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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR
Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 3 2017
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 167

An act relating to alternative approaches to addressing low-level illicit drug
use

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* # * Misdemeanor Possession of Drugs Study * * *

Sec. 1. MISDEMEANOR POSSESSION OF DRUGS; PRETRIAL
SERVICES

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly to encourage persons cited or
arrested for a misdemeanor drug possession charge to engage with pretrial
services, and, if appropriate, enter treatment, and that, in turn, a person who
complies with such conditions will be eligible for dismissal of the charge.

(b) The Attorney General, the Defender General, and the Executive
Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs shall work
collaboratively to develop a specific legislative proposal to accomplish this
intent with an implementation date of July 1, 2018 and report to the Senate and
House Committees on Judiciary and on Appropriations, the Senate Committee
on Health and Welfare, and the House Committee on Human Services on or
before November 1, 2017.

* * * Findings * * *
Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT
The General Assembly finds the following:

(1) According to a 2014 study commissioned by the administration and
conducted by the RAND Corporation, marijuana is commonly used in
Vermont with an estimated 80,000 residents having used marijuana in the last
month.

(2) For over 75 vyears, Vermont has debated the issue of marijuana
regulation and amended its marijuana laws numerous times in an effort to
protect public health and safety. Criminal penalties for possession rose in the
1940s and 50s to include harsh mandatory minimums, dropped in the 1960s
and 70s, rose again in the 1980s and 90s, and dropped again in the 2000s. A
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study published in the American Journal of Public Health found that no
evidence supports the claim that criminalization reduces marijuana use.

(3) Vermont seeks to take a new comprehensive approach to marijuana
use and abuse that incorporates prevention, education, regulation, treatment,
and law enforcement which results in a net reduction in public harm and an
overall improvement in public safety. Responsible use of marijuana by adults
21 years of age or older should be treated the same as responsible use of
alcohol, the abuse of either treated as a public health matter, and irresponsible
use of either that causes harm to others sanctioned with penalties.

(4) Policymakers recognize legitimate federal concerns about marijuana
reform and seek through this legislation to provide better control of access and
distribution of marijuana in a manner that prevents:

(A) distribution of marijuana to persons under 21 years of age:

(B) revenue from the sale of marijuana going to criminal enterprises;

(C) diversion of marijuana to states that do not permit possession of
marijuana;

(D) State-authorized marijuana activity from being used as a cover or
pretext for the trafficking of other illegal drugs or activity;

(E) violence and the use of firearms in the cultivation and
distribution of marijuana;

(F) drugged driving and the exacerbation of any other adverse public
health consequences of marijuana use;

(G) growing of marijuana on public lands and the attendant public
safety and environmental dangers posed by marijuana production on public
lands; and

(H) possession or use of marijuana on federal property.

(5) Revenue generated by this act shall be used to provide for the
implementation, administration, and enforcement of this chapter and to
provide additional funding for State efforts on the prevention of substance
abuse, treatment of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts to combat the
1llegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in this subdivision, “criminal
justice efforts” shall include efforts by both State and local criminal justice
agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors, public defenders, and the
courts.

* % * Preyention * * *

Sec. 3. MARIJUANA YOUTH EDUCATION AND PREVENTION
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(a)(1) Relying on lessons learned from tobacco and alcohol prevention
efforts, the Department of Health, in collaboration with the Agency of
Agriculture, Food, and Markets, the Agency of Education, and the Governor’s
Highway Safety Program, shall develop and administer an education and
prevention program focused on use of marijuana by youth under 25 vears of
age. In so doing, the Department shall consider at least the following:

(A) Community- and school-based youth and family-focused
prevention initiatives that strive to:

(1) expand the number of school-based grants for substance abuse
services to enable each Supervisory Union to develop and implement a plan
for comprehensive substance abuse prevention education in a flexible manner
that ensures the needs of individual communities are addressed;

(i1)) 1improve the Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to
Treatment (SBIRT) practice model for professionals serving youth in schools
and other settings; and

(111) expand family education programs.

(B) An informational and counter-marketing campaign using a public
website, printed materials, mass and social media, and advertisements for the
purpose of preventing underage marijuana use.

(C) Education for parents and health care providers to encourage
screening for substance use disorders and other related risks.

(D) Expansion of the use of SBIRT among the State’s pediatric
practices and school-based health centers.

(E) Strategies specific to youth who have been identified by the
Youth Risk Behavior Survey as having an increased risk of substance abuse.

(2) On or before March 15, 2018, the Department shall adopt rules to
implement the education and prevention program described in subsection (a)
of this section and implement the program on or before September 15, 2018.

(b) The Department shall include questions in its biannual Youth Risk
Behavior Survey to monitor the use of marijuana by youth in Vermont and to
understand the source of marijuana used by this population.

(c) Any data collected by the Department on the use of marijuana by youth
shall be maintained and organized in a manner that enables the pursuit of
future longitudinal studies.

* # * Legal Possession; Civil and Criminal Penalties * * *
Sec. 4. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES
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It is the intent of the General Assembly to eliminate all civil penalties for
possession of one ounce or less of marijuana and a small number of marijuana
plants for a person who is 21 years of age or older while retaining the current
criminal penalties for possession of larger amounts of marijuana and criminal
penalties for unauthorized dispensing or sale of marijuana. This act also
retains the current civil and criminal penalties for possession of marijuana by a
person under 21 years of age, which are the same as possession of alcohol by a
person under 21 years of age.

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 4201(15) is amended to read:
(15)(A) “Marijuana” means any-plant-material of the genus licenses—or

N
5 5

(C)-hemp-or-hemp products;-as-defined-in- 6 V.S-A--§ 562 all parts of

the plant Cannabis sativa L., except as provided by subdivision (B) of this
subdivision (15), whether growing or harvested, and includes:

(1) the seeds of the plant;

(i1) the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and

(ii1) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or
preparation of the plant, its seeds, or resin.

(B) “Marijuana” does not include:

(i) the mature stalks of the plant and fiber produced from the

stalks;

(i1) oil or cake made from the seeds of the plant;

(ii1) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or
preparation of the mature stalks, fiber, oil, or cake: or

(iv) the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of
germination.

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 4230 is amended to read:
§ 4230. MARIJUANA

(a) Possession and cultivation.

(1)(A) No person shall knowingly and unlawfully possess more than
one ounce of marijuana or more than five grams of hashish or cultivate more
than two mature marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants. For a
first offense under this subdivision (A), a person shall be provided the
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opportunity to participate in the Court Diversion Program unless the
prosecutor states on the record why a referral to the Court Diversion Program
would not serve the ends of justice. A person convicted of a first offense
under this subdivision shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined
not more than $500.00, or both.

(B) A person convicted of a second or subsequent offense of
knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than one ounce of marijuana or
more than five grams of hashish or cultivating more than two mature
marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not
more than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(C) Upon an adjudication of guilt for a first or second offense under
this subdivision, the court may defer sentencing as provided in 13 V.S.A.
§ 7041 except that the court may in its discretion defer sentence without the
filing of a presentence investigation report and except that sentence may be
imposed at any time within two years from and after the date of entry of
deferment. The court may, prior to sentencing, order that the defendant submit
to a drug assessment screening which may be considered at sentencing in the
same manner as a presentence report.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing two ounces of
marijuana or 10 grams of hashish or knowingly and unlawfully cultivating
more than three—plants—of four mature marijuana plants or eight immature
marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not
more than $10,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than one
pound er-mere of marijuana or more than 2.8 ounces er-mere of hashish or
knowingly and unlawfully cultivating more than 10-—plants—ef six mature
marijuana plants or 12 immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not
more than five years or fined not more than $100;000.00 $10,000.00, or both.

(4) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than 10 pounds
or-meore of marijuana or more than one pound er-mere of hashish or knowingly
and unlawfully cultivating more than 25-plants-ef 12 mature marijuana plants
or 24 immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than 15 years or
fined not more than $500,000.00, or both.

(5) If a court fails to provide the defendant with notice of collateral
consequences in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 8005(b) and the defendant later
at any time shows that the plea and conviction for a violation of this subsection
may have or has had a negative consequence, the court, upon the defendant's
motion, shall vacate the judgment and permit the defendant to withdraw the
plea or admission and enter a plea of not guilty. Failure of the court to advise
the defendant of a particular collateral consequence shall not support a motion
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to vacate.

(6) The amounts of marijuana in this subsection shall not include
marijuana cultivated, harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e
of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 4230a is amended to read:

§ 4230a. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE
OR OLDER:-EPAEVOEATON

M) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of
age or older who possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or
less of hashish and two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature
marijuana plants or fewer or who possesses paraphernalia for marijuana use
shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner by the State or any of its
political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege under State law. The
one-ounce limit of marijuana or five grams of hashish that may be possessed
by a person 21 vears of age or older shall not include marijuana cultivated,
harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e of this title.

2)(A) olati i ) hall It in 4l ) :
criminal-historyrecord-of-any-kind A person shall not consume marijuana in a
public place. “Public place” means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public
building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation
as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted
tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 or chapter 37 of this
title or 16 V.S.A. § 140.

(B) A person who violates this subdivision (a)(2) shall be assessed a
civil penalty as follows:

(1) not more than $100.00 for a first offense;

(i1) not more than $200.00 for a second offense; and

(iii) not more than $500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.

)}(b) This section does not exempt—any—person—from—arrest—or
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(1) exempt a person from arrest, citation, or prosecution for being under

the influence of marijuana while operating a vehicle of any kind or for
consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(2) repeal or modify existing laws or policies concerning the operation
of vehicles of any kind while under the influence of marijuana or for
consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(3) limit the authority of primary and secondary schools to impose
administrative penalties for the possession of marijuana on school property;

(4) prohibit a municipality from adopting a civil ordinance to provide
additional penalties for consumption of marijuana in a public place;

(5) prohibit a landlord from banning possession or use of marijuana in a
lease agreement; or

(6) allow an inmate of a correctional facility to possess or use marijuana
or to limit the authority of law enforcement, the courts, the Department of
Corrections, or the Parole Board to impose penalties on offenders who use
marijuana in violation of a court order, conditions of furlough, parole, or rules
of a correctional facility.

te)(c)(1) A law enforcement officer is authorized to detain a person if:

(A) the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person has
violated subsection (b) of this section; and
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(B) the person refuses to identify himself or herself satisfactorily to
the officer when requested by the officer.

(2) The person may be detained only until the person identifies himself
or herself satisfactorily to the officer or is properly identified. If the officer is
unable to obtain the identification information, the person shall forthwith be
brought before a judge in the Criminal Division of the Superior Court for that
purpose. A person who refuses to identify himself or herself to the Court on
request shall immediately and without service of an order on the person be
subject to civil contempt proceedings pursuant to 12 V.S.A. § 122.

H(d) Fifty percent of the civil penalties imposed by the Judicial Bureau
for violations of this section shall be deposited in the Drug Task Force Special
Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7,
subchapter 5, and available to the Department of Public Safety for the funding
of law enforcement officers on the Drug Task Force, except for a $12.50
administrative charge for each violation which shall be deposited in the Court
Technology Special Fund, in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 7252. The
remaining 50 percent shall be deposited in the Youth Substance Abuse Safety
Program Special Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 5, and available to the Court Diversion Program for
funding of the Youth Substance Abuse Safety Program as required by
section 4230b of this title.

(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to do any of the following:

(1) require an employer to permit or accommodate the use,
consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or growing of
marijuana in the workplace;

(2) prevent an employer from adopting a policy that prohibits the use of
marijuana in the workplace;

(3) create a cause of action against an employer that discharges an
employee for violating a policy that restricts or prohibits the use of marijuana
by employees:; or

(4) prevent an employer from prohibiting or otherwise regulating the
use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or gerowing
of marijuana on the employer’s premises.

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 4230b is amended to read:

§ 4230b. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON UNDER 21 YEARS
OF AGE; CIVIL VIOLATION

(a) Offense. A person under 21 years of age who knowingly and
unlawfully possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or less of
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hashish or two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature marijuana
plants or fewer commits a civil violation and shall be referred to the Court
Diversion Program for the purpose of enrollment in the Youth Substance
Abuse Safety Program. A person who fails to complete the program
successfully shall be subject to:

(1) a civil penalty of $300.00 and suspension of the person’s operator’s
license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 30 days, for a
first offense; and

(2) a civil penalty of not more than $600.00 and suspension of the
person’s operator’s license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a
period of 90 days, for a second or subsequent offense.

k %k %k

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 4230e is added to read:

§ 4230e. CULTIVATION OF MARIJUANA BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF
AGE OR OLDER

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of
age or older who cultivates no more than two mature marijuana plants and four
immature marijuana plants shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner
by the State or any of its political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege
under State law.

(2) Each dwelling unit shall be limited to two mature marijuana plants
and four immature marijuana plants regardless of how many persons 21 years
of age or older reside in the dwelling unit. As used in this section, “dwelling
unit” means a building or the part of a building that is used as a primary home,
residence, or sleeping place by one or more persons who maintain a household.

(3) Any marijuana harvested from the plants allowed pursuant to this
subsection shall not count toward the one-ounce possession limit in section
4230a of this title provided it is stored in an indoor facility on the property
where the marijuana was cultivated and reasonable precautions are taken to
prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.

(4) Cultivation in excess of the limits provided in this subsection shall
be punished in accordance with section 4230 of this title.

(b)(1) Personal cultivation of marijuana only shall occur:

(A) on property lawfully in possession of the cultivator or with the
consent of the person in lawful possession of the property; and

(B) in an enclosure that is screened from public view and reasonable
precautions are taken to prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.
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(2) A person who violates this subsection shall be assessed a civil
penalty as follows:

(A) not more than $100.00 for a first offense;
(B) not more than $200.00 for a second offense; and

(C) not more than $500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.
Sec. 10. 18 V.S.A. § 4230f is added to read:

§ 4230f. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER
21 YEARS OF AGE

(a) No person shall:

(1) sell or furnish marijuana to a person under 21 years of age; or

(2) knowingly enable the consumption of marijuana by a person under
21 vyears of age.

(b) As used in this section, “enable the consumption of marijuana” means
creating a direct and immediate opportunity for a person to consume

marijuana.

(¢) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than two years or fined not more than $2.000.00. or both.

(d) An emplovee of a marijuana establishment licensed pursuant to chapter
87 of this title, who, in the course of employment, violates subdivision (a)(1)
of this section during a compliance check conducted by a law enforcement
officer shall be:

(1) assessed a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for the first
violation and a civil penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00
for a second violation that occurs more than one vear after the first
violation; and

(2) subject to the criminal penalties provided in subsection (¢) of this
section for a second violation within a vyear of the first violation, and for a
third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation.

(e) An emplovee alleged to have committed a violation of subsection (d) of
this section may plead as an affirmative defense that:

(1) the purchaser exhibited and the employee carefully viewed
photographic identification that indicated the purchaser to be 21 vyears of age
or older;

(2) an ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser to be of
legal age to make the purchase; and
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(3) the sale was made in good faith, based upon the reasonable belief
that the purchaser was of legal age to purchase marijuana.

(f) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, where the person
under 21 vears of age, while operating a motor vehicle on a public higchway,
causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or herself or to another person
as a result of the violation, shall be imprisoned not more than five years or
fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.

(2) This section shall not apply to:

(1) A person under 21 years of age who sells or furnishes marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age or who knowingly enables the consumption of
marijuana by a person under 21 vyears of age. Possession of an ounce or less of
marijuana by a person under 21 years of age shall be punished in accordance
with sections 4230b—4230d of this title and dispensing or selling marijuana
shall be punished in accordance with sections 4230 and 4237 of this title.

(2) A dispensary registered pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.
Sec. 11. 18 V.S.A. § 4230g is added to read:

§ 4230g. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER
21 YEARS OF AGE; CIVIL ACTION FOR DAMAGES

(a) A spouse, child, guardian, employer, or other person who is injured in
person, property, or means of support by a person under 21 years of age who is
impaired by marijuana, or in consequence of the impairment by marijuana of
any person under 21 vears of age, shall have a right of action in his or her own
name, jointly or severally, against any person or persons who have caused in
whole or in part such impairment by selling or furnishing marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age.

(b) Upon the death of either party, the action and right of action shall
survive to or against the party’s executor or administrator. The party injured
or his or her legal representatives may bring either a joint action against the
impaired person under 21 vears of age and the person or persons who sold or
furnished the marijuana, or a separate action against either or any of them.

(¢) An action to recover for damages under this section shall be
commenced within two vears after the cause of action accrues, and not after.

(d) In an action brought under this section, evidence of responsible actions
taken or not taken is admissible if otherwise relevant. Responsible actions
may include a marijuana establishment’s instruction to emplovees as to laws
governing the sale of marijuana to adults 21 vyears of age or older and
procedures for verification of age of customers.

(e) A defendant in an action brought under this section has a right of
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contribution from any other responsible person or persons, which may be
enforced in a separate action brought for that purpose.

(f)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, nothing in
this section shall create a statutory cause of action against a social host for
furnishing marijuana to any person without compensation or profit. However,
this subdivision shall not be construed to limit or otherwise affect the liability
of a social host for negligence at common law.

(2) A social host who knowingly furnishes marijuana to a person under
21 vyears of age may be held liable under this section if the social host knew, or
a reasonable person in the same circumstances would have known, that the
person who received the marijuana was under 21 vyears of age.

(3) As used in this subsection, “social host” means a person who is not
the holder of a marijuana establishment license and is not required under
chapter 87 of this title to hold a marijuana establishment license.

Sec. 12. 18 V.S.A. § 4230h is added to read:

§ 4230h. CHEMICAL EXTRACTION VIA BUTANE OR HEXANE
PROHIBITED

(a) No person shall manufacture concentrated marijuana by chemical
extraction or chemical synthesis using butane or hexane unless authorized as a
dispensary pursuant to a registration issued by the Department of Public Safety
pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than two vears or fined not more than $2.000.00. or both. A person
who violates subsection (a) of this section and causes serious bodily injury to
another person shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more
than $5,000.00, or both.

* #* Commercial Marijuana Regulation * * *
Sec. 13. 18 V.S.A. chapter 87 is added to read:
CHAPTER 87. MARIJUANA ESTABLISHMENTS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions
§ 4501. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Affiliate” means a person that directly or indirectly owns or
controls, is owned or controlled by, or is under common ownership or control
with, another person.

(2) “Agency” means the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.
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(3) “Applicant” means a person that applies for a license to operate a
marijuana establishment pursuant to this chapter.

(4) “Child care facility” means a child care facility or family day care
home licensed or registered under 33 V.S.A. chapter 35.

(5) “Commissioner”’ means the Commissioner of Public Safety.

(6) “Department” means the Department of Public Safety.

(7) “Dispensary” means a person registered under section 4474e of this
title that acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures, transfers, transports,
supplies, sells, or dispenses marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and
marijuana-related supplies and educational materials for or to a registered
patient who has designated it as his or her center and to his or her registered
caregiver for the registered patient’s use for symptom relief.

(8) “Enclosed, locked facility” shall be either indoors or outdoors, not
visible to the public, and may include a building, room, greenhouse, fully
enclosed fenced-in area, or other location enclosed on all sides and equipped
with locks or other security devices that permit access only by:

(A) Employees, agents, or owners of the cultivator, all of whom shall
be 21 years of age or older.

(B) Government employees performing their official duties.

(C) Contractors performing labor that does not include marijuana
cultivation, packaging, or processing. Contractors shall be accompanied by an
employee, agent, or owner of the cultivator when they are in areas where
marijuana is being grown, processed, or stored.

(D) Registered employees of other cultivators, members of the
media, elected officials, and other individuals 21 vears of age or older visiting
the facility, provided they are accompanied by an employee, agent, or owner
of the cultivator.

