse prevention education in a flexible manner that ensures the needs of individual communities are addressed;

(ii) improve the Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) practice model for professionals serving youth in schools and other settings; and

(iii) expand family education programs.

(B) An informational and counter-marketing campaign using a public website, printed materials, mass and social media, and advertisements for the purpose of preventing underage marijuana use.

(C) Education for parents and health care providers to encourage screening for substance use disorders and other related risks.

(D) Expansion of the use of SBIRT among the State's pediatric practices and school-based health centers.

(E) Strategies specific to youth who have been identified by the Youth Risk Behavior Survey as having an increased risk of substance abuse.

(2) On or before March 15, 2018, the Department shall adopt rules to implement the education and prevention program described in subsection (a) of this section and implement the program on or before September 15, 2018.

(b) The Department shall include questions in its biannual Youth Risk Behavior Survey to monitor the use of marijuana by youth in Vermont and to understand the source of marijuana used by this population.

(c) Any data collected by the Department on the use of marijuana by youth shall be maintained and organized in a manner that enables the pursuit of future longitudinal studies.

* * * Legal Possession; Civil and Criminal Penalties * * *

Sec. 4. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES

It is the intent of the General Assembly to eliminate all civil penalties for possession of one ounce or less of marijuana and a small number of marijuana plants for a person who is 21 years of age or older while retaining the current criminal penalties for possession of larger amounts of marijuana and criminal penalties for unauthorized dispensing or sale of marijuana. This act also retains the current civil and criminal penalties for possession of marijuana by a person under 21 years of age, which are the same as possession of alcohol by a person under 21 years of age.

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 4201(15) is amended to read:

(15)(A) "Marijuana" means any plant material of the genus licenses or any preparation, compound, or mixture thereof except:

(A) sterilized seeds of the plant;

(B) fiber produced from the stalks; or

(C) hemp or hemp products, as defined in 6 V.S.A. § 562 <u>all parts of</u> the plant Cannabis sativa L., except as provided by subdivision (B) of this subdivision (15), whether growing or harvested, and includes:

(i) the seeds of the plant;

(ii) the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and

(iii) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds, or resin.

(B) "Marijuana" does not include:

(i) the mature stalks of the plant and fiber produced from the stalks;

(ii) oil or cake made from the seeds of the plant;

(iii) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the mature stalks, fiber, oil, or cake; or

(iv) the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of germination.

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 4230 is amended to read:

§ 4230. MARIJUANA

(a) Possession and cultivation.

(1)(A) No person shall knowingly and unlawfully possess more than one ounce of marijuana or more than five grams of hashish or cultivate <u>more</u> <u>than two mature</u> marijuana <u>plants</u> or four immature marijuana <u>plants</u>. For a first offense under this subdivision (A), a person shall be provided the opportunity to participate in the Court Diversion Program unless the prosecutor states on the record why a referral to the Court Diversion Program would not serve the ends of justice. A person convicted of a first offense under this subdivision shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more than \$500.00, or both.

(B) A person convicted of a second or subsequent offense of knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than one ounce of marijuana or more than five grams of hashish or cultivating <u>more than two mature</u> marijuana <u>plants or four immature marijuana plants</u> shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$2,000.00, or both.

(C) Upon an adjudication of guilt for a first or second offense under this subdivision, the court may defer sentencing as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 7041 except that the court may in its discretion defer sentence without the filing of a presentence investigation report and except that sentence may be imposed at any time within two years from and after the date of entry of deferment. The court may, prior to sentencing, order that the defendant submit to a drug assessment screening which may be considered at sentencing in the same manner as a presentence report.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing two ounces of marijuana or 10 grams of hashish or knowingly and unlawfully cultivating more than three plants of four mature marijuana plants or eight immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than \$10,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing <u>more than</u> one pound or more of marijuana or <u>more than</u> 2.8 ounces or more of hashish or knowingly and unlawfully cultivating more than <u>10 plants of six mature</u> marijuana <u>plants or 12 immature marijuana plants</u> shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than <u>\$100,000.00</u> <u>\$10,000.00</u>, or both.

(4) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing <u>more than</u> 10 pounds or more of marijuana or <u>more than</u> one pound or more of hashish or knowingly and unlawfully cultivating more than 25 plants of <u>12 mature</u> marijuana <u>plants</u> or 24 immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than 15 years or fined not more than \$500,000.00, or both.

(5) If a court fails to provide the defendant with notice of collateral consequences in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 8005(b) and the defendant later at any time shows that the plea and conviction for a violation of this subsection may have or has had a negative consequence, the court, upon the defendant's motion, shall vacate the judgment and permit the defendant to withdraw the plea or admission and enter a plea of not guilty. Failure of the court to advise the defendant of a particular collateral consequence shall not support a motion

to vacate.

(6) The amounts of marijuana in this subsection shall not include marijuana cultivated, harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e of this title.

* * *

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 4230a is amended to read:

§ 4230a. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER; CIVIL VIOLATION

(a)(1) A person 21 years of age or older who knowingly and unlawfully possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or less of hashish commits a civil violation and shall be assessed a civil penalty as follows:

(1) not more than \$200.00 for a first offense;

(2) not more than \$300.00 for a second offense;

(3) not more than \$500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.

(b)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of age or older who possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or less of hashish and two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature marijuana plants or fewer or who possesses paraphernalia for marijuana use shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner by the State or any of its political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege under State law. The one-ounce limit of marijuana or five grams of hashish that may be possessed by a person 21 years of age or older shall not include marijuana cultivated, harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e of this title.

(2)(A) A violation of this section shall not result in the creation of a criminal history record of any kind A person shall not consume marijuana in a public place. "Public place" means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 or chapter 37 of this title or 16 V.S.A. § 140.

(B) A person who violates this subdivision (a)(2) shall be assessed a civil penalty as follows:

(i) not more than \$100.00 for a first offense;

(ii) not more than \$200.00 for a second offense; and

(iii) not more than \$500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.

(c)(1)(b) This section does not exempt any person from arrest or

prosecution for being under the influence of marijuana while operating a vehicle of any kind and shall not be construed to repeal or modify existing laws or policies concerning the operation of vehicles of any kind while under the influence of marijuana.

(2) This section is not intended to affect the search and seizure laws afforded to duly authorized law enforcement officers under the laws of this State. Marijuana is contraband pursuant to section 4242 of this title and subject to seizure and forfeiture unless possessed in compliance with chapter 86 of this title (therapeutic use of cannabis).

(3) This section shall not be construed to prohibit a municipality from regulating, prohibiting, or providing additional penalties for the use of marijuana in public places.

(d) If a person suspected of violating this section contests the presence of cannabinoids within 10 days of receiving a civil citation, the person may request that the State Crime Laboratory test the substance at the person's expense. If the substance tests negative for the presence of cannabinoids, the State shall reimburse the person at state expense.

(1) exempt a person from arrest, citation, or prosecution for being under the influence of marijuana while operating a vehicle of any kind or for consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(2) repeal or modify existing laws or policies concerning the operation of vehicles of any kind while under the influence of marijuana or for consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(3) limit the authority of primary and secondary schools to impose administrative penalties for the possession of marijuana on school property;

(4) prohibit a municipality from adopting a civil ordinance to provide additional penalties for consumption of marijuana in a public place;

(5) prohibit a landlord from banning possession or use of marijuana in a lease agreement; or

(6) allow an inmate of a correctional facility to possess or use marijuana or to limit the authority of law enforcement, the courts, the Department of Corrections, or the Parole Board to impose penalties on offenders who use marijuana in violation of a court order, conditions of furlough, parole, or rules of a correctional facility.

(e)(c)(1) A law enforcement officer is authorized to detain a person if:

(A) the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person has violated <u>subsection (b) of</u> this section; and

(B) the person refuses to identify himself or herself satisfactorily to the officer when requested by the officer.

(2) The person may be detained only until the person identifies himself or herself satisfactorily to the officer or is properly identified. If the officer is unable to obtain the identification information, the person shall forthwith be brought before a judge in the Criminal Division of the Superior Court for that purpose. A person who refuses to identify himself or herself to the Court on request shall immediately and without service of an order on the person be subject to civil contempt proceedings pursuant to 12 V.S.A. § 122.

(f)(d) Fifty percent of the civil penalties imposed by the Judicial Bureau for violations of this section shall be deposited in the Drug Task Force Special Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5, and available to the Department of Public Safety for the funding of law enforcement officers on the Drug Task Force, except for a \$12.50 administrative charge for each violation which shall be deposited in the Court Technology Special Fund, in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 7252. The remaining 50 percent shall be deposited in the Youth Substance Abuse Safety Program Special Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5, and available to the Court Diversion Program for funding of the Youth Substance Abuse Safety Program as required by section 4230b of this title.

(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to do any of the following:

(1) require an employer to permit or accommodate the use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or growing of marijuana in the workplace;

(2) prevent an employer from adopting a policy that prohibits the use of marijuana in the workplace;

(3) create a cause of action against an employer that discharges an employee for violating a policy that restricts or prohibits the use of marijuana by employees; or

(4) prevent an employer from prohibiting or otherwise regulating the use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or growing of marijuana on the employer's premises.

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 4230b is amended to read:

§ 4230b. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE; CIVIL VIOLATION

(a) Offense. A person under 21 years of age who knowingly and unlawfully possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or less of

hashish <u>or two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature marijuana</u> <u>plants or fewer</u> commits a civil violation and shall be referred to the Court Diversion Program for the purpose of enrollment in the Youth Substance Abuse Safety Program. A person who fails to complete the program successfully shall be subject to:

(1) a civil penalty of \$300.00 and suspension of the person's operator's license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 30 days, for a first offense; and

(2) a civil penalty of not more than \$600.00 and suspension of the person's operator's license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 90 days, for a second or subsequent offense.

* * *

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 4230e is added to read:

<u>§ 4230e. CULTIVATION OF MARIJUANA BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER</u>

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of age or older who cultivates no more than two mature marijuana plants and four immature marijuana plants shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner by the State or any of its political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege under State law.

(2) Each dwelling unit shall be limited to two mature marijuana plants and four immature marijuana plants regardless of how many persons 21 years of age or older reside in the dwelling unit. As used in this section, "dwelling unit" means a building or the part of a building that is used as a primary home, residence, or sleeping place by one or more persons who maintain a household.

(3) Any marijuana harvested from the plants allowed pursuant to this subsection shall not count toward the one-ounce possession limit in section 4230a of this title provided it is stored in an indoor facility on the property where the marijuana was cultivated and reasonable precautions are taken to prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.

(4) Cultivation in excess of the limits provided in this subsection shall be punished in accordance with section 4230 of this title.

(b)(1) Personal cultivation of marijuana only shall occur:

(A) on property lawfully in possession of the cultivator or with the consent of the person in lawful possession of the property; and

(B) in an enclosure that is screened from public view and reasonable precautions are taken to prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.

(2) A person who violates this subsection shall be assessed a civil penalty as follows:

(A) not more than \$100.00 for a first offense;

(B) not more than \$200.00 for a second offense; and

(C) not more than \$500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.

Sec. 10. 18 V.S.A. § 4230f is added to read:

<u>§ 4230f. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER</u> 21 YEARS OF AGE

(a) No person shall:

(1) sell or furnish marijuana to a person under 21 years of age; or

(2) knowingly enable the consumption of marijuana by a person under 21 years of age.

(b) As used in this section, "enable the consumption of marijuana" means creating a direct and immediate opportunity for a person to consume marijuana.

(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$2,000.00, or both.

(d) An employee of a marijuana establishment licensed pursuant to chapter 87 of this title, who, in the course of employment, violates subdivision (a)(1) of this section during a compliance check conducted by a law enforcement officer shall be:

(1) assessed a civil penalty of not more than \$100.00 for the first violation and a civil penalty of not less than \$100.00 nor more than \$500.00 for a second violation that occurs more than one year after the first violation; and

(2) subject to the criminal penalties provided in subsection (c) of this section for a second violation within a year of the first violation, and for a third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation.

(e) An employee alleged to have committed a violation of subsection (d) of this section may plead as an affirmative defense that:

(1) the purchaser exhibited and the employee carefully viewed photographic identification that indicated the purchaser to be 21 years of age or older;

(2) an ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser to be of legal age to make the purchase; and

(3) the sale was made in good faith, based upon the reasonable belief that the purchaser was of legal age to purchase marijuana.

(f) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, where the person under 21 years of age, while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway, causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or herself or to another person as a result of the violation, shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than \$10,000.00, or both.

(g) This section shall not apply to:

(1) A person under 21 years of age who sells or furnishes marijuana to a person under 21 years of age or who knowingly enables the consumption of marijuana by a person under 21 years of age. Possession of an ounce or less of marijuana by a person under 21 years of age shall be punished in accordance with sections 4230b-4230d of this title and dispensing or selling marijuana shall be punished in accordance with sections 4230 and 4237 of this title.

(2) A dispensary registered pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.

Sec. 11. 18 V.S.A. § 4230g is added to read:

<u>§ 4230g. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER</u> 21 YEARS OF AGE; CIVIL ACTION FOR DAMAGES

(a) A spouse, child, guardian, employer, or other person who is injured in person, property, or means of support by a person under 21 years of age who is impaired by marijuana, or in consequence of the impairment by marijuana of any person under 21 years of age, shall have a right of action in his or her own name, jointly or severally, against any person or persons who have caused in whole or in part such impairment by selling or furnishing marijuana to a person under 21 years of age.

(b) Upon the death of either party, the action and right of action shall survive to or against the party's executor or administrator. The party injured or his or her legal representatives may bring either a joint action against the impaired person under 21 years of age and the person or persons who sold or furnished the marijuana, or a separate action against either or any of them.

(c) An action to recover for damages under this section shall be commenced within two years after the cause of action accrues, and not after.

(d) In an action brought under this section, evidence of responsible actions taken or not taken is admissible if otherwise relevant. Responsible actions may include a marijuana establishment's instruction to employees as to laws governing the sale of marijuana to adults 21 years of age or older and procedures for verification of age of customers.

(e) A defendant in an action brought under this section has a right of

contribution from any other responsible person or persons, which may be enforced in a separate action brought for that purpose.

(f)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, nothing in this section shall create a statutory cause of action against a social host for furnishing marijuana to any person without compensation or profit. However, this subdivision shall not be construed to limit or otherwise affect the liability of a social host for negligence at common law.

(2) A social host who knowingly furnishes marijuana to a person under 21 years of age may be held liable under this section if the social host knew, or a reasonable person in the same circumstances would have known, that the person who received the marijuana was under 21 years of age.

(3) As used in this subsection, "social host" means a person who is not the holder of a marijuana establishment license and is not required under chapter 87 of this title to hold a marijuana establishment license.

Sec. 12. 18 V.S.A. § 4230h is added to read:

§ 4230h. CHEMICAL EXTRACTION VIA BUTANE OR HEXANE PROHIBITED

(a) No person shall manufacture concentrated marijuana by chemical extraction or chemical synthesis using butane or hexane unless authorized as a dispensary pursuant to a registration issued by the Department of Public Safety pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$2,000.00, or both. A person who violates subsection (a) of this section and causes serious bodily injury to another person shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than \$5,000.00, or both.

