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ORDERS OF THE DAY

ACTION CALENDAR
Unfinished Business of Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 167

An act relating to alternative approaches to addressing low-level illicit drug
use

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* # * Misdemeanor Possession of Drugs Study * * *

Sec. 1. MISDEMEANOR POSSESSION OF DRUGS; PRETRIAL
SERVICES

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly to encourage persons cited or
arrested for a misdemeanor drug possession charge to engage with pretrial
services, and, if appropriate, enter treatment, and that, in turn, a person who
complies with such conditions will be eligible for dismissal of the charge.

(b) The Attorney General, the Defender General, and the Executive
Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs shall work
collaboratively to develop a specific legislative proposal to accomplish this
intent with an implementation date of July 1, 2018 and report to the Senate and
House Committees on Judiciary and on Appropriations, the Senate Committee
on Health and Welfare, and the House Committee on Human Services on or
before November 1, 2017.

* * * Findings * * *
Sec. 2. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT
The General Assembly finds the following:

(1) According to a 2014 study commissioned by the administration and
conducted by the RAND Corporation, marijuana is commonly used in
Vermont with an estimated 80,000 residents having used marijuana in the last
month.

(2) For over 75 vyears, Vermont has debated the issue of marijuana
regulation and amended its marijuana laws numerous times in an effort to
protect public health and safety. Criminal penalties for possession rose in the
1940s and 50s to include harsh mandatory minimums, dropped in the 1960s
and 70s, rose again in the 1980s and 90s, and dropped again in the 2000s. A
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study published in the American Journal of Public Health found that no
evidence supports the claim that criminalization reduces marijuana use.

(3) Vermont seeks to take a new comprehensive approach to marijuana
use and abuse that incorporates prevention, education, regulation, treatment,
and law enforcement which results in a net reduction in public harm and an
overall improvement in public safety. Responsible use of marijuana by adults
21 years of age or older should be treated the same as responsible use of
alcohol, the abuse of either treated as a public health matter, and irresponsible
use of either that causes harm to others sanctioned with penalties.

(4) Policymakers recognize legitimate federal concerns about marijuana
reform and seek through this legislation to provide better control of access and
distribution of marijuana in a manner that prevents:

(A) distribution of marijuana to persons under 21 years of age:

(B) revenue from the sale of marijuana going to criminal enterprises;

(C) diversion of marijuana to states that do not permit possession of
marijuana;

(D) State-authorized marijuana activity from being used as a cover or
pretext for the trafficking of other illegal drugs or activity;

(E) violence and the use of firearms in the cultivation and
distribution of marijuana;

(F) drugged driving and the exacerbation of any other adverse public
health consequences of marijuana use;

(G) growing of marijuana on public lands and the attendant public
safety and environmental dangers posed by marijuana production on public
lands; and

(H) possession or use of marijuana on federal property.

(5) Revenue generated by this act shall be used to provide for the
implementation, administration, and enforcement of this chapter and to
provide additional funding for State efforts on the prevention of substance
abuse, treatment of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts to combat the
1llegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in this subdivision, “criminal
justice efforts” shall include efforts by both State and local criminal justice
agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors, public defenders, and the
courts.

* % * Preyention * * *

Sec. 3. MARIJUANA YOUTH EDUCATION AND PREVENTION
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(a)(1) Relying on lessons learned from tobacco and alcohol prevention
efforts, the Department of Health, in collaboration with the Agency of
Agriculture, Food, and Markets, the Agency of Education, and the Governor’s
Highway Safety Program, shall develop and administer an education and
prevention program focused on use of marijuana by youth under 25 vears of
age. In so doing, the Department shall consider at least the following:

(A) Community- and school-based youth and family-focused
prevention initiatives that strive to:

(1) expand the number of school-based grants for substance abuse
services to enable each Supervisory Union to develop and implement a plan
for comprehensive substance abuse prevention education in a flexible manner
that ensures the needs of individual communities are addressed;

(i1)) 1improve the Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to
Treatment (SBIRT) practice model for professionals serving youth in schools
and other settings; and

(111) expand family education programs.

(B) An informational and counter-marketing campaign using a public
website, printed materials, mass and social media, and advertisements for the
purpose of preventing underage marijuana use.

(C) Education for parents and health care providers to encourage
screening for substance use disorders and other related risks.

(D) Expansion of the use of SBIRT among the State’s pediatric
practices and school-based health centers.

(E) Strategies specific to youth who have been identified by the
Youth Risk Behavior Survey as having an increased risk of substance abuse.

(2) On or before March 15, 2018, the Department shall adopt rules to
implement the education and prevention program described in subsection (a)
of this section and implement the program on or before September 15, 2018.

(b) The Department shall include questions in its biannual Youth Risk
Behavior Survey to monitor the use of marijuana by youth in Vermont and to
understand the source of marijuana used by this population.

(c) Any data collected by the Department on the use of marijuana by youth
shall be maintained and organized in a manner that enables the pursuit of
future longitudinal studies.

* # * Legal Possession; Civil and Criminal Penalties * * *
Sec. 4. LEGISLATIVE INTENT; CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES
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It is the intent of the General Assembly to eliminate all civil penalties for
possession of one ounce or less of marijuana and a small number of marijuana
plants for a person who is 21 years of age or older while retaining the current
criminal penalties for possession of larger amounts of marijuana and criminal
penalties for unauthorized dispensing or sale of marijuana. This act also
retains the current civil and criminal penalties for possession of marijuana by a
person under 21 years of age, which are the same as possession of alcohol by a
person under 21 years of age.

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 4201(15) is amended to read:
(15)(A) “Marijuana” means any-plant-material of the genus licenses—or

N
5 5

(C)-hemp-or-hemp products;-as-defined-in- 6 V.S-A--§ 562 all parts of

the plant Cannabis sativa L., except as provided by subdivision (B) of this
subdivision (15), whether growing or harvested, and includes:

(1) the seeds of the plant;

(i1) the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and

(ii1) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or
preparation of the plant, its seeds, or resin.

(B) “Marijuana” does not include:

(i) the mature stalks of the plant and fiber produced from the

stalks;

(i1) oil or cake made from the seeds of the plant;

(ii1) any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or
preparation of the mature stalks, fiber, oil, or cake: or

(iv) the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of
germination.

Sec. 6. 18 V.S.A. § 4230 is amended to read:
§ 4230. MARIJUANA

(a) Possession and cultivation.

(1)(A) No person shall knowingly and unlawfully possess more than
one ounce of marijuana or more than five grams of hashish or cultivate more
than two mature marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants. For a
first offense under this subdivision (A), a person shall be provided the
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opportunity to participate in the Court Diversion Program unless the
prosecutor states on the record why a referral to the Court Diversion Program
would not serve the ends of justice. A person convicted of a first offense
under this subdivision shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined
not more than $500.00, or both.

(B) A person convicted of a second or subsequent offense of
knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than one ounce of marijuana or
more than five grams of hashish or cultivating more than two mature
marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not
more than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.

(C) Upon an adjudication of guilt for a first or second offense under
this subdivision, the court may defer sentencing as provided in 13 V.S.A.
§ 7041 except that the court may in its discretion defer sentence without the
filing of a presentence investigation report and except that sentence may be
imposed at any time within two years from and after the date of entry of
deferment. The court may, prior to sentencing, order that the defendant submit
to a drug assessment screening which may be considered at sentencing in the
same manner as a presentence report.

(2) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing two ounces of
marijuana or 10 grams of hashish or knowingly and unlawfully cultivating
more than three—plants—of four mature marijuana plants or eight immature
marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not
more than $10,000.00, or both.

(3) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than one
pound er-mere of marijuana or more than 2.8 ounces er-mere of hashish or
knowingly and unlawfully cultivating more than 10-—plants—ef six mature
marijuana plants or 12 immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not
more than five years or fined not more than $100;000.00 $10,000.00, or both.

(4) A person knowingly and unlawfully possessing more than 10 pounds
or-meore of marijuana or more than one pound er-mere of hashish or knowingly
and unlawfully cultivating more than 25-plants-ef 12 mature marijuana plants
or 24 immature marijuana plants shall be imprisoned not more than 15 years or
fined not more than $500,000.00, or both.

(5) If a court fails to provide the defendant with notice of collateral
consequences in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 8005(b) and the defendant later
at any time shows that the plea and conviction for a violation of this subsection
may have or has had a negative consequence, the court, upon the defendant's
motion, shall vacate the judgment and permit the defendant to withdraw the
plea or admission and enter a plea of not guilty. Failure of the court to advise
the defendant of a particular collateral consequence shall not support a motion
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to vacate.

(6) The amounts of marijuana in this subsection shall not include
marijuana cultivated, harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e
of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 4230a is amended to read:

§ 4230a. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE
OR OLDER:-EPAEVOEATON

M) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of
age or older who possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or
less of hashish and two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature
marijuana plants or fewer or who possesses paraphernalia for marijuana use
shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner by the State or any of its
political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege under State law. The
one-ounce limit of marijuana or five grams of hashish that may be possessed
by a person 21 vears of age or older shall not include marijuana cultivated,
harvested, and stored in accordance with section 4230e of this title.

2)(A) olati i ) hall It in 4l ) :
criminal-historyrecord-of-any-kind A person shall not consume marijuana in a
public place. “Public place” means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public
building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation
as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted
tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 or chapter 37 of this
title or 16 V.S.A. § 140.

(B) A person who violates this subdivision (a)(2) shall be assessed a
civil penalty as follows:

(1) not more than $100.00 for a first offense;

(i1) not more than $200.00 for a second offense; and

(iii) not more than $500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.

)}(b) This section does not exempt—any—person—from—arrest—or
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(1) exempt a person from arrest, citation, or prosecution for being under

the influence of marijuana while operating a vehicle of any kind or for
consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(2) repeal or modify existing laws or policies concerning the operation
of vehicles of any kind while under the influence of marijuana or for
consuming marijuana while operating a motor vehicle;

(3) limit the authority of primary and secondary schools to impose
administrative penalties for the possession of marijuana on school property;

(4) prohibit a municipality from adopting a civil ordinance to provide
additional penalties for consumption of marijuana in a public place;

(5) prohibit a landlord from banning possession or use of marijuana in a
lease agreement; or

(6) allow an inmate of a correctional facility to possess or use marijuana
or to limit the authority of law enforcement, the courts, the Department of
Corrections, or the Parole Board to impose penalties on offenders who use
marijuana in violation of a court order, conditions of furlough, parole, or rules
of a correctional facility.

te)(c)(1) A law enforcement officer is authorized to detain a person if:

(A) the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person has
violated subsection (b) of this section; and
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(B) the person refuses to identify himself or herself satisfactorily to
the officer when requested by the officer.

(2) The person may be detained only until the person identifies himself
or herself satisfactorily to the officer or is properly identified. If the officer is
unable to obtain the identification information, the person shall forthwith be
brought before a judge in the Criminal Division of the Superior Court for that
purpose. A person who refuses to identify himself or herself to the Court on
request shall immediately and without service of an order on the person be
subject to civil contempt proceedings pursuant to 12 V.S.A. § 122.

H(d) Fifty percent of the civil penalties imposed by the Judicial Bureau
for violations of this section shall be deposited in the Drug Task Force Special
Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A. chapter 7,
subchapter 5, and available to the Department of Public Safety for the funding
of law enforcement officers on the Drug Task Force, except for a $12.50
administrative charge for each violation which shall be deposited in the Court
Technology Special Fund, in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 7252. The
remaining 50 percent shall be deposited in the Youth Substance Abuse Safety
Program Special Fund, hereby created to be managed pursuant to 32 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 5, and available to the Court Diversion Program for
funding of the Youth Substance Abuse Safety Program as required by
section 4230b of this title.

(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to do any of the following:

(1) require an employer to permit or accommodate the use,
consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or growing of
marijuana in the workplace;

(2) prevent an employer from adopting a policy that prohibits the use of
marijuana in the workplace;

(3) create a cause of action against an employer that discharges an
employee for violating a policy that restricts or prohibits the use of marijuana
by employees:; or

(4) prevent an employer from prohibiting or otherwise regulating the
use, consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation, sale, or gerowing
of marijuana on the employer’s premises.

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 4230b is amended to read:

§ 4230b. MARIJUANA POSSESSION BY A PERSON UNDER 21 YEARS
OF AGE; CIVIL VIOLATION

(a) Offense. A person under 21 years of age who knowingly and
unlawfully possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or five grams or less of
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hashish or two mature marijuana plants or fewer or four immature marijuana
plants or fewer commits a civil violation and shall be referred to the Court
Diversion Program for the purpose of enrollment in the Youth Substance
Abuse Safety Program. A person who fails to complete the program
successfully shall be subject to:

(1) a civil penalty of $300.00 and suspension of the person’s operator’s
license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 30 days, for a
first offense; and

(2) a civil penalty of not more than $600.00 and suspension of the
person’s operator’s license and privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a
period of 90 days, for a second or subsequent offense.

k %k %k

Sec. 9. 18 V.S.A. § 4230e is added to read:

§ 4230e. CULTIVATION OF MARIJUANA BY A PERSON 21 YEARS OF
AGE OR OLDER

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person 21 years of
age or older who cultivates no more than two mature marijuana plants and four
immature marijuana plants shall not be penalized or sanctioned in any manner
by the State or any of its political subdivisions or denied any right or privilege
under State law.

(2) Each dwelling unit shall be limited to two mature marijuana plants
and four immature marijuana plants regardless of how many persons 21 years
of age or older reside in the dwelling unit. As used in this section, “dwelling
unit” means a building or the part of a building that is used as a primary home,
residence, or sleeping place by one or more persons who maintain a household.

(3) Any marijuana harvested from the plants allowed pursuant to this
subsection shall not count toward the one-ounce possession limit in section
4230a of this title provided it is stored in an indoor facility on the property
where the marijuana was cultivated and reasonable precautions are taken to
prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.

(4) Cultivation in excess of the limits provided in this subsection shall
be punished in accordance with section 4230 of this title.

(b)(1) Personal cultivation of marijuana only shall occur:

(A) on property lawfully in possession of the cultivator or with the
consent of the person in lawful possession of the property; and

(B) in an enclosure that is screened from public view and reasonable
precautions are taken to prevent unauthorized access to the marijuana.
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(2) A person who violates this subsection shall be assessed a civil
penalty as follows:

(A) not more than $100.00 for a first offense;
(B) not more than $200.00 for a second offense; and

(C) not more than $500.00 for a third or subsequent offense.
Sec. 10. 18 V.S.A. § 4230f is added to read:

§ 4230f. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER
21 YEARS OF AGE

(a) No person shall:

(1) sell or furnish marijuana to a person under 21 years of age; or

(2) knowingly enable the consumption of marijuana by a person under
21 vyears of age.

(b) As used in this section, “enable the consumption of marijuana” means
creating a direct and immediate opportunity for a person to consume

marijuana.

(¢) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than two years or fined not more than $2.000.00. or both.

(d) An emplovee of a marijuana establishment licensed pursuant to chapter
87 of this title, who, in the course of employment, violates subdivision (a)(1)
of this section during a compliance check conducted by a law enforcement
officer shall be:

(1) assessed a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for the first
violation and a civil penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00
for a second violation that occurs more than one vear after the first
violation; and

(2) subject to the criminal penalties provided in subsection (¢) of this
section for a second violation within a vyear of the first violation, and for a
third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation.

(e) An emplovee alleged to have committed a violation of subsection (d) of
this section may plead as an affirmative defense that:

(1) the purchaser exhibited and the employee carefully viewed
photographic identification that indicated the purchaser to be 21 vyears of age
or older;

(2) an ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser to be of
legal age to make the purchase; and
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(3) the sale was made in good faith, based upon the reasonable belief
that the purchaser was of legal age to purchase marijuana.

(f) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, where the person
under 21 vears of age, while operating a motor vehicle on a public higchway,
causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or herself or to another person
as a result of the violation, shall be imprisoned not more than five years or
fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.

(2) This section shall not apply to:

(1) A person under 21 years of age who sells or furnishes marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age or who knowingly enables the consumption of
marijuana by a person under 21 vyears of age. Possession of an ounce or less of
marijuana by a person under 21 years of age shall be punished in accordance
with sections 4230b—4230d of this title and dispensing or selling marijuana
shall be punished in accordance with sections 4230 and 4237 of this title.

(2) A dispensary registered pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.
Sec. 11. 18 V.S.A. § 4230g is added to read:

§ 4230g. SALE OR FURNISHING MARIJUANA TO A PERSON UNDER
21 YEARS OF AGE; CIVIL ACTION FOR DAMAGES

(a) A spouse, child, guardian, employer, or other person who is injured in
person, property, or means of support by a person under 21 years of age who is
impaired by marijuana, or in consequence of the impairment by marijuana of
any person under 21 vears of age, shall have a right of action in his or her own
name, jointly or severally, against any person or persons who have caused in
whole or in part such impairment by selling or furnishing marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age.

(b) Upon the death of either party, the action and right of action shall
survive to or against the party’s executor or administrator. The party injured
or his or her legal representatives may bring either a joint action against the
impaired person under 21 vears of age and the person or persons who sold or
furnished the marijuana, or a separate action against either or any of them.

(¢) An action to recover for damages under this section shall be
commenced within two vears after the cause of action accrues, and not after.

(d) In an action brought under this section, evidence of responsible actions
taken or not taken is admissible if otherwise relevant. Responsible actions
may include a marijuana establishment’s instruction to emplovees as to laws
governing the sale of marijuana to adults 21 vyears of age or older and
procedures for verification of age of customers.

(e) A defendant in an action brought under this section has a right of
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contribution from any other responsible person or persons, which may be
enforced in a separate action brought for that purpose.

(f)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, nothing in
this section shall create a statutory cause of action against a social host for
furnishing marijuana to any person without compensation or profit. However,
this subdivision shall not be construed to limit or otherwise affect the liability
of a social host for negligence at common law.

(2) A social host who knowingly furnishes marijuana to a person under
21 vyears of age may be held liable under this section if the social host knew, or
a reasonable person in the same circumstances would have known, that the
person who received the marijuana was under 21 vyears of age.

(3) As used in this subsection, “social host” means a person who is not
the holder of a marijuana establishment license and is not required under
chapter 87 of this title to hold a marijuana establishment license.

Sec. 12. 18 V.S.A. § 4230h is added to read:

§ 4230h. CHEMICAL EXTRACTION VIA BUTANE OR HEXANE
PROHIBITED

(a) No person shall manufacture concentrated marijuana by chemical
extraction or chemical synthesis using butane or hexane unless authorized as a
dispensary pursuant to a registration issued by the Department of Public Safety
pursuant to chapter 86 of this title.

(b) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
not more than two vears or fined not more than $2.000.00. or both. A person
who violates subsection (a) of this section and causes serious bodily injury to
another person shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more
than $5,000.00, or both.

* #* Commercial Marijuana Regulation * * *
Sec. 13. 18 V.S.A. chapter 87 is added to read:
CHAPTER 87. MARIJUANA ESTABLISHMENTS

Subchapter 1. General Provisions
§ 4501. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Affiliate” means a person that directly or indirectly owns or
controls, is owned or controlled by, or is under common ownership or control
with, another person.

(2) “Agency” means the Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.
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(3) “Applicant” means a person that applies for a license to operate a
marijuana establishment pursuant to this chapter.

(4) “Child care facility” means a child care facility or family day care
home licensed or registered under 33 V.S.A. chapter 35.

(5) “Commissioner”’ means the Commissioner of Public Safety.

(6) “Department” means the Department of Public Safety.

(7) “Dispensary” means a person registered under section 4474e of this
title that acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures, transfers, transports,
supplies, sells, or dispenses marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and
marijuana-related supplies and educational materials for or to a registered
patient who has designated it as his or her center and to his or her registered
caregiver for the registered patient’s use for symptom relief.

(8) “Enclosed, locked facility” shall be either indoors or outdoors, not
visible to the public, and may include a building, room, greenhouse, fully
enclosed fenced-in area, or other location enclosed on all sides and equipped
with locks or other security devices that permit access only by:

(A) Employees, agents, or owners of the cultivator, all of whom shall
be 21 years of age or older.

(B) Government employees performing their official duties.

(C) Contractors performing labor that does not include marijuana
cultivation, packaging, or processing. Contractors shall be accompanied by an
employee, agent, or owner of the cultivator when they are in areas where
marijuana is being grown, processed, or stored.

(D) Registered employees of other cultivators, members of the
media, elected officials, and other individuals 21 vears of age or older visiting
the facility, provided they are accompanied by an employee, agent, or owner
of the cultivator.

(9) “Financier” means a person, other than a financial institution as
defined in 8 V.S.A. § 11101, that makes an equity investment, a gift, loan, or
otherwise provides financing to a person with the expectation of a financial
return.

(10) ““Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as provided in section
4201 of this title.

(11) ‘““Marijuana cultivator” or “cultivator” means a person registered
with the Agency to engage in commercial cultivation of marijuana in
accordance with this chapter.

(12) “Marijuana establishment” means a marijuana cultivator, retailer,
-2706 -




or testing laboratory licensed by the Agency to engage in commercial
marijuana activity in accordance with this chapter.

(13) ‘“Marijuana retailer” or “retailer” means a person licensed by the
Agency to sell marijuana to consumers for off-site consumption in accordance
with this chapter.

(14) “Marijuana testing laboratory” or ‘“testing laboratory” means a
person licensed by the Agency to test marijuana for cultivators and retailers in
accordance with this chapter.

99 Cey

(15) “Owns or controls,” “is owned or controlled by,” and ‘“under
common ownership or control” mean direct ownership or beneficial ownership
of an equity interest, or the equivalent thereof, of ten percent or more, and the
power to direct, or cause the direction of, the management and policies of a
person, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract, or
otherwise.

2

(16) “Person” shall include any natural person; corporation;
municipality; the State of Vermont or any department, agency or subdivision
of the State:; and any partnership, unincorporated association, or other legal

entity.
(17) “Plant canopy” means the square footage dedicated to live plant

production and does not include areas such as office space or areas used for the
storage of fertilizers, pesticides, or other products.

(18) “Principal” means an individual vested with the authority to
conduct, manage, or supervise the business affairs of a person, and may
include the president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, manager, or similar
executive officer of a business; a director of a corporation, nonprofit
corporation, or mutual benefit enterprise; a member of a nonprofit corporation,
cooperative, or member-managed limited liability company; and a partner of a

partnership.

(19) “Public place” means any street, alley, park, sidewalk, public
building other than individual dwellings, any place of public accommodation
as defined in 9 V.S.A. § 4501, and any place where the possession of a lighted
tobacco product is prohibited pursuant to section 1421 of this title or
chapter 37 of this title.

(20) “Resident” means a person who is domiciled in Vermont, subject to
the following:

(A) The process for determining the domicile of an individual shall
be the same as that required by rules adopted by the Department of Taxes
related to determining domicile for the purpose of the interpretation and
administration of 32 V.S.A. § 5401(14).
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(B) The domicile of a business entity is the State in which it is
organized.

(21) “School” means a public school, independent school, or facility
that provides early childhood education as those terms are defined in 16 V.S.A.

§11.

(22)  “Secretary” means the Secretary of Agriculture, Food, and
Markets.

§ 4502. MARIJUANA POSSESSED UNLAWFULLY SUBJECT TO
SEIZURE AND FORFEITURE

Marijuana possessed unlawfully in violation of this chapter may be seized
by law enforcement and is subject to forfeiture.

§ 4503. NOT APPLICABLE TO HEMP OR THERAPEUTIC USE OF
CANNABIS

This chapter shall not apply to activities regulated by 7 V.S.A. chapter 34
(hemp) or chapter 86 (therapeutic use of cannabis) of this title.

§ 4504. CONSUMPTION OF MARIJUANA IN A PUBLIC PLACE
PROHIBITED

This chapter shall not be construed to permit consumption of marijuana in a
public place. Violations shall be punished in accordance with section 4230a of
this title.

§ 4505. REGULATION BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT

(a)(1) A marijuana establishment shall obtain a permit from a town, city, or
incorporated village prior to beginning operations within the municipality.

(2) A municipality that hosts a marijuana establishment may establish a
board of marijuana control commissioners, who shall be the members of the
municipal legislative body. The board shall administer the municipal permits
under this subsection (a) for the marijuana establishments within the

municipality.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prevent a town, city, or
incorporated village from regulating marijuana establishments through local
ordinances as set forth in 24 V.S.A. § 2291 or through land use bylaws as set
forth in 24 V.S.A. § 4414.

(c)(1) A town, city, or incorporated village, by majority vote of those
present and voting at annual or special meeting warned for the purpose, may
prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within the municipality.
The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to a marijuana establishment
that is operating within the municipality at the time of the vote.

-2708 -




(2) A vote to prohibit the operation of a marijuana establishment within
the municipality shall remain in effect until rescinded by majority vote of
those present and voting at an annual or special meeting warned for the

purpose.
§ 4506. YOUTH RESTRICTIONS

(a) A marijuana establishment shall not dispense or sell marijuana to a
person under 21 years of age or employ a person under 21 years of age.

(b) A marijuana establishment shall not be located within 1,000 feet of a
preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care facility.

(¢) A marijuana establishment shall not permit a person under 21 years of
age to enter a building or enclosure on the premises where marijuana is
located. This subsection shall not apply to a registered patient visiting his or
her designated dispensary even if that dispensary is located in a building that is
located on the same premises of a marijuana establishment.

§ 4507. ADVERTISING

(a) Marijuana advertising shall not contain any statement or illustration
that:

(1) is false or misleading;

(2) promotes overconsumption; or

(3) is designed to appeal to children or persons under 18 years of age by
portraying anyone under 18 vears of age or objects suggestive of the presence
of anyone under 18 years of age, or containing the use of a figure, a symbol, or
language that is customarily associated with anyone under 18 vears of age.

(b) Outdoor marijuana advertising shall not be located within 1,000 feet of
a preexisting public or private school or licensed or regulated child care

facility.

(¢) In accordance with section 4512 of this chapter, the Agency shall adopt
regulations on marijuana establishment advertising that reflect the policies of
subsection (a) of this section and place restrictions on the time, place, and
manner, but not content, of the advertising.

(d) All advertising shall contain the following warnings:

(1) For use only by adults 21 years of age or older. Keep out of the
reach of children.

(2) Marijuana has intoxicating effects and may impair concentration,
coordination, and judgment. Do not operate a motor vehicle or heavy
machinery or enter into any contractual agreement under the influence of
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marijuana.
Subchapter 2. Administration

§4511. AUTHORITY

(a) For the purpose of regulating the cultivation, processing, packaging,
transportation, testing, purchase, and sale of marijuana in accordance with this
chapter, the Agency shall have the following authority and duties:

(1) rulemaking in accordance with this chapter and 3 V.S.A.
chapter 25;

(2) administration of a program for the licensure of marijuana
establishments, which shall include compliance and enforcement; and

(3) submission of an annual budget to the Governor.

(b)(1) There is established the Marijuana Advisory Board within the
Agency for the purpose of advising the Agency and other administrative
agencies and departments regarding policy for the implementation and
operation of this chapter. The Board shall be composed of the following
members:

(A) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee;

(B) the Commissioner of Public Safety or designee;

(C) the Commissioner of Health or designee;

(D) the Commissioner of Taxes or designee; and

(E) a member of local law enforcement appointed by the Governor.

(2) The Secretary of Administration shall convene the first meeting of
the Board on or before June 1, 2017 and shall attend Board meetings.

§ 4512. RULEMAKING

(a) The Agency shall adopt rules to implement this chapter on or before
March 15, 2018, in accordance with subdivisions (1)—(4) of this subsection.

(1) Rules concerning any marijuana establishment shall include:

(A) the form and content of license and renewal applications;

(B) qualifications for licensure that are directly and demonstrably
related to the operation of a marijuana establishment, including submission of
an operating plan and the requirement for a fingerprint-based criminal history
record check and regulatory record check pursuant to subsection 4522(d) of
this title;

(C) oversight requirements;
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(D) inspection requirements:

(E) records to be kept by licensees and the required availability of the
records;

it

(F) employment and training requirements, including requiring that
each marijuana establishment create an identification badge for each
employee;

(G) security requirements, including lighting, physical security,
video, and alarm requirements;

(H) restrictions on advertising, marketing, and signage;

(I) health and safety requirements;

(J) regulation of additives to marijuana, including those that are toxic
or designed to make the product more addictive, more appealing to children, or
to mislead consumers;

(K) procedures for seed to sale traceability of marijuana, including
any requirements for tracking software;

(L) regulation of the storage and transportation of marijuana;

(M) sanitary requirements;

(N) pricing guidelines with a goal of ensuring marijuana is
sufficiently affordable to undercut the illegal market;

(O) procedures for the renewal of a license, which shall allow
renewal applications to be submitted up to 90 days prior to the expiration of
the marijuana establishment’s license:

(P) procedures for suspension and revocation of a license; and

(Q) requirements for banking and financial transactions.

(2) Rules concerning cultivators shall include:

(A) labeling requirements for products sold to retailers; and

(B) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number
of visitors allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(3) Rules concerning retailers shall include:

(A) labeling requirements, including appropriate warnings
concerning the carcinogenic effects and other potential negative health
consequences of consuming marijuana, for products sold to customers;

(B) requirements for proper verification of age and residency of
customers;
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(C) restrictions that marijuana shall be stored behind a counter or
other barrier to ensure a customer does not have direct access to the

marijuana; and

(D) regulation of visits to the establishments, including the number
of customers allowed at any one time and recordkeeping concerning visitors.

(4) Rules concerning testing laboratories shall include:

(A) procedures for destruction of all samples; and

(B) requirements for chain of custody recordkeeping.

(b) The Agency shall consult with the Department in the development and
adoption of the following rules identified in subsection (a) of this section:

(1) regarding any marijuana establishment, subdivisions (1)(B), (G),

(K), (L), (P), and (Q);

(2) regarding cultivators, subdivision (2)(A)(vi);

(3) regarding retailers, subdivisions (4)(B), (C), and (E); and

(4) regarding testing laboratories, subdivisions (5)(B), (C), and (D).
§ 4513. IMPLEMENTATION

(a)(1) On or before April 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting
applications for cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses. The initial
application period shall remain open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the
application process for any period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before June 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing
cultivator licenses and testing laboratory licenses to qualified applicants.

(b)(1) On or before May 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin accepting
applications for retail licenses. The initial application period shall remain
open for 30 days. The Agency may reopen the application process for any
period of time at its discretion.

(2) On or before September 15, 2018, the Agency shall begin issuing
retailer licenses to qualified applicants. A license shall not permit a licensee to
open the store to the public or sell marijuana to the public prior to January 2,
2019.

(c)(1) Prior to July 1, 2019, provided applicants meet the requirements of
this chapter, the Agency shall issue:

(A) an unlimited number of cultivator licenses that permit a
cultivation space of not more than 500 square feet;

(B) a maximum of 20 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
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space of more than 500 square feet but not more than 1,000 square feet;

(C) a maximum of 15 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 1,000 square feet up to 2,500 square feet;

(D) a maximum of 10 cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 2,500 square feet up to 5,000 square feet;

(E) a maximum of five cultivator licenses that permit a cultivation
space of more than 5,000 square feet up to 10,000 square feet;

(F) a maximum of five testing laboratory licenses; and

(G) a maximum of 42 retailer licenses.

(2) On or after July 1, 2019, the limitations in subdivision (1) of this
subsection shall not apply and the Agency shall use its discretion to issue
licenses in a number and size for the purpose of competing with and
undercutting the illegal market based on available data and recommendations
of the Marijuana Program Review Commission. A cultivator licensed prior to
July 1, 2019 may apply to the Agency to modify its license to expand its
cultivation space.

§ 4514. CIVIL CITATIONS; SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF
LICENSES

(a) The Agency shall have the authority to adopt rules for the issuance of
civil citations for violations of this chapter and the rules adopted pursuant to
section 4512 of this title. Any proposed rule under this section shall include
the full, minimum, and waiver penalty amounts for each violation.

(b) The Agency shall have the authority to suspend or revoke a license for
violations of this chapter in accordance with rules adopted pursuant to section
4512 of this title.

Subchapter 3. Licenses
§ 4521. GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) Except as otherwise permitted by this chapter, a person shall not engage
in the cultivation, preparation, processing, packaging, transportation, testing,
or sale of marijuana without obtaining a license from the Agency.

(b) All licenses shall expire at midnight, April 30, of each year beginning
no earlier than 10 months after the original license was issued to the marijuana
establishment.

(c) Applications for licenses and renewals shall be submitted on forms
provided by the Agency and shall be accompanied by the fees provided for in
section 4528 of this section.
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(d)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection (d), an
applicant and its affiliates may obtain only one license, either a cultivator
license, a retailer license, or a testing laboratory license under this chapter.

(2) A dispensary or a subsidiary of a dispensary may obtain one of each
type of license under this chapter, provided that a dispensary or its subsidiary
obtains no more than one cultivator license, one retailer license, and one
testing laboratory license total.

(e) Each license shall permit only one location of the establishment.

(f) A dispensary that obtains a retailer license pursuant to this chapter shall
maintain the dispensary and retail operations in a manner that protects patient
and caregiver privacy in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. If the
dispensary and retail establishment are located on the same premises, the
dispensary and retail establishment shall provide separate entrances and
common areas designed to serve patients and caregivers and customers.

(2) Each licensee shall obtain and maintain commercial general liability
insurance in accordance with rules adopted by the Agency. Failure to provide
proof of insurance to the Agency, as required, may result in revocation of the
license.

(h) All records relating to security, transportation, public safety, and trade
secrets in an application for a license under this chapter shall be exempt from
public inspection and copying under the Public Records Act.

(1) This subchapter shall not apply to possession regulated by chapters 84
or 86 of this title.

§ 4522. LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS AND APPLICATION PROCESS

(a) To be eligible for a marijuana establishment license:

(1) An applicant shall be a resident of Vermont.

(2) A principal of an applicant, and a person who owns or controls an
applicant, shall have been a resident of Vermont for two or more years
immediately preceding the date of application.

(3) An applicant, principal of an applicant, or person who owns or
controls an applicant, who is a natural person:

(A) shall be 21 vears of age or older; and

(B) shall consent to the release of his or her criminal and
administrative history records.

(b) A financier of an applicant shall have been a resident of Vermont for
two or more years immediately preceding the date of application.
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(c) As part of the application process, each applicant shall submit, in a
format proscribed by the Agency, an operating plan. The plan shall include a
floor plan or site plan drawn to scale that illustrates the entire operation being
proposed. The plan shall also include the following:

(1) For a cultivator license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) transportation of product;

(E) destruction of waste product;

(F) description of growing operation, including growing media, size
of grow space allocated for plant production, space allowed for any other
business activity, description of all equipment to be used in the cultivation
process, and a list of soil amendments, fertilizers, or other crop production
aids, or pesticides, utilized in the production process;

(G) how the applicant will meet its operation’s need for energy
services at the lowest present value life-cycle cost, including environmental
and economic costs, through a strategy combining investments and
expenditures on energy efficiency and energy supply:

(H) testing procedures and protocols;

(D description of packaging and labeling of products transported to
retailers; and

(J) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) For a retailer license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product;

(E) description of packaging and labeling of products sold to
customers;

(F) the products to be sold and how they will be displayed to
customers; and

(G) any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
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Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(3) For a testing laboratory license, information concerning:

(A) security;
(B) traceability;

(C) employee qualifications and training;

(D) destruction of waste product; and

(E) the types of testing to be offered.

(d) The Department shall obtain a Vermont criminal history record, an out-
of-state criminal history record, a criminal history record from the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, and any regulatory records relating to the operation of
a business in this State or any other jurisdiction for each of the following who
1S a natural person:

(1) an applicant or financier;

(2) a principal of an applicant or financier; and

(3) a person who owns or controls an applicant or financier.

(e) When considering applications for a marijuana establishment license,
the Agency shall:

(1) give priority to a qualified applicant that is a dispensary or
subsidiary of a dispensary;

(2) strive for geographic distribution of marijuana establishments based
on population.

§ 4523. EDUCATION

(a) An applicant for a marijuana establishment license shall meet with a
Agency designee for the purpose of reviewing Vermont laws and rules
pertaining to the possession, purchase, storage, and sale of marijuana prior to
recelving a license.

(b) A licensee shall complete an enforcement seminar every three years
conducted by the Agency. A license shall not be renewed unless the records of
the Agency show that the licensee has complied with the terms of this
subsection.

(c) A licensee shall ensure that each employee involved in the sale of
marijuana completes a training program approved by the Agency prior to
selling marijuana and at least once every 24 months thereafter. A licensee
shall keep a written record of the type and date of training for each emplovee,
which shall be signed by each employee. A licensee may comply with this
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requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using
information and materials furnished by the Agency. A licensee who fails to
comply with the requirements of this section shall be subject to a suspension of
no less than one day of the license issued under this chapter.

§ 4524. IDENTIFICATION CARD; CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

(a) The Agency shall issue each employee an identification card or renewal
card within 30 days of receipt of the person’s name, address, and date of birth
and a fee of $50.00. The fee shall be paid by the marijuana establishment and
shall not be passed on to an employee. A person shall not work as an
employee until that person has received an identification card issued under this
section. Fach card shall contain the following:

(1) the name, address, and date of birth of the person;

(2) the legal name of the marijuana establishment with which the person
is affiliated;

(3) arandom identification number that is unique to the person;

(4) the date of issuance and the expiration date of the identification
card; and

(5) a photograph of the person.

(b) Prior to acting on an application for an identification card, the Agency
shall obtain from the Department the person’s Vermont criminal history record,
out-of-state criminal history record, and criminal history record from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Each person shall consent to the release of
criminal history records to the Agency and the Department on forms
developed by the Vermont Crime Information Center.

(c) When the Department obtains a criminal history record, the Department
shall promptly provide a copy of the record to the person and the marijuana
establishment. The Department shall inform the person of the right to appeal
the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the

Agency.

(d) The Department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of
criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy. No person
shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal history record
information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information
pursuant to this chapter.

(e) The Agency, in consultation with the Department, shall adopt rules for
the issuance of an identification card and shall set forth standards for
determining whether a person should be denied a registry identification card
because his or her criminal history record indicates that the person’s
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association with a marijuana establishment would pose a demonstrable threat
to public safety. Previous nonviolent drug-related convictions shall not
automatically disqualify an applicant. A marijuana establishment may deny a
person the opportunity to serve as an employee based on his or her criminal
history record. A person who is denied an identification card may appeal the
Agency’s determination in Superior Court in accordance with Rule 75 of the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

() An identification card shall expire one vear after its issuance or upon
the expiration of the marijuana establishment’s license, whichever occurs first.

§ 4525. CULTIVATOR LICENSE

(a) A cultivator licensed under this chapter may cultivate, package, label,
transport, test, and sell marijuana to a licensed retailer.

(b) Cultivation of marijuana shall occur only in an enclosed, locked facility
which is either indoors, or if outdoors, not visible to the public, and which can
only be accessed by principal officers and employees of the licensee who have
valid identification cards.

(c) An applicant shall designate on his or her operating plan the size of the
premises and the amount of actual square footage that will be dedicated to

plant canopy.
(d) Representative samples of each lot or batch of marijuana intended for

human consumption shall be tested for safety and potency in accordance with
rules adopted by the Agency.

(e) Each cultivator shall create packaging for its marijuana.

(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the cultivator.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be
either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties

of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of
tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A ‘“produced on” date reflecting the date that the cultivator
finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating,
“Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate
machinery,” “Keep away from children,” and “Possession of marijuana is
1llegal under federal law.”
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(F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Department in accordance with this chapter. Rules shall take into
consideration that different labeling requirements may be appropriate
depending on whether the marijuana is sold to a wholesaler, product
manufacturer, or retailer.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years
of age.

(H(1) Only unadulterated marijuana shall be offered for sale. If, upon
inspection, the Agency finds any violative pesticide residue or other
contaminants of concern, the Agency shall order the marijuana, either
individually or in blocks, to be:

(A) put on stop-sale:

(B) treated in a particular manner; or

(C) destroyed according to the Agency’s instructions.

(2) Marijuana ordered destroved or placed on stop-sale shall be clearly
separable from salable marijuana. Any order shall be confirmed in writing
within seven days. The order shall include the reason for action, a description
of the marijuana affected, and any recommended treatment.

(3) A person may appeal an order issued pursuant to this section within
15 days of receiving the order. The appeal shall be made in writing to the
Secretary and shall clearly identify the marijuana affected and the basis for the

appeal.
§ 4526. RETAILER LICENSE

(a) A retailer licensed under this chapter may:

(1) transport, possess, and sell marijuana to the public for consumption
off the registered premises;

(2) purchase marijuana from a licensed cultivator; and

(3) provide marijuana to a licensed testing laboratory.

(b)(1) In a single transaction, a retailer may provide:

(A) one-half ounce of marijuana to a person 21 vears of age or older
upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph identification card
that indicates the person is domiciled in Vermont; or

(B) one-quarter of an ounce of marijuana to a person 21 years of age
or older upon verification of a valid government-issued photograph
1dentification card that indicates the person is domiciled outside Vermont.

(2) A retailer shall not knowingly and willfully sell an amount of
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marijuana to a person that causes the person to exceed the possession limit.

(c) A retailer shall only sell “useable marijuana” which means the dried
flowers of marijuana, and does not include the seeds, stalks, leaves, and roots
of the plant, and shall not package marijuana with other items, such as
paraphernalia, for sale to customers.

(d)(1) Packaging shall include:

(A) The name and registration number of the retailer.

(B) The strain of marijuana contained. Marijuana strains shall be
either pure breeds or hybrid varieties of marijuana and shall reflect properties

of the plant.

(C) The potency of the marijuana represented by the percentage of
tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol by mass.

(D) A ‘“produced on” date reflecting the date that the cultivator
finished producing marijuana.

(E) Warnings, in substantially the following form, stating,
“Consumption of marijuana impairs your ability to drive a car and operate
machinery,” “Keep away from children,” and “Possession of marijuana is
1llegal under federal law.”

(F) Any additional requirements contained in rules adopted by the
Agency in accordance with this chapter.

(2) Packaging shall not be designed to appeal to persons under 21 years
of age.

(e) A retailer shall display a safety information flyer developed or
approved by the Agency and supplied to the retailer free of charge. The flyer
shall contain information concerning the methods for administering marijuana,
the potential dangers of marijuana use, the symptoms of problematic usage,
and how to receive help for marijuana abuse.

() Internet sales and delivery of marijuana to customers are prohibited.
§ 4527. MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY

(a) A testing laboratory licensed under this chapter may acquire, possess,
analyze, test, and transport marijuana samples obtained from a licensed
marijuana establishment.

(b) Testing may address the following:

(1) residual solvents;

(2) poisons or toxins;
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(3) harmful chemicals;

(4) dangerous molds, mildew, or filth:

(5) harmful microbials, such as E.coli or salmonella;

(6) pesticides; and

(7) tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol potency.

(c) A testing laboratory shall have a written procedural manual made
available to employees to follow meeting the minimum standards set forth in
rules detailing the performance of all methods employed by the facility used to
test the analytes it reports.

(d) In accordance with rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, a testing
laboratory shall establish a protocol for recording the chain of custody of all
marijuana samples.

(e) A testing laboratory shall establish, monitor, and document the ongoing
review of a quality assurance program that is sufficient to identify problems in
the laboratory systems when they occur.

§ 4528. FEES

(a) The Agency shall charge and collect initial license application fees and
annual license renewal fees for each type of marijuana license under this
chapter. Fees shall be due and payable at the time of license application or
renewal.

(b)(1) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a cultivator
license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) $1.000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square

feet.

(B) $3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet
but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) $7.,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001-2.500 square feet.
(D) $15.000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501-5,000 square feet.
(E) $30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001-10,000 square feet.

(2) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a retailer
license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be $15.000.00.

(3) The nonrefundable fee accompanying an application for a marijuana
testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter shall be
$500.00.

(4) If a person submits a qualifying application for a marijuana
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establishment license during an open application, pays the nonrefundable
application fee, but is not selected to receive a license due to the limited
number of licenses available, the person may reapply, based on availability, for
such a license within two vyears by resubmitting the application with any
necessary updated information, and shall be charged a fee that is fifty percent
of the application fees set forth in subdivision (1)—(3) of this subsection if the
original application was submitted prior to July 1, 2019.

(c)(1) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a cultivator license pursuant to section 4525 of this chapter shall be:

(A) $1,000.00 for a cultivation space that does not exceed 500 square

feet.

(B) $3,000.00. for a cultivation space of more than 500 square feet
but not more than 1,000 square feet.

(C) $7.,500.00 for a cultivation space of 1,001-2.500 square feet.
(D) $15.000.00 for a cultivation space of 2,501-5,000 square feet.
(E) $30,000.00 for a cultivation space of 5,001-10,000 square feet.