(9) “Financier” means a person, other than a financial institution as
defined in 8 V.S.A. § 11101, that makes an equity investment, a gift, loan, or
otherwise provides financing to a person with the expectation of a financial
return.

(10) ““Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as provided in section
4201 of this title.

(11) ‘““Marijuana cultivator” or “cultivator” means a person registered
with the Agency to engage in commercial cultivation of marijuana in
accordance with this chapter.

(12) “Marijuana establishment” means a marijuana cultivator, retailer,
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or testing laboratory licensed by the Agency to engage in commercial
marijuana activity in accordance with this chapter.

(13) ‘“Marijuana retailer” or “retailer” means a person licensed by the
Agency to sell marijuana to consumers for off-site consumption in accordance
with this chapter.

(14) “Marijuana testing laboratory” or ‘“testing laboratory” means a
person licensed by the Agency to test marijuana for cultivators and retailers in
accordance with this chapter.

99 Cey

(15) “Owns or controls,” “is owned or controlled by,” and ‘“under
common ownership or control” mean direct ownership or beneficial ownership
of an equity interest, or the equivalent thereof, of ten percent or more, and the
power to direct, or cause the direction of, the management and policies of a
person, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract, or
otherwise.

2

(16) “Person” shall include any natural person; corporation;
municipality; the State of Vermont or any department, agency or subdivision
of the State:; and any partnership, unincorporated association, or other legal

entity.
(17) “Plant canopy” means the square footage dedicated to live plant

production and does not include areas such as office space or areas used for the
storage of fertilizers, pesticides, or other products.

(18) “Principal” means an individual vested with the authority to
conduct, manage, or supervise the business affairs of a person, and may
include the president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, manager, or similar
executive officer of a business; a director of a corporation, nonprofit
corporation, or mutual benefit enterprise; a member of a nonprofit corporation,
cooperative, or member-managed limited liability company; and a partner of a

partnership.

(19) “Public place” means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public
building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation
as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted
tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 of this title or
chapter 37 of this title.

(20) “Resident” means a person who is domiciled in Vermont, subject to
the following:

(A) The process for determining the domicile of an individual shall
be the same as that required by rules adopted by the Department of Taxes
related to determining domicile for the purpose of the interpretation and
administration of 32 V.S.A. § 5401(14).
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(B) The domicile of a business entity is the State in which it is
organized.

(21) “School” means a public school, independent school, or facility
that provides early childhood education as those terms are defined in 16 V.S.A.

§11.

(22)  “Secretary” means the Secretary of Agriculture, Food, and
Markets.

§ 4502. MARIJUANA POSSESSED UNLAWFULLY SUBJECT TO
SEIZURE AND FORFEITURE

Marijuana possessed unlawfully in violation of this chapter may be seized
by law enforcement and is subject to forfeiture.

§ 4503. NOT APPLICABLE TO HEMP OR THERAPEUTIC USE OF
CANNABIS

This chapter shall not apply to activities regulated by 7 V.S.A. chapter 34
(hemp) or chapter 86 (therapeutic use of cannabis) of this title.

§ 4504. CONSUMPTION OF MARIJUANA IN A PUBLIC PLACE
PROHIBITED

This chapter shall not be construed to permit consumption of marijuana in a
public place. Violations shall be punished in accordance with section 4230a of
this title.

§ 4505. REGULATION BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT

(a)(1) A marijuana establishment shall obtain a permit from a town, city, or
incorporated village prior to beginning operations within the municipality.

(2) A municipality that hosts a marijuana establishment may establish a
board of marijuana control commissioners, who shall be the members of the
municipal legislative body. The board shall administer the municipal permits
under this subsection (a) for the marijuana establishments within the

municipality.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prevent a town, city, or
incorporated village from regulating marijuana establishments through local
ordinances as set forth in 24 V.S.A. § 2291 or through land use bylaws as set
forth in 24 V.S.A. § 4414.

(c)(1) A town, city, or incorporated village, by majority vote of those
present and voting at annual or special meeting warned for the purpose, may
prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within the municipality.
The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to a marijuana establishment
that is operating within the municipality at the time of the vote.
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(2) A vote to prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within
the municipality shall remain in effect until rescinded by majority vote of
those present and voting at an annual or special meeting warned for the

purpose.
§ 4506. YOUTH RESTRICTIONS

(a) A marijuana establishment shall not dispense or sell marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age or employ a person under 21 years of age.

(b) A marijuana establishment shall not be located within 1,000 feet of a
preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care facility.

(¢) A marijuana establishment shall not permit a person under 21 years of
age to enter a building or enclosure on the premises where marijuana is
located. This subsection shall not apply to a registered patient visiting his or
her designated dispensary even if that dispensary is located in a building that is
located on the same premises of a marijuana establishment.

§ 4507. ADVERTISING

(a) Marijuana advertising shall not contain any statement or illustration
that:

(1) is false or misleading;

(2) promotes overconsumption; or

(3) is designed to appeal to children or persons under 18 years of age by
portraying anyone under 18 vears of age or objects suggestive of the presence
of anyone under 18 years of age, or containing the use of a figure, a symbol, or
language that is customarily associated with anyone under 18 vears of age.

(b) Outdoor marijuana advertising shall not be located within 1,000 feet of
a preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care

facility.

(¢) In accordance with section 4512 of this chapter, the Agency shall adopt
regulations on marijuana establishment advertising that reflect the policies of
subsection (a) of this section and place restrictions on the time, place, and
manner, but not content, of the advertising.

(d) All advertising shall contain the following warnings:

(1) For use only by adults 21 years of age or older. Keep out of the
reach of children.

(2) Marijuana has intoxicating effects and may impair concentration,
coordination, and judgment. Do not operate a motor vehicle or heavy
machinery or enter into any contractual agreement under the influence of
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marijuana.
Subchapter 2. Administration

§4511. AUTHORITY

(a) For the purpose of regulating the cultivation, processing, packaging,
transportation, testing, purchase, and sale of marijuana in accordance with this
chapter, the Agency shall have the following authority and duties:

(1) rulemaking in accordance with this chapter and 3 V.S.A.
chapter 25;

(2) administration of a program for the licensure of marijuana
establishments, which shall include compliance and enforcement; and

(3) submission of an annual budget to the Governor.

(b)(1) There is established the Marijuana Advisory Board within the
Agency for the purpose of advising the Agency and other administrative
agencies and departments regarding policy for the implementation and
operation of this chapter. The Board shall be composed of the following
members:

(A) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee;

(B) the Commissioner of Public Safety or designee;

(C) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(D) the Commissioner of Taxes or designee; and

(E) a member of local law enforcement appointed by the Governor.

(2) The Secretary of Administration shall convene the first meeting of
the Board on or before June 1, 2017 and shall attend Board meetings.

§ 4512. RULEMAKING

(a) The Agency shall adopt rules to implement this chapter on or before
March 15, 2018, in accordance with subdivisions (1)—(4) of this subsection.

(1) Rules concerning any marijuana establishment shall include:

(A) the form and content of license and renewal applications;

(B) qualifications for licensure that are directly and demonstrably
related to the operation of a marijuana establishment, including submission of
an operating plan and the requirement for a fingerprint-based criminal history
record check and regulatory record check pursuant to subsection 4522(d) of
this title;

(C) oversight requirements;
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(D) inspection requirements:

(E) records to be kept by licensees and the required availability of the
records;

it

(F) employment and training requirements, including requiring that
each marijuana establishment create an identification badge for each
employee;

(G) security requirements, including lighting, physical security,
video, and alarm requirements;

(H) restrictions on advertising, marketing, and signage;

(I) health and safety requirements;

(J) regulation of additives to marijuana, including those that are toxic
or designed to make the product more addictive, more appealing to children, or
to mislead consumers;

(K) procedures for seed to sale traceability of marijuana, including
any requirements for tracking software;

(L) regulation of the storage and transportation of marijuana;

(M) sanitary requirements;

(N) pricing guidelines with a goal of ensuring marijuana is
sufficiently affordable to undercut the illegal market;

(O) procedures for the renewal of a license, which shall allow
renewal applications to be submitted up to 90 days prior to the expiration of
the marijuana establishment’s license:

(P) procedures for suspension and revocation of a license; and

(Q) requirements for banking and financial transactions.

(2) Rules concerning cultivators shall include:

(A) labeling requirements for products sold to retailers; and

(B) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number
of visitors allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(3) Rules concerning retailers shall include:

(A) labeling requirements, including appropriate warnings
concerning the carcinogenic effects and other potential negative health
consequences of consuming marijuana, for products sold to customers;

(B) requirements for proper verification of age and residency of
customers;
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(C) restrictions that marijuana shall be stored behind a counter or
other barrier to ensure a customer does not have direct access to the

marijuana; and

(D) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number
of customers allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(4) Rules concerning testing laboratories shall include:

(A) procedures for destruction of all samples; and

(B) requirements for chain of custody recordkeeping.

(b) The Agency shall consult with the Department in the development and
adoption of the following rules identified in subsection (a) of this section:

(1) regarding any marijuana establishment, subdivisions (1)(B), (G),

(K), (L), (P), and (Q);

(2) regarding cultivators, subdivision (2)(A)(vi);

(3) regarding retailers, subdivisions (4)(B), (C), and (E); and

(4) regarding testing laboratories, subdivisions (5)(B), (C), and (D).
§ 4513. IMPLEMENTATION

(a)(1) On or before April 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting
applications for cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses. The initial
application period shall remain open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the
application process for any period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before June 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing
cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses to qualified applicants.

(b)(1) On or before May 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting
applications for retail licenses. The initial application period shall remain
open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the application process for any
period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before September 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing
retailer licenses to qualified applicants. A license shall not permit a licensee to
open the store to the public or sell marijuana to the public prior to January 2,
2019.

(c)(1) Prior to July 1, 2019, provided applicants meet the requirements of
this chapter, the Agency shall issue:

(A) an unlimited number of cultivator licenses that permit a
cultivation space of not more than 500 square feet;

(B) a maximum of 20 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
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space of more than 500 square feet but not more than 1,000 square feet;

(C) a maximum of 15 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 1,000 square feet up to 2,500 square feet;

(D) a maximum of 10 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 2,500 square feet up to 5,000 square feet;

(E) a maximum of five cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 5,000 square feet up to 10,000 square feet;

(F) a maximum of five testing laboratory licenses; and

(G) a maximum of 42 retailer licenses.

(2) On or after July 1, 2019, the limitations in subdivision (1) of this
subsection shall not apply and the Agency shall use its discretion to issue
licenses in a number and size for the purpose of competing with and
undercutting the illegal market based on available data and recommendations
of the Marijuana Program Review Commission. A cultivator licensed prior to
July 1, 2019 may apply to the Agency to modify its license to expand its
cultivation space.

§ 4514. CIVIL CITATIONS; SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF
LICENSES

(a) The Agency shall have the authority to adopt rules for the issuance of
civil citations for violations of this chapter and the rules adopted pursuant to
section 4512 of this title. Any proposed rule under this section shall include
the full, minimum, and waiver penalty amounts for each violation.

(b) The Agency shall have the authority to suspend or revoke a license for
violations of this chapter in accordance with rules adopted pursuant to section
4512 of this title.

Subchapter 3. Licenses
§ 4521. GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) Except as otherwise permitted by this chapter, a person shall not engage
in the cultivation, preparation, processing, packaging, transportation, testing,
or sale of marijuana without obtaining a license from the Agency.

(b) All licenses shall expire at midnight, April 30, of each year beginning
no earlier than 10 months after the original license was issued to the marijuana
establishment.

(c) Applications for licenses and renewals shall be submitted on forms
provided by the Agency and shall be accompanied by the fees provided for in
section 4528 of this section.
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(d)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection (d), an
applicant and its affiliates may obtain only one license, either a cultivator
license, a retailer license, or a testing laboratory license under this chapter.

(2) A dispensary or a subsidiary of a dispensary may obtain one of each
type of license under this chapter, provided that a dispensary or its subsidiary
obtains no more than one cultivator license, one retailer license, and one
testing laboratory license total.

(e) Each license shall permit only one location of the establishment.

(f) A dispensary that obtains a retailer license pursuant to this chapter shall
maintain the dispensary and retail operations in a manner that protects patient
and caregiver privacy in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. If the
dispensary and retail establishment are located on the same premises, the
dispensary and retail establishment shall provide separate entrances and
common areas designed to serve patients and caregivers and customers.

(2) Each licensee shall obtain and maintain commercial general liability
insurance in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. Failure to provide
proof of insurance to the Agency, as required, may result in revocation of the
license.

(h) All records relating to security, transportation, public safety, and trade
secrets in an application for a license under this chapter shall be exempt from
public inspection and copying under the Public Records Act.

(1) This subchapter shall not apply to possession regulated by chapters 84
or 86 of this title.

§ 4522. LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS AND APPLICATION PROCESS

(a) To be eligible for a marijuana establishment license:

(1) An applicant shall be a resident of Vermont.

(2) A principal of an applicant, and a person who owns or controls an
applicant, shall have been a resident of Vermont for two or more years
immediately preceding the date of application.

(3) An applicant, principal of an applicant, or person who owns or
controls an applicant, who is a natural person:

(A) shall be 21 vears of age or older; and

(B) shall consent to the release of his or her criminal and
administrative history records.

(b) A financier of an applicant shall have been a resident of Vermont for
two or more years immediately preceding the date of application.
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(c) As part of the application process, each applicant shall submit, in a
format proscribed by the Agency, an operating plan. The plan shall include a
floor plan or site plan drawn to scale that illustrates the entire operation being
proposed. The plan shall also include the following:

(1) For a cultivator license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) transportation of product;

(E) destruction of waste product;

(F) description of growing operation, including growing media, size
of grow space allocated for plant production, space allowed for any other
business activity, description of all equipment to be used in the cultivation
process, and a list of soil amendments, fertilizers, or other crop production
aids, or pesticides, utilized in the production process;

(G) how the applicant will meet its operation’s need for energy
services at the lowest present value life-cycle cost, including environmental
and economic costs, through a strategy combining investments and
expenditures on energy efficiency and energy supply:

(H) testing procedures and protocols;

(D description of packaging and labeling of products transported to
retailers; and

(J) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) For a retailer license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product;

(E) description of packaging and labeling of products sold to
customers;

(F) the products to be sold and how they will be displayed to
customers; and

(G) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
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Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(3) For a testing laboratory license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product; and

(E) the types of testing to be offered.

(d) The Department shall obtain a Vermont criminal history record, an out-
of-state criminal history record, a criminal history record from the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, and any regulatory records relating to the operation of
a business in this State or any other jurisdiction for each of the following who
1S a natural person:

(1) an applicant or financier;

(2) a principal of an applicant or financier; and

(3) a person who owns or controls an applicant or financier.

(e) When considering applications for a marijuana establishment license,
the Agency shall:

(1) give priority to a qualified applicant that is a dispensary or
subsidiary of a dispensary;

(2) strive for geographic distribution of marijuana establishments based
on population.

§ 4523. EDUCATION

(a) An applicant for a marijuana establishment license shall meet with a
Agency designee for the purpose of reviewing Vermont laws and rules
pertaining to the possession, purchase, storage, and sale of marijuana prior to
recelving a license.

(b) A licensee shall complete an enforcement seminar every three years
conducted by the Agency. A license shall not be renewed unless the records of
the Agency show that the licensee has complied with the terms of this
subsection.

(c) A licensee shall ensure that each employee involved in the sale of
marijuana completes a training program approved by the Agency prior to
selling marijuana and at least once every 24 months thereafter. A licensee
shall keep a written record of the type and date of training for each emplovee,
which shall be signed by each employee. A licensee may comply with this
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requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using
information and materials furnished by the Agency. A licensee who fails to
comply with the requirements of this section shall be subject to a suspension of
no less than one day of the license issued under this chapter.

§ 4524. IDENTIFICATION CARD; CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

(a) The Agency shall issue each employee an identification card or renewal
card within 30 days of receipt of the person’s name, address, and date of birth
and a fee of $50.00. The fee shall be paid by the marijuana establishment and
shall not be passed on to an employee. A person shall not work as an
employee until that person has received an identification card issued under this
section. Fach card shall contain the following:

(1) the name, address, and date of birth of the person;

(2) the legal name of the marijuana establishment with which the person
is affiliated;

(3) arandom identification number that is unique to the person;

(4) the date of issuance and the expiration date of the identification
card; and

(5) a photograph of the person.

(b) Prior to acting on an application for an identification card, the Agency
shall obtain from the Department the person’s Vermont criminal history record,
out-of-state criminal history record, and criminal history record from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each person shall consent to the release of
criminal history records to the Agency and the Department on forms
developed by the Vermont Crime Information Center.

(c) When the Department obtains a criminal history record, the Department
shall promptly provide a copy of the record to the person and the marijuana
establishment. The Department shall inform the person of the right to appeal
the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the

Agency.

(d) The Department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of
criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy. No person
shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history record
information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information
pursuant to this chapter.

(e) The Agency, in consultation with the Department, shall adopt rules for
the issuance of an identification card and shall set forth standards for
determining whether a person should be denied a registry identification card
because his or her criminal history record indicates that the person’s
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association with a marijuana establishment would pose a demonstrable threat
to public safety. Previous nonviolent drug-related convictions shall not
automatically disqualify an applicant. A marijuana establishment may deny a
person the opportunity to serve as an employee based on his or her criminal
history record. A person who is denied an identification card may appeal the
Agency’s determination in Superior Court in accordance with Rule 75 of the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

() An identification card shall expire one vear after its issuance or upon
the expiration of the marijuana establishment’s license, whichever occurs first.

§ 4525. CULTIVATOR LICENSE

(a) A cultivator licensed under this chapter may cultivate, package, label,
transport, test, and sell marijuana to a licensed retailer.

(b) Cultivation of marijuana shall occur only in an enclosed, locked facility
which is either indoors, or if outdoors, not visible to the public, and which can
only be accessed by principal officers and employees of the licensee who have
valid identification cards.

(c) An applicant shall designate on his or her operating plan the size of the
premises and the amount of actual square footage that will be dedicated to

plant canopy.
(d) Representative samples of each lot or batch of marijuana intended for

human consumption shall be tested for safety and potency in accordance with
rules adopted by the Agency.

(e) Each cultivator shall create packaging for its marijuana.

(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the cultivator.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be
either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties

of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of
tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A ‘“produced on” date reflecting the date that the cultivator
finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating,
“Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate
machinery,” “Keep away from children,” and “Possession of marijuana is
1llegal under federal law.”
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(F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Department in accordance with this chapter. Rules shall take into
consideration that different labeling requirements may be appropriate
depending on whether the marijuana is sold to a wholesaler, product
manufacturer, or retailer.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years
of age.

(H(1) Only unadulterated marijuana shall be offered for sale. If, upon
inspection, the Agency finds any violative pesticide residue or other
contaminants of concern, the Agency shall order the marijuana, either
individually or in blocks, to be:

(A) put on stop-sale:

(B) treated in a particular manner; or

(C) destroyed according to the Agency’s instructions.

(2) Marijuana ordered destroved or placed on stop-sale shall be clearly
separable from salable marijuana. Any order shall be confirmed in writing
within seven days. The order shall include the reason for action, a description
of the marijuana affected, and any recommended treatment.

(3) A person may appeal an order issued pursuant to this section within
15 days of receiving the order. The appeal shall be made in writing to the
Secretary and shall clearly identify the marijuana affected and the basis for the

appeal.
§ 4526. RETAILER LICENSE

(a) A retailer licensed under this chapter may:

(1) transport, possess, and sell marijuana to the public for consumption
off the registered premises;

(2) purchase marijuana from a licensed cultivator; and

(3) provide marijuana to a licensed testing laboratory.

(b)(1) In a single transaction, a retailer may provide:

(A) one-half ounce of marijuana to a person 21 vears of age or older
upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph identification card
that indicates the person is domiciled in Vermont; or

(B) one-quarter of an ounce of marijuana to a person 21 years of age
or older upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph
1dentification card that indicates the person is domiciled outside Vermont.