* * * Commercial Marijuana Regulation * * *

Sec. 13. 18 V.S.A. chapter 87 is added to read:

CHAPTER 87. MARIJUANA ESTABLISHMENTS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

§ 4501. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) "Affiliate" means a person that directly or indirectly owns or controls, is owned or controlled by, or is under common ownership or control with, another person.

(2) "Agency" means the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

(3) "Applicant" means a person that applies for a license to operate a marijuana establishment pursuant to this chapter.

(4) "Child care facility" means a child care facility or family day care home licensed or registered under 33 V.S.A. chapter 35.

(5) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Public Safety.

(6) "Department" means the Department of Public Safety.

(7) "Dispensary" means a person registered under section 4474e of this title that acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures, transfers, transports, supplies, sells, or dispenses marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana-related supplies and educational materials for or to a registered patient who has designated it as his or her center and to his or her registered caregiver for the registered patient's use for symptom relief.

(8) "Enclosed, locked facility" shall be either indoors or outdoors, not visible to the public, and may include a building, room, greenhouse, fully enclosed fenced-in area, or other location enclosed on all sides and equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access only by:

(A) Employees, agents, or owners of the cultivator, all of whom shall be 21 years of age or older.

(B) Government employees performing their official duties.

(C) Contractors performing labor that does not include marijuana cultivation, packaging, or processing. Contractors shall be accompanied by an employee, agent, or owner of the cultivator when they are in areas where marijuana is being grown, processed, or stored.

(D) Registered employees of other cultivators, members of the media, elected officials, and other individuals 21 years of age or older visiting the facility, provided they are accompanied by an employee, agent, or owner of the cultivator.

(9) "Financier" means a person, other than a financial institution as defined in 8 V.S.A. § 11101, that makes an equity investment, a gift, loan, or otherwise provides financing to a person with the expectation of a financial return.

(10) "Marijuana" shall have the same meaning as provided in section 4201 of this title.

(11) "Marijuana cultivator" or "cultivator" means a person registered with the Agency to engage in commercial cultivation of marijuana in accordance with this chapter.

(12) "Marijuana establishment" means a marijuana cultivator, retailer,

or testing laboratory licensed by the Agency to engage in commercial marijuana activity in accordance with this chapter.

(13) "Marijuana retailer" or "retailer" means a person licensed by the Agency to sell marijuana to consumers for off-site consumption in accordance with this chapter.

(14) "Marijuana testing laboratory" or "testing laboratory" means a person licensed by the Agency to test marijuana for cultivators and retailers in accordance with this chapter.

(15) "Owns or controls," "is owned or controlled by," and "under common ownership or control" mean direct ownership or beneficial ownership of an equity interest, or the equivalent thereof, of ten percent or more, and the power to direct, or cause the direction of, the management and policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract, or otherwise.

(16) "Person" shall include any natural person; corporation; municipality; the State of Vermont or any department, agency or subdivision of the State; and any partnership, unincorporated association, or other legal entity.

(17) "Plant canopy" means the square footage dedicated to live plant production and does not include areas such as office space or areas used for the storage of fertilizers, pesticides, or other products.

(18) "Principal" means an individual vested with the authority to conduct, manage, or supervise the business affairs of a person, and may include the president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, manager, or similar executive officer of a business; a director of a corporation, nonprofit corporation, or mutual benefit enterprise; a member of a nonprofit corporation, cooperative, or member-managed limited liability company; and a partner of a partnership.

(19) "Public place" means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 of this title or chapter 37 of this title.

(20) "Resident" means a person who is domiciled in Vermont, subject to the following:

(A) The process for determining the domicile of an individual shall be the same as that required by rules adopted by the Department of Taxes related to determining domicile for the purpose of the interpretation and administration of 32 V.S.A. § 5401(14). (B) The domicile of a business entity is the State in which it is organized.

(21) "School" means a public school, independent school, or facility that provides early childhood education as those terms are defined in 16 V.S.A. $\S 11$.

(22) "Secretary" means the Secretary of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

<u>§ 4502. MARIJUANA POSSESSED UNLAWFULLY SUBJECT TO</u> <u>SEIZURE AND FORFEITURE</u>

Marijuana possessed unlawfully in violation of this chapter may be seized by law enforcement and is subject to forfeiture.

<u>§ 4503. NOT APPLICABLE TO HEMP OR THERAPEUTIC USE OF</u> <u>CANNABIS</u>

This chapter shall not apply to activities regulated by 7 V.S.A. chapter 34 (hemp) or chapter 86 (therapeutic use of cannabis) of this title.

<u>§ 4504. CONSUMPTION OF MARIJUANA IN A PUBLIC PLACE</u> <u>PROHIBITED</u>

This chapter shall not be construed to permit consumption of marijuana in a public place. Violations shall be punished in accordance with section 4230a of this title.

§ 4505. REGULATION BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT

(a)(1) A marijuana establishment shall obtain a permit from a town, city, or incorporated village prior to beginning operations within the municipality.

(2) A municipality that hosts a marijuana establishment may establish a board of marijuana control commissioners, who shall be the members of the municipal legislative body. The board shall administer the municipal permits under this subsection (a) for the marijuana establishments within the municipality.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prevent a town, city, or incorporated village from regulating marijuana establishments through local ordinances as set forth in 24 V.S.A. § 2291 or through land use bylaws as set forth in 24 V.S.A. § 4414.

(c)(1) A town, city, or incorporated village, by majority vote of those present and voting at annual or special meeting warned for the purpose, may prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within the municipality. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to a marijuana establishment that is operating within the municipality at the time of the vote.

(2) A vote to prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within the municipality shall remain in effect until rescinded by majority vote of those present and voting at an annual or special meeting warned for the purpose.

§ 4506. YOUTH RESTRICTIONS

(a) A marijuana establishment shall not dispense or sell marijuana to a person under 21 years of age or employ a person under 21 years of age.

(b) A marijuana establishment shall not be located within 1,000 feet of a preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care facility.

(c) A marijuana establishment shall not permit a person under 21 years of age to enter a building or enclosure on the premises where marijuana is located. This subsection shall not apply to a registered patient visiting his or her designated dispensary even if that dispensary is located in a building that is located on the same premises of a marijuana establishment.

§ 4507. ADVERTISING

(a) Marijuana advertising shall not contain any statement or illustration that:

(1) is false or misleading;

(2) promotes overconsumption; or

(3) is designed to appeal to children or persons under 18 years of age by portraying anyone under 18 years of age or objects suggestive of the presence of anyone under 18 years of age, or containing the use of a figure, a symbol, or language that is customarily associated with anyone under 18 years of age.

(b) Outdoor marijuana advertising shall not be located within 1,000 feet of a preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care facility.

(c) In accordance with section 4512 of this chapter, the Agency shall adopt regulations on marijuana establishment advertising that reflect the policies of subsection (a) of this section and place restrictions on the time, place, and manner, but not content, of the advertising.

(d) All advertising shall contain the following warnings:

(1) For use only by adults 21 years of age or older. Keep out of the reach of children.

(2) Marijuana has intoxicating effects and may impair concentration, coordination, and judgment. Do not operate a motor vehicle or heavy machinery or enter into any contractual agreement under the influence of marijuana.

Subchapter 2. Administration

§ 4511. AUTHORITY

(a) For the purpose of regulating the cultivation, processing, packaging, transportation, testing, purchase, and sale of marijuana in accordance with this chapter, the Agency shall have the following authority and duties:

(1) rulemaking in accordance with this chapter and 3 V.S.A. chapter 25;

(2) administration of a program for the licensure of marijuana establishments, which shall include compliance and enforcement; and

(3) submission of an annual budget to the Governor.

(b)(1) There is established the Marijuana Advisory Board within the Agency for the purpose of advising the Agency and other administrative agencies and departments regarding policy for the implementation and operation of this chapter. The Board shall be composed of the following members:

(A) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee;

(B) the Commissioner of Public Safety or designee;

(C) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(D) the Commissioner of Taxes or designee; and

(E) a member of local law enforcement appointed by the Governor.

(2) The Secretary of Administration shall convene the first meeting of the Board on or before June 1, 2017 and shall attend Board meetings.

§ 4512. RULEMAKING

(a) The Agency shall adopt rules to implement this chapter on or before March 15, 2018, in accordance with subdivisions (1)–(4) of this subsection.

(1) Rules concerning any marijuana establishment shall include:

(A) the form and content of license and renewal applications;

(B) qualifications for licensure that are directly and demonstrably related to the operation of a marijuana establishment, including submission of an operating plan and the requirement for a fingerprint-based criminal history record check and regulatory record check pursuant to subsection 4522(d) of this title;

(C) oversight requirements;

(D) inspection requirements;

(E) records to be kept by licensees and the required availability of the records;

(F) employment and training requirements, including requiring that each marijuana establishment create an identification badge for each employee;

(G) security requirements, including lighting, physical security, video, and alarm requirements;

(H) restrictions on advertising, marketing, and signage;

(I) health and safety requirements;

(J) regulation of additives to marijuana, including those that are toxic or designed to make the product more addictive, more appealing to children, or to mislead consumers;

(K) procedures for seed to sale traceability of marijuana, including any requirements for tracking software;

(L) regulation of the storage and transportation of marijuana;

(M) sanitary requirements;

(N) pricing guidelines with a goal of ensuring marijuana is sufficiently affordable to undercut the illegal market;

(O) procedures for the renewal of a license, which shall allow renewal applications to be submitted up to 90 days prior to the expiration of the marijuana establishment's license;

(P) procedures for suspension and revocation of a license; and

(Q) requirements for banking and financial transactions.

(2) Rules concerning cultivators shall include:

(A) labeling requirements for products sold to retailers; and

(B) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number of visitors allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(3) Rules concerning retailers shall include:

(A) labeling requirements, including appropriate warnings concerning the carcinogenic effects and other potential negative health consequences of consuming marijuana, for products sold to customers;

(B) requirements for proper verification of age and residency of customers;

(C) restrictions that marijuana shall be stored behind a counter or other barrier to ensure a customer does not have direct access to the marijuana; and

(D) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number of customers allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(4) Rules concerning testing laboratories shall include:

(A) procedures for destruction of all samples; and

(B) requirements for chain of custody recordkeeping.

(b) The Agency shall consult with the Department in the development and adoption of the following rules identified in subsection (a) of this section:

(1) regarding any marijuana establishment, subdivisions (1)(B), (G), (K), (L), (P), and (Q);

(2) regarding cultivators, subdivision (2)(A)(vi);

(3) regarding retailers, subdivisions (4)(B), (C), and (E); and

(4) regarding testing laboratories, subdivisions (5)(B), (C), and (D).

§ 4513. IMPLEMENTATION

(a)(1) On or before April 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting applications for cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses. The initial application period shall remain open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the application process for any period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before June 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses to qualified applicants.

(b)(1) On or before May 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting applications for retail licenses. The initial application period shall remain open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the application process for any period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before September 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing retailer licenses to qualified applicants. A license shall not permit a licensee to open the store to the public or sell marijuana to the public prior to January 2, 2019.

(c)(1) Prior to July 1, 2019, provided applicants meet the requirements of this chapter, the Agency shall issue:

(A) an unlimited number of cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation space of not more than 500 square feet;

(B) a maximum of 20 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation

space of more than 500 square feet but not more than 1,000 square feet;

(C) a maximum of 15 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation space of more than 1,000 square feet up to 2,500 square feet;

(D) a maximum of 10 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation space of more than 2,500 square feet up to 5,000 square feet;

(E) a maximum of five cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation space of more than 5,000 square feet up to 10,000 square feet;

(F) a maximum of five testing laboratory licenses; and

(G) a maximum of 42 retailer licenses.

(2) On or after July 1, 2019, the limitations in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall not apply and the Agency shall use its discretion to issue licenses in a number and size for the purpose of competing with and undercutting the illegal market based on available data and recommendations of the Marijuana Program Review Commission. A cultivator licensed prior to July 1, 2019 may apply to the Agency to modify its license to expand its cultivation space.

<u>§ 4514. CIVIL CITATIONS; SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF</u> LICENSES

(a) The Agency shall have the authority to adopt rules for the issuance of civil citations for violations of this chapter and the rules adopted pursuant to section 4512 of this title. Any proposed rule under this section shall include the full, minimum, and waiver penalty amounts for each violation.

(b) The Agency shall have the authority to suspend or revoke a license for violations of this chapter in accordance with rules adopted pursuant to section 4512 of this title.

Subchapter 3. Licenses

§ 4521. GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) Except as otherwise permitted by this chapter, a person shall not engage in the cultivation, preparation, processing, packaging, transportation, testing, or sale of marijuana without obtaining a license from the Agency.

(b) All licenses shall expire at midnight, April 30, of each year beginning no earlier than 10 months after the original license was issued to the marijuana establishment.

(c) Applications for licenses and renewals shall be submitted on forms provided by the Agency and shall be accompanied by the fees provided for in section 4528 of this section.

(d)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection (d), an applicant and its affiliates may obtain only one license, either a cultivator license, a retailer license, or a testing laboratory license under this chapter.

(2) A dispensary or a subsidiary of a dispensary may obtain one of each type of license under this chapter, provided that a dispensary or its subsidiary obtains no more than one cultivator license, one retailer license, and one testing laboratory license total.

(e) Each license shall permit only one location of the establishment.

(f) A dispensary that obtains a retailer license pursuant to this chapter shall maintain the dispensary and retail operations in a manner that protects patient and caregiver privacy in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. If the dispensary and retail establishment are located on the same premises, the dispensary and retail establishment shall provide separate entrances and common areas designed to serve patients and caregivers and customers.

(g) Each licensee shall obtain and maintain commercial general liability insurance in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. Failure to provide proof of insurance to the Agency, as required, may result in revocation of the license.

(h) All records relating to security, transportation, public safety, and trade secrets in an application for a license under this chapter shall be exempt from public inspection and copying under the Public Records Act.

(i) This subchapter shall not apply to possession regulated by chapters 84 or 86 of this title.

§ 4522. LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS AND APPLICATION PROCESS

(a) To be eligible for a marijuana establishment license:

(1) An applicant shall be a resident of Vermont.

(2) A principal of an applicant, and a person who owns or controls an applicant, shall have been a resident of Vermont for two or more years immediately preceding the date of application.

(3) An applicant, principal of an applicant, or person who owns or controls an applicant, who is a natural person:

(A) shall be 21 years of age or older; and

(B) shall consent to the release of his or her criminal and administrative history records.

(b) A financier of an applicant shall have been a resident of Vermont for two or more years immediately preceding the date of application.