(2) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a retailer license pursuant to section 4526 of this chapter shall be $15.,000.00.

(3) The initial annual license fee and subsequent annual renewal fee for
a marijuana testing laboratory license pursuant to section 4527 of this chapter
shall be $2,500.00.

(d) The following administrative fees shall apply:

(1) Change of corporate structure fee (per person) shall be $1.000.00.
(2) Change of name fee shall be $1.000.00.
(3) Change of location fee shall be $1,000.00.
(4) Modification of license premises fee shall be $250.00.
(5) Addition of financier fee shall be $250.00.
(6) Duplicate license fee shall be $100.00.
§ 4529. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

(a) The Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund is hereby created. The
Fund shall be maintained by the Agency of Administration.

(b) The Fund shall be composed of:

(1) all application fees, license fees, renewal fees, and civil penalties
collected pursuant to this chapter; and
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(2) all taxes collected by the Commissioner of Taxes pursuant to this
chapter.

(c)(1) Funds shall be appropriated as follows:

(A) For the purpose of implementation, administration, and
enforcement of this chapter.

(B) Proportionately for the prevention of substance abuse, treatment
of substance abuse, and criminal justice efforts by State and local law
enforcement to combat the illegal drug trade and impaired driving. As used in
this subdivision, “criminal justice efforts” shall include efforts by both State
and local criminal justice agencies, including law enforcement, prosecutors,
public defenders, and the courts.

(2) Appropriations made pursuant to subdivision (1) of this subsection
shall be in addition to current funding of the identified priorities and shall not
be used in place of existing State funding.

(d) All balances in the Fund at the end of any fiscal vear shall be carried
forward and remain part of the Fund. Interest earned by the Fund shall be
deposited into the Fund.

(e) This Fund is established in the State Treasury pursuant to 32 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 5. The Commissioner of Finance and Management shall
anticipate receipts in accordance with 32 V.S.A. § 588(4)(C).

(f) The Secretary of Administration shall report annually to the Joint Fiscal
Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal year on or
before the Committee’s regularly scheduled November meeting.

Subchapter 4. Marijuana Program Review Commission
§ 4546. PURPOSE; MEMBERS

(a) Creation. There is created a temporary Marijuana Program Review
Commission for the purpose of facilitating efficient and lawful implementation
of this act and examination of issues important to the future of marijuana
regulation in Vermont.

(b) Membership. The Commission shall be composed of the following
members:

(1) two members of the public appointed by the Governor;

(2) two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the
Speaker of the House;

(3) two members of the Senate, appointed by the Committee on
Committees; and
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(4) the Attorney General or designee.

(c) Term. Legislative members shall serve only while in office.
§ 4547. POWERS; DUTIES

(a) The Commission shall:

(1) collect information about the implementation, operation, and effect
of this act from members of the public, State agencies, and private and public
sector businesses and organizations;

(2) communicate with other states that have legalized marijuana and
monitor those states regarding their implementation of regulation, policies, and
strategies that have been successful and problems that have arisen;

(3) examine the issue of marijuana concentrates and edible marijuana
products and whether Vermont safely can allow and regulate their manufacture
and sale and, if so, how;

(4) keep updated on the latest information in Vermont and other
jurisdictions regarding the prevention and detection of impaired driving as it
relates to marijuana;

(5) study the opportunity for a cooperative agriculture business model
and licensure and community supported agriculture;

(6) examine whether Vermont should allow additional types of
marijuana establishment licenses, including a processor license and product
manufacturer license;

(7) review the statutes and rules for the therapeutic marijuana program
and dispensaries and determine whether additional amendments are necessary
to maintain patient access to marijuana and viability of the dispensaries:

(8) monitor supply and demand of marijuana cultivated and sold
pursuant to this act for the purpose of assisting the Agency of Agriculture,
Food, and Markets and policymakers with determining appropriate numbers of
licenses and limitations on the amount of marijuana cultivated and offered for
retail sale in Vermont so that the adult market is served without unnecessary
surplus marijuana;

(9) monitor the extent to which marijuana is accessed through both the
legal and illegal market by persons under 21 vears of age;

(10) identify strategies for preventing youth from using marijuana;

(11) identify academic and scientific research, including longitudinal
research questions, that when completed may assist policymakers in
developing marijuana policy in accordance with this act;
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(12) consider whether to create a local revenue stream which may
include a local option excise tax on marijuana sales or municipally assessed
fees;

(13) recommend the appropriate maximum amount of marijuana sold by
a retailer in a single transaction and whether there should be differing amounts
for Vermonters and nonresidents; and

(14) report any recommendations to the General Assembly and the
Governor, as needed.

(b) On or before January 15,2020, the Commission shall issue a final
report to the General Assembly and the Governor regarding its findings and
any recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

§ 4548. ADMINISTRATION

(a) Assistance. The Commission shall have the administrative, technical,
and legal assistance of the Administration.

(b) Meetings.

(1) The Administration shall call the first meeting of the Commission to
occur on or before August 1, 2017.

(2) The Commission shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Commission shall cease meeting regularly after the issuance of
its final report, but members shall be available to meet with Administration
officials and the General Assembly until July 1, 2019 at which time the
Commission shall cease to exist.

(¢) Reimbursement.

(1) For attendance at meetings during adjournment of the General
Assembly, legislative members of the Commission shall be entitled to per diem
compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 406 for
as many meetings as the Chair deems necessary.

(2) Other members of the Commission who are not emplovees of the
State of Vermont and who are not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for
their attendance shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement
of expenses pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

Sec. 14. 32 V.S.A. chapter 207 is added to read:
CHAPTER 207. MARIJUANA TAXES
§ 7901. TAX IMPOSED
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(a) There is imposed a marijuana excise tax equal to 25 percent of the sales
price, as that term is defined in subdivision 9701(4) of this title, on each retail
sale of marijuana in this State. The tax imposed by this section shall be paid
by the buyer to the retailer. Each retailer shall collect from the buyer the full
amount of the tax payable on each taxable sale.

(b) The tax imposed by this section is separate from the general sales and
use tax imposed by chapter 233 of this title. The tax imposed under this
section shall be separately itemized from any State and local retail sales tax on
the sales receipt provided to the buyer.

(c) The following sales shall be exempt from the tax imposed under this
section:

(1) sales under any circumstances in which the State is without power to
impose the tax; and

(2) sales made by any dispensary, provided the marijuana will be
provided only to registered qualifying patients directly or through their
registered caregivers.

§ 7902. LIABILITY FOR TAX AND PENALTIES

(a) Any tax collected under this chapter shall be deemed to be held by the
retailer in trust for the State of Vermont. Any tax collected under this chapter
shall be accounted for separately so as to clearly indicate the amount of tax
collected, and that the tax receipts are the property of the State of Vermont.

(b) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall
be personally and individually liable for the amount of tax together with such
interest and penalty as has accrued under this title. If the retailer is a
corporation or other entity, the personal liability shall extend to any officer or
agent of the corporation or entity who as an officer or agent of the same has
the authority to collect the tax and transmit it to the Commissioner of Taxes as
required in this chapter.

(c) A retailer shall have the same rights in collecting the tax from his or her
purchaser or regarding nonpayment of the tax by the purchaser as if the tax
were a part of the purchase price of the marijuana and payable at the same
time; provided, however, if the retailer required to collect the tax has failed to
remit any portion of the tax to the Commissioner of Taxes, the Commissioner
of Taxes shall be notified of any action or proceeding brought by the retailer to
collect the tax and shall have the right to intervene in such action or

proceeding.

(d) A retailer required to collect the tax may also refund or credit to the
purchaser any tax erroneously, illegally, or unconstitutionally collected. No
cause of action that may exist under State law shall accrue against the retailer
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for the tax collected unless the purchaser has provided written notice to a
retailer, and the retailer has had 60 days to respond.

(e) To the extent not inconsistent with this chapter, the provisions for the
assessment, collection, enforcement, and appeals of the sales and use taxes in
chapter 233 of this title shall apply to the tax imposed by this chapter.

§ 7903. BUNDLED TRANSACTIONS

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a retail sale of a
bundled transaction that includes marijuana is subject to the tax imposed by
this chapter on the entire selling price of the bundled transaction.

(b) If the selling price is attributable to products that are taxable and
products that are not taxable under this chapter, the portion of the price
attributable to the nontaxable products are subject to the tax imposed by this
chapter unless the retailer can identify by reasonable and verifiable standards
the portion that is not subject to tax from its books and records that are kept in
the regular course of business.

(¢) As used in this section, “bundled transaction” means:

(1) the retail sale of two or more products where the products are
otherwise distinct and identifiable, are sold for one nonitemized price, and at
least one of the products includes marijuana subject to the tax under this

chapter; or

(2) marijuana provided free of charge with the required purchase of
another product.

§ 7904. RETURNS

(a) Any retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall, on
or before the 15th day of every month, return to the Department of Taxes,
under oath of a person with legal authority to bind the retailer, a statement
containing its name and place of business, the amount of marijuana sales
subject to the excise tax imposed by this subchapter sold in the preceding
month, and any other information required by the Department of Taxes, along
with the tax due.

(b) Every retailer shall maintain, for not less than three years, accurate
records showing all transactions subject to tax liability under this chapter.
These records are subject to inspection by the Department of Taxes at all
reasonable times during normal business hours.

§ 7905. LICENSES

(a) Every retailer required to collect the tax imposed by this chapter shall
apply for a marijuana excise tax license in the manner prescribed by the
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Commissioner of Taxes. The Commissioner shall issue, without charge, to
each registrant a license empowering him or her to collect the marijuana excise
tax. Each license shall state the place of business to which it is applicable.
The license shall be prominently displayed in the place of business of the
registrant. The licenses shall be nonassignable and nontransferable and shall
be surrendered to the Commissioner immediately upon the registrant’s ceasing
to do business at the place named. A license to collect marijuana excise tax
shall be in addition to the licenses required by sections 9271 (meals and rooms
tax) and 9707 (sales and use tax) of this title and any license required by the
Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets.

(b) The Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets may require the
Commissioner of Taxes to suspend or revoke the tax license of any person for
failure to comply with any provision of this chapter.

Sec. 15. 32 V.S.A. § 5811 is amended to read:
§ 5811. DEFINITIONS

The following definitions shall apply throughout this chapter unless the
context requires otherwise:

k %k %k

(18) “Vermont net income” means, for any taxable year and for any
corporate taxpayer:

(A) the taxable income of the taxpayer for that taxable year under the
laws of the United States, without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 168(k) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and excluding income which under the laws of the United
States is exempt from taxation by the states:

(1) increased by:

(I) the amount of any deduction for State and local taxes on or
measured by income, franchise taxes measured by net income, franchise taxes
for the privilege of doing business and capital stock taxes; and

(IT) to the extent such income is exempted from taxation under
the laws of the United States by the amount received by the taxpayer on and
after January 1, 1986 as interest income from State and local obligations, other
than obligations of Vermont and its political subdivisions, and any dividends or
other distributions from any fund to the extent such dividend or distribution is
attributable to such Vermont State or local obligations;

(IIT) the amount of any deduction for a federal net operating
loss; and

(i1) decreased by:
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(I) the “gross-up of dividends” required by the federal Internal
Revenue Code to be taken into taxable income in connection with the
taxpayer’s election of the foreign tax credit; and

(IT) the amount of income which results from the required
reduction in salaries and wages expense for corporations claiming the Targeted
Job or WIN credits; and

(III) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been
allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as
authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

k %k %k

(21) “Taxable income” means federal taxable income determined
without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 168(k) and:

(A) Increased by the following items of income (to the extent such
income is excluded from federal adjusted gross income):

(1) interest income from non-Vermont state and local obligations;

(i1) dividends or other distributions from any fund to the extent
they are attributable to non-Vermont state or local obligations;

(ii1) the amount of State and local income taxes deducted from
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year, but in no case in an amount
that will reduce total itemized deductions below the standard deduction
allowable to the taxpayer; and

(iv) the amount of total itemized deductions, other than
deductions for State and local income taxes, medical and dental expenses, or
charitable contributions, deducted from federal adjusted gross income for the
taxable year, that is in excess of two and one-half times the standard deduction
allowable to the taxpayer; and

(B) Decreased by the following items of income (to the extent such
income is included in federal adjusted gross income):

(1) income from United States government obligations;

(i1) with respect to adjusted net capital gain income as defined in
26 U.S.C. § I(h) reduced by the total amount of any qualified dividend
income: either the first $5,000.00 of such adjusted net capital gain income; or
40 percent of adjusted net capital gain income from the sale of assets held by
the taxpayer for more than three years, except not adjusted net capital gain
income from:

(I) the sale of any real estate or portion of real estate used by
the taxpayer as a primary or nonprimary residence; or
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(IT) the sale of depreciable personal property other than farm
property and standing timber; or stocks or bonds publicly traded or traded on
an exchange, or any other financial instruments; regardless of whether sold by
an individual or business;

and provided that the total amount of decrease under this
subdivision (21)(B)(ii) shall not exceed 40 percent of federal taxable
income; and

(ii1) recapture of State and local income tax deductions not taken
against Vermont income tax; and

(iv) any federal deduction that the taxpayer would have been
allowed for the cultivation, testing, processing, or sale of marijuana, as
authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 or 87, but for 26 U.S.C. § 280E.

k %k %k

Sec. 16. 32 V.S.A. § 9741(51) is added to read:

(51) Marijuana sold by a dispensary as authorized under 18 V.S.A.
chapter 86 or by a retailer as authorized under 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

* # * Impaired Driving * * *
Sec. 17. 23 V.S.A. § 1134 is amended to read:

§ 1134. MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATOR; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL OR MARIJUANA

(a) A person shall not consume alcoholic beverages or marijuana while
operating a motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section,
“alcoholic beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating liquor” as
defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) A person operating a motor vehicle on a public highway shall not
possess any open container which contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in
the passenger area of the motor vehicle.

(c) As used in this section, “passenger area” shall mean the area designed
to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and
any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their
seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove
compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk,
the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not
normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be assessed a
civil penalty of not more than $500.00. A person who violates subsection (b)
of this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $25:00 $50.00.
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A person adjudicated and assessed a civil penalty for an offense under
subsection (a) of this section shall not be subject to a civil violation for the
same actions under subsection (b) of this section.

Sec. 18. 23 V.S.A. § 1134a is amended to read:

§ 1134a. MOTOR VEHICLE PASSENGER; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL OR MARIJUANA

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a passenger in a
motor vehicle shall not consume alcoholic beverages or marijuana or possess
any open container which contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in the
passenger area of any motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this
section, “alcoholic beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating
liquor” as defined in section 1200 of this title.

(b) As used in this section, “passenger area” shall mean the area designed
to seat the operator and passengers while the motor vehicle is in operation and
any area that is readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their
seating positions, including the glove compartment, unless the glove
compartment is locked. In a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk,
the term shall exclude the area behind the last upright seat or any area not
normally occupied by the operator or passengers.

(c) A person, other than the operator, may possess an open container which
contains alcoholic beverages or marijuana in the passenger area of a motor
vehicle designed, maintained, or used primarily for the transportation of
persons for compensation or in the living quarters of a motor home or trailer
coach.

(d) A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $25.00.
Sec. 19. 23 V.S.A. § 1219 is amended to read:

§ 1219. COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE; DETECTABLE AMOUNT;
OUT-OF-SERVICE

A person who is operating, attempting to operate, or in actual physical
control of a commercial motor vehicle with any measurable or detectable
amount of alcohol or marijuana in his or her system shall immediately be
placed out-of-service for 24 hours by an enforcement officer. A law
enforcement officer who has reasonable grounds to believe that a person has a
measurable or detectable amount of alcohol or marijuana in his or her system
on the basis of the person’s general appearance, conduct, or other
substantiating evidence, may request the person to submit to a test, which may
be administered with a preliminary screening device. The law enforcement
officer shall inform the person at the time the test is requested that refusal to
submit will result in disqualification. If the person refuses to submit to the
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test, the person shall immediately be placed out-of-service for 24 hours and
shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle as provided in
section 4116 of this title.

Sec. 20. 23 V.S.A. § 4116 is amended to read:
§ 4116. DISQUALIFICATION

(a) A person shall be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle
for a period of one year if convicted of a first violation of:

k %k %k

(4) refusal to submit to a test to determine the operator’s alcohol or
marijuana concentration, as provided in section 1205, 1218, or 1219 of this
title;

k %k %k

Sec. 21. VERMONT GOVERNOR’S HIGHWAY SAFETY PROGRAM

(a) Impaired driving, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, is a significant concern for the General Assembly. While
Vermont has made a meaningful effort to educate the public about the dangers
of drinking alcohol and driving, the public seems to be less aware of the
inherent risks of driving while under the influence of drugs, whether it is
marijuana, a validly prescribed medication, or other drugs. It is the intent of
the General Assembly that the State reframe the issue of drunk driving as
impaired driving in an effort to comprehensively address the risks of such
behavior through prevention, education, and enforcement.

(b)(1) The Agency of Transportation, through its Vermont Governor’s
Highway Safety Program, shall expand its public education and prevention
campaign on drunk driving to impaired driving, which shall include drugeed

driving.
(2) The Agency shall report to the Senate and House Committees on

Judiciary and on Transportation on or before January 15, 2018 regarding
implementation of this section.

Sec. 22.  REPORTING IMPAIRED DRIVING DATA

The Commissioner of Public Safety and the Secretary of Transportation, in
collaboration, shall report to the Senate and House Committees on Judiciary
and on Transportation on or before January 15 each vyear regarding the
following issues concerning impaired driving:

(1) the previous vear’s data in Vermont,

(2) the latest information regarding best practices on prevention and
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enforcement, and

(3) their recommendations for legislative action.
Sec. 23. TRAINING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT; IMPAIRED DRIVING

(a) It is imperative that Vermont provide adequate training to both local
and State law enforcement officers regarding the detection of impaired driving.
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training provides
instruction to officers at a level above Basic Standardized Sobriety Testing and
proves helpful to an officer in determining when a Drug Recognition Expert
(DRE) should be called. Vermont should endeavor to train as many law
enforcement officers as possible in ARIDE. DREs receive a more advanced
training in the detection of drugged driving and should be an available
statewide resource for officers in the field.

(b) The Secretary of Transportation and the Commissioner of Public Safety
shall work collaboratively to ensure that funding is available, either through
the Governor’s Highway Safety Program’s administration of National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration funds or other State funding sources,
for training the number of officers necessary to provide sufficient statewide
coverage for the enforcement impaired driving.

* # % Appropriations and Positions * * *

Sec. 24. FISCAL YEAR 2018 APPROPRIATIONS FROM THE
MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND

In fiscal vear 2018 the following amounts are appropriated from the
Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund:

(1) Department of Health: $350,000.00 for initial prevention,
education, and counter marketing programs.

(2) Department of Taxes: $660,000.00 for the acquisition of an excise
tax module and staffing expenses to administer the excise tax established in
this act.

(3) Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets:

(A) $112,500.00 for the Vermont Agriculture and
Environmental Lab.

(B) $272.500.00 for staffing expenses related to rulemaking,
program administration, and processing of applications and licenses.

(4) Agency of Administration: $150,000.00 for expenses and staffing
of the Marijuana Program Review Commission established in this act.

Sec. 25. EXECUTIVE BRANCH POSITION AUTHORIZATIONS
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The establishment of the following new permanent classified positions is
authorized in fiscal yvear 2018 as follows:

(1) In the Department of Health—one (1) Substance Abuse Program
Manager.

(2) In the Department of Taxes—one (1) Business Analyst AC: Tax and
one (1) Tax Policy Analyst.

(3) In the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets—one (1)
Agriculture Chemist and two (2) Program Administrator.

(4) In the Marijuana Program Review Commission—one (1) exempt
Commission Director.

Sec. 26. MARIJUANA REGULATION AND RESOURCE FUND
BUDGET AND REPORT

Annually, through 2019, the Secretary of Administration shall report to the
Joint Fiscal Committee on receipts and expenditures through the prior fiscal
year on or before the Committee’s regularly scheduled November meeting on

the following:

(1) an update of the administration’s efforts concerning implementation,
administration, and enforcement of this act;

(2) any changes or updates to revenue expectations from fees and taxes
based on changes in competitive pricing or other information;

(3) projected budget adjustment needs for current year appropriations
from the Marijuana Regulation and Resource Fund; and

(4) a comprehensive spending plan with recommended appropriations
from the Fund for the next the fiscal vear, by department, including an
explanation and justification for the expenditures and how each
recommendation meets the intent of this act.

* # * Miscellaneous * * *
Sec. 27. 24 V.S.A. § 2291 is amended to read:
§ 2291. ENUMERATION OF POWERS

For the purpose of promoting the public health, safety, welfare, and
convenience, a town, city, or incorporated village shall have the following
powers:

k %k %k

(29) To prohibit or regulate, by means of a civil ordinance adopted
pursuant to chapter 59 of this title, the number, time, place, manner, or
operation of a marijuana establishment, or any class of marijuana
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establishments, located in the municipality; provided, however, that
amendments to such an ordinance shall not apply to restrict further a marijuana
establishment in operation within the municipality at the time of the
amendment. As used in this subdivision, “marijuana establishment” is as
defined in 18 V.S.A. chapter 87.

Sec. 28. 24 V.S.A. § 4414 is amended to read:
§ 4414. ZONING; PERMISSIBLE TYPES OF REGULATIONS

Any of the following types of regulations may be adopted by a municipality
in its bylaws in conformance with the plan and for the purposes established in
section 4302 of this title.

k %k %k

(16) Marijuana establishments. A municipality may adopt bylaws for
the purpose of regulating marijuana establishments as defined in 18 V.S.A.

chapter 87.
Sec. 29. WORKFORCE STUDY COMMITTEE

(a) Creation. There is created the Workforce Study Committee to examine
the potential impacts of alcohol and drug use on the workplace.

(b) Membership. The Committee shall be composed of the following five
members:

(1) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development or
designee;
(2) the Commissioner of Labor or designee;

(3) the Commissioner of Health or designee:

(4) one person representing the interests of employees appointed by the
Governor; and

(5) one person representing the interests of employers appointed by the
Governor.

(¢) Powers and duties. The Committee shall study:

(1) whether Vermont’s workers’ compensation and unemployment
insurance systems are adversely impacted by alcohol and drug use and identify
regulatory or legislative measures to mitigate any adverse impacts;

(2) the issue of alcohol and drugs in the workplace and determine
whether Vermont’s workplace drug testing laws should be amended to provide
employers with broader authority to conduct drug testing, including by
permitting drug testing based on a reasonable suspicion of drug use, or by
authorizing emplovers to conduct post-accident, employer-wide, or post-
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rehabilitation follow-up testing of employees; and

(3) the impact of alcohol and drug use on workplace safety and identify
regulatory or legislative measures to address adverse impacts and enhance
workplace safety.

(d) Assistance. The Committee shall have the administrative, technical,
and legal assistance of the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development, the Department of Labor, and the Department of Health.

(e) Report. On or before December 1, 2017, the Committee shall submit a
written report with findings and recommendations to the House Committee on
General, Housing and Military Affairs and the Senate Committee on Economic
Development, Housing and General Affairs with its findings and any
recommendations for legislative action.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Secretary of Commerce or designee shall call the first meeting
of the Committee to occur on or before September 15, 2017.

(2) The Committee shall select a chair from among its members at the
first meeting.

(3) A majority of the membership shall constitute a quorum.

(4) The Committee shall cease to exist on December 31, 2017.
Sec. 30. 4 V.S.A. § 1102 is amended to read:
§ 1102. JUDICIAL BUREAU; JURISDICTION

(a) A Judicial Bureau is created within the Judicial Branch under the
supervision of the Supreme Court.

(b) The Judicial Bureau shall have jurisdiction of the following matters:

k %k %k

(24) Violations of 18 V.S.A. §§ 4230a and-4230b, relating to pessession
public consumption of marijuana and 18 V.S.A. § 4230e¢ relating to cultivation

of marijuana.

* % * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 31. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (misdemeanor drug possession study),
2 (legislative findings and intent), 3 (marijuana vyouth education and
prevention), 13 (marijuana establishments), 14 (marijuana taxes), and
29 (Workforce Study Committee) shall take effect on passage.

(b) Secs. 12 (chemical extraction via butane or hexane prohibited),
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17 (consumption or possession of marijuana by the operator of a motor
vehicle), 18 (consumption or possession of marijuana by a passenger of a
motor vehicle), 21 (Vermont Governor’s Highway Safety Program),
22 (reporting impaired driving data), 23 (training for law enforcement;
impaired driving), 24 (appropriations), 25 (positions), 26 (Marijuana
Regulation and Resource Fund budget and report), 27 (local authority to
regulate marijuana establishments), and 28 (zoning) shall take effect on

July 1, 2017.

(c) Sec. 15 (taxes; definitions) shall take effect on January 1, 2018 and
shall apply to taxable year 2018 and after.

(d) Secs. 4 (legislative intent; civil and criminal penalties), 5 (marijuana
definition), 6 (marijuana; criminal), 7 (marijuana; civil), 8 (marijuana
possession by a person under 21 years of age), 9 (cultivation of marijuana by a
person 21 vears of age or older), 10 (sale or furnishing marijuana to a person
under 21 vyears of age: criminal), 11 (sale of furnishing marijuana to a person
under 21 vyears of age; civil action for damages), 16 (sales tax), 19
(commercial motor vehicle), 20 (disqualification; commercial motor vehicle),
and 30 (Judicial Bureau: jurisdiction) shall take effect on January 2, 2019.

(For text see House Journal March 21, 2017 )
H. 219

An act relating to the Vermont spaying and neutering program

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 20 V.S.A. § 3815(a) is amended to read:
(a) The agency—of -human—services Agency of Human Services shall

administer a dog, cat, and wolf-hybrid spaying and neutering program
providing reduced-cost spaying and neutering services and presurgical
immunization for dogs, cats, and wolf-hybrids owned or cared for by lew
ineome individuals with low income. The ageney Agency shall implement the
program through an agreement with a qualified organization eensistent-with
the-applicable-administrativerules, except that the Agency may implement the
program if the Commissioner determines that there is no qualified organization
capable of implementing the program based on review of overall program
success, financial resources of the organization, viability of the organization,
or the organization’s prior performance in implementing the program.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.

(For text see House Journal March 14, 2017 )
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H. 519
An act relating to capital construction and State bonding

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly that of the $147,282.287.00
authorized in this act, no more than $73,805,141.00 shall be appropriated in
the first year of the biennium, and the remainder shall be appropriated in the

second year.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly that in the second year of the
biennium, any amendments to the appropriations or authorities granted in this
act shall take the form of a Capital Construction and State Bonding
Adjustment Bill. It is the intent of the General Assembly that unless otherwise
indicated, all appropriations in this act are subject to capital budget adjustment.

Sec. 2. STATE BUILDINGS

(a) The following sums are appropriated to the Department of Buildings
and General Services, and the Commissioner is authorized to direct funds
appropriated in this section to the projects contained in this section; however,
no project shall be canceled unless the Chairs of the Senate Committee on
Institutions and of the House Committee on Corrections and Institutions are
notified before that action is taken.

(b) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018:

(1) Statewide, planning, use, and contingency: $500,000.00
(2) Statewide, major maintenance: $6,000,000.00

(3) Statewide, BGS engineering and architectural project costs:
$3,537,525.00

(4) Statewide, physical security enhancements: $270.000.00

(5) Montpelier, State House, Dome, Drum, and Ceres, design,
permitting, construction, restoration, renovation, and lighting:  $300,000.00

(6) Randolph, Agencies of Agriculture, Food and Markets and of
Natural Resources, collaborative laboratory, construction: $4.500,000.00

(7) Springfield, Southern State Correctional Facility, completion of
the steamline replacement: $300,000.00

(8) Waterbury, Waterbury State Office Complex, site work for the
Hanks and Weeks buildings, and renovation of the Weeks building:
$4,000,000.00

- 2738 -



(9) Newport, Northern State Correctional Facility, door control
replacement:

$1,000,000.00

(10) Newport, Northern State Correctional Facility, parking expansion:
$350,000.00

(11) Montpelier, 109 and 111 State Street, design: $600,000.00

(12) Department of Libraries, centralized facility, renovation:
$1,500,000.00

(13) Burlington, 108 Cherry Street, parking garage, repairs:
$5,000,000.00

(¢) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019:

(1) Statewide, planning, use, and contingency: $500,000.00
(2) Statewide, major maintenance: $5,799,648.00

(3) Statewide, BGS engineering and architectural project costs:
$3,432,525.00

(4) Statewide, physical security enhancements: $270,000.00

(5) Montpelier, State House, Dome, Drum, and Ceres, restoration,
renovation, and lighting: $1,700,000.00

(6) Montpelier, 120 State Street, life safety and infrastructure
improvements: $700,000.00

(7) Randolph, Agencies of Agriculture, Food and Markets and of
Natural Resources, collaborative laboratory, construction, fit-up, and

equipment: $3.944.000.00
(8) Waterbury, Waterbury State Office Complex, Weeks building,
renovation and fit-up: $900,000.00

(9) Newport, Northern State Correctional Facility, door control
replacement: $1,000,000.00

(10) Montpelier, 109 and 111 State Street, final design and construction:
$4,000,000.00

(11) Burlington, 108 Cherry Street, parking garage, repairs:
$5,000,000.00

(12) Montpelier, 133 State Street, renovations of mainframe workspace
to Office Space (Agency of Digital Services): $700,000.00

(d) Waterbury State Office Complex.
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(1) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized
to use any appropriated funds remaining from the construction of the
Waterbury State Office Complex for the projects described in subdivisions
(b)(8) and (¢)(&) of this section.

(2) On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Buildings and
General Services shall evaluate the potential uses of the Stanley and Wasson
buildings in the Waterbury State Office Complex.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $27.857,525.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $27.946,173.00
Total Appropriation — Section 2 $55,803,698.00

Sec. 3. HUMAN SERVICES

(a) The sum of $200,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Department
of Buildings and General Services for the Agency of Human Services for
cameras, locks, and perimeter intrusion at correctional facilities.

(b) The sum of $300.000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Department
of Buildings and General Services for the Agency of Human Services for the
projects described in subsection (a) of this section.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $200,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $300,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 3 $500,000.00

Sec. 4. JUDICIARY

(a) The sum of $3,050,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Judiciary
for the case management IT system.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to provide funding to complete
the project described in subsection (a) of this section in FY 2019, and the
Judiciary is encouraged to execute contracts for this project upon enactment of
this act.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $3,050,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 4 $3,050,000.00

Sec. 5. COMMERCE AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

(a) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Department of
Buildings and General Services for the Agency of Commerce and Community

Development:
(1) Major maintenance at historic sites statewide: $200.000.00
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(2) Stannard House, upgrades: $30,000.00
(3) Schooner Lois McClure, repairs and upgrades: $50,000.00

(b) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Commerce and Community Development for the following projects described
in this subsection:

(1) Underwater preserves: $30,000.00
(2) Placement and replacement of roadside historic markers:
$15,000.00
(3) VT Center for Geographic Information, digital orthophotographic
quadrangle mapping: $125,000.00

(¢) The sum of $200,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Department
of Buildings and General Services for the Agency of Commerce and
Community Development for major maintenance at historic sites statewide.

(d) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Commerce and Community Development for the following projects described
in this subsection:

(1) Underwater preserves: $30,000.00
(2) Placement and replacement of roadside historic markers:
$15,000.00
(3) VT Center for Geographic Information, digital orthophotographic
quadrangle mapping: $125,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2018 $450,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $370,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 5 $820,000.00

Sec. 6. GRANT PROGRAMS

(a) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 for Building
Communities Grants established in 24 V.S.A. chapter 137:

(1) To the Agency of Commerce and Community Development,
Division for Historic Preservation, for the Historic Preservation Grant
Program: $200,000.00

(2) To the Agency of Commerce and Community Development,
Division for Historic Preservation, for the Historic Barns Preservation Grant
Program: $200,000.00

(3) To the Vermont Council on the Arts for the Cultural Facilities Grant
Program, the sum of which may be used to match funds that may be made
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available from the National Endowment for the Arts, provided that all capital
funds are made available to the cultural facilities grant program:

$200,000.00

(4) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the
Recreational Facilities Grant Program: $200.000.00

(5) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the Human
Services and Educational Facilities Competitive Grant Program (Human
Services): $100,000.00

(6) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the Human
Services and Educational Facilities Competitive Grant Program (Education):

$100,000.00
(7) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the
Regional Economic Development Grant Program: $200,000.00

(8) To the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets for the
Agricultural Fairs Capital Projects Competitive Grant Program: $200.000.00

(9) To the Enhanced 911 Board for the Enhanced 911 Compliance
Grants Program: $75,000.00

(b) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 for Building
Communities Grants established in 24 V.S.A. chapter 137:

(1) To the Agency of Commerce and Community Development,
Division for Historic Preservation, for the Historic Preservation Grant
Program: $200,000.00

(2) To the Agency of Commerce and Community Development,
Division for Historic Preservation, for the Historic Barns Preservation Grant
Program: $200,000.00

(3) To the Vermont Council on the Arts for the Cultural Facilities Grant
Program, the sum of which may be used to match funds that may be made
available from the National Endowment for the Arts, provided that all capital
funds are made available to the cultural facilities grant program: $200,000.00

(4) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the
Recreational Facilities Grant Program: $200.000.00

(5) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the Human
Services and Educational Facilities Competitive Grant Program (Human
Services): $100,000.00

(6) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the Human
Services and Educational Facilities Competitive Grant Program (Education):
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$100,000.00

(7) To the Department of Buildings and General Services for the
Regional Economic Development Grant Program: $200,000.00

(8) To the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets for the
Agricultural Fairs Capital Projects Competitive Grant Program: $200.000.00

Appropriation — FY 2018 $1.475.000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $1,400,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 6 $2.875.000.00

Sec. 7. EDUCATION

The sum of $50,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Education for funding emergency projects.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $50,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 7 $50,000.00
Sec. 8. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT

(a) The sum of $1,400,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the University
of Vermont for construction, renovation, and major maintenance.

(b) The sum of $1,400,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the University
of Vermont for the projects described in subsection (a) of this section.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $1.,400,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $1,400,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 8 $2.800,000.00

Sec. 9. VERMONT STATE COLLEGES

(a) The sum of $2,000,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Vermont
State Colleges for construction, renovation, and major maintenance.

(b) The sum of $2,000,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Vermont
State Colleges for the projects described in subsection (a) of this section.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $2.000,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $2,000,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 9 $4.000,000.00

Sec. 10. NATURAL RESOURCES

(a) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Environmental Conservation for the
projects described in this subsection:
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(1) Drinking Water Supply, Drinking Water State Revolving Fund:
$2,300,000.00
(2) Dam safety and hydrology projects: $200,000.00

(3) State’s share of the Federal Superfund and State L.ead Hazardous
Waste Program (Elizabeth Mine, Ely Mine, and Williston (Commerce Street)
$1,719.000.00

(b) The sum of $2,750,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation for
infrastructure rehabilitation, including statewide small scale rehabilitation,
wastewater repairs, preventive improvements and upgrades of restrooms and
bathhouses, and statewide small-scale road rehabilitation projects.

(c) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Fish and Wildlife for the projects
described in this subsection:

(1) General infrastructure projects, including conservation camps and
shooting ranges, hatchery improvements, wildlife management area
infrastructure, and fishing access areas: $1,200,000.00

(2) Lake Champlain Walleye Association, Inc., to upgrade and repair the
Walleye Rearing, restoration and stocking infrastructure: $30,000.00

(d) The sum of $2.720.000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the
Department of Buildings and General Services for the Department of Fish and
Wildlife for the construction of the Roxbury Hatchery.

(e) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Environmental Conservation for the
projects described in this subsection:

(1) Drinking Water Supply, Drinking Water State Revolving Fund:
$1.,400,000.00

(2) Dam safety and hydrology projects: $175.000.00
(3) State’s share of the Federal Superfund and State L.ead Hazardous
Waste Program (Elizabeth Mine and Ely Mine): $2.755,000.00

(f) The sum of $2.750,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation for
infrastructure rehabilitation, including statewide small scale rehabilitation,
wastewater repairs, preventive improvements and upgrades of restrooms and
bathhouses, and statewide small-scale road rehabilitation projects.

(2) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
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Natural Resources for the Department of Fish and Wildlife for the projects
described in this subsection:

(1) General infrastructure projects, including conservation camps and
shooting ranges, hatchery improvements, wildlife management area

infrastructure, and fishing access areas: $1,100,000.00
(2) Lake Champlain Walleye Association, Inc., to upgrade and repair the
Walleye Rearing, restoration and stocking infrastructure: $30,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2018 $10.919.000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $8,210,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 10 $19,129.000.00

Sec. 11. CLEAN WATER INITIATIVES

(a) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Agriculture, Food and Markets for the following projects described in this
section:

(1) Best Management Practices and Conservation Reserve Enhancement

Program: $3.450,000.00
(2) Water quality grants and contracts: $600.000.00

(b) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Environmental Conservation projects
described in this subsection:

(1) Water Pollution Control Fund, Clean Water State/EPA Revolving
Loan Fund (CWSRF) match: $1.,000,000.00

(2) EcoSystem restoration and protection: $6,000,000.00

(3) Municipal Pollution Control Grants, pollution control projects and
planning advances for feasibility studies, prior year partially funded projects:
$2,982,384.00

(4) Municipal Pollution Control Grants, pollution control projects and
planning advances for feasibility studies, new projects (Ryegate, Springfield,
St. Johnsbury, and St. Albans): $2.704,232.00

(¢) The sum of $1,400,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Transportation for the Municipal Mitigation Program.

(d) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2018 to the Vermont
Housing and Conservation Board for the following projects:

(1) Statewide water quality improvement projects or other conservation
projects: $2,800,000.00
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(2) Water quality farm improvement grants or fee purchase projects that

enhance water quality impacts by leveraging additional funds:
$1,000,000.00

(e¢) The sum of $2.000,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Agriculture, Food and Markets for Best Management Practices and the
Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program.

(f) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Natural Resources for the Department of Environmental Conservation projects
described in this subsection:

(1) the Water Pollution Control Fund, Clean Water State/EPA Revolving

Loan Fund (CWSRF) match: $1,200,000.00
(2) EcoSystem restoration and protection: $5,000,000.00
(3) Municipal Pollution Control Grants, new projects (Colchester,

Rutland City, St. Albans, Middlebury): $1,407,268.00
(4) Clean Water Act, implementation projects: $11,010,704.00

(2) The sum of 2,750.,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Vermont
Housing and Conservation Board for statewide water quality improvement
projects or other conservation projects.

(h) It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Secretary of Natural
Resources shall use the amount appropriated in subdivision (b)(4) of this
section to fund new projects in Ryegate, Springfield, St. Johnsbury, and
St. Albans; provided, however, that if the Secretary determines that one of
these projects is not ready in FY 2018, the funds may be used for an eligible
new project as authorized by 10 V.S.A. chapter 55 and 24 V.S.A. chapter 120.

(i) On or before November 1, 2017, the Clean Water Fund Board,
established in 10 V.S.A. § 1389, shall submit a report to the House Committees
on Corrections and Institutions and on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife,
and the Senate Committees on Institutions and on Natural Resources and
Energy, providing a list of all clean water initiative programs and projects
receiving funding in subsections (a)—(d) of this section and the amount of the
investment.

(1) On or before January 15, 2018:

(1) the Clean Water Fund Board shall review and recommend Clean
Water Act implementation programs funded from subdivision (f)(4) of this
section; and

(2) the Board shall submit the list of programs recommended for FY
2019 to the Chairs of the House Committee on Corrections and Institutions and
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the Senate Committee on Institutions and to the Governor for the FY 2019
capital budget report.

(k) In FY 2018 and FY 2019, any agency that receives funding from this
section shall consult with the State Treasurer to ensure that the projects are
capital eligible.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $21.936,616.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $23,367,972.00
Total Appropriation — Section 11 $45,304,588.00

Sec. 12. MILITARY

(a) The sum of $750,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Department
of Military for maintenance, renovations, roof replacements, ADA
renovations, and energy uperades at State armories. To the extent feasible,
these funds shall be used to match federal funds.

(b) The following sums are appropriated in FY 2019 to the Department of
Military for the projects described in this subsection:

(1) Maintenance, renovations, roof replacements, ADA renovations, and
energy upgrades at State armories. To the extent feasible, these funds shall be

used to match federal funds: $850,000.00

(2) Bennington Armory, site acquisition: $60,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2018 $750,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $910,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 12 $1.660.000.00

Sec. 13. PUBLIC SAFETY

(a) The sum of $1,927,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the
Department of Buildings and General Services for site acquisition, design,
permitting, and construction documents for the Williston Public Safety Field
Station.

(b) The sum of $5,573.,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the
Department of Buildings and General Services for construction of the
Williston Public Safety Field Station.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $1,927,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $5,573,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 13 $7,500,000.00

Sec. 14. AGRICULTURE, FOOD AND MARKETS
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(a) The sum of $75,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Agency of
Agriculture, Food and Markets for the Produce Safety Infrastructure Grant
Improvement Program.

(b) The sum of $75,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Agency of
Agriculture, Food and Markets for the Produce Safety Infrastructure Grant
Improvement Program.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $75,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $75,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 14 $150,000.00

Sec. 15. VERMONT RURAL FIRE PROTECTION

(a) The sum of $125,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Department
of Public Safety for the Vermont Rural Fire Protection Task Force for the dry
hydrant program.

(b) The sum of $125.000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Department
of Public Safety for the Vermont Rural Fire Protection Task Force for the
project described in subsection (a) of this section.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $125,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $125,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 15 $250,000.00

Sec. 16. VERMONT VETERANS’ HOME

(a) The sum of $90.000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Vermont
Veterans’ Home for resident care furnishings.

(b) The sum of $300.000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Department
of Buildings and General Services for the Vermont Veterans’ Home for kitchen
renovations, and mold remediation.

(c) It is the intent of the General Assembly that the amount appropriated in
subsection (a) of this section shall be used to match federal funds to purchase
resident care furnishings for the Veterans’ Home.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $390,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 16 $390.000.00

Sec. 17. VERMONT HOUSING AND CONSERVATION BOARD

(a) The sum of $1,200,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2018 to the Vermont
Housing and Conservation Board for housing projects.

(b) The sum of $1,800,000.00 is appropriated in FY 2019 to the Vermont
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Housing and Conservation Board for housing projects.

(¢) The Vermont Housing and Conservation Board shall use funds
appropriated in this section for:

(1) projects that are designed to keep residents out of institutions;

(2) the improvement of projects where there is already significant public
investment and affordability or federal rental subsidies that would otherwise
be lost;

(3) projects that would alleviate the burden in the most stressed rental
markets and assist households into homeownership; or

(4) downtown and village center revitalization projects.

(d) The Vermont Housing and Conservation Board (VHCB) may use the
amounts appropriated in this section to increase the amount it allocates to
conservation grant awards pursuant to Sec. 11(d) and (g) of this act; provided,
however, that VHCB increases any affordable housing investments by the
same amount from funds appropriated to VHCB in the FY 2018
Appropriations Act.

Appropriation — FY 2018 $1,200,000.00
Appropriation — FY 2019 $1,800,000.00
Total Appropriation — Section 17 $3,000,000.00

* * * Financing this Act * * *
Sec. 18. REALLOCATION OF FUNDS; TRANSFER OF FUNDS

(a) The following sums are reallocated to the Department of Buildings
and General Services from prior capital appropriations to defray expenditures
authorized in Sec. 2 of this act:

(1) of proceeds from the sale of property authorized in 2008 Acts and

Resolves No. 200, Sec. 32 (1193 North Ave., Burlington): $65,163.14
(2) of the amount appropriated in 2009 Acts and Resolves No. 43,
Sec. 11 (Waterbury, Emergency Operations Center): $0.03

(3) of the amount appropriated in 2011 Acts and Resolves No. 40,
Sec. 2 (Brattleboro, State office building HVAC replacement and

renovations): $178,010.22
(4) of the amount appropriated in 2011 Acts and Resolves No. 40,
Sec. 2 (statewide, major maintenance): $28.307.00

(5) of the proceeds from the sale of property authorized in 2012 Acts
and Resolves No. 104, Sec. 1(f) (43 Randall Street, Waterbury): $101,156.39
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(6) of the amount appropriated in 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 51,

Sec. 2 (statewide, contingency): $44.697.20
(7) of the amount appropriated in 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 51,
Sec. 4 (Corrections, security upgrades): $391.01
(8) of the amount appropriated in 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 51,
Sec. 6 (Battle of Cedar Creek, roadside markers): $28.253.60
(9) of the amount appropriated in 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 51,
Sec. 5 (Judiciary, Lamoille County Courthouse): $1.,064.79
(10) of the amount appropriated in 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 15,
Sec. 17 (Veterans’ Home, mold remediation): $858,000.00
(11) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 1 (project management system): $250,000.00

(12) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 1 (statewide, major maintenance): $1,271,619.46

(13) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 1 (Vergennes, Weeks School Master Plan): $5.00

(14) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 2 (Corrections, NSCF kitchen/serving line reconstruction):  $60,000.00

(15) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 3 (Caledonia County Courthouse, wall stabilization): $12.867.40

(16) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 8 (Public Safety, Robert H. Wood): $1.937.00

(17) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 2 (statewide, engineering and architectural costs): $6,912.30

(18) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 2 (Burlington, 32 Cherry Street, HVAC controls upgrade): $550.38

(19) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 2 (Caledonia County Courthouse, foundation): $384.,000.00

(20) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 2 (statewide, major maintenance): $7.187.408.54

(21) of the amount appropriated in 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 160,
Sec. 1 (statewide, major maintenance): $3,740,972.00

(b) The following unexpended funds appropriated to the Agency of
Education for capital construction projects are reallocated to the Department of
Buildings and General Services to defray expenditures authorized in Sec. 2 of
this act:
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(1) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,

Sec. 3 (school construction): $155.398.62
(2) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26, Sec.
& (emergency projects): $61,761.00

(¢) The sum of $353.529.29 in unexpended funds appropriated to the
Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets for capital construction projects in
2013 Acts and Resolves No. 51, Sec. 14 (nonpoint source pollution grants) is
reallocated to the Department of Buildings and General Services to defray
expenditures authorized in Sec. 2 of this act.