(2) A retailer shall not knowingly and willfully sell an amount of
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marijuana to a person that causes the person to exceed the possession limit.

(c) A retailer shall only sell “useable marijuana” which means the dried
flowers of marijuana, and does not include the seeds, stalks, leaves, and roots
of the plant, and shall not package marijuana with other items, such as
paraphernalia, for sale to customers.

(d)(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the retailer.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be
either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties

of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of
tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A ‘“produced on” date reflecting the date that the cultivator
finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating,
“Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate
machinery,” “Keep away from children,” and “Possession of marijuana is
1llegal under federal law.”

(F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years
of age.

(e) A retailer shall display a safety information flyer developed or
approved by the Agency and supplied to the retailer free of charge. The flyer
shall contain information concerning the methods for administering marijuana,
the potential dangers of marijuana use, the symptoms of problematic usage,
and how to receive help for marijuana abuse.

() Internet sales and delivery of marijuana to customers are prohibited.
§ 4527. MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY

(a) A testing laboratory licensed under this chapter may acquire, possess,
analyze, test, and transport marijuana samples obtained from a licensed
marijuana establishment.

(b) Testing may address the following:

(1) residual solvents;

(2) poisons or toxins;
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(3) harmful chemicals;

(4) dangerous molds, mildew, or filth:

(5) harmful microbials, such as E.coli or salmonella;

(6) pesticides; and

(7) tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol potency.

(c) A testing laboratory shall have a written procedural manual made
available to employees to follow meeting the minimum standards set forth in
rules detailing the performance of all methods employed by the facility used to
test the analytes it reports.

(d) In accordance with rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, a testing
laboratory shall establish a protocol for recording the chain of custody of all
marijuana samples.

(e) A testing laboratory shall establish, monitor, and document the ongoing
review of a quality assurance program that is sufficient to identify problems in
the laboratory systems when they occur.

§ 4528. FEES

(a) The Agency shall charge and collect initial license application fees and
annual license renewal fees for each type of marijuana license under this
chapter. Fees shall be due and payable at the time of license application or
renewal.

(b)(1) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a cultivator
license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) $1.000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square

feet.

(B) $3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet
but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) $7.,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001-2.500 square feet.
(D) $15.000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501-5,000 square feet.
(E) $30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001-10,000 square feet.

(2) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a retailer
license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be $15.000.00.

(3) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a marijuana
testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter shall be
$500.00.

(4) If a person submits a qualifying application for a marijuana
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establishment license during an open application, pays the nonrefundable
application fee, but is not selected to receive a license due to the limited
number of licenses available, the person may reapply, based on availability, for
such a license within two vyears by resubmitting the application with any
necessary updated information, and shall be charged a fee that is fifty percent
of the application fees set forth in subdivision (1)—(3) of this subsection if the
original application was submitted prior to July 1, 2019.

(c)(1) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a cultivator license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) $1,000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square

feet.

(B) $3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet
but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) $7.,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001-2.500 square feet.
(D) $15.000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501-5,000 square feet.
(E) $30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001-10,000 square feet.

(2) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a retailer license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be $15.,000.00.

(3) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a marijuana testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter
shall be $2,500.00.

(d) The following administrative fees shall apply:

(1) Change of corporate structure fee (per person) shall be $1.000.00.
(2) Change of name fee shall be $1.000.00.
(3) Change of location fee shall be $1,000.00.
(4) Modification of license premises fee shall be $250.00.
(5) Addition of financier fee shall be $250.00.
(6) Duplicate license fee shall be $100.00.
§ 4529. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

(a) The Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund is hereby created. The
Fund shall be maintained by the Agency of Administration.

(b) The Fund shall be composed of:

(1) all application fees, license fees, renewal fees, and civil penalties
collected pursuant to this chapter; and
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(2) all taxes collected by the Commissioner of Taxes pursuant to this
chapter.

(c)(1) Funds shall be appropriated as follows:

(A) For the purpose of implementation, administration, and
enforcement of this chapter.

(B) Proportionately for the prevention of substance abuse, treatment
of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts by State and local law
enforcement to combat the illegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in
this subdivision, “criminal justice efforts” shall include efforts by both State
and local criminal justice agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors,
public defenders, and the courts.

(2) Appropriations made pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection
shall be in addition to current funding of the identified priorities and shall not
be used in place of existing State funding.

(d) All balances in the Fund at the end of any fiscal vear shall be carried
forward and remain part of the Fund. Interest earned by the Fund shall be
deposited into the Fund.

(e) This Fund is established in the State Treasury pursuant to 32 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 5. The Commissioner of Finance and Management shall
anticipate receipts in accordance with 32 V.S.A. § 588(4)(C).

(f) The Secretary of Administration shall report annually to the Joint Fiscal
Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal year on or
before the Committee’s regularly scheduled November meeting.

Subchapter 4. Marijuana Program Review Commission
§ 4546. PURPOSE; MEMBERS

(a) Creation. There is created a temporary Marijuana Program Review
Commission for the purpose of facilitating efficient and lawful implementation
of this act and examination of issues important to the future of marijuana
regulation in Vermont.

(b) Membership. The Commission shall be composed of the following
members:

(1) two members of the public appointed by the Governor;

(2) two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the
Speaker of the House;

(3) two members of the Senate, appointed by the Committee on
Committees; and
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(4) the Attorney General or designee.

(c) Term. Legislative members shall serve only while in office.
§ 4547. POWERS; DUTIES

(a) The Commission shall:

(1) collect information about the implementation, operation, and effect
of this act from members of the public, State agencies, and private and public
sector businesses and organizations;

(2) communicate with other states that have legalized marijuana and
monitor those states regarding their implementation of regulation, policies, and
strategies that have been successful and problems that have arisen;

(3) examine the issue of marijuana concentrates and edible marijuana
products and whether Vermont safely can allow and regulate their manufacture
and sale and, if so, how;

(4) keep updated on the latest information in Vermont and other
jurisdictions regarding the prevention and detection of impaired driving as it
relates to marijuana;

(5) study the opportunity for a cooperative agriculture business model
and licensure and community supported agriculture;

(6) examine whether Vermont should allow additional types of
marijuana establishment licenses, including a processor license and product
manufacturer license;

(7) review the statutes and rules for the therapeutic marijuana program
and dispensaries and determine whether additional amendments are necessary
to maintain patient access to marijuana and viability of the dispensaries:

(8) monitor supply and demand of marijuana cultivated and sold
pursuant to this act for the purpose of assisting the Agency of Agriculture,
Food, and Markets and policymakers with determining appropriate numbers of
licenses and limitations on the amount of marijuana cultivated and offered for
retail sale in Vermont so that the adult market is served without unnecessary
surplus marijuana;

(9) monitor the extent to which marijuana is accessed through both the
legal and illegal market by persons under 21 vears of age;

(10) identify strategies for preventing youth from using marijuana;

(11) identify academic and scientific research, including longitudinal
research questions, that when completed may assist policymakers in
developing marijuana policy in accordance with this act;
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(12) consider whether to create a local revenue stream which may
include a local option excise tax on marijuana sales or municipally assessed
fees;

(13) recommend the appropriate maximum amount of marijuana sold by
a retailer in a single transaction and whether there should be differing amounts
for Vermonters and nonresidents; and

(14) report any recommendations to the General Assembly and the
Governor, as needed.

(b) On or before January 15,2020, the Commission shall issue a final
report to the General Assembly and the Governor regarding its findings and
any recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

§ 4548. ADMINISTRATION

(a) Assistance. The Commission shall have the administrative, technical,
and legal assistance of the Administration.

(b) Meetings.

(1) The Administration shall call the first meeting of the Commission to
occur on or before August 1, 2017.

(2) The Commission shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Commission shall cease meeting regularly after the issuance of
its final report, but members shall be available to meet with Administration
officials and the General Assembly until July 1, 2019 at which time the
Commission shall cease to exist.

(¢) Reimbursement.

(1) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the General
Assembly, legislative members of the Commission shall be entitled to per diem
compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 406 for
as many meetings as the Chair deems necessary.

(2) Other members of the Commission who are not emplovees of the
State of Vermont and who are not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for
their attendance shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement
of expenses pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

Sec. 14. 32 V.S.A. chapter 207 is added to read:
CHAPTER 207. MARIJUANA TAXES
§ 7901. TAX IMPOSED
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(a) There is imposed a marijuana excise tax equal to 25 percent of the sales
price, as that term is defined in subdivision 9701(4) of this title, on each retail
sale of marijuana in this State. The tax imposed by this section shall be paid
by the buyer to the retailer. Each retailer shall collect from the buyer the full
amount of the tax payable on each taxable sale.

(b) The tax imposed by this section is separate from the general sales and
use tax imposed by chapter 233 of this title. The tax imposed under this
section shall be separately itemized from any State and local retail sales tax on
the sales receipt provided to the buyer.

(c) The following sales shall be exempt from the tax imposed under this
section:

(1) sales under any circumstances in which the State is without power to
impose the tax; and

(2) sales made by any dispensary, provided the marijuana will be
provided only to registered qualifying patients directly or through their
registered caregivers.

§ 7902. LIABILITY FOR TAX AND PENALTIES

(a) Any tax collected under this chapter shall be deemed to be held by the
retailer in trust for the State of Vermont. Any tax collected under this chapter
shall be accounted for separately so as to clearly indicate the amount of tax
collected, and that the tax receipts are the property of the State of Vermont.

(b) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall
be personally and individually liable for the amount of tax together with such
interest and penalty as has accrued under this title. If the retailer is a
corporation or other entity, the personal liability shall extend to any officer or
agent of the corporation or entity who as an officer or agent of the same has
the authority to collect the tax and transmit it to the Commissioner of Taxes as
required in this chapter.

(c) A retailer shall have the same rights in collecting the tax from his or her
purchaser or regarding nonpayment of the tax by the purchaser as if the tax
were a part of the purchase price of the marijuana and payable at the same
time; provided, however, if the retailer required to collect the tax has failed to
remit any portion of the tax to the Commissioner of Taxes, the Commissioner
of Taxes shall be notified of any action or proceeding brought by the retailer to
collect the tax and shall have the right to intervene in such action or

proceeding.

(d) A retailer required to collect the tax may also refund or credit to the
purchaser any tax erroneously, illegally, or unconstitutionally collected. No
cause of action that may exist under State law shall accrue against the retailer
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for the tax collected unless the purchaser has provided written notice to a
retailer, and the retailer has had 60 days to respond.

(e) To the extent not inconsistent with this chapter, the provisions for the
assessment, collection, enforcement, and appeals of the sales and use taxes in
chapter 233 of this title shall apply to the tax imposed by this chapter.

§ 7903. BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a retail sale of a
bundled transaction that includes marijuana is subject to the tax imposed by
this chapter on the entire selling price of the bundled transaction.

(b) If the selling price is attributable to products that are taxable and
products that are not taxable under this chapter, the portion of the price
attributable to the nontaxable products are subject to the tax imposed by this
chapter unless the retailer can identify by reasonable and verifiable standards
the portion that is not subject to tax from its books and records that are kept in
the regular course of business.

(¢) As used in this section, “bundled transaction” means:

(1) the retail sale of two or more products where the products are
otherwise distinct and identifiable, are sold for one nonitemized price, and at
least one of the products includes marijuana subject to the tax under this

chapter; or

(2) marijuana provided free of charge with the required purchase of
another product.

§ 7904. RETURNS

(a) Any retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall, on
or before the 15th day of every month, return to the Department of Taxes,
under oath of a person with legal authority to bind the retailer, a statement
containing its name and place of business, the amount of marijuana sales
subject to the excise tax imposed by this subchapter sold in the preceding
month, and any other information required by the Department of Taxes, along
with the tax due.

(b) Every retailer shall maintain, for not less than three years, accurate
records showing all transactions subject to tax liability under this chapter.
These records are subject to inspection by the Department of Taxes at all
reasonable times during normal business hours.

§ 7905. LICENSES

(a) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall
apply for a marijuana excise tax license in the manner prescribed by the
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Commissioner of Taxes. The Commissioner shall issue, without charge, to
each registrant a license empowering him or her to collect the marijuana excise
tax. Each license shall state the place of business to which it is applicable.
The license shall be prominently displayed in the place of business of the
registrant. The licenses shall be nonassignable and nontransferable and shall
be surrendered to the Commissioner immediately upon the registrant’s ceasing
to do business at the place named. A license to collect marijuana excise tax
shall be in addition to the licenses required by sections 9271 (meals and rooms
tax) and 9707 (sales and use tax) of this title and any license required by the
Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

(b) The Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets may require the
Commissioner of Taxes to suspend or revoke the tax license of any person for
failure to comply with any provision of this chapter.

Sec. 15. 32 V.S.A. § 5811 is amended to read:
§ 5811. DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply throughout this chapter unless the
context requires otherwise:

k %k %k

(18) “Vermont net income” means, for any taxable year and for any
corporate taxpayer:

(A) the taxable income of the taxpayer for that taxable year under the
laws of the United States, without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 168(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws of the United
States is exempt from taxation by the states:

(1) increased by:

(I) the amount of any deduction for State and local taxes on or
measured by income, franchise taxes measured by net income, franchise taxes
for the privilege of doing business and capital stock taxes; and

(IT) to the extent such income is exempted from taxation under
the laws of the United States by the amount received by the taxpayer on and
after January 1, 1986 as interest income from State and local obligations, other
than obligations of Vermont and its political subdivisions, and any dividends or
other distributions from any fund to the extent such dividend or distribution is
attributable to such Vermont State or local obligations;

(IIT) the amount of any deduction for a federal net operating
loss; and

(i1) decreased by:
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(I) the “gross-up of dividends” required by the federal Internal
Revenue Code to be taken into taxable income in connection with the
taxpayer’s election of the foreign tax credit; and

(IT) the amount of income which results from the required
reduction in salaries and wages expense for corporations claiming the Targeted
Job or WIN credits; and

(III) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been
allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as
authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

k %k %k

(21) “Taxable income” means federal taxable income determined
without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 168(k) and:

(A) Increased by the following items of income (to the extent such
income is excluded from federal adjusted gross income):

(1) interest income from non-Vermont state and local obligations;

(i1) dividends or other distributions from any fund to the extent
they are attributable to non-Vermont state or local obligations;

(ii1) the amount of State and local income taxes deducted from
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year, but in no case in an amount
that will reduce total itemized deductions below the standard deduction
allowable to the taxpayer; and

(iv) the amount of total itemized deductions, other than
deductions for State and local income taxes, medical and dental expenses, or
charitable contributions, deducted from federal adjusted gross income for the
taxable year, that is in excess of two and one-half times the standard deduction
allowable to the taxpayer; and

(B) Decreased by the following items of income (to the extent such
income is included in federal adjusted gross income):

(1) income from United States government obligations;

(i1) with respect to adjusted net capital gain income as defined in
26 U.S.C. § I(h) reduced by the total amount of any qualified dividend
income: either the first $5,000.00 of such adjusted net capital gain income; or
40 percent of adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of assets held by
the taxpayer for more than three years, except not adjusted net capital gain
income from:

(I) the sale of any real estate or portion of real estate used by
the taxpayer as a primary or nonprimary residence; or
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(IT) the sale of depreciable personal property other than farm
property and standing timber; or stocks or bonds publicly traded or traded on
an exchange, or any other financial instruments; regardless of whether sold by
an individual or business;

and provided that the total amount of decrease under this
subdivision (21)(B)(ii) shall not exceed 40 percent of federal taxable
income; and

(ii1) recapture of State and local income tax deductions not taken
against Vermont income tax; and

(iv) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been
allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as
authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

k %k %k

Sec. 16. 32 V.S.A. § 9741(51) is added to read:

(51) Marijuana sold by a dispensary as authorized under 18 V.S.A.
chapter 86 or by a retailer as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

* # * Impaired Driving * * *
Sec. 17. 23 V.S.A. § 1134 is amended to read:

§ 1134. MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATOR; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL OR MARIJUANA

(a) A person shall not consume alcoholic beverages or marijuana while
operating a motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section,
“alcoholic beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating liquor” as
defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) A person operating a motor vehicle on a public highway shall not
possess any open container which contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in
the passenger area of the motor vehicle.

(c) As used in this section, “passenger area” shall mean the area designed
to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and
any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their
seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove
compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk,
the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not
normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be assessed a
civil penalty of not more than $500.00. A person who violates subsection (b)
of this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $25:00 $50.00.
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A person adjudicated and assessed a civil penalty for an offense under
subsection (a) of this section shall not be subject to a civil violation for the
same actions under subsection (b) of this section.

Sec. 18. 23 V.S.A. § 1134a is amended to read:

§ 1134a. MOTOR VEHICLE PASSENGER; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL OR MARIJUANA

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a passenger in a
motor vehicle shall not consume alcoholic beverages or marijuana or possess
any open container which contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in the
passenger area of any motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this
section, “alcoholic beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating
liquor” as defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) As used in this section, “passenger area” shall mean the area designed
to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and
any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their
seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove
compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk,
the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not
normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(c) A person, other than the operator, may possess an open container which
contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in the passenger area of a motor
vehicle designed, maintained, or used primarily for the transportation of
persons for compensation or in the living quarters of a motor home or trailer
coach.

(d) A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $25.00.
Sec. 19. 23 V.S.A. § 1219 is amended to read:

§ 1219. COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE; DETECTABLE AMOUNT;
OUT-OF-SERVICE

A person who is operating, attempting to operate, or in actual physical
control of a commercial motor vehicle with any measurable or detectable
amount of alcohol or marijuana in his or her system shall immediately be
placed out-of-service for 24 hours by an enforcement officer. A law
enforcement officer who has reasonable grounds to believe that a person has a
measurable or detectable amount of alcohol or marijuana in his or her system
on the basis of the person’s general appearance, conduct, or other
substantiating evidence, may request the person to submit to a test, which may
be administered with a preliminary screening device. The law enforcement
officer shall inform the person at the time the test is requested that refusal to
submit will result in disqualification. If the person refuses to submit to the
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test, the person shall immediately be placed out-of-service for 24 hours and
shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle as provided in
section 4116 of this title.

Sec. 20. 23 V.S.A. § 4116 is amended to read:
§ 4116. DISQUALIFICATION

(a) A person shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle
for a period of one year if convicted of a first violation of:

k %k %k

(4) refusal to submit to a test to determine the operator’s alcohol or
marijuana concentration, as provided in section 1205, 1218, or 1219 of this
title;

k %k %k

Sec. 21. VERMONT GOVERNOR’S HIGHWAY SAFETY PROGRAM

(a) Impaired driving, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, is a significant concern for the General Assembly. While
Vermont has made a meaningful effort to educate the public about the dangers
of drinking alcohol and driving, the public seems to be less aware of the
inherent risks of driving while under the influence of drugs, whether it is
marijuana, a validly prescribed medication, or other drugs. It is the intent of
the General Assembly that the State reframe the issue of drunk driving as
impaired driving in an effort to comprehensively address the risks of such
behavior through prevention, education, and enforcement.

(b)(1) The Agency of Transportation, through its Vermont Governor’s
Highway Safety Program, shall expand its public education and prevention
campaign on drunk driving to impaired driving, which shall include drugeed

driving.
(2) The Agency shall report to the Senate and House Committees on

Judiciary and on Transportation on or before January 15, 2018 regarding
implementation of this section.