(c) As part of the application process, each applicant shall submit, in a format proscribed by the Agency, an operating plan. The plan shall include a floor plan or site plan drawn to scale that illustrates the entire operation being proposed. The plan shall also include the following:

(1) For a cultivator license, information concerning:

(A) security;

(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) transportation of product;

(E) destruction of waste product;

(F) description of growing operation, including growing media, size of grow space allocated for plant production, space allowed for any other business activity, description of all equipment to be used in the cultivation process, and a list of soil amendments, fertilizers, or other crop production aids, or pesticides, utilized in the production process;

(G) how the applicant will meet its operation's need for energy services at the lowest present value life-cycle cost, including environmental and economic costs, through a strategy combining investments and expenditures on energy efficiency and energy supply;

(H) testing procedures and protocols;

(I) description of packaging and labeling of products transported to retailers; and

(J) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) For a retailer license, information concerning:

(A) security;

(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product;

(E) description of packaging and labeling of products sold to customers;

(F) the products to be sold and how they will be displayed to customers; and

(G) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the

Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(3) For a testing laboratory license, information concerning:

(A) security;

(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product; and

(E) the types of testing to be offered.

(d) The Department shall obtain a Vermont criminal history record, an outof-state criminal history record, a criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and any regulatory records relating to the operation of a business in this State or any other jurisdiction for each of the following who is a natural person:

(1) an applicant or financier;

(2) a principal of an applicant or financier; and

(3) a person who owns or controls an applicant or financier.

(e) When considering applications for a marijuana establishment license, the Agency shall:

(1) give priority to a qualified applicant that is a dispensary or subsidiary of a dispensary;

(2) strive for geographic distribution of marijuana establishments based on population.

§ 4523. EDUCATION

(a) An applicant for a marijuana establishment license shall meet with a Agency designee for the purpose of reviewing Vermont laws and rules pertaining to the possession, purchase, storage, and sale of marijuana prior to receiving a license.

(b) A licensee shall complete an enforcement seminar every three years conducted by the Agency. A license shall not be renewed unless the records of the Agency show that the licensee has complied with the terms of this subsection.

(c) A licensee shall ensure that each employee involved in the sale of marijuana completes a training program approved by the Agency prior to selling marijuana and at least once every 24 months thereafter. A licensee shall keep a written record of the type and date of training for each employee, which shall be signed by each employee. A licensee may comply with this

requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using information and materials furnished by the Agency. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of this section shall be subject to a suspension of no less than one day of the license issued under this chapter.

§ 4524. IDENTIFICATION CARD; CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

(a) The Agency shall issue each employee an identification card or renewal card within 30 days of receipt of the person's name, address, and date of birth and a fee of \$50.00. The fee shall be paid by the marijuana establishment and shall not be passed on to an employee. A person shall not work as an employee until that person has received an identification card issued under this section. Each card shall contain the following:

(1) the name, address, and date of birth of the person;

(2) the legal name of the marijuana establishment with which the person is affiliated;

(3) a random identification number that is unique to the person;

(4) the date of issuance and the expiration date of the identification card; and

(5) a photograph of the person.

(b) Prior to acting on an application for an identification card, the Agency shall obtain from the Department the person's Vermont criminal history record, out-of-state criminal history record, and criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each person shall consent to the release of criminal history records to the Agency and the Department on forms developed by the Vermont Crime Information Center.

(c) When the Department obtains a criminal history record, the Department shall promptly provide a copy of the record to the person and the marijuana establishment. The Department shall inform the person of the right to appeal the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the Agency.

(d) The Department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy. No person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history record information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information pursuant to this chapter.

(e) The Agency, in consultation with the Department, shall adopt rules for the issuance of an identification card and shall set forth standards for determining whether a person should be denied a registry identification card because his or her criminal history record indicates that the person's association with a marijuana establishment would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety. Previous nonviolent drug-related convictions shall not automatically disqualify an applicant. A marijuana establishment may deny a person the opportunity to serve as an employee based on his or her criminal history record. A person who is denied an identification card may appeal the Agency's determination in Superior Court in accordance with Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(f) An identification card shall expire one year after its issuance or upon the expiration of the marijuana establishment's license, whichever occurs first.

§ 4525. CULTIVATOR LICENSE

(a) A cultivator licensed under this chapter may cultivate, package, label, transport, test, and sell marijuana to a licensed retailer.

(b) Cultivation of marijuana shall occur only in an enclosed, locked facility which is either indoors, or if outdoors, not visible to the public, and which can only be accessed by principal officers and employees of the licensee who have valid identification cards.

(c) An applicant shall designate on his or her operating plan the size of the premises and the amount of actual square footage that will be dedicated to plant canopy.

(d) Representative samples of each lot or batch of marijuana intended for human consumption shall be tested for safety and potency in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency.

(e) Each cultivator shall create packaging for its marijuana.

(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the cultivator.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A "produced on" date reflecting the date that the cultivator finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating, "Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate machinery," "Keep away from children," and "Possession of marijuana is illegal under federal law." (F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the Department in accordance with this chapter. Rules shall take into consideration that different labeling requirements may be appropriate depending on whether the marijuana is sold to a wholesaler, product manufacturer, or retailer.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years of age.

(f)(1) Only unadulterated marijuana shall be offered for sale. If, upon inspection, the Agency finds any violative pesticide residue or other contaminants of concern, the Agency shall order the marijuana, either individually or in blocks, to be:

(A) put on stop-sale;

(B) treated in a particular manner; or

(C) destroyed according to the Agency's instructions.

(2) Marijuana ordered destroyed or placed on stop-sale shall be clearly separable from salable marijuana. Any order shall be confirmed in writing within seven days. The order shall include the reason for action, a description of the marijuana affected, and any recommended treatment.

(3) A person may appeal an order issued pursuant to this section within 15 days of receiving the order. The appeal shall be made in writing to the Secretary and shall clearly identify the marijuana affected and the basis for the appeal.

<u>§ 4526. RETAILER LICENSE</u>

(a) A retailer licensed under this chapter may:

(1) transport, possess, and sell marijuana to the public for consumption off the registered premises;

(2) purchase marijuana from a licensed cultivator; and

(3) provide marijuana to a licensed testing laboratory.

(b)(1) In a single transaction, a retailer may provide:

(A) one-half ounce of marijuana to a person 21 years of age or older upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph identification card that indicates the person is domiciled in Vermont; or

(B) one-quarter of an ounce of marijuana to a person 21 years of age or older upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph identification card that indicates the person is domiciled outside Vermont.

(2) A retailer shall not knowingly and willfully sell an amount of

marijuana to a person that causes the person to exceed the possession limit.

(c) A retailer shall only sell "useable marijuana" which means the dried flowers of marijuana, and does not include the seeds, stalks, leaves, and roots of the plant, and shall not package marijuana with other items, such as paraphernalia, for sale to customers.

(d)(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the retailer.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A "produced on" date reflecting the date that the cultivator finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating, "Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate machinery," "Keep away from children," and "Possession of marijuana is illegal under federal law."

(F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years of age.

(e) A retailer shall display a safety information flyer developed or approved by the Agency and supplied to the retailer free of charge. The flyer shall contain information concerning the methods for administering marijuana, the potential dangers of marijuana use, the symptoms of problematic usage, and how to receive help for marijuana abuse.

(f) Internet sales and delivery of marijuana to customers are prohibited.

§ 4527. MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY

(a) A testing laboratory licensed under this chapter may acquire, possess, analyze, test, and transport marijuana samples obtained from a licensed marijuana establishment.

(b) Testing may address the following:

(1) residual solvents;

(2) poisons or toxins;

(3) harmful chemicals;

(4) dangerous molds, mildew, or filth;

(5) harmful microbials, such as E.coli or salmonella;

(6) pesticides; and

(7) tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol potency.

(c) A testing laboratory shall have a written procedural manual made available to employees to follow meeting the minimum standards set forth in rules detailing the performance of all methods employed by the facility used to test the analytes it reports.

(d) In accordance with rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, a testing laboratory shall establish a protocol for recording the chain of custody of all marijuana samples.

(e) A testing laboratory shall establish, monitor, and document the ongoing review of a quality assurance program that is sufficient to identify problems in the laboratory systems when they occur.

<u>§ 4528. FEES</u>

(a) The Agency shall charge and collect initial license application fees and annual license renewal fees for each type of marijuana license under this chapter. Fees shall be due and payable at the time of license application or renewal.

(b)(1) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a cultivator license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) \$1,000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square feet.

(B) \$3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) \$7,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001–2,500 square feet.

(D) \$15,000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501–5,000 square feet.

(E) \$30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001–10,000 square feet.

(2) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a retailer license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be \$15,000.00.

(3) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a marijuana testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter shall be \$500.00.

(4) If a person submits a qualifying application for a marijuana

establishment license during an open application, pays the nonrefundable application fee, but is not selected to receive a license due to the limited number of licenses available, the person may reapply, based on availability, for such a license within two years by resubmitting the application with any necessary updated information, and shall be charged a fee that is fifty percent of the application fees set forth in subdivision (1)–(3) of this subsection if the original application was submitted prior to July 1, 2019.

(c)(1) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for a cultivator license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) \$1,000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square feet.

(B) \$3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) \$7,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001–2,500 square feet.

(D) \$15,000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501–5,000 square feet.

(E) \$30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001–10,000 square feet.

(2) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for a retailer license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be \$15,000.00.

(3) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for a marijuana testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter shall be \$2,500.00.

(d) The following administrative fees shall apply:

(1) Change of corporate structure fee (per person) shall be \$1,000.00.

(2) Change of name fee shall be \$1,000.00.

(3) Change of location fee shall be \$1,000.00.

(4) Modification of license premises fee shall be \$250.00.

(5) Addition of financier fee shall be \$250.00.

(6) Duplicate license fee shall be \$100.00.

§ 4529. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

(a) The Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund is hereby created. The Fund shall be maintained by the Agency of Administration.

(b) The Fund shall be composed of:

(1) all application fees, license fees, renewal fees, and civil penalties collected pursuant to this chapter; and

(2) all taxes collected by the Commissioner of Taxes pursuant to this chapter.

(c)(1) Funds shall be appropriated as follows:

(A) For the purpose of implementation, administration, and enforcement of this chapter.

(B) Proportionately for the prevention of substance abuse, treatment of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts by State and local law enforcement to combat the illegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in this subdivision, "criminal justice efforts" shall include efforts by both State and local criminal justice agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors, public defenders, and the courts.

(2) Appropriations made pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be in addition to current funding of the identified priorities and shall not be used in place of existing State funding.

(d) All balances in the Fund at the end of any fiscal year shall be carried forward and remain part of the Fund. Interest earned by the Fund shall be deposited into the Fund.

(e) This Fund is established in the State Treasury pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5. The Commissioner of Finance and Management shall anticipate receipts in accordance with 32 V.S.A. § 588(4)(C).

(f) The Secretary of Administration shall report annually to the Joint Fiscal Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal year on or before the Committee's regularly scheduled November meeting.

Subchapter 4. Marijuana Program Review Commission

§ 4546. PURPOSE; MEMBERS

(a) Creation. There is created a temporary Marijuana Program Review Commission for the purpose of facilitating efficient and lawful implementation of this act and examination of issues important to the future of marijuana regulation in Vermont.

(b) Membership. The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

(1) two members of the public appointed by the Governor;

(2) two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(3) two members of the Senate, appointed by the Committee on Committees; and

(4) the Attorney General or designee.

(c) Term. Legislative members shall serve only while in office.

§ 4547. POWERS; DUTIES

(a) The Commission shall:

(1) collect information about the implementation, operation, and effect of this act from members of the public, State agencies, and private and public sector businesses and organizations;

(2) communicate with other states that have legalized marijuana and monitor those states regarding their implementation of regulation, policies, and strategies that have been successful and problems that have arisen;

(3) examine the issue of marijuana concentrates and edible marijuana products and whether Vermont safely can allow and regulate their manufacture and sale and, if so, how;

(4) keep updated on the latest information in Vermont and other jurisdictions regarding the prevention and detection of impaired driving as it relates to marijuana;

(5) study the opportunity for a cooperative agriculture business model and licensure and community supported agriculture;

(6) examine whether Vermont should allow additional types of marijuana establishment licenses, including a processor license and product manufacturer license;

(7) review the statutes and rules for the therapeutic marijuana program and dispensaries and determine whether additional amendments are necessary to maintain patient access to marijuana and viability of the dispensaries:

(8) monitor supply and demand of marijuana cultivated and sold pursuant to this act for the purpose of assisting the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets and policymakers with determining appropriate numbers of licenses and limitations on the amount of marijuana cultivated and offered for retail sale in Vermont so that the adult market is served without unnecessary surplus marijuana;

(9) monitor the extent to which marijuana is accessed through both the legal and illegal market by persons under 21 years of age;

(10) identify strategies for preventing youth from using marijuana;

(11) identify academic and scientific research, including longitudinal research questions, that when completed may assist policymakers in developing marijuana policy in accordance with this act;

(12) consider whether to create a local revenue stream which may include a local option excise tax on marijuana sales or municipally assessed fees;

(13) recommend the appropriate maximum amount of marijuana sold by a retailer in a single transaction and whether there should be differing amounts for Vermonters and nonresidents; and

(14) report any recommendations to the General Assembly and the Governor, as needed.

(b) On or before January 15, 2020, the Commission shall issue a final report to the General Assembly and the Governor regarding its findings and any recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

§ 4548. ADMINISTRATION

(a) Assistance. The Commission shall have the administrative, technical, and legal assistance of the Administration.

(b) Meetings.

(1) The Administration shall call the first meeting of the Commission to occur on or before August 1, 2017.

(2) The Commission shall select a chair from among its members at the first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Commission shall cease meeting regularly after the issuance of its final report, but members shall be available to meet with Administration officials and the General Assembly until July 1, 2019 at which time the Commission shall cease to exist.

(c) Reimbursement.

(1) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the General Assembly, legislative members of the Commission shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 406 for as many meetings as the Chair deems necessary.

(2) Other members of the Commission who are not employees of the State of Vermont and who are not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for their attendance shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

Sec. 14. 32 V.S.A. chapter 207 is added to read:

CHAPTER 207. MARIJUANA TAXES

§ 7901. TAX IMPOSED

(a) There is imposed a marijuana excise tax equal to 25 percent of the sales price, as that term is defined in subdivision 9701(4) of this title, on each retail sale of marijuana in this State. The tax imposed by this section shall be paid by the buyer to the retailer. Each retailer shall collect from the buyer the full amount of the tax payable on each taxable sale.

(b) The tax imposed by this section is separate from the general sales and use tax imposed by chapter 233 of this title. The tax imposed under this section shall be separately itemized from any State and local retail sales tax on the sales receipt provided to the buyer.

(c) The following sales shall be exempt from the tax imposed under this section:

(1) sales under any circumstances in which the State is without power to impose the tax; and

(2) sales made by any dispensary, provided the marijuana will be provided only to registered qualifying patients directly or through their registered caregivers.

§ 7902. LIABILITY FOR TAX AND PENALTIES

(a) Any tax collected under this chapter shall be deemed to be held by the retailer in trust for the State of Vermont. Any tax collected under this chapter shall be accounted for separately so as to clearly indicate the amount of tax collected, and that the tax receipts are the property of the State of Vermont.