(d) The following unexpended funds appropriated to the Agency of Natural
Resources for capital construction projects are reallocated to the Department of
Buildings and General Services to defray expenditures authorized in Sec. 2 of
this act:

(1) of the amount appropriated in 2011 Acts and Resolves No. 40,

Sec. 12 (Forests, Parks and Recreation, projects): $1.,530.41
(2) of the amount appropriated in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 178,
Sec. 6 (water pollution control): $0.02
(3) of the amount appropriated in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 11 (municipal pollution control grants, Pownal): $28.751.98
Total Reallocations and Transfers — Section 18 $14,822.286.78

Sec. 19. GENERAL OBLIGATION BONDS AND APPROPRIATIONS

The State Treasurer is authorized to issue general obligation bonds in the
amount of $132.460.000.00 for the purpose of funding the appropriations of
this act. The State Treasurer, with the approval of the Governor, shall
determine the appropriate form and maturity of the bonds authorized by this
section consistent with the underlying nature of the appropriation to be funded.
The State Treasurer shall allocate the estimated cost of bond issuance or
1ssuances to the entities to which funds are appropriated pursuant to this
section and for which bonding is required as the source of funds, pursuant to
32 V.S.A. § 954.

Total Revenues — Section 19 $132.460,000.00
***Pohcy***
* * * Buildings and General Services * * *
Sec. 20. PROPERTY TRANSACTIONS; MISCELLANEOUS

(a) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized to
sell the building and adjacent land located at 26 Terrace Street in Montpelier
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(the Redstone Building) pursuant to the requirements of 29 V.S.A. § 166(b).

(b) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized to
sell the Rutland Multi-Modal Transit Center (parking garage) located at
102 West Street in Rutland pursuant to the requirements of 29 V.S.A. § 166.
The proceeds from the sale shall be appropriated to future capital construction

projects.
Sec. 21. RANDALL STREET; VILLAGE OF WATERBURY

The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized to sell a
portion of State property in the Village of Waterbury that borders Randall
Street if the Commissioner determines that it serves the best interest of the
State. The proceeds from the sale shall be appropriated to future capital
construction projects.

Sec. 22. SALE OF 26 TERRACE STREET; MONTPELIER

Notwithstanding 29 V.S.A. § 166(d), the proceeds from the sale of
26 Terrace Street in Montpelier (the Redstone building) shall be transferred to
Sec. 2(c)(2) of this act.

Sec. 23. 29 V.S.A. § 157 is amended to read:
§ 157. FACILITIES CONDITION ANALYSIS

(a) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services shall:

k %k %k

(2) Conduct a facilities condition analysis each year of ten 20 percent of
the building area and infrastructure under the Commissioner’s jurisdiction so
that within ten five years all property is assessed. At the end of the ten five
years, the process shall begin again. The analysis conducted pursuant to this
subsection shall include the thermal envelope of buildings and a report on the
annual energy consumption and energy costs and recommendations for
reducing energy consumption.

k %k %k

Sec. 24. 2 V.S.A. § 62(a) is amended to read:
(a) The Sergeant at Arms shall:

k %k %k

(6) maintain Maintain in a good state of repair and provide security for

all furniture, draperies, rugs, desks, paintings and eoffice—equipment other
furnishings kept in the State House;

k %k %k
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Sec. 25. 2 V.S.A. chapter 19 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 19. LEGISLATIVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE STATE
HOUSE

§ 651. LEGISLATIVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE STATE
HOUSE

(a) A Legislative Advisory Committee on the State House is created.
(b) The Commlttee shall be composed of 11 members three- members—of

(1) three members of the House of Representatives, appointed biennially
by the Speaker of the House;

(2) three members of the Senate, appointed biennially by the Committee
on Committees;

(3) the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Friends of the Vermont
State House;

(4) the Director of the Vermont Historical Society;

(5) the Director of the Vermont Council on the Arts;

(6) the Commissioner of Buildings and General Services; and

(7) the Sergeant at Arms.

(c) The Committee shall biennially elect a chair from among its legislative
members. A quorum shall consist of six members.

(d) The Committee shall meet at the State House oen-thefirst Monday—of
each-third-menth beginning-inJuly,1984; at least one time during the months

of July and December or at the call of the Chair. The Commissioner of
Buildings and General Services shall keep minutes of the meetings and
maintain a file thereof.

k %k %k

§ 653. FUNCTIONS

(a) The Legislative Advisory Committee on the State House shall be
consulted on all activities relating to the acquisition and care of paintings and
historic artifacts and furnishings, and the refurbishing, renovation,
preservation, and expansion of the building and its interior.
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(b) The Sergeant at Arms and the Commissioner of Buildings and General
Services, in discharging responsibilities under subdivision 62(a)(6) of this title
and 29 V.S A—§154(a) 29 V.S.A. §§ 154(a) and 154a, respectively, shall
consider the recommendations of the Advisery Committee. The Adwvisery
Committee’s recommendations shall be advisory only.

Sec. 26. 29 V.S.A. § 154 is amended to read:

§ 154. PRESERVATION OF STATE HOUSE AND HISTORIC STATE
BUILDINGS

(a) The commissioner-of-buildings-and-general-services Commissioner of

Buildings and General Services shall give special consideration to the state
house State House as a building of first historical importance and significance.
He or she shall preserve the state-house State House structure and its unique
interior and exterior architectural form and design, with particular attention to
the detail of form and design, in addition to keeping the buildings, its
furnishings, facilities, appurtenances, appendages, and grounds surrounding
and attached to it in the best possible physical and functional condition. Ne
Any permanent change, alteration, addition, or removal in form, materials,
design, architectural detail, furnishing, fixed in place or otherwise, interior or
exterior, of the state-house; State House may not be made without legislative
mandate. Emergency and immediately necessary repairs may, however, be
made without legislative mandate upon prior approval of the gevernor
Governor.

Sec. 27. 29 V.S.A. § 154a is added to read:
§ 154a. STATE CURATOR

(a) Creation. The position of State Curator is created within the
Department of Buildings and General Services.

(b) Duties. The State Curator’s responsibilities shall include:

(1) oversight of the general historic preservation of the State House,
including maintaining the historical integrity of the State House and works of
art in the State House;

(2) interpretation of the State House to the visiting public through
exhibits, publications, and tours; and

(3) acquisition, management and care of State collections of art and
historic furnishings, provided that any works of art for the State House are
acquired pursuant to the requirements of 2 V.S.A. § 653(a).
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Sec. 28. 32 V.S.A. § 1001a is amended to read:
§ 1001a. REPORTS

(a) The Capital Debt Affordability Advisory Committee shall prepare and
submit consistent with 2 V.S.A. § 20(a) a report on:

(1) General general obligation debt, pursuant to subsection 1001(c) of
this title.; and

(2) Hew how many, if any, Transportation Infrastructure Bonds have

been issued and under what conditions. The-provisions—of2-V.S-A—§-20(d)

(b) The provisions of 2 V.S.A. § 20(d) (expiration of required reports) shall
not apply to the reports to be made under this section.

Sec. 29. 2013 Acts and Resolves No. 1, Sec. 100(c), as amended by 2014 Acts
and Resolves No. 179, Sec. E.113.1 and 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 58,
Sec. E.113.1, is further amended to read:

(c) Sec. 97 (general obligation debt financing) shall take effect on July—1;
2017 July 1, 2018.

* % * Human Services * * *
Sec. 30. SECURE RESIDENTIAL FACILITY; LAND

On or before June 30, 2018, the Commissioner of Buildings and General
Services is authorized to purchase an option on land or purchase land for a
permanent, secure residential facility; provided, however, that the size and
location of the land shall be consistent with the siting and design examination
conducted by the Agency of Human Services, as required by 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 26, Sec. 30.

Sec. 31. AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES; FACILITIES

(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly that the State address the
pressing facility needs for the following populations:

(1) individuals who no longer require hospitalization but who remain in
need of long-term treatment in a secure residential facility setting;

(2) individuals who are not willing or able to engage in voluntary
community treatment but do not require hospitalization;

(3) elders with significant psychiatric needs who meet criteria for skilled
nursing facilities;

(4) elders with significant psychiatric and medical needs who do not
meet criteria for skilled nursing facilities;
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(5) children in need of residential treatment;

(6) juvenile delinquents in need of residential detention;

(7) offenders in correctional facilities; and

(8) any other at-risk individuals.

(b) The Secretary of Human Services, in consultation with the
Commissioner of Buildings and General Services, shall evaluate and develop a
plan to support the populations described in subsection (a) of this section. In
developing the plan, the Secretary and Commissioner shall take into
consideration the data collected and the report submitted by the Corrections
Facility Planning Committee, pursuant to 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 160,
Sec. 30, and the project design and plan for the Woodside Juvenile
Rehabilitation Center, prepared pursuant to 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 26,
Sec. 2(b)(21). The evaluation and plan shall include the following:

(1) an evaluation and recommendation of the use, condition, and
maintenance needs of existing facilities, including whether any facility should
be closed, renovated, relocated, repurposed, or sold, provided that if a
recommendation is made to close a facility, a plan must be developed that
addresses its future use;

(2) an analysis of the historic population trends of existing facilities, and
anticipated future population trends, including age, gender, court involvement,
and medical, mental health, and substance abuse conditions:

(3) an evaluation of whether the design and use of existing facilities
adequately serve the current population and anticipated future populations:

(4) an evaluation of whether constructing new facilities would better
serve current or anticipated future populations, including whether the use of
out-of-state facilities could be reduced or eliminated.

(¢) On or before September 1, 2017, the Secretary shall provide an update
on the status of the evaluation and plan to the Joint Legislative Committee on
Justice Oversight.

(d) On or before January 15, 2018, the Secretary shall submit the plan and
recommendations to the House Committees on Appropriations, on Corrections
and Institutions, on Health Care, and on Human Services, and the Senate
Committees on Appropriations, on Health and Welfare, and on Institutions.

* # * Information Technology * * *
Sec. 32. INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY REVIEW

(a) The Executive Branch shall transfer, upon request, one vacant position
for use in the Legislative Joint Fiscal Office (JFO) for a staff position, or the
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JFO may hire a consultant, to provide support to the General Assembly to
conduct independent reviews of State information technology projects and

operations.

(b) The Secretary of Administration and the Chief Information
Officer shall:

(1) provide to the JFO access to the reviews conducted by Independent
Verification and Validation (IVV) firms hired to evaluate the State’s current
and planned information technology project, as requested;

(2) ensure that IVV firms’ contracts allow the JFO to make requests for
information related to the projects that it is reviewing and that such requests
are provided to the JFO in a confidential manner; and

(3) provide to the JFO access to all other documentation related to
current and planned information technology projects and operations, as

requested.
(¢) The JFO shall maintain a memorandum of understanding with the

Executive Branch relating to any documentation provided under subsection (b)
of this section that shall protect security and confidentiality.

(d) In FY 2018 and FY 2019, the JFO is authorized to use up to
$250.000.00 of the amounts appropriated in Sec. 4 of this act to fund activities
described in this section.

Sec. 33. AGENCY OF DIGITAL SERVICES; ORGANIZATION

(a) The Secretary and Chief Information Officer (CIO) of Digital Services
and the Secretary of Administration shall:

(1) provide an update on the development of an organizational model
and desiegn of the new Agency that improves efficiency, data sharing, and
coordination on information technology (IT) procurement;

(2) evaluate the use of this organizational model in other states,
including the successes and failures in implementing the model, and any
lessons learned;

(3) collaborate with State information technology staff to better utilize
technology skills and resources and create efficiencies across all State agencies
and departments; and

(4) examine functions of the new Agency such as budget, administrative
support, and supervision, and its space requirements, to establish a more
efficient delivery of services to the public.

(b) On or before January 15, 2018, the Secretary and CIO of Digital
Services shall prepare and present to the House Committees on
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Appropriations, on Corrections and Institutions, on Energy and Technology,
and on Government Operations, and to the Senate Committees on
Appropriations, on Government Operations, and on Institutions:

(1) areport containing additional recommendations for restructuring the
Agency;

(2) draft legislation necessary to conform existing statutes; and

(3) a report on the budgetary impacts and transitional costs of
restructuring, including an update on savings related to staffing changes and
consolidation of resources.

* * * Natural Resources * * *

Sec. 34. AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES PLAN FOR
IMPLEMENTING BASIN PLANNING PROJECTS WITH
REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSIONS

On or before December 15, 2017, the Secretary of Natural Resources shall
submit to the House Committees on Corrections and Institutions and on
Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife and the Senate Committees on
Institutions and on Natural Resources and Energy a plan or process for how
and to the extent the Secretary shall:

(1) contract with regional planning commissions and the Natural
Resources Conservation Council to assist in or produce tactical basin plans
under 10 V.S.A. § 1253; and

(2) assign the development, implementation, and administration of
water quality projects identified in the basin planning process to
municipalities, regional planning commissions, or other organizations.

Sec. 35. DEPARTMENT OF FORESTS, PARKS AND RECREATION;
LAND TRANSACTIONS

(a) The Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation is authorized to:

(1) Amend certain terms and conditions of two conservation easements,
in order to define and clarify the allowed uses for sugaring and other forestry-
management-related structures and facilities, and including their associated
infrastructure and utilities, and related site preparation activities on the
following lands:

(A) approximately 31.343 acres, designated as the Hancock Legacy
Easement 1996, on the map prepared by the Department of Forests, Parks and
Recreation, entitled “Hancock Forest Legacy Easement Lands Essex and
Orleans Counties, Vermont,” dated December 27, 2016; and

(B) approximately 207 acres, designated as the Averill Inholdings
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Easement 2005, on the map prepared by the Department of Forests, Parks and
Recreation, entitled “Hancock Forest Legacy Easement Lands Essex and
Orleans Counties, Vermont,” dated December 27, 2016.

(2) Sell to the Trust for Public Land, with the goal that the Trust will
subsequently convey these tracts to the U.S. Forest Service for inclusion in the
Green Mountain National Forest, the following two tracts:

(A) an approximately 113-acre tract in the Town of Mendon,
designated as the Bertha Tract, on the map prepared by the Trust For Public
Land, entitled “Rolston Rest Addition to Green Mountain National Forest.,”
dated July 6, 2016; and

(B) an approximately 58-acre tract in the Town of Killington
designated as the Burch Tract, on the map prepared by the Trust For Public
Land, entitled “Rolston Rest Addition to Green Mountain National Forest.,”
dated July 6, 2016.

(b) The sale described in subdivision (a)(2) of this section shall be pursuant
to the terms of a mutually satisfactory purchase and sales agreement. The
selling price shall be based on the fair market value for the Bertha Tract and
Burch Tract, as determined by an appraisal. The sale of these tracts is
contingent on support from the Towns of Mendon and of Killington. The
proceeds of the sale shall be deposited in the Agency of Natural Resources’
Land Acquisition Fund to be used to acquire additional properties for Long
Trail protection purposes.

Sec. 35a. CLEAN WATER PROJECTS; SIGNS

The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services, in collaboration with
the Secretaries of Natural Resources and of Transportation, shall develop a
plan for signage to identify any clean water projects funded by the State. The
signage shall include uniform language and a logo to identify the projects.
The signage shall be displayed in a location as visible to the public as possible
for the duration of the construction phase of the project. Funds appropriated
for water quality projects shall be used to pay the costs associated with the
signage in accordance with the plan.

* % * Public Safety * * *
Sec. 36. PUBLIC SAFETY FIELD STATION; WILLISTON

(a) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized to
purchase land for a public safety field station and an equipment storage
facility. The location of the land shall be based on the results of the detailed
proposal for the site location developed by the Commissioner of Buildings and
General Services, in consultation with the Commissioner of Public Safety, as
required by 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 160, Sec. 34.
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(b) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services is authorized to
sell the Williston Public Safety Field Station and adjacent land pursuant to the
requirements of 29 V.S.A. § 166.

* % * Effective Date * * *

Sec. 37. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.
(For text see House Journal APRIL 4, 5, 2017 )
Action Postponed Until May 4, 2017
Favorable with Amendment
S. 122

An act relating to increased flexibility for school district mergers

Rep. Sharpe of Bristol, for the Committee on Education, recommends that
the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 1 (Findings), with its reader assistance, by striking out the
reader assistance in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Findings and Purpose * * *

Second: In Sec. 1, by striking out the section heading in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE
Third: In Sec. 1, by adding a new subsection (b) to read:

(b) While Vermont generally does an excellent job educating our children,
we fall short in two critical areas. First, we are not as successful as we need to
be in educating children from families with low income, and second, while we
have a very high graduation rate from our high schools, not enough of our
oraduates continue their education. Fulfilling the goals of Act 46 is a critical
step in addressing these shortcomings.

and by relettering the remaining sections to be alphabetically correct

Fourth: 1In Sec. 1, in relettered subsection (e), by striking out the last
sentence in its entirety

Fifth: In Sec. 1, by adding a subsection (f) to read:

(f) This act is designed to make useful changes to the merger time lines and
allowable governance structures under Act 46 without weakening or
eliminating the Act’s fundamental phased merger and incentive structures and
requirements. Nothing in this act should suggest that it is acceptable for a
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school district to fail to take reasonable and robust action to seek to meet the
goals of Act 46.

Sixth: In Sec. 2, by striking out subsection (b) in its entirety and inserting
in lieu thereof the following:

(b) The incentives provided under this act shall be available only if the new
districts receive final approval of their electorate on or before November 30,
2017. This section is repealed on July 1, 2017 2019.

Seventh: By striking out Sec. 3 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 3. THREE-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE STRUCTURE; EXEMPTION
FROM STATEWIDE PLAN

(a) If the conditions of this section are met, the Merged District and the
Existing District or Districts shall be exempt from the requirement under 2015
Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9 and 10, to self-evaluate and make a
proposal to the Secretary of Education and State Board of Education and from
the State Board’s statewide plan.

(1) The new district is formed by the merger of at least three existing
districts (Merged District) and, together with one or two existing districts (each
an Existing District), are, following the receipt of all approvals required under
this section, members of the same supervisory union (Three-by-One Side-by-
Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, each Existing District is
either:

(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or
inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District’s school or schools and
the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State
Board of Education; or

(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have
operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) The Merged District and each Existing District have, following the
receipt of all approvals required under this section, a model of operating
schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other;
provided, however, that if two Existing Districts are members of the Three-by-
One Side-by-Side Structure, the Existing Districts may have the same model of
operating schools or paying tuition if they are geographically isolated from
each other, within the meaning of subdivision (2)(A) of this subsection. These
models are:
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(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some
orades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades:; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students
in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged District jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective
date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited to them
than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act;

(B) each Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth
1n subdivision (2) of this subsection (a);

(C) each Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to
take to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the
goals set forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(5) Each Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged District obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the
proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(6) Each Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an
Existing District in the proposed Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure on or
before November 30, 2017.

(7) The districts proposing to merge into the Merged District receive
final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before
November 30, 2017, and the Merged District becomes fully operational on or
before July 1, 2019.

(8) The Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or before
November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged District may
include:

(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this
section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the
Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and
Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the
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effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are
not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section,
regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives
under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or
2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(¢c) The formation of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure shall not
entitle the Merged District or an Existing District to qualify for the incentives
provided in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4. However, a Merged
District that is otherwise entitled to incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves
No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
each as amended, shall not lose these incentives due to its participation as a
member of a Three-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

Eighth: By striking out Sec. 4 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 4. TWO-BY-TWO-BY-ONE SIDE-BY-SIDE  STRUCTURE;
REGIONAL EDUCATION DISTRICT INCENTIVES

(a) Notwithstanding 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) that
requires a single regional education district (RED) to have an average daily
membership of at least 1,250 or result from the merger of at least four districts,
or both, two or more new districts shall be eligible for the incentives provided
in No. 153, Sec. 4 as amended by 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156 and 2015
Acts and Resolves No. 46 if:

(1) Each new district is formed by the merger of at least two existing
districts (each a Merged District) and, together with an Existing District, are,
following the receipt of all approvals required under this section, members of
the same supervisory union (Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure).

(2) As of March 7, 2017, town meeting day, the Existing District is
either:

(A) geographically isolated, due to lengthy driving times or
inhospitable travel routes between the Existing District’s school or schools and
the nearest school in which there is excess capacity as determined by the State
Board of Education; or

(B) structurally isolated, because all adjoining school districts have
operating or tuitioning models that differ from the Existing District.

(3) Each Merged District and the Existing District, following the
receipt of all approvals required under this section, have a model of operating
schools or paying tuition that is different from the model of each other. These
models are:
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(A) operating a school or schools for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(B) operating a school or schools for all resident students in some
orades and paying tuition for resident students in the other grades:; or

(C) operating no schools and paying tuition for all resident students
in prekindergarten through grade 12.

(4) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure meets all criteria
for RED formation other than the size criterion of 2010 Acts and Resolves
No. 153, Sec. 3(a)(1) (average daily membership of at least 1,250) and
otherwise as provided in this section.

(5) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged Districts jointly submit a proposal to the State Board after the effective
date of this section and demonstrate in their proposal that:

(A) the Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is better suited
to them than a governance structure described in 2015 Acts and Resolves
No. 46, Sec. 6 and will meet the goals set forth in Sec. 2 of that act;

(B) the Existing District meets one or more of the criteria set forth in
subdivision (2) of this subsection (a); and

(C) the Existing District has a detailed action plan it proposes to take
to continue to improve its performance in connection with each of the goals set
forth in 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 2.

(6) The Existing District and the districts proposing to merge into the
Merged Districts obtain State Board approval of their proposal to form the
proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure.

(7) The Existing District obtains the approval of its electorate to be an
Existing District in the proposed Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure
on or before November 30, 2017.

(8) The districts proposing to merge into each Merged District receive
final approval from their electorate for the merger proposal on or before
November 30, 2017, and each Merged District becomes fully operational on or
before July 1, 2019.

(9) Each Merged District has the same effective date of merger.

(10) The Two-by-Two-by-One Side-by-Side Structure is formed on or
before November 30, 2019 in the manner approved by the State Board.

(b) The districts that are proposing to merge into the Merged Districts may
include:
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(1) districts that have not received, as of the effective date of this
section, approval from their electorate to merge, regardless of whether the
Merged District will be eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and
Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended; and

(2) districts that received, on or after July 1, 2010 but prior to the
effective date of this section, approval from their electorate to merge but are
not operational as a Merged District as of the effective date of this section,
regardless of whether the Merged District is eligible to receive incentives
under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or
2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, each as amended.

(c) If the conditions of this section are met, the incentives provided in 2010
Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4 shall be available to each Merged District,
unless the Merged District has already received incentives under 2010 Acts
and Resolves No. 153, 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156, or 2015 Acts and
Resolves No. 46, each as amended. These incentives shall not be available to
the Existing District.

(d) If the conditions of this section are met, the Existing District shall be
exempt from the requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Secs. 9
and 10, to self-evaluate and make a proposal to the Secretary of Education and
State Board of Education and exempt from the State Board’s statewide plan.

Ninth: By adding three new sections, to be Secs. 6a, 6b, and 6¢, with
reader assistances, to read as follows:

* # * Reduction of Average Daily Membership; Guidelines for Alternative
Structures * * *

Sec. 6a. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 5 is amended to read:
Sec. 5. PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE;
ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE

k %k %k

(c) Alternative structure: supervisory union with member districts. An
Education District as envisioned in subsection (b) of this section may not be
possible or the best model to achieve Vermont’s education goals in all regions
of the State. In such situations, a supervisory union composed of multiple
member districts, each with its separate school board, ean may meet the State’s
goals, particularly if:

(1) the member districts consider themselves to be collectively
responsible for the education of all prekindergarten through grade 12 students
residing in the supervisory union;
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(2) the supervisory union operates in a manner that complies with its
obligations under 16 V.S.A. § 261a and that maximizes efficiencies through
economies of scale and the flexible management, transfer, and sharing of
nonfinancial resources among the member districts, which may include a
common personnel system, with the goal of increasing the ratio of students to
full-time equivalent staff;

(3) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school
districts practicable, achieved wherever possible by the merger of districts with
similar operating and tuitioning patterns; and

(4) the supervisory union has the smallest number of member school
districts practicable after consideration of greatly differing levels of
indebtedness among the member districts; and

4)(5) the combined average daily membership of all member districts is
not less than 1,100 900.

* # * Secretary and State Board; Consideration of Alternative Structure
Proposals * * *

Sec. 6b. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 10 is amended to read:
Sec. 10. TRANSITION TO SUSTAINABLE GOVERNANCE
STRUCTURES; PROPOSAL; FINAL PLAN

k %k %k

(¢) Process. On and after October 1, 2017, the Secretary and State Board
shall consider any proposals submitted by districts or groups of districts under
Sec. 9 of this act. Districts that submit such a proposal shall have the
opportunity to add to or otherwise amend their proposal in connection with the
Secretary’s consideration of the proposal and conversations with the district or
districts under subsection (a) of this section, and in connection with testimony
presented to the State Board under subsection (b) of this section. The State
Board may, in its discretion, approve an alternative governance proposal at any
time on or before November 30, 2018.

(d) The statewide plan required by subsection (b) of this section shall
include default Articles of Agreement to be used by all new unified union
school districts created under the plan until the board of the new district votes
to approve new or amended articles.

(e) After the State Board of Education issues the statewide plan under
subsection (b) of this section, districts subject to merger shall have 90 days to
form a study committee under 16 V.S.A. § 706b and to draft Articles of
Agreement for the new district. During this period, the study committee shall
hold at least one public hearing to consider and take comments on the draft
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Articles of Agreement.

() If the study committee formed under subsection (e) of this section does
not approve Articles of Agreement within the 90-day period provided in that
subsection, the provisions in the default Articles of Agreement included in the
statewide plan shall apply to the new district.

(e)(g) Applicability. This section shall not apply to:
(1) an interstate school district;

(2) a regional career technical center school district formed under
16 V.S.A. chapter 37, subchapter 5A; or

(3) a district that, between June 30, 2013 and July 2, 2019, began to
operate as a unified union school district and:

(A) voluntarily merged into the preferred education governance
structure, an Education District, as set forth Sec. 5(b) of this act; or

(B) is a regional education district or any other district eligible to
receive incentives pursuant to 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended by
2012 Acts and Resolves No. 156.

* # * Deadline for Small School Support Metrics * * *
Sec. 6¢. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 21 is amended to read:
Sec. 21. SMALL SCHOOL SUPPORT; METRICS

On or before July 1, 2018, the State Board of Education shall adopt and
publish metrics by which it will make determinations whether to award small
school support grants pursuant to 16 V.S.A. § 4015 on and after July 1, 2019,
as amended by Sec. 20 of this act; provided, however, that on or before
September 30, 2017, the State Board shall publish a list of districts that it
determines to be geographically isolated pursuant to that section as amended
by Sec. 20 of this act.

Tenth: By striking out Sec. 7 (Self-Evaluation, Meetings, and Proposal) in
its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 7. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 9 is amended to read:
Sec. 9. SELF-EVALUATION, MEETINGS, AND PROPOSAL

(a) On or before November-30,-2017 the date that is the earlier of six
months after the date the State Board’s rules on the process for submitting
alternative governance proposals take effect or January 31, 2018, the board of
each school district in the State that has a governance structure different from
the preferred structure identified in Sec. 5(b) of this act (Education District), or
that does not expect to become or will not become an Education District on or
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before July 1, 2019, shall perform each of the following actions, unless the
district qualifies for an exemption under Sec. 10(g) of this act.

k %k %k

Eleventh: In Sec. 9, in subsection (e), by deleting subsection (e) in its
entirety

Twelfth: By adding a new section, to be Sec. 17, to read as follows:

Sec. 17. QUALIFICATION FOR INCENTIVES; ASSIGNMENT TO A
SUPERVISORY UNION BY THE STATE BOARD

Notwithstanding any requirement under 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Secs. 6 and 7 that the newly formed school district be its own supervisory
district, the newly formed school district shall qualify for the incentives under
this section even if it is assigned to a supervisory union by the State Board of
Education and that assignment by the State Board is not made at the request of
the school district.

Thirteen: By adding four new sections, to be Secs. 18, 19, 20, and 21, with
reader assistances, to read as follows:

* # * State Board Rulemaking Authority * * *
Sec. 18. 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46, Sec. 8 is amended to read:
Sec. 8. EVALUATION BY THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

k %k %k

(¢) The State Board may adopt rules designed to assist districts in
submitting alternative structure proposals, but shall not by rule or otherwise
1mpose more stringent requirements than those in this act.

* % * Tax Provisions * * *

Sec. 19. CALCULATION OF EDUCATION PROPERTY TAX SPENDING
ADJUSTMENT AND EDUCATION INCOME TAX SPENDING
ADJUSTMENT FOR CERTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICTS

(a) Under this section, a qualifying school district is a school district:

(1) that operates no schools and pays tuition for all resident students in
prekindergarten through grade 12;

(2) that, on or before November 15, 2017, obtains final approval from
its electorate to consolidate with an existing unified union school district that is
eligible to receive incentives under 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153
(consolidated district), as amended; and

(3) for which either:
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(A) the education property tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A.
§ 5401(13)(A) for the district’s fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district’s
education property tax spending adjustment for the district’s 2015 fiscal year
by more than 100 percent; or

(B) the education income tax spending adjustment under 32 V.S.A.
§ 5401(13)(B) for the district’s fiscal year 2017 exceeded the district’s
education income tax spending adjustment for the district’s 2015 fiscal year by
more than 100 percent.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary:

(1) for the first year in which the consolidated district’s equalized
homestead tax rate or household income percentage is reduced under 2010
Acts and Resolves No. 153, as amended, the equalized homestead tax rate and
household income percentage for the town associated with the qualifying
district shall be set at the average equalized homestead tax rate and household
income percentage of the towns associated with the other districts that merge
into the consolidated district; and

(2) 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 153, Sec. 4(a)(2), which limits the
amount by which tax rates are permitted to change, shall not apply to the town
associated with the qualifying district for the first year for which the
consolidated district’s equalized homestead tax rate or household income
percentage is reduced under that act.

Sec. 20. MODIFIED UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICTS; TAX RATE
CALCULATIONS

The tax rate provisions in 2010 Acts and Resolves No. 155, Sec. 13(a)(1),
as amended, shall not apply to the calculation of tax rates in a member of a
modified unified union school district (MUUSD) formed under 2012 Acts and
Resolves No. 156, Sec. 17, as amended, if that member is a member for fewer
than all grades, prekindergarten through erade 12. This section shall apply to
the calculation of taxes in any MUUSD that began full operation after July 1,
2015.

* * * Flections to Unified Union School District Board * * *
Sec. 21. ELECTIONS TO UNIFIED UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD

(a) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 706k,
the election of a director on the board of a unified union school district who is
to serve on the board after expiration of the term for an initial director shall be
held at the unified union school district’s annual meeting in accordance with
the district’s articles of agreement.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under 16 V.S.A. § 7061,
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if a vacancy occurs on the board of a unified union school district and the
vacancy is in a seat that is allocated to a specific town, the clerk shall
immediately notify the selectboard of the town. Within 30 days of the receipt
of that notice, the unified union school district board, in consultation with the
selectboard, shall appoint a person who is otherwise eligible to serve as a
member of the unified union school district board to fill the vacancy until an
election is held in accordance with the unified union school district’s articles of

agreement.
(¢) This section is repealed on July 1, 2018.

and by renumbering the remaining section (Effective Date) to be numerically
correct

(Committee vote: 11-0-0)
(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 31, 2017 )

Rep. Ancel of Calais, for the Committee on Ways and Means, recommends
the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment as
recommended by the Committee on Education and when further amended as
follows:

House propose to the Senate that the report be amended in the ninth
instance of amendment, in Sec. 6a, amending 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 46,
Sec. 5 (preferred education governance structure; alternative structure), by
striking out the section designation “PREFERRED EDUCATION
GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE” and
inserting in lieu thereof “PREFERRED EDUCATION GOVERNANCE
STRUCTURE; ALTERNATIVE STRUCTURE GUIDELINES”.

( Committee Vote: 10-0-1)

Rep. Juskiewicz of Cambridge, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence of amendment as
recommended by the Committees on Education and Ways and Means.

(Committee Vote: 11-0-0)
NEW BUSINESS
Third Reading
H. 233
An act relating to protecting working forests and habitat

Amendment to be offered by Reps. Conquest of Newbury and Nolan of
Morristown to H. 233

That the bill be amended in Sec. 1, 10 V.S.A. § 6001, in subdivision (42),
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after “not paved” by striking out “, that has a minor impact on the values of a
forest block or habitat connector,”

S. 34

An act relating to cross-promoting development incentives and State policy
goals

Favorable with Amendment
S. 103
An act relating to the regulation of toxic substances and hazardous materials

Rep. Deen of Westminster, for the Committee on Natural Resources; Fish
& Wildlife, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be
amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

* # * Toxics Use Reduction and Reporting * * *
Sec. 1. 10 V.S.A. § 6633 is added to read:
§ 6633. INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE ON CHEMICAL
MANAGEMENT

(a) Creation. There is created the Intergovernmental Committee on
Chemical Management in the State to:

(1) evaluate chemical inventories in the State on an annual basis;

(2) identify potential risks to human health and the environment from
chemical inventories in the State; and

(3) propose measures or mechanisms to address the identified risks from
chemical inventories in the State.

(b) Membership. The Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical
Management shall be composed of the following nine members:

(1) one member of the House of Representatives, appointed by the
Speaker of the House;

(2) one member of the Senate, appointed by the Committee on
Committees;

(3) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets or designee;

(4) the Secretary of Natural Resources or designee;

(5) the Commissioner of Health or designee:

(6) the Commissioner of Labor or designee;
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(7) the Commissioner of Public Safety or designee;

(8) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development or
designee;

(9 the Commissioner of Information and Innovation, or the
Commissioner of the successor department, or designee.

(¢c) Powers and duties. The Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical
Management shall:

(1) Convene a citizen advisory panel to provide input and expertise to
the Committee. The citizen advisory panel shall consist of persons with

expertise in;
(A) toxicology:

(B) environmental law;

(C) manufacturing products;

(D) environmental health;
(E) public health;
(F) risk analysis;

(G) maternal and child health care;

(H) occupational health;

() industrial hygiene;

(J) public policy;

(K) chemical management by academic institutions;

(L) retail sales; and

(M) development and administration of information reporting
technology or databases.

(2) Monitor actions taken by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) to regulate chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act,
15 U.S.C. chapter 53, and notify relevant State agencies of any EPA action
relevant to the jurisdiction of the agency.

(3) Annually review chemical inventories in the State in relation to
emerging scientific evidence in order to identify chemicals of high concern not
regulated by the State.

(d) Assistance. The Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical
Management shall have the administrative, technical, and legal assistance of
the Agency of Natural Resources; the Agency of Agriculture, Food and
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Markets; the Department of Health; the Department of Public Safety; the
Department of Labor; the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development; and the Department of Information and Innovation. The
Intereovernmental Committee on Chemical Management shall have the
assistance of the Office of Legislative Council for legislative drafting and the
assistance of the Joint Fiscal Office for the fiscal and economic analyses.

() Report. On or before January 15, and annually thereafter, the
Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical Management shall report to the
Senate Committees on Natural Resources and Energy; on Health and Welfare;
and on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs and the House
Committees on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife; on Human Services; and
on Commerce and Economic Development regarding the actions of the
Committee. The provisions of 2 V.S.A. § 20(d) regarding expiration of
required reports shall not apply to the report to be made under this section.
The report shall include:

(1) an estimate or summary of the known chemical inventories in the
State, as determined by metrics or measures established by the Committee:

(2) a summary of any change under federal statute or rule affecting the
regulation of chemicals in the State;

(3) recommended legislative or regulatory action to address the risks
posed by new or emerging chemicals of high concern; and

(4) recommended legislative or regulatory action to reduce health risks
from exposure to chemicals of high concern and reduce risks of harm to the
natural environment.

(f) Meetings.

(1) The Secretary of Natural Resources shall be the chair of the
Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical Management.

(2) The Secretary of Natural Resources shall call the first meeting of the
Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical Management to occur on or before

July 1, 2017.

(3) A majority of the membership of the Intereovernmental Committee
on Chemical Management shall constitute a quorum.

(2) Authority of agencies. The establishment of the Intergovernmental
Committee on Chemical Management shall not limit the independent authority
of a State agency to regulate chemical use or management under existing State
or applicable federal law.

Sec. 2. INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE ON CHEMICAL
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MANAGEMENT; REPORT ON TOXIC USE REDUCTION AND
REPORTING

On or before February 15, 2018, after consultation with the citizen advisory
panel and as part of the first report required under 10 V.S.A. § 6633(e), the
Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical Management shall:

(1) Recommend how the State shall establish a centralized or unified
electronic reporting system to facilitate compliance by businesses and other
entities with chemical reporting and other regulatory requirements in the State.
The recommendation shall:

(A) identify a State agency or department to establish and administer
the reporting system;

(B) estimate the staff and funding necessary to administer the
reporting system;

(C) propose how businesses and the public can access information
submitted to or maintained as part of the reporting systems, including whether
access to certain information or categories of information should be limited
due to statutory requirements, regulatory requirements, trade secret protection,
or other considerations;

(D) propose how information maintained as part of the reporting
system can be accessed, including whether the information should be
searchable by: chemical name, common name, brand name, product model,
Global Product Classification (GPC) product brick description, standard
industrial classification, chemical facility, geographic area, zip code, or
address;

(E) propose how manufacturers of consumer products or subsets of
consumer products shall report or notify the State of the presence of designated
chemicals of concern in a consumer product and how information reported by
manufacturers is made available to the public;

(F) propose a method for displaying information or filtering or
refining search results so that information maintained on the reporting system
can be accessed or identified in a serviceable or functional manner for all users
of the system, including governmental agencies or departments, commercial
and industrial businesses reporting to the system, nonprofit associations, and
citizens; and

(G) estimate a timeline for establishment of the reporting system.

(2) Recommend statutory amendments and regulatory revisions to
existing State recordkeeping and reporting requirements for chemicals,
hazardous materials, and hazardous wastes in order to facilitate assessment of
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risks to human health and the environment posed by the use of chemicals in
the State. The recommendations shall include:

(A) the thresholds or amounts of chemicals used, manufactured, or
distributed, and hazardous materials and hazardous wastes generated or
managed in the State that require recordkeeping and reporting;

(B) the persons or entities using, manufacturing, or distributing
chemicals and generating or managing hazardous materials and hazardous
wastes that are subject to recordkeeping and reporting requirements; and

(C) any changes required to streamline and modernize existing
recordkeeping and reporting requirements to facilitate compliance by
businesses and other entities.

(3) Recommend amendments to the requirements for Toxic Use
Reduction and Hazardous Waste Reduction under 10 V.S.A. chapter 159,
subchapter 2 that shall include:

(A) The list of chemicals or materials subject to the reporting and
planning requirements. The list of chemicals or materials shall include and be
in addition to the chemicals or substances listed under Title 111, Section 313 of
the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 and 18 V.S.A.
§ 1773 (chemicals of high concern to children).

(B) The thresholds or amounts of chemicals used or hazardous waste
generated by a person that require reporting and planning.

(C) The information to be reported, including:

(1) the quantity of hazardous waste generated and the quantity of
hazardous waste managed during a vear;

(i1) the quantity of toxic substances, or raw material resulting in
hazardous waste, used during a vear;

(ii1) an assessment of the effect of each hazardous waste reduction
measure and toxics use reduction measure implemented; and

(iv) a description of factors during a year that have affected toxics
use, hazardous waste generation, releases into the environment, and on-site and
off-site hazardous waste management.

(D) The persons or entities using chemicals or generating hazardous
waste that are subject to reporting and planning;

(E) Proposed revisions to the toxic chemical or hazardous waste
reduction planning requirements, including conditions or criteria that qualify a
person to complete a plan.

-2775 -



(F) Any changes to streamline and modernize the program to
improve its effectiveness.

(4) Draft legislation to implement the Committee’s recommendations
under subdivisions (1), (2), and (3) of this section.

* # * Testing Groundwater * * *
Sec. 3. 10 V.S.A. § 1982 is added to read:
§ 1982. TESTING OF GROUNDWATER SOURCES

(a) Definition. As used in this section, “groundwater source” means that
portion of a potable water supply that draws water from the ground, including
a drilled well, shallow well, driven well point, or spring.

(b) Testing prior to new use. Prior to use of a new groundwater source as a
potable water supply, the person who owns or controls the groundwater source
shall test the groundwater source for the parameters set forth in subsection (c)
of this section.

(c) Parameters of testing. A water sample collected under this section shall
be analyzed for, at a minimum: arsenic, lead, uranium, gross alpha radiation,
total coliform bacteria, total nitrate and nitrite, fluoride, manganese, and any
other parameters required by the Agency by rule. The Agency by rule may
require testing for a parameter by region or specific geographic area of
concern.

(d) Submission of test results. Results of the testing required under
subsection (b) shall be submitted, on a form provided by the Department of
Health, to the Department of Health and, when required by the Secretary
pursuant to a permit, to the Secretary.

(e) Rulemaking. The Secretary, after consultation with the Department of
Health, the Wastewater and Potable Water Supply Technical Advisory
Committee, private laboratories, and other interested parties, shall adopt by
rule requirements regarding:

(1) when, prior to use of a new groundwater source, the test required
under subsection (b) of this section shall be conducted;

(2) who shall be authorized to sample the source for the test required
under subsections (b) and (c) of this section, provided that the rule shall
include the person who owns or controls the groundwater source and licensed
well drillers among those authorized to sample the source;

(3) how a water sample shall be collected in order to comply with the
requirements of the analyses to be performed; and

(4) any other requirements necessary to implement this section.
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(f) Marketability of title. Noncompliance with the requirements of this
section shall not affect the marketability of title or create a defect in title of a
property, provided water test results required under this section are forwarded,
prior to the conveyance of the property, to the Department of Health and, when
required by the Secretary pursuant to a permit, to the Agency.

Sec. 4. AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES; GROUNDWATER
SOURCE TESTING; RULEMAKING

The Secretary of Natural Resources shall commence rulemaking under
10 V.S.A. § 1982 on or before July 1, 2017. The Secretary shall adopt rules
under 10 V.S.A. § 1982 on or before January 1, 2018.

Sec. 5. 18 V.S.A. § 501b is amended to read:
§ 501b. CERTIFICATION OF LABORATORIES

(a) The commissioner Commissioner may certify a laboratory that meets
the standards currently in effect of the National Environmental Laboratory
Accreditation Conference and is accredited by an approved National
Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program accrediting authority or its
equivalent to perform the testing and monitoring:

(1) required under 10 V.S.A. chapter 56 and the federal Safe Drinking
Water Act; and

(2) of water from a potable water supply, as that term is defined in
10 V.S.A. § 1972(6).

(b)(1) The commissioner Commissioner may by order suspend or revoke a
certificate granted under this section, after notice and opportunity to be heard,
if the commissioner Commissioner finds that the certificate holder has:

(A) submitted materially false or materially inaccurate
information; or

(B) violated any material requirement, restriction, or condition of the
certificate; or

(C) violated any statute, rule, or order relating to this title.

(2) The order shall set forth what steps, if any, may be taken by the
certificate holder to relieve the holder of the suspension or enable the
certificate holder to reapply for certification if a previous certificate has been
revoked.