Sec. 22.  REPORTING IMPAIRED DRIVING DATA

The Commissioner of Public Safety and the Secretary of Transportation, in
collaboration, shall report to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary
and on Transportation on or before January 15 each vyear regarding the
following issues concerning impaired driving:

(1) the previous vear’s data in Vermont,

(2) the latest information regarding best practices on prevention and
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enforcement, and

(3) their recommendations for legislative action.
Sec. 23. TRAINING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT; IMPAIRED DRIVING

(a) It is imperative that Vermont provide adequate training to both local
and State law enforcement officers regarding the detection of impaired driving.
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training provides
instruction to officers at a level above Basic Standardized Sobriety Testing and
proves helpful to an officer in determining when a Drug Recognition Expert
(DRE) should be called. Vermont should endeavor to train as many law
enforcement officers as possible in ARIDE. DREs receive a more advanced
training in the detection of drugged driving and should be an available
statewide resource for officers in the field.

(b) The Secretary of Transportation and the Commissioner of Public Safety
shall work collaboratively to ensure that funding is available, either through
the Governor’s Highway Safety Program’s administration of National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration funds or other State funding sources,
for training the number of officers necessary to provide sufficient statewide
coverage for the enforcement impaired driving.

* # % Appropriations and Positions * * *

Sec. 24. FISCAL YEAR 2018 APPROPRIATIONS FROM THE
MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

In fiscal vear 2018 the following amounts are appropriated from the
Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund:

(1) Department of Health: $350,000.00 for initial prevention,
education, and counter marketing programs.

(2) Department of Taxes: $660,000.00 for the acquisition of an excise
tax module and staffing expenses to administer the excise tax established in
this act.

(3) Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets:

(A) $112,500.00 for the Vermont Agriculture and
Environmental Lab.

(B) $272.500.00 for staffing expenses related to rulemaking,
program administration, and processing of applications and licenses.

(4) Agency of Administration: $150,000.00 for expenses and staffing
of the Marijuana Program Review Commission established in this act.

Sec. 25. EXECUTIVE BRANCH POSITION AUTHORIZATIONS
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The establishment of the following new permanent classified positions is
authorized in fiscal yvear 2018 as follows:

(1) In the Department of Health—one (1) Substance Abuse Program
Manager.

(2) In the Department of Taxes—one (1) Business Analyst AC: Tax and
one (1) Tax Policy Analyst.

(3) In the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets—one (1)
Agriculture Chemist and two (2) Program Administrator.

(4) In the Marijuana Program Review Commission—one (1) exempt
Commission Director.

Sec. 26. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND
BUDGET AND REPORT

Annually, through 2019, the Secretary of Administration shall report to the
Joint Fiscal Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal
year on or before the Committee’s regularly scheduled November meeting on

the following:

(1) an update of the administration’s efforts concerning implementation,
administration, and enforcement of this act;

(2) any changes or updates to revenue expectations from fees and taxes
based on changes in competitive pricing or other information;

(3) projected budget adjustment needs for current year appropriations
from the Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund; and

(4) a comprehensive spending plan with recommended appropriations
from the Fund for the next the fiscal vear, by department, including an
explanation and justification for the expenditures and how each
recommendation meets the intent of this act.

* # * Miscellaneous * * *
Sec. 27. 24 V.S.A. § 2291 is amended to read:
§ 2291. ENUMERATION OF POWERS

For the purpose of promoting the public health, safety, welfare, and
convenience, a town, city, or incorporated village shall have the following
powers:

k %k %k

(29) To prohibit or regulate, by means of a civil ordinance adopted
pursuant to chapter 59 of this title, the number, time, place, manner, or
operation of a marijuana establishment, or any class of marijuana
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establishments, located in the municipality; provided, however, that
amendments to such an ordinance shall not apply to restrict further a marijuana
establishment in operation within the municipality at the time of the
amendment. As used in this subdivision, “marijuana establishment” is as
defined in 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

Sec. 28. 24 V.S.A. § 4414 is amended to read:
§ 4414. ZONING; PERMISSIBLE TYPES OF REGULATIONS

Any of the following types of regulations may be adopted by a municipality
in its bylaws in conformance with the plan and for the purposes established in
section 4302 of this title.

k %k %k

(16) Marijuana establishments. A municipality may adopt bylaws for
the purpose of regulating marijuana establishments as defined in 18 V.S.A.

chapter 87.
Sec. 29. WORKFORCE STUDY COMMITTEE

(a) Creation. There is created the Workforce Study Committee to examine
the potential impacts of alcohol and drug use on the workplace.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following five
members:

(1) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development or
designee;
(2) the Commissioner of Labor or designee;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee:

(4) one person representing the interests of employees appointed by the
Governor; and

(5) one person representing the interests of employers appointed by the
Governor.

(¢) Powers and duties. The Committee shall study:

(1) whether Vermont’s workers’ compensation and unemployment
insurance systems are adversely impacted by alcohol and drug use and identify
regulatory or legislative measures to mitigate any adverse impacts;

(2) the issue of alcohol and drugs in the workplace and determine
whether Vermont’s workplace drug testing laws should be amended to provide
employers with broader authority to conduct drug testing, including by
permitting drug testing based on a reasonable suspicion of drug use, or by
authorizing emplovers to conduct post-accident, employer-wide, or post-
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rehabilitation follow-up testing of employees; and

(3) the impact of alcohol and drug use on workplace safety and identify
regulatory or legislative measures to address adverse impacts and enhance
workplace safety.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative, technical,
and legal assistance of the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development, the Department of Labor, and the Department of Health.

(e) Report. On or before December 1, 2017, the Committee shall submit a
written report with findings and recommendations to the House Committee on
General, Housing and Military Affairs and the Senate Committee on Economic
Development, Housing and General Affairs with its findings and any
recommendations for legislative action.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Secretary of Commerce or designee shall call the first meeting
of the Committee to occur on or before September 15, 2017.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on December 31, 2017.
Sec. 30. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:
§ 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

(a) A Judicial Bureau is created within the Judicial Branch under the
supervision of the Supreme Court.

(b) The Judicial Bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

k %k %k

(24) Violations of 18 V.S.A. §§ 4230a and-4230b, relating to pessession
public consumption of marijuana and 18 V.S.A. § 4230e¢ relating to cultivation

of marijuana.

* % * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 31. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (misdemeanor drug possession study),
2 (legislative findings and intent), 3 (marijuana vyouth education and
prevention), 13 (marijuana establishments), 14 (marijuana taxes), and
29 (Workforce Study Committee) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Secs. 12 (chemical extraction via butane or hexane prohibited),
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17 (consumption or possession of marijuana by the operator of a motor
vehicle), 18 (consumption or possession of marijuana by a passenger of a
motor vehicle), 21 (Vermont Governor’s Highway Safety Program),
22 (reporting impaired driving data), 23 (training for law enforcement;
impaired driving), 24 (appropriations), 25 (positions), 26 (Marijuana
Regulation and Resource Fund budget and report), 27 (local authority to
regulate marijuana establishments), and 28 (zoning) shall take effect on

July 1, 2017.

(c) Sec. 15 (taxes; definitions) shall take effect on January 1, 2018 and
shall apply to taxable year 2018 and after.

(d) Secs. 4 (legislative intent; civil and criminal penalties), 5 (marijuana
definition), 6 (marijuana; criminal), 7 (marijuana; civil), 8 (marijuana
possession by a person under 21 years of age), 9 (cultivation of marijuana by a
person 21 vears of age or older), 10 (sale or furnishing marijuana to a person
under 21 vyears of age: criminal), 11 (sale of furnishing marijuana to a person
under 21 vyears of age; civil action for damages), 16 (sales tax), 19
(commercial motor vehicle), 20 (disqualification; commercial motor vehicle),
and 30 (Judicial Bureau: jurisdiction) shall take effect on January 2, 2019.

(For text see House Journal March 21, 2017 )
Action Postponed Until May 5, 2017
Favorable with Amendment
S. 122

An act relating to increased flexibility for school district mergers

Rep. Sharpe of Bristol, for the Committee on Education, recommends that
the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1 (Findings), with its reader assistance, by striking out the
reader assistance in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Findings and Purpose * * *

Second: In Sec. 1, by striking out the section heading in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE
Third: In Sec. 1, by adding a new subsection (b) to read:

(b) While Vermont generally does an excellent job educating our children,
we fall short in two critical areas. First, we are not as successful as we need to
be in educating children from families with low income, and second, while we
have a very high graduation rate from our high schools, not enough of our
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oraduates continue their education. Fulfilling the goals of Act 46 is a critical
step in addressing these shortcomings.

and by relettering the remaining sections to be alphabetically correct

Fourth: In Sec. 1, in relettered subsection (e), by striking out the last
sentence in its entirety

Fifth: In Sec. 1, by adding a subsection (f) to read:

(f) This act 1s designed to make useful changes to the merger time lines and
allowable governance structures under Act 46 without weakening or
eliminating the Act’s fundamental phased merger and incentive structures and
requirements. Nothing in this act should suggest that it is acceptable for a
school district to fail to take reasonable and robust action to seek to meet the
goals of Act 46.

Sixth: In Sec. 2, by striking out subsection (b) in its entirety and inserting
in lieu thereof the following:

(b) The incentives provided under this act shall be available only if the new
districts receive final approval of their electorate on or before November 30,
2017. This section is repealed on July 1, 2047 2019.

Seventh: By striking out Sec. 3 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 3. THREE-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE STRUCTURE; EXEMPTION
FROM STATEWIDE PLAN

(a) If the conditions of this section are met, the Merged District and the
Existing District or Districts shall be exempt from the requirement under 2015
Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9 and 10, to self-evaluate and make a
proposal to the Secretary of Education and State Board of Education and from
the State Board’s statewide plan.

(1) The new district is formed by the merger of at least three existing
districts (Merged District) and, together with one or two existing districts (each
an Existing District), are, following the receipt of all approvals required under
this section, members of the same supervisory union (Three-by-One Side-by-
Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, each Existing District is
either:

(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or
inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District’s school or schools and
the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State
Board of Education; or
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(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have
operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) The Merged District and each Existing District have, following the
receipt of all approvals required under this section, a model of operating
schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other;
provided, however, that if two Existing Districts are members of the Three-by-
One Side-by-Side Structure, the Existing Districts may have the same model of
operating schools or paying tuition if they are geographically isolated from
each other, within the meaning of subdivision (2)(A) of this subsection. These
models are:

(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some
orades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades:; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students
in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged District jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective
date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited to them
than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act;

(B) each Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth
1n subdivision (2) of this subsection (a);

(C) each Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to
take to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the
goals set forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(5) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged District obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the
proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(6) Each Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an
Existing District in the proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure on or
before November 30, 2017.

(7) The districts proposing to merge into the Merged District receive
final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before
November 30, 2017, and the Merged District becomes fully operational on or
before July 1, 2019.
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(8) The Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or before
November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged District may
include:

(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this
section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the
Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and
Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the
effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are
not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section,
regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives
under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or
2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(¢) The formation of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure shall not
entitle the Merged District or an Existing District to qualify for the incentives
provided in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4. However, a Merged
District that is otherwise entitled to incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves
No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
each as amended, shall not lose these incentives due to its participation as a
member of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

Eighth: By striking out Sec. 4 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 4. TWO-BY-TWO-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE  STRUCTURE;
REGIONAL EDUCATION DISTRICT INCENTIVES

(a) Notwithstanding 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) that
requires a single regional education district (RED) to have an average daily
membership of at least 1,250 or result from the merger of at least four districts,
or both, two or more new districts shall be eligible for the incentives provided
in No. 153, Sec. 4 as amended by 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156 and 2015
Acts and Resolves No. 46 if:

(1) Each new district is formed by the merger of at least two existing
districts (each a Merged District) and, together with an Existing District, are,
following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, members of
the same supervisory union (Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, the Existing District is
either:
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(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or
inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District’s school or schools and
the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State
Board of Education; or

(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have
operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) Each Merged District and the Existing District, following the
receipt of all approvals required under this section, have a model of operating
schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other. These
models are:

(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some
orades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades:; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students
in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure meets all criteria
for RED formation other than the size criterion of 2010 Acts and Resolves
No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) (average daily membership of at least 1,250) and
otherwise as provided in this section.

(5) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged Districts jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective
date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited
to them than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves
No. 46, Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act;

(B) the Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth in
subdivision (2) of this subsection (a); and

(C) the Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to take
to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the goals set
forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(6) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged Districts obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the
proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(7) The Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an
Existing District in the proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure
on or before November 30, 2017.
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(8) The districts proposing to merge into each Merged District receive
final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before
November 30, 2017, and each Merged District becomes fully operational on or
before July 1, 2019.

(9) Each Merged District has the same effective date of merger.

(10) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or
before November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged Districts may
include:

(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this
section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the
Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and
Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the
effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are
not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section,
regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives
under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or
2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(c) If the conditions of this section are met, the incentives provided in 2010
Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4 shall be available to each Merged District,
unless the Merged District has already received incentives under 2010 Acts
and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended. These incentives shall not be available to
the Existing District.

(d) If the conditions of this section are met, the Existing District shall be
exempt from the requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9
and 10, to self-evaluate and make a proposal to the Secretary of Education and
State Board of Education and exempt from the State Board’s statewide plan.

Ninth: By adding three new sections, to be Secs. 6a, 6b, and 6¢, with
reader assistances, to read as follows:

* # * Reduction of Average Daily Membership; Guidelines for Alternative
Structures * * *

Sec. 6a. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 5 is amended to read:
Sec. 5. PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE;
ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE
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k %k %k

(c) Alternative structure: supervisory union with member districts. An
Education District as envisioned in subsection (b) of this section may not be
possible or the best model to achieve Vermont’s education goals in all regions
of the State. In such situations, a supervisory union composed of multiple
member districts, each with its separate school board, can may meet the State’s
goals, particularly if:

(1) the member districts consider themselves to be collectively
responsible for the education of all prekindergarten through grade 12 students
residing in the supervisory union;

(2) the supervisory union operates in a manner that complies with its
obligations under 16 V.S.A. § 261a and that maximizes efficiencies through
economies of scale and the flexible management, transfer, and sharing of
nonfinancial resources among the member districts, which may include a
common personnel system, with the goal of increasing the ratio of students to
full-time equivalent staff;

(3) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school
districts practicable, achieved wherever possible by the merger of districts with
similar operating and tuitioning patterns; and

(4) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school
districts practicable after consideration of greatly differing levels of
indebtedness among the member districts; and

)(5) the combined average daily membership of all member districts is
not less than 1,100 900.

* # * Secretary and State Board; Consideration of Alternative Structure
Proposals * * *

Sec. 6b. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 10 is amended to read:
Sec. 10. TRANSITION TO SUSTAINABLE GOVERNANCE
STRUCTURES; PROPOSAL; FINAL PLAN

k %k %k

(¢) Process. On and after October 1, 2017, the Secretary and State Board
shall consider any proposals submitted by districts or groups of districts under
Sec. 9 of this act. Districts that submit such a proposal shall have the
opportunity to add to or otherwise amend their proposal in connection with the
Secretary’s consideration of the proposal and conversations with the district or
districts under subsection (a) of this section, and in connection with testimony
presented to the State Board under subsection (b) of this section. The State
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Board may, in its discretion, approve an alternative governance proposal at any
time on or before November 30, 2018.

(d) The statewide plan required by subsection (b) of this section shall
include default Articles of Agreement to be used by all new unified union
school districts created under the plan until the board of the new district votes
to approve new or amended articles.

(e) After the State Board of Education issues the statewide plan under
subsection (b) of this section, districts subject to merger shall have 90 days to
form a study committee under 16 V.S.A. § 706b and to draft Articles of
Agreement for the new district. During this period, the study committee shall
hold at least one public hearing to consider and take comments on the draft
Articles of Agreement.

() If the study committee formed under subsection (e) of this section does
not approve Articles of Agreement within the 90-day period provided in that
subsection, the provisions in the default Articles of Agreement included in the
statewide plan shall apply to the new district.

(e)(g) Applicability. This section shall not apply to:
(1) an interstate school district;

(2) a regional career technical center school district formed under
16 V.S.A. chapter 37, subchapter 5A; or

(3) a district that, between June 30, 2013 and July 2, 2019, began to
operate as a unified union school district and:

(A) voluntarily merged into the preferred education governance
structure, an Education District, as set forth Sec. 5(b) of this act; or

(B) is a regional education district or any other district eligible to
receive incentives pursuant to 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended by
2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156.

* # * Deadline for Small School Support Metrics * * *
Sec. 6¢. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 21 is amended to read:
Sec. 21. SMALL SCHOOL SUPPORT; METRICS

On or before July 1, 2018, the State Board of Education shall adopt and
publish metrics by which it will make determinations whether to award small
school support grants pursuant to 16 V.S.A. § 4015 on and after July 1, 2019,
as amended by Sec. 20 of this act; provided, however, that on or before
September 30, 2017, the State Board shall publish a list of districts that it
determines to be geographically isolated pursuant to that section as amended
by Sec. 20 of this act.
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Tenth: By striking out Sec. 7 (Self-Evaluation, Meetings, and Proposal) in
its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 7. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 9 is amended to read:
Sec. 9. SELF-EVALUATION, MEETINGS, AND PROPOSAL

(a) On or before November-30,-2017 the date that is the earlier of six
months after the date the State Board’s rules on the process for submitting
alternative governance proposals take effect or January 31, 2018, the board of
each school district in the State that has a governance structure different from
the preferred structure identified in Sec. 5(b) of this act (Education District), or
that does not expect to become or will not become an Education District on or
before July 1, 2019, shall perform each of the following actions, unless the
district qualifies for an exemption under Sec. 10(g) of this act.

k %k %k

Eleventh: In Sec. 9, in subsection (e), by deleting subsection (e) in its
entirety

Twelfth: By adding a new section, to be Sec. 17, to read as follows:

Sec. 17. QUALIFICATION FOR INCENTIVES; ASSIGNMENT TO A
SUPERVISORY UNION BY THE STATE BOARD

Notwithstanding any requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Secs. 6 and 7 that the newly formed school district be its own supervisory
district, the newly formed school district shall qualify for the incentives under
this section even if it is assigned to a supervisory union by the State Board of
Education and that assignment by the State Board is not made at the request of
the school district.

Thirteen: By adding four new sections, to be Secs. 18, 19, 20, and 21, with
reader assistances, to read as follows:

* # * State Board Rulemaking Authority * * *
Sec. 18. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 8 is amended to read:
Sec. 8. EVALUATION BY THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

k %k %k

(¢) The State Board may adopt rules designed to assist districts in
submitting alternative structure proposals, but shall not by rule or otherwise
1mpose more stringent requirements than those in this act.

* % * Tax Provisions * * *

Sec. 19. CALCULATION OF EDUCATION PROPERTY TAX SPENDING
ADJUSTMENT AND EDUCATION INCOME TAX SPENDING
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ADJUSTMENT FOR CERTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICTS

(a) Under this section, a qualifying school district is a school district:

(1) that operates no schools and pays tuition for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(2) that, on or before November 15, 2017, obtains final approval from
its electorate to consolidate with an existing unified union school district that is
eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153
(consolidated district), as amended; and

(3) for which either:

(A) the education property tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A.
§ 5401(13)(A) for the district’s fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district’s
education property tax spending adjustment for the district’s 2015 fiscal year
by more than 100 percent; or

(B) the education income tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A.
§ 5401(13)(B) for the district’s fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district’s
education income tax spending adjustment for the district’s 2015 fiscal year by
more than 100 percent.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary:

(1) for the first year in which the consolidated district’s equalized
homestead tax rate or household income percentage is reduced under 2010
Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended, the equalized homestead tax rate and
household income percentage for the town associated with the qualifying
district shall be set at the average equalized homestead tax rate and household
income percentage of the towns associated with the other districts that merge
into the consolidated district; and

(2) 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4(a)(2), which limits the
amount by which tax rates are permitted to change, shall not apply to the town
associated with the qualifying district for the first year for which the
consolidated district’s equalized homestead tax rate or household income
percentage is reduced under that act.