(b) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall be personally and individually liable for the amount of tax together with such interest and penalty as has accrued under this title. If the retailer is a corporation or other entity, the personal liability shall extend to any officer or agent of the corporation or entity who as an officer or agent of the same has the authority to collect the tax and transmit it to the Commissioner of Taxes as required in this chapter.

(c) A retailer shall have the same rights in collecting the tax from his or her purchaser or regarding nonpayment of the tax by the purchaser as if the tax were a part of the purchase price of the marijuana and payable at the same time; provided, however, if the retailer required to collect the tax has failed to remit any portion of the tax to the Commissioner of Taxes, the Commissioner of Taxes shall be notified of any action or proceeding brought by the retailer to collect the tax and shall have the right to intervene in such action or proceeding.

(d) A retailer required to collect the tax may also refund or credit to the purchaser any tax erroneously, illegally, or unconstitutionally collected. No cause of action that may exist under State law shall accrue against the retailer

for the tax collected unless the purchaser has provided written notice to a retailer, and the retailer has had 60 days to respond.

(e) To the extent not inconsistent with this chapter, the provisions for the assessment, collection, enforcement, and appeals of the sales and use taxes in chapter 233 of this title shall apply to the tax imposed by this chapter.

§ 7903. BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a retail sale of a bundled transaction that includes marijuana is subject to the tax imposed by this chapter on the entire selling price of the bundled transaction.

(b) If the selling price is attributable to products that are taxable and products that are not taxable under this chapter, the portion of the price attributable to the nontaxable products are subject to the tax imposed by this chapter unless the retailer can identify by reasonable and verifiable standards the portion that is not subject to tax from its books and records that are kept in the regular course of business.

(c) As used in this section, "bundled transaction" means:

(1) the retail sale of two or more products where the products are otherwise distinct and identifiable, are sold for one nonitemized price, and at least one of the products includes marijuana subject to the tax under this chapter; or

(2) marijuana provided free of charge with the required purchase of another product.

§ 7904. RETURNS

(a) Any retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall, on or before the 15th day of every month, return to the Department of Taxes, under oath of a person with legal authority to bind the retailer, a statement containing its name and place of business, the amount of marijuana sales subject to the excise tax imposed by this subchapter sold in the preceding month, and any other information required by the Department of Taxes, along with the tax due.

(b) Every retailer shall maintain, for not less than three years, accurate records showing all transactions subject to tax liability under this chapter. These records are subject to inspection by the Department of Taxes at all reasonable times during normal business hours.

§ 7905. LICENSES

(a) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall apply for a marijuana excise tax license in the manner prescribed by the

Commissioner of Taxes. The Commissioner shall issue, without charge, to each registrant a license empowering him or her to collect the marijuana excise tax. Each license shall state the place of business to which it is applicable. The license shall be prominently displayed in the place of business of the registrant. The licenses shall be nonassignable and nontransferable and shall be surrendered to the Commissioner immediately upon the registrant's ceasing to do business at the place named. A license to collect marijuana excise tax shall be in addition to the licenses required by sections 9271 (meals and rooms tax) and 9707 (sales and use tax) of this title and any license required by the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

(b) The Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets may require the Commissioner of Taxes to suspend or revoke the tax license of any person for failure to comply with any provision of this chapter.

Sec. 15. 32 V.S.A. § 5811 is amended to read:

§ 5811. DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply throughout this chapter unless the context requires otherwise:

* * *

(18) "Vermont net income" means, for any taxable year and for any corporate taxpayer:

(A) the taxable income of the taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws of the United States, without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws of the United States is exempt from taxation by the states:

(i) increased by:

(I) the amount of any deduction for State and local taxes on or measured by income, franchise taxes measured by net income, franchise taxes for the privilege of doing business and capital stock taxes; and

(II) to the extent such income is exempted from taxation under the laws of the United States by the amount received by the taxpayer on and after January 1, 1986 as interest income from State and local obligations, other than obligations of Vermont and its political subdivisions, and any dividends or other distributions from any fund to the extent such dividend or distribution is attributable to such Vermont State or local obligations;

(III) the amount of any deduction for a federal net operating loss; and

(ii) decreased by:

(I) the "gross-up of dividends" required by the federal Internal Revenue Code to be taken into taxable income in connection with the taxpayer's election of the foreign tax credit; and

(II) the amount of income which results from the required reduction in salaries and wages expense for corporations claiming the Targeted Job or WIN credits; and

(III) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

* * *

(21) "Taxable income" means federal taxable income determined without regard to 26 U.S.C. \$ 168(k) and:

(A) Increased by the following items of income (to the extent such income is excluded from federal adjusted gross income):

(i) interest income from non-Vermont state and local obligations;

(ii) dividends or other distributions from any fund to the extent they are attributable to non-Vermont state or local obligations;

(iii) the amount of State and local income taxes deducted from federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year, but in no case in an amount that will reduce total itemized deductions below the standard deduction allowable to the taxpayer; and

(iv) the amount of total itemized deductions, other than deductions for State and local income taxes, medical and dental expenses, or charitable contributions, deducted from federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year, that is in excess of two and one-half times the standard deduction allowable to the taxpayer; and

(B) Decreased by the following items of income (to the extent such income is included in federal adjusted gross income):

(i) income from United States government obligations;

(ii) with respect to adjusted net capital gain income as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 1(h) reduced by the total amount of any qualified dividend income: either the first \$5,000.00 of such adjusted net capital gain income; or 40 percent of adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of assets held by the taxpayer for more than three years, except not adjusted net capital gain income from:

(I) the sale of any real estate or portion of real estate used by the taxpayer as a primary or nonprimary residence; or

(II) the sale of depreciable personal property other than farm property and standing timber; or stocks or bonds publicly traded or traded on an exchange, or any other financial instruments; regardless of whether sold by an individual or business;

and provided that the total amount of decrease under this subdivision (21)(B)(ii) shall not exceed 40 percent of federal taxable income; and

(iii) recapture of State and local income tax deductions not taken against Vermont income tax; and

(iv) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

* * *

Sec. 16. 32 V.S.A. § 9741(51) is added to read:

(51) Marijuana sold by a dispensary as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or by a retailer as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

* * * Impaired Driving * * *

Sec. 17. 23 V.S.A. § 1134 is amended to read:

§ 1134. MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATOR; CONSUMPTION OR POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL <u>OR MARIJUANA</u>

(a) A person shall not consume alcoholic beverages <u>or marijuana</u> while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section, "alcoholic beverages" shall have the same meaning as "intoxicating liquor" as defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) A person operating a motor vehicle on a public highway shall not possess any open container which contains alcoholic beverages <u>or marijuana</u> in the passenger area of the motor vehicle.

(c) As used in this section, "passenger area" shall mean the area designed to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk, the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than \$500.00. A person who violates subsection (b) of this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $$25.00 \\ 50.00 .

A person adjudicated and assessed a civil penalty for an offense under subsection (a) of this section shall not be subject to a civil violation for the same actions under subsection (b) of this section.

Sec. 18. 23 V.S.A. § 1134a is amended to read:

§ 1134a. MOTOR VEHICLE PASSENGER; CONSUMPTION OR POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL <u>OR MARIJUANA</u>

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a passenger in a motor vehicle shall not consume alcoholic beverages or marijuana or possess any open container which contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in the passenger area of any motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section, "alcoholic beverages" shall have the same meaning as "intoxicating liquor" as defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) As used in this section, "passenger area" shall mean the area designed to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk, the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(c) A person, other than the operator, may possess an open container which contains alcoholic beverages <u>or marijuana</u> in the passenger area of a motor vehicle designed, maintained, or used primarily for the transportation of persons for compensation or in the living quarters of a motor home or trailer coach.

(d) A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than \$25.00.

Sec. 19. 23 V.S.A. § 1219 is amended to read:

§ 1219. COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE; DETECTABLE AMOUNT; OUT-OF-SERVICE

A person who is operating, attempting to operate, or in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle with any measurable or detectable amount of alcohol <u>or marijuana</u> in his or her system shall immediately be placed out-of-service for 24 hours by an enforcement officer. A law enforcement officer who has reasonable grounds to believe that a person has a measurable or detectable amount of alcohol <u>or marijuana</u> in his or her system on the basis of the person's general appearance, conduct, or other substantiating evidence, may request the person to submit to a test, which may be administered with a preliminary screening device. The law enforcement officer shall inform the person at the time the test is requested that refusal to submit will result in disqualification. If the person refuses to submit to the

test, the person shall immediately be placed out-of-service for 24 hours and shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle as provided in section 4116 of this title.

Sec. 20. 23 V.S.A. § 4116 is amended to read:

§ 4116. DISQUALIFICATION

(a) A person shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a period of one year if convicted of a first violation of:

* * *

(4) refusal to submit to a test to determine the operator's alcohol $\underline{\text{or}}$ marijuana concentration, as provided in section 1205, 1218, or 1219 of this title;

* * *

Sec. 21. VERMONT GOVERNOR'S HIGHWAY SAFETY PROGRAM

(a) Impaired driving, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, is a significant concern for the General Assembly. While Vermont has made a meaningful effort to educate the public about the dangers of drinking alcohol and driving, the public seems to be less aware of the inherent risks of driving while under the influence of drugs, whether it is marijuana, a validly prescribed medication, or other drugs. It is the intent of the General Assembly that the State reframe the issue of drunk driving as impaired driving in an effort to comprehensively address the risks of such behavior through prevention, education, and enforcement.

(b)(1) The Agency of Transportation, through its Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program, shall expand its public education and prevention campaign on drunk driving to impaired driving, which shall include drugged driving.

(2) The Agency shall report to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary and on Transportation on or before January 15, 2018 regarding implementation of this section.

Sec. 22. REPORTING IMPAIRED DRIVING DATA

The Commissioner of Public Safety and the Secretary of Transportation, in collaboration, shall report to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary and on Transportation on or before January 15 each year regarding the following issues concerning impaired driving:

(1) the previous year's data in Vermont,

(2) the latest information regarding best practices on prevention and

enforcement, and

(3) their recommendations for legislative action.

Sec. 23. TRAINING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT; IMPAIRED DRIVING

(a) It is imperative that Vermont provide adequate training to both local and State law enforcement officers regarding the detection of impaired driving. Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training provides instruction to officers at a level above Basic Standardized Sobriety Testing and proves helpful to an officer in determining when a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) should be called. Vermont should endeavor to train as many law enforcement officers as possible in ARIDE. DREs receive a more advanced training in the detection of drugged driving and should be an available statewide resource for officers in the field.

(b) The Secretary of Transportation and the Commissioner of Public Safety shall work collaboratively to ensure that funding is available, either through the Governor's Highway Safety Program's administration of National Highway Traffic Safety Administration funds or other State funding sources, for training the number of officers necessary to provide sufficient statewide coverage for the enforcement impaired driving.

* * * Appropriations and Positions * * *

Sec. 24. FISCAL YEAR 2018 APPROPRIATIONS FROM THE MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

In fiscal year 2018 the following amounts are appropriated from the Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund:

(1) Department of Health: \$350,000.00 for initial prevention, education, and counter marketing programs.

(2) Department of Taxes: \$660,000.00 for the acquisition of an excise tax module and staffing expenses to administer the excise tax established in this act.

(3) Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets:

(A) \$112,500.00 for the Vermont Agriculture and Environmental Lab.

(B) \$272,500.00 for staffing expenses related to rulemaking, program administration, and processing of applications and licenses.

(4) Agency of Administration: \$150,000.00 for expenses and staffing of the Marijuana Program Review Commission established in this act.

Sec. 25. EXECUTIVE BRANCH POSITION AUTHORIZATIONS

The establishment of the following new permanent classified positions is authorized in fiscal year 2018 as follows:

(1) In the Department of Health—one (1) Substance Abuse Program Manager.

(2) In the Department of Taxes—one (1) Business Analyst AC: Tax and one (1) Tax Policy Analyst.

(3) In the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets—one (1) Agriculture Chemist and two (2) Program Administrator.

(4) In the Marijuana Program Review Commission—one (1) exempt Commission Director.

Sec. 26. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND BUDGET AND REPORT

Annually, through 2019, the Secretary of Administration shall report to the Joint Fiscal Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal year on or before the Committee's regularly scheduled November meeting on the following:

(1) an update of the administration's efforts concerning implementation, administration, and enforcement of this act;

(2) any changes or updates to revenue expectations from fees and taxes based on changes in competitive pricing or other information;

(3) projected budget adjustment needs for current year appropriations from the Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund; and

(4) a comprehensive spending plan with recommended appropriations from the Fund for the next the fiscal year, by department, including an explanation and justification for the expenditures and how each recommendation meets the intent of this act.

* * * Miscellaneous * * *

Sec. 27. 24 V.S.A. § 2291 is amended to read:

§ 2291. ENUMERATION OF POWERS

For the purpose of promoting the public health, safety, welfare, and convenience, a town, city, or incorporated village shall have the following powers:

* * *

(29) To prohibit or regulate, by means of a civil ordinance adopted pursuant to chapter 59 of this title, the number, time, place, manner, or operation of a marijuana establishment, or any class of marijuana establishments, located in the municipality; provided, however, that amendments to such an ordinance shall not apply to restrict further a marijuana establishment in operation within the municipality at the time of the amendment. As used in this subdivision, "marijuana establishment" is as defined in 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

Sec. 28. 24 V.S.A. § 4414 is amended to read:

§ 4414. ZONING; PERMISSIBLE TYPES OF REGULATIONS

Any of the following types of regulations may be adopted by a municipality in its bylaws in conformance with the plan and for the purposes established in section 4302 of this title.

* * *

(16) Marijuana establishments. A municipality may adopt bylaws for the purpose of regulating marijuana establishments as defined in 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

Sec. 29. WORKFORCE STUDY COMMITTEE

(a) Creation. There is created the Workforce Study Committee to examine the potential impacts of alcohol and drug use on the workplace.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following five members:

(1) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development or designee;

(2) the Commissioner of Labor or designee;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(4) one person representing the interests of employees appointed by the Governor; and

(5) one person representing the interests of employers appointed by the Governor.

(c) Powers and duties. The Committee shall study:

(1) whether Vermont's workers' compensation and unemployment insurance systems are adversely impacted by alcohol and drug use and identify regulatory or legislative measures to mitigate any adverse impacts;

(2) the issue of alcohol and drugs in the workplace and determine whether Vermont's workplace drug testing laws should be amended to provide employers with broader authority to conduct drug testing, including by permitting drug testing based on a reasonable suspicion of drug use, or by authorizing employers to conduct post-accident, employer-wide, or postrehabilitation follow-up testing of employees; and

(3) the impact of alcohol and drug use on workplace safety and identify regulatory or legislative measures to address adverse impacts and enhance workplace safety.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative, technical, and legal assistance of the Agency of Commerce and Community Development, the Department of Labor, and the Department of Health.

(e) Report. On or before December 1, 2017, the Committee shall submit a written report with findings and recommendations to the House Committee on General, Housing and Military Affairs and the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs with its findings and any recommendations for legislative action.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Secretary of Commerce or designee shall call the first meeting of the Committee to occur on or before September 15, 2017.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on December 31, 2017.