(c) A person may appeal the suspension or revocation of the certificate to
the beard Board under section 128 of this title.

k %k %k
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(f) A laboratory certified to conduct testing of groundwater sources or
water supplies frem for use by a potable water supply, as that term is defined
in 10 V.S.A. § 1972(6), including under the requirements of 10 V.S.A. § 1982,
shall submit the results of groundwater analyses to the department-of-health
and-the-ageney-of natural resources Department of Health in a format required
by the department-of-health Department of Health.

Sec. 6. 10 V.S.A. § 1974 is amended to read:
§ 1974. EXEMPTIONS

Notwithstanding any other requirements of this chapter, the following
projects and actions are exempt:

k %k %k

(8) From the permit required for operation of failed supply under
subdivision 1973(a)(4) of this tittle for the use or operation of a failed supply
that consists of only one groundwater source that provides water to only one
single family residence.

* # * Chemicals of High Concern to Children * * *
Sec. 7. 18 V.S.A. § 1775(b) is amended to read:

(b) Format for notice. The Commissioner shall specify the format for
submission of the notice required by subsection (a) of this section, provided
that the required format shall be generally consistent with the format for
submission of notice in other states with requirements substantially similar to
the requirements of this section. Any notice submitted under subsection (a)
shall contain the following information:

(1) the name of the chemical used or produced and its chemical
abstracts service registry number;

(2) a description of the product or product component containing the
chemical, including: the brand name, the product model, and the universal
product code if the product has such a code;

(3) the amount of the chemical contained in each unit of the product or
product component, reported by weight or parts per million as authorized by
the Commissioner;

(4) the name and address of the manufacturer of the children’s product
and the name, address, and telephone number of a contact person for the
manufacturer;

(5) any other information the manufacturer deems relevant to the
appropriate use of the product; and
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(6) any other information required by the Commissioner under rules
adopted pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25.

Sec. 8. 18 V.S.A. § 1776 is amended to read:
§ 1776. RULEMAKING; ADDITIONAL CHEMICALS OF CONCERN TO
CHILDREN; PROHIBITION OF SALE

k %k %k

(b) Additional chemicals of concern to children. The Commissioner may
by rule add additional chemicals to the list of chemicals of high concern to
children, provided that the Commissioner of Health, on the basis of the-weight
of credible independent, peer-reviewed, scientific evidence—has research,
determined determines that a chemical proposed for addition to the list meets
both of the following criteria in subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection:

(1) The Commissioner of Health has determined that an authoritative
governmental entity or accredited research university has demonstrated that the
chemical:

(A) harms the normal development of a fetus or child or causes other
developmental toxicity;

(B) causes cancer, genetic damage, or reproductive harm;
(C) disrupts the endocrine system;

(D) damages the nervous system, immune system, or organs or
causes other systemic toxicity; or

(E) 1is a persistent bioaccumulative toxic.
(2) The chemical has been found through:

(A) biomonitoring to be present in human blood, umbilical cord
blood, breast milk, urine, or other bodily tissues or fluids;

(B) sampling and analysis to be present in household dust, indoor air,
drinking water, or elsewhere in the home environment; or

(C) monitoring to be present in fish, wildlife, or the natural
environment.

k %k %k

(d) Rule to regulate sale or distribution.

(1) The Commissioner, upen-the-recommendation-of after consultation
with the Chemicals of High Concern to Children Working Group, may adopt a

rule to regulate the sale or distribution of a children’s product containing a
chemical of high concern to children upon a determination that:
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(A) children will may be exposed to a chemical of high concern to
children in the children’s product;-and

(2) In determining whether children w4l may be exposed to a chemical
of high concern in a children’s product, the Commissioner shall review
available, credible information regarding:

(A) the market presence of the children’s product in the State;

(B) the type or occurrence of exposures to the relevant chemical of
high concern to children in the children’s product;

(C) the household and workplace presence of the children’s
product; or

(D) the potential and—frequeney of exposure of children to the
chemical of high concern to children in the children’s product.

(3) A rule adopted under this section may:

(A) prohibit the children’s product containing the chemical of high
concern to children from sale, offer for sale, or distribution in the State; or

(B) require that the children’s product containing the chemical of
high concern to children be labeled prior to sale, offer for sale, or distribution
in the State.

(4) In any rule adopted under this subsection, the Commissioner shall
adopt reasonable time frames for manufacturers, distributors, and retailers to
comply with the requirements of the rules. No prohibition on sale or
manufacture of a children’s product in the State shall take effect sooner than
two years after the adoption of a rule adopted under this section unless the
Commissioner determines that an earlier effective date is required to protect
human health and the new effective date is established by rule.

(5) The Chemicals of High Concern to Children Working Group may, at
its discretion, submit to the House Committees on Natural Resources, Fish and
Wildlife and on Human Services and the Senate Committees on Natural
Resources and Energy and on Health and Welfare the recommendations or
information from a consultation provided to the Commissioner under
subdivision (1) of this subsection.

k %k %k

* % * Effective Dates * * *
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Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical
Management), 2 (report on toxic use reduction and reporting), and 4
(groundwater testing rulemaking) shall take effect on passage.

(b) All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2018, except that
10 V.S.A. § 1982(e) in Sec. 3 shall take effect on passage.

(Committee vote: 5-3-1)
(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 2017 )

Reps. Masland of Thetford, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment
as recommended by the Committee on Natural Resources; Fish & Wildlife.

(Committee Vote: 7-2-2)

Rep. Feltus of Lyndon, for the Committee on Appropriations, recommends
the bill ought to pass in concurrence with proposal of amendment as
recommended by the Committee on Natural Resources; Fish & Wildlife and
when further amended as follows:

In Sec.1, 10 V.S.A. § 6633, in subsection (f), by adding subdivision (4) to read
as follows:

(4) The Intergovernmental Committee on Chemical Management shall
meet no more than four times in a calendar year.

( Committee Vote: 8-3-0)

S. 131
An act relating to State’s Attorneys and sheriffs

Rep. Weed of Enosburgh, for the Committee on Government Operations,
recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill be amended by
striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

that the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Retirement and Benefits * * *
Sec. 1. 3 V.S.A. § 455 is amended to read:
§ 455. DEFINITIONS
(a) As used in this subchapter:

(9) “Employee” shall mean:
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(A) Any regular officer or employee of the Vermont Historical
Society or in a department other than a person included under subdivision (B)
of this subdivision (9), who is employed for not less than 40 calendar weeks in
a year. “Employee” includes deputy State’s Attorneys, victim advocates
employed by a State’s Attorney pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 5306, secretaries
employed by a State’s Attorney pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1185, and other
positions created within the State’s Attorneys’ offices that meet the eligibility
requirements for membership in the Retirement System.

(B) Any regular officer or employee of the Department of Public
Safety assigned to police and law enforcement duties, including the
Commissioner of Public Safety appointed before July 1, 2001; but, irrespective
of the member’s classification, shall not include any member of the General
Assembly as such, any person who is covered by the Vermont Teachers’
Retirement System, any person engaged under retainer or special agreement or
C beneficiary employed by the Department of Public Safety for not more than
208 hours per year, or any person whose principal source of income is other
than State employment. In all cases of doubt, the Retirement Board shall
determine whether any person is an employee as defined in this subchapter.
Also included under this subdivision are employees of the Department of
Liquor Control who exercise law enforcement powers, employees of the
Department of Fish and Wildlife assigned to law enforcement duties, motor
vehicle inspectors, full-time deputy sheriffs compensated by the State of
Vermont whose primary function is transports, full-time members of the
Capitol Police force, investigators employed by the Criminal Division of the
Office of the Attorney General, Department of State’s Attorneys, Department
of Health, or Office of the Secretary of State, who have attained Level III law
enforcement officer certification from the Vermont Criminal Justice Training
Council, who are required to perform law enforcement duties as the primary
function of their employment, and who may be subject to mandatory
retirement permissible under 29 U.S.C. § 623(j), who are first included in
membership of the system on or after July 1, 2000. Also included under this
subdivision are full-time firefighters employed by the State of Vermont and the
Defender General.

% sk ok

Sec. 2. 3 V.S.A. § 631 is amended to read:

§ 631. GROUP INSURANCE FOR STATE EMPLOYEES; SALARY
DEDUCTIONS FOR INSURANCE, SAVINGS PLANS, AND
CREDIT UNIONS

(a)(1) The Secretary of Administration may contract on behalf of the State
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with any insurance company or nonprofit association doing business in this
State to secure the benefits of franchise or group insurance. Beginning July 1,
1978, the terms of coverage under the policy shall be determined under section
904 of this title, but it may include:

k %k %k

(2)(A)(1) The As used in this section, the term “employees” asused-in
this-section-shall include-among others includes any class or classes of elected
or appointed officials, butit State’s Attorneys, sheriffs, employees of State’s
Attorney’s offices whose compensation is administered through the State of
Vermont payroll system, except contractual and temporary employees, and
deputy sheriffs paid by the State of Vermont pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 290(b).
The term “employees” shall not include members of the General Assembly as
such, nor-shall it-include any person rendering service on a retainer or fee
basis, members of boards or commissions, or persons other than employees of
the Vermont Historical Society, the Vermont Film Corporation, the Vermont
State Employees’ Credit Union, Vermont State Employees’ Association, and
the Vermont Council on the Arts, whose compensation for service is not paid
from the State Treasury, nor-shall-itinelude or any elected or appointed official
unless the official is actively engaged in and devoting substantially full-time to
the conduct of the business of his or her public office.

(i1) For purposes of group hospital-surgical-medical expense
insurance, the term “employees” shall include employees as defined in
subdivision (i) of this subdivision (2)(A) and former employees as defined in
this subdivision who are retired and are receiving a retirement allowance from
the Vermont State Retirement System or the State Teachers’ Retirement
System of Vermont and, for the purposes of group life insurance only, are
retired on or after July 1, 1961, and have completed 20 creditable years of
service with the State before their retirement dates and are insured for group
life insurance on their retirement dates.

(iii) For purposes of group hospital-surgical-medical expense
insurance only, the term “employees” shall include employees as defined in
subdivision (i) of this subdivision (2)(A) and employees who are receiving a
retirement allowance based upon their employment with the Vermont State
Employees’ Association, the Vermont State Employees’ Credit Union, the
Vermont Council on the Arts, as long as they are covered as active employees
on their retirement date, and:

@)(I) they have at least 20 years of service with that employer; or

@(I) have attained 62 years of age, and have at least 15 years of
service with that employer.
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* # % Collective Bargaining * * *
Sec. 3. 3 V.S.A. § 902 is amended to read:
§ 902. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter:

k %k %k

(2) “Collective bargaining;” or “bargaining collectively” means the
process of negotiating terms, tenure, or conditions of employment between the
State of Vermont, the Vermont State Colleges, or the University of Vermont, or
the Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs and representatives of
employees with the intent to arrive at an agreement which that, when reached,
shall be reduced to writing.

k %k %k

(5) “State employee” means any individual employed on a permanent or
limited status basis by the State of Vermont, the Vermont State Colleges, or the
University of Vermont, or the State’s Attorneys’ offices, including permanent
part-time employees, and an individual whose work has ceased as a
consequence of, or in connection with, any current labor dispute or because of
any unfair labor practice, but excluding an individual:

(A) exempt or excluded from the State classified service under the
provisions of section 311 of this title, except that the State Police in the
Department of Public Safety;—and; employees of the Defender General,
excluding attorneys employed directly by the Defender General and attorneys
contracted to provide legal services; deputy State’s Attorneys; and employees
of State’s Attorneys’ offices are included within the meaning of “State
employee”;

k %k %k

(7) “Employer” means the State of Vermont, excluding the Legislative
and Judiciary Departments, represented by the Governor or the-Geovernor’s
designee, the Office of the Defender General represented by the Defender
General or theDefenderGeneral’s designee, and Vermont State Colleges;
represented by the Chancellor or the-Chaneellor’s designee, and the University
of Vermont; represented by the President or thePresident’s designee. With
respect to emplovees of State’s Attorneys’ offices, “employer” means the
Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs represented by the Executive
Director or designee.
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(10) “Person;” includes one or more individuals, the State of Vermont,
Vermont State Colleges, University of Vermont, Department of State’s
Attorneys and Sheriffs, employee organizations, labor organizations,
partnerships, corporations, legal representatives, trustees, or any other natural
or legal entity whatsoever.

k %k %k

Sec. 4. 3 V.S.A. § 904 is amended to read:
§ 904. SUBJECTS FOR BARGAINING

(a) All matters relating to the relationship between the employer and
employees shall be the subject of collective bargaining except those matters
which that are prescribed or controlled by statute. Sueh The matters
appropriate for collective bargaining to the extent they are not prescribed or
controlled by statute include:

(1) wages, salaries, benefits, and reimbursement practices relating to
necessary expenses and the limits of reimbursable expenses;

(2) minimum hours per week;

(3) working conditions;

(4) overtime compensation and related matters;
(5) leave compensation and related matters;

(6) reduction-in-force procedures;

(7) grievance procedures, including whether an appeal to the Vermont
Labor Relations Board or binding arbitration, or both, will constitute the final
step in a grievance procedure;

(8) terms of coverage and amount of employee financial participation in
insurance programs, except that the Department of State’s Attorneys and
Sheriffs and the deputy State’s Attorneys and other employees of the State’s
Attorneys’ offices shall not bargain in relation to terms of coverage;

(9) rules and-regulations for personnel administration, except the
following: rules andregulations relating to persons exempt from the classified
service under section 311 of this title and rules and-regulations relating to
applicants for employment in State service and employees in an initial
probationary status, including any extension or extensions thereof, provided
such the rules and-regulations are not discriminatory by reason of an
applicant’s race, color, creed, sex, er national origin, sexual orientation, gender
1dentity, ancestry, place of birth, age, or physical or mental condition; and

(10) the manner in which to enforce an employee’s obligation to pay the
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collective bargaining service fee.

(b) This chapter shall not be construed to be in derogation of; or
contravene the spirit and intent of the merit system principles and the
personnel laws.

Sec. 5. 3 V.S.A. § 905 is amended to read:
§ 905. MANAGEMENT RIGHTS

(a) The Governor; or a :
designee for the State of Vermont, and the p%e#est— Chancellor or a-person-or
per—sens—des%nated—bfyuthe—pm#est de51gne e for Vermont State Colleges and,
the President; or a sons-d nated dent designee for
the University of Vermont and the Executlve D1rector or de51gnee for the
Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs shall act as the employer
representatives in collective bargaining negotiations and administration. The
representative shall be responsible for insuring ensuring consistency in the
terms and conditions in various agreements throughout the State service;
insuring and ensuring compatibility with merit system statutes and principles;
and shall not agree to any terms or conditions for which there are not adequate
funds available.

k %k %k

Sec. 6. 3 V.S.A. § 906 is added to read:
§ 906. DESIGNATION OF MANAGERIAL, SUPERVISORY, AND
CONFIDENTIAL EMPLOYEES

(a) The Commissioner of Human Resources shall determine those positions
in the classified service whose incumbents the Commissioner believes should
be designated as managerial, supervisory, or confidential employees. Any
disputes arising therefrom from the determination shall be finally resolved by
the Board.

(b) The Executive Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and
Sheriffs may determine positions in the State’s Attorneys’ offices whose
incumbents the Executive Director believes should be designated as
managerial, supervisory, or confidential employees. Any disputes arising from
the determination shall be finally resolved by the Board.

Sec. 7. 3 V.S.A. § 908 is added to read:

§908. DESIGNATION OF STATE’S ATTORNEYS’ EMPLOYEES;
STATEWIDE BARGAINING RIGHTS

Emplovees of the State’s Attorney’s offices shall be part of one or more
statewide bargaining units, as determined to be appropriate by the Board
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pursuant to sections 927 and 941 of this title, for the purpose of bargaining
collectively pursuant to this chapter.

Sec. 8. 3 V.S.A. § 925 is amended to read:
§ 925. MEDIATION; FACT FINDING

k %k %k

(k) 1In the case of the State of Vermont or the Department of State’s
Attorneys and Sheriffs, the decision of the Board shall be final, and the terms
of the chosen agreement shall be binding on each party, subject to
appropriations in accordance with subsection 982(d) of this title. In the case of
the University of Vermont or the Vermont State Colleges, the decision of the
Board shall be final and binding on each party.

k %k %k

Sec. 9. 3 V.S.A. § 982 is amended to read:

§ 982. AGREEMENTS; LIMITATIONS, RENEGOTIATION, AND
RENEWAL

k %k %k

(c)(1) Except in the case of the Vermont State Colleges or the University of
Vermont, agreements between the State and certified bargaining units which
that are not arrived at under the provisions of subsection 925(i) of this title
shall, after ratification by the appropriate unit memberships, be submitted to
the Governor who shall request sufficient funds from the General Assembly to
implement the agreement. If the General Assembly appropriates sufficient
funds, the agreement shall become effective at the beginning of the next fiscal
year. If the General Assembly appropriates a different amount of funds, the
terms of the agreement affected by that appropriation shall be renegotiated
based on the amount of funds actually appropriated by the General Assembly,
and the agreement with the negotiated changes shall become effective at the
beginning of the next fiscal year.

(2)(A) Agreements between the Department of State’s Attorneys and
Sheriffs and the certified bargaining units that are not arrived at under the
provisions of subsection 925(i) of this title shall, after ratification by the
appropriate unit memberships, be submitted to the Governor and the General

Assembly.

(B) The Executive Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys
and Sheriffs shall request sufficient funds from the General Assembly to
implement the agreement. If the General Assembly appropriates sufficient
funds, the agreement shall become effective at the beginning of the next fiscal
year. If the General Assembly appropriates a different amount of funds, the
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terms of the agreement affected by that appropriation shall be renegotiated
based on the amount of funds actually appropriated by the General Assembly,
and the agreement with the negotiated changes shall become effective at the
beginning of the next fiscal year.

k %k %k

(g) In the event the State of Vermont, the Department of State’s Attorneys
and Sheriffs, the University of Vermont, and the Vermont State Colleges as
employer and the collective bargaining unit are unable to arrive at an
agreement and there is not an existing agreement in effect, the existing
contract shall remain in force until a new contract is ratified by the parties.
However, nothing in this subsection shall prohibit the parties from agreeing to
a modification of certain provisions of the existing contract which, as
amended, shall remain in effect until a new contract is ratified by the parties.

k %k %k

Sec. 10. 13 V.S.A. § 5306 is amended to read:
§ 5306. VICTIM ADVOCATES

In order to carry out the provisions of the victims assistance program,
state’s-attorneys State’s Attorneys are authorized to hire victim advocates who
shall serve at their pleasure unless otherwise modified by a collective
bargaining agreement entered into pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 27. Nothing in
this section shall be construed to limit the subjects for bargaining pursuant to

3 V.S.A. § 904.
Sec. 11. 32 V.S.A. § 1185 is amended to read:

§ 1185. OFFICE EXPENSES

k %k %k

(b)(1) Secretaries shall be hired by and shall serve at the pleasure of the
State’s Attorney unless otherwise modified by a collective bargaining
agreement entered into pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 27. Secretaries shall be
State employees paid by the State, and shall receive those benefits available to
other classified State employees who are similarly situated but they shall not
be subject to the rules provided for under 3 V.S.A. chapter 13. The
compensation of each Secretary shall be determined by the Commissioner of
Human Resources with the approval of the Governor unless otherwise
determined through collective bargaining pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 27. In
fixing compensation, there shall be taken into consideration, among other
things, the volume of work requiring the services of the Secretary and whether
the services are on a full- or part-time basis.

(2) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to limit the subjects for
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bargaining pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 904.
Sec. 12. 24 V.S.A. § 363 is amended to read:
§ 363. DEPUTY STATE’S ATTORNEYS

(a) A State’s Attorney may appoint as many deputy State’s Attorneys as
necessary for the proper and efficient performance of his or her office;—and

State’s-Attorney-making the-appointment; and may remove them at pleasure.

(b) The pay for deputy State’s Attorneys shall be fixed by the Executive
Director of the Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs or through
collective bargaining pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 27, but it shall not exceed
the pay of the State’s Attorney making the appointment. Deputy State’s
Attorneys shall be compensated only for periods of actual performance of the
duties of such the office. Deputy State’s Attorneys shall be reimbursed for
their necessary expenses incurred in connection with their official duties when
approved by the State’s Attorneys and the Commissioner of Finance and
Management.

(c) Deputy State’s Attorneys shall exercise all the powers and duties of the
State’s Attorneys except the power to designate someone to act in the event of
their own disqualification.

(d) Deputy State’s Attorneys may not enter upon the duties of the office
until they have taken the oath or affirmation of allegiance to the State and the
oath of office required by the Constitution, and until sueh the oath together
with their appointment is filed for record with the county clerk. If appointed
and under oath, a deputy State’s Attorney may prosecute cases in another
county if the State’s Attorney in the other county files the deputy’s
appointment in the other county clerk’s office. In case of a vacancy in the
office of State’s Attorney, the appointment of the deputy shall expire upon the
appointment of a new State’s Attorney.

Sec. 13. 24 V.S.A. § 367 is amended to read:
§ 367. DEPARTMENT OF STATE’S ATTORNEYS AND SHERIFFS

k %k %k

(c)(1) The Executive Director shall prepare and submit all budgetary and
financial materials and forms which are required of the head of a department
of State government with respect to all State funds appropriated for all of the
Vermont State’s Attorneys and sheriffs. At the beginning of each fiscal year,
the Executive Director, with the approval of the Executive Committee, shall
establish allocations for each of the State’s Attorneys’ offices from the State’s
Attorneys’ appropriation. Thereafter, the Executive Director shall exercise
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budgetary control over these allocations and the general appropriation for
State’s Attorneys. The Executive Director shall monitor the sheriff's transport
budget and report to the sheriffs on a monthly basis the status of the budget.
He or she shall provide centralized support services for the State’s Attorneys
and sheriffs with respect to budgetary planning, training, and office
management, and perform such other duties as the Executive Committee
directs. The Executive Director may employ clerical staff as needed to carry
out the functions of the Department.

(2) The Executive Director shall prepare and submit a funding request
to the Governor and the General Assembly for the purpose of securing General
Fund appropriations for any increased costs related to a collective bargaining
agreement and to the Department’s contract bargaining and administration.

k %k %k

Sec. 14. ADJUSTMENT FOR INITIAL CONTRACT

For increased costs related to the initial collective bargaining agreement that
the Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs enters into pursuant to this
act, including the costs of bargaining, implementation, and contract
administration, the Department may prepare and submit a funding request to
the General Assembly during the budget adjustment process if the timing of
the implementation of the agreement does not permit the Department to secure
sufficient funding during the regular budgetary process.

Sec. 15. EXISTING BARGAINING UNITS; DECERTIFICATION

On the effective date of this act, the existing bargaining units and the
related certifications of an exclusive bargaining representative for the deputy
State’s Attorneys, victim advocates, and secretaries employed by the
Chittenden County State’s Attorney and Franklin County State’s Attorney shall
be dissolved and the members of those bargaining units shall be eligible to
organize and bargain collectively under the provisions of the State Employees
Labor Relations Act, 3 V.S.A. chapter 27.

* * * Effective Date * * *
Sec. 16. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(Committee vote: 7-3-1)
(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 2017 )
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Rep. Hooper of Montpelier, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Government Operations.

(Committee Vote: 6-5-0)
S. 135
An act relating to promoting economic development

Rep. Botzow of Pownal, for the Committee on Commerce and Economic
Development, recommends that the House propose to the Senate that the bill
be amended by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

* # % Vermont Employment Growth Incentive Program * * *
Sec. A.1. 32 V.S.A. chapter 105 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 105. VERMONT EMPLOYMENT GROWTH
INCENTIVE PROGRAM

% sk ok
§ 3332. APPLICATION; APPROVAL CRITERIA
(a) Application.

(1) A business may apply for an incentive in one or more years of an
award period by submitting an application to the Council in the format the
Council specifies for that purpose.

(2) For each award year the business applies for an incentive, the
business shall:

(A) specify a payroll performance requirement;

(B) specify a jobs performance requirement or a capital investment
performance requirement, or both; and

(C) provide any other information the Council requires to evaluate
the application under this subchapter.

(b) Mandatory criteria. The Council shall not approve an application
unless it finds:

(1) Except as otherwise provided for an enhanced incentive for a
business in a qualifying labor market area under section 3334 of this title, the
new revenue the proposed activity generates would generate to the State
exceeds would exceed the costs of the activity to the State.

(2) The host municipality welcomes the new business.
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(3) The Pursuant to a self-certification or other documentation the
Council requires by rule or procedure, the business attests to the best of its

knowledge:

(A) the business is not a named party to an administrative order,
consent decree, or judicial order issued by the State or a subdivision of the
State, or if a named party, that the business is in compliance with the terms of
such an order or decree;

(B) the business complies with applicable State laws and
regulations; and

(C) the proposed economic activity conforms would conform to
applicable town and regional plans and with applicable State laws and

regulations.

(4) If the business proposes to expand within a limited local market, an
incentive would not give the business an unfair competitive advantage over
other Vermont businesses in the same or similar line of business and in the
same limited local market.

(5) But for the incentive, the proposed economic activity:
(A) would not occur; or

(B) would occur in a significantly different manner that is
significantly less desirable to the State.

k %k %k
§ 3334. ENHANCED INCENTIVE FOR A BUSINESS IN A QUALIFYING
LABOR MARKET AREA

(a) The Council may increase the value of an incentive for a business that
is located in a labor market area in which:

(1) the average annual unemployment rate is greater than the average
annual unemployment rate for the State; or

(2) the average annual wage is less than the average annual wage for the
State.

(b) In each calendar year, the amount by which the Council may increase
the value of all incentives pursuant to this section is:

(1) $1,500,000.00 for one or more initial approvals; and
(2) $1,000,000.00 for one or more final approvals.

(c) The Council may increase the cap imposed in subdivision (b)(2) of this
section by not more than $500,000.00 upon application by the Governor to,
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and approval of, the Joint Fiscal Committee.

(d) In evaluating the Governor’s request, the Committee shall consider the
economic and fiscal condition of the State, including recent revenue forecasts
and budget projections.

(e) The Council shall provide the Committee with testimony,
documentation, company-specific data, and any other information the
Committee requests to demonstrate that increasing the cap will create an
opportunity for return on investment to the State.

(f) The purpose of the enhanced incentive for a business in a qualifying
labor market area is to increase job growth in economically disadvantaged
regions of the State, as provided in subsection (a) of this section.

§ 3335. ENHANCED INCENTIVE FOR ENVIRONMENTAL
TECHNOLOGY BUSINESS

(a) As used in this section, an “environmental technology business” means
a business that:

(1) is subject to income taxation in Vermont; and

(2) seeks an incentive for economic activity in Vermont that the
Secretary of Commerce and Community Development certifies is primarily
research, design, engineering, development, or manufacturing related to one or
more of the following:

(A) waste management, including waste collection, treatment,
disposal, reduction, recycling, and remediation;

(B) natural resource protection and management, including water and
wastewater purification and treatment, air pollution control and prevention or
remediation, soil and groundwater protection or remediation, and hazardous
waste control or remediation;

(C) energy efficiency or conservation;

(D) clean energy, including solar, wind, wave, hydro, geothermal,
hydrogen, fuel cells, waste-to-energy, or biomass.

(b) The Council shall consider and administer an application from an
environmental technology business pursuant to the provisions of this
subchapter, except that:

(1) the business’s potential share of new revenue growth shall be
90 percent; and

(2) to calculate qualifying payroll, the Council shall:

(A) determine the background growth rate in payroll for the
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applicable business sector in the award year;

(B) multiply the business’s full-time payroll for the award year by
20 percent of the background growth rate; and

(C) subtract the product from the payroll performance requirement
for the award year.

(¢) The purpose of the enhanced incentive for an environmental technology
business is to promote the growth of businesses in Vermont that both create
and sustain high quality jobs and improve the natural environment.

k %k %k

§ 3338. CLAIMING AN INCENTIVE; ANNUAL FILING WITH
DEPARTMENT OF TAXES

(a) On or before April 30 following each year of the utilization period, a
business with an approved application shall submit an incentive claim to the
Department of Taxes.

(b) A business shall include:

(1) the information the Department requires, including the information
required in section 5842 of this title and other documentation concerning
payroll, jobs, and capital investment necessary to determine whether the
business earned the incentive specified for an award year and any installment
payment for which the business is eligible; and

(2) a self-certification or other documentation the Department requires
by rule or procedure, by which the business attests to the best of its knowledge
that:

(A) the business is not a named party to an administrative order,
consent decree, or judicial order issued by the State or a subdivision of the
State, or if a named party, that the business is in compliance with the terms of
such an order or decree; and

(B) the business complies with applicable State laws and regulations.

(c) The Department may consider an incomplete claim to be timely filed if
the business files a complete claim within the additional time allowed by the
Department in its discretion.

(d) Upon finalizing its review of a complete claim, the Department shall:

(1) notify the business and the Council whether the business is entitled
to an installment payment for the applicable year; and

(2) make an installment payment to which the business is entitled.
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(e) The Department shall not pay interest on any amounts it holds or pays
for an incentive or installment payment pursuant to this subchapter.

§ 3339. RECAPTURE; REDUCTION; REPAYMENT
(a) Recapture.

(1) The Department of Taxes may recapture the value of one or more
installment payments a business has claimed, with interest, if:

(A) the business fails to file a claim as required in section 3338 of
this title; or

(B) during the utilization period, the business experiences:
(1) a 90 percent or greater reduction from base employment; or

(i1) if it had no jobs at the time of application, a 90 percent or
greater reduction from the sum of its job performance requirements; or

(C) the Department determines that during the application or claims
process the business knowingly made a false attestation that the business:

(i) was not a named party to, or was in compliance with, an
administrative order, consent decree, or judicial order issued by the State or a
subdivision of the State: or

(i1) was in compliance with State laws and regulations.

(2) If the Department determines that a business is subject to recapture
under subdivision (1) of this subsection, the business becomes ineligible to
earn or claim an additional incentive or installment payment for the remainder
of the utilization period.

(3) Notwithstanding any other statute of limitations, the Department
may commence a proceeding to recapture amounts under subdivision (1) of
this subsection as follows:

(A) under subdivision (1)(A) of this subsection, no later than three
years from the last day of the utilization period; and

(B) wunder subdivision (1)(B) of this subsection, no later than three
years from date the business experiences the reduction from base employment,
or three years from the last day of the utilization period, whichever occurs
first.

(b) Reduction; recapture. If a business fails to make capital investments
that equal or exceed the sum of its capital investment performance
requirements by the end of the award period:

(1) The Department shall:
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(A) calculate a reduced incentive by multiplying the combined value
of the business’s award period incentives by the same proportion that the
business’s total actual capital investments bear to the sum of its capital
investment performance requirements; and

(B) reduce the value of any remaining installment payments for
which the business is eligible by the same proportion.

(2) If the value of the installment payments the business has already
received exceeds the value of the reduced incentive, then:

(A) the business becomes ineligible to claim any additional
installment payments for the award period; and

(B) the Department shall recapture the amount by which the value of
the installment payments the business has already received exceeds the value
of the reduced incentive.

(c) Tax liability.

(1) A person who has the duty and authority to remit taxes under this
title shall be personally liable for an installment payment that is subject to
recapture under this section.

(2) For purposes of this section, the Department of Taxes may use any
enforcement or collection action available for taxes owed pursuant to chapter
151 of this title.

k %k %k

§ 3341. CONFIDENTIALITY OF PROPRIETARY BUSINESS
INFORMATION

(b)—Information Except for information required to be reported under
section 3340 of this title or as provided in this section, information and

materlals submltted by a busmess eeneemmg—l-ts—meeme—ta*es—and—ether

Vermont Economlc Progress Councﬂ or busmess spe01ﬁc data generated by

the Council as part of its consideration of an application under this subchapter,
that is not otherwise publicly disclosed, is exempt from public inspection and
copying under the Public Records Act and shall be kept confidential. Records
related to incentive claims under this chapter that are produced or acquired by
the Department of Taxes are confidential returns or return information and are
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subject to the provisions of section 3102 of this title.

(b)(1) The Council shall disclose information and materials described in
subsection (a) of this section:

(A) to the Joint Fiscal Office or its agent upon authorization of the
Joint Fiscal Committee or a standing committee of the General Assembly;-and
shall-also-be-available; and

(B) to the Auditor of Accounts in connection with the performance

of duties under section 163 of this title;provided;-however,-that-the.

(2) The Joint Fiscal Office or its agent and the Auditor of Accounts

shall not disclose, directly or indirectly, to any person any proprietary business
information or any—information—that—would—identify—abusiness materials
received under this subsection exceptin-accordance-with-ajudicial-order-or-as
otherwise-specifically-provided unless authorized by law.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the publication of
statistical information, rulings, determinations, reports, opinions, policies, or
other information so long as the data are disclosed in a form that cannot
identify or be associated with a particular business.

k %k %k

* * * VEGI; Confidentiality * * *
Sec. A.2. 32 V.S.A. § 3102 is amended to read:
§ 3102. CONFIDENTIALITY OF TAX RECORDS

(a) No present or former officer, employee, or agent of the Department of
Taxes shall disclose any return or return information to any person who is not
an officer, employee, or agent of the Department of Taxes except in
accordance with the provisions of this section. A person who violates this
section shall be fined not more than $1,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than
one year, or both; and if the offender is an officer or employee of this State, he
or she shall, in addition, be dismissed from office and be incapable of holding
any public office for a period of five years thereafter.

k %k %k

(d) The Commissioner shall disclose a return or return information:

k %k %k

(5) to the Attorney General, if such return or return information relates
to chapter 205 of this title or 33 V.S.A. chapter 19, subchapters 1A and 1B, for
purposes of investigating potential violations of and enforcing 7 V.S.A. chapter
40, 20 V.S.A. chapter 173, subchapter 2A, and 33 V.S.A. chapter 19,

-2797 -



subchapters 1A and 1B;

(6) to the Vermont Economic Progress Council, provided that the
disclosure relates to a successful business applicant under chapter 105,
subchapter 2 of this title and the incentive it has claimed is reasonably
necessary for the Council to perform its duties under that subchapter.

(e) The Commissioner may, in his or her discretion and subject to such
conditions and requirements as he or she may provide, including any
confidentiality requirements of the Internal Revenue Service, disclose a return
or return information:

k %k %k

(11) To the Joint Fiscal Office or its agent, provided that the disclosure
relates to a successful business applicant under chapter 105, subchapter 2 of
this title and the incentive it has claimed and is reasonably necessary for the
Joint Fiscal Office or its agent to perform the duties authorized by the Joint
Fiscal Committee or a standing committee of the General Assembly under that
subchapter; to the Auditor of Accounts for the performance of duties under
section 163 of this title; and to the Department of Economic Development for
the purposes of subsectlon 5922(f) of this t1tle—and—te—the—\leﬂmm—Eeenem+e

S S >

* # % Rural Economic Development Infrastructure Districts; H.459 * * *
Sec. B.1. 24 V.S.A. chapter 138 is added to read:
CHAPTER 138. RURAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

INFRASTRUCTURE DISTRICTS
§ 5701. PURPOSE

The purpose of this chapter is to enable formation of special municipal
districts to finance, own, and maintain infrastructure that provides economic
development opportunities in rural and underresourced areas of the State,
including areas within one or more municipalities. Specifically, this chapter
provides mechanisms for public and private partnerships, including
opportunities for tax-incentivized financing and voluntary citizen engagement,
to help overcome density and economic hardship.

§ 5702. ESTABLISHMENT; GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) Establishment. Upon written application by 20 or more voters within a
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proposed district or upon its own motion, the legislative body of a
municipality may establish a rural economic development infrastructure
district. The application shall describe the infrastructure to be built or
acquired; the plan for financing its acquisition; the anticipated economic
benefit; the source of revenues for loan, bond, or lease payments; and plans for
retention and disbursement of excess revenues, if any. The application also
shall clearly state that the proposed district shall not have authority to levy
taxes upon the grand list and may not levy service charges or fees upon any
underlying municipality except for services used by such municipality, its own
officers, and employees in the operation of municipal functions. Notice of
establishment of a district shall be recorded as provided in subsection (e) of
this section, posted in at least three public places within the municipality for at
least 30 days, and published in a newspaper of general circulation within the
municipality not more than 10 days from the date of establishment by the
legislative body. Following 40 days from the later of the date of establishment
by the legislative body of the municipality or an affirmative vote under
subdivision (d)(1) or (2) of this section, the district shall be deemed to be a
body politic and corporate, capable of exercising those powers and
prerogatives explicitly granted by the legislative body of the municipality in
accordance with this chapter and the district’s establishment application.

(b) Districts involving more than one municipality. Where the limits of a
proposed district include two or more municipalities, or portions of two or
more municipalities, the application required by this section shall be made to
and considered by the legislative body of each such municipality.

(¢) Alteration of district limits. The legislative body of a municipality in
which a district is located may alter the limits of a district upon application to
the governing board of the district, provided the governing board gives prior
written consent. A district expansion need not involve contiguous property.
Notice of an alteration of the limits of a district shall be recorded as provided
in subsection (e) of this section, posted in at least three public places within the
municipality for at least 30 days, and published in a newspaper of general
circulation within the municipality not more than 10 days from the date of the
legislative body’s decision to alter the limits of a district.

(d)(1) Contestability. If a petition signed by five percent of the voters of
the municipality objecting to the proposed establishment or alteration of limits
of a district is presented to the municipal clerk within 30 days of the date of
posting and publication of the notice required by subsection (a) or (c) of this
section, as applicable, the legislative body of the municipality shall cause the
question of whether the municipality shall establish or alter the limits of the
district to be considered at a meeting called for that purpose. The district shall
be established in accordance with the application or the limits altered unless a
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majority of the voters of the municipality present and voting votes to
disapprove such establishment or alteration of limits.

(2) If a petition signed by five percent of the voters of the municipality
objecting to a legislative body’s decision denying the establishment or the
alteration of limits of a district is presented to the municipal clerk within 30
days of the legislative body’s decision, the legislative body shall cause the
question of whether the municipality shall establish or alter the limits of the
district to be considered at an annual or special meeting called for that

purpose.

() Recording. A record of the establishment of a district and any
alteration of district limits made by a legislative body shall be filed with the
clerk of each municipality in which the district is located, and shall be
recorded with the Secretary of State.

§ 5703. LIMITATIONS: TAXES:; INDEBTEDNESS; EMINENT DOMAIN
Notwithstanding any grant of authority in this chapter to the contrary:

(1) A district shall not accept funds generated by the taxing or
assessment power of any municipality in which it is located.

(2) A district shall not have the power to levy, assess, apportion, or
collect any tax upon property within the district, nor upon any of its
underlying municipalities, without specific authorization of the General

Assembly.

(3) All obligations of the district, including financing leases, shall be
secured by and payable only out of the assets of or revenues or monies in the
district, including revenue generated by an enterprise owned or operated by the
district.

(4) A district shall not have powers of eminent domain.
§ 5704. GOVERNING BOARD; COMPOSITION: MEETINGS: REPORT

(a) Governing board. The legislative power and authority of a district and
the administration and the general supervision of all fiscal, prudential, and
governmental affairs of a district shall be vested in a governing board, except
as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter.

(b) Composition. The first governing board of the district shall consist of
four to eight members appointed in equal numbers by the legislative bodies of
the underlying municipalities. It shall draft the district’s bylaws specifying the
size, composition, quorum requirements, and manner of appointing members
to the permanent governing board. The bylaws shall require that a majority of
the board shall be appointed annually by the legislative bodies of the
underlying municipalities. Board members shall serve stageered, three-year
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terms, and shall be eligible to serve successive terms. The legislative bodies of
the municipalities in which the district is located shall fill board vacancies, and
may remove board members at will. Any bylaws developed by the governing
board under this subsection shall be submitted for approval to the legislative
bodies of the municipalities within the district and shall be considered duly
adopted 45 days from the date of submission, provided none of the legislative
bodies disapprove of the bylaws.

(¢) First meeting. The first meeting of the district shall be called upon 30
days’ posted and published notice by a presiding officer of a legislative body
in which the district is located. Voters within a municipality in which the
district is located are eligible to vote at annual and special district meetings.
At the first meeting of the district, and at each subsequent annual meeting,
there shall be elected from among board members a chair, vice chair, clerk,
and treasurer who shall assume their respective offices upon election. At the
first meeting, the fiscal year of the district shall be established and rules of
parliamentary procedure shall be adopted. Prior to assuming their offices,
officers may be required to post bond in such amounts as determined by
resolution of the board. The cost of such bond shall be borne by the district.

(d) Annual and special meetings. Unless otherwise established by the
voters, the annual district meeting shall be held on the second Monday in
January and shall be warned by the clerk or, in the clerk’s absence or neglect,
by a member of the board. Special meetings shall be warned in the same
manner on application in writing by five percent of the voters of the district.
A warning for a district meeting shall state the business to be transacted. The
time and place of holding the meeting shall be posted in two or more public
places in the district not more than 40 days nor less than 30 days before the
meeting and recorded in the office of the clerk before the same is posted.

(e) Annual report. The district shall report annually to the legislative
bodies and the citizens of the municipalities in which the district is located on
the results of its activities in support of economic growth, job creation,
improved community efficiency, and any other benefits incident to its
activities.

§ 5705. OFFICERS

(a) Generally. The district shall elect at its first meeting and at each annual
meeting thereafter a chair, vice chair, clerk, and treasurer, who shall hold
office until the next annual meeting and until others are elected. The board
may fill a vacancy in any office.

(b) Chair. The chair shall preside at all meetings of the board and make
and sien all contracts on behalf of the district upon approval by the board. The
chair shall perform all duties incident to the position and office as required by
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the general laws of the State.

(¢) Vice chair. During the absence of or inability of the chair to render or
perform his or her duties or exercise his or her powers, the same shall be
performed and exercised by the vice chair and when so acting, the vice chair
shall have all the powers and be subject to all the responsibilities given to or
imposed upon the chair. During the absence or inability of the vice chair to
render or perform his or her duties or exercise his or her powers, the board
shall elect from among its members an acting vice chair who shall have the
powers and be subject to all the responsibilities given or imposed upon the
vice chair.

(d) Clerk. The clerk shall keep a record of the meetings, votes, and
proceedings of the district for the inspection of its inhabitants.

(e) Treasurer. The treasurer of the district shall be appointed by the board,
and shall serve at its pleasure. The treasurer shall have the exclusive charge
and custody of the funds of the district and shall be the disbursing officer of
the district. When warrants are authorized by the board, the treasurer may
sign, make, or endorse in the name of the district all checks and orders for the
payment of money and pay out and disburse the same and receipt therefor.
The treasurer shall keep a record of every obligation issued and contract
entered into by the district and of every payment made. The treasurer shall
keep correct books of account of all the business and transactions of the
district and such other books and accounts as the board may require. The
treasurer shall render a statement of the condition of the finances of the district
at each regular meeting of the board and at such other times as required of the
treasurer. The treasurer shall prepare the annual financial statement and the
budget of the district for distribution, upon approval of the board, to the
legislative bodies of district members. Upon the treasurer’s termination from
office by virtue of removal or resignation, the treasurer shall immediately pay
over to his or her successor all of the funds belonging to the district and at the
same time deliver to the successor all official books and papers.

§ 5706. AUDIT

Once the district becomes operational, the board shall cause an audit of the
financial condition of the district to be performed annually by an independent
professional accounting firm. The results of the audit shall be provided to the
governing board and to the legislative bodies of the municipalities in which the
district is located.

§ 5707. COMMITTEES

The board has authority to establish one or more committees and grant and
delegate to them such powers as it deems necessary. Members of an executive
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committee shall serve staggered terms and shall be board members.
Membership on other committees established by the board is not restricted to
board members.