Sec. 20. MODIFIED UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICTS; TAX RATE
CALCULATIONS

The tax rate provisions in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 155, Sec. 13(a)(1),
as amended, shall not apply to the calculation of tax rates in a member of a
modified unified union school district (MUUSD) formed under 2012 Acts and
Resolves No. 156, Sec. 17, as amended, if that member is a member for fewer
than all grades, prekindergarten through erade 12. This section shall apply to
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the calculation of taxes in any MUUSD that began full operation after July 1,
2015.

* * * Flections to Unified Union School District Board * * *
Sec. 21. ELECTIONS TO UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD

(a) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 706k,
the election of a director on the board of a unified union school district who is
to serve on the board after expiration of the term for an initial director shall be
held at the unified union school district’s annual meeting in accordance with
the district’s articles of agreement.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 7061,
if a vacancy occurs on the board of a unified union school district and the
vacancy is in a seat that is allocated to a specific town, the clerk shall
immediately notify the selectboard of the town. Within 30 days of the receipt
of that notice, the unified union school district board, in consultation with the
selectboard, shall appoint a person who is otherwise eligible to serve as a
member of the unified union school district board to fill the vacancy until an
election is held in accordance with the unified union school district’s articles of

agreement.
(¢) This section is repealed on July 1, 2018.

and by renumbering the remaining section (Effective Date) to be numerically
correct

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)
(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 31, 2017 )

Rep. Ancel of Calais, for the Committee on Ways and Means, recommends
the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment as
recommended by the Committee on Education and when further amended as
follows:

House propose to the Senate that the report be amended in the ninth
instance of amendment, in Sec. 6a, amending 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Sec. 5 (preferred education governance structure; alternative structure), by
striking out the section designation “PREFERRED EDUCATION
GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE” and
inserting in lieu thereof “PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE
STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE GUIDELINES”.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)
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Rep. Juskiewicz of Cambridge, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence of amendment as
recommended by the Committees on Education and Ways and Means.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
ACTION CALENDAR
Third Reading
S. 103
An act relating to the regulation of toxic substances and hazardous materials
S. 131
An act relating to State’s Attorneys and sheriffs
NOTICE CALENDAR
Favorable with Amendment
S. 95
An act relating to sexual assault nurse examiners

Rep. Wood of Waterbury, for the Committee on Human Services,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. chapter 167, subchapter 5 is amended to read:
Subchapter 5. Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners
§ 5431. DEFINITION; CERTIFICATION

(a) As used in this subchapter, “SANE” means a sexual assault nurse
examiner.

(b) A person licensed under 26 V.S.A. chapter 28 (nursing) may obtain a
specialized certification from the SANE Program as a sexual assault nurse
examiner if he or she demonstrates compliance with the requirements for
specialized certification as established by the SANE Board.

§ 5432. SANE BOARD
(a) The SANE Board is created for the purpose of regulating sexual-assault

purse-examiners advising the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners Program.
(b) The SANE Board shall be composed of the following members:

(1) the Executive Director of the Vermont State Nurses Association or
designee;

(2) the President of the Vermont Association of Hospitals and Health
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Systems;
(3) the Director of the Vermont Forensic Laboratory or designee;

(4) the Director of the Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual
Violence or designee;

(5) an attorney with experience prosecuting sexual assault crimes,
appointed by the Attorney General;

(6) the Executive Director of the Vermont Center for Crime Victim
Services or designee;

(7) alaw enforcement officer assigned to one of Vermont’s special units
of investigation, appointed by the Commissioner of Public Safety;

(8) a law enforcement officer employed by a municipal police
department, appointed by the Executive Director of the Vermont Criminal
Justice Training Council;

(9) three sexual assault nurse examiners, appointed by the Attorney
General;

(10) a physietan health care provider as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 9402
whose practice includes the care of victims of sexual assault, appointed by the

Vermont-Medical Society Commissioner of Health;

(11) a pediatrician whose practice includes the care of victims of sexual
assault, appointed by the Vermont Chapter of the American Academy of
Pediatrics;

(12) the Coordinator of the Vermont Victim Assistance Program or
designee;

(13) the President of the Vermont Alliance of Child Advocacy Centers
or designee;

(14) the Chair of the Vermont State Board of Nursing or designee; and
(15) the Commissioner for Children and Families or designee; and
(16) the Commissioner of Health or designee.

(¢) The SANE Board shall advise the SANE Program on the following:

(1) statewide program priorities;

(2) training and educational requirements;

(3) a standardized sexual assault protocol and kit to be used by all
physicians and hospitals in this State when providing forensic examinations of
victims of alleged sexual offenses; and
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(4) statewide policy development related to sexual assault nurse
examiner programs.

§ 5433. SANE PROGRAM CLINICAL COORDINATOR
A—grant-program—shall-be—established-by A clinical coordinator position

shall be funded by e1ther the Vermont Center for Crime Vlctlm Services;

e able : : n or through
other 1dent1ﬁed State fundmg optlons for the purpose of stafﬁng the SANE
program Program. The position shall be contracted through the Vermont
Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence. The Clinical Coordinator
shall consult with the SANE Board in performing the following duties:

(1) overseeing the recruitment and retention of SANEs in the State of
Vermont;

(2) administering a statewide training educational program, including:
(A) the initial SANE certification training;
(B) ongoing training to ensure currency of practice for SANESs; and
(C) advanced training programs as needed;

(3) providing consultation and, technical assistance, and training to
SANEs and acute care hospitals regarding the standardized-sexual-assault
protoeol standards of care for sexual assault patients; and

(4) providing training and outreach to criminal justice and community-
based agencies as needed; and

(5) coordinating and managing a system for ensuring best practices:

(6) granting certifications, pursuant to section 5431 of this title, to
candidates who demonstrate compliance with the requirements for specialized
certification as established by the SANE Board.

§ 5434, SANE BOARD DL HIES




e- [Repealed.]
§ 5435. ACCESS TO A SEXUAL ASSAULT NURSE EXAMINER

(a) On or before September 1, 2017, the Vermont Association of Hospitals
and Health Systems (VAHHS) and the Vermont SANE Program shall enter
into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to ensure improved access to
sexual assault nurse examiners (SANE) for victims of sexual assault in
underserved regions. Improved access may include all acute care hospitals to
provide patients with care from a paid employee who is also a certified sexual

assault nurse examiner or access to a shared regional staffing pool that includes
certified sexual assault nurse examiners.

(b) The Vermont SANE Program shall develop and offer an annual training
regarding standards of care and forensic evidence collection to emergency
department appropriate health care providers at acute care hospitals in
Vermont. Personnel who are certified sexual assault nurse examiners shall not
be subject to this subsection.

(¢) On or before January 1, 2018, the SANE Program shall report to the
General Assembly on training participation rates pursuant to subsection (b) of
this section.

Sec. 2. SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE KITS; STUDY COMMITTEE

(a) Creation. There is created the Sexual Assault Evidence Kit Study
Committee for the purpose of conducting a comprehensive examination of
issues related to sexual assault evidence kits.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following six
members:

(1) the Director of the Vermont Forensic Laboratory or designee;

(2) the Executive Director of the Vermont Center for Crime Victims
Services or designee;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee:

(4) a representative of the Vermont Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners
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(SANE) Program;

(5) a representative of the county special investigative units appointed
by the Executive Director of the State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs; and

(6) a law enforcement professional appointed by the Commissioner of
Public Safety.
(¢) Powers and duties. The Committee shall address the following issues:

(1) the current practices for kit tracking;

(2) the effectiveness and cost of a system allowing for the online
completion of sexual assault evidence kit documentation with electronic
notification after reports are submitted;

(3) the feasibility and cost of a web-based tracking system to allow
agencies involved in the response and prosecution of sexual assault to track
sexual assault evidence kits, pediatric sexual assault evidence kits, and
toxicology Kkits using a bar code number uniquely assigned to each kit;

(4) the effectiveness and challenges of the current system of police
transport of evidence kits from hospitals to the Vermont Forensic
Laboratory; and

(5) the feasibility and cost of alternative methods of transport of sexual
assault evidence kits such as mail, delivery service, or courier.

(d) Assistance. The Center for Crime Victim Services shall convene the
first meeting of the Committee and provide support services.

(e) Report. On or before November 1, 2017, the SANE Program, on
behalf of the Committee, shall submit a written report to the House and Senate
Committees on Judiciary, the House Committee on Human Services, and the
Senate Committee on Health and Welfare.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Center for Crime Victim Services shall call the first meeting of
the Committee to occur on or before August 1, 2017.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.
(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on January 15, 2018.
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Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
(Committee vote: 10-0-1)
(For text see Senate Journal March 23, 2017 )
S. 100

An act relating to promoting affordable and sustainable housing

Rep. Baser of Bristol, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Vermont Housing and Conservation Board;
Housing Bond Proceeds for Affordable Housing * * *
Sec. 1. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE; AFFORDABLE HOUSING BOND

(a) Findings.

(1) The General Assembly finds that investments are needed to help
house the most vulnerable as well as creating more homes for workers.

(2) The shortage of affordable and available homes has been highlighted
recently by:

(A) the Vermont Futures Project of the Vermont Chamber of
Commerce, which set a growth target of 5,000 new and improved housing

units annually;

(B) a national consultant’s recommendations for a Roadmap to End
Homelessness, which calls for, over the next five years, 368 new units for
permanent supportive housing and 1,251 new homes affordable to families
with income that is not more than 30 percent of the median; and

(C) the 2015 statewide housing needs assessment by Bowen National
Research, which found the largest gaps in housing affordable to households
with income below 30 percent of median and households with income between
85 percent and 120 percent of median, and found a lack of housing availability
across the income spectrum.

(b) Purpose. The purpose of this act is to promote the development and
improvement of housing for Vermonters.

Sec. 2. 10 V.S.A. § 314 is added to read:
§ 314. AFFORDABLE HOUSING BOND; INVESTMENT

The Vermont Housing and Conservation Board shall use the proceeds of
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bonds, notes, and other obligations issued by the Vermont Housing Finance
Agency pursuant to subdivision 621(22) of this title and transferred to the
Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund to fund the creation and
improvement of owner-occupied and rental housing for Vermonters with very
low to middle income, in areas targeted for growth and reinvestment, as
follows:

(1) not less than 25 percent of the housing shall be targeted to
Vermonters with very low income, meaning households with income below 50
percent of area median income;

(2) not less than 25 percent of the housing shall be targeted to
Vermonters with moderate income, meaning households with income between
80 and 120 percent of area median income; and

(3) the remaining housing shall be targeted to Vermonters with income
that is less than or equal to 120 percent of area median income, consistent with
the provisions of this chapter.

Sec. 2a. 10 V.S.A. § 315 is added to read:
§ 315. AFFORDABLE HOUSING FUND

There is created the Affordable Housing Fund, the sole purpose of which
shall be to serve as the depository of the first $2.500,000.00 of revenues from
the property transfer tax pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 9610(d), which shall be
distributed to the Vermont Housing Finance Agency to service the debt for
bonds, notes, and other obligations pursuant to subdivision 621(22) of this
title, the proceeds of which the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund
shall use for the creation and improvement of affordable housing pursuant to
section 314 of this title.

Sec. 3. 10 V.S.A. § 323 is amended to read:
§ 323. ANNUAL REPORT

Prior to January 31 of each year, the beard Board shall submit a report
concemmg its activities to the ge#emelﬁ Governor and leg+slaﬂ¥e—eemm+ttees

ﬁn&nee—and—ms&m&eﬂs to the House Commlttees on Agrlculture and Forestry,

on Appropriations, on Corrections and Institutions, on Natural Resources, Fish
and Wildlife, and on Ways and Means and the Senate Committees on
Agriculture, on Appropriations, on Finance, on Institutions, and on Natural
Resources and Energy. The report shall include;—but-not-be-limited-to; the
following:

(1) a list and description of activities funded by the beard Board during
the preceding year, including commitments made to fund projects through
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housing bond proceeds pursuant to section 314 of this title, and project
descriptions, levels of affordability, and geographic location;

k %k %k

* # * Allocation of Property Transfer Tax Revenues * * *
Sec. 4. 32 V.S.A. § 9610 is amended to read:
§ 9610. REMITTANCE OF RETURN AND TAX; INSPECTION OF
RETURNS

(a) Not later than 30 days after the receipt of any property transfer return, a
town clerk shall file the return in the office of the town clerk and electronically
forward a copy of the acknowledged return to the Commissioner; provided,
however, that with respect to a return filed in paper format with the town, the
Commissioner shall have the discretion to allow the town to forward a paper

copy of that return to the department Department.

(b) The copies of property transfer returns in the custody of the town clerk
may be inspected by any member of the public.

(c) Prior to distributions of property transfer tax revenues under 10 V.S.A.
§ 312, 24 V.S.A. § 4306(a), and 32-V.S-A-—§ subdivision 435(b)(10) of this
title, ene two percent of the revenues received from the property transfer tax
shall be deposited in a special fund in the Department of Taxes for Property
Valuation and Review administration costs.

(d)(1) Prior to any distribution of property transfer tax revenue under
10 V.S.A. § 312, 24 V.S.A. § 4306(a), subdivision 435(b)(10) of this title, and
subsection (¢) of this section, $2.500,000.00 of the revenue received from the
property transfer tax shall be deposited in the Affordable Housing Fund
created in 10 V.S.A. § 315 and distributed to the Vermont Housing Finance
Agency to pay the principal of and interest due on the bonds, notes, and other
obligations authorized to be issued by the Agency pursuant to 10 V.S.A.
§ 621(22), the proceeds of which the Vermont Housing and Conservation
Board shall use to create affordable housing pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 314.

(2) As long as the bonds, notes, and other obligations incurred pursuant
to subdivision (1) of this subsection remain outstanding, the rate of tax
1mposed pursuant to section 9602 of this title shall not be reduced below a rate

estimated, at the time of any reduction, to generate annual revenues of at least
$12.000,000.00.

* #* Vermont Housing Finance Agency; Authority to Issue Bonds for
Affordable Housing * * *

Sec. 5. 10 V.S.A. § 621 is amended to read:
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§ 621. GENERAL POWERS AND DUTIES

The Agency shall have all of the powers necessary and convenient to carry
out and effectuate the purposes and provisions of this chapter, including
without limitation those general powers provided a business corporation by
I11A V.S.A. § 3.02 and those general powers provided a nonprofit corporation
by 11B V.S.A. § 3.02 and including, without limiting the generality of the
foregoing, the power to:

k %k %k

(21) use funds received from real estate trust and escrow accounts
established under 26 V.S.A. § 2214(c), IORTA funds, for down payment and
closing cost assistance with priority given to persons and families at or below
90 percent of median income and to persons and families purchasing
perpetually affordable housing;

(22) issue bonds, notes, and other obligations secured by the property
transfer tax revenues transferred to the Agency pursuant to 32 V.S.A.

§ 9610(d).
Sec. 6. 10 V.S.A. § 631(1) is added to read:

(D(1) The bonds, notes, and other obligations authorized to be issued
pursuant to subdivision 621(22) of this title shall be secured by a pledge of the
property transfer tax revenues to be transferred to the Agency pursuant to
32 V.S.A. § 9610(d) and shall mature on or before June 30, 2039.

(2) The Agency may issue the bonds, notes, and other obligations in one
or more series at one time or from time to time, provided that the aggregate
annual debt service on the bonds, notes, and other obligations shall not exceed
$2.500,000.00 at any time.

(3) The Agency shall transfer the proceeds of the bonds, notes, and
other obligations, less issuance fees and costs and required reserves, to the
Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund established pursuant to section
312 of this title for use by the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board as
provided in section 314 of this title.

(4) The Agency, the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board, and the
State Treasurer may execute one or more agreements governing the terms and
conditions under which the property transfer tax revenues that secure the
bonds, notes, and obligations shall be transferred to the Agency, and any other
1ssues they determine appropriate.

* * * Funding for Affordable Housing Bond Program:;

Allocation of Revenues; Intent * * *
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Sec. 7. INTENT; FUNDING FOR AFFORDABLE HOUSING BOND
PROGRAM; ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TRANSFER TAX
REVENUES

(a) Revenues from the property transfer tax, before the passage of this act,
were allocated pursuant to statute as follows:

(1) The first two percent is deposited in a special fund in the
Department of Taxes for Property Valuation and Review administration costs
pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 9610(c).

(2) Of the remaining 98 percent of the revenues:

(A) 17 percent is deposited in the Municipal and Regional Planning
Fund created in 24 V.S.A. § 4306.

(B) 50 percent is deposited in the Vermont Housing and Conservation
Trust Fund created in 10 V.S.A. § 312.

(C) 33 percent is deposited in the General Fund created in 32 V.S.A.

435.

(b) Pursuant to Sec. 4 of this act, in 32 V.S.A. § 9610(d), the first
$2.500,000.00 of revenue generated from the property transfer tax is deposited
in the Affordable Housing Fund created in 10 V.S.A. § 315 and distributed to
the Vermont Housing Finance Agency to service the bonds, notes, and other
obligations incurred by the Agency pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 621(22), the
proceeds of which the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board shall use to
create affordable housing pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 314.

(¢) Transferring the first $2.500,000.00 of property transfer tax revenues to
the Vermont Housing Finance Agency for debt service reduces the amount of
revenues available for allocation to the respective statutory recipients
1dentified in subsection (a) of this section.

(d) To compensate for this reduction of available property transfer tax
revenue, it is the intent of the General Assembly through this act to provide for
the transfer of $2,500,000.00 to the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust
Fund, as follows:

(1) Sec. D.100(a)(2) of H.518 (2017) appropriates $11.304.840.00 in
fiscal vear 2018 from the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund to
the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board. Upon the effective date of this
act, the amount of $1,500,000.00 shall revert to the Vermont Housing and
Conservation Trust Fund, resulting in a fiscal year 2018 total appropriation to
the Board of $9,804.840.00. In fiscal year 2018 only, the amount of
$1,500,000.00 shall be transferred from the Vermont Housing and
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Conservation Trust Fund to the General Fund.

(2) As provided in Sec. 9 of this act, from July 1, 2017 until July 1,
2039, pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 9602a(d), the first $1,000,000.00 in revenue
generated by the clean water surcharge of 0.2 percent shall be transferred to
the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund. In fiscal year 2018 only,
the Commissioner shall transfer the amount of $1.000.000.00 from the
Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund to the General Fund.

* # * Clean Water Surcharge; Repeal of 2018 Sunset * * *
Sec. 8. REPEAL; SUNSET OF CLEAN WATER SURCHARGE

2015 Acts and Resolves No. 64, Sec. 39 (sunset of clean water surcharge in
2018) is repealed.

* # % Clean Water Surcharge; Allocation of
First $1 Million in Revenue until 2039 * * *
Sec. 9. 32 V.S.A. § 9602a is amended to read:
§ 9602a. CLEAN WATER SURCHARGE

There shall be a surcharge of 0.2 percent on the value of property subject to
the property transfer tax under section 9602 of this title, except that there shall
be no surcharge on the first $100,000.00 in value of property to be used for the
principal residence of the transferee or the first $200,000.00 in value of
property transferred if the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage
funded in part with a homeland grant through the Vermont Housing and
Conservation Trust Fund or which the Vermont Housing and Finance Agency
or U.S. Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has committed to
make or purchase. The surcharge shall be in addition to any tax assessed under
section 9602 of this title. The surcharge assessed under this section shall be
paid, collected, and enforced under this chapter in the same manner as the tax
assessed under section 9602 of this title. The Commissioner shall deposit the
surcharge collected under this section in the Clean Water Fund under 10 V.S.A.
§ 1388, except for the first $1,000,000.00 of revenue generated by the
surcharge, which shall be deposited in the Vermont Housing and Conservation
Trust Fund created in 10 V.S.A. § 312.