Sec. 30. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:

§ 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

(a) A Judicial Bureau is created within the Judicial Branch under the supervision of the Supreme Court.

(b) The Judicial Bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

* * *

(24) Violations of 18 V.S.A. §§ 4230a and 4230b, relating to possession public consumption of marijuana and 18 V.S.A. § 4230e relating to cultivation of marijuana.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 31. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (misdemeanor drug possession study), 2 (legislative findings and intent), 3 (marijuana youth education and prevention), 13 (marijuana establishments), 14 (marijuana taxes), and 29 (Workforce Study Committee) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Secs. 12 (chemical extraction via butane or hexane prohibited),

17 (consumption or possession of marijuana by the operator of a motor vehicle), 18 (consumption or possession of marijuana by a passenger of a motor vehicle), 21 (Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program), 22 (reporting impaired driving data), 23 (training for law enforcement; impaired driving), 24 (appropriations), 25 (positions), 26 (Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund budget and report), 27 (local authority to regulate marijuana establishments), and 28 (zoning) shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

(c) Sec. 15 (taxes; definitions) shall take effect on January 1, 2018 and shall apply to taxable year 2018 and after.

(d) Secs. 4 (legislative intent; civil and criminal penalties), 5 (marijuana definition), 6 (marijuana; criminal), 7 (marijuana; civil), 8 (marijuana possession by a person under 21 years of age), 9 (cultivation of marijuana by a person 21 years of age or older), 10 (sale or furnishing marijuana to a person under 21 years of age; criminal), 11 (sale of furnishing marijuana to a person under 21 years of age; civil action for damages), 16 (sales tax), 19 (commercial motor vehicle), 20 (disqualification; commercial motor vehicle), and 30 (Judicial Bureau; jurisdiction) shall take effect on January 2, 2019.

(For text see House Journal March 21, 2017)

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Turner of Milton to H. 167

That House concur with the Senate proposal of amendment with further amendment by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. STUDY COMMITTEE; REPORT

(a) Creation. There is created the Marijuana Impact Study Committee to study the impact of marijuana upon children under 16 years of age.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following nine members:

(1) three current members of the House of Representatives, not all from the same political party, who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(2) three current members of the Senate, not all from the same political party, who shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(3) the Commission of Health or designee;

(4) a person with expertise on child psychological development appointed by the Speaker of the House; and

(5) a person with expertise in child social development appointed by the Committee on Committees.

(c) Powers and duties. The Committee shall study the impact of marijuana use and consumption upon children under 16 years of age, including the following:

(1) the physiological effects of marijuana use by children, including effects on physical and psychological development;

(2) the consequences to children of being exposed to secondhand marijuana smoke and being present while family members and other persons consume marijuana; and

(3) other impacts of marijuana use and exposure.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative and legal assistance of the Office of Legislative Council.

(e) Report. On or before January 15, 2018, the Committee shall report to the General Assembly with its findings and any recommendations for legislative action.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The first person appointed by the Speaker of the House shall call the first meeting of the Committee to occur on or before July 15, 2017.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on January 15, 2018.

(g) Reimbursement.

(1) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the General Assembly, legislative members of the Committee shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 406.

(2) Other members of the Committee who are not employees of the State of Vermont and who are not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for their attendance shall be entitled to compensation pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

Amendment to be offered by Rep. Turner of Milton to H. 167

Moves to substitute for the amendment offered by Representative Turner of Milton by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. § 4233a(d) is added to read:

<u>§ 4233a. FENTANYL</u>

* * *

(d) Possession. A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing fentanyl shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than \$10,000.00, or both.

Sec. 2. 18 V.S.A. § 4234 is amended to read:

§ 4234. DEPRESSANT, STIMULANT, AND NARCOTIC DRUGS

(a) Possession.

(1) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than <u>fentanyl</u>, heroin, or cocaine, shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than \$2,000.00, or both.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than <u>fentanyl</u>, heroin, or cocaine, consisting of 100 times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent as determined by the board of health <u>Board of Health</u> by rule shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than \$25,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than <u>fentanyl</u>, heroin, or cocaine, consisting of 1,000 times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent as determined by the board of health <u>Board of Health</u> by rule shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years or fined not more than \$100,000.00, or both.

(4) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing a depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, other than <u>fentanyl</u>, heroin, or cocaine, consisting of 10,000 times a benchmark unlawful dosage or its equivalent as determined by the <u>board of health</u> <u>Board of Health</u> by rule shall be imprisoned not more than 20 years or fined not more than \$500,000.00, or both.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

Unfinished Business of Monday, May 8, 2017

Favorable with Amendment

S. 122

An act relating to increased flexibility for school district mergers

Rep. Sharpe of Bristol, for the Committee on Education, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended as follows:

<u>First</u>: In Sec. 1 (Findings), with its reader assistance, by striking out the reader assistance in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Findings and Purpose * * *

Second: In Sec. 1, by striking out the section heading in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE

Third: In Sec. 1, by adding a new subsection (b) to read:

(b) While Vermont generally does an excellent job educating our children, we fall short in two critical areas. First, we are not as successful as we need to be in educating children from families with low income, and second, while we have a very high graduation rate from our high schools, not enough of our graduates continue their education. Fulfilling the goals of Act 46 is a critical step in addressing these shortcomings.

and by relettering the remaining sections to be alphabetically correct

Fourth: In Sec. 1, in relettered subsection (e), by striking out the last sentence in its entirety

Fifth: In Sec. 1, by adding a subsection (f) to read:

(f) This act is designed to make useful changes to the merger time lines and allowable governance structures under Act 46 without weakening or eliminating the Act's fundamental phased merger and incentive structures and requirements. Nothing in this act should suggest that it is acceptable for a school district to fail to take reasonable and robust action to seek to meet the goals of Act 46.

<u>Sixth</u>: In Sec. 2, by striking out subsection (b) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(b) <u>The incentives provided under this act shall be available only if the new</u> districts receive final approval of their electorate on or before November 30, 2017. This section is repealed on July 1, 2017 2019.

<u>Seventh</u>: By striking out Sec. 3 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 3. THREE-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE STRUCTURE; EXEMPTION

FROM STATEWIDE PLAN

(a) If the conditions of this section are met, the Merged District and the Existing District or Districts shall be exempt from the requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9 and 10, to self-evaluate and make a proposal to the Secretary of Education and State Board of Education and from

the State Board's statewide plan.

(1) The new district is formed by the merger of at least three existing districts (Merged District) and, together with one or two existing districts (each an Existing District), are, following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, members of the same supervisory union (Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, each Existing District is either:

(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District's school or schools and the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State Board of Education; or

(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) The Merged District and each Existing District have, following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, a model of operating schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other; provided, however, that if two Existing Districts are members of the Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure, the Existing Districts may have the same model of operating schools or paying tuition if they are geographically isolated from each other, within the meaning of subdivision (2)(A) of this subsection. These models are:

(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some grades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the Merged District jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited to them than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act;

(B) each Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth in subdivision (2) of this subsection (a);

(C) each Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to

take to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the goals set forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(5) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the Merged District obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(6) Each Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an Existing District in the proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure on or before November 30, 2017.

(7) The districts proposing to merge into the Merged District receive final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before November 30, 2017, and the Merged District becomes fully operational on or before July 1, 2019.

(8) The Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or before November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged District may include:

(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section, regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(c) The formation of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure shall not entitle the Merged District or an Existing District to qualify for the incentives provided in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4. However, a Merged District that is otherwise entitled to incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended, shall not lose these incentives due to its participation as a member of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

<u>Eighth</u>: By striking out Sec. 4 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 4. TWO-BY-TWO-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE STRUCTURE; REGIONAL EDUCATION DISTRICT INCENTIVES

(a) Notwithstanding 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) that requires a single regional education district (RED) to have an average daily membership of at least 1,250 or result from the merger of at least four districts, or both, two or more new districts shall be eligible for the incentives provided in No. 153, Sec. 4 as amended by 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156 and 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46 if:

(1) Each new district is formed by the merger of at least two existing districts (each a Merged District) and, together with an Existing District, are, following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, members of the same supervisory union (Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, the Existing District is either:

(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District's school or schools and the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State Board of Education; or

(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) Each Merged District and the Existing District, following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, have a model of operating schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other. These models are:

(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some grades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure meets all criteria for RED formation other than the size criterion of 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) (average daily membership of at least 1,250) and otherwise as provided in this section.

(5) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the Merged Districts jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited to them than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act; (B) the Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth in subdivision (2) of this subsection (a); and

(C) the Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to take to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the goals set forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(6) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the Merged Districts obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(7) The Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an Existing District in the proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure on or before November 30, 2017.

(8) The districts proposing to merge into each Merged District receive final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before November 30, 2017, and each Merged District becomes fully operational on or before July 1, 2019.

(9) Each Merged District has the same effective date of merger.

(10) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or before November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged Districts may include:

(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section, regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(c) If the conditions of this section are met, the incentives provided in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4 shall be available to each Merged District, unless the Merged District has already received incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended. These incentives shall not be available to the Existing District.

(d) If the conditions of this section are met, the Existing District shall be

exempt from the requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9 and 10, to self-evaluate and make a proposal to the Secretary of Education and State Board of Education and exempt from the State Board's statewide plan.

<u>Ninth</u>: By adding three new sections, to be Secs. 6a, 6b, and 6c, with reader assistances, to read as follows:

* * * Reduction of Average Daily Membership; Guidelines for Alternative Structures * * *

Sec. 6a. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 5 is amended to read:

Sec. 5. PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE;

ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE

* * *

(c) Alternative structure: supervisory union with member districts. An Education District as envisioned in subsection (b) of this section may not be possible or the best model to achieve Vermont's education goals in all regions of the State. In such situations, a supervisory union composed of multiple member districts, each with its separate school board, can may meet the State's goals, particularly if:

(1) the member districts consider themselves to be collectively responsible for the education of all prekindergarten through grade 12 students residing in the supervisory union;

(2) the supervisory union operates in a manner that <u>complies with its</u> <u>obligations under 16 V.S.A. § 261a and that</u> maximizes efficiencies through economies of scale and the flexible management, transfer, and sharing of <u>nonfinancial</u> resources among the member districts, <u>which may include a</u> <u>common personnel system</u>, with the goal of increasing the ratio of students to full-time equivalent staff;

(3) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school districts practicable, achieved wherever possible by the merger of districts with similar operating and tuitioning patterns; and

(4) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school districts practicable after consideration of greatly differing levels of indebtedness among the member districts; and

(4)(5) the combined average daily membership of all member districts is not less than $1,100 \ 900$.

* * * Secretary and State Board; Consideration of Alternative Structure Proposals * * *

Sec. 6b. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 10 is amended to read:Sec. 10. TRANSITION TO SUSTAINABLE GOVERNANCE STRUCTURES; PROPOSAL; FINAL PLAN

* * *

(c) Process. On and after October 1, 2017, the Secretary and State Board shall consider any proposals submitted by districts or groups of districts under Sec. 9 of this act. Districts that submit such a proposal shall have the opportunity to add to or otherwise amend their proposal in connection with the Secretary's consideration of the proposal and conversations with the district or districts under subsection (a) of this section, and in connection with testimony presented to the State Board under subsection (b) of this section. The State Board may, in its discretion, approve an alternative governance proposal at any time on or before November 30, 2018.

(d) The statewide plan required by subsection (b) of this section shall include default Articles of Agreement to be used by all new unified union school districts created under the plan until the board of the new district votes to approve new or amended articles.

(e) After the State Board of Education issues the statewide plan under subsection (b) of this section, districts subject to merger shall have 90 days to form a study committee under 16 V.S.A. § 706b and to draft Articles of Agreement for the new district. During this period, the study committee shall hold at least one public hearing to consider and take comments on the draft Articles of Agreement.

(f) If the study committee formed under subsection (e) of this section does not approve Articles of Agreement within the 90-day period provided in that subsection, the provisions in the default Articles of Agreement included in the statewide plan shall apply to the new district.

(c)(g) Applicability. This section shall not apply to:

(1) an interstate school district;

(2) a regional career technical center school district formed under 16 V.S.A. chapter 37, subchapter 5A; or

(3) a district that, between June 30, 2013 and July 2, 2019, began to operate as a unified union school district and:

(A) voluntarily merged into the preferred education governance structure, an Education District, as set forth Sec. 5(b) of this act; or

(B) is a regional education district or any other district eligible to receive incentives pursuant to 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended by

2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156.

* * * Deadline for Small School Support Metrics * * *

Sec. 6c. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 21 is amended to read:

Sec. 21. SMALL SCHOOL SUPPORT; METRICS

On or before July 1, 2018, the State Board of Education shall adopt and publish metrics by which it will make determinations whether to award small school support grants pursuant to 16 V.S.A. § 4015 on and after July 1, 2019, as amended by Sec. 20 of this act; provided, however, that on or before September 30, 2017, the State Board shall publish a list of districts that it determines to be geographically isolated pursuant to that section as amended by Sec. 20 of this act.

<u>Tenth</u>: By striking out Sec. 7 (Self-Evaluation, Meetings, and Proposal) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 7. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 9 is amended to read:

Sec. 9. SELF-EVALUATION, MEETINGS, AND PROPOSAL

(a) On or before November 30, 2017 the date that is the earlier of six months after the date the State Board's rules on the process for submitting alternative governance proposals take effect or January 31, 2018, the board of each school district in the State that has a governance structure different from the preferred structure identified in Sec. 5(b) of this act (Education District), or that does not expect to become or will not become an Education District on or before July 1, 2019, shall perform each of the following actions, unless the district qualifies for an exemption under Sec. 10(g) of this act.

* * *

Eleventh: In Sec. 9, in subsection (e), by deleting subsection (e) in its entirety

Twelfth: By adding a new section, to be Sec. 17, to read as follows:

Sec. 17. QUALIFICATION FOR INCENTIVES; ASSIGNMENT TO A SUPERVISORY UNION BY THE STATE BOARD

Notwithstanding any requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 6 and 7 that the newly formed school district be its own supervisory district, the newly formed school district shall qualify for the incentives under this section even if it is assigned to a supervisory union by the State Board of Education and that assignment by the State Board is not made at the request of the school district.

Thirteen: By adding four new sections, to be Secs. 18, 19, 20, and 21, with

reader assistances, to read as follows:

* * * State Board Rulemaking Authority * * *

Sec. 18. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 8 is amended to read:

Sec. 8. EVALUATION BY THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

* * *

(c) The State Board may adopt rules designed to assist districts in submitting alternative structure proposals, but shall not by rule or otherwise impose more stringent requirements than those in this act.