§ 5708. DISTRICT POWERS

A district created under this chapter has the power to:

(1) exercise independently and in concert with other municipalities any
other powers which are necessary or desirable for the installation, ownership,
operation, maintenance, and disposition of infrastructure promoting economic
development in rural areas and matters of mutual concern and that are
exercised or are capable of exercise by any of its members;

(2) enter into municipal financing agreements as provided by sections
1789 and 1821-1828 of this title, or other provisions authorizing the pledge of
district assets or net revenue, or alternative means of financing capital
improvements and operations;

(3) purchase, sell, lease, own, acquire, convey, mortgage, improve, and
use real and personal property in connection with its purpose;

(4) enter into contracts for any term or duration;

(5) operate, cause to be operated, or contract for the construction,
ownership, management, financing, and operation of an enterprise which a
municipal corporation is authorized by law to undertake;

(6) hire employees and fix the compensation and terms of employment;

(7) contract with individuals, corporations, associations, authorities, and
agencies for services and property, including the assumption of the liabilities
and assets thereof, provided that no assumed liability shall be a general
obligation of a municipality in which the district is located;

(8) contract with the State of Vermont, the United States of America, or
any subdivision or agency thereof for services, assistance, and joint ventures;

(9) contract with any municipality for the services of any officers or
employees of that municipality useful to it;

(10) promote cooperative arrangements and coordinated action among
its members and other public and private entities;

(11) make recommendations for review and action to its members and
other public agencies that perform functions within the region in which its
members are located;

(12) sue and be sued; provided, however, that the property and assets of
the district, other than such property as may be pledged as security for a
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district obligation, shall be subject to levy, execution, or attachment;

(13) appropriate and expend monies; provided, however, that no
appropriation shall be funded or made in reliance upon any taxing authority of
the district;

(14) establish sinking and reserve funds for retiring and securing its
obligations;

(15) establish capital reserve funds and make deposits in them;

(16) solicit, accept, and administer gifts, grants, and bequests in trust or
otherwise for its purpose;

(17) enter into an interstate compact consistent with the purposes of this
chapter, subject to the approval of the Vermont General Assembly and the
United States Congress;

(18) develop a public sewer or water project, provided the legislative
body and the planning commission for the municipality in which the sewer or
water project is proposed to be located confirm in writing that such project
conforms with any duly adopted municipal plan, and the regional planning
commission confirms in writing that such project conforms with the duly
adopted regional plan;

(19) exercise all powers incident to a public corporation, but only to the
extent permitted in this chapter;

(20) adopt a name under which it shall be known and shall conduct
business; and

(21) make, establish, alter, amend, or repeal ordinances, regulations, and
bylaws relating to matters contained in this chapter and not inconsistent with
law.

§ 5709. DISSOLUTION

(a) If the board by resolution approved by a two-thirds vote determines that
it is in the best interests of the public, the district members, and the district that
such district be dissolved, and if the district then has no outstanding
obligations under pledges of district assets or revenue, long-term contracts, or
contracts subject to annual appropriation, or will have no such debt or
obligation upon completion of the plan of dissolution, it shall prepare a plan of
dissolution and thereafter adopt a resolution directing that the question of such
dissolution and the plan of dissolution be submitted to the voters of the district
at a special meeting thereof duly warned for such purpose. If a majority of the
voters of the district present and voting at such special meeting shall vote to
dissolve the district and approve the plan of dissolution, the district shall cease
to conduct its affairs except insofar as may be necessary for the winding up of
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them. The board shall immediately cause a notice of the proposed dissolution
to be mailed to each known creditor of the district and to the Secretary of State
and shall proceed to collect the assets of the district and apply and distribute
them in accordance with the plan of dissolution.

(b) The plan of dissolution shall:

(1) identify and value all unencumbered assets;

(2) identify and value all encumbered assets;

(3) identify all creditors and the nature or amount of all liabilities and
obligations;

(4) identify all obligations under long-term contracts and contracts
subject to annual appropriation;

(5) specify the means by which assets of the district shall be liquidated
and all liabilities and obligations paid and discharged, or adequate provision
made for the satisfaction of them;

(6) specify the means by which any assets remaining after discharge of
all liabilities shall be liquidated if necessary; and

(7) specify that any assets remaining after payment of all liabilities shall
be apportioned and distributed among the district members according to a
formula based upon population.

(¢c) When the plan of dissolution has been implemented, the board shall
adopt a resolution certifying that fact to the district members whereupon the
district shall be terminated, and notice thereof shall be delivered to the
Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House of Representatives in
anticipation of confirmation of dissolution by the General Assembly.

* % * Pyblic Retirement * * *
Sec. C.1. THE GREEN MOUNTAIN SECURE RETIREMENT PLAN

(a) The State of Vermont shall, consistent with federal law and regulation,
adopt and implement a voluntary Multiple Employer Plan (MEP) public
retirement plan, which shall remain in compliance with federal law and
regulations once implemented, and shall be called the “Green Mountain Secure
Retirement Plan.”

(b) The Plan shall be designed and implemented based upon the following
guiding principles:

(1) Simplicity: the Plan should be easy for participants to understand.

(2) Affordability: the Plan should be administered to maximize cost
effectiveness and efficiency.
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(3) Ease of access: the Plan should be easy to join.

(4) Trustworthy oversight: the Plan should be administered by an
organization with unimpeachable credentials.

(5) Protection from exploitation: the Plan should protect its
participants, particularly the elderly, from unscrupulous business practices and
individuals.

(6) Portability: the Plan should not depend upon employment with a
specific firm or organization.

(7) Choice: the Plan should provide sufficient investment alternatives to
be suitable for individuals with distinct goals, but not too many options to
induce analysis paralysis.

(8) Voluntary: the Plan should not be mandatory but autoenrollment
should be used to increase participation.

(9) Financial education and financial literacy: the Plan should assist the
individual in understanding their financial situation.

(10) Sufficient savings: the Plan should encourage adequate savings in
retirement combined with existing pension savings and Social Security.

(11) Additive not duplicative: the Plan should not compete with
existing private sector solutions.

(12) Use of pretax dollars: contributions to the Plan should be made
using pretax dollars.

(¢) The Plan shall:

(1) be available on a voluntary basis to:

(A) emplovers:

(1) with 50 emplovees or fewer; and

(i) who do not currently offer a retirement plan to their
employees; and

(B) self-employed individuals;

(2) automatically enroll all employees of employers who choose to
participate in the MEP;

(3) allow employees the option of withdrawing their enrollment and
ending their participation in the MEP;

(4) be funded by employee contributions with an option for future
voluntary employer contributions; and
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(5) be overseen by a board:

(A) that shall:

(1) set program terms;

(i1) prepare and design plan documents; and

(ii1) be authorized to appoint an administrator to assist in the
selection of investments, managers, custodians, and other support services; and

(B) that shall be composed of seven members as follows:

(1) an individual with investment experience, to be appointed by
the Governor;

(11) an individual with private sector retirement plan experience, to
be appointed by the Governor;

(ii1) an individual with investment experience, to be appointed by
the State Treasurer;

(iv) an individual who is an employee or retiree, to be appointed
by the State Treasurer;

(v) an individual who is an employee advocate or consumer
advocate, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(vi) an individual who is an employer with 50 employees or fewer
and who does not offer a retirement plan to his or her emplovyees, to be
appointed by the Committee on Committees; and

(vii) the State Treasurer, who shall serve as chair.

(C) that shall, on or before January 15, 2020, and every vear
thereafter, report to the House and Senate Committees on Government
Operations concerning the Green Mountain Secure Retirement Plan, including:

(i) the number of employers and self-employed individuals
participating in the plan;

(i1) the total number of individuals participating in the plan;

(ii1) the number of employers and self-employed individuals who
are eligible to participate in the plan but who do not participate;

(iv) the number of emplovers and self-employed individuals, and
the number of employees of participating employers. who have ended their
participation during the preceding twelve months;

(v) the total amount of funds contributed to the Plan during the
preceding twelve months;
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(vi) the total amount of funds withdrawn from the Plan during the
preceding twelve months;

(vii) the total funds or assets under management by the Plan;

(viii) the average return during the preceding twelve months;

(ix) the costs of administering the Plan;

(x) the Board’s assessment concerning whether the Plan is
sustainable and viable;

(x1) once the marketplace is established:

() the number of individuals participating;

(I) the number and nature of plans offered; and

(I1I) the Board’s process and criteria for vetting plans; and

(xi1) any other information the Board considers relevant, or that
the Committee requests.

(D) for attendance at meetings, members of the Board who are not
employees of the State of Vermont, and who are not otherwise compensated by
their employer or other organization, shall be reimbursed at the per diem rate
set in 32 V.S.A. § 1010 and shall be reimbursed for mileage and travel

expenses.
(d) The State of Vermont shall implement the “Green Mountain Secure
Retirement Plan” on or before January 15, 2019, based on the

recommendations of the Public Retirement Plan Study Committee as set forth
in Sec. F.1 of 2016 Acts and Resolves, No. 157.

Sec. C.2. 2016 Acts and Resolves No. 157, Sec. F.1 is amended to read:

Sec. F.1. INTERIM STUDY ON THE FEASIBILITY OF
ESTABLISHING A PUBLIC RETIREMENT PLAN

(a) Creation of Committee.

(1) There is created a the Public Retirement Plan Study Committee to
evaluate the feasibility of establishing a public retirement plan.

(2) It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Committee continue
the work of the Public Retirement Plan Study Committee created in 2014 Acts
and Resolves No. 179, Sec. C.108, as amended by 2015 Acts and Resolves
No. 58, Sec. C.100, which ceased to exist on January 15, 2016, and to develop
specific recommendations concerning the design, creation, and implementation
of the Multiple Emplovyer Plan (MEP), pursuant to Sec. C.1 of S.135 (2017) as
enacted and as set forth in the January 6, 2017 report issued by the Committee.
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(b) Membership.

(1) The Public Retirement Plan Study Committee shall be composed of
eight members as follows:

(A) the State Treasurer or designee;
(B) the Commissioner of Labor or designee;

(C) the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living
or designee;

(D) an individual with private sector experience in the area of
providing retirement products and financial services to small businesses, to be
appointed by the Speaker;

(E) an individual with experience or expertise in the area of the
financial needs of an aging population, to be appointed by the Committee
on Committees;

(F) an individual with experience or expertise in the area of the
financial needs of Vermont youth or young working adults, to be appointed by
the Treasurer;

(G) a representative of employers, to be appointed by the
Speaker; and

(H) a representative of employees who currently lack access to
employer-sponsored retirement plans, to be appointed by the Committee
on Committees.

(2) Unless another appointee is specified pursuant to the authority
granted under subdivision (1) of this subsection, the members of the Public
Retirement Plan Study Committee created in 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 179,
Sec. C.108, as amended by 2015 Acts and Resolves No. 58, Sec. C.100, which
ceased to exist on January 15, 2016, shall serve as the members of the
Committee created pursuant to this section.

(c) Powers and duties.

(1)(A) The Committee shall study the feasibility of establishing a

develop specific recommendations concerning the design, creation, and
implementation time line of the Multiple Employer Plan (MEP) public

retirement plan-including-the following pursuant to Sec. C.1 of S.135 (2017)

as enacted, which shall:
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(I) employers:

(aa) with 50 employees or fewer; and

(bb) who do not currently offer a retirement plan to their

employees; and

(II) self-emploved individuals;

(i1) automatically enroll all employees of employers who choose
to participate in the MEP;

(ii1) allow emplovees the option of withdrawing their enrollment
and ending their participation in the MEP;

(iv) be funded by employee contributions with an option for
future voluntary employer contributions; and

(v) be overseen by a board that shall:

() set programs terms:;

(II) prepare and design plan documents; and

(I1II) be authorized to appoint an administrator to assist in the
selection of investments, managers, custodians, and other support services.




&pen—pmate—seeter—empleyer—s— The Commlttee and thereafter the board that

will oversee the MEP, shall study and make specific recommendations
concerning:

(i) options to provide access to retirement plans to individuals
who are not eligible to participate in, or choose not to participate in, the MEP
public retirement plan, including alternative plans and options vetted by the
board that shall oversee the MEP, and which private sector plans and options
shall be provided through a marketplace implemented no earlier than one year
after the MEP begins;

(i1) options for paying for the costs of administering the MEP for
the period during which program costs may exceed revenues, including
allowing financial service providers to subsidize costs in exchange for longer
term contracts;

(ii1) if after three vyears there remain significant numbers of
Vermonters who are not covered by a retirement plan, methods to increase
participation in the MEP: and

(iv) any other issue the Committee deems relevant.
(2) The Committee shall:

(A) continue monitoring U.S. Department of Labor guidance
concerning State Savings Programs for Non-Governmental Employees
regarding ERISA rules and other pertinent areas of analysis;

(B) further analyze the relationship between the role of states and the
federal government; and

(C) continue its collaboration with educational institutions, other
states, and national stakeholders.

(3) The Committee shall have the assistance of the staff of the Office of
the Treasurer, the Department of Labor, and the Department of Disabilities,
Aging, and Independent Living.

(d) Report. On or before January 15, 2018, the Committee shall report to
the General Assembly its findings and any recommendations for-legislative
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action. In its report, the Committee shall state its findings as to every factor
set forth in s&bdwmen subd1v151ons (c)(l)(A) of this—section,—whether—it

te—the—faetem—hsted—m—subdms;en and (c)( 1)(B) of this section.

(e) Meetings; term of Committee; Chair. The Committee may meet
as frequently as necessary to perform its work and shall cease to exist on
January 15, 2018. The State Treasurer shall serve as Chair of the Committee
and shall call the first meeting.

(f) Reimbursement. For attendance at meetings, members of the
Committee who are not employees of the State of Vermont shall be reimbursed
at the per diem rate set in 32 V.S.A. § 1010 and shall be reimbursed for
mileage and travel expenses.

* # * Workers” Compensation; VOSHA * * *
Sec. D.1. 21 V.S.A. § 210 is amended to read:
§ 210. PENALTIES

(a) Upon issuance of a citation under this chapter, the Review Board is
authorized to assess civil penalties for grounds provided in this subsection. In
assessing civil penalties, the Review Board shall follow to the degree
practicable the federal procedures prescribed in rules premulgated adopted
under the Act. The Review Board shall give due consideration to the
appropriateness of the penalty with respect to the size of the business or
operation of the employer being assessed, the gravity of the violation, the good
faith of the employer, and the history of previous violations. Civil penalties
shall be paid to the Commissioner for deposit with the State Treasurer, and
may be recovered in a civil action in the name of the State of Vermont brought
in any court of competent jurisdiction. The Commissioner shall not reduce the
assessed penalties in any fiscal year by more than 50 percent.

(1) Any employer who willfully or repeatedly violates the requirements
of this Code or any standard; or rule adopted, or order premulgated issued
pursuant to this Code erregulations—preseribed-pursuant-to-this- Code may be
assessed a civil penalty of not more than $70,000.00 $126,749.00 for each
violation, but not less than $5,000.00 for each willful violation.

(2) Any employer who has received a citation for a serious violation of
the requirements of this Code, or any standard; or rule adopted, or order

promulgated issued pursuant to this Code,—er—of-anyregulations—preseribed
pursuant-to-this-Code, shall be assessed a civil penalty of up to $7,000.00

$12,675.00 for each violation.
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(3) Any employer who has received a citation for a violation of the
requirements of this Code, or any standard; or rule adopted, or order
promulgated issued pursuant to this Code er-of regulationsprescribed pursuant
to-this-Code, and-such—violation if the violation is specifically determined not
to be of a serious nature, may be assessed a civil penalty of up to $7,000.00
$12,675.00 for each such violation.

(4) Any employer who fails to correct a violation for which a citation
has been issued within the period permitted for its correction, which period
shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the Review Board, in
the case of any review proceeding under section 226 of this title initiated by
the employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties,
may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $7000.00 $12,675.00 for
each day during which the failure or violation continues.

(5) Any employer who willfully violates any standard; or rule adopted,
or order promulgated issued pursuant to this Code, and that violation caused
death to any employee, shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not
more than $20,000-00 $126,749.00 or by imprisonment for not more than one
year, or by both.

k %k %k

(8) Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements, as
prescribed under the provisions of this Code, shall be assessed a civil penalty
of up to $7,000.00 $12,675.00 for each violation.

(N(A) As provided under the federal Civil Penalties Inflation
Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015 and the Act, the penalties provided
in subdivisions (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), and (8) of this subsection shall annually,
on January 1, be adjusted to reflect the increase in the Consumer Price Index,
CPI-U, U.S. City Average, not seasonally adjusted, as calculated by the U.S.
Department of Labor or successor agency for the 12 months preceding the
previous December 1.

(B) The Commissioner shall calculate and publish the adjustment to
the penalties on or before January 1 of each year, and the penalties shall apply
to fines imposed on or after that date.

k %k %k

Sec. D.2. 21 V.S.A. § 711 is amended to read:
§ 711. WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ADMINISTRATION FUND

(a) A Workers’ Compensation Administration Fund is created pursuant to
32 V.S.A. chapter 7, subchapter 5 to be expended by the Commissioner for the
administration of the workers’ compensation and occupational disease
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programs. The Fund shall consist of contributions from employers made at a
rate of 175 1.4 percent of the direct calendar year premium for workers’
compensation insurance, one percent of self-insured workers’ compensation
losses, and one percent of workers’ compensation losses of corporations
approved under this chapter. Disbursements from the Fund shall be on
warrants drawn by the Commissioner of Finance and Management in
anticipation of receipts authorized by this section.

% sk ok
* # * Workforce Development; Career Technical Education * * *
Sec. E.1. 10 V.S.A. § 540 is amended to read:
§ 540. WORKFORCE EDUCATION-AND-TRAINING DEVELOPMENT
LEADER

(a) The Commissioner of Labor shall be the leader of workforce education
and—training development in the State; and shall have the authority and
responsibility for the coordination of workforce education and training within
State government, including the following duties:

(1) Perform the following duties in consultation with the State
Workforce Development Board:

(A) advise the Governor on the establishment of an integrated system
of workforce education and training for Vermont;

(B) create and maintain an inventory of all existing workforce
education and training programs and activities in the State;

(C) use data to ensure that State workforce education and training
activities are aligned with the needs of the available workforce, the current and
future job opportunities in the State, and the specific credentials needed to
achieve employment in those jobs;

(D) develop a State plan, as required by federal law, to ensure that
workforce education and training programs and activities in the State serve
Vermont citizens and businesses to the maximum extent possible;

(E) ensure coordination and nen-duplication nonduplication of
workforce education and training activities;

(F) 1identify best practices and gaps in the delivery of workforce
education and training programs;

(G) design and implement criteria and performance measures for
workforce education and training activities; and

(H) establish goals for the integrated workforce education and
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training system.

(2) Require from each business, training provider, or program that
receives State funding to conduct workforce education and training a report
that evaluates the results of the training. Each recipient shall submit its report
on a schedule determined by the Commissioner and shall include at least the
following information:

(A) name of the person who receives funding;
(B) amount of funding;
(C) activities and training provided;

(D) number of trainees and their general description, including the
gender of the trainees when available;

(E) employment status of trainees; and
(F) future needs for resources.

(3) Review reports submitted by each recipient of workforce education
and training funding.

(4) Issue an annual report to the Governor and the General Assembly on
or before December 1 that includes a systematic evaluation of the
accomplishments of the State workforce investment system and the
performance of participating agencies and institutions.

(5) Coordinate public and private workforce programs to assure that
information is easily accessible to students, employees, and employers; and
that all information and necessary counseling is available through one contact.

(6) Facilitate effective communication between the business community
and public and private educational institutions.

(7) Notwithstanding any provision of State law to the contrary, and to
the fullest extent allowed under federal law, ensure that in each State and
State-funded workforce education and training program, the program
administrator collects and reports data and results at the individual level by
Social Security Number or an equivalent.

(8) Coordinate within and across State government a comprehensive
workforce development strategy that erows the workforce, recruits new
workers to the State, and meets employers’ workforce needs.

Sec. E.2. 10 V.S.A. § 543 is amended to read:
§ 543. WORKFORCE EDUCATION AND TRAINING FUND; GRANT
PROGRAMS
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(a) Creation. There is created a the Workforce Education and Training
Fund in the Department of Labor to be managed in accordance with 32 V.S.A.
chapter 7, subchapter 5.

(b) Purposes. The Department shall use the Fund for the following
purposes:

(1) training for Vermont workers, including those who are unemployed,
underemployed, or in transition from one job or career to another;

2) internships to provide students with work-based learning
opportunities with Vermont employers;

3) apprenticeship, preapprenticeship, and industry-recognized
credential training; and

(4) other workforce development initiatives related to current and future
job opportunities in Vermont as determined by the Commissioner of Labor.

(c) Administrative and other support. The Department of Labor shall
provide administrative support for the grant award process. When appropriate
and reasonable, the State Workforce Investment Development Board and all
other public entities involved in economic development and workforce
education and training shall provide other support in the process.

(d) Eligible activities.

(1) The Department, in collaboration with the Agency of Education
when applicable, shall grant awards from the Fund to employers and entities,
including private, public, and nonprofit entities, institutions of higher
education, high schools, K—12 school districts, supervisory unions, technical
centers, and workforce education and training programs that:

(A) create jobs, offer education, training, apprenticeship,
preapprenticeship and industry-recognized credentials, mentoring, career
planning, or work-based learning activities, or any combination;

(B) employ student-oriented approaches to workforce education and
training; and

(C) link workforce education and economic development strategies.

(2) The Department may fund programs or projects that demonstrate
actual increased income and economic opportunity for employees and
employers for more than one year.

(3) The Department may fund student internships and training programs
that involve the same employer in multiple years, with approval of the
Commissioner.
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(e) [Repealed].

(f) Awards. The Commissioner of Labor, in consultation with the Chair of
the State Workforce Development Board, shall develop award criteria and may
grant awards to the following:

(1) Training Programs.

(A) Public, private, and nonprofit entities, including employers and
education and training providers, for existing or new training programs that
enhance the skills of Vermont workers and:

(1) train workers for trades or occupations that are expected to lead
to jobs paying at least 200 percent of the current minimum wage or at least
150 percent if benefits are included; this requirement may be waived when
warranted based on regional or occupational wages or economic reality;

(i1)) do not duplicate, supplant, or replace other available training
funded with public money;

(ii1) provide a project timeline, including performance goals, and
identify how the effectiveness and outcomes of the program will be measured,
including for the individual participants, the employers, and the program as a
whole; and

(iv) articulate the need for the training and the direct connection
between the training and the job.

(B) The Department shall grant awards under this subdivision (1) to
programs or projects that:

(1)  offer innovative programs of intensive, student-centric,
competency-based education, training, apprenticeship, preapprenticeship and
industry-recognized credentials, mentoring, or any combination of these;

(i1))  address the needs of workers who are unemployed,
underemployed, or are at risk of becoming unemployed, and workers who are
in transition from one job or career to another;

(ii1) address the needs of employers to hire new employees; or
retrain incumbent workers, when the employer has demonstrated a need not
within the normal course of business, with priority to training that results in
new or existing job openings for which the employer intends to hire; or

(iv) in the discretion of the Commissioner, otherwise serve the
purposes of this chapter.

(2) Vermont Strong Internship Program. Funding for eligible internship
programs and activities under the Vermont Strong Internship Program
established in section 544 of this title.
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(3) Apprenticeship Program. The Vermont Apprenticeship Program
established under 21 V.S.A. chapter 13. Awards under this subdivision may be
used to fund the cost of apprenticeship-related instruction provided by the
Department of Labor.

(4) Career Focus and Planning programs. In collaboration with the
Agency of Education, funding for one or more programs that institute career
training and planning for young Vermonters, beginning in middle school.

Sec. E.3. 3. V.S.A. § 2703 is added to read:
§ 2703. CAREER PATHWAYS COORDINATOR

(a) The Secretary of Administration shall have the authority to create the
position of Career Pathways Coordinator within the Agency of Education.

(b) The Career Pathways Coordinator shall work under the direction of the
State Director for Career Technical Education, and his or her duties shall
include the following:

(1) serve as the inter-agency point person for the development of a
State-approved Career Pathways System;

(2) convene stakeholders across the Department of Labor, the Agency of
Commerce and Community Development, Agency of Education, Agency of
Human Services, the Statewide Workforce Development Board, Career
Technical Education, employers, postsecondary partners and related entities in
order to create a series Career Pathways;

3) curriculum development, stakeholder engagement, process
documentation, and identification of key performance indicators, outcomes
collection and reporting;

(4) engage statewide education, employer, and workforce organizations
to co-develop statewide career pathways models and exemplars;

(5) identify target populations and entry points;

(6) review and develop competency models, required skill sets, and
appropriate credentials at each step of a career pathway, in partnership with
business and industry representatives;

(7) coordinate emplover validation of competencies and pathways;

(8) develop targeted career ladders and lattices, including stackable
skills and industry-recognized credentials;

(9) work with CTE Directors to design and endorse elements of Career
Pathways;
(10) use labor market information and other relevant data to identify
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critical Career Pathways for the State; and

(11) advise the Career Technical Education Director on the funding,
governance, and access to career technical education in Vermont.

* # * Heating Fuel and Service Workforce Training Pilot Project * * *
Sec. E.4. HEATING FUEL AND SERVICE WORKFORCE TRAINING
PILOT PROJECT
(a) Findings and purpose.

(1) Vermont’s heating fuel and heating service companies provide high-
skill, high-demand jobs, many of which do not require a college degree but
pay over $20 per hour and include benefits.

(2) Vermont’s heating fuel and heating service companies have a
significant need for new employees. More than two-thirds of these companies
report that there is a lack of qualified applicants for heating technician jobs,
and more than half report a lack of qualified drivers.

(3) The purpose of this section is to create a partnership between the
State and the industry to identify prospective employees, provide them with
training and skills necessary for currently available jobs, and provide
employers with a skilled workforce.

(b) The Department of Labor, in collaboration with the regional Career
Technical Education and Training Centers and the Vermont Fuel Dealers
Association, shall establish a Heating Fuel and Service Workforce Training
Pilot Project, consistent with the following:

(1) The Department, CTE Centers, Adult Technical Education
Providers, and the Association shall:

(A) advertise the availability of workforce training in the field of
heating fuel and service;

(B) organize informational sessions, meetings, and other group and
individual opportunities for prospective trainees and interested heating and
fuel service companies to connect; and

(C) coordinate matches between trainees and emplovyers.

(2) In the event of a successful match, the Department shall facilitate the
negotiation and execution of training and employment agreements, pursuant to
which:

(A) a prospective trainee agrees to pursue specified training,
education, or certification necessary to meet the employer’s workforce need;

(B) the Department agrees to provide educational and administrative
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support to the trainee and 50 percent of the cost of training: and

(C) the emplover agrees to provide 50 percent of the cost of training
and to employ the trainee upon the successful completion of training, passage
of an examination, attainment of a required certification, or a combination of
these.

(3) The Association, in collaboration with the CTE Centers and subject
to approval by the Department, shall provide education and training that meet
the needs of trainees and employers.

(c) The Department shall have the authority to use available private, State,
and federal funding to implement the provisions of this section.

(d) On or before January 15, 2018, the Department shall submit a report to
the Senate Committee on Economic Development, Housing and General
Affairs and the House Committee on Commerce and Economic Development
addressing the implementation of this section, the profile of trainees and
employers that participated, and any recommendations for further action.

* * * CTE Dual Enrollment; H.391 * * *

Sec. E.S. CTE DUAL ENROLLMENT MEMORANDA OF
UNDERSTANDING

(a) Intent. The intent of this act is to expand the recognition of academic
and technical course work completed by students in CTE programs by the
University of Vermont and the Vermont State Colleges.

(b) Dual enrollment.

(1) Pursuant to 16 V.S.A. § 944(e), the Agency of Education shall assist
the University of Vermont and the Vermont State Colleges in developing
memoranda of understanding with each regional CTE center and each
comprehensive high school, as defined in 16 V.S.A. § 1522, to facilitate dual
enrollment under section 944.

(2) The University of Vermont and the Vermont State Colleges shall
enter into memoranda of understanding, as developed with the Agency, with
each regional CTE center.

(3) On or before January 15, 2018, the Secretary of Education shall
provide a progress report on the status of the memoranda of understanding to
the House and Senate Committees on Education, the House Committee on
Commerce and Economic Development, and the Senate Committee on
Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs.

Sec. F.1. BENEFIT CLIFF; REPORT
(a) The Commissioner for Children and Families, in consultation with the
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Joint Fiscal Office, shall evaluate the State’s public benefit structure and
recommend methods for mitigating or eliminating the benefit cliffs
experienced by working Vermonters receiving public assistance.

(b) On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner shall submit a
report with the results of this evaluation to the House Committees on Human
Services, on Commerce and Economic Development, and on Ways and Means
and to the Senate Committees on Economic Development, Housing and
General Affairs, on Finance, and on Health and Welfare.

(c) The Commissioner may seek the assistance of the Office of Legislative
Council in drafting a recommended legislative proposal arising out of the
analysis conducted pursuant to this section.

* #* Financial Technology * * *
Sec. G.1. FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY
(a) The General Assembly finds:

(1) The field of financial technology is rapidly expanding in scope and
application.
(2) These developments present both opportunities and challenges.

(3) On the opportunity side, Vermont has been a leader in previous
innovations in finance in contexts such as captive insurance.

(4) The existing Vermont legislation on blockchain technology and
other aspects of e-finance have given Vermont the potential for leadership in
this new era of innovation as well, with the possibility of expanded economic
activity in the financial technology sector that would provide opportunities for
employment, tax revenues, and other benefits.

(5) Furthermore, it is important for Vermonters that these developments
proceed in ways that do not create avoidable risks for individuals and
enterprises in the new e-economy.

(6) The legislative and regulatory response in Vermont will be critical to
our ability to embrace the benefits of financial technology and to avoid
challenges it may create.

(b)(1) In order to permit the legislature to respond to these developing
opportunities and concerns on an informed basis, on or before November 30,
2017, the Center for Legal Innovation at Vermont Law School, in consultation
with the Commissioner of Financial Regulation, the Secretary of Commerce
and Community Development, and the Attorney General, shall submit a report
to the General Assembly that includes:

(A) findings and recommendations on the potential opportunities and
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risks presented by developments in financial technology:;

(B) suggestions for an overall policy direction and proposals for
legislative and regulatory action that would effectively implement that policy
direction; and

(C) measurable goals and outcomes that would indicate success in
the implementation of such a policy.

(2) In developing the background for this report, the Center,
Commissioner, Secretary, and Attorney General may consult such other
constituencies and stakeholders within and outside the State as they may
determine will be helpful to their considerations.

* # % Municipal Outreach; Sewerage and Water Service Connections * * *
Sec. H.1. AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES; EDUCATION AND
OUTREACH; DELEGATION; SEWERAGE AND WATER
SERVICE CONNECTIONS

(a) The Secretary of Natural Resources, after consultation with the
Vermont League of Cities and Towns, shall conduct outreach and education for
municipalities regarding the ability of a municipality under 10 V.S.A. § 1976
to be delegated the authority to permit the connection of a municipal sewer or
water service line to subdivided land, a building, or a campground.

(b) The education and outreach shall specify the conditions or requirements
for delegation, how a municipality can seek delegation, and contact
information or other resource to provide additional information regarding
delegation. The education and outreach may include educational materials,
workshops, or classes regarding the ability of a municipality to be delegated
under 10 V.S.A. § 1976 the permitting of sewer and water service connection.

(¢) On or before January 15, 2018, the Secretary of Natural Resources shall
submit a report to the Senate Committees on Natural Resources and Energy
and on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs and the House
Committees on Natural Resources, Fish and Wildlife and on Commerce and
Economic Development summarizing the education and outreach conducted or
planned by the Secretary under the requirements of this section and whether
any municipality has sought delegation of sewer and water service connection
permitting under 10 V.S.A. § 1976 since the effective date of this act.

* # * Municipal Land Use and Development; Affordable Housing * * *
Sec. H.2. 24 V.S.A. § 4303 is amended to read:
§ 4303. DEFINITIONS
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The following definitions shall apply throughout this chapter unless the
context otherwise requires:

(1) “Affordable housing” means either of the following:
(A) Housing that-is—owned by -its-inhabitan

including principal, interest, taxes, insurance, and condominium association
fees, does not exceed 30 percent of the gross annual income of a household at
120 percent of the highest of the following:

(1) the county median income, as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development;

(i1) the standard metropolitan statistical area median income if the
municipality is located in such an area, as defined by the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development; or

(ii1) the statewide median income, as defined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

the total annual cost of renting, including rent, utilities, and condominium

association fees, does not exceed 30 percent of the eross annual income of a
household at 80 percent of the highest of the following:

(1) the county median income, as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development;

(i1) the standard metropolitan statistical area median income if the
municipality is located in such an area, as defined by the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development; or

(ii1) the statewide median income, as defined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
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*# % Act 250; Priority Housing Projects * * *
Sec. H.3. 10 V.S.A. § 6001 is amended to read:
§ 6001. DEFINITIONS
In this chapter:

k %k %k

(3)(A) “Development” means each of the following:

k %k %k

(iv) The construction of housing projects such as cooperatives,
condominiums, or dwellings, or construction or maintenance of mobile homes
or mobile home parks, with 10 or more units, constructed or maintained on a
tract or tracts of land, owned or controlled by a person, within a radius of five
miles of any point on any involved land, and within any continuous period of
five years. However:

(I) A priority housing project shall constitute a development
under this subdivision (iv) only if the number of housing units in the project is:

(aa) 275 i cinali " lagi ;
15,000-or-meore; [Repealed.]

(bb) 150-or-meore,—in-a-municipality with-apopulation—of
10,000-or-more-but-less-than15;000; [Repealed.]

(cc) 75 or more, in a municipality with a population of
6,000 or more but less than 10,000;.

(dd) 50 or more, in a municipality with a population of
3,000 or more but less than 6,000;.

(ee) 25 or more, in a municipality with a population of less
than 3,000;-and.

(ff) netwithstanding Notwithstanding subdivisions (aa)(cc)
through (ee) of this subdivision (3)(A)(iv)(I), 10 or more if the construction

involves the demolition of one or more buildings that are listed on or eligible
to be listed on the State or National Register of Historic Places. However,
demolition shall not be considered to create jurisdiction under this subdivision
if the Division for Historic Preservation has determined that the proposed
demolition will have no adverse effect, will have no adverse effect if specified
conditions are met, or will have an adverse effect that will be adequately
mitigated. Any imposed conditions shall be enforceable through a grant
condition, deed covenant, or other legally binding document.
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(I) The determination of jurisdiction over a priority housing
project shall count only the housing units included in that discrete project.

(IIT) Housing units in a priority housing project shall not count
toward determining jurisdiction over any other project.

k %k %k

(D) The word “development” does not include:

k %k %k

(viii)(I) The construction of a priority housing project in a
municipality with a population of 10,000 or more.

(I) If the construction of a priority housing project in this
subdivision (3)(D)(vii1) involves demolition of one or more buildings that are
listed or eligible to be listed on the State or National Register of Historic
Places, this exemption shall not apply unless the Division for Historic
Preservation has made the determination described in subdivision (A)(iv)(1)(ff)
of this subdivision (3) and any imposed conditions are enforceable in the
manner set forth in that subdivision.

k %k %k

(27) “Mixed income housing” means a housing project in which the
following apply:

(A) Owner-occupied housing. At the option of the applicant, owner-
occupied housing may be characterized by either of the following:

(1) at least 15 percent of the housing units have a purchase price
which that at the time of first sale does not exceed 85 percent of the new
construction, targeted area purchase price limits established and published
annually by the Vermont Housing Finance Agency; or

(i1) at least 20 percent of the housing units have a purchase price
which that at the time of first sale does not exceed 90 percent of the new
construction, targeted area purchase price limits established and published
annually by the Vermont Housing Finance Agencys;.

(B) Rental Heusing housing. At least 20 percent of the housing units
that are rented constitute affordable housing and have a duration of
affordability of ne not less than 20 15 years.

(28) “Mixed use” means construction of both mixed income housing
and construction of space for any combination of retail, office, services,
artisan, and recreational and community facilities, provided at least 40 percent
of the gross floor area of the buildings involved is mixed income housing.
“Mixed use” does not include industrial use.
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(29) “Affordable housing” means either of the following:
(A) Housing that-is—owned by i

Owner-occupied housing for which the total annual cost of ownership,

including principal, interest, taxes, insurance, and condominium association
fees, does not exceed 30 percent of the gross annual income of a household at
120 percent of the highest of the following:

(1) the county median income, as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development;

(i1) the standard metropolitan statistical area median income if the
municipality is located in such an area, as defined by the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development; or

(ii1) the statewide median income, as defined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

the total annual cost of renting, including rent, utilities, and condominium

association fees, does not exceed 30 percent of the gross annual income of a
household at 80 percent of the highest of the following:

(1) the county median income, as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development;

(i1) the standard metropolitan statistical area median income if the
municipality is located in such an area, as defined by the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development; or

(ii1) the statewide median income, as defined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

% sk ok
(35) “Priority housing project” means a discrete project located on a
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single tract or multiple contiguous tracts of land that consists exclusively of:

(A) mixed income housing or mixed use, or any combination thereof,
and is located entirely within a designated downtown development district,
designated new town center, designated growth center, or designated village
center that is also a designated neighborhood development area under
24 V.S.A. chapter 76A; or

(B) mixed income housing and is located entirely within a designated
Vermont neighborhood or designated neighborhood development area under
24 V.S.A. chapter 76A.

k %k %k

Sec. H.4. 10 V.S.A. § 6081 is amended to read:
§ 6081. PERMITS REQUIRED; EXEMPTIONS

(a) No person shall sell or offer for sale any interest in any subdivision
located in this State, or commence construction on a subdivision or
development, or commence development without a permit. This section shall
not prohibit the sale, mortgage, or transfer of all, or an undivided interest in
all, of a subdivision unless the sale, mortgage, or transfer is accomplished to
circumvent the purposes of this chapter.

k %k %k

(o) If a downtown-development-district designation pursuant to 24 V.S.A.
§2793 chapter 76A is removed, subsection (a) of this section shall apply to

any subsequent substantial change to a priority housing project that was
originally exempt pursuant to subdivision 6001(3)(A)(iv)(I) of this title on the
basis of that designation.

(p)(1) No permit or permit amendment is required for any change to a
project that is located entirely within a downtown development district
designated pursuant to 24 V.S.A. § 2793, if the change consists exclusively of
any combination of mixed use and mixed income housing, and the cumulative
changes within any continuous period of five years, commencing on or after
the effective date of this subsection, remain below the any applicable
jurisdictional threshold specified in subdivision 6001(3)(A)(iv)(I) of this title.

(2) No permit or permit amendment is required for a priority housing
project in a designated center other than a downtown development district if
the project remains below any applicable jurisdictional threshold specified in
subdivision 6001(3)(A)(v)(1) of this title and will comply with all conditions
of any existing permit or permit amendment issued under this chapter that
applies to the tract or tracts on which the project will be located. If such a
priority housing project will not comply with one or more of these conditions,
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an application may be filed pursuant to section 6084 of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. H.5. 10 V.S.A. § 6084 is amended to read:
§ 6084. NOTICE OF APPLICATION; HEARINGS, COMMENCEMENT OF
REVIEW

k %k %k

(f) This subsection concerns an application for a new permit amendment to
change the conditions of an existing permit or existing permit amendment in
order to authorize the construction of a priority housing project described in
subdivision 6081(p)(2) of this title.

(1) The District Commission may authorize a district coordinator to
1ssue such an amendment, without notice and a hearing, if the applicant
demonstrates that all parties to the existing permit or existing permit
amendment, which contains the condition or conditions proposed to be
changed, or their successors in interest have consented to the proposed changes
to conditions relative to the criteria for which the party obtained party status.

(2) If the applicant is not able to obtain the consent of a party or parties
or their successors in interest with respect to one or more of the conditions in
the existing permit or permit amendment proposed to be changed, the
applicant shall file a permit application pursuant to this section. However,
review by the District Commission shall be limited to whether the changes to
conditions not consented to by the party or parties or their successors in
interest enable positive findings to be made under subsection 6086(a) and are
authorized under subsection 6086(c) of this title.

Sec. H.6. 30 V.S.A. § 55 is added to read:
§ 55. PRIORITY HOUSING PROJECTS; STRETCH CODE

A priority housing project as defined in 10 V.S.A. § 6001 shall meet or
exceed the stretch codes established under this subchapter by the Department
of Public Service.

* % * ACCD; Publication of Median Household Income and Qualifying Costs
for Affordable Housing * * *

Sec. H.7. 3 V.S.A. § 2472 is amended to read:
§ 2472. DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

(a) The Department of Housing and Community Development is created
within the Agency of Commerce and Community Development. The
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Department shall:

k %k %k

(5) In conjunction with the Vermont Housing Finance Agency, annually
publish data and information to enable the public to determine income levels
and costs for owner-occupied and rental housing to qualify as affordable
housing, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303 and 10 V.S.A. § 6001(29), including:

(A) the median income for each Vermont county, as defined by the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development;

(B) the standard metropolitan statistical area median income for each
municipality located in such an area, as defined by the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development; and

(C) the statewide median income, as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development.

k %k %k

* # % Downtown Tax Credits * * *
Sec. H.8. 32 V.S.A. § 5930e¢e is amended to read:
§ 5930ee. LIMITATIONS

Beginning in fiscal year 2010 and thereafter, the State Board may award tax
credits to all qualified applicants under this subchapter, provided that:

(1) the total amount of tax credits awarded annually, together with sales
tax reallocated under section 9819 of this title, does not exceed $2,200,000-00
$2,400,000.00;

k %k %k

* # * Tax Credit for Affordable Housing; Captive Insurance Companies * * *
Sec. H.9. 32 V.S.A. § 5930u is amended to read:
§ 5930u. TAX CREDIT FOR AFFORDABLE HOUSING

(a) As used in this section:

k %k %k

(5) “Credit certificate” means a certificate issued by the allocating
agency to a taxpayer that specifies the amount of affordable housing tax credits
that can be applied against the taxpayer’s individual or corporate income tax,
or franchise, captive insurance premium, or insurance premium tax liability as
provided in this subchapter.
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(c) Amount of credit. A taxpayer who makes an eligible cash contribution
shall be entitled to claim against the taxpayer’s individual income, corporate,
franchise, captive insurance premium, or insurance premium tax liability a
credit in an amount specified on the taxpayer’s credit certificate. The first-
year allocation of a credit amount to a taxpayer shall also be deemed an
allocation of the same amount in each of the following four years.

k %k %k

* #* Vermont State Housing Authority; Powers * * *
Sec. H.10. 24 V.S.A. § 4005 is amended to read:
§ 4005. VERMONT STATE HOUSING AUTHORITY; ESTABLISHMENT,
MEMBERS, POWERS

k %k %k

(e) Notwithstanding any provision of law, no person,-demestic-orforeign;
shall be authorized to administer allocations of money under 42 U.S.C.A.

§ 1437a or 1437f or other federal statute authorizing rental subsidies for the
benefit of persons of low or moderate income, except:

(1) a-subecontractor-of the State Authority; er
(2) a State public body authorized by law to administer such allocations;

(3) a person authorized to administer such allocations pursuant to an
agreement with the State Authority; or

(4) an organization, of which the State Authority is a promoter, member,
associate, owner, or manager, that is authorized by a federal agency to
administer such allocations in this State.

() In addition to the powers granted by this chapter, the State Authority
shall have all the powers necessary or convenient for the administration of
federal monies pursuant to subsection (¢e) of this section, including the power:

(1) to enter into one or more agreements for the administration of
federal monies;

(2) to be a promoter, partner, member, associate, owner, or manager of
any partnership, limited liability company, joint venture, association, trust, or
other organization;

(3) to conduct its activities, locate offices, and exercise the powers
oranted by this title within or outside this State;

(4) to carry on a business in the furtherance of its purposes; and

(5) to do all things necessary or convenient, consistent with law, to
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further the activities and affairs of the Authority.

* # * Repeal of Sunset on Sales and Use Tax Exemption;
Airplanes and Airplane Parts * * *
Sec. I.1. REPEALS

The following are repealed:

(1) 2007 Acts and Resolve No. 81, Secs. 7a (amendment to sales tax
exemption for aircraft parts) and 7b (effective date).

(2) 2008 Acts and Resolve No. 190, Sec. 43 (effective date).
* # * Tax Increment Financing Districts * * *
Sec. J. TAX INCREMENT FINANCING; FINDINGS

The General Assembly finds that the State of Vermont has an important role
to play in creating the infrastructure necessary to support downtown
development and revitalization, particularly in distressed communities.

Sec. J.1. 24 V.S.A. chapter 53, subchapter 5 is amended to read:

Subchapter 5. Tax Increment Financing

k %k %k

§ 1892. CREATION OF DISTRICT

% sk ok
(d) The following municipalities have been authorized to use education tax

increment financing for a tax increment financing district;—and-theVermeont
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(1) the City of Burlington, Downtown;

(2) the City of Burlington, Waterfront;
(3) the Town of Milton, North and South;
(4) the City of Newport;
(5) the City of Winooski;
(6) the Town of Colchester;
(7) the Town of Hartford;
(8) the City of St. Albans;
(9) the City of Barre; and
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(10) the Town of Milton, Town Core; and
(11) the City of South Burlington, New Town Center.

k %k %k

§ 1894. POWER AND LIFE OF DISTRICT

k %k %k

(c) Use of the municipal property tax increment. For only debt incurred
within the period permitted under subdivision (a)(1) of this section after
creation of the district, and related costs, not less than an equal share plus five
percent of the municipal tax increment pursuant to subsection (f) of this
section shall be retained to service the debt, beginning the first year in which
debt is incurred, pursuant to subsection (b) of this section.

k %k %k

(f) Equal share required. If any tax increment utilization is approved
pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5404a(h), no more than 75 percent of the State
property tax increment and no less than an equal percent, plus five percent, of
the municipal tax increment may be approved by the Council or used by the
municipality to service this debt.

k %k %k

Sec. J.2. 32 V.S.A. § 5404a is amended to read:
§ 5404a. TAX STABILIZATION AGREEMENTS; TAX INCREMENT
FINANCING DISTRICTS

k %k %k

(f) A municipality that establishes a tax increment financing district under
24 V.S.A. chapter 53, subchapter 5 shall collect all property taxes on properties
contained within the district and apply up to 75 percent of the State education
property tax increment, and not less than an equal share plus five percent of
the municipal tax increment, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 1896, to repayment of
financing of the improvements and related costs for up to 20 years pursuant to
24 V.S.A. § 1894, if approved by the Vermont Economic Progress Council
pursuant to this section, subject to the following:

(1) In a municipality with one or more approved districts, the Council
shall not approve an additional district until the municipality retires the debt
incurred for all of the districts in the municipality.