* # * Clean Water Surcharge; Allocation of
Revenue after 2039 * * *
Sec. 10. 32 V.S.A. § 9602a is amended to read:
§ 9602a. CLEAN WATER SURCHARGE

There shall be a surcharge of 0.2 percent on the value of property subject to
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the property transfer tax under section 9602 of this title, except that there shall
be no surcharge on the first $100,000.00 in value of property to be used for the
principal residence of the transferee or the first $200,000.00 in value of
property transferred if the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage
funded in part with a homeland grant through the Vermont Housing and
Conservation Trust Fund or which the Vermont Housing and Finance Agency
or U.S. Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has committed to
make or purchase. The surcharge shall be in addition to any tax assessed under
section 9602 of this title. The surcharge assessed under this section shall be
paid, collected, and enforced under this chapter in the same manner as the tax
assessed under section 9602 of this title. The Commissioner shall deposit the

surcharge collected under this section in the Clean Water Fund under 10 V.S.A.
$1 00000000 of revenue cenerated b he

* * * Repeal of Affordable Housing Bond Provisions After Life of Bond * * *
Sec. 11. REPEAL
The following shall be repealed on July 1, 2039:

(1) 10 V.S.A. § 314 (Vermont Housing and Conservation Board;
affordable housing bond and investments).

(2) 10 V.S.A. § 315 (Affordable Housing Fund).

(3) 10 V.S.A. § 621(22) (Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA)
authority to issue debt obligations secured by property transfer tax).

(4) 10 V.S.A. § 631(]) (debt obligations issued by VHFA).

(5) 32 V.S.A. § 9610(d) (property transfer tax priority for affordable
housing debt repayment).

* % * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017, except for Sec. 10 (entire clean
water surcharge to clean water fund), which shall take effect on July 1, 2039.

(Committee vote: 8-3-0)
(For text see Senate Journal May 3, 2017)
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Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 495
An act relating to miscellaneous agriculture subjects

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* #* Administrative Penalty Process * * *
Sec. 1. 6 V.S.A. § 13 is amended to read:
§ 13. ASSURANCES OF DISCONTINUANCE

(a) As an alternative to administrative or judicial proceedings, the seeretary
Secretary may accept an assurance of discontinuance of any violation. An
assurance of discontinuance may include;-but-need-not-be-limited-te:

(1) specific actions to be taken;

(2) abatement or mitigation schedules;

(3) payment of a civil or administrative penalty and the costs of
investigation; or

(4) payment of an amount to be held in escrow pending the outcome of
an action, or as restitution to aggrieved persons.

(b) An assurance of discontinuance shall be in writing, and may by its
terms be filed with the superior-eourt Superior Court having jurisdiction over
the subject matter and become an order of the court. Evidence of a violation
of an assurance of discontinuance shall be prima facie proof of the violation.

(c) Any violation of an assurance of discontinuance shall constitute a
separate and distinct offense of the underlying regulatory program and shall be
subject to the applicable general penalties for violations of the law under that
program, in addition to any other applicable penalties.

(d) Costs of investigations collected under subsection (a) of this section
shall be credited to a special fund and shall be available to the ageney Agency
to offset these costs.

Sec. 2. 6 V.S.A. § 16 is amended to read:
§ 16. NOTICE AND FAIR HEARING REQUIREMENTS

(a) The seeretary Secretary shall use the following procedures in assessing
the penalty under section 15 of this title: the alleged violator shall be given an
opportunity for hearing after reasonable notice and the notice shall be served

by personal service or by certified mail;returnreceiptrequested sent to the last
address of record on file with the Agency. If the alleged violator is not an

- 3080 -



applicant for or holder of a license, permit, registration, or certification issued
by the Agency, the notice shall be served by personal service or by certified
mail, return receipt requested. The notice shall include:

(1) a A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the
hearing is to be held;.

(2) a A statement of the matter at issue, including reference to the
particular statute or administrative rule allegedly violated and a factual
description of the alleged violations.

(3) the The amount of the proposed administrative penalty; and required
corrective action, abatement, or mitigation.

(4) a A warning that the decision shall become final and the penalty
shall be imposed if no hearing is requested within 15 days of reeeipt service of
the notice. The notice shall specify the requirements which that must be met
in order to avoid being deemed to have waived the right to a hearing, or the
manner of payment if the person elects to pay the penalty and waive a hearing.

(b) Any person who receives notification pursuant to this section shall be
deemed to have waived the right to a hearing unless, within 15 days of the
receipt of the notice, the person requests a hearing in writing. If the person
waives the right to a hearing, the seeretary Secretary shall issue a final order
finding the person in default and imposing the penalty and any required
corrective action, abatement, or mitigation. A copy of the final default order
shall be sent-to served upon the violator by certified mail, return receipt
requested, or by personal service.

(c) When an alleged violator requests a hearing in a timely fashion, the
seeretary Secretary shall hold the hearing pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25.

Sec. 3. 6 V.S.A. § 17 is amended to read:
§ 17. COLLECTIONS

(a) The seeretary Secretary may collect an unpaid administrative or civil
penalty by filing a civil collection action in any distriet—or—superior—court;

Superior Court or through any other means available to state State agencies.

(b) The seeretary Secretary may, subject to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25, suspend
any license, certificate, registration, or permit issued pursuant to his or her
authority for failure to pay a penalty under this chapter more than 60 45 days
after the penalty was issued imposed by order and served.

* # % Acceptance of Gifts of Real Property * * *
Sec. 4. 6 V.S.A. § 14 is amended to read:
§ 14. ACCEPTANCE OF GIFTS OF REAL PROPERTY
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The seeretary Secretary, with the approval of the gevernor Governor, may
accept gifts of the rights and interests in real property in the manner provided

by 10 V.S.A. chapter 155. Rights or interests in real property acquired by the
Secretary through transactions funded in whole or in part by the Vermont
Housing and Conservation Board are deemed as accepted by the Governor.

* # * Meat Inspection * * *
Sec. 5. 6 V.S.A. § 3306(1) is amended to read:

(1) All applicants for licensure or relicensure as a commercial slaughter
facility shall submit a written humane livestock handling plan or a good
commercial practices plan for poultry for review and approval by the Secretary
of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee. The Secretary may suspend,
revoke, or condition any commercial slaughter facility license, after notice and
opportunity for hearing, for a licensee’s failure to adhere to the written plan.

* % Weights and Measures * * *
Sec. 6. 9 V.S.A. § 2730(c) is amended to read:

(c) Any person wishing to obtain a license to operate a weighing or
measuring device shall annually apply to the Secretary, on forms provided by
the Secretary, on or before January 1. Each application shall be accompanied
by a fee as specified in this section. Except for new applicants, any applicant

who applies for a license after January 1 shall pay an-additional-late fee-equal
to—10-percent-of the-specifiedfee a late fee as provided for under 6 V.S.A.
§ 1(a)(13).

* # * Working Lands * * *
Sec. 7. 6 V.S.A. § 4607(b) is amended to read:

(b) Powers. The Vermont Working Lands Enterprise Board shall have the
authority:

k %k %k

(6) to establish an application process and, eligibility criteria, and
criteria for prioritizing assistance for awarding grants, loans, incentives, and

other mvestments in agricultural and forestry enterprlses and in food and forest

Sec. 8. WORKING LANDS ENTERPRISE BOARD; CRITERIA FOR
PRIORITIZING AWARDS
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On or before January 15, 2018, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and
Markets shall submit to the Senate Committee on Agriculture and the House
Committee on Agriculture and Forestry the guidelines that the Working Lands
Enterprise Board shall use in prioritizing awards of assistance under 10 V.S.A.

§ 4607(b)(6).

* # * Multi-year Licensing * * *
Sec. 9. 6 V.S.A. § 1 is amended to read:

§ 1. GENERAL POWERS OF AGENCY; SECRETARY OF
AGRICULTURE, FOOD AND MARKETS

(a) The Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets shall be administered by
a Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets. The Secretary shall supervise
and be responsible for the execution and enforcement of all laws relating to
agriculture and standards of weight and measure. The Secretary may:

k %k %k

(13) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary in this title or Title 9 or
20, issue all licenses, permits, registrations, or certificates under a program
administered by the Secretary for a term of up to three years; renew and issue
such licenses, permits, registrations, and certificates on any calendar cycle;
collect any annual fee set by law for such the multiyear licensure, permit,
registration, or certificate on a pro-rated basis, which shall not exceed 150
percent of the annual fee for an 18-month cycle, 200 percent of the annual fee
for a two-year cycle, or 300 percent of the annual fee for a three-year cycle;
and conduct inspections at regulated premises at least once every three years
when inspection is required by law. The authority to mandate licenses,
permits, registrations, or certificates for more than one year shall not extend to
any program administered by the Secretary where for which the annual fee is
more than $125.00 $175.00. The Secretary shall only provide refunds for
overpayments of $25.00 or more on a license, permit, registration, or
certificate issued by the Secretary. The Secretary may assess a late fee of
$27.00, provided that the late fee is no greater than the fee due, in which case
the late fee shall equal the fee due, for any license, registration, permit, or
certification renewal that is received more than 30 days past expiration, unless
a higher late renewal fee is otherwise prescribed by statute.

% sk ok
* # * Subsurface Tile Drainage * * *
Sec. 10. 6 V.S.A. § 4810a(b) is amended to read:

(b)(1) On or before December 1, 2019, and prior to prefiling a rule under
3 V.S.A. § 837, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets shall submit to
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the Senate Committee on Agriculture and the House Committee on Agriculture
and Forestry draft rules amending the required agricultural practices, in order
to include requirements for reducing nutrient contribution to waters of the
State from subsurface tile drainage. On or before January—15,-2018 July 1,
2020, the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets shall amend-byrule
initiate rulemaking to amend the required agricultural practices, in order to
include requirements for reducing nutrient contribution to waters of the State
from subsurface tile drainage. Upon adoption of requirements for subsurface
tile drainage, the Secretary may require an existing subsurface tile drain to
comply with the requirements of the RAPs for subsurface tile drainage, upon a
determination that compliance is necessary to reduce adverse impacts to water
quality from the subsurface tile drain.

(2)(A) Beginning on July 1, 2017, the Secretary of Natural Resources,
in consultation with the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets, shall
establish a program to map the location of subsurface tile drainage on farms in
the State and to monitor, to the extent possible, the water quality effects of
subsurface tile drainage on State waters. Beginning on January 1, 2018, and
annually thereafter, the Secretary of Natural Resources shall submit to the
Senate Committees on Natural Resources and Energy and on Agriculture and
the House Committees on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife and on
Agriculture and Forestry a report that includes:

(1) a map of identified subsurface tile drainage in the State; and

(i1) a list of the specific response or enforcement actions taken by
the Agency of Natural Resources or the Agency of Agriculture, Food and
Markets to address the effects of subsurface tile drainage on the waters of the
State.

(B) The provisions of 2 V.S.A. § 20(d) (expiration of required
reports) shall not apply to the report required by this section.

* # * Use Value Appraisal; Agricultural Lands * * *
Sec. 11. 32 V.S.A. § 3752 is amended to read:
§ 3752. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Agricultural land” means any land, exclusive of any housesite, in
active use to grow hay or cultivated crops, pasture livestock er-te, cultivate
trees bearing edible fruit, or produce an annual maple product, and which that
is 25 acres or more in size, except as provided in this subdivision (1).
Agricultural land shall include buffer zones as defined and required in the
Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets’ Required Agricultural Practices
rule adopted under 6 V.S.A. chapter 215. There shall be a presumption that
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the land is used for agricultural purposes if:
(A) it is owned by a farmer and is part of the overall farm unit; or

(B) it is used by a farmer as part of his or her farming operation
under written lease for at least three years; or

(C) it has produced an annual gross income from the sale of farm
crops in one of two, or three of the five, calendar years preceding of at least:

(1) $2,000.00 for parcels of up to 25 acres; and

(i) $75.00 per acre for each acre over 25, with the total income
required not to exceed $5,000.00.

(ii1) Exceptions to these income requirements may be made in
cases of orchard lands planted to fruit-predueing fruit-producing trees, bushes,
or vines which that are not yet of bearing age. As used in this section, the term
“farm crops” also includes animal fiber, cider, wine, and cheese, produced on
the enrolled land or on a housesite adjoining the enrolled land, from
agricultural products grown on the enrolled land.

k %k %k

(14) “Farm buildings” means all farm buildings and other farm
improvements which that are actively used by a farmer as part of a farming
operation, are owned by a farmer or leased to a farmer under a written lease
for a term of three years or more, and are situated on land that is enrolled in a
use value appraisal program or on a housesite adjoining enrolled land. “Farm
buildings” shall include up to $100,000.00 of the value of a farm facility
processing farm crops, a minimum of 75 percent of which are produced on the
farm and shall not include any dwelling, other than a dwelling in use during
the precedingtax—year prior 12 months exclusively to house one or more farm
employees, as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4469a, and their families, as a
nonmonetary benefit of the farm employment. This subdivision shall not
affect the application of the definition of “farming” in 10 V.S.A. § 6001(22) or
the definition of “farm structure” in 24 V.S.A. § 4413(d)(1).

k %k %k

Sec. 12. 32 V.S.A. § 3755 is amended to read:
§ 3755. ELIGIBILITY FOR USE VALUE APPRAISALS

(a) Except as modified by subsection (b) of this section, any agricultural
land, managed forestland, and farm buildings which that meet the criteria
contained in this subchapter and in the regulations rules adopted by the Board
shall be eligible for use value appraisal.

k %k %k
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(d) After aparcel-of managed forestland has been removed from use value
appraisal due to an adverse inspection report under subdivision 3756(i)(1) of
this title, a new application for use value appraisal w4ll shall not be considered
for a period of five years, and then shall be approved by the Department of
Forests, Parks and Recreation only if a compliance report has been filed with
the new application, certifying that appropriate measures have been taken to
bring the parcel into compliance with minimum acceptable standards for forest
or conservation management.

k %k %k

(f) On or before September November 1 of each year, the owner of
agricultural land or buildings enrolled in the use value program as agricultural
land or buildings shall certify in writing under oath to the Commissioner that
the agricultural land or buildings enrolled by that owner continue to meet the
requirements for enrollment in the use value program at the time of the
certification. The form of the certification shall be made on a form specified
by the Director of Property Valuation and Review.

* % * Raw Milk * * *
Sec. 13. 6 V.S.A. § 2776 is amended to read:
§ 2776. DEFINITIONS
In this chapter:

(1) “Consumer” means a customer who purchases, barters for, receives
delivery of, or otherwise acquires unpasteurized milk according to the
requirements of this chapter.

(2) “Milk” shall have the same meaning as set forth in section 2672 of
this title.

(3) “Personal consumption” means the use by a consumer of
unpasteurized milk for food or to create a food product made with or from
unpasteurized milk that is intended to be ingested by the consumer, members
of his or her household, or any nonpaying guests.

3)(4) “Unpasteurized milk” or “unpasteurized (raw) milk” means milk
that is unprocessed.

“(5) “Unprocessed” means milk that has not been modified from the
natural state it was in as it left the animal, other than filtering, packaging, and
cooling.

* # * Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation;

Water Quality Assistance * * *
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Sec. 14. 10 V.S.A. § 2622a is added to read:
§ 2622a. WATER QUALITY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

(a) Creation of program. There is established the Water Quality Assistance
Program under which the Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation shall
provide technical and financial assistance to timber harvesters and others for
compliance with water quality requirements in the State. The Commissioner
of Forests, Parks and Recreation shall coordinate with natural resources
conservation districts in the implementation of the Program.

(b) Eligible assistance. Under the Program, the Commissioner of Forests,
Parks and Recreation is authorized to expend monies for the following
activities in order to facilitate compliance with water quality requirements:

(1) Award financial assistance in the form of grants to timber harvesters
and others to purchase or construct skidder bridges and other equipment.

(2) Purchase premade skidder bridges and other equipment to loan or
lease to timber harvesters and others.

(3) Purchase available, premade skidder bridges and other equipment
and provide those bridges or equipment to cooperating processing plants for
sale to timber harvesters and others at cost, subject to storage and handling
fees.

(4) If premade skidder bridges are not available on the commercial
market, issue in a calendar year two requests for proposal for the construction
of skidder bridges for delivery to cooperating processing plants for sale to
timber harvesters and others at cost, subject to storage and handling fees. The
Commissioner shall issue one request for proposal for the northern part of the
State and one request for proposal for the southern part of the State.

(c) Financial assistance. An applicant for a grant under this section shall
pay at least 10 percent of the total cost of the equipment. The dollar amount of
a State grant shall be equal to the total cost of the equipment, less 10 percent
of the total as paid by the applicant. A grant awarded under this section shall
be awarded in accordance with terms and conditions established by the
Commissioner.

(d) Spill kit. The Commissioner shall provide a person who purchases,
constructs, or loans out a skidder bridge under subsection (b) of this section
with a spill kit for containing or absorbing fluids released during timber
harvesting activities.

Sec. 15. APPROPRIATIONS

Of the capital funds appropriated to the Agency of Natural Resources in
FY 2018 for ecosystem restoration and protection, up to $50.000.00 shall be
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used by the Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation for implementation
of the Water Quality Assistance Program under 10 V.S.A. § 2622a.

* # * Forestry Equipment; Sales Tax; Gasoline Tax; Diesel Tax * * *

Sec. 16. 23 V.S.A. chapter 28, subchapter 1 is amended to read:

Subchapter 1: General Gasoline Tax
§ 3101. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

k %k %k

(3) As used in this subchapter, “gasoline or other motor fuel” or “motor
fuel” shall not include the following: kerosene, diesel-oil clear or undyed
diesel “fuel” as defined in section 3002 of this title, “railroad fuel” as defined
in section 3002 of this title, aircraft jet fuel, or natural gas in any form. Except
for “railroad fuel” taxed under section 3003 of this title, the taxation or
exemption from taxation of dyed diesel fuel is not addressed under this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 17. 32 V.S.A. § 9741 is amended to read:
§ 9741. SALES NOT COVERED

Retail sales and use of the following shall be exempt from the tax on retail
sales imposed under section 9771 of this title and the use tax imposed under
section 9773 of this title.

k %k %k

(7)(A) Sales Except as provided in subdivision (B) of this subdivision
(7), sales of:

(i) motor fuels taxed or exempted under 23 V.S.A. chapter 28;

(i1) dved diesel used to power machinery described in
subdivision (51) of this section; and

(ii1) dved diesel used to propel a vehicle off the highways of the

State.
(B) provided;-however,-that-aviation Aviation jet fuel and natural gas

used to propel a motor vehicle shall be taxed under this chapter with the
proceeds to be allocated to the transpertation—fund Transportation Fund in
accordance with 19 V.S.A. § 11.

k %k %k

(51) The following machinery, including repair parts, used for timber
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cutting, timber removal, and processing of timber or other solid wood forest
products intended to be sold ultimately at retail: skidders with grapple and
cable, feller bunchers, cut-to-length processors, forwarders, delimbers, loader
slashers, log loaders, whole-tree chippers, stationary screening systems, and
firewood processors, elevators, and screens. The Department of Taxes shall
publish guidance relating to the application of this exemption.

Sec. 18. 32 V.S.A. § 9706 is amended to read:
§ 9706. STATUTORY PURPOSES

k %k %k

(d) The statutory purpose of the exemption for fuels for railroads and
boats, to propel vehicles, and to power machinery used in the timber industry,
in subdivision 9741(7) of this title is to avoid the taxation of fuels:

(1) for the types of transportation for which public expenditure on
infrastructure is unnecessary;

(2) that are already subject to taxation under 23 V.S.A. chapter 27 or 28
in support of public expenditure on infrastructure or are specifically exempt
from taxation under either of those chapters; and

(3) in order to promote Vermont’s commercial timber and forest
products economy.

k %k %k

(kk) The statutory purpose of the exemption for timber cutting, removal,
and processing machinery in subdivision 9741(51) of this title is to promote
Vermont’s commercial timber and forest products economy.