* * * Tax Provisions * * *

Sec. 19. CALCULATION OF EDUCATION PROPERTY TAX SPENDING ADJUSTMENT AND EDUCATION INCOME TAX SPENDING ADJUSTMENT FOR CERTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICTS

(a) Under this section, a qualifying school district is a school district:

(1) that operates no schools and pays tuition for all resident students in prekindergarten through grade 12;

(2) that, on or before November 15, 2017, obtains final approval from its electorate to consolidate with an existing unified union school district that is eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153 (consolidated district), as amended; and

(3) for which either:

(A) the education property tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A. § 5401(13)(A) for the district's fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district's education property tax spending adjustment for the district's 2015 fiscal year by more than 100 percent; or

(B) the education income tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A. \S 5401(13)(B) for the district's fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district's education income tax spending adjustment for the district's 2015 fiscal year by more than 100 percent.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary:

(1) for the first year in which the consolidated district's equalized homestead tax rate or household income percentage is reduced under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended, the equalized homestead tax rate and household income percentage for the town associated with the qualifying district shall be set at the average equalized homestead tax rate and household income percentage of the towns associated with the other districts that merge into the consolidated district; and (2) 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4(a)(2), which limits the amount by which tax rates are permitted to change, shall not apply to the town associated with the qualifying district for the first year for which the consolidated district's equalized homestead tax rate or household income percentage is reduced under that act.

Sec. 20. MODIFIED UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICTS; TAX RATE

CALCULATIONS

The tax rate provisions in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 155, Sec. 13(a)(1), as amended, shall not apply to the calculation of tax rates in a member of a modified unified union school district (MUUSD) formed under 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, Sec. 17, as amended, if that member is a member for fewer than all grades, prekindergarten through grade 12. This section shall apply to the calculation of taxes in any MUUSD that began full operation after July 1, 2015.

* * * Elections to Unified Union School District Board * * *

Sec. 21. ELECTIONS TO UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD

(a) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 706k, the election of a director on the board of a unified union school district who is to serve on the board after expiration of the term for an initial director shall be held at the unified union school district's annual meeting in accordance with the district's articles of agreement.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 706l, if a vacancy occurs on the board of a unified union school district and the vacancy is in a seat that is allocated to a specific town, the clerk shall immediately notify the selectboard of the town. Within 30 days of the receipt of that notice, the unified union school district board, in consultation with the selectboard, shall appoint a person who is otherwise eligible to serve as a member of the unified union school district board to fill the vacancy until an election is held in accordance with the unified union school district's articles of agreement.

(c) This section is repealed on July 1, 2018.

and by renumbering the remaining section (Effective Date) to be numerically correct

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)

(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 31, 2017)

Rep. Ancel of Calais, for the Committee on Ways and Means, recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment as recommended by the Committee on Education and when further amended as follows:

In the ninth instance of amendment, in Sec. 6a, amending 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 5 (preferred education governance structure; alternative structure), by striking out the section designation "PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE" and inserting in lieu thereof "PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE GUIDELINES".

(Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Juskiewicz of Cambridge, for the Committee on Appropriations, recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposals of amendment as recommended by the Committees on Education and Ways and Means.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)

Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 29

An act relating to permitting Medicare supplemental plans to offer expense discounts

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Medicare Supplemental Plans * * *

Sec. 1. 8 V.S.A. § 4080e is amended to read:

§ 4080e. MEDICARE SUPPLEMENTAL HEALTH INSURANCE POLICIES; COMMUNITY RATING; DISABILITY

(a) A health insurance company, hospital or medical service corporation, or health maintenance organization shall use a community rating method acceptable to the Commissioner for determining premiums for Medicare supplemental insurance policies.

(b)(1) The Commissioner shall adopt rules for standards and procedure for permitting health insurance companies, hospital or medical service organizations, or health maintenance organizations that issue Medicare supplemental insurance policies to use one or more risk classifications in their

community rating method. The premium charged shall not deviate from the community rate and the rules shall not permit medical underwriting and screening, except that a health insurance company, hospital or medical service corporation, or health maintenance organization may set different community rates for persons eligible for Medicare by reason of age and persons eligible for Medicare by reason of age and persons eligible for Medicare by reason of disability.

(2)(A) A health insurance company, hospital or medical service corporation, or health maintenance organization that issues Medicare supplemental insurance policies may offer expense discounts to encourage timely, full payment of premiums. Expense discounts may include premium reductions for advance payment of a full year's premiums, for paperless billing, for electronic funds transfer, and for other activities directly related to premium payment. The availability of one or more expense discounts shall not be considered a deviation from community rating.

(B) A health insurance company, hospital or medical service corporation, or health maintenance organization that issues Medicare supplemental insurance policies shall not offer reduced premiums or other discounts related to a person's age, gender, marital status, or other demographic criteria.

* * *

* * * Health Care Professional Payment Parity * * *

Sec. 2. FINDINGS

The General Assembly finds:

(1) Serious disparities exist between the amounts commercial health insurers in Vermont reimburse health care professionals for the same services in different settings. The differences are particularly significant for the amounts paid for the services of a health care professional practicing at an academic medical center and those of a health care professional in an independent medical practice or community hospital setting. For example, in January 2015, one Vermont insurer provided the following reimbursement amounts for physician services:

(A) for an office consultation visit for an established patient, CPT code 99213, \$78.00 for a physician in an independent practice and \$177.00, or 2.3 times that amount, for a physician employed by an academic medical center;

(B) for a diagnostic, screening colonoscopy, CPT code 45378, \$584.00 for a physician in an independent practice and \$1,356.00, or 2.3 times that amount, for a physician employed by an academic medical center; and (C) for removal of a single skin lesion for biopsy, CPT code 11000, \$109.00 for a physician in an independent practice and \$349.00, or 3.2 times that amount, for a physician employed by an academic medical center.

(2) Community hospitals in Vermont face disparities in their physician reimbursement rates that are similar to those of independent practices.

(3) The General Assembly asked the Green Mountain Care Board, the commercial insurers, and others to address the issue of the disparity in reimbursement amounts to health care professionals in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 144, Sec. 19; 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 54, Sec 23; and 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 143, Sec. 5, but little progress has been made to date.

Sec. 3. GREEN MOUNTAIN CARE BOARD; HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONAL PAYMENT PARITY WORK GROUP

(a) The Green Mountain Care Board shall convene the Health Care Professional Payment Parity Work Group to determine how best to ensure fair and equitable reimbursement amounts to health care professionals for providing the same services in different settings.

(b) The Work Group shall be composed of the following members:

(1) the Chair of the Green Mountain Care Board or designee;

(2) the Commissioner of Vermont Health Access or designee;

(3) a representative of each commercial health insurer with 5,000 or more covered lives in Vermont;

(4) a representative of independent physician practices, appointed by Health First;

(5) a representative of physicians employed by hospital-owned practices, appointed by the Vermont Medical Society;

(6) a representative of the University of Vermont Medical Center;

(7) a representative of Vermont's community hospitals, appointed by the Vermont Association of Hospitals and Health Systems;

(8) a representative of Vermont's critical access hospitals, appointed by the Vermont Association of Hospitals and Health Systems;

(9) a representative of each accountable care organization in this State;

(10) a representative of Vermont's federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics, appointed by the Bi-State Primary Care Association;

(11) a representative of naturopathic physicians, appointed by the Vermont Association of Naturopathic Physicians;

(12) a representative of chiropractors, appointed by the Vermont Chiropractic Association; and

(13) the Chief Health Care Advocate or designee from the Office of the Health Care Advocate.

(c) The Green Mountain Care Board, in consultation with the other members of the Work Group, shall develop a plan for reimbursing health care professionals in a fair and equitable manner, including the following:

(1) proposing a process for reducing existing disparities in reimbursement amounts for health care professionals across all settings by the maximum achievable amount over three years, beginning on or before January 1, 2018, which shall include:

(A) establishing a process for and evaluating the potential impacts of increasing the reimbursement amounts for lower paid providers and reducing the reimbursement amounts for the highest paid providers;

(B) evaluating the potential impact of requiring health insurers to modify their reimbursement amounts to health care professionals across all settings for nonemergency evaluation and management office visits codes to the amount of the insurer's average payment for that code across all settings in Vermont on January 1, 2017 or on another specified date;

(C) ensuring that there will be no negative net impact on reimbursement amounts for providers in independent practices and community hospitals;

(D) ensuring that there will be no increase in medical costs or health insurance premiums as a result of the adjusted reimbursement amounts;

(E) considering the impact of the adjusted reimbursement amounts on the implementation of value-based reimbursement models, including the all-payer model; and

(F) developing an oversight and enforcement mechanism through which the Green Mountain Care Board shall evaluate the alignment between reimbursement amounts to providers, hospital budget revenues, and health insurance premiums;

(2) identifying the time frame for adjusting the reimbursement amounts for each category of health care services; and

(3) enforcement and accountability provisions to ensure measurable results.

(d)(1) The Green Mountain Care Board shall provide an update on its progress toward achieving provider payment parity at each meeting of the

Health Reform Oversight Committee between May 2017 and January 2018.

(2) On or before November 1, 2017, the Green Mountain Care Board shall submit a final timeline and implementation plan, and propose any necessary legislative changes, to the Health Reform Oversight Committee, the House Committee on Health Care, and the Senate Committees on Health and Welfare and on Finance.

Sec. 4. REIMBURSEMENT AMOUNTS FOR NEWLY ACQUIRED OR NEWLY AFFILIATED PRACTICES

(a) Health care professionals employed by practices newly acquired by or newly affiliated with hospitals on or after November 1, 2017 shall continue to be reimbursed the same professional fees as they were prior to the date of the acquisition or affiliation, subject to any modifications resulting from implementation of the provider payment parity plan required by Sec. 3 of this act.

(b) The Green Mountain Care Board shall ensure compliance with subsection (a) of this section through its review of hospital budgets pursuant to 18 V.S.A. chapter 221, subchapter 7.

* * * Health Insurer Bill Back * * *

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 9374(h) is amended to read:

(h)(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, expenses incurred to obtain information, analyze expenditures, review hospital budgets, and for any other contracts authorized by the Board shall be borne as follows:

(A) 40 percent by the State from State monies;

(B) 15 percent by the hospitals; and

(C) 15 45 percent by nonprofit hospital and medical service corporations licensed under 8 V.S.A. chapter 123 or 125;

(D) 15 percent by, health insurance companies licensed under 8 V.S.A. chapter $101_{\frac{1}{22}}$ and

(E) 15 percent by health maintenance organizations licensed under 8 V.S.A. chapter 139.

(2) The Board may determine the scope of the incurred expenses to be allocated pursuant to the formula set forth in subdivision (1) of this subsection if, in the Board's discretion, the expenses to be allocated are in the best interests of the regulated entities and of the State.

(3) Expenses under subdivision (1)(C) of this subsection shall be billed

to persons licensed under Title 8 based on premiums paid for health care coverage, which for the purposes of this section shall include major medical, comprehensive medical, hospital or surgical coverage, and comprehensive health care services plans, but shall not include long-term care or limited benefits, disability, credit or stop loss, or excess loss insurance coverage.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Secs. 1 (Medicare supplemental plans) and 5 (health insurer bill back) shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

(b) Secs. 2-4 (payment parity) and this section shall take effect on passage.

(For text see House Journal March 21, 2017)

NOTICE CALENDAR

Senate Proposal of Amendment

H. 143

An act relating to automobile insurance requirements and transportation network companies

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 23 V.S.A. chapter 10 is added to read:

CHAPTER 10. TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANIES

§ 750. DEFINITIONS; INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

(a) Definitions. As used in this chapter:

(1) "Digital network" or "network" means any online-enabled application, software, website, or system offered or used by a transportation network company that enables the prearrangement of rides with transportation network drivers.

(2) "Personal vehicle" means a vehicle that is:

(A) used by a driver to provide a prearranged ride;

(B) owned, leased, or otherwise authorized for use by the driver; and

(C) not a taxicab, limousine, or other for-hire vehicle.

(3) "Prearranged ride" or "ride" means the transportation provided by a driver to a transportation network rider, beginning when a driver accepts the rider's request for a ride through a digital network controlled by a company; continuing while the driver transports the rider; and ending when the last

requesting rider departs from the vehicle. The term does not include:

(A) shared-expense carpool or vanpool arrangements;

(B) use of a taxicab, limousine, or other for-hire vehicle;

(C) use of a public or private regional transportation company that operates along a fixed route; or

(D) a ride furnished through a broker using a publicly funded network to connect riders to drivers through the Elders and Persons with Disabilities Program, Medicaid Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Program, or other similar governmental transportation program.

(4) "Transportation network company" or "company" means a person that uses a digital network to connect riders to drivers who provide prearranged rides.

(5) "Transportation network company driver" or "driver" means an individual who:

(A) receives connections to potential riders and related services from a transportation network company in exchange for payment of a fee to the company; and

(B) uses a personal vehicle to offer or provide a prearranged ride to riders upon connection through a digital network controlled by a transportation network company in exchange for compensation or payment of a fee.

(6) "Transportation network company rider" or "rider" means an individual who uses a company's digital network to connect with a driver who provides rides in his or her personal vehicle between points chosen by the rider.

(b) Company's financial responsibility.

(1) Beginning on July 1, 2017, a driver, or company on the driver's behalf, shall maintain primary automobile insurance that recognizes that the driver is a company driver or otherwise uses a vehicle to transport passengers for compensation and covers the driver while the driver is logged on to the company's digital network or while the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride.

(2)(A) The following automobile insurance requirements shall apply while a participating driver is logged on to the transportation network company's digital network and is available to receive transportation requests but is not engaged in a prearranged ride:

(i) primary automobile liability insurance in the amount of at least \$50,000.00 for death and bodily injury per person, \$100,000.00 for death and bodily injury per incident, and \$25,000.00 for property damage; and

(ii) any other State-mandated coverage under section 941 of this

title.

(B) The coverage requirements of this subdivision (2) may be satisfied by any of the following:

(i) automobile insurance maintained by the driver;

(ii) automobile insurance maintained by the company; or

(iii) any combination of subdivisions (i) and (ii) of this subdivision (2)(B).

(3)(A) The following automobile insurance requirements shall apply while a driver is engaged in a prearranged ride:

(i) primary automobile liability insurance that provides at least \$1,000,000.00 for death, bodily injury, and property damage;

(ii) uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage that provides at least \$1,000,000.00 for death, bodily injury, and property damage; and

(iii) \$10,000.00 in medical payments coverage (Med Pay).

(B) The coverage requirements of this subdivision (3) may be satisfied by any of the following:

(i) automobile insurance maintained by the driver;

(ii) automobile insurance maintained by the company; or

 $\underbrace{(iii) \quad any \ combination \ of \ subdivisions \ (i) \ and \ (ii) \ of \ this}{subdivision \ (3)(B).}$

(4) If insurance maintained by a driver under subdivision (2) or (3) of this subsection has lapsed or does not provide the required coverage, insurance maintained by a company shall provide such coverage beginning with the first dollar of a claim and shall have the duty to defend such claim.

(5) Coverage under an automobile insurance policy maintained by the company shall not be dependent on a personal automobile insurer first denying a claim nor shall a personal automobile insurance policy be required to first deny a claim.

(6) Insurance required by this subsection may be placed with an insurer licensed under chapter 101 (insurance companies generally) or 138 (surplus lines insurance) of this title.

(7) Insurance satisfying the requirements of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement for a motor vehicle under section 800 of this title.