(2) The Council shall not approve more than two districts in a single
county, and not more than an additional 14 districts in the State, provided:

(A) The districts listed in 24 V.S.A. § 1892(d) shall not be counted
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against the limits imposed in this subdivision (2).

(B) The Council shall consider complete applications in the order
they are submitted, except that if during any calendar month the Council
receives applications for more districts than are actually available in a county,
the Council shall evaluate each application and shall approve the application
that, in the Council’s discretion, best meets the economic development needs

of the county.

(C) If, while the General Assembly is not in session, the Council
receives applications for districts that would otherwise qualify for approval
but, if approved, would exceed the 14-district limit in the State, the Council
shall make one or more presentations to the Emergency Board concerning the
applications, and the Emergency Board may, in its discretion, increase the 14-
district limit.

(3)(A) A municipality shall immediately notify the Council if it resolves
not to incur debt for an approved district within five years of approval or a
five-year extension period as required in 24 V.S.A. § 1894.

(B) Upon receiving notification pursuant to subdivision (3)(A) of this
subsection, the Council shall terminate the district and may approve a new
district, subject to the provisions of this section and 24 V.S.A. chapter 53,

subchapter 5.
(4) The Council shall not approve any additional districts on or after
July 1, 2024.

(5) Prior to January 1, 2019, the Council shall not accept or approve an
application for a district within a county that has five or more approved
districts.

k %k %k

(h) Criteria for approval. To approve utilization of incremental revenues
pursuant to subsection (f) of this section, the Vermont Economic Progress
Council shall do all the following:

(1) Review each application to determine that the new-real-property
proposed infrastructure improvements and the proposed development would

not have occurred or would have occurred in a significantly different and less
desirable manner but for the proposed utilization of the incremental tax
revenues. The review shall take into account:

(A) the amount of additional time, if any, needed to complete the
proposed development within the tax increment district and the amount of
additional cost that might be incurred if the project were to proceed without
education property tax increment financing;
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(B) how the proposed development components and size would
differ, if at all, without education property tax increment financing, including,
if applicable to the development, the number of units of affordable housing, as
defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303; and

(C) the amount of additional revenue expected to be generated as a
result of the proposed development; the percentage of that revenue that shall
be paid to the education fund; the percentage that shall be paid to the
municipality; and the percentage of the revenue paid to the municipality that
shall be used to pay financing incurred for development of the tax increment
financing district.

(2) Process requirements. Determine that each application meets all of
the following four requirements:

(A) The municipality held public hearings and established a tax
increment financing district in accordance with 24 V.S.A. §§ 1891-1900.

(B) The municipality has developed a tax increment financing district
plan, including: a project description; a development financing plan; a pro
forma projection of expected costs; a projection of revenues; a statement and
demonstration that the project would not proceed without the allocation of a
tax increment; evidence that the municipality is actively seeking or has
obtained other sources of funding and investment; and a development schedule
that includes a list, a cost estimate, and a schedule for public improvements
and projected private development to occur as a result of the improvements.

(C) The municipality has approved or pledged the utilization of
incremental municipal tax revenues for purposes of the district in the same
proportion as the utilization of education property tax revenues approved by
the Vermont Economic Progress Council for the tax increment financing
district.

(D) The proposed infrastructure improvements and the projected
development or redevelopment are compatible with approved municipal and
regional development plans, and the project has clear local and regional
significance for employment, housing, and transportation improvements.

(3) Location criteria. Determine that each application meets one of the
following criteria:

(A) The development or redevelopment is compact, high density, and
located in or near existing industrial areas.

(B) The proposed district is within an approved growth center,
designated downtown, designated village center, er new town center, or
neighborhood development area.
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(C) The development will occur in an area that is economically
d1stressed which for the purposes of this subdivision means that the area-has

a—deel-me—m—real—pttepeﬁ-}walues mumclpahty in Wthh the area is located has

at least one of the following:

(1) a median family income that is not more than 80 percent of the
statewide median family income as reported by the Vermont Department of
Taxes for the most recent year for which data is available;

(i1)) an annual average unemployment rate that is at least one
percent greater than the latest annual average statewide unemployment rate as
reported by the Vermont Department of Labor; or

(ii1) a median sales price for residential properties under six acres
that is not more than 80 percent of the statewide median sales price for
residential properties under six acres as reported by the Vermont Department
of Taxes.

(4) Project criteria. Determine that the proposed development within a
tax increment financing district will accomplish at least three two of the
following five four criteria:

as deﬁned in 24 V.S. A S 4303

(&)(B) The project will affect the remediation and redevelopment of
a brownfield located within the district. As used in this section, “brownfield”
means an area in which a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant is or
may be present, and that situation is likely to complicate the expansion,
development, redevelopment, or reuse of the property.

MD)(C) The development will include at least one entirely new
business or business operation or expansion of an existing business within the
district, and this business will provide new, quality high-quality, full-time jobs
that meet or exceed the prevailing wage for the region as reported by the
department of labor.

(E)}(D) The development will enhance transportation by creating
improved traffic patterns and flow or creating or improving public
transportation systems.
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Sec. J.3. IMPLEMENTATION

Secs. J.1 and J.2 of this act shall apply only to tax increment financing
district applications filed, and districts approved, on or after the date of
passage of this act.

* # % Climate Economy Accelerator; H.398 * * *
Sec. K.1. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE
(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds:

(1) Vermont needs to attract and support entrepreneurs, youths, and
investors to reinvigorate its economy, today and for the future.

(2) Vermont has a tremendous opportunity to systematically advance
economic activity that addresses the challenge of climate change by reducing
and mitigating carbon impacts, while spurring innovation and creativity,
encouraging entrepreneurism, attracting youths, and building jobs for the
future.

(3) Vermont’s unique environmental image, strong brand recognition
nationally, quality of life, and history of entrepreneurism and invention
provides an opportunity to position the State as a premier place to establish
new businesses whose mission, products, and services can help society and our
economy mitigate the effects of climate change.

(4) The goal of quality job creation as part of the State’s economic
development policy is dependent on providing support for the start-up and
expansion of small businesses sectors of our economy.

(5) The Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund, the Vermont Council on Rural
Development, and a working group of business, finance, and economic
development leaders, are developing the Climate Economy Business
Accelerator Program to grow entrepreneurial opportunities and provide a
network for businesses to promote their solutions, products, and services that
can lead to collaboration and innovation.

(6) The Accelerator Program aims to accelerate the creation and growth
of entrepreneurs that commercialize business solutions to address the negative
impacts of climate change and position our State as the place to come and
build businesses that export solutions for a changing climate worldwide.

(7) Nationally, business accelerators have led to the erowth of start-up
companies, job creation, and enhanced entrepreneurial activity in a region.
Most accelerators are located in major cities and throughout Canada. There
are over 150 business accelerators in the United States at this time.
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(8) Neither Vermont, nor other New England States, have an accelerator
program to support start-up businesses and serve the needs of both rural and
urban businesses.

(9) In early 2017 a climate change-related accelerator will launch in
Philadelphia with a focus on technology development related to agriculture
and water.

(10) The Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund program (VSJF) was created
in 1995 to accelerate the development of Vermont’s green economy. Per its
enabling statute, VSJF focuses its development efforts on particular economic
sectors by supporting the business assistance and financing needs of businesses
in these sectors.

(11) To date, VSJF has concentrated on working with early-stage and
orowth-stage businesses in the green economy, primarily due to a lack of
sufficient funding support to work with start-up businesses. Additional
funding for VSJF’s Accelerator Program will enable it to fulfill its statutory
mission.

(12) A State investment of seed funding would leverage additional
private and philanthropic investment to carry out this work and boost
economic development, innovation, and job creation.

(b) Purpose. The purpose of Sec. K.2 of this act is to create a statutory
framework to authorize the creation of the Climate Economy Business
Accelerator Program capable of attracting and retaining young entrepreneurs
in the State and to position Vermont as a national leader in climate economy
innovation.

Sec. K.2. 10 V.S.A. § 331 is added to read:
§ 331. CLIMATE ECONOMY BUSINESS ACCELERATOR PROGRAM

(a) Definition. In this section “climate economy” means the work
performed by businesses whose products and services are designed to reduce,
mitigate, or prepare for the negative impacts of climate change on human
systems, including:

(1) clean energy development and distribution;

(2) thermal and electrical efficiencies in buildings and building
construction;

(3) evolving public and private transportation systems;

(4) energy and efficiency innovations in the working lands economy:;

(5) recycling, reuse, and renewal of resources; and
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(6) resilience technologies, such as soil-sensing devices.

(b) Program implementation. The Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund shall
have the authority to design and implement a Climate Economy Business
Accelerator Program as follows:

(1) Assemble a team of experienced program partners, mentors,
investors, and business content providers to design and deliver a high quality
experience to Accelerator Program cohort participants.

(2) Recruit and select a cohort of at least 10 start-up and early-stage
businesses to participate together in a three-to-four-month intensive program
of training, mentoring, and investment opportunities.

(3) Assist cohort members in clarifying the market for their products,
evaluating the needs of their management teams, defining their business
models, articulating their unique values, and securing needed investment

capital.

(4) Develop an evaluation and metrics capture process compatible with
Results-Based Accountability and begin tracking results.

(5) Develop a network of climate economy related businesses to work
alongside the Accelerator Program in order to connect cohort members with
the business community to spark business-to-business collaboration, stimulate
additional job growth in the climate economy sector, and provide ongoing
support as their businesses mature.

(6) Raise additional program funding as needed from sponsors, partners,
private foundations, and federal agencies to leverage State general funds.

(¢) Outcomes. The outcomes of the Program shall include:

(1) Increase the success rate of start-up businesses in the climate
economy sector in Vermont.

(2) Create jobs in the climate economy sector.

(3) Attract and retain young entrepreneurs who develop climate
economy businesses in Vermont to serve local, national, and global markets.

(4) Attract equity and venture capital to emerging climate economy
start-up businesses in Vermont.

* # % Opportunity Economy; H.480 * * *

Sec. L.1. MICROBUSINESS DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM; FINDINGS;
APPROPRIATION

(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds:

(1) Since 1989, the Microbusiness Development Program has provided
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free business technical assistance, including training and counseling, as well as
access to capital to Vermonters with low income.

(2) The Vermont Community Action Agencies work in conjunction with
many partners, including other service providers, State agencies, business
technical assistance providers, and both traditional and alternative lenders.

(3) Each year the Program:

(A) enables the creation or expansion of an average of 145
businesses across Vermont;

(B) supports the creation of 84 new jobs: and

(C) provides access to more than $1,100,000.00 in capital.

(4) The average cost per job created through the Program is less than
$3.,600.00.

(b) Intent. It is the intent of the General Assembly to provide additional
funding, subject to available resources, for the regional Microbusiness
Development Programs pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 3722.

Sec. L.2. FINANCIAL EDUCATION, COACHING, AND
CREDIT-BUILDING SERVICES; FINDINGS; APPROPRIATION
(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds:

(1) To overcome barriers to financial security, “Financial Capability”
education and coaching services empower people to stabilize their finances, set
goals and work to achieve them, and sustain successful financial behaviors
over time.

(2) The knowledge and skills gained by Vermonters with low income
enable them better to manage scarce resources, repair or build credit, and
establish or strengthen connections to financial institutions.

(3) Recent studies show that 10 hours of financial education can vyield a
savings of $1,390.00 per year for participants, a substantial sum for families
living in poverty.

(4) Additionally, a recent national study found that 58 percent of
individuals with low-to-moderate income receiving financial coaching and
credit-building services had their credit score increase as a result.

(5) These services in Vermont can and have been customized to meet
the particular needs of families participating in Reach Up.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to provide funding, subject to
available resources, to enable more Vermonters with low income to access
these services.
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* # * Funding Priorities * * *
Sec. M.1. SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER

In fiscal year 2018, it is the intent of the General Assembly to provide
funding, subject to available resources, to the Vermont Small Business
Development Center (SBDC) as follows:

(1) for the purpose of increasing the number of SBDC business
advisors, with priority to underserved regions of the State; and

2) for the purpose of fully funding the SBDC technology
commercialization advisor position.

Sec. M.2. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT MARKETING

(a) The Agency of Commerce and Community Development shall have the
authority, and may use available funds, to:

(1) implement the Department of Economic Development’s economic
development marketing plan to attract and retain residents and businesses to
Vermont, highlighting the many positive features that make Vermont a great
place to live, work, and do business; and

(2) prioritize marketing tactics with the potential to shift most
efficiently and effectively perceptions about Vermont as a place to live and
work, and that will form a set of marketing assets and strategic
framework to sustain Department of Economic Development activities beyond
initial implementation.

(b) Funds available to implement this section may be matched with federal
funds, special funds, grants, donations, and private funds. To increase the
amount and effectiveness of marketing activities conducted, the Agency shall
collaborate with private sector partners to maximize State marketing resources
and to enable Vermont businesses to align their own brand identities with the
Vermont brand, enhancing the reputations of both the business and the State.

(¢) For any economic development marketing plan implemented pursuant
to this section, the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development shall
establish performance measures that support strategic priorities, including
strengthening the State economy, before disbursing funds.

* % * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. N.1. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section, Sec. B.1 (rural economic development infrastructure
districts), and Secs. J-J.3 (tax increment financing districts) shall take effect on

passage.
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(b) The remaining sections shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
(Committee vote: 9-0-2 )
(For text see Senate Journal March 30, 31, 2017 )

Rep. Condon of Colchester, for the Committee on Ways and Means,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and when further
amended as follows:

First: By striking out Secs. J-J.3, Tax Increment Financing Districts, in
their entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Tax Increment Financing Districts* * *
Sec. J. TAX INCREMENT FINANCING; FINDINGS

The General Assembly finds that the State of Vermont has an important role
to play in creating the infrastructure necessary to support downtown
development and revitalization, particularly in distressed communities.

Sec. J.1. 24 V.S.A. § 1892 is amended to read:
§ 1892. CREATION OF DISTRICT

(a) Upon a finding that such action will serve the public purposes of this
subchapter and subject to subsection (d) of this section, the legislative body of
any municipality may create within its jurisdiction a special district to be
known as a tax increment financing district. The district shall be described by
its boundaries and the properties therein and the district boundary shall be
shown on a plan entitled “Proposed Tax Increment Financing District
(municipal name), Vermont.” The legislative body shall hold one or more
public hearings, after public notice, on the proposed plan.

(d) The following municipalities have been authorized to use education tax
increment financing for a tax increment financing district;—and-theVermeont

(1) the City of Burlington, Downtown;

(2) the City of Burlington, Waterfront;
(3) the Town of Milton, North and South;
(4) the City of Newport;
(5) the City of Winooski;
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(6) the Town of Colchester;

(7) the Town of Hartford;

(8) the City of St. Albans;

(9) the City of Barre; and

(10) the Town of Milton, Town Core; and
(11) the City of South Burlington.

(e) Annually, the General Assembly may use the estimate of the maximum
amount of new long-term net debt that prudently may be authorized for tax
increment financing districts in the next fiscal year prepared pursuant to
32 V.S.A. § 305b to determine whether to expand the number of tax increment
financing districts.

Sec. J.2. ADDITIONAL TIF DISTRICTS; FINDINGS; APPROVAL
(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) the City of Newport has retired its tax increment financing district
and all debt incurred in the district was repaid in 2015; and

(2) the Town of Colchester voted to dissolve its tax increment financing
district in November 2014.

(b) Notwithstanding 24 V.S.A. § 1892(d), and as a result of the termination
of the two tax increment financing districts described in subsection (a) of this
section, the Vermont Economic Progress Council is authorized to approve two
additional tax increment financing districts.

Sec. J.3. 24 V.S.A. § 1894 is amended to read:
§ 1894. POWER AND LIFE OF DISTRICT

(a) Incurring indebtedness.

(1) A municipality approved under 32 V.S.A. § 5404a(h) may incur
indebtedness against revenues of the tax increment financing district at any
time during a period of up to five years following the creation of the district.
If no debt is incurred during this five-year period, the district shall terminate,
unless the Vermont Economic Progress Council grants an extension to a
municipality pursuant to subsection (d) of this section. However, if any
indebtedness is incurred within the first five years after the creation of the
district, then the district has a total of ten years after the creation of the district
to incur any additional debt.

% sk ok
(c) Use of the municipal property tax increment. For only debt incurred
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within the period permitted under subdivision (a)(1) of this section after

creation of the district, and related costs, net-less—than-an—equal-share 100
percent of the municipal tax increment pursuant—to—subsection(f)—of this

section shall be retained to service the debt, beginning the first year in which
debt is incurred, pursuant to subsection (b) of this section.

k %k %k

(f) Equalsharerequired Required share of increment. If any tax increment
utilization is approved pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 5404a(h), ne not more than 75

percent of the State property tax increment and ne not less than an—equal
percent 100 percent of the municipal tax increment may be approved by the
Council or used by the municipality to service this debt.

k %k %k

Sec. J.4. 32 V.S.A. § 305D is added to read:
§ 305b. EDUCATION PROPERTY TAX INCREMENT; EMERGENCY
BOARD ESTIMATE

(a) Annually, at the January meeting of the Emergency Board held
pursuant to section 305a of this title, the Joint Fiscal Office and the Secretary
of Administration shall provide to the Emergency Board a consensus estimate
of forgone revenue from the Education Fund resulting from the retention of
education property tax increment by tax increment financing districts
authorized pursuant to 24 V.S.A. chapter 53 and section 5404a of this title.
The estimate shall be for the succeeding fiscal year. The Emergency Board
shall adopt an official estimate of forgone revenue from the Education Fund at
the January meeting.

(b) Annually, on or before September 30 of each vyear, the Emergency
Board shall review the size and affordability of the net indebtedness for tax
increment financing districts and submit to the Governor and to the General
Assembly an estimate of the maximum amount of new long-term net debt that
prudently may be authorized for tax increment financing districts in the next
fiscal vear. The estimate of the Board shall be advisory, and shall take into
consideration:

(1) any existing or new debt incurred by authorized tax increment
financing districts; and

(2) the impact of the amount of the indebtedness on the General and
Education Funds.

Sec. J.5. 16 V.S.A. § 4025 is amended to read:
§ 4025. EDUCATION FUND
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(a) An The Education Fund is established to comprise the following:

(1) All revenue paid to the State from the statewide education tax on
nonresidential and homestead property under 32 V.S.A. chapter 135.

(2) For each fiscal year, the amount of the general funds appropriated
and transferred to the Education Fund shall be $305,900,000.00, to be
increased annually beginning for fiscal year 2018 by the consensus Joint Fiscal
Office and Administration determination of the National Income and Product
Accounts (NIPA) Implicit Price Deflator for State and Local Government
Consumption Expenditures and Gross Investment as reported by the U.S.
Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis through the fiscal
year for which the payment is being determined, plus an additional one-tenth
of one percent, plus an amount equal to one-half of the official estimate of
forgone revenue from the Education Fund adopted by the Emergency Board
pursuant to section 305b of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. J.6. 32 V.S.A. § 5404a(h) is amended to read:

(h) Criteria for approval. To approve utilization of incremental revenues
pursuant to subsection (f) of this section, the Vermont Economic Progress
Council shall do all the following:

to-determine-that the

(1) Rewiew Conduct a review of each application

iew that shall take

into account:

(A) the amount of additional time, if any, needed to complete the
proposed development within the tax increment district and the amount of
additional cost that might be incurred if the project were to proceed without
education property tax increment financing;

(B) how the proposed development components and size would
differ, if at all, including, if applicable to the development, in the number of
units of affordable housing, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303, without education
property tax increment financing; and

(C) the amount of additional revenue expected to be generated as a
result of the proposed development; the percentage of that revenue that shall
be paid to the educationfund Education Fund; the percentage that shall be paid
to the municipality; and the percentage of the revenue paid to the municipality
that shall be used to pay financing incurred for development of the tax
increment financing district.
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(3) Location criteria. Determine that each application meets one of the
following criteria:

(A) The development or redevelopment is compact, high density, and
located in or near existing industrial areas.

(B) The proposed district is within an approved growth center,
designated downtown, designated village center, er new town center, or
neighborhood development area.

(C) The development will occur in an area that is economically
dlstressed which for the purposes of this subdivision means that the area-has

a—deel-me—m—real—pttepeﬁ-}walues mumclpahty in Wthh the area is located has

at least one of the following:

(1) a median family income that is not more than 80 percent of the
statewide median family income as reported by the Vermont Department of
Taxes for the most recent year for which data are available;

(i1)) an annual average unemployment rate that is at least one
percent greater than the latest annual average statewide unemployment rate as
reported by the Vermont Department of Labor; or

(ii1) a median sales price for residential properties under six acres
that is not more than 80 percent of the statewide median sales price for
residential properties under six acres as reported by the Vermont Department
of Taxes.

(4) Project criteria. Determine that the proposed development within a
tax increment financing district will accomplish at least three of the following
five criteria:

(A) The development within the tax increment financing district
clearly requires substantial public investment over and above the normal
municipal operating or bonded debt expenditures.

(B) The development includes new or rehabilitated affordable

housing

as deﬁned in 24 V.S. A 5 4303

(C) The project will affect the remediation and redevelopment of a
brownfield located within the district. As used in this section, “brownfield”
means an area in which a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant is or
may be present, and that situation is likely to complicate the expansion,
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development, redevelopment, or reuse of the property.

(D) The development will include at least one entirely new business
or business operation or expansion of an existing business within the district,
and this business will provide new, quality high-quality, full-time jobs that
meet or exceed the prevailing wage for the region as reported by the

department-oflabor Department of Labor.

(E) The development will enhance transportation by creating
improved traffic patterns and flow or creating or improving public
transportation systems.

Sec. J.7. 24 V.S.A. chapter 53, subchapter 5 is redesignated to read:
Subchapter 5. Statewide Tax Increment Financing

Sec. J.8. 24 V.S.A. chapter 53, subchapter 6 is added to read:
Subchapter 6. Municipal Tax Increment Financing

§ 1903. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “District” or “TIF” means a tax increment financing district.

(2) “Improvements” means the installation, new construction, or
reconstruction of infrastructure to benefit a municipal tax increment financing
district, including utilities, transportation, public facilities and amenities, land
and property acquisition and demolition, and site preparation.

(3) “Legislative body” means the mavor and alderboard, the city
council, the selectboard, or the president and trustees of an incorporated
village, as appropriate.

(4) “Municipality” means a city, town, or incorporated village.

(5) “Original taxable value” means the total valuation as determined in
accordance with 32 V.S.A. chapter 129 of all taxable real property located
within the tax increment financing district as of the creation date as set forth in
section 1904 of this subchapter, provided that no parcel within the district shall
be divided or bisected by the district boundary.

(6) “Related costs” means expenses incurred and paid by the
municipality, exclusive of the actual cost of constructing and financing
improvements, that are directly related to the creation and implementation of a
municipal tax increment financing district, including reimbursement of sums
previously advanced by the municipality for those purposes, direct municipal
expenses such as departmental or personnel costs related to creating or
administering the project, and audit costs allocable to the district.
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§ 1904. MUNICIPAL TAX INCREMENT FINANCING DISTRICT

(a) General authority. Notwithstanding any provision of subchapter 5 of
this chapter or 32 V.S.A. § 5404a to the contrary, upon approval of the
legislative body of any municipality, a municipality may create a municipal tax
increment financing district, and may incur debt to provide funding for
improvements and related costs for the district.

(b) Municipal approval; voter approval.

(1) The legislative body of the municipality shall hold one or more
public hearings to consider a municipal tax increment financing plan.
Following public notice, hearing, and opportunity to comment, the legislative
body of the municipality may grant approval of the plan.

(2) When adopted by the act of the legislative body of that municipality,
the plan shall be recorded with the municipal clerk and lister or assessor, and
the creation of the district shall occur at 12:01 a.m. on April 1 of the calendar
year so voted by the municipal legislative body.

(3) The municipality may only incur debt for the project if the voters of
the municipality approve the debt obligation by a majority vote at a regular or
special meeting for which voting upon the debt obligation was properly
warned.

(4) Following final voter approval, the municipality has up to five years
to incur debt pursuant to the financing plan.

(¢) Life of district.

(1) A municipality may incur indebtedness against revenues of the
municipal tax increment financing district over any period authorized by the
legislative body of the municipality.

(2) Any indebtedness incurred under subdivision (1) of this subsection
may be retired over any period authorized by the legislative body of the

municipality.
(3) The district shall continue until the date and hour the indebtedness is

retired or, if no debt is incurred, after the period authorized by the legislative
body of the municipality to incur indebtedness.

(d) Financing. During the life of an active district, the following apply,
notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary:

(1) Valuation.

(A) Within 30 days of voter approval pursuant to subsection (b) of
this section, the lister or assessor for a municipality shall certify to the
legislative body of the municipality the original taxable value of a tax
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increment financing district as of the date the voters approved the debt
obligation.

(B) On or before June 30 following voter approval and annually
thereafter, the lister or assessor shall assess and certify to the legislative body
the current value of a project parcel.

(2) Tax rate.

(A) The lister or assessor shall use the original taxable value of a
project parcel when computing the municipal tax rate.

(B) When calculating the amount of tax due on a project parcel, the
treasurer shall apply the municipal tax rate to the current assessed value, rather
than the original taxable value.

(3) Tax increment.

(A) The “tax increment” is the amount of tax paid on a project
parcel, as calculated pursuant to subdivision (2)(B) of this subsection (d) using
the current assessed value, that exceeds the amount of tax that would have
been due if the tax rate were applied to the original taxable value.

(B) The municipality may retain any share of the municipal tax
increment to service the debt, beginning the first year in which debt is
incurred.

(C) A municipal tax increment financing district created pursuant to
this subchapter is not authorized to retain any education property tax
increment.

(D) A municipality shall segregate the tax increment in a special
account and in its official books and records.

(4) Use of tax increment.

(A) As of each date the municipality receives a tax payment and
retains a portion of the tax increment pursuant to this section, the municipality
shall use the portion of the municipal tax increment that is necessary to pay
costs actually incurred as of that date for debt service and related costs.

(B) If, after paying for improvements and related costs, there remains
any excess portion of the tax increment, the municipality may retain the
increment to prepay principal and interest on the financing, use for future
financing payments, or use for defeasance of the financing.

(e) Annual audit.

(1) The municipality shall ensure that the segregated account for the tax
increment financing district required by this section is subject to the annual
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audit requirements prescribed in sections 1681 and 1690 of this title.

(2) Any audit procedures shall include verification of the original
taxable value and current assessed value, expenditures for project debt service
and related costs, annual and total tax increment funds generated, and
allocation of tax increment funds.

Sec. J.9. IMPLEMENTATION

Secs. J.1—- J.3 and J.6 of this act shall apply only to tax increment financing
district applications filed, and districts approved, on or after the date of
passage of this act.

Second: In Sec. A.1, 32 V.S.A. chapter 105, by striking out section 3341 in
its entirety.

Third: By redesignating Secs. H.9—H.10 as Secs. H.10-H.11 and inserting
a new Sec. H.9 to read:

Sec. H.9. 32 V.S.A. § 5930bb(a) is amended to read:

(a) Qualified applicants may apply to the State Board to obtain the tax
credits provided by this subchapter for a qualified project at any time before

one-year-after the completion of the qualified project.
Fourth: By inserting a Sec. M.3 to read:

Sec. M.3. 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 179, Sec. G.100(b), as amended by
2015 Acts and Resolves No. 51, Sec. G.9, and 2016 Acts and Resolves No.
172, Sec. E.801, is further amended to read:

(b) Sec. E.100.6 (wood products manufacture incentive) shall take effect
retroactively on January 1, 2014 and apply to tax years 2014, 2015, and 2016,
2017, and 2018.

Fifth: In Sec. N.1, Effective Dates, in subsection (a), by striking out “J—
J.3” and inserting in lieu thereof “J—J.9”

( Committee Vote: 9-2-0)

Rep. Trieber of Rockingham, for the Committee on Appropriations,
recommends the bill ought to pass when amended as recommended by the
Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and Ways and Means.

(Committee Vote: 7-4-0)

Amendment to be offered by Reps. Masland of Thetford to the
recommendation of proposal of amendment of the Committee on
Government Operations to S. 135

Be further amended in Sec. J.6, 32 V.S.A. § 5404a(h), in subdivision
(4)(B), by striking out subdivision (B) in its entirety and by inserting in lieu
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thereof the following:

(B) The development includes one or more new or rehabilitated

affordable housing that-is—affordable—to-the majority—of the residents tiving

(13 2

A a’ a a me

developments, as defined in 24 V.S.A. § 4303.
Amendment to be offered by Rep. Christie of Hartford to the

recommendation of proposal of amendment of the Committee on
Government Operations to S. 135

By adding a Sec. K.3 to read:
Sec. K.3 BUSINESS INCUBATOR AND ACCELERATOR CONFERENCE

The Agency of Commerce and Community Development, in collaboration
with the Center for Entrepreneurial Programs at Castleton University, shall
have the authority to convene the first annual “Business Incubator and
Accelerator Conference,” which shall be designed to facilitate networking,
collaboration, and the exchange of ideas among business professionals and
entrepreneurs, including those involved in incubators, microbusiness
development programs, the Vermont Center for Emerging Technologies,
accelerators, regional development corporations, and businesses.

Amendment to be offered by Reps. O'Sullivan of Burlington, Botzow of
Pownal, Hill of Wolcott, Marcotte of Coventry and Sullivan of Dorset to
the recommendation of amendment of the Committee on Commerce and
Economic Development to S. 135

By inserting a Sec. J.10 to read as follows:
Sec. J.10. TAX INCREMENT FINANCING CAPACITY

(a) The Joint Fiscal Office, with the assistance of the consulting Legislative
Economist, the Department of Taxes, the State Auditor, and the Agency of
Commerce and Community Development, shall examine the use of both tax
increment financing districts (TIFs) and other policy options for State
assistance to municipalities for funding infrastructure in support of economic
development and shall report on the capacity of Vermont to utilize TIFs
moving forward.

(b) The report shall include for TIFs, and for other potential tools for
funding infrastructure in support of economic development as applicable:

(1) a recommendation for a sustainable statewide capacity level for TIFs
or other tools and relevant permitting criteria;

(2) the impact on the State fiscal health, including the General Fund and
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Education Fund;

(3) the economic development impacts on the State, both positive and
negative;

(4) the mechanics for ensuring geographic diversity of TIFs or other
tools throughout the State; and

(5) the parameters of TIFs and other tools in other states.

(¢) The report in this section shall be made to the General Assembly on or
before January 15, 2018.

Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 22

An act relating to the professional regulation of law enforcement officers by
the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First: In Sec. 1, 20 V.S.A. chapter 151 (Vermont Criminal Justice Training
Council), by striking out section 2355 (Council powers and duties) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

§ 2355. COUNCIL POWERS AND DUTIES
(a) The Council shall adopt rules with respect to:

k %k %k

(10) a definition of criminal justice personnel and criminal justice
training for purposes of this title; and

Executive Director;-may to grant up to a 60-day waiver to a law enforcement
officer who has failed to meet his or her annual in-service training
requirements but who is able to complete those training requirements within
that-60-dayperiod the time period permitted by the Executive Director.

(b) The Council shall conduct and administer training schools and offer
courses of instruction for law enforcement officers and other criminal justice
personnel. The Council may also offer the basic officer’s course for pre-
service students and educational outreach courses for the public, including
firearms safety and use of force.
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(f) The Council shall charge participants or employers of participants in
law enforcement training programs as follows:

k %k %k

(2) The tuition fees for training not required under section 2358 of this
chapter shall be set to reflect the actual costs for operation of the particular
programs offered, with an additional $30.00 entrance exam fee assessed on all
training, except educational outreach courses for the public.

k %k %k

Second: In Sec. 1, in 20 V.S.A. § 2362a (potential hiring agency; duty to
contact former agency), by striking out subsection (b) in its entirety and
inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(b)(1)(A) If that former agency is a law enforcement agency in this State,
the executive officer of that former agency or designee shall disclose to the
potential hiring agency in writing the reason the officer is no longer employed
by the former agency.

(B) The executive officer or designee shall send a copy of the
disclosure to the officer at the same time he or she sends it to the potential

hiring agency.
(2) Such a former agency shall be immune from liability for its

disclosure described in subdivision (1) of this subsection, unless such
disclosure would constitute intentional misrepresentation or gross negligence.

Third: In Sec. 1, 20 V.S.A. chapter 151 (Vermont Criminal Justice Training
Council), in section 2401 (definitions), in subdivision (2) (“Category B
conduct”), after the following: “amounting to actions on duty or under color of
authority, or both, that involve” by inserting the following: willful failure to
comply with a State-required policy or

Fourth: 1In Sec. 1, 20 V.S.A. chapter 151 (Vermont Criminal Justice
Training Council), by striking out section 2406 (permitted Council sanctions)
in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

§ 2406. PERMITTED COUNCIL SANCTIONS

(a) Generally. The Council may impose any of the following sanctions on
a law enforcement officer’s certification upon its finding that a law
enforcement officer committed unprofessional conduct:

(1) written warning;

(2) suspension, but to run concurrently with the length and time of any
suspension imposed by a law enforcement agency with an effective internal
affairs program, which shall amount to suspension for time already served if
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an officer has already served a suspension imposed by his or her agency with
such a program;

(3) revocation, with the option of recertification at the discretion of the
Council; or

(4) permanent revocation.

(b) Intended revocation; temporary voluntary surrender.

(1)(A) If, after an evidentiary hearing, the Council intends to revoke a
law enforcement officer’s certification due to its finding that the officer
committed unprofessional conduct, the Council shall issue a decision to that
effect.

(B) Within 10 business days from the date of that decision, such an
officer may voluntarily surrender his or her certification if there is a pending
labor proceeding related to the Council’s unprofessional conduct findings.

(C) A voluntary surrender of an officer’s certification shall remain in
effect until the labor proceeding and all appeals are finally adjudicated or until
the officer requests a final sanction hearing, whichever occurs first, and
thereafter until the Council’s final sanction hearing on the matter. At that
hearing, the Council may modify its findings and decision on the basis of
additional evidence.

(2) If an officer fails to voluntarily surrender his or her certification in
accordance with subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Council’s original
findings and decision shall take effect.

Fifth: In Sec. 2 (transitional provisions to implement this act), by adding a
new subsection to be letter subsection (g) to read as follows:

(2) Council, OPR; joint report. On or before October 1, 2017, the
Executive Director of the Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council and the
Director of the Office of Professional Regulation (Office) shall consult with
law enforcement stakeholders and report to the Senate and House Committees
on Government Operations on a proposal for the Office to perform duties
related to the professional regulation of law enforcement officers.

Sixth: In Sec. 2 (transitional provisions to implement this act), in
subsection (a) (effective internal affairs programs), in subdivision (1) (law
enforcement agencies), following the words “On or before” by striking out the
following: “January 1, 2018” and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

July 1, 2018
Seventh: In Sec. 2 (transitional provisions to implement this act), in

subsection (a) (effective internal affairs programs), in subdivision (2) (Vermont
Criminal Justice Training Council), following the words “On or before” by
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striking out the following: “October 1, 2017 and inserting in lieu thereof the
following: April 1, 2018

Eighth: In Sec. 2 (transitional provisions to implement this act), in
subsection (f) (annual report of Executive Director), following “Annually, on
or before January 15, beginning in the year” by striking out the following:

“2018 and ending in the year 2021 and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
2019 and ending in the year 2022

Ninth: By striking out in Sec. 6 (effective dates) its entirety and inserting in
lieu thereof after the reader assistance the following:

Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATES
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2018, except:

(1) this section and Sec. 2 (transitional provisions to implement this act)
shall take effect on passage: and

(2) the following shall take effect on July 1, 2017:

(A) in Sec. 1, 20 V.S.A. chapter 151 (Vermont Criminal Justice
Training Council):

(1) § 2351 (creation and purpose of Council);
(i1) § 2351a (definitions);

(ii1) § 2352 (Council membership);

(iv) § 2354 (Council meetings);

(v) § 2355 (Council powers and duties), except that subsection (a)
shall take effect on July 1, 2018;

(vi) § 2358 (minimum training standards: definitions); and

(vil) § 2362a (potential hiring agency; duty to contact former

agency);
(B) Sec. 3,20 V.S.A. § 1812 (definitions); and

(C) Sec. 4, 20 V.S.A. § 1922 (creation of State Police Advisory
Commission; members; duties).

(For text see House Journal March 21, 22, 2017 )
H. 130

An act relating to approval of amendments to the charter of the Town of
Hartford

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:
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In Sec. 2, 24 App. V.S.A. chapter 123A, by striking out in its entirety
section 201 (town meeting).

(For text see House Journal March 24, 2017 )
H. 238
An act relating to modernizing and reorganizing Title 7

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* * * Modernization and Reorganization of Title 7 * * *
Sec. 1. 7 V.S.A. § 1 is amended to read:
§ 1. CONSTRUCTION

This title is based on the taxing power and the police power of the state
State, and is for the protection of the public welfare, good order, health, peace,
safety, and morals of the people of the state,—and-all-ef-its State. The

provisions of this title shall be liberally construed for-the-accomplishment-of
the to accomplish its purposes set-forth-herein.

Sec. 2. 7 V.S.A. § 2 is amended to read:
§ 2. DEFINITIONS

Thefollowing—words—as As used in this title;unless—a—contrary-meaningis

(1) “Alcohol”: means the product of distillation ef-spirits—or—any
fermented—malt—or—vinous—beverage, fermentation, or chemical synthesis,

including alcoholic beverages, ethyl alcohol, and nonpotable alcohol.

(2) “Alcoholic beverages” means malt beverages, vinous beverages,
spirits, and fortified wines.

(3) “Board of Liquor and Lottery” means the Board of Control
appointed under the provisions of chapter 5 of this title.

(4) “Boat”: means a vessel suitably equipped and operated for the
transportation of passengers in interstate commerce.

6)(5) “Caterer’s license”: means a license issued by the Liquor-Ceontrol

Board of Liquor and Lottery authorizing the holder of a first-class license or
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first- and third-class licenses for-a-restaurant-or-hotel premises to serve malt-or
vinous-beverages;-spirits;—or-fortified-wines alcoholic beverages at a function

located on premises other than those occupied by a first-, first- and third-, or
second-class licensee to sell alcoholic beverages.

(6) ““Certificate of approval” means a license granted by the Board of
Liquor and Lottery to a manufacturer or distributor of malt beverages or
vinous beverages, or both, that is not licensed under the provisions of this title,
that permits the licensee to sell those beverages to holders of a packager’s or
wholesale dealer’s license.

(7) “Club”: means an unincorporated association or a corporation

authorized to do business in this State, that has been in existence for at least
two consecutive years prior to the date of application for a license under this
title and owns, hires, or leases a building or space in a building that is suitable
and adequate for the reasonable and comfortable use and accommodation of its
members and their guests and contains suitable and adequate kitchen and
dining room space and equipment implements and facilities. A-—club-may-be

een&dered—te—be—&n—empleyee—ef—the—el&b— A bona ﬁde umncorporated

association or corporation whose officers and members consist solely of

veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces or a subordinate lodge or local chapter of

any national fraternal order, and which fulfills all requirements of this

subdivision section 229 of this title, except that it has not been in existence for

at least two years, shall come within the terms of this definition six months
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(8) “Commercial catering license” means a license granted by the Board

of Liquor and Lottery permitting a business licensed by the Department of
Health as a commercial caterer and having a commercial kitchen facility in the
home or place of business to sell alcoholic beverages at a function previously
approved by the local control commissioners.

(9) “Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery” or “Commissioner”’ means
the executive officer of the Board of Liquor and Lottery appointed under the
provisions of chapter 5 of this title.

8)(10) “Control commissioners”s means the commissioners of a
municipality appointed under section 166 of this title.

(11) “Department” means the Department of Liquor and Lottery.

(12) “Destination resort master license” means a license granted by the
Board of Liquor and Lottery pursuant to section 242 of this title permitting a
destination resort to designate licensed caterers and commercial caterers that
will be permitted to cater individual events within the boundaries of the resort
without being required to obtain a request to cater permit for each individual
event. For purposes of a destination resort master license, a “destination
resort” 1s a resort that contains at least 100 acres of land, offers at least 50 units
of sleeping accommodations, offers meal and beverage service to the public
for consideration, and has related sports and recreational facilities for the
convenience or enjoyment of its guests. “Destination resort” does not include
the University of Vermont, the Vermont State Colleges, or any other university,
college, or postsecondary school.

(13) “Dining car’: means a railroad car on which meals are prepared
and served.

(14) “Division” means the Division of Liquor Control within the
Department of Liquor and Lottery.

(15) “Festival permit” means a permit granted by the Division of Liquor
Control permitting a person to conduct an event at which malt or vinous
beverages, or both, are sold by the glass to the public, provided the event is
approved by the local control commissioners.

0)(16) “First-class license”: means a license granted-by-the-control

commissioners permitting the licensee to sell malt or vinous beverages to the
public for consumption only on the premises for which the license is granted.
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(17) “Fortified wine permit” means a permit granted to a second-class
licensee that permits the licensee to export and sell fortified wines to the public
for consumption off the licensed premises.

(18) “Fortified wines” mean vinous beverages, including those to which
spirits have been added during manufacture, containing at least 16 percent
alcohol but no more than 23 percent alcohol by volume at 60 degrees
Fahrenheit, and all vermouths containing no more than 23 percent alcohol by
volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

(19)  “Fourth-class license” means a license permitting a licensed
manufacturer or rectifier to sell by the unopened container and distribute by
the glass, with or without charge, beverages manufactured by the licensee.

(20) “Home-fermented beverages” means malt or vinous beverages
produced at home and not for sale.

AH(21) “Hotel” has the same meaning as in 32 V.S.A. § 9202(3) and as
determmed by the quuer—@entrel Board of L1quor and Lottery A—hetel—that

(22) “Industrial alcohol distributor’s license” means a license granted by
the Board of Liquor and Lottery that allows holders to sell pure ethyl or grain
alcohol of at least 190 proof in quantities of five gallons or more directly to
manufacturers, industrial users, hospitals, druggists, and institutions of

learning.

(23) “Keg” means a reusable container capable of holding at least five
gallons of malt beverage or at least two and a half gallons of vinous beverage.

(24) “Legal age” means 21 vyears of age or older.

4(25) “Malt beverages™: means all fermented beverages of any name
or description manufactured for sale from malt, wholly or in part, or from any
substitute therefor, known as, among other things, beer, perter; ale, and-stout

or lager, containing not less than one percent nor more than 16 percent of




5)(26) “Manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license”: means a license granted
by the Liguer-Centrol Board of Liquor and Lottery that permits the holder to

manufacture or rectify malt beverages, er vinous beverages and fortified

wines, or spirits and fortified wines. Spirits—and fortified wines—may be

(27) “Minor” means an individual who has not attained 21 vyears of age.

(28) “Outside consumption permit” means a permit granted by the
Division of Liquor Control allowing the holder of a first-class, first- and third-
class, or fourth-class license to allow for consumption of alcoholic beverages
in a delineated outside area.

(29) “Packager’s license” means a license granted by the Board of
Liquor and Lottery permitting a person to bottle or otherwise package
alcoholic beverages for sale and to distribute and sell alcoholic beverages at
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wholesale in this State.

6)(30) “Person™, as applied to licensees, means an individual who is a
citizen or a lawful permanent resident of the United States; a partnership
composed of individuals, a majority of whom are citizens or lawful permanent
residents of the United States; a corporation organized under the laws of this
State or another state in which a majority of the directors are citizens or lawful
permanent residents of the United States; or a limited liability company
organized under the laws of this State or another state in which a majority of
the members or managers are citizens or lawful permanent residents of the
United States.

(31) “Request to cater permit” means a permit granted by the Division
of Liquor Control authorizing a licensed caterer or commercial caterer to cater
individual events.

8)(32) “Retail dealer’: means any person who sells or distributes
furnishes malt or vinous beverages to the public.

(33) “Retail delivery permit” means a permit granted by the Division of
Liquor Control that permits a second-class licensee to deliver malt beverages
or vinous beverages sold from the licensed premises for consumption off the
premises to an individual who is at least 21 vyears of age at a physical address
in Vermont.