* # *Nutrient Management Plans* * *
Sec. 18a. 6 V.S.A. § 61 is amended to read:
§ 61. INFORMATION COLLECTION AND CONFIDENTIALITY

(a) The seeretary Secretary may collect information on subjects within the
jurisdiction of the ageney Agency, including data obtained from
questionnaires, surveys, physical samples, and laboratory analyses conducted
by the ageney Agency. Such information shall be available upon request to
the public, provided that it is presented in a form whieh that does not disclose
the identity of individual persons, households, or businesses from whom the
information was obtained, or whose characteristics, activities, or products the
information is about.

(b) Nutrient management plans or nutrient management plan data produced
or acquired by the Agency under chapter 215 of this title are exempt from
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public inspection and copying under the Public Records Act. The Agency may
release to the public nutrient management data compiled in aggregate form,
provided that the Agency does not disclose the identity of individual persons,
households, or businesses from whom the information was obtained.

* % * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. 19. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 13 (raw milk) and 14 (Forestry Water Quality
Assistance Program) shall take effect on passage.

(b) The remaining sections shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
(For text see House Journal March 2, 2017 )

Committee of Conference Report
H. 171
An act relating to expungement
TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon House Bill entitled:

H. 171 An act relating to expungement

Respectfully report that they have met and considered the same and
recommend that the the bill be amended by striking all after the enacting
clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. § 8005 is amended to read:

§ 8005. NOTICE OF COLLATERAL CONSEQUENCES AND
ELIGIBILITY FOR EXPUNGEMENT IN PRETRIAL
PROCEEDING

k %k %k

(b) Before the Court court accepts a plea of guilty or nolo contendere from
an individual, the Court court shall:

(1) confirm that the individual received the notice required by
subsection (a) of this section and had an opportunity to discuss the notice with
counsel, if represented, and understands that there may be collateral
consequences to a conviction; and

(2) provide written notice, as part of a written plea agreement or
through another form, of the following:
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(A) that collateral consequences may apply because of the
conviction;

(B) the Internet address of the collection of laws published under this
chapter;

(C) that there may be ways to obtain relief from collateral
consequences;

(D) that the conviction may be eligible for expungement or sealing
pursuant to section 7602 of this title;

(E) contact information for government or nonprofit agencies,
groups, or organizations, if any, offering assistance to individuals seeking
relief from collateral consequences; and

(E)(F) that conviction of a crime in this State does not prohibit an
individual from voting in this State.

Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 8006 is amended to read:
§ 8006. NOTICE OF COLLATERAL CONSEQUENCES AND
ELIGIBILITY FOR EXPUNGEMENT UPON RELEASE

(a) Prior to the completion of a sentence, an individual in the custody of
the Commissioner of Corrections shall be given written notice of the
following:

(1) that collateral consequences may apply because of the conviction;

(2) the Internet address of the collection of laws published under this
chapter;

(3) that there may be ways to obtain relief from collateral consequences;

(4) that the conviction may be eligible for expungement or sealing
pursuant to section 7602 of this title;

(5) contact information for government or nonprofit agencies, groups,
or organizations, if any, offering assistance to individuals seeking relief from
collateral consequences; and

5)(6) that conviction of a crime in this State does not prohibit an
individual from voting in this State.

(b) For persons sentenced to incarceration, the notice shall be provided not
more than 30 days and at least 10 days before completion of the sentence. If
the sentence is for a term of less than 30 days then notice shall be provided
when the sentence is completed.

(c) For persons receiving a sentence involving community supervision,
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such as probation, furlough, home confinement, conditional reentry, or parole,
the notice shall be provided by the Department of Corrections in keeping with
its mission of ensuring rehabilitation and public safety.

(d) For persons receiving a penalty involving a fine only, the court shall, at
the time of the judgment, provide either oral or written notice that the
conviction may be eligible for expungement or sealing pursuant to section
7602 of this title.

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 7601(4) is amended to read:

(4) “Qualifying crime” means:

(A) a misdemeanor offense which that is not:
(i) a listed crime as defined in subdivision 5301(7) of this title;;

(il) an offense involving sexual exploitation of children in
violation of chapter 64 of this title;;

iii) an offense involving violation of a protection order in
violation of section 1030 of this title;;

(iv) a-prohibited-aet prostitution as defined in section 2632 of this
title, or prohibited conduct under section 2601a of this title; or

(v) a predicate offense;

(B) a violation of subsection 3701(a) of this title related to criminal
mischief;

(C) a violation of section 2501 of this title related to grand larceny;

(D) a violation of section 1201 of this title related to burglary,
excluding any burglary into an occupied dwelling, as defined in subdivision
1201(b)(2) of this title; or

(E) aviolation of 18 V.S.A. § 4223 related to fraud or deceit.
Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 7602 is amended to read:

§ 7602. EXPUNGEMENT AND SEALING OF RECORD,
POSTCONVICTION; PROCEDURE
k %k %k

(b)(1) The Ceurt court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal
history record be expunged pursuant to section 7606 of this title if the
following conditions are met:

(A) At least 10 five years have elapsed since the date on which the
person successfully completed the terms and conditions of the sentence for the
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conviction, or if the person has successfully completed the terms and
conditions of an indeterminate term of probation that commenced at least 10
five years previously.

(B) The person has not been convicted of a crime arising out of a
new incident or occurrence since the person was convicted for the qualifying
crime.

(C) Any restitution ordered by the Court court has been paid in full.

(D) The Ceourt court finds that expungement of the criminal history
record serves the interest of justice.

(2) The Ceourt court shall grant the petition and order that all or part of
the criminal history record be sealed pursuant to section 7607 of this title if the
conditions of subdivisions (1)(A), (B), and (C) of this subsection are met and
the Ceurt court finds that:

(A) sealing the criminal history record better serves the interest of
justice than expungement; and

(B) the person committed the qualifying crime after reaching 19
years of age.

(c)(1) The Ceurt court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal
history record be expunged pursuant to section 7606 of this title if the
following conditions are met:

(A) At least 20 10 years have elapsed since the date on which the
person successfully completed the terms and conditions of the sentence for the
conviction.

(B) The person has not been convicted of a felony arising out of a
new incident or occurrence since the person was convicted of the qualifying
crime.

(C) The person has not been convicted of a misdemeanor during the
past 15 five years.

(D) Any restitution ordered by the Ceurt court for any crime of
which the person has been convicted has been paid in full.

(E) After considering the particular nature of any subsequent offense,
the Ceurt court finds that expungement of the criminal history record for the
qualifying crime serves the interest of justice.

(2) The Ceurt court shall grant the petition and order that all or part of
the criminal history record be sealed pursuant to section 7607 of this title if the
conditions of subdivisions (1)(A), (B), (C), and (D) of this subsection are met
and the Court court finds that:
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(A) sealing the criminal history record better serves the interest of
justice than expungement; and

(B) the person committed the qualifying crime after reaching 19
years of age.

¢e) For petitions filed pursuant to subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section,
unless the court finds that expungement would not be in the interest of justice,

the Ceurt court shall grant the petition and order that the criminal history
record be expunged in accordance with section 7606 of this title if the
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following conditions are met:

The petitioner

has completed any sentence or supervision for the offense;whicheverislater.

Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 7605 is amended to read:
§ 7605. DENIAL OF PETITION

If a petition for expungement is denied by the Court court pursuant to this
chapter, no further petition shall be brought for at least five two years, unless a
shorter duration is authorized by the court.

Sec. 6. 13 V.S.A. § 7606 is amended to read:
§ 7606. EFFECT OF EXPUNGEMENT

(@) Upon entry of an expungement order, the order shall be legally
effective immediately and the person whose record is expunged shall be
treated in all respects as if he or she had never been arrested, convicted, or
sentenced for the offense. The court shall issue an order to expunge all records
and files related to the arrest, citation, investigation, charge, adjudication of
ouilt, criminal proceedings, and probation related to the sentence. The Court
court shall issue the person a certificate stating that such person’s behavior
after the conviction has warranted the issuance of the order and that its effect is
to annul the record of arrest, conviction, and sentence. The Ceurt court shall
provide notice of the expungement to the respondent, Vermont Crime
Information Center (VCIC), the arresting agency, and any other entity that
may have a record related to the order to expunge. The VCIC shall provide
notice of the expungement to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National
Crime Information Center.

k %k %k

Sec. 7. SECRETARY OF STATE; ATTORNEY GENERAL; REPORT

The Secretary of State, in consultation with the Attorney General, shall
evaluate how to comply with the requirements of 13 V.S.A. chapter 230 and,
on or before January 15, 2018, report to the House and Senate Committees on
Judiciary to confirm such compliance.

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATES
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017, except for Sec. 3 (13 V.S.A.
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§ 7601(4)), subdivision (E), which shall take effect on January 1, 2018.
Rep. Martin Lal.onde

Rep. Charles Conquest
Rep. Janssen Willhoit
Committee on the part of the House
Sen. Alice Nitka
Sen. Richard Sears
Sen. Joseph Benning
Committee on the part of the Senate
S. 16

An act relating to expanding patient access to the Medical Marijuana
Registry

TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon Senate Bill entitled:

S. 16 An act relating to expanding patient access to the Medical
Marijuana Registry

Respectfully reports that it has met and considered the same and
recommends that the House recede from its proposal of amendment and that
the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. § 4472 is amended to read:
§ 4472. DEFINITIONS
As used in this subchapter:

(1)(A) “Bona fide health care professional-patient relationship” means a
treating or consulting relationship of not less than three months’ duration, in
the course of which a health care professional has completed a full assessment
of the registered patient’s medical history and current medical condition,
including a personal physical examination.

(B) The three-month requirement shall not apply if:
(1) a patient has been diagnosed with:
(I) aterminal illness;
(IT) cancer; or
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(IIT) acquired immune deficiency syndrome; or
V) | et hospi .

(11) a patient is currently under hospice care;

@o(iii) a patient had been diagnosed with a debilitating medical
condition by a health care professional in another jurisdiction in which the
patient had been formerly a resident and the patient, now a resident of
Vermont, has the diagnosis confirmed by a health care professional in this
State or a neighboring state as provided in subdivision (6) of this section, and
the new health care professional has completed a full assessment of the
patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a personal
physical examination-;

@in(iv) a patient who is already on the registry Registry changes
health care professionals three months or less prior to the annual renewal of

the patient’s registration, provided the patient’s new health care professional
has completed a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current
medical condition, including a personal physical examination-;

(v) a patient is referred by his or her health care professional to
another health care professional who has completed advanced education and
clinical training in specific debilitating medical conditions, and that health care
professional conducts a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and
current medical condition, including a personal physical examination; or

(vi) a patient’s debilitating medical condition is of recent or
sudden onset.

k %k %k

(A) cancer, multiple sclerosis, positive status for human
immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, glaucoma,
Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, or the treatment of these conditions, if

the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable
symptoms; of

(B) post-traumatic stress disorder, provided the Department confirms
the applicant is undergoing psychotherapy or counseling with a licensed
mental health care provider; or

(C) a disease; or medical condition; or its treatment that is chronic,
debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms:
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cachexia or wasting syndrome; chronic pain; severe nausea; or seizures.

(5) “Dispensary” means a nenprofit—entity business organization
registered under section 4474¢ of this title which that acquires, possesses,

cultivates, manufactures, transfers, transports, supplies, sells, or dispenses
marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana-related supplies and
educational materials for or to a registered patient who has designated it as his
or her center and to his or her registered careglver for the reglstered patient’s
use for symptom rehef nSa ¥ ¥ : : :

d—kspens&gL A dlspensary may serve patlents and caregivers at not more than

two locations, as approved by the Department in consideration of factors
provided in subsection 4474f(e) of this title, and may cultivate and process
marijuana at a separate location from where patients and caregivers are served.
All locations shall be considered part of the same dispensary operation under
one registration.

(6) “Financier” means a person, other than a financial institution as
defined in 8 V.S.A. § 11101, that makes an investment in, or a gift, loan, or
other financing to, another person with the expectation of a financial return. If
a financier is a business organization, as used in this chapter, the term
“financier” includes each owner and principal of that organization.

)(7)(A) “Health care professional” means an individual licensed to
practice medicine under 26 V.S.A. chapter 23 or 33, an individual licensed as a
naturopathic physician under 26 V.S.A. chapter 81, an individual certified as a
physician assistant under 26 V.S.A. chapter 31, or an individual licensed as an
advanced practice registered nurse under 26 V.S.A. chapter 28.

(B) This definition includes individuals who are professionally
licensed under substantially equivalent provisions in New Hampshire,
Massachusetts, or New York.

H(8) “Immature marijuana plant” means a female marijuana plant that
has not flowered and which does not have buds that may be observed by visual
examination.

8)(9) “Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as provided in
subdivision 4201(15) of this title.

(10) “Mature marijuana plant” means a female marijuana plant that
has flowered and which that has buds that may be observed by visual
examination.

(11) “Mental health care provider” means a person licensed to practice
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medicine who specializes in the practice of psychiatry; a psychologist,
a psychologist-doctorate, or a psychologist-master as defined in 26 V.S.A.
§ 3001; a clinical social worker as defined in 26 V.S.A. § 3201; or a clinical
mental health counselor as defined in 26 V.S.A. § 3261.

(12) “Ounce” means 28.35 grams.

(13) “Owner” means:

(A) a person that has a direct or beneficial ownership interest of ten
percent or more in a business organization, including attribution of the
ownership interests of a spouse or domestic partner, parent, spouse’s or
domestic partner’s parent, sibling, and children; or

(B) a person that has the power to direct, or cause the direction of,
the management and policies of a business organization, including through the
ownership of voting securities, by contract, or otherwise.

0)(14) “Possession limit” means the amount of marijuana collectively
possessed between the registered patient and the patient’s registered caregiver
which that is no more than two mature marijuana plants, seven immature
plants, and two ounces of usable marijuana.

(15) “Principal” means a person that has the authority to conduct,
manage, or supervise the operation of a business organization, and includes the
president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, manager, or similar executive
officer of a business organization; a director of a business corporation,
nonprofit corporation, or mutual benefit enterprise; a member of a nonprofit
corporation, cooperative, or member-managed limited liability company; a
manager of a manager-managed limited liability company:; and a general
partner of a partnership, limited partnership, or limited liability partnership.

ABH(16) “Registered caregiver” means a person who is at least 21 years
of age, has met eligibility requirements as determined by the Department in
accordance with this chapter, and whe has agreed to undertake responsibility
for managing the well-being of a registered patient with respect to the use of
marijuana for symptom relief.

“2)(17) “Registered patient” means a resident of Vermont who has
been issued a registration card by the Department ef Publie-Safety, identifying
the person as having a debilitating medical condition pursuant to the
provisions of this subchapter. “Resident of Vermont” means a person whose
domicile is Vermont.

A3)(18) “Secure indoor facility” means a building or room equipped
with locks or other security devices that permit access only by a registered
caregiver; or registered patient,—er—a—principal-officer—or—employee—of-a
dispensary.
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4(19) “Transport” means the movement of marijuana and marijuana-
infused products from registered growing locations to their associated
dispensaries, between dispensaries, to registered patients and registered
caregivers in accordance with delivery protocols, or as otherwise allowed
under this subchapter.

5)(20) “Usable marijuana” means the dried leaves and flowers of
marijuana, and any mixture or preparation thereof, and does not include the
seeds, stalks, and roots of the plant.

6)(21) “Use for symptom relief” means the acquisition, possession,
cultivation, use, transfer, or transportation of marijuana; or of paraphernalia
relating to the administration of marijuana to alleviate the symptoms or effects
of a registered patient’s debilitating medical condition whieh that is in
compliance with all the limitations and restrictions of this subchapter.

Sec. 2. 18 V.S.A. § 4473 is amended to read:
§ 4473. REGISTERED PATIENTS; QUALIFICATION STANDARDS AND
PROCEDURES

k %k %k

(b) The Department of Public Safety shall review applications to become a
registered patient using the following procedures:

(1) A patient with a debilitating medical condition shall submit a signed

apphcatlon for reglstratlon to the Department A—p&t}ent—s—mmd—appl-}e&t}en—te

netaﬂ%&t}en— If the patlent is under 18 years of age, the apphcatlon must be
signed by both the patient and a parent or guardian. The application shall
require identification and contact information for the patient and the patient’s
registered caregiver applying for authorization under section 4474 of this title,
if any, and the patient’s designated dispensary under section 4474e of this title,
if any. The applicant shall attach to the application a medical verification form
developed by the Department pursuant to subdivision (2) of this subsection.

(2) The Department of Public Safety shall develop a medical
verification form to be completed by a health care professional and submitted
by a patient applying for registration in the program. The form shall include:

(A) A cover sheet which that includes the following:
(1) A statement of the penalties for providing false information.
(i1) Definitions of the following statutory terms:

(I) “Bona fide health care professional-patient relationship™ as
defined in section 4472 of this title.
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(IT) “Debilitating medical condition” as defined in section 4472
of this title.

(IIT) ““Health care professional” as defined in section 4472 of
this title.

(ii1) A statement that the medical wverification form is not
considered a prescription and that the only purpose of the medical verification
form is to confirm that the applicant patient has a debilitating medical
condition.

(B) A verification sheet whieh that includes the following:

(1) A statement that a bona fide health care professional-patient
relationship exists under section 4472 of this title; or that, under subdivision
(3)(A) of this subsection (b), the debilitating medical condition is of recent or
sudden onset;—an e ient-hasnot-had-a i hea i

(ii1) A statement that the patient has a debilitating medical
condition as defined in section 4472 of this title, including the specific disease
or condition which that the patient has and whether the patient meets the
criteria under section 4472.

(iv) A signature line which that provides in substantial part:
“I certify that I meet the definition of ‘health care professional’ under
18 V.S.A. § 4472, that | am a health care professional in good standing in the
State of ..oovvvveeieeeeiiiiiin, , and that the facts stated above are accurate to the
best of my knowledge and belief.”

(v) The health care professional’s contact information, license
number, category of his or her health care profession as defined in subdivision
4472(6) of this title, and contact information for the out-of-state licensing
agency, if applicable. The Department of Public-Safety shall adopt rules for
verifying the goodstanding of out-of-state health care professionals.

(vi) A statement that the medical verification form is not
considered a prescription and that the only purpose of the medical verification
form is to confirm that the applicant patient has a debilitating medical
condition.

(3)(A) The Department of Public-Safety shall transmit the completed
medical verification form to the health care professional and contact him or
her for purposes of confirming the accuracy of the information contained in
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(B) If the health care professional is licensed in another state as
provided section 4472 of this title, the Department shall verify that the health
care professional is in good standing in that state.

k %k %k

Sec. 3. 18 V.S.A. § 4474(c)(1) is amended to read:

(c)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, a registered
caregiver may serve only one registered patient at a time, and a registered
patient may have only one registered caregiver at a time. A registered patient
may serve as a registered caregiver for one other registered patient.

Sec. 4. 18 V.S.A. § 4474d is amended to read:
§ 4474d. LAW ENFORCEMENT VERIFICATION OF INFORMATION;
RULEMAKING

k %k %k

(b) In response to a person-specific or property-specific inquiry by a law
enforcement officer or agency made in the course of a bona fide investigation
or prosecution, the Department may verify the identities and registered
property addresses of the registered patient and the patient’s registered

caregiver, a dispensary, and-theprincipal-officer,the Board-members; and an

owner, a principal, a financier, and the employees of a dispensary.