(8) A driver shall carry proof of coverage satisfying this section at all times during use of a vehicle in connection with a company's digital network. In the event of an accident, a driver shall provide this insurance coverage information to the directly interested parties, automobile insurers, and law enforcement, upon request. Upon such request, a driver shall also disclose whether he or she was logged on to the network or was on a prearranged ride at the time of an accident.

(9) A person who fails to maintain primary automobile insurance as required in subdivisions (2) and (3) of this subsection (b) shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than \$500.00, and such violation shall be a traffic violation within the meaning of chapter 24 of this title. A person who fails to carry proof of insurance as required under subdivision (8) of this subsection (b) shall be subject to a fine of not more than \$100.00. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a person who operates a vehicle without financial responsibility as required by this subsection (b) is subject to administrative action as set forth in chapter 11 of this title.

(c) Disclosures. A transportation network company shall disclose in writing to its drivers the following before they are allowed to accept a request for a prearranged ride on the company's digital network:

(1) the insurance coverage, including the types of coverage and the limits for each coverage, that the company provides while the driver uses a personal vehicle in connection with the company's network; and

(2) that the driver's own automobile insurance policy, depending on its terms, might not provide any coverage while the driver is logged on to the company's network and available to receive transportation requests or engaged in a prearranged ride.

(d)(1) Automobile insurers. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, insurers that write automobile insurance in Vermont may exclude any and all coverage afforded under a policy issued to an owner or operator of a personal vehicle for any loss or injury that occurs while a driver is logged on to a transportation network company's digital network or while a driver provides a prearranged ride. This right to exclude all coverage may apply to any coverage in an automobile insurance policy, including:

(A) liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage;

(B) personal injury protection coverage;

(C) uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage;

(D) medical payments coverage;

(E) comprehensive physical damage coverage; and

(F) collision physical damage coverage.

(2) Nothing in this subsection implies or requires that a personal automobile insurance policy provide coverage while the driver is logged on to a company's digital network, while the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride, or while the driver otherwise uses a vehicle to transport passengers for compensation.

(3) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require an insurer to use any particular policy language or reference to this section in order to exclude any and all coverage for any loss or injury that occurs while a driver is logged on to a company's digital network or while a driver provides a prearranged ride.

(4) Nothing in this subsection is deemed to preclude an insurer from providing primary or excess coverage for the driver's vehicle, if it chooses to do so by contract or endorsement.

(5) Insurers that exclude the coverage described under subsection (b) of this section shall have no duty to defend or indemnify any claim expressly excluded thereunder.

(6) Nothing in this section is deemed to invalidate or limit an exclusion contained in a policy, including any policy in use or approved for use in Vermont prior to the enactment of this section, that excludes coverage for vehicles used to carry persons or property for a charge or available for hire by the public.

(7) An insurer that defends or indemnifies a claim against a driver that is excluded under the terms of its policy shall have a right of contribution against other insurers that provide automobile insurance to the same driver in satisfaction of the coverage requirements of subsection (b) of this section at the time of loss.

(8) In a claims coverage investigation, transportation network companies shall immediately provide, upon request by directly involved parties or any insurer of the transportation network company driver, if applicable, the precise times that a transportation network company driver logged on and off the transportation network company's digital network in the 12-hour period immediately preceding and in the 12-hour period immediately following the accident. Insurers providing coverage under subsection (b) of this section shall disclose, upon request by any other insurer involved in the particular claim, the applicable charges, exclusions, and limits provided under any automobile insurance maintained in order to satisfy the requirements of subsection (b) of this section.

§ 752. DRIVER REQUIREMENTS; BACKGROUND CHECKS

(a) A company shall not allow an individual to act as a driver on the company's network without requiring the individual to submit to the company an application that includes:

(1) the individual's name, address, and date of birth;

(2) a copy of the individual's driver's license;

(3) a copy of the registration for the personal vehicle that the individual will use to provide prearranged rides; and

(4) proof of financial responsibility for the personal vehicle described in subdivision (3) of this subsection of a type and in the amounts required by the company.

(b)(1) A company shall not allow an individual to act as a driver on the company's network unless, with respect to the driver, the company:

(A) obtains a Vermont criminal record from the Vermont Crime Information Center; and

(B) contracts with an entity accredited by the National Association of Professional Background Screeners to conduct a national criminal record check, a motor vehicle check, and a search of the Vermont Sex Offender Registry and the National Sex Offender Public Registry.

(2) The background checks required by this subsection shall be conducted annually by the company.

(c) A company shall not allow an individual to act as a driver on the company's network if the company knows or should know that the individual:

(1) has been convicted within the last seven years of:

(A) a listed crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7);

(B) an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in violation of 13 V.S.A. chapter 64;

(C) a violation of 18 V.S.A. § 4231(b)(2), (b)(3), or (c)(selling, dispensing, or trafficking cocaine); 4232(b)(2) or (b)(3)(selling or dispensing LSD); 4233(b)(2), (b)(3), or (c)(selling, dispensing, or trafficking heroin); 4234(b)(2) or (b)(3)(selling or dispensing depressants, stimulants, and narcotics); 4234a(b)(2), (b)(3), or (c)(selling, dispensing, or trafficking methamphetamine); 4235(c)(2) or (c)(3)(selling or dispensing hallucinogenic drugs); or 4235a(b)(2) or (b)(3)(selling or dispensing Ecstasy);

(D) a violation of section 1201 (operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs) of this title;

(E) a felony violation of 13 V.S.A. chapter 47 (frauds) or chapter 57

(larceny and embezzlement); or

(F) a comparable offense in another jurisdiction;

(2) has been convicted within the last three years of:

(A) more than three moving violations as defined in subdivision 4(44) of this title;

(B) grossly negligent operation of a motor vehicle in violation of section 1071 of this title or operating with a suspended or revoked license in violation of section 674 of this title; or

(C) a comparable offense in another jurisdiction; or

(3) is or has been required to register as a sex offender in any jurisdiction.

(c) A company shall establish and enforce a zero tolerance policy for drug and alcohol use by drivers during any period when a driver is engaged in, or is logged into the company's network but is not engaged in, a prearranged ride. The policy shall include provisions for investigations of alleged policy violations and the suspension of drivers under investigation.

(d) A company shall require that a personal vehicle used to provide prearranged rides complies with all applicable laws and regulations concerning vehicle equipment.

§ 753. RECORDS; INSPECTION

The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or designee, at all reasonable times, has the right to inspect driver and company records demonstrating compliance with the requirements of this chapter, including the results of background checks, proof that vehicles meet the standards of this chapter, and proof of adequate insurance.

§ 754. ENFORCEMENT; ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may impose an administrative penalty if a company violates a provision of this chapter.

(b) A violation may be subject to an administrative penalty of not more than \$500.00. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day's continuance may be deemed a separate and distinct offense.

(c) The company shall be given notice and opportunity for a hearing for alleged violations under this section. Service of the notice shall be sufficient if sent by first class mail to the applicable address on file with the Secretary of State. The notice shall include the following:

(1) a factual description of the alleged violation;

(2) a reference to the particular statute allegedly violated;

(3) the amount of the proposed administrative penalty; and

(4) a warning that the company will be deemed to have waived its right to a hearing and that the penalty will be imposed if no hearing is requested within 15 days from the date of the notice.

(d) A company that receives notice under subsection (c) of this section shall be deemed to have waived the right to a hearing unless, within 15 days from the date of the notice, the company requests a hearing in writing. If the company waives the right to a hearing, the Commissioner shall issue a final order finding the company in default and imposing the penalty.

(e) The provisions of sections 105, 106, and 107 of this title shall apply to hearings conducted under this section.

(f) The Commissioner may collect an unpaid administrative penalty by filing a civil action in Superior Court or through any other means available to State agencies.

(g) The remedies authorized by this section shall be in addition to any other civil or criminal remedies provided by law for violation of this chapter.

§ 755. PREEMPTION; SAVINGS CLAUSE

(a) A municipality shall not adopt an ordinance, resolution, or bylaw regulating transportation network companies that is inconsistent with the requirements of this chapter.

(b) Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to a municipal ordinance, resolution, or bylaw regulating transportation network companies adopted by a municipality with a population of more than 35,000 residents based on the 2010 census and in effect on July 1, 2017. This subsection shall be repealed on July 1, 2022.

Sec. 2. AUTOMOBILE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY; STUDY

<u>The Commissioner of Financial Regulation shall review the minimum</u> automobile insurance requirements in each of the states located in the northeastern region of the United States and shall report his or her findings and recommendations with respect to Vermont's minimum automobile insurance requirements to the General Assembly on or before November 1, 2017.

Sec. 3. STUDY; STATEWIDE REGULATION OF VEHICLES FOR HIRE

(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, in consultation with the Director of the Office of Professional Regulation, shall conduct a study of whether and

to what extent vehicles for hire, vehicle for hire drivers, and vehicle for hire companies should be regulated by the State. Among other things, the Commissioner shall consider:

(1) issues related to public safety, necessity, and convenience;

(2) regulatory models adopted in other states, as well as in Vermont municipalities, applicable to transportation network companies and other vehicle for hire companies;

(3) matters related to passenger safety, including driver background checks, periodic vehicle safety inspections, and signage;

(4) matters related to insurance coverage, including minimum liability coverage, disclosure requirements, and claims procedures;

(5) matters related to fares, including the provision of fare estimates to riders, restrictions on "surge pricing," and payment methods;

(6) matters such as the licensing or permitting of companies and drivers; nondiscrimination street hails; the protection of driver and rider information; taxes or fees; the employment status of drivers; increased access for people with disabilities;

(7) the extent to which all vehicles for hire, vehicle for hire drivers, and vehicle for hire companies should be treated similarly with respect to statewide regulation; and

(8) any other matter deemed relevant by the Commissioner and the Director.

(b) For purposes of this section, a "vehicle for hire" is a passenger vehicle transporting passengers for compensation of any kind. Vehicles for hire include taxicabs, transportation network company vehicles, limousines, jitneys, car services, contract vehicles, shuttle vans, and other such vehicles transporting passengers for compensation of any kind except:

(1) Those which an employer uses to transport employees.

(2) Those which are used primarily to transport elderly, special needs and handicapped persons for whom special transportation programs are designed and funded by State, federal, or local authority otherwise exempted pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 4(15).

(3) Buses, trolleys, trains, or similar mass transit vehicles.

(4) Courtesy vehicles for which the passenger pays no direct charge, such as hotel or car dealer shuttle vans.

(c) On or before December 15, 2017, the Commissioner shall report his or

her findings and recommendations to the Senate Committees on Transportation, on Judiciary, and on Finance and the House Committees on Transportation, on Judiciary, and on Commerce and Economic Development.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

And that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read:

An act relating to transportation network companies.

(For text see House Journal February 9, 2017)

Committee of Conference Report

S. 34

An act relating to cross-promoting development incentives and State policy goals

TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference, to which were referred the disagreeing votes of the two Houses upon Senate Bill, entitled:

S.34. An act relating to cross-promoting development incentives and State policy goals.

Respectfully reports that it has met and considered the same and recommends that the House recede from its Proposal of Amendment and that the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Rural Economic Development Initiative * * *

Sec. 1. 10 V.S.A. chapter 15, subchapter 4 is added to read:

Subchapter 4. Rural Economic Development Initiative

§ 325m. RURAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE

(a) Definitions. As used in this subchapter:

(1) "Industrial park" means an area of land permitted as an industrial park under chapter 151 of this title or under 24 V.S.A. chapter 117, or under both.

(2) "Rural area" means a county of the State designated as "rural" or "mostly rural" by the U.S. Census Bureau in its most recent decennial census.

(3) "Small town" means a town in the State with a population of less than 5,000 at the date of the most recent U.S. Census Bureau decennial census.

(b) Establishment. There is created within the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board a Rural Economic Development Initiative to promote and facilitate community economic development in the small towns and rural areas of the State. The Rural Economic Development Initiative shall collaborate with municipalities, businesses, industrial parks, regional development corporations, and other appropriate entities to access funding and other assistance available to small towns and businesses in rural areas of the State when existing State resources or staffing assistance is not available.

(c) Services; access to funding.

(1) The Rural Economic Development Initiative shall provide the following services to small towns and businesses in rural areas:

(A) identification of grant or other funding opportunities available to small towns, businesses in rural areas, and industrial parks in small towns and rural areas that facilitate business development, siting of businesses, workforce development, broadband deployment, infrastructure development, or other economic development opportunities;

(B) technical assistance to small towns, businesses in rural areas, and industrial parks in small towns and rural areas in writing grants, accessing and completing the application process for identified grants or other funding opportunities, including writing applications for grants or other funding, coordination with providers of grants or other funding, strategic planning for the implementation or timing of activities funded by grants or other funding, and compliance with the requirements of grant awards or awards of other funding.

(2) In providing services under this subsection, the Rural Economic Development Initiative shall give first priority to projects that have received necessary State or municipal approval and that are ready for construction or implementation.

(d) Services; business development. The Rural Economic Development Initiative shall provide small towns and rural areas with services to facilitate business development in these areas. These services shall include:

(1) Identifying businesses or business types suitable for a small town, rural areas, industrial parks in a small town or rural area, or coworker spaces or generator spaces in rural areas. In identifying businesses or business types, the Rural Economic Development Initiative shall seek to:

(A) identify businesses or business types in the following priority areas:

(i) milk plants, milk handlers, or dairy products, as those terms are defined in 6 V.S.A. § 2672;

(ii) the outdoor equipment or recreation industry;

(iii) the value-added forest products industry;

(iv) the value-added food industry;

(v) phosphorus removal technology; and

(vi) composting facilities.

(B) explore with a small town or rural area whether underused or closed school buildings are appropriate sites for coworker or generator spaces.

(2) Recommending available grants, tax credits, or other incentives that a small town or rural area can use to attract businesses.

(3) In providing services under this subsection, the Rural Economic Development Initiative shall coordinate with the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development in order to avoid duplication by the Rural Economic Development Initiative of business recruitment and workforce development services provided by the Agency of Commerce and Community Development.

(e) Report. Beginning on January 15, 2018, and annually thereafter, the Rural Economic Development Initiative shall submit to the Senate Committees on Agriculture and on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs and the House Committees on Agriculture and Forestry and on Commerce and Economic Development a report regarding the activities and progress of the Initiative. The report shall include:

(1) a summary of the Initiative's activities in the preceding calendar year;

(2) an evaluation of the effectiveness of the services provided by the Initiative to small towns, rural areas, and industrial parks;

(3) a summary of the Initiative's progress in attracting priority businesses to small towns and rural areas;

(4) an accounting of the grants or other funding that the Initiative facilitated or provided assistance with;

(5) an accounting of the funds acquired by the Rural Economic Development Initiative for administration of grants or other funding mechanisms and whether these funds are sufficient to offset the cost of the Rural Economic Development Initiative; and

(6) recommended changes to the program, including proposed legislative amendments to further economic development in small towns and rural areas in the State.

Sec. 2. FUNDING; LEGISLATIVE INTENT; RURAL ECONOMIC

DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE

It is the intent of the General Assembly that \$75,000.00 appropriated to the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets in fiscal year 2018 shall be allocated by the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets to the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board for implementation of the Rural Economic Development Initiative under 10 V.S.A. chapter 15, subchapter 4.