(34) “Sampler flight” means a flight, ski, paddle, or any similar device
by design or name intended to hold alcoholic beverage samples for the purpose
of comparison.

H9(35) “Second-class license”: means a license granted-by-the-control

commissioners permitting the licensee to export malt beverages or vinous
beverages and to sell malt beverages or vinous beverages to the public for
consumptlon off the premlses for which the license is granted T—he—kqueit

(36) “Special event permit” means a permit granted by the Division of
Liquor Control permitting a licensed manufacturer or rectifier to sell, by the
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glass or by the unopened bottle, alcoholic beverages manufactured or rectified
by the license holder at an event open to the public that has been approved by
the local control commissioners.

(37) “Special venue serving permit” means a permit granted by the
Division of Liquor Control permitting an art gallery, bookstore, public library,
or museum to conduct an event at which malt or vinous beverages or both are
served by the glass to the public. As used in this section, “art gallery” means a
fixed establishment whose primary purpose is to exhibit or offer for sale works
of art; “bookstore” means a fixed establishment whose primary purpose is to
offer books for sale; “public library” has the same meaning as in 22 V.S.A.
§ 101; and “museum” has the same meaning as in 27 V.S.A. § 1151.

(38) ““‘Specialty beer” means a malt beverage that contains more than
eight percent alcohol and not more than 16 percent alcohol by volume at
60 degrees Fahrenheit.

20)(39) “Spirits” er—“spirituous-Hiquors”: means beverages that contain

more than one percent of alcohol obtained by distillation, by chemical
synthesis, or through concentration by freezing; vinous beverages containing
more than 23 percent of alcohol; and malt beverages containing more than

16 percent of alcohol er—meiae—th&n—y#pereem—ef—aleehel—bﬁthe—teﬂmnal

ured by volume at

22)(40) “Third-class license”: means a license granted by the Liquer
Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery permitting the licensee to sell spirits and

fortified wines for consumption only on the premises for which the license is
granted.

23)(41) “Vinous beverages”: means all fermented beverages of any
name or description manufactured or obtained for sale from the natural sugar
content of fruits or other agricultural product, containing sugar, the alcoholic
content of which is not less than one percent nor more than 16 percent by
volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

25)(42) “Wholesale dealer’s license”:—the means a license granted by
the Liguer—Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery permitting the whelesale
dealer holder to sell or distribute malt or vinous beverages as—a—whelesale
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dealer to first- and second-class licensees, to educational sampling event
permit holders, and to agencies of the United States.
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Sec. 3. 7 V.S.A. § 3 is amended to read:

§ 3. CULINARY ARTS STUDENTS; EXEMPTIONS FROM PROVISIONS
OF TITLE

A student aged 18 years of age or older who is enrolled in a postsecondary
education culinary arts program, accredited by a commission recognized by
the U.S. Department of Education, shall be exempt from the provisions of this
title while attending classes that require the possession or consumption of
alcoholic beverages.

Sec. 4. 7 V.S.A. § 4 is amended to read:

§ 4. NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS; WINE AND BEER AUCTIONS;
FUNDRAISING

(a) A nonprofit organization qualified for tax exempt status pursuant to
Section 501(c) of the federal Internal Revenue Code, as amended, in the
discretion of the commissioner Commissioner, may auction vineus—er—malt
beverages,—or—beth; alcoholic beverages to the public without a license,
provided that:

(1) Prior to the auction, the organization provides written notification of
the auction accompanied by documentation of its nonprofit status satisfactory
to the commissioner Commissioner.

(2) The commissioner Commissioner approves the organization’s
nonprofit qualifications and the organization’s right proposal to auction vinous
or-malt alcoholic beverages.

(3) The profits from the auction-sale-of auctioned beverages are used
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solely for the expenses of the nonprofit organization related to cenduet
conducting the sale auction or for the nonprofit purposes of the organization.

(b) A person who donates vinous-er-malt alcoholic beverages to a nonprofit
organization for an auction under this section is not required to be licensed

under this ¢hapter title.

(c) A licensee under this title may donate alcoholic beverages to a
nonprofit organization pursuant to this section, provided the licensee pays to
the state State all the taxes that would be due as if the alcoholic beverages had
been sold in the course of the licensee’s business.

k %k %k

Sec. 5. 7 V.S.A. chapter 3 is redesignated to read:

CHAPTER 3. RESTRICTIONS AND PROHIBITED ACTS
Sec. 6. 7 V.S.A. § 61 is amended to read:
§ 61. RESTRICTIONS; EXCEPTIONS

(a) A person;—partnership,-association,—or-corperation shall not furnish or

sell, er-expose or keep with intent to sell, any malt-or-vinous-beverages,spirits;
or-fortified-wines alcoholic beverages, or manufacture, sell, barter, transport,

import, export, deliver, prescribe, furnish, or possess any alcohol, except as
authorized by this title.

(b) Hewever Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, this chapter
shall not apply to:

(1) the furnishing of sueh alcoholic beverages or-spirits by a-person an
individual in his or her private dwelling unless sueh the dwelling becomes a

(2) the use of sacramental wine;-ner-to; or

(3) the furnishing, purchase, sale, barter, transportation, importation,
exportation, delivery, prescription, or possession of alcohol for manufacturing,
mechanical, medicinal, and scientific purposes, provided the-same that it is
done under-and in accordance with the rules and-regulations-made of the Board
of Liquor and Lottery and licenses and permits issued by the Liquor-Control
Board or Division of Liquor Control as hereinafter provided in this title.

Sec. 7. 7 V.S.A. § 62 is amended to read:
§ 62. HOURS OF SALE
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(a) Heolders—of first—orfirst——and-third-class-licenses First- or first- and
third-class licensees, or festival, special event, or educational sampling event

permit holders may sell malt-and vinous beverages—or spirits—and fortified

wanes alcoholic beverages between the hours of &:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. the
next morning.

(b)(1) Holders—of second-classlicenses Second-class licensees may sell
malt and vinous beverages between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 12:00 aam-—the
next-morning midnight.

(2) Fourth-class licensees may sell or furnish alcoholic beverages
between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 12:00 midnight.

k %k %k

Sec. 8. 7 V.S.A. § 63 is amended to read:

§ 63. IMPORTATION OR TRANSPORTATION OF HQUORS ALCOHOL,;
PROHIBITIONS; PERSONAL IMPORT LIMIT; PENALTY

(a)(1) All spirits and fortified wines imported or transported into this State
shall be imported or transported by and through the Liquer-Contrel Board of
Liquor and Lottery. A person importing or transporting or causing to be
imported or transported into this State any spirits and or fortified wines, or
both, in violation of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or
fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(2) Hewever Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, a
person may import or transport not more than eight quarts of spirits and or
fortified wines, or both, into this State in his or her own private vehicle or in
his or her actual possession at the time of importation without a license or
permit, provided the beverages are not for resale.

(b)(1) Except as provided in sections 66-and-68 277, 278, and 283 of this
title, all malt or vinous beverages, or both, imported or transported into this
State shall be imported or transported by and through a—whelesale—dealer
helding the holder of a wholesale dealer’s license issued by the Liquer-Ceontrol
Board of Liquor and Lottery. A person importing or transporting or causing to
be imported or transported into this State any malt or vinous beverages, or
both, in violation of this section shall be imprisoned not more than one year or
fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(2) Provided,—however Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this
subsection, a person may import or transport not more than six gallons of malt
or vinous beverages, or both, into this State in his or her own private vehicle or

in his or her actual possession at the time of importation without a license or
permit, providingitis provided the beverages are not for resale.
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Sec. 9. 7 V.S.A. § 64 is amended to read:

§ 64. SALE OF MALT BEVERAGES AND VINOUS BEVERAGES IN
KEGS

) A keg shall be sold by a second—class second-class or fourth-class

licensee only under the following conditions:

(1) The keg shall be tagged in a manner and with a label approved by
the beard Board of Liquor and Lottery. The label shall be supplied and
securely affixed to the keg by the wholesale dealer, or in the case of a second-
class license issued for the premises of a licensed manufacturer or a fourth-
class licensee, by the manufacturer.

(2) A-person A purchaser shall exhibit preperproof a valid authorized
form of identification upon demand of a licensee or an agent of a licensee. If

the persen purchaser fails to provide such—proof a valid authorized form of
identification, the licensee shall be entitled to refuse to sell the keg to the
person individual. As used in this subsectlon “piaeper—piaeef a valid authorlzed
form of identification” means-a m 3

same meaning as in section 589 of this t1tle

(3) The purchaser shall complete a form, provided by the beard Board,
which that includes at least the name, address, and date of birth of the
purchaser as they appear on the purchaser’s proper-proof valid authorized form
of identification and the identification number of the keg. The form shall also
include the provisions of this section and the penalties for a violation of these
provisions this section. The licensee shall retain the form for 90 days after
return of the keg.

(4) The licensee shall collect a deposit of at least $25.00 which shall be
returned to the purchaser upon return of the keg with the label intact.

(e)(b) A licensee shall not:
(1) sell a keg without a legible label attached; or

(2) return a deposit on a keg whieh that is returned without the label
intact.

(d(c) Any person, other than the—whelesaler a wholesale dealer or
manufacturer, who intentionally removes or defaces the label attached to a keg
shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $1,000.00,
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or both.
Sec. 10. 7 V.S.A. § 65 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 65 66. HOME-FERMENTED MALT AND VINOUS BEVERAGES;
TASTING EVENT

(a) A-persoen An individual of legal age may, without obtaining a license
under this title or paying state State taxes or fees, produce malt or vinous
beverages, or both, at home provided that the amount of home-fermented
beverages produced by that persen individual does not exceed the quantities
limitation in 26 U.S.C. §§ 5053 and 5042.

k %k %k

Sec. 11. REPEALS

7 V.S.A. §§ 66 (malt and vinous beverage shipping licenses) and 67
(alcoholic beverage tastings) are repealed.

Sec. 12. 7 V.S.A. § 69 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 69 67. POWDERED ALCOHOL PRODUCTS

(a) It shall be unlawful for a person to knowingly possess or sell a
powdered alcohol product.

(b) A person that knowingly and-—unlawfullypessessing possesses a
powdered alcohol product shall be fined not more than $500.00.

b)(c) A person that knowingly and-unlawfully selling sells a powdered

alcohol product shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more
than $10,000.00, or both.

(e)}(d) As used in this section, “powdered alcohol product” means any
alcoholic powder that can be added to water or food.

Sec. 13. 7 V.S.A. chapter 5 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 5. DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR CONTROL AND LOTTERY

§ 101. COMPOSITION OF DEPARTMENT; COMMISSIONER OF
LIQUOR €ONTFROLE AND LOTTERY; HHQUOR-CONTROLE
BOARD OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY

(a)(1) The Department of Liquor Centrel and Lottery, created by 3 V.S.A.
§ 212, shall administer the laws relating to alcoholic beverages, tobacco, and
the State Lottery. It shall include the Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and

Lottery and the Liquor-Contrel Board of Liquor and Lottery.

(2) The Board of Liquor and Lottery shall supervise and manage the
sales of spirits and fortified wines pursuant to this title and the establishment
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and management of the State Lottery pursuant to 31 V.S.A. chapter 14.

(3)(A) The Department of Liquor and Lottery shall be under the
immediate supervision and direction of the Commissioner of Liquor and

Lottery.
(B) The Division of Liquor Control is created within the Department

to administer and carry out the laws relating to alcohol and tobacco set forth in
this title.

(C) The Division of Lottery is created within the Department to
administer and carry out the laws relating to the State Lottery set forth in
31 V.S.A. chapter 14.

(D) The Commissioner, with the approval of the Governor, may
appoint a Deputy Commissioner of Liquor Control to supervise and direct the
Division of Liquor Control and a Deputy Commissioner of the State Lottery to
supervise and direct the Division of Lottery. Both Deputy Commissioners
shall be exempt from the classified service and shall serve at the pleasure of
the Commissioner.

(b)(1) The Ligquor-Contrel Board of Liquor and Lottery shall consist of five
persons, not the Chair and four regular members. Not more than three
members of which the Board shall belong to the same political party.

(2)(A) With the advice and consent of the Senate, the Governor shall
appoint the members of the Board for staggered five three-year terms.

(B) The Governor shall fill a vacancy occurring during a term by an
appointment for the unexpired term in accordance with the provisions of
3 V.S.A. § 257(Db).

(C) A member’s term of office shall commence on February 1 of the
year in which the member is appointed.

(3) A member of the Board may serve for no more than two consecutive
full terms. A member who is appointed to fill a vacancy occurring during a
term may serve two consecutive full terms in addition to the unexpired portion
of the term during which the member is first appointed.

(4) The Governor shall biennially designate a member of the Board to
be its Chair. The Chair shall have general charge of the offices and employees
of the Board.

(c) No member of the Board shall have a financial interest in any licensee
under this title or 31 V.S.A. chapter 14, nor shall any member of the Board
have a financial interest in any contract awarded by the Board or the
Department of Liquor and Lottery.
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(d) The Governor shall annually submit a budget for the Department to the
General Assembly.

§ 102. REMOVAL

Notwithstanding any provision of 3 V.S.A. § 2004 to the contrary, after
notice and hearing, the Governor may remove a member of the Liquor-Ceontrol
Board of Liquor and Lottery for incompetency, failure to discharge his or her
duties, malfeasance, immorality, or other cause inimical to the general good of
the State. In case of such removal, the Governor shall appoint a person to fill
the unexpired term.

§ 103. MEETINGS

The Board shall held-such—meetings meet as may be required for the

performance of its duties. The times-and-placesfor-such-meetings time and
place for each meeting shall be designated by the Chair of the Board. Such

The Chair shall call a meeting upon the written request of any two members
and or upon the written request of the Governor.

§ 104. DUTIES; AUTHORITY TO RESOLVE ALLEGED VIOLATIONS
The Board shall have—supervision—and—management—of supervise and

manage the sale of spirits and fortified wines within the State in accordance
with the provisions of this title, and through the Commissioner of Liquor
Ceontrol and Lottery shall:

(1)(A) See that the laws relating to intexicating-liguor alcohol and te-the

> ] o ity '3

fortified—wines;—and-alcohol-by licensees—and-others alcoholic beverages are
enforced, using for that purpose sueh as much of the monies annually available
to the Liguer-Contrel Board of Liquor and Lottery as may be necessary.

(B) Hewever,-the The Liguer-Ceontrol Board of Liquor and Lottery
and its agents and inspeetors investigators shall act in this respect in
collaboration with sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, constables, efficers law
enforcement officers certified as Level II or Level 11l pursuant to 20 V.S.A.
chapter 151, and members of village and city police forces, control
commissioners, the Attorney General, State’s Attorneys, and town and city
grand jurors.

(C) When the Board acts to enforce any section of this title or any
administrative rule erregulation relating to sale to minors, its investigation on
the alleged violation shall be forwarded to the Attorney General or the
appropriate State’s Attorney whether or not there is an administrative finding
of wrongdoing. Nothing in this section shall be deemed to affect the
responsibility or duties of sueh law enforcement officers or agencies with
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respect to the enforcement of such-laws the provisions of this title.

(D) The Commissioner or his—or—her designee is authorized to
prosecute administrative matters under this section and shall have the authority
to enter into direct negotiations with a licensee to reach a proposed resolution
or settlement of an alleged violation, subject to Board approval, or dismissal
with or without prejudice.

(2) Supervise the opening and operation of local agencies for the sale
and distribution of spirits and fortified wines.

(3) Locate and, establish, and supervise the operation of a central liquor
agency warchouse and office for the purpose of supplying spirits and fortified
wines to local agencies established in accordance with this title and for the
purpose of sellmg splrlts and fortlﬁed wines to hcensees of the third-class and

: : fortified

wine permlt holders

(4) Supervise the financial transactions of sueh the central liquor ageney
warehouse and office, and the local agencies established in accordance with
this title.

(5) Adopt rules necessary for the execution of its powers and duties and
of the powers and duties of all persons under its supervision and control.

(6) Employ such assistants, inspeetors investigators, and other officers
as it deems necessary, subject to the approval of the Governor.

(7) Fix bonds or other security to be given by licensees.

(8) Make Adopt rules and-regulations concerning, and issue licenses and
permits under sueh whatever terms and conditions as it may impose for the
furnishing, purchasing, selling, bartering, transporting, importing, exporting,
delivering, and possessing of alcohol, including denatured alcohol, for
manufacturing, mechanical, medicinal, and scientific purposes.

(9) Adopt rules regarding labeling and advertising of malt-er—vineus
beverages,—spirits,—and—fortified—wines alcoholic beverages by adoption of

federal regulations or otherwise, and collaborate with federal agencies in
respect thereto to the adoption and the enforcement thereof of the rules.

(10) Adopt rules relating to extension of credit by and to licensees or
permittees.

(11) Adopt rules regarding intrastate transportation of malt and vinous
beverages.

§ 105. DUTIES OF ATTORNEY GENERAL

The attorney—general Attorney General shall collaborate with the liguer
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controlboard Board of Liquor and Lottery for the enforcement of the
provisions of subdivision (H-efsection 104(1) of this title.

§ 106. COMMISSIONER OF LIQUOR CONTROE AND LOTTERY;
REPORTS; RECOMMENDATIONS

(a)(1) With the advice and consent of the Senate, the Governor shall
appoint from among no fewer than three candidates proposed by the Liquer
Control Board of Liquor and Lottery a Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and
Lottery for a term of four years.

(2) The Board shall review the applicants for the position of
Commissioner of Liquor Centrol and Lottery and by a vote of the majority of
the members of the Board shall select candidates to propose to the Governor.
The Board shall consider each applicant’s administrative expertise and his or
her knowledge regarding the business of distributing and selling alcoholic
beverages and administering the State Lottery.

(b) The Commissioner shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor until the
end of the term for which he or she is appointed or until a successor is
appointed.

§ 107. DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER OF LIQUOR €CONTROE AND
LOTTERY

(a) The Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and Lottery shall direct and
supervise the Department of Liquor and Lottery and, subject to the direction of
the Board, shall see that the laws relating to alcohol and tobacco under this
title and the State Lottery under 31 V.S.A. chapter 14 are carried out. The
Commissioner shall annually prepare a budget for the Department and submit
it to the Board.

(b) With respect to the laws relating to alcohol, the Commissioner shall:

(1) In towns that vote to permit the sale of spirits and fortified wines,
establish local agencies as the Board of Liquor and Lottery shall determine.
However, the Liguer—Centrel Board shall not be obligated to establish an
agency in every town that votes to permit the sale of spirits and fortified
wines.

k %k %k

(4) Supervise the quantities and qualities of spirits and fortified wines to
be kept as stock in local agencies and recommend rules subject to approval and
adoption by the Board regarding the filling of requisitions therefor for spirits
and fortified wines on the Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and Lottery.

(5) Purchase through-the Commissioner—of Buildings—andGeneral
Serviees spirits and fortified wines for and in behalf of the LiguerCentrol
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Board of Liquor and Lotterys; supervise their storage and distribution to local
agencies, druggists; third-class licensees, and holders of fortified wine
permits;; and recommend rules subject to approval and adoption by the Board

regarding the sale and delivery from the central sterage—plant liquor
warehouse.

k %k %k

§ 108. ENFORCEMENT BY BOARD; REGULATIONS; FORMS AND
REPORTS

The liguor-control-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery shall administer and
enforce the provisions of this title, and is authorized and empowered to

preseribe-such adopt rules and regulations,—including-the-issuing-of issue the
necessary blanks, forms, and reports, except reports to the commissioner—of

taxes Commissioner of Taxes and to the commissioner—of publicsafety
Commissioner of Public Safety, as may be necessary to carry out the
provisions of this title.

§ 109. AUDIT OF ACCOUNTS OF HQUOR-CONTROL BOARD OF
LIQUOR AND LOTTERY

All accounts of the hiquer-centrol-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery related
to its activities pursuant to this title shall be audited annually by the auditer-of
accounts Auditor of Accounts and the annual report of sueh the audit shall

accompany the annual reports of such-liquor-control-board the Board of Liquor
and Lottery.

§ 110. SPECIAL BRANDS; PURCHASE BY COMMISSIONER OF
LIQUOR €ONTROL: AND LOTTERY

If any a person shall-desire desires to purchase any class, variety, or brand
of spirits or fortified wine which—any that a local agency or fortified wine
permit holder does not have in stock, the Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and
Lottery shall order the same—through-the Commissioner—of Buildings—and
General-Services product upon the payment of a reasonable deposit by the
purchaser in such a proportion of the approximate cost of the order as shall-be

prescribed by the regulations rules of the Liguer-Contrel Board of Liquor and
Lottery.
§ 111, VINOUS BEVERAGES MANUFACTURED IN VERMONT

TRANSFER OF LOCAL AGENCY STORE IN CONJUNCTION
WITH SALE OF REAL PROPERTY OR BUSINESS




(a) If a proposed sale of real estate or a business in which a local agency

store is located is contingent on the transfer of the agency store’s contract with
the Board to the buyer, the seller and buyer may, prior to completing the sale,
submit to the Department a request to approve the transfer of the agency
store’s contract to the buyer. The request shall be accompanied by any
information required by the Department.

(b) The Department shall review the request and evaluate the buyer based
on the standards for evaluating an applicant for a new agency store contract.

(¢) Within 30 days after receiving the request and all necessary
information, the Department shall complete the evaluation of the proposed
transfer and notify the parties of whether the agency store’s contract may be
transferred to the buyer.

(d)(1) If the transfer is approved, the contract shall transfer to the buyer
upon completion of the sale.

(2) If the transfer is denied, the seller may continue to operate the
agency store pursuant to the existing contract with the Department.

§ 112. LIQUOR CONTROL ENTERPRISE FUND

The Liquor Control Enterprise Fund is hereby established. It shall consist
of all receipts from the sale of spirits, fortified wines, and other items by the
Board of Liquor and Lottery and Division of Liquor Control; fees paid to the
Department Division of Liquor Control for the benefit of the Department
Division; all other amounts received by the Department Division of Liquor
Control for its benefit; and all amounts that are from time to time appropriated
to the Department Division of Liquor Control.

§ 113. ADMINISTRATION OF DEPARTMENT; APPORTIONMENT OF
COSTS

The administrative and operating costs of the Department of Liquor and
Lottery that are not specific to either the Division of Liquor Control or the
Division of Lottery and the cost of any functions that are shared in common by
the two Divisions shall be allocated to and paid from the Liquor Control
Enterprise Fund and the State Lottery Fund based on Generally Accepted
Accounting Principles.

Sec. 13a. USE OF DEPARTMENTAL ADMINISTRATIVE RESOURCES;
APPORTIONMENT OF COSTS; REPORT

On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery
shall submit a written report regarding the allocation of costs to the Liquor
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Control Enterprise Fund and the State Lottery Fund pursuant to 7 V.S.A. § 113
and the method used for allocating those costs to the House and Senate
Committees on Appropriations.

Sec. 14. 7 V.S.A. chapter 7 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 7. MUNICIPAL CONTROL
§ 161. LICENSES VOTED BY TOWN; TOWN MEETINGS; WARNING

(a) Upon petition of not less than five percent of the legal voters of any
town, filed with the town clerk in conformance with 17 V.S.A. § 2642, the
warning of the annual or special meeting shall contain an article providing for
a vote upon the following questions:

Shall licenses for the sale of malt and vinous beverages be granted in this
town?

Shall spirits and fortified wines be sold in this town?
The vote under such the article shall be by ballot in the following form:

Shall licenses for the sale of malt and vinous beverages be granted in this
town?

Yes No

Shall spirits and fortified wines be sold in this town?

Yes No

(b) Licenses and permits for the sale of malt and vinous beverages and
spirit spirits and fortified wines shall be issued according to the vote at the
annual town meeting held in March 1969 until a town votes otherwise.

§ 162. REPORT

After any annual town meeting wherein-the in which a town votes on the
questions set forth in section 161 of this title, the town clerk of-the-town shall

report promptly the results of the vote to the liguer-centrol-beard Board of
Liquor and Lottery, upon forms furnished by the beard Board.

§ 163. BALLOTS; COLOR

(a) Whenever a petition is filed under section 161 of this title, the town
clerk shall print, at least two weeks before the annual or special meeting, cause
blank ballots for the votes provided for in section 161 of this title to-be-printed
in any color except yellow,—in-such-manner—that-each-ballot-can-be—easily
detachedto-the numberof. The ballots shall be printed in a quantity equal to
not less than one and one-tenth times the number of registered voters qualified
to-vote at the last preceding general election, as shown by the checklist.
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(b) Upon each such ballot shall be endorsed the words: “OFFICIAL
BALLOT” followed by the name of the town in which it is to be used and the
date of the election. The town clerk is authorized to use regular ballots for the

requisite number of sample ballots by adding in type or print on the front
thereof of cach ballot, the words: “SAMPLE BALLOT.”

§ 164. DUTIES OF BALLOT CLERKS AND TOWN CLERKS

The board of civil authority, or the ballot clerks if directed by them the
board of civil authority, shall have charge of the ballots and perform the duties
imposed upon ballot clerks and assisting clerks and be subject to the penalties
imposed upon such officials by law. The town clerk shall perform the same
duties in respect to such the ballots as are imposed upon him or her by the
provisions of law governing general elections, except as otherwise provided.

§ 165. HOURS OF OPENING

The box for the reception of sueh the ballots shall be opened at the hour the
meeting is called, and be closed when general voting ceases.

§ 166. CONTROL COMMISSIONERS

There shall be control commissioners in each town and city. Sueh The
control commissioners shall be the selectboard members in each town and the
city council members in each city. The town and city clerks shall be recording
officers and clerks of the commissioners and be paid as hereinafter provided in
24 V.S.A. §§ 932 and 933.

§ 167. DUTIES OF LOCAL CONTROL COMMISSIONERS

(a) The local control commissioners shall administer such the rules and
regulations;,—which—shall-be furnished to them by the liguer—ceontrol-beard
Board of Liquor and Lottery, as shall-be necessary to carry out the purposes of
this title. Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, all applications

for and forms of licenses and permits, and-applications-therefor and all rules
and-regulations shall be prescribed by the hiquoer-control-beard Board of Liquor
and Lottery, which shall prepare and issue such the applications, forms, and

rules and-regulations.

(b) If the municipality so votes at a meeting duly warned for that purpose,
the local control commissioners may, in the exercise of their authority under
subdivision-222(1)-ef this title, condition the issuance of licenses and permits
upon compliance, during the term of the license or permit, with any ordinance
regulating entertainment or public nuisances that has been duly adopted by the
municipality;-and at a meeting duly warned for that purpose.

(c) The local control commissioners may, in the exercise of their authority
under section 236 210 of this title, suspend or revoke a liguer license or permit
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for a violation of any condition placed upon the issuance of a the license or
permlt under subsection (b) of thls section. Ihe—keeal—eemrel—eemm}sgeneps

§ 168. UNORGANIZED PLACES, CONTROL COMMISSIONERS

In an unorganized town or gore, the supervisor shall be the control
commissioner for the administration of the liguorcontrollaws rules necessary
to carry out the applicable provisions of this title. He or she may in his or her
discretion issue and approve the issuance of licenses and permits as he or she
finds will best serve the interests of the inhabitants best-served. The provisions
of sections 161-165;221-and-224 and 201 of this title, insofar as they relate to
voting, shall not apply to unorganized towns and gores.

Sec. 15. REDESIGNATION; ADDITION OF SUBCHAPTER

7 V.S.A. chapter 9, subchapter 1, which shall include sections 201-214, is
added to read:

Subchapter 1. General Provisions
Sec. 16. REDESIGNATION; ADDITION OF SUBCHAPTER

7 V.S.A. chapter 9, subchapter 2, which shall include sections 221-229. is
added to read:

Subchapter 2. Retail Licenses and Permits
Sec. 17. REDESIGNATION; ADDITION OF SUBCHAPTER

7 V.S.A. chapter 9, subchapter 3, which shall include sections 241-243. is
added to read:

Subchapter 3. Catering Licenses and Permits
Sec. 18. REDESIGNATION; ADDITION OF SUBCHAPTER

7 V.S.A. chapter 9, subchapter 4, which shall include sections 251-259. is
added to read:

Subchapter 4. Tasting and Event Permits
Sec. 19. REDESIGNATION; ADDITION OF SUBCHAPTER

7 V.S.A. chapter 9, subchapter 5, which shall include sections 271283, is
added to read:

Subchapter 5. Manufacturing and Distribution of Alcohol
Sec. 20. 7 V.S.A. § 221 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 221 201. LICENSES CONTINGENT ON TOWN VOTE;RESTRICTIONS
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ASFO DANCING PAVHIONS

Licenses of the first or second class shall not be granted by the control
commissioners or the Liguer Control Board of Liquor and Lottery to be
exer01sed in any 01ty or town, the voters of which Vote “No” te—the—questren—

) -3 } rerages?” on the
questlon of Whether to permlt the sale of malt beverages and vinous beverages
pursuant to section 161 of this title. Licenses of the third class shall not be
granted by the Liquer-Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery to be exercised in
any city or town, the voters of which vote “No” to-the-question-—Shall-spirits
and-fortified wines-be-sold-in-this town?” on the question of whether to sell
fortlﬁed wines and spirits pursuant to sectlon 161 of th1s title. L+eenses—ef—the

Sec. 21. 7 V.S.A. § 223 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 223 202. LICENSES TO ENFORCEMENT OFFICER OR CONTROL
BOARD MEMBER COMMISSIONER; EXCEPTIONS

(a) No license of any class shall be granted to any enforcement officer or to
any person acting in the officer’s behalf.

(b) A member of a local control beard commission to whom or in behalf of
whom a first-or-second-class first- or second-class license was issued by that
beard commission shall not participate in any control beard commission action
regarding any first-or-second-class first- or second-class license. If a majority
of the members of a local control beard commission is unable to participate in
a control beard commission action regarding any first-or-second-¢class first- or
second-class license, that action shall be referred to the state-liquer—control
beard Board of Liquor and Lottery for investigation and action.

(c) An application for a first-or-second-class first- or second-class license
by or in behalf of a member of the local control beard commission or a
complaint or disciplinary action regarding a first—or-second—class first- or
second-class license issued by a beard commission on which any member is a

licensee shall be referred to the state-liguor-contrel-beard Board of Liquor and
Lottery for investigation and action.

Sec. 22. 7 V.S.A. § 230 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 230 203. RESTRICTIONS; FINANCIAL INTERESTS; BISPEAY-OFE
HCENSE; EMPLOYEES

(a)(1) Except as provided in subdivision2(15) section 271 of this title, a
bettler packager, manufacturer, or rectifier licensed in Vermont or in another

state, a certificate of approval holder, or a wholesale dealer shall not have any

financial interest in the business of a first-, second-, or third-class lLicense

licensee, and a first-, second-, or third-class licensee may not have any
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financial interest in the business of a bettler packager, manufacturer, or
rectifier licensed in Vermont or in another state, a certificate of approval
holder, or a wholesale dealer.

(2) Hewever Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection and
except as otherwise provided in section 271 of this title, a manufacturer of
malt beverages may have a financial interest in the business of a first- or
second-class license, and a first- or second-class licensee may have a financial
interest in the business of a manufacturer of malt beverages, provided a the
first- or second-class licensee does not purchase, possess, or sell the malt
beverages produced by a manufacturer with which there is any financial
interest. icen N A1 s ti he nspi

2y, whic cranted: Any
manufacturer of malt beverages that has a financial interest in a first- or
second-class licensee and any first- or second-class licensee that has a financial
interest in a manufacturer of malt beverages, as permitted under this seection
subdivision, shall provide to the Department Division of Liquor Control and
the applicable wholesale dealer written notification of that financial interest
and the licensees involved. A wholesale dealer shall not be in violation of this
section for delivering malt beverages to a first- or second-class licensee that is
prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or selling those malt beverages under
this section.

(b) An individual who is an employee of a wholesale dealer that does not
hold a solicitor’s license may also be employed by a first- or second-class
licensee on a paid or voluntary basis, provided that the employee does not
exercise any control over, or participate in, the management of the first- or
second-class licensee’s business or business decisions, and that either neither
employment relationship dees—not—result results in the exclusion of any
competitor wholesale dealer or any brand of alcoholic beverages of a
competitor wholesale dealer.

Sec. 23. 7 V.S.A. § 231 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 231 204. APPLICATION AND RENEWAL FEES FOR LICENSES AND
PERMITS; DISPOSITION OF FEES

(a) The following fees shall be paid when applying for a new license or
permit or to renew a license or permit:

(1) For a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license to manufacture or rectify
malt beverages, or vinous beverages and fortified wines, or spirits and fortified
wines, $285.00 for each license.

(2) For a bettler’s packager’s license, $1,865.00.
(3) For a wholesale dealer’s license, $1,245.00 for each location.
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(4) For a first-class license, $230.00.
(5) For a second-class license, $140.00.

(6) For a third-class license, $1,095.00 for an annual license and
$550.00 for a six-month license.

(7) For a shipping license for malt beverages or vinous beverages:
(A) In-state consumer shipping license, initial-andrenewal; $330.00.

(B) Out-of-state consumer shipping license, initial-and-—renewal;
$330.00.

(C) Retail Vinous beverages retail shipping license, $250.00.
(8)(A) For a caterer’s license, $250.00.

(B) For a commercial catering license, $220.00.

(C) For arequest to cater permit, $20.00.
(9) Repealed}
(H0){Repealed
@1 For up to ten fourth-class licenses, $70.00.

“2)(10) For an industrial alcohol distributers distributor’s license,
$220.00.

@3)(11) For a special events permit, $35.00.
d4)(12) For a festival permit, $125.00.
{5)(13) For a-wine an alcoholic beverages tasting permit, $25.00.
{6)(14) For an educational sampling event permit, $250.00.
A7(15) For an outside consumption permit, $20.00.
8)(16) For a certificate of approval:

(A) For malt beverages, $2,485.00.

(B) For vinous beverages, $985.00.
A9(17) For a solicitor’s license, $70.00.
20)(18) For a vinous beverages storage license, $235.00.
@21H(19) For a promotional railroad tasting permit for-arailread, $20.00.

22)(20) For an art-gallery-or-beokstore special venue serving permit,
$20.00.

23)(21) For a fortified wine permit, $100.00.
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24) F blic L it$20.00.
25)(22) For a retail delivery permit, $100.00.

26)(23) For a destination resort master license, $1,000.00.

(b) Except for fees collected for first-, second-, and third-class licenses, the
fees collected pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall be deposited in
the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund. The other fees shall be distributed as
follows:

(1) Third-class license fees: 55 percent shall go to the Liquor Control
Enterprise Fund, and 45 percent shall go to the General Fund and shall fund
alcohol abuse prevention and treatment programs.

(2) First- and second-class license fees: At least 50 percent of first-class
and second-class license fees shall go to the respective municipalities in which
the licensed premises are located, and the remaining percentage of those fees
shall go to the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund. A municipality may retain
more than 50 percent of the fees that the municipality collected for first- and
second-class licenses to the extent that the municipality has assumed
responsibility for enforcement of those licenses pursuant to a contract with the
Department. The Department Board of Liquor and Lottery shall adopt rules
regarding contracts entered into pursuant to this subdivision.

Sec. 24. 7 V.S.A. § 232 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 232 205. TERMS OF PERMITS AND, LICENSES, AND CERTIFICATES

(a) All permits and, licenses, and certificates shall expire midnight,
April 30, of each year and;upon-the payment-of anew-fee;.

(b) A permit, license, or certificate may be renewed as follows:

(1) A first-class or second-class license, and an outside consumption
permit associated with a first-class license, may be renewed by:

(A) payment of the fee provided in section 204 of this title;

(B) submission to the local control commissioners with-the of an
application demonstrating that the licensee satisfies all applicable rules and
requirements; and

(C) approval of the liguer-contrel-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery

as provided in section 221, 222, or 227 of this title;provided-the-licensee-is
entitled-thereto.

(2) All other permits, licenses, and certificates may be renewed by:

(A) payment of the fee provided in section 204 of this title; and

(B) submission to the Board of Liquor and Lottery or the Division, as
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appropriate, of an application demonstrating that the holder satisfies all
applicable rules and requirements.

Sec 25. 7 V.S.A. § 233 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 233 206. DISPOSAL OF FEES

The control commissioners shall collect all fees for retailers’ licenses-of-the
first first- and second-¢lass second-class licenses and shall pay such the fees to
the Division and the city and town treasurers of the respective cities and towns
where such the fees are collected to-be as provided in subsection 204(b) of this
chapter. The portion of each fee paid to the city or town may be used as such
cities-and-towns it may direct, less a fee of $5.00 to be retained by the city or
town clerk as a fee for issuing sueh and recording the license and-recording-the
same. Eees Except as otherwise provided in section 274 and 275 of this title,
fees for all other licenses shall be paid to the liguor-control board Board of
Liquor and Lottery.

Sec. 26. 7 V.S.A. § 234 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 234 207. CHANGE OF LOCATION

In-case-any If a licensee desires to change the location of his its business
before the expiration of his its license, upon-proper the licensee may submit an

application; to the liquor-control-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery, which
may amend his the license to cover the new premises without the payment of

any additional fee.
Sec. 27. 7 V.S.A. § 208 is added to read:
§ 208. DISPLAY OF LICENSE

All licenses or permits granted under this title shall be conspicuously
displayed on the premises for which the license or permit is granted.

Sec. 28. 7 V.S.A. § 235 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 235 209. BANKRUPTCY, DEATH, AND REVOCATION
(a) If a licensee or permittee becomes bankrupt or dies before the

expiration of his—er-her its license or permit, his—or-her the licensee’s or

permittee’s trustee, executor, or administrator may sell the intexicating liquors
alcohol which that came into his-er-her its possession to a holder of a license

or permit of the same class.

(b) If a license or permit is revoked under the provisions of this title, after

such the revocation, the licensee or permittee may sell the intoxicating liquors
in-his-or-her alcohol in its possession at the time of such the revocation to a

holder of a license or permit of the same class.
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(c)(1) All sales under this section shall-be-accompanied-by-immediate-and
actual-delivery-and shall be made within 30 days after such the bankruptcy,

death, or revocation and shall include immediate and actual delivery of the
alcohol.

(2) Hewever Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, upon
application of the executor or administrator of a deceased licensee or
permittee, the beard Board may transfer the license or permit of the decedent
to sueh the executor or administrator without payment of any additional fee,
and the executor or administrator may then carry on the business of the
decedent under the license or permit until the its expiration thereof.

(d)(1) The holder of a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license may pledge or
mortgage intoxicating liquor alcoholic beverages manufactured or rectified by
such the licensee and such the pledgee or mortgagee may retain possession of
such-liguer the alcoholic beverages and after-condition-broken, if the licensee
defaults, may sell and dispose of the alcoholic beverages to persons to whom
the licensee might lawfully sell sueh-liquors the alcoholic beverages, subject to
the same restrictions and regulations as such the licensee, and to sueh any
further restriction and-regulation-as-may-be or rules prescribed by the liquer
control-board Board of Liquor and Lottery with respect to netice—to—it—in
advance notice to it of such the sale and determination by it of the persons
entitled to buy and the manner of such the sale.

(2) Any sale under-such pursuant to a default on a pledge or mortgage
shall not be at public auction as required with respect to like similar sales of
other property, but shall be upon not less than ten days’ notice to the pledgor
or mortgagor and for the hlghest amount which may be offered under—the

S0 h ard aid pursuant to the rules of

the Board of L1quor and Lottery

Sec. 29. 7 V.S.A. § 236 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 236 210. SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE OR PERMIT;
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY

(a)(1) The control commissioners or the liguer—control-board Board of

Liquor and Lottery shall have power to suspend or revoke any permit or
license granted pursuant to this title in the event the person holding sueh the
permit or license shall at any time during the term thereef-se of the permit or
license conduct his—er-her its business as-te-be in violation of this title, the
conditions pursuant to which sueh the permit or license was granted, or of any

rule erregulation prescribed by the liguer-control-board Board of Liquor and
Lottery.

(2) No revocation shall be made until the permittee or licensee shall-be
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has been notified and be given a hearing before the liquor-control-board Board
of Liquor and Lottery, unless sueh the permittee or licensee shall-have has
been convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction of violating the provisions
of this title.

(3) In the case of a suspension, the permittee or licensee shall be
notified and given a hearing before the liquor-control board Board of Liquor
and Lottery or the local geverning body control commissioners, whichever
applies.

(4) Any decision to suspend or revoke a license shall be issued in
writing and set forth the reasons for the suspension or revocation and, if
applicable, the duration of the suspension.

(5) A tobacco license may not be suspended or revoked for a first-time
violation. Suspension or revocation of a tobacco license shall not affect any
liquor license held by the licensee.

(b)(1) As an alternative to and in lieu of the authority to suspend or revoke
any permit or license, the liquor-control-board Board of Liquor and Lottery
shall also have the power to impose an administrative penalty of up to
$2,500.00 per violation against a holder of a wholesale dealer’s license or a
holder of a first first-, second second-, or third-elass third-class license for a
violation of the conditions under-which of the license was-issued or of this title
or of any rule erregulation adopted by the beard Board.

(2) The administrative penalty may be imposed after a hearing before
the beard Board or after the licensee has been convicted by a court of
competent jurisdiction of violating the provisions of this title.

(3) The beard Board may also impose an administrative penalty under
this subsection against a holder of a tobacco license for up to $100.00 for a
first violation and up to $1,000.00 for subsequent violations.

(4) For the first violation during a tobacco or alcohol compliance check
during any three-year period, a licensee or permittee shall receive a warning
and be required to attend a department Division server training class.

(c) For suspension or revocation proceedings involving a tobacco license or
the imposition of an administrative penalty against a tobacco licensee under
this section, the commissioner Commissioner, a beard Board member
designated by the ehair Chair, or a hearing officer designated by the chair
Chair pursuant to section 236a 211 of this title may conduct the hearing and
render a decision.

(d)(1) The beard Board shall subpoena any person in this state State to
appear for a hearing or for a deposition in the same manner as prescribed for
judicial procedures.
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(2) Sheriffs and witnesses shall receive the same fees for the service of
process and attendance before the beard Board as are paid in superior-court
Superior Court.

Sec. 30. 7 V.S.A. § 236a is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 236a 211. HEARING OFFICER

(a) The chair Chair of the beard Board of Liquor and Lottery may appoint
a hearing officer to conduct hearings pursuant to section 236 210 of this title.
A hearing officer may be a member of the beard Board appointed under
section 236 210 of this title.

(b) The hearing officer may administer oaths in all cases, so far as the
exercise of that power is properly incidental to the performance of the hearing
officer’s duty or that of the beard Board. A hearing officer may hold any
hearing in any matter within the jurisdiction of the beard Board.

(c) The hearing officer shall make findings of fact in writing to the beard
Board in the form of a proposal for decision. A copy of the proposal for
decision shall be served upon the parties pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § &1 812.
Judgment on the hearing officer’s proposal for decision shall be rendered by a
majority of the beard Board.

(d) At least 10 days prior to a hearing before-the-beard, the hearing officer
shall give written notice of the time and place of the hearing to all parties in
the case and shall indicate either that the hearing will be before the Board or
the name and title of the person designated to conduct the hearing.

(e) The ehair Chair may appoint a hearing officer to hear and finally
determine any complaint involving a tobacco license. In such a case, the
hearing officer may impose administrative penalties as provided in subsection

236(b) 210(b) of this title.
Sec. 31. 7 V.S.A. § 237 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 237 212. COMPLAINTS AND PROSECUTIONS

The commissioner-of liquor-control Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery or
the local control commissioners shall make complaint to the state’s-attorney

State’s Attorney or town grand juror of any unlawful furnishing, selling, or

keeping for sale of alcohol;-spirituoustiquor,—or-malt-orvinous-beverages or
alcoholic beverages, and furnish-the-evidence-thereof to-such-state’s-attorney

provide evidence in support of the complaint to the State’s Attorney or town
grand juror, who shall prosecute for such the alleged violation.

Sec. 32. 7 V.S.A. § 239 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 239 213. LICENSEE EDUCATION
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(a) A new first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class;—er—farmers’
market-license, or manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license, or common carrier
certificate shall not be granted until the applicant has attended a Department
Division of Liquor Control in-person seminar or completed the appropriate
Department Division of Liquor Control online training program for the
purpose of being informed of the Vermont liguer laws; and rules,—and
regulations pertaining to the purchase, storage, and sale of aleehol alcoholic
beverages. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a
director, partner, or manager who shall comply with the terms of this
subsection.

(b)(1) Every holder of a first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class,
or farmers™marketlicensee,-and-every-holder-of-a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s
license, or common carrier certificate shall complete the Department Division
of Liquor Control in-person licensee training seminar or the appropriate
Department Division of Liquor Control online training program at least once
every two years. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a
director, partner, or manager who shall comply with the terms of this
subsection.