(c) The Department shall maintain a separate secure electronic database
accessible to law enforcement personnel 24 hours a day that uses a unique
identifier system to allow law enforcement to verify that a person or entity is a
registered patient, a registered caregiver, a dispensary, or-the-prinecipal-officer;
a—board—member an owner, a principal, a financier, or an employee of a
dispensary.

k %k %k

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 4474e is amended to read:
§ 4474e. DISPENSARIES; CONDITIONS OF OPERATION




2) A dispensary shall have a sliding-scale fee system that takes into
account a registered patient’s ability to pay.

k %k %k

(d)(1) A dispensary shall implement appropriate security measures to deter
and prevent the unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana and the
theft of marijuana and shall ensure that each location has an operational
security alarm system. All cultivation of marijuana shall take place in an
enclosed a secure, locked facility which is either indoors or etherwise
outdoors, but not visible to the public and which that can only be accessed by
principal-officers-and the owners, principals, financiers, and employees of the
dispensary who have valid registry identification cards. An outdoor facility is
not required to have a roof, provided all other requirements are met. The
Department of Public-Safety shall perform an annual on-site assessment of
each dispensary and may perform on-site assessments of a dispensary without
limitation for the purpose of determining compliance with this subchapter and
any rules adopted pursuant to this subchapter and may enter a dispensary at
any time for such purpose. During an inspection, the Department may review
the dispensary’s confidential records, including its dispensing records, which
shall track transactions according to registered patients’ registry Registry
identification numbers to protect their confidentiality.

k %k %k

(f) A person may be denied the right to serve as an owner, a principal
officer,-board-member, financier, or employee of a dispensary because of the
person’s criminal history record in accordance with section 4474g of this title
and rules adopted by the Department of Public Safety pursuant to that section.

(g)(1) A dispensary shall notify the Department ef Publie-Safety within 10
days of when a-prineipal-officer, board-member; an owner, principal, financier,

or employee ceases to be associated with or work at the dispensary. His or her
registry Registry identification card shall be deemed null and void, and the
person shall be liable for any penalties that may apply.

(2) A dispensary shall notify the Department ef Publie-Safety in writing
of the name, address, and date of birth of any proposed new principal-officer;

beard-member owner, principal, financier, or employee and shall submit a fee

for a new registry Registry identification card before a new prineipal-officer;
beard-—member owner, principal, financier, or employee begins his or her

official duties related to the dispensary and shall submit a complete set of

fingerprints for the each prospective principal-officer, board-member owner,
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principal, financier, or employee who is a natural person.

k %k %k

(k)(1) No dispensary; principal-officer board member or owner, principal,

or financier of a dispensary shall:

k %k %k

(B) acquire usable marijuana or marijuana plants from any source

other than registered dispensary principal-officers;,—board—members owners,

principals, financiers, or employees who cultivate marijuana in accordance
with this subchapter;

(C) dispense more than two ounces of usable marijuana to a
registered patient directly or through the qualifying patient’s registered
caregiver during a 30-day period;

(D) dispense an amount of usable marijuana to a qualifying patient or

a designated caregiver that the principal—officer,—board—member owner,

principal, financier, or employee knows would cause the recipient to possess
more marijuana than is permitted under this subchapter;

(E) dispense marijuana to a person other than a registered patient
who has designated the dispensary to provide for his or her needs or other than
the patient’s registered caregiver.

(2) A person found to have violated subdivision (1) of this subsection

may no longer serve as a-prinecipal-officer,-board-member an owner, principal,
financier, or employee of any dispensary, and such person’s registry Registry

identification card shall be immediately revoked by the Department of Public
Safety.

(D(1) A registered dispensary shall not be subject to the following,
provided that it is in compliance with this subchapter:

(A)  prosecution for the acquisition, possession, cultivation,
manufacture, transfer, transport, supply, sale, or dispensing of marijuana,
marijuana-infused products, or marijuana-related supplies for symptom relief
in accordance with the provisions of this subchapter and any rule adopted by
the Department ef Public-Safety pursuant to this subchapter;

(B) inspection and search, except pursuant to this subchapter or upon
a search warrant issued by a court or judicial officer;

(C) seizure of marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana-
related supplies, except upon a valid order issued by a court;

(D) 1imposition of any penalty or denied denial of any right or
privilege, including imposition of a civil penalty or disciplinary action by an
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occupational or professional licensing board or entity, solely for acting in
accordance with this subchapter to assist registered patients or registered
caregivers.

(2) No prinecipal-officer,-board-member owner, principal, financier, or
employee of a dispensary shall be subject to arrest, prosecution, search,
seizure, or penalty in any manner or denied denial of any right or privilege,
including civil penalty or disciplinary action by an occupational or
professional licensing board or entity, solely for working for or with a
dispensary to engage in acts permitted by this subchapter.

k %k %k

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 4474f is amended to read:
§ 4474f. DISPENSARY APPLICATION, APPROVAL, AND
REGISTRATION

meet—the—reqkﬁremems—ef—this—seeﬁen—ble Except as prov1ded n subd1V151on

(2) of this subsection, no more than four five dispensaries shall hold valid
registration certificates at one time. Any time a dispensary registration
certificate is revoked, is relinquished, or expires, the Department shall accept

apphcatlons for a new dlspensary l—ﬁat—&n%%e—&ﬁer—ene—ye&r—&ﬁer—ﬂ&e

(2) Once the Registry reaches 7,000 registered patients, the number of
dispensary registrations shall expand to six and the Department shall begin
accepting applications forthwith.

k %k %k

(c) Each application for a dispensary registration certificate shall include
all of the following:

(1) a nonrefundable application fee in the amount of $2,500.00 paid to
the Department of Public-Safety;

(2) the legal name;—articles—ofincorporation,—and—bylaws of the

dispensary and the organizational documents that create the dispensary, govern
its operation and internal affairs, and govern relations between and among its
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owners;

(3) the proposed physical address of the dispensary, if a precise address
has been determined or, if not, the general location where it would be located;

(4) a description of the enelosed secure, locked facility where marijuana
will be grown, cultivated, harvested, or otherwise prepared for distribution by
the dispensary;

(5) the name, address, and date of birth of each prinecipal-officer-and
beard-member owner, principal, and financier of the dispensary who is a

natural person and a complete set of fingerprints for each of them;

(6) proposed security and safety measures, which shall include at least
one security alarm system for each location and planned measures to deter and
prevent the unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana and the theft
of marijuana;

(7) proposed procedures to ensure accurate record-keeping.

(d) Any time one or more dispensary registration applications are being
considered, the Department ef Publie-Safety shall solicit input from registered
patients and registered caregivers.

(e) Each time a dispensary certificate is granted, the decision shall be based
on the overall health needs of qualified patients. The following factors shall
weigh heavily in the consideration of an application:

(1) geographic convenience to patients from throughout the State of
Vermont to a dispensary if the applicant were approved;

(2) the entity’s ability to provide an adequate supply to the registered
patients in the State;

(3) the entity’s ability to demonstrate its—beoard—members’ that its
owners, principals, and financiers have sufficient experience running a

nonprofit-organization-or business;

(4) the comments, if any, of registered patients and registered caregivers
regarding which applicant should be granted a registration certificate;

(5) the sufficiency of the applicant’s plans for record-keeping, which
records shall be considered confidential health care information under Vermont
law and are intended to be deemed protected health care information for
purposes of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of
1996, as amended;

(6) the sufficiency of the applicant’s plans for safety and security,
including the proposed location and security devices employed.
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(f) The Department ofPublic—Safety may deny an application for a
dispensary if it determines that an applicant’s criminal history record indicates

that the person’s association of an owner, principal, or financier with a
dispensary would pose a demonstrable threat to public safety.

(g) After a dispensary is approved but before it begins operations, it shall
submit the following to the Department:

(1) the legal name and-articlesof-incorporation of the dispensary and

the organizational documents that create the dispensary, govern its operation
and internal affairs, and govern relations between and among its owners;

(2) the physical address of the dispensary;

(3) the name, address, and date of birth of each prinecipal-officer-and
beard-member owner, principal, and financier of the dispensary along with a

complete set of fingerprints for each;

(4) aregistration fee of $20,000.00 for the first year of operation, and an
annual fee of $25,000.00 in subsequent years.

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 4474g is amended to read:
§ 4474g. DISPENSARY REGISTRY IDENTIFICATION CARD;
CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the Department of
Public—Safety shall issue each principal—officer,—Board—member owner,
principal, financier, and employee of a dispensary a registry Registry
identification card or renewal card within 30 days of receipt of the person’s
name, address, and date of birth and a fee of $50.00. The fee shall be paid by

the dispensary and the cost shall not be passed on to a-principal-officer, Board
member an owner, principal, financier, or employee. A person shall not serve

as principal-officer, Board-member an owner, principal, financier, or employee
of a dispensary until that person has received a registry Registry identification

card issued under this section. Each card shall specify whether the cardholder

is a—prinecipal—officer,—Board—member an owner, principal, financier, or

employee of a dispensary and shall contain the following:

(1) the name, address, and date of birth of the person;
(2) the legal name of the dispensary with which the person is affiliated;
(3) arandom identification number that is unique to the person;

(4) the date of issuance and the expiration date of the registry Registry
identification card; and

(5) aphotograph of the person.
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(b) Prior to acting on an application for a registry Registry identification
card, the Department ef Publie-Safety shall obtain with respect to the applicant
a Vermont criminal history record, an out-of-state criminal history record, and
a criminal history record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each
applicant shall consent to the release of criminal history records to the
Department on forms developed by the Vermont Crime Information Center.

(c) When the Department of PublicSafety obtains a criminal history
record, the Department shall promptly provide a copy of the record to the
applicant and to the principal-officer-and-Board owner, principal, or financier
of the dispensary if the applicant is to be an employee. The Department shall
inform the applicant of the right to appeal the accuracy and completeness of
the record pursuant to rules adopted by the Department.

(d) The Department of Public-Safety shall comply with all laws regulating
the release of criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy.
No person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history
record information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the
information pursuant to this subchapter.

(e) The Department efPublic-Safety shall not issue a registry Registry
identification card to any applicant who has been convicted of a drug-related

offense or a violent felony or who has a pending charge for such an offense.
For-purposes—of As used in this subchapter, “violent felony” means a listed
crime as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 5301(7) or an offense involving sexual
exploitation of children in violation of 13 V.S.A. chapter 64.

(f) The Department of Publie-Safety shall adopt rules for the issuance of a
registry Registry identification card and shall set forth standards for
determining whether an applicant should be denied a registry Registry
identification card because his or her criminal history record indicates that the
person’s association with a dispensary would pose a demonstrable threat to
public safety. The rules shall consider whether a person who has a conviction
for an offense not listed in subsection (e) of this section has been rehabilitated.
A conviction for an offense not listed in subsection (e) of this section shall not
automatically disqualify a person for a registry Registry identification card. A
dispensary may deny a person the opportunity to serve as a Beard board
member or an employee based on his or her criminal history record. An
applicant who is denied a registry Registry identification card may appeal the

Department-of Public-Safety’s Department’s determination in Superior Court
in accordance with Rule 75 of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(g) A registration Registry identification card of a-principal-officer, Board

member an owner, principal, or financier, or employee shall expire one year
after its issuance or upon the expiration of the registered organization’s
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registration certificate, whichever occurs first.
Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 4474h is amended to read:
§ 4474h. PATIENT DESIGNATION OF DISPENSARY

(a) A registered patient or his or her caregiver may obtain marijuana only
from the patient’s designated dispensary and may designate only one
dispensary. aregistered patient destgnates—a-dispensary-the patient-and his

dispensary. registered patient who wishes to change his or her dispensary
shall notify the Department ef Public-Safety in writing on a form issued by the
Department and shall submit with the form a fee of $25.00. The Department
shall issue a new identification card to the registered patient within 30 days of
receiving the notification of change in dispensary. The registered patient’s
previous identification card shall expire at the time the new identification card
takes effect. A registered patient shall submit his or her expired identification
card to the Department within 30 days of expiration. A registered patient shall
not change his or her designated dispensary more than once in any 30-day
period.

k %k %k

Sec. 9. 6 V.S.A. chapter 5 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 5. CENTRAL TESTING LABORATORY
§ 121. CREATION AND PURPOSE

There is created within the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets a
central testing laboratory for the purpose of providing agricultural and,
environmental, and other necessary testing services.

§ 122. FEES

Notwithstanding 32 V.S.A. § 603, the Agency shall establish fees for
providing agricultural and, environmental, and other necessary testing services
at the request of private individuals and State agencies. The fees shall be
reasonably related to the cost of providing the services. Fees collected under
this chapter shall be credited to a special fund which shall be established and
managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5, and which shall be
available to the Agency to offset the cost of providing the services.

§ 123. REGULATED DRUGS

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the provisions of
18 V.S.A. chapter 84 shall not apply to the Secretary or designee in the
otherwise lawful performance of his or her official duties requiring the
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possession or control of regulated drugs.

(b) The central testing laboratory shall obtain a certificate of approval from
the Department of Health pursuant to 18 V.S.A. § 4207.

(c) As used in this section, “regulated drug” shall have the same meaning
asin 18 V.S.A. § 4201.

Sec. 10. MARIJUANA-INFUSED PRODUCT TESTING; REPORT

The General Assembly recognizes the importance of independent testing of
marijuana-infused products sold by dispensaries to determine proper labeling
of products in compliance with 18 V.S.A. § 4474e. Therefore, the Agency of
Agriculture, Food and Markets and the Department of Public Safety, in
consultation with registered dispensaries, shall report their recommendations to
the Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee and the General Assembly
no later than October 15, 2017 on the following:

(1) Who should be responsible for testing marijuana-infused products.

(2) The approved methods and frequency of testing.

(3) Estimated costs associated with such testing and how these costs
should be funded.

(4) 1If testing will be done through an independent testing entity, the
process by which the State will certify such entities and oversee such testing.

(5) How to implement a weights and measures program for medical
marijuana dispensaries.

Sec. 11. AUTHORITY FOR CURRENTLY REGISTERED DISPENSARY
ORGANIZED AS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION TO CONVERT
TO FOR-PROFIT ENTITY.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of Title 11B and any other rule to the
contrary, a dispensary organized as a nonprofit corporation and registered
pursuant to 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 may convert to any type of domestic
organization pursuant to and in accordance with 11A V.S.A. chapter 11 as if
the dispensary were a domestic organization, except that the dispensary shall
approve a plan of conversion pursuant to 11A V.S.A. § 11.04 by a majority
vote of its board of directors and may otherwise disregard any provision of
11A V.S.A. chapter 11 that relates to shareholders.

(b) Notwithstanding 18 V.S.A. § 4474e or any rule to the contrary, the
converted domestic corporation may continue to operate on a for-profit basis
in accordance with the terms of its registration, 18 V.S.A. chapter 86, and any
rules adopted pursuant to that chapter.
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Sec. 12. MEDICAL MARIJUANA REGISTRY; WEB PAGE

The Department of Public Safety and the Agency of Digital Services shall
develop an independent web page for the Medical Marijuana Registry, separate
from any other registry or program administered by the Department, that is up-
to-date and user-friendly on or before September 30, 2017 and shall report to
the General Assembly on activation of the web page at such time.

Sec. 13. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

The Department of Public Safety shall begin to accept applications for the
additional dispensary on July 1, 2017.

Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Secs. 9—13 shall take effect on passage.

(b) The remaining sections of this act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
Rep. Ann Pugh
Rep. Sandy Haas

Rep. Francis McFaun
Committee on the part of the House
Sen. Richard Sears
Sen. Joseph Benning
Sen. Jeanette White
Committee on the part of the Senate

Ordered to Lie

H. 219

An act relating to the Vermont spaying and neutering program.

Pending Question: Shall the House concur in the Senate Proposal of
Amendment??

Consent Calendar
Concurrent Resolutions for Adoption Under Joint Rule 16a

The following concurrent resolutions have been introduced for approval by
the Senate and House and will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or
Representative requests floor consideration before today’s adjournment.
Requests for floor consideration in either chamber should be communicated to
the Secretary’s office and/or the House Clerk’s office, respectively. For text of
resolutions, see Addendum to House Calendar and Senate Calendar of May 4,
2017.
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H.C.R. 158
House concurrent resolution honoring John Bisbee for his nearly three
decades of extraordinary public service as a guardian ad litem

H.C.R. 159
House concurrent resolution congratulating the Westford School Periodic
Pandas on their selection as semifinalists in the FIRSTLEGO League Global
Innovation Award competition

H.C.R. 160
House concurrent resolution congratulating The Bank of Bennington on its
100th anniversary

H.C.R. 161
House concurrent resolution honoring Summer Stoutes of Tinmouth for her
selfless generosity as a kidney donor and congratulating Brent Garrow on his
successful transplant surgery recovery and resumption of his firefighting and
law enforcement careers

H.C.R. 162
House concurrent resolution honoring Ron Stahley for his insightful public
education leadership

H.C.R. 163
House concurrent resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the U.S.
Navy Construction Battalions, the Seabees

H.C.R. 164
House concurrent resolution honoring former Representative Paul Harrington
on his outstanding public policy career

H.C.R. 165
House concurrent resolution congratulating the Bethel Public Library on
its125th anniversary

H.C.R. 166
House concurrent resolution honoring Newport City Fire Department members
Ist Assistant Chief Phil Laramie, Captain Kevin LaCoss, Lieutenant Andrew
Carbine, and Firefighter Ryan Abel on their heroic rescue in Coventry

H.C.R. 167
House concurrent resolution honoring Lila M. Richardson on the completion
of her distinguished career as a Vermont Legal Aid attorney

H.C.R. 168
House concurrent resolution in memory of Robert Harvey Beach Sr.

H.C.R. 169
House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 Burlington High School
Seahorses Division I championship boys’ soccer team
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H.C.R. 170
House concurrent resolution honoring Sue Duprat on her outstanding varsity
athletics coaching and administrative career

H.C.R. 171
House concurrent resolution congratulating Lisa A.M. Atwood and Amy L.
Rex on being named corecipients of the 2017 Robert F. Pierce Secondary
School Principal of the Year Award

H.C.R. 172
House concurrent resolution congratulating Duane Pierson on receiving the
2017 Henry R. Giaguque Vermont Elementary Principal of the Year Award

H.C.R. 173
House concurrent resolution honoring the extraordinary public service and
sacrifice of the Morse family of Jay and congratulating Helen (Sargent) Morse
on her 95th birthday

H.C.R. 174
House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Harwood Union High
School Highlanders State championship boys’ alpine skiing team

H.C.R. 175
House concurrent resolution congratulating Vermonters Brennon Crossmon,
Jacobi Lafferty, and Ethan Whalen on their outstanding athletic performances
at the 2017 Elks Hoop Shoot Finals

H.C.R. 176
House concurrent resolution commemorating the centennial anniversary of the
Fair Haven Grade School

H.C.R. 177
House concurrent resolution congratulating Grace Cottage Hospital on being
recognized as one of the nation’s top 20 critical access hospitals for patient
satisfaction

H.C.R. 178
House concurrent resolution congratulating St. Johnsbury Academy on its
175th anniversary

H.C.R. 179
House concurrent resolution honoring John Miner for his three decades of
outstanding leadership in support of Vermont’s Vietnam Veterans

H.C.R. 180
House concurrent resolution congratulating Mary Ellen Sennett of Bennington
on her 100th birthday

H.C.R. 181
House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Thetford Academy
Panthers Division III championship girls’ basketball team

-3113 -



H.C.R. 182
House concurrent resolution congratulating Arlington Memorial High School
on its receipt of a 2017 U.S. News & World Report Best High School in
America Silver Medal

H.C.R. 183
House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 St. Johnsbury Babe Ruth
League 13-years-of-age State championship baseball team

H.C.R. 184
House concurrent resolution congratulating Lucinda Storz of Kirby on winning
her third consecutive Vermont Scripps Spelling Bee championship

H.C.R. 185
House concurrent resolution thanking David and June Keenan of Essex for
their generous donation to the State House art collection of a Keith Rocco print
depicting the Battle of Cedar Creek

H.C.R. 186
House concurrent resolution in memory of Vermont skiing legend Wendell
Cram

H.C.R. 187
House concurrent resolution congratulating Stephen Rice on winning the 2016
Arthur Williams Award for Meritorious Service to the Arts

S.C.R. 14
Senate concurrent resolution recognizing the establishment of the Coolidge
Scholars Program and congratulating the first class of Coolidge Scholars.
S.C.R. 15

Senate concurrent resolution designating October 16, 2017 as John Brown Day
in Vermont.
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