* * * Vermont Milk Commission * * *

Sec. 3. VERMONT MILK COMMISSION; EQUITABLE DAIRY PRICING

On or before October 1, 2017, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets shall convene the Vermont Milk Commission under 6 V.S.A. chapter 162 to review and evaluate proposals that enhance and stabilize the dairy industry in Vermont and New England and that may be appropriate for inclusion in the federal Farm Bill 2018. The Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets shall submit to the congressional delegation of Vermont proposals that the Milk Commission recommends for inclusion in the federal Farm Bill 2018.

* * * Cross-promotion of Development Programs * * *

Sec. 4. EXECUTIVE BRANCH CROSS-PROMOTION OF LOAN, GRANT,

AND INCENTIVE PROGRAMS

(a) The General Assembly finds that it is within the authority of the Executive Branch to manage a process of continuous improvement for agency and statewide programs and operations. While undertaking these efforts, the Executive Branch shall ensure that State loan, grant, and other incentive programs cross-promote:

(1) the availability of financial and technical assistance from the State through education and outreach materials; and

(2) the State policies funded by State incentive programs, including the adoption of renewable energy, rural economic development, public access to conserved lands, and water quality improvements.

(b) The Secretary of Administration shall provide material or information regarding the cross-promotion of State policies on State websites and within application materials available to the public regarding State loan, grant, and other incentive programs.

* * * Energy Efficiency * * *

Sec. 5. REPORT; ENERGY EFFICIENCY CHARGE; COMMERCIAL AND

INDUSTRIAL CUSTOMERS

(a) On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Public Service (the Commissioner) shall submit a report with recommendations as described in subsection (b) of this section.

(1) In preparing the report, the Commissioner shall consult with the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development, the energy efficiency utilities (EEU) appointed under 30 V.S.A. § 209(d)(2), the regional development corporations, the Public Service Board, and other affected persons.

(2) The Commissioner shall submit the report to the Senate Committees on Finance, on Natural Resources and Energy, and on Agriculture and the House Committees on Ways and Means, on Energy and Technology, on Commerce and Economic Development, and on Agriculture and Forestry.

(b) The report shall provide the Commissioner's recommendations on:

(1) Whether and how to increase the use by commercial and industrial customers of self-administered efficiency programs under 30 V.S.A. § 209(d) and (j), including:

(A) Potential methods and incentives to increase participation in selfadministration of energy efficiency, including:

(i) Potential changes to the eligibility criteria for existing programs.

(ii) Use of performance-based structures.

(iii) Self-administration of energy efficiency by a commercial and industrial customer, with payment of an energy efficiency charge (EEC) amount only for technical assistance by an EEU, if the customer demonstrates that it possesses in-house expertise that supports such self-administration and implements energy efficiency measures that the customer demonstrates are cost-effective and save energy at a benefit-cost ratio similar to the EEU.

(B) The potential inclusion of such methods and incentives in EEU demand resource plans.

(C) Periodic reporting by the EEUs of participation rates in selfadministration of energy efficiency by commercial and industrial customers located in the small towns in the State's rural areas. As used in this subdivision (C):

(i) "Rural area" means a county of the State designated as "rural" or "mostly rural" by the U.S. Census Bureau in its most recent decennial census.

(ii) "Small town" means a town in a rural area of the State with a

population of less than 5,000 at the date of the most recent U.S. Census Bureau decennial census.

(2) The potential establishment of a multiyear pilot program that allows a category of commercial and industrial customers to apply the total amount of their Energy Efficiency Charge (EEC), for the period of the pilot, to investments that reduce the customer's total energy consumption.

(A) The goal of such a program would be to reduce significantly all energy costs for the customer, and to transform the energy profile of the customer such that significant savings would be generated and endure over the long term. Customers in the program would receive the full amount of their EEC contributions, for the period of the pilot, in the form of direct services and incentives provided by an EEU, which would consider how to lower customers' bills cost-effectively across electric, heating, transportation, and process fuels using energy efficiency, demand management, energy storage, fuel switching, and on-site renewable energy.

(B) In the report, the Commissioner shall consider:

(i) the definition of eligible commercial and industrial customers;

(ii) the potential establishment and implementation of such a program in a manner similar to an economic development rate for the EEU;

(iii) the interaction of such a program with the existing programs for self-managed energy efficiency under 30 V.S.A. § 209(d), including the Energy Savings Account, Self-Managed Energy Efficiency, and Customer Credit Programs;

(iv) the benefits and costs of such a program, including:

(I) a reduction in the operating costs of participating customers;

(II) the effect on job retention and creation and on economic development;

(III) the effect on greenhouse gas emissions;

(IV) the effect on systemwide efficiency benefits that would otherwise be obtained with the EEC funds, such as avoided supply costs, avoided transmission and distribution costs, avoided regional network service charges, and lost revenues from the regional forward-capacity market;

(V) the potential impact on commercial and industrial customers that may not be eligible to participate in such a program;

(VI) the extent to which such a program may result in cost shifts or subsidization among rate classes, and methods for avoiding or

mitigating these effects;

(VII) the effect on the budgets developed through the demand resource planning process;

(VIII) the costs of administration;

(IX) any other benefits and costs of the potential program; and

(v) the consistency of such a program with least-cost planning as defined in 30 V.S.A. § 218c; with State energy goals and policy set forth in 10 V.S.A. §§ 578, 580, and 581 and 30 V.S.A. §§ 202a and 218e; and with the State energy plans adopted pursuant to 30 V.S.A. §§ 202 and 202b.

(c) The report submitted under this section shall include a proposed timeline to phase in the recommendations contained in the report. In developing this timeline, the Commissioner shall consider the impact to the established budgets of the EEUs, the regulatory requirements applicable to the EEUs, and the value of rapid implementation of the recommendations.

Sec. 6. 30 V.S.A. \S 209(d)(3) is amended to read:

(3) Energy efficiency charge; regulated fuels. In addition to its existing authority, the Board may establish by order or rule a volumetric charge to customers for the support of energy efficiency programs that meet the requirements of section 218c of this title, with due consideration to the State's energy policy under section 202a of this title and to its energy and economic policy interests under section 218e of this title to maintain and enhance the State's economic vitality. The charge shall be known as the energy efficiency charge, shall be shown separately on each customer's bill, and shall be paid to a fund administrator appointed by the Board and deposited into an the Electric Efficiency Fund. When such a charge is shown, notice as to how to obtain information about energy efficiency programs approved under this section shall be provided in a manner directed by the Board. This notice shall include, at a minimum, a toll-free telephone number, and to the extent feasible shall be on the customer's bill and near the energy efficiency charge.

* * *

* * * Environmental Permitting * * *

Sec. 7. 3 V.S.A. § 2822(j) is amended to read:

(j) In accordance with subsection (i) of this section, the following fees are established for permits, licenses, certifications, approvals, registrations, orders, and other actions taken by the Agency of Natural Resources.

(1) For air pollution control permits or registrations issued under 10 V.S.A. chapter 23:

(A) <u>Base service fees.</u> Any persons subject to the provisions of 10 V.S.A. § 556 shall submit with each permit application or with each request for a permit amendment, a base service fee in accordance with the base fee schedule in subdivision (i) of this subdivision (1)(A). Prior to taking final action under 10 V.S.A. § 556 on any application for a permit for a nonmajor stationary source or on any request for an amendment of a permit for such a source, the Secretary shall assess each applicant for any additional fees due to the Agency, assessed in accordance with the base fee schedule and the supplementary fee schedule in subdivision (ii) of this subdivision (1)(A). The applicant shall submit any fees so assessed to the Secretary prior to issuance of the final permit, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (i) of this section. The base fee schedule and the supplementary fee schedule are applicable to all applications on which the Secretary makes a final decision on or after the date on which this section is operative.

- (i) Base fee schedule
 - (I) Application for permit to construct

or modify source

(aa) Major stationary source	\$ 15,000.00
(bb) Nonmajor stationary source	\$ 2,000.00
(cc) <u>A source of emissions from</u>	<u>\$ 1,000.00</u>
anaerobic digestion of agricultural	
products, agricultural by-products,	
agricultural waste, or food waste	
(II) Amendments	
Change in business name, division name,	
or plant name; mailing address; or	
company stack designation; or other	
administrative amendments	\$ 150.00
(ii) Supplementary fee schedule for nonmajor	
stationary sources	
(I) Engineering review	\$ 2,000.00
(II) Air quality impact analysis	
Review refined modeling	\$ 2,000.00
(III) Observe and review source emission	
- 3344 -	

testing	\$ 2,000.00
(IV) Audit performance of continuous emis-	
sions monitors	\$ 2,000.00
(V) Audit performance of ambient air	
monitoring	\$ 2,000.00
(VI) Implement public comment requirement	\$ 500.00

(B) Annual registration. Any person required to register an air contaminant source under 10 V.S.A. § 555(c) shall annually pay the following:

(i) A base fee where the sum of a source's emissions of sulfur dioxide, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, and hydrocarbons is:

(I) ten tons or greater: \$1,500.00;

(II) less than ten tons but greater than or equal to five tons: 1,000.00; and

(III) less than five tons: \$500.00.

(ii) Where the sum of a source's emissions of sulfur dioxide, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, and hydrocarbons is greater than or equal to five tons: an annual registration fee that is \$0.0335 per pound of such emissions except that a plant producing renewable energy as defined in 30 V.S.A. § 8002 shall pay an annual fee not exceeding \$64,000.00.

(C) Anaerobic digesters. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivisions (1)(A) and (B) of this subsection (j), a person required to register an air contaminant source under 10 V.S.A. § 555(c) or subject to the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 556 shall not be subject to supplementary fees assessed under subdivision (1)(A)(ii) of this subsection (j) and shall pay an annual registration fee not exceeding \$1,000.00 when the source of the emissions is the anaerobic digestion of agricultural products, agricultural by-products, agricultural waste, or food waste.

* * *

* * * Phosphorus Removal Technology; Grants * * *

Sec. 8. 6 V.S.A. § 4828 is amended to read:

§ 4828. CAPITAL EQUIPMENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

(a) It is the purpose of this section to provide assistance to contract applicators, nonprofit organizations, and farms to purchase or use innovative equipment that will aid in the reduction of surface runoff of agricultural wastes

to State waters, improve water quality of State waters, reduce odors from manure application, <u>separate phosphorus from manure</u>, decrease greenhouse gas emissions, and reduce costs to farmers.

(b) The capital equipment assistance program is created in the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets to provide farms, nonprofit organizations, and custom applicators in Vermont with State financial assistance for the purchase of new or innovative equipment to improve manure application, separation of phosphorus from manure, or nutrient management plan implementation.

(c) Assistance under this section shall in each fiscal year be allocated according to the following priorities and as further defined by the Secretary:

(1) First priority shall be given to capital equipment to be used on farm sites that are serviced by custom applicators, phosphorus separation equipment providers, and nonprofit organizations and that are located in descending order within the boundaries of:

- (A) the Lake Champlain Basin;
- (B) the Lake Memphremagog Basin;
- (C) the Connecticut River Basin; and
- (D) the Hudson River Basin.

(2) Next priority shall be given to capital equipment to be used at a farm site which that is located in descending order within the boundaries of:

- (A) the Lake Champlain Basin;
- (B) the Lake Memphremagog Basin;
- (C) the Connecticut River Basin; and
- (D) the Hudson River Basin.

(d) An applicant for a State grant under this section to purchase or implement phosphorus removal technology or equipment shall pay 10 percent of the total eligible project cost. The dollar amount of a State grant to purchase or implement phosphorus removal technology or equipment shall be equal to the total eligible project cost, less 10 percent of the total as paid by the applicant, and shall not exceed \$300,000.00.

* * * Forestry Equipment * * *

Sec. 9. 32 V.S.A. § 9741 is amended to read:

§ 9741. SALES NOT COVERED

Retail sales and use of the following shall be exempt from the tax on retail sales imposed under section 9771 of this title and the use tax imposed under

section 9773 of this title.

* * *

(51) The following machinery, including repair parts, used for timber cutting, timber removal, and processing of timber or other solid wood forest products intended to be sold ultimately at retail: skidders with grapple and cable, feller bunchers, cut-to-length processors, forwarders, delimbers, loader slashers, log loaders, whole-tree chippers, stationary screening systems, and firewood processors, elevators, and screens. The Department of Taxes shall publish guidance relating to the application of this exemption.

Sec. 10. 32 V.S.A. § 9706(kk) is added to read:

(kk) The statutory purpose of the exemption for timber cutting, removal, and processing machinery in subdivision 9741(51) of this title is to promote Vermont's commercial timber and forest products economy.

* * * Workers' Compensation * * *

Sec. 11. WORKERS' COMPENSATION; INDUSTRIES AND OCCUPATIONS WITH HIGH RISK, HIGH PREMIUMS, AND FEW POLICYHOLDERS; STUDY; REPORT

(a) The Commissioner of Financial Regulation, in consultation with the Commissioner of Labor, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets, the Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation, the National Council on Compensation Insurance, and other interested stakeholders, shall identify and study industries and occupations in Vermont that experience a high risk of workplace and on-the-job injuries and whose workers' compensation insurance is characterized by high premiums and few policyholders in the insurance pool. The industries and occupations addressed in the study shall include, among others, agriculture and farming, logging and log hauling, as well as arborists, roofers, and occupations in sawmills and wood manufacturing operations. In particular, the Commissioner shall:

(1) examine differences in the potential for loss, premium rates, and experience and participation in the workers' compensation marketplace between the industries and occupations identified, and the average for all industries and occupations in Vermont;

(2) study potential methods for reducing workers' compensation premium rates and costs for high-risk industries and occupations, including risk pooling between multiple high-risk industries or occupations, creating self-insured trusts, creating voluntary safety certification programs, and programs or best practices employed by other states; and

(3) model the potential impact on workers' compensation premiums and

costs from each of the methods identified pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(b) On or before November 15, 2017, the Commissioner of Financial Regulation shall submit a written report to the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and the Senate Committee on Finance regarding his or her findings and any recommendations for legislative action to reduce the workers' compensation premium rates and costs for the industries identified in the study.

* * * Repeals * * *

Sec. 12. REPEALS

(a) 10 V.S.A. chapter 15, subchapter 4 (Rural Economic Development Initiative) shall be repealed on July 1, 2021; and

(b) 6 V.S.A. § 4828(d) (phosphorus removal grant criteria) shall be repealed on July 1, 2023.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Sec. 3 (Vermont Milk Commission) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Sec. 7 (environmental permitting) shall take effect January 1, 2018.

(c) All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

And that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read:

An act relating to rural economic development.

Rep. Richard Lawrence Rep. Stephen Carr Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan *Committee on the part of the House* Sen. Anthony Pollina Sen. Brian Collamore Sen. Robert Starr *Committee on the part of the Senate*

Ordered to Lie

H. 219

An act relating to the Vermont spaying and neutering program.

Pending Question: Shall the House concur in the Senate Proposal of Amendment?