(2) A first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class;—er—farmers’
market-license, or manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license shall not be renewed

unless the Division’s records of-the-Department-of Liquor-Contrel show that

the licensee has complied with the terms of this subsection.

(c)(1) Each licensee, permittee, or common carrier certificate holder shall
ensure that every employee who is involved in the delivery, sale, or serving of
aleohol alcoholic beverages completes a training program approved by the
Department Division of Liquor Control before the employee begins serving or
selling alcoholic beverages and at least once every 24 months thereafter. Each
licensee shall maintain written documentation, signed by each employee
trained, of each training program conducted.

(2) A licensee may comply with this requirement by conducting its own
training program on its premises, using information and materials furnished or
approved by the Department Division of Liquor Control. A licensee who fails
to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be subject to a
suspension of the license issued under this title for no less than one day ef-the
I . 1 under this title.

(d) The following fees for Department Division of Liquor Control in-
person or online seminars will be paid:

(1) For a first-class or first- and third-class licensee seminar either in
persen in-person or online, $25.00 per person.
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(2) For a second-class licensee seminar either in—persen in-person or
online, $25.00 per person.

(3) For a combination first-class, first- and third-class, and second-class
licensee seminar either inperson in-person or online, $25.00 per person.

(4) For a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s, or fourth-class;—er—farmers>
market licensee seminar either in—persen in-person or online, $10.00 per
person.

(5) For common carrier seminars either in—person in-person or online,
$10.00 per person.

(6) For all special event, festival, educational sampling, art—gallery;
bookstore,museum-and-library and special venue serving permit holders for

either an in-person or online seminar, $10.00 per person.

(e) Fees for all seminars listed in this section and under other sections of
this title with regards to in-person or online training shall be deposited directly
in the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund.

Sec. 33. 7 V.S.A. § 240 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 240 214. PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

(a) Any first,second-or-third—class—liquor first-, second-, or third-class

licensee whose license is suspended by the local control commissioners or
suspended or revoked by the liquor-control-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery
for selling or furnishing intexicating-liguer alcoholic beverages to a minor, to a
person apparently under the influence of intexicatingliguoer alcohol, to a
person after legal serving hours, or to a person whem who it would be
reasonable to expect would be intoxicated as a result of the amount of hquer
alcoholic beverages served to that person, shall be required to furnish to the
liguor—control—department Commissioner a certificate of financial
responsibility within 60 days of the commencement of the suspension or
revocation or at the time of reinstatement of the license, whichever is later.
Financial responsibility may be established by any one or a combination of the
following: insurance, surety bond, or letter of credit. Coverage shall be
maintained at not less than $25,000.00 per occurrence and $50,000.00
aggregate per occurrence. Proof of financial responsibility shall be required
for license renewal for the three years following the suspension or revocation.

(b)(1) Proof of financial responsibility and completion of the licensee
education program established in section 239 213 of this title shall be
conditions for a licensee to be permitted to resume operation after a suspension
or revocation for any of the reasons in subsection (a) of this section;-however.

(2) However, at the discretion of the suspending or revoking authority,
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the licensee may receive a provisional license prior to the time these conditions
are met in order to allow for compliance with the education requirement or to
obtain the certificate of financial responsibility. A provisional license may not
be issued for a period exceeding 60 days.

Sec. 34. 7 V.S.A. § 221 is added to read:
§ 221. FIRST-CLASS LICENSES

(a)(1) With the approval of the Board of Liquor and Lottery, the control
commissioners may grant a first-class license to a retail dealer for the premises
where the dealer carries on business if the retail dealer submits an application
and pays the fee provided in section 204 of this title, and satisfies the Board
that the premises:

(A) are leased, rented, or owned by the retail dealer;

(B) are devoted primarily to dispensing meals to the public, except in
the case of clubs; and

(C) have adequate and sanitary space and equipment for preparing
and serving meals.

(2) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant a first-class license to a
boat or railroad dining car if the person that operates it submits an application
and pays the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(3) The Division shall post notice of pending applications on its website.

(b)(1) A first-class license permits the holder to sell malt and vinous
beverages for consumption only on those premises.

(2) Except as otherwise provided pursuant to sections 271 and 278 of
this title, a first-class license holder shall purchase all malt beverages and
vinous beverages sold pursuant to the license from Vermont wholesale dealers

or packagers.
(c) A retail dealer carrying on business in more than one place shall acquire

a first-class license for each place where the retail dealer sells malt or vinous
beverages for consumption on the premises.

(d) Partially consumed bottles of vinous beverages or specialty beers that
were purchased with a meal may be removed from first-class licensed premises
provided the beverages are recapped or resealed.

(e) No person under 18 vyears of age shall be employed by a first-class
licensee as:

(1) a bartender for the purpose of preparing, mixing, or dispensing
alcoholic beverages: or
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(2) a waitress or waiter for the purpose of serving alcoholic beverages.

(D(1) A holder of a first-class license may contract with another person to
prepare and dispense food on the licensed premises.

(2) The first-class license holder shall provide to the Division written
notification five business days prior to the start of the contract the following
information:

(A) the name and address of the license holder;

(B) a signed copy of the contract;

(C) the name and address of the person contracted to provide the

food;

—_—

(D) a copy of the person’s license from the Department of Health for
the facility in which food is served; and

(E) the person’s rooms and meals tax certificate from the Department
of Taxes.

(3) The holder of the first-class license shall notify the Division within
five business days of the termination of the contract to prepare and dispense
food. The first-class licensee shall be responsible for controlling all conduct
on the premises at all times, including the area in which the food is prepared
and stored.

(2) A hotel that holds a first-class license and places a minibar in any room
of a registered guest shall ensure that the minibar is locked and that access to
the minibar is restricted to guests of legal drinking age.

(h) The holder of a first-class license may permit a customer to:

(1) possess or carry no more than two open containers of alcoholic
beverages; and

(2) maintain control over his or her open container of alcoholic
beverages at all times while on the licensed premises.

Sec. 35. 7 V.S.A. § 222 is amended to read:

§ 222. FHIRST-AND SECOND-CLASS LICENSES;: GRANTHING-OFE; SALE
FOMINORS: CONTRACHING FOR FOOD SERVICE

(a)(1) With the approval of the Ligquer—Centrel Board of Liquor and

Lottery, the control commissioners may grant thefollowing licenses a second-
class license to a retail dealer for the premises where the dealer carries on

business if the retail dealer submits an application and pays the fee provided in
section 204 of this title and satisfies the Board that the premises:




(A) premises are leased, rented, or owned by the retail dealer; and

(B) are a safe, sanitary, and proper place from Wthh to sell malt and
vinous beverages;- : , nse—which-shall a

(2) The Division shall post notice of pending applications on its website.

(b)(1) A second-class license permits the holder to export malt and vinous
beverages; and to sell malt and vinous beverages to the public from such the
licensed premises for consumption off the premises.

(2) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a second-class licensee a
fortified wine permit pursuant to section 225 of this chapter or a retail delivery
permit pursuant to section 226 of this chapter.

(3) Except as otherwise provided pursuant to sections 225, 271, and 278
of this title, a second-class license holder shall purchase all malt beverages and
vinous beverages sold pursuant to its license from Vermont wholesale dealers

or packagers.

(c) A retail dealer carrying on business in more than one place shall be
required to acquire a second-class license for each place where the retail dealer

sells malt and Vmous beverages Ne—malt—eﬁme&s—bexzer&ges—shaﬂ—berseld—by







Sec. 36. 7 V.S.A. § 224 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 224 223. THIRD-CLASS LICENSES;-OPEN-CONTAINERS

(a)(1) The Liguer-Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant to a

person who operates a hotel, restaurant, er club, boat, or railroad dining car, or
who holds a manufacturer’s or rectifier’s license, a license—of thethird ¢class
third-class license if the person files an application accompanied by the license
fee as provided in section 231+ 204 of this title for the premises in which the
business of the hotel, restaurant, or club is carried on or for the boat or railroad

dining car.
(2) The applicant shall satisfy the Board that the applicant is the bona

fide owner or lessee of the premises, boat, or railroad dining car and that it is
operated for the purpose covered by the license.

(b) The-holderof-a A third-class license holder may sell spirits and
fortified wines for consumption only on the licensed premises eovered-by-the
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rallroad dining car.

b)(c) The holder of a first—orfirst—and third-class license may permit a
consumer customer to:

(1) Possess possess or carry no more than two open containers of
alcoholic beverages:; and

(2) Maintain maintain control over his or her open container of
alcoholic beverages at all times while on the licensed premises, boat, or
railroad dining car.

e)}d)(1) A Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (2) of this
subsection and section 271 of this title, a person who holds a third-class license
shall purchase from the Liguer-Ceontrel Board of Liquor and Lottery all spirits
and fortified wines dispensed in accordance with the provisions of the third-
class license and this title.

(2) For a third-class license issued for a dining car or boat, the licensee
may procure outside the State of Vermont spirits and fortified wines that are
sold pursuant to the license.

(e) No person under 18 vyears of age shall be employed by a third-class
licensee as:

(1) a bartender for the purpose of preparing, mixing, or dispensing
alcoholic beverages: or

(2) a waitress or waiter for the purpose of serving alcoholic beverages.
Sec. 37. 7 V.S.A. § 241 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 241 2240 FOURVHCEASS FICENSE: RULES:
ADVERTISING FOURTH-CLASS LICENSES

(a) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant up to a combined total of
ten fourth-class licenses to a manufacturer or rectifier that submits an
application and the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(b) At each licensed location, a fourth-class licensee may sell by the
unopened container or distribute by the glass, with or without charge, alcoholic
beverages manufactured by the licensee.

(1) A licensee may, for consumption at the licensed premises or
location, distribute the following amounts of alcoholic beverages to a retail
customer:
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(A) no more than two ounces of malt beverages or vinous beverages
with a total of eight ounces; and

(B) no more than one-quarter ounce of spirits or fortified wine with a
total of one ounce.

(2) At a fourth-class license location at the licensee’s manufacturing
premises, the licensee may distribute by the glass up to four mixed drinks
containing a combined total of no more than one ounce of spirits or fortified
wine to each retail customer for consumption only on the licensed premises.

(3) At each licensed location, a fourth-class licensee may, pursuant to
section 64 of this title, sell malt beverages or vinous beverages, or both by

the keg.

(c)(1) At only one fourth-class license location, a licensed manufacturer or
rectifier may sell by the unopened container or distribute by the glass, with or
without charge, alcoholic beverages produced by no more than five additional
manufacturers or rectifiers, provided these beverages are purchased on invoice
from the manufacturer or rectifier.

(2) A manufacturer or rectifier may sell its product to no more than five
additional manufacturers or rectifiers.

(d) A fourth-class license issued for a farmers’ market location shall be
valid for all dates of operation for the specific farmers’ market location.

(e) Rules and-regulations applicable to second-elass second-class licenses

and pertaining to financial responsibility;—education—of-employees, age of

employees;—hours—of-sale,—age—of purchasers, the selling and furnishing to
apparently intoxicated persons; and leases of businesses shall all apply in-like

manner to fourth-elass fourth-class licenses.

MB)(f) Signs and advertising of feurth-elass fourth-class licenses at tasting
rooms and retail shops other than at the manufacturer’s or rectifier’s premises
shall indicate that the premises are a “tasting room and retail shop,” and shall
be in lettering not less than 75 percent of the height and width of the lettering
setting forth the name of the licensee or establishment.

Sec. 38. 7 V.S.A. § 225 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 225 251. EDUCATIONAL SAMPLING EVENT PERMIT

(a) The DlVlSlon of Liquor Control Beard may grant an educational
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(1) the event is also approved by the local licensing—authority—At

control commissioners; and

(2) at least 15 days prior to the event, an the applicant shall submit
submits an apphcatlon to the Department Division in a form required by the

Department.—The-application-shallinelude Commissioner that includes a list of
the alcoholic beverages to be acquired for sampling at the event,—and-the

application-shall be and is accompanied by a the fee in-the-amount required
pursuant-to provided in section 231 204 of this title.

(b) An educational sampling event permit holder is permitted to conduct an
event that is open to the public at which malt beverages, vinous beverages,
fortified wines, spirits, or all four are served only for the purposes of
marketing and educational sampling.

(c)(1) No more than four educational sampling event permits shall be
issued annually to the same person.

(2) An educational sampling event permit shall be valid for no more
than four consecutive days.

(d) The permit holder shall ensure all the following:

(1) Attendees at the educational sampling event shall be required to pay
an entry fee of no less than $5.00.

(2)(A) Beverages Malt beverages or vinous beverages for sampling shall
be offered in glasses that contain no more than two ounces of either beverage.

(B) Fortified wines and spirits for sampling shall be offered in
glasses that contain no more than one quarter ounce of either beverage.

(3) The event shall be conducted in compliance with all the
requirements of this title.

)(e) An educational sampling event permit holder:

(1) May may receive shipments directly from a manufacturer, bettler
packager, certificate of approval holder, wholesale dealer, or importer licensed
in Vermont or that provides evidence of licensure in another state or foreign
country satisfactory to the Board-;

(2) May may transport malt-beverages,—vinous—beverages,—fortified
wines;-and-spirits alcoholic beverages to the event site, and those beverages

may be served at the event by the permit holder or the holder’s employees,
volunteers, or representatives of a manufacturer, bettler packager, or importer
participating in the event, provided they meet the server age and training
requirements under section 259 of this chapter; and

(3) {Repealed-}
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(e)—All-the shall mark all cases and bottles of alcoholic beverages to be
served at the event shall-be-marked-by-the-permit-helder “For sampling only.

Not for resale.”

(d(f) Taxes for the alcoholic beverages served at the event shall be paid as
follows:

(1) Malt malt beverages:

(A) $0.265 per gallon of malt beverages served- that contain not
more than six percent of alcohol by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit; and

(B) $0.55 per gallon of malt beverages served that contain more than
six percent of alcohol by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit;

(2) Vineus vinous beverages: $0.55 per gallon served-;
(3) Spirituousliguors spirits: $19.80 per gallon served-; and
(4) Eeortified fortified wines: $19.80 per gallon served.

Sec. 39. 7 V.S.A. § 225 is added to read:

§ 225. FORTIFIED WINE PERMITS

(a)(1) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a fortified wine permit to
a second-class licensee if the licensee files an application accompanied by the
fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(2) The Division of Liquor Control shall issue no more than 150
fortified wine permits in any single vear.

(b)(1) A fortified wine permit holder may sell fortified wines to the public
from the licensed premises for consumption off the premises.

(2) A fortified wine permit holder shall purchase all fortified wines to
be offered for sale to the public pursuant to the permit through the Liquor
Control Board at a price equal to no more than 75 percent of the current retail
price for the fortified wine established by the Commissioner pursuant to
subdivision 107(3)(B) of this title.

Sec. 40. 7 V.S.A. § 226 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 226 272. BOTTLERS” PACKAGER’S LICENSE

(_) The l-rquer—eentrel—beard Board of L1quor and Lottery may grant to-a

bettler—m—b&ﬂeupen a packager S hcense to a person 1f the person:

(1) submits an application and-the-payment-of;
(2) pays the license fee as provided in section 231 204 of this title; and

- 2897 -



(3) upon—satisfying satisfies the commissioner—of liquor—control

Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery as to the its compliance with the rules

and-regulations of the liquorcontrol beard Board relating to the cleanliness of
the applicant’s facilities for storage and bottling of the—malt—and—inous

alcoholic beverages.

(b) A packager’s license holder may:

(1) bottle or otherwise package alcoholic beverages the licensee receives
in bulk for sale; and

(2) distribute and sell alcoholic beverages that are bottled or otherwise
packaged for sale by the licensee.

(¢) A packager’s license holder shall comply with the provisions of
subsection 274(c) of this subchapter.

Sec. 41. 7 V.S.A. § 226 is added to read:
§ 226. RETAIL DELIVERY PERMITS

(a)(1) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a retail delivery permit to
a second-class licensee if the licensee files an application accompanied by the
fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, the Division of
Liquor Control shall not grant a retail delivery permit in relation to a second-
class license issued to a licensed manufacturer or rectifier for the
manufacturer’s or rectifier’s premises.

(b) A retail delivery permit holder may deliver malt beverages or vinous
beverages sold from the licensed premises for consumption off the premises to
an individual who is at least 21 vyears of age subject to the following

requirements:

(1) Deliveries shall only be made by the permit holder or an employee
of the permit holder.

(2) Deliveries shall only occur between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and
5:00 p.m.

(3) Deliveries shall only be made to a physical address located in
Vermont.

(4) An employee of a retail delivery permit holder shall not be permitted
to make deliveries of malt beverages or vinous beverages pursuant to the
permit unless he or she has completed a training program approved by the
Division pursuant to section 213 of this chapter.

(5) Malt beverages and vinous beverages delivered pursuant to a retail
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delivery permit shall be for personal use and not for resale.

Sec. 42. 7 V.S.A. § 227 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 227 273. WHOLESALE DEALER’S LICENSE

(_) The l-rquer—eentrel—beard Board of L1quor and Lottery may grant to-a

hcense to a person 1f the person:

(1) submits an application on a form required by the Board;
(2) pays the license fee as provided in section 231 204 of this title; and

(3) upon-satisfying the liquor control board satisfies the Board as to his

or-her its qualifications as a wholesale dealer.

(b) A wholesale dealer’s license holder may distribute or sell malt
beverages or vinous beverages to first- and second-class licensees and holders
of educational sampling event permits.

(c)(1) In no event shall a wholesale dealer’s license permit-carrying holder

be permitted to carry on business allowed by a retail-dealer’sfirst-class first-
class license or second-elass second-class license.

(2) A wholesale dealer’s license holder shall comply with the provisions
of subsection 274(c) of this subchapter.

Sec. 43. 7 V.S.A. § 228 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 228 258, DINING CARS AND BOATS: FIRST-OR FHIRD-CEASS
FICENSE: PURCHASE OF HIQUORS OLFSIDE STATE:
PROMOTIONAL RAILROAD TASTING PERMIT

(b) The Division of Liquor Control Beard may grant to a person that
operates a railroad a tasting permit that permits the holder to conduct tastings

of Verment-produced alcoholic beverages in the dining car;—previded if the
person files with the department Division an application along with the permit

fee required-pursuant-to-subdivision23Ha)2 1) provided in section 204 of this

title.
Sec. 44. 7 V.S.A. § 238a is redesignated and amended to read:
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§ 238a 227. OUTSIDE CONSUMPTION PERMITS; FIRST-, THIRD-, AND
FOURTH-CLASS LICENSEES

Pursuant to regulations—of the rules of the Board of Liquor and Lottery, the
Division of Liquor Control Beard; may grant an outside consumption permit
ma{,Lbe—granted to the holder of a first- er, first- and third-class licensesfor-all
S es-of S a, or fourth-
class hcense for all or part of the out51de premises of the license holder;
provided-that-such if the permit is first-obtainedfrom approved by the local
control commissioners and approeved-by the Board.

Sec. 45. 7 V.S.A. § 228 is added to read:
§ 228. SAMPLER FLIGHTS

(a) The holder of a first-class license may serve a sampler flight of up to
32 ounces in the ageregate of malt beverages to a single customer at one time.

(b) The holder of a first-class license may serve a sampler flight of up to
12 ounces in the aggregate of vinous beverages to a single customer at one
time.

(¢) The holder of a third-class license may serve a sampler flight of up to
four ounces in the aggregate of spirits or fortified wines to a single customer at

one time.
Sec. 46. 7 V.S.A. § 229 is amended to read:
§ 229. NUMBER OFE LICENSES - ALLOWED CLUBS

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (2) and (3) of this
subsection, a club shall be permitted to obtain a license under this title if it has
existed for at least two consecutive years prior to the date of its application.

(2) A club whose officers and members consist solely of veterans of the
U.S. Armed Forces or a subordinate lodge or local chapter of any national
fraternal order, which fulfills all requirements of this section except that it has
not been in existence for at least two consecutive vears, shall be permitted to
obtain a license under this title if it has existed for at least six months prior to
the date of its application.
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(3) A club that is located on and integrally associated with at least a
regulation nine-hole golf course shall be permitted to obtain a license under
this title if it has existed for at least six months prior to the date of its

application.
(b) The premises of a club that is licensed pursuant to this title may be used

or leased by a nonmember as a location for a social event as if it were any
other licensed commercial establishment.

(c)(1) Before May 1 of each vyear, each club shall file with the Board of
Liquor and Lottery a list of the names and residences of its members and a list
of its officers.

(2) Its affairs and management shall be conducted by a board of
directors, executive committee, or similar body chosen by the members at its
annual meeting.

(3)(A) A club may provide for a salary for members, officers, agents, or
employees of the club by a vote at annual meetings by the club’s members,
directors, or other governing body, and shall report the salary set for the
members, officers, agents, or employees to the Board of Liquor and Lottery.

(B) No member, officer, agent, or employee of a club shall be paid,
or directly or indirectly receive, in the form of salary or other compensation,
any profits from the disposition or sale of alcoholic beverages to the club’s
members or guests introduced by members beyond the amount of any salary
that may be fixed and voted pursuant to subdivision (A) of this subdivision (3).

(4) An auxiliary member of a club may invite one guest at any one time.

(5)(A) An officer or director of a club may perform the duties of a
bartender without receiving any payment for that service, provided the officer
or director is in compliance with the requirements of this title that relate to
service of alcoholic beverages.

(B) An officer, member, or director of a club may volunteer to
perform services at the club other than serving alcoholic beverages, including
seating patrons and checking identification, without receiving payment for
those services.

(6) An officer, member, or director of a club who volunteers his or her
services shall not be considered to be an employee of the club.

Sec. 47. 7 V.S.A. § 238 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 238 241. CATERER’S LICENSE-GRANTING-OE; SALE-TO-MINORS;
COMMERCIAL CATERING LICENSE

(a) The Liguer-Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery may issue a caterer’s
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(b)—The Boardmay-issue or a commercial catering license enly to theose
persons a person who held holds a first-class license or eurrent first- and third-

class licenses.

(e)}(b) The LiguerControl Board of Liquor and Lottery shall adopt rules as
it-deems necessary to effectuate the purposes of this section.

Sec. 48 7 V.S.A. § 243 is added to read:
§ 243. REQUEST TO CATER PERMIT

(a) The Division of Liquor Control may issue a request to cater permit to
the holder of a caterer’s license or commercial caterer’s license if the licensee:

(1) submits an application for the permit on a form prescribed by the
Commissioner;

(2) receives approval for the proposed event from the local control
commissioners; and

(3) pays the fee required pursuant to section 204 of this title.

(b) A request to cater permit shall authorize a licensed caterer or
commercial caterer to serve alcoholic beverages at an individual event as set
forth in the permit.

Sec. 49. 7 V.S.A. § 252 is added to read:
§ 252. SPECIAL EVENT PERMITS

(a)(1) The Division of Liquor Control may issue a special event permit if
the application is submitted to the Division of Liquor Control with the fee
provided in section 204 of this title at least five days prior to the date of the
event.

(2) A special event permit shall be valid for the duration of each public
event or four days, whichever is shorter.

(b)(1) A special event permit holder may sell alcoholic beverages
manufactured or rectified by the permit holder by the glass or the unopened
bottle.
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(2) For purposes of tasting, a special event permit holder may distribute
beverages manufactured or rectified by the permit holder with or without
charge, provided the beverages are distributed:

(A) by the glass; and

(B) in quantities of no more than two ounces per product and eight
ounces total of malt beverages or vinous beverages and no more than one
ounce in total of spirits or fortified wines to each individual.

(c)(1) A licensed manufacturer or rectifier may be issued no more than 104
special event permits during a year.

(2) Each manufacturer or rectifier planning to attend a single special
event pursuant to this section may be listed on a single permit for the special
event. However, each attendance at a special event shall count toward the
manufacturer’s or rectifier’s annual limit of 104 special event permits.

Sec. 50. 7 V.S.A. § 253 is added to read:
§ 253. FESTIVAL PERMITS

(a) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a festival permit if the
applicant has:

(1) received approval from the local control commissioners;

(2) submitted a request for a festival permit to the Division in a form
required by the Commissioner at least 15 days prior to the festival; and

(3) paid the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(b)(1) A festival permit holder may purchase invoiced volumes of malt or
vinous beverages directly from a manufacturer or packager licensed in
Vermont, or a manufacturer or packager that holds a federal Basic Permit or
Brewers Notice or evidence of licensure in a foreien country that is
satisfactory to the Board.

(2) The invoiced volumes of malt or vinous beverages may be
transported to the site and sold by the glass to the public by the permit holder
or its employees and volunteers only during the event.

(c) A festival permit holder shall be subject to the provisions of this title,
including section 214 of this title, and the rules of the Board regarding the sale
of the alcoholic beverages and shall pay the tax on the malt or vinous
beverages pursuant to section 421 of this title.

(d) A person shall be granted no more than four festival permits per vear,
and each permit shall be valid for no more than four consecutive days.

Sec. 51. 7 V.S.A. § 254 is added to read:
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§ 254. SPECIAL VENUE SERVING PERMITS

(a) The Division of Liquor Control may grant an art gallery, bookstore,
public library, or museum a special venue serving permit if the applicant has:

(1) received approval from the local control commissioners;

(2) submitted a request for a permit to the Division in a form required
by the Commissioner at least five days prior to the event; and

(3) paid the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(b) A permit holder may purchase malt or vinous beverages directly from a
licensed retailer.

(c) A permit holder shall be subject to the provisions of this title and the
rules of the Board regarding the service of alcoholic beverages.

(d) A public library or museum may only be granted a permit pursuant to
this section for an event held for a charitable or educational purpose at which
malt and vinous beverages will be served for a period of not more than six
hours.

Sec. 52. 7 V.S.A. § 255 is added to read:
§ 255. RETAIL ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TASTING PERMITS

(a) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a licensee a permit to
conduct an alcoholic beverage tasting event as provided in subsection (b) of
this section if:

(1) the licensee has submitted a written application in a form required
by the Commissioner and paid the fee provided in section 204 of this title at
least five days prior to the date of the alcoholic beverage tasting event; and

(2) the Commissioner determines that the licensee is in good standing,

(b) The Division may grant the following alcoholic beverage tasting
permits to the following types of licensees:

(1) A second-class licensee.

(A) The permit authorizes the employees of the second-class licensee
or of a designated manufacturer or rectifier to dispense to each customer of
legal age on the licensee’s premises malt or vinous beverages by the glass not
to exceed two ounces of each beverage with a total of eight ounces of malt or
vinous beverages.

(B) Malt or vinous beverages dispensed at the tasting event shall be
from the inventory of the licensee or purchased from a wholesale dealer.

(C) A second-class licensee may be granted up to 48 tasting permits
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per vear. In addition, a second-class licensee may be granted up to five
permits per week to conduct a tasting as part of an educational food
preparation class or course conducted by the licensee on the licensee’s

premises.

(2) A licensed manufacturer or rectifier of malt or vinous beverages.

(A) The permit authorizes the licensed manufacturer or rectifier to
dispense to each customer of legal age for consumption on the premises of a
second-class licensee beverages produced by the manufacturer or rectifier by
the glass not to exceed two ounces of each beverage with a total of eight
ounces of malt or vinous beverages.

(B) A manufacturer or rectifier may conduct no more than 48
tastings per year.

(3) A licensed wholesale dealer. The permit authorizes a licensed
wholesale dealer to dispense malt or vinous beverages for promotional
purposes at the wholesale dealer’s premises without charge to invited
employees of first-, second-, and third-class licensees, provided the invited
employees are of legal age.

(c) A vinous beverage or malt beverage tasting event held pursuant to
subsection (b) of this section, not including an alcoholic beverage tasting
conducted on the premises of the manufacturer or rectifier, shall comply with

the following:

(1) continue for no more than six hours, with no more than six
beverages to be offered at a single event, and no more than two ounces of any
single beverage and no more than a total of eight ounces of malt or vinous
beverages to be dispensed to a customer;

(2) serve no more than eight individuals at one time:; and

(3) be conducted totally within a designated area that extends no further
than 10 feet from the point of service and that is marked by a clearly visible
sign that states that no one under 21 years of age may participate in the tasting.

(d) The holder of a permit issued under this section shall keep an accurate
accounting of the beverages consumed at a tasting event and shall be
responsible for complying with all applicable laws under this title.

(e) The holder of a permit issued under this section that provides alcoholic
beverages to a minor or permits an individual under 18 years of age to serve
alcoholic beverages at a tasting event under this section shall be fined not less
than $500.00 nor more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two years,
or both.

Sec. 53. 7 V.S.A. § 256 is added to read:
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§ 256. PROMOTIONAL TASTINGS FOR LICENSEES

(a)(1) At the request of a first- or second-class licensee, a holder of a
manufacturer’s, rectifier’s, or wholesale dealer’s license may distribute without
charge to the first- or second-class licensee’s management and staff, provided
they are of legal age and are off duty for the rest of the day, two ounces per
person of vinous or malt beverages for the purpose of promoting the beverage.

(2) At the request of a holder of a third-class license, a manufacturer or
rectifier of spirits or fortified wines may distribute without charge to the third-
class licensee’s management and staff, provided they are of legal age and are
off duty for the rest of the day, one-quarter ounce of each beverage and no
more than a total of one ounce to each individual for the purpose of promoting

the beverage.
(3) No permit is required for a tasting pursuant to this subsection, but

written notice of the event shall be provided to the Division of Liquor Control
at least two days prior to the date of the tasting.

(b)(1) At the request of a holder of a wholesale dealer’s license, a first-
class licensee may dispense malt or vinous beverages for promotional purposes
without charge to invited management and staff of first-, second-, or third-class
licensees, provided they are of legal age.

(2) The event shall be held on the premises of the first-class licensee.

(3) The first-class licensee shall be responsible for complying with all
applicable laws under this title.

(4) No permit is required for a tasting pursuant to this subsection, but
the wholesale dealer shall provide written notice of the event to the Division of
Liquor Control at least 10 days prior to the date of the tasting.

(c)(1) Upon receipt of a first- or second-class application by the Board, a
holder of a wholesale dealer’s license may dispense malt or vinous beverages
for promotional purposes without charge to invited management and staff of
the business that has applied for a first- or second-class license, provided they
are of legal age.

(2) The event shall be held on the premises of the first- or second-class
applicant.

(3) The first- or second-class applicant shall be responsible for
complying with all applicable laws under this title.

(4) No malt or vinous beverages shall be left behind at the conclusion of
the tasting.
(5) No permit is required under this subdivision, but the wholesale
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dealer shall provide written notice of the event to the Division at least five
days prior to the date of the tasting.

Sec. 54. 7 V.S.A. § 257 is added to read:
§ 257. TASTINGS FOR PRODUCT QUALITY ASSURANCE

(a) A licensed manufacturer or rectifier may distribute to its management
and staff who are directly involved in the production of the licensee’s products,
provided they are of legal age and at the licensed premises, samples of the
licensee’s products for the purpose of assuring the quality of the products.

(b) Each sample of malt beverages or vinous beverages shall be no larger
than two ounces, and each sample of spirits or fortified wines shall be no
larger than one-quarter ounce.

(¢) No permit is required for a tasting pursuant to this section.
Sec. 55. 7 V.S.A. § 259 is added to read:
§ 259. TASTING EVENTS; AGE AND TRAINING OF SERVERS

No individual who is under 18 years of age or who has not received training
as required by the Division may serve alcoholic beverages at a tasting event
under this subchapter.

Sec. 56. 7 V.S.A. § 271 is added to read:
§ 271. MANUFACTURER’S OR RECTIFIER’S LICENSE

(a) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant a manufacturer’s or
rectifier’s license upon application and payment of the fee provided in section
204 of this title that permits the license holder to manufacture or rectify:

(1) malt beverages;

(2) vinous beverages and fortified wines; or

(3) spirits and fortified wines.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in section 224 of this title and subsections
(d)—(f) of this section:

(1) spirits and fortified wine may be manufactured for sale to the Board
of Liquor and Lottery or for export, or both; and

(2) malt beverages and vinous beverages may be manufactured or
rectified for sale to packagers or wholesale dealers, or for export, or both.

(¢) A licensed manufacturer of vinous beverages or fortified wines may
receive from another manufacturer licensed in or outside this State bulk
shipments of vinous beverages to rectify with the licensee’s own product,
provided that the vinous beverages or fortified wines produced by the licensed
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manufacturer may contain no more than 25 percent imported vinous
beverages.

(d)(1) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant to a licensed
manufacturer or rectifier a first-class license or a first- and a third-class license
permitting the licensee to sell alcoholic beverages to the public at an
establishment located at the manufacturer’s premises, provided the
manufacturer or rectifier owns or has direct control over that establishment.

(2) For a manufacturer of malt beverages, the premises of the
manufacturer may include up to two licensed establishments that are located
on the contiguous real estate of the license holder, provided the manufacturer
owns or has direct control over both establishments.

(e) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant a licensed manufacturer of
malt beverages a second-class license permitting the licensee to sell alcoholic
beverages to the public anywhere on the manufacturer’s premises.

(D(1) A licensed manufacturer or rectifier may serve alcoholic beverages
with or without charge at an event held on the premises of the licensee or at a
location on the contiguous real estate of the licensee provided the licensee at
least five days before the event gives the Division written notice of the event,
including details required by the Division.

(2) Any beverages not manufactured by the licensee and served at the
event shall be purchased on invoice from a licensed manufacturer or wholesale
dealer or the Board of Liquor and Lottery.

Sec. 57. REPEAL
7 V.S.A. chapter 11 (Certificates of Approval) is repealed.
Sec. 58. 7 V.S.A. § 274 is added to read:

§ 274. CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL FOR DISTRIBUTION OF MALT
OR VINOUS BEVERAGES

(a) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant to a manufacturer or
distributor of malt or vinous beverages that is not licensed under the provisions
of this title a certificate of approval if the manufacturer or distributor does all
of the following:

(1) Submits an application on a form prescribed by the Board, including
any additional information that the Board may deem necessary.

(2) Agrees to comply with the rules of the Board.

(3) Pays the fee provided in section 204 of this title to the Division of
Liquor Control by a certified check payable to the State of Vermont or another
form of payment approved by the Board of Liquor and Lottery. If the Board
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does not grant the application, the certified check or payment shall be returned
to the applicant.

(b) A certificate of approval shall permit the holder to export malt or
vinous beverages, or sell malt or vinous beverages to holders of packagers’
or wholesale dealers’ licenses issued under section 272 or 273 of this title,
or both.

(c) A holder of a packager’s or a wholesale dealer’s license issued under
this title shall not purchase within or outside the State, or import or cause to be
imported into the State, any malt or vinous beverages unless the person,
manufacturer, or distributor from which the beverages are obtained holds a
valid certificate of approval or packager’s license.

(d)(1) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may suspend or revoke a certificate
of approval if the holder fails to comply with the rules of the Board or to
submit reports to the Commissioner of Taxes in accordance with all applicable
laws and rules.

(2)(A) A certificate of approval shall not be revoked unless the holder
has been given a hearing following reasonable notice.

(B) Notice of a revocation or suspension shall be sent to each holder
of a packager’s or wholesale dealer’s license prior to the effective date of the
revocation or suspension.

(e) A person who violates a provision of this section shall be fined not
more than $300.00 or imprisoned not more than one year, or both, for each
offense and shall forfeit any license issued under the provisions of this title.

Sec. 59. REPEAL

7 V.S.A. chapter 13 (Solicitor’s License) is repealed.
Sec. 60. 7 V.S.A. § 275 is added to read:
§ 275. SOLICITOR’S LICENSE

(a) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may grant an individual a solicitor’s
license if he or she does all of the following:

(1) Submits an application to the Board of Liquor and Lottery on a form
prescribed by the Board. The application shall include, at a minimum, the
name, residence, and business address of the applicant, the name and address
of the vendor or emplover to be represented by the applicant, and an
agreement by the applicant to comply with the rules of the Board.

(2) Submits to the Board a recommendation by the vendor to be
represented by the applicant that indicates the applicant is qualified to hold a
solicitor’s license.
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(3) Pays the fee provided in section 204 of this title to the Division of
Liquor Control by certified check made pavable to the State of Vermont. The
certified check shall be returned to the applicant if the Board does not grant
him or her a license under this section.

(b) A solicitor’s license holder may solicit orders for and promote the sale
of malt or vinous beverages by canvassing or interviewing holders of licenses
1ssued under the provisions of this title.

(c) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may suspend or revoke a solicitor’s
license for failure to comply with any rule of the Board or for other cause. A
solicitor’s license shall not be revoked until the license holder has had an
opportunity for a hearing following reasonable notice.

(d) A person who solicits orders for, or promotes the sale of malt or vinous
beverages, or attempts to solicit or promote the sale of malt or vinous
beverages by canvassing or interviewing a holder of a license issued under the
provisions of this title, without having first obtained a solicitor’s license as
provided in this section, or who makes a false or fraudulent statement or
representation in an application for the license or in connection with an
application shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more
than $500.00, or both.

Sec. 61. 7 V.S.A. § 276 is added to read:
§ 276. INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL DISTRIBUTOR’S LICENSE

(a) The Board of Liquor and Lottery may egrant an industrial alcohol
distributor’s license upon application and payment of the fee provided in
section 204 of this title.

(b) Alcohol sold under an industrial alcohol distributor’s license may only
be used for manufacturing, mechanical, medicinal, and scientific purposes.

Sec. 62. 7 V.S.A. § 277 is added to read:

§ 277. MALT AND VINOUS BEVERAGE CONSUMER SHIPPING
LICENSE

(a)(1) A manufacturer or rectifier of malt or vinous beverages licensed in
Vermont may be granted an in-state consumer shipping license by filing with
the Division of Liquor Control an application in a form required by the
Commissioner accompanied by a copy of the applicant’s current Vermont
manufacturer’s license and the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

(2) An in-state consumer shipping license may be renewed annually by
submitting to the Division the fee provided in section 204 of this title
accompanied by a copy of the licensee’s current Vermont manufacturer’s
license.
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(b)(1) A manufacturer or rectifier of malt or vinous beverages licensed in
another state that operates a brewery or winery in the United States and holds
valid state and federal permits and licenses may be granted an out-of-state
consumer shipping license by filing with the Division of Liquor Control an
application in a form required by the Commissioner accompanied by copies of
the applicant’s current out-of-state manufacturer’s license and the fee provided
in section 204 of this title.

(2) An out-of-state consumer shipping license may be renewed annually
by submitting to the Division the fee provided in section 204 of this title
accompanied by the licensee’s current out-of-state manufacturer’s license.

(3) As used in this section, “out-of-state” means any state other than
Vermont, any territory or possession of the United States, and does not include
a foreign country.

(c)(1) A consumer shipping license granted pursuant to this section shall
permit the licensee to ship malt or vinous beverages produced by the licensee
to private residents for personal use and not for resale.

(2) A licensee shall not ship more than 12 cases of malt beverages
containing no more than 36 gallons of malt beverages or no more than 12
cases of vinous beverages containing no more than 29 gallons of vinous
beverages to any one Vermont resident in any calendar vear.

(3) The beverages shall be shipped by common carrier certified by the
Division pursuant to section 280 of this subchapter. The common carrier shall
comply with all the following:

(A) deliver beverages pursuant to an invoice that includes the name
of the licensee and the name and address of the purchaser;

(B) on delivery, require a valid authorized form of identification, as
defined in section 589 of this title, from a recipient who appears to be under 30
years of age: and

(C) require the recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other
acknowledgment of receipt.

Sec. 63. 7 V.S.A. § 278 is added to read:
§ 278. VINOUS BEVERAGE RETAIL SHIPPING LICENSE

(a) A manufacturer or rectifier of vinous beverages that is licensed in-state
or out-of-state and holds valid state and federal permits and operates a winery
in the United States may apply for a retail shipping license by filing with the
Division of Liquor Control an application in a form required by the
Commissioner accompanied by a copy of its in-state or out-of-state license and
the fee provided in section 204 of this title.
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(b) The retail shipping license may be renewed annually by submitting to
the Division the fee provided in section 204 of this title accompanied by the
licensee’s current in-state or out-of-state manufacturer’s license.

(¢c) A retail shipping license holder, including the holder’s affiliates,
franchises, and subsidiaries, may sell up to 5,000 gallons of vinous beverages
per vear directly to first- or second-class licensees and deliver the beverages by
common carrier, the manufacturer’s or rectifier’s own vehicle, or the vehicle
of an employee of a manufacturer or rectifier, provided that the beverages are
sold on invoice, and no more than 100 gallons per month are sold to any single
first- or second-class licensee.

(d) The retail shipping license holder shall provide to the Division
documentation of the annual and monthly number of gallons sold.

(e) Vinous beverages sold under this section may be delivered by the
vehicle of a second-class license holder if the second-class licensee cannot
obtain the vinous beverages from a wholesale dealer.

Sec. 64. 7 V.S.A. § 279 is added to read:

§ 279. CONSUMER AND RETAIL SHIPPING LICENSES; GENERAL
REQUIREMENTS

A holder of a shipping license granted pursuant to section 277 or 278 of this
subchapter shall comply with all of the following:

(1) Ensure that all containers of alcoholic beverages are shipped in a
container that is clearly labeled: “contains alcohol; signature of individual 21
years of age or older required for delivery.”

(2) Not ship to any address in a municipality that the Division of Liquor
Control identifies as having voted to be “dry.”

(3) Retain a copy of each record of sale for a minimum of five years
from the date of shipping.

(4) Report at least twice per year to the Division if a holder of a
consumer shipping license and once per vyear if a holder of a retail shipping
license in a manner and form required by the Commissioner all the following
information:

(A) the total amount of malt or vinous beverages shipped into or
within the State during the preceding six months if a holder of a consumer
shipping license or during the preceding 12 months if a holder of a retail
shipping license;

(B) the names and addresses of the purchasers to whom the
beverages were shipped; and
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(C) the date purchased, the quantity and value of each shipment, and,
if applicable, the name of the common carrier used to make each delivery.

(5) Pay to the Commissioner of Taxes the tax required pursuant to
section 421 of this title on the malt or vinous beverages shipped pursuant to
this subchapter and comply with the provisions of 32 V.S.A. chapter 233,
24 V.S.A. § 138, and any other legally authorized local sales taxes. Delivery
in this State shall be deemed to constitute a sale in this State at the place of
delivery and shall be subject to all appropriate taxes levied by the State of
Vermont.

(6) Permit the State Treasurer, the Division of Liquor Control, and the
Department of Taxes, separately or jointly, upon request, to perform an audit
of its records.

(7) If an out-of-state license holder, be deemed to have consented to the
jurisdiction of the Board of Liquor and Lottery, Department of Liquor and
Lottery, Division of Liquor Control, or any other State agency and the
Vermont State courts concerning enforcement of this or other applicable laws
and rules.

(8) Not have any direct or indirect financial interest in a Vermont
wholesale dealer or retail dealer, including a first-, second-, or third-class
licensee.

(9) Comply with all applicable laws and Board of Liquor and Lottery
rules.

(10) Comply with the beverage container deposit redemption system
pursuant to 10 V.S.A. chapter 53.

Sec. 65. 7 V.S.A. § 280 is added to read:
§ 280. COMMON CARRIERS; REQUIREMENTS

(a) A common carrier shall not deliver malt or vinous beverages pursuant
to this chapter until it has complied with the training provisions in section 213
of this title and been certified by the Division of Liquor Control.

(b) No employee of a certified common carrier may deliver malt or vinous
beverages until that employee completes the training required pursuant to
subsection 213(c¢) of this title.

(¢) A certified common carrier shall deliver only malt or vinous beverages
that have been shipped by the holder of a license issued under section 277 or
278 of this subchapter or vinous beverages that have been shipped by the
holder of a vinous beverage storage license issued under section 283 of this

subchapter.
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Sec. 66. 7 V.S.A. § 281 is added to read:
§ 281. PROHIBITIONS

(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in section 226 of this title, direct
shipments of malt or vinous beverages are prohibited if the shipment is not
specifically authorized and in compliance with sections 277-280 of this

subchapter.

(2) Any person who knowingly makes, participates in, imports, or
receives a direct shipment of malt or vinous beverages from a person who does
not hold a license, permit, or certificate pursuant to sections 226 or 277-280 of
this title may be fined not more than $1,000.00 or imprisoned not more than
one vear, or both.

(b) The holder of a license issued pursuant to section 277 or 278 of this
title or a common carrier that ships malt or vinous beverages to an individual
under 21 vyears of age shall be fined not less than $1.000.00 or more than
$3,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two years, or both.

(c) For any violation of sections 277-280 of this subchapter, the Board of
Liquor and Lottery may suspend or revoke a license issued under section 277
or 278 of this subchapter, in addition to any other remedies available to the
Board.

Sec. 67. 7 V.S.A. § 282 is added to read:
§ 282. RULEMAKING

The Board of Liquor and Lottery and the Commissioner of Taxes may
adopt rules and forms necessary to implement sections 277-281 of this

subchapter.
Sec. 68. 7 V.S.A. § 68 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 68 283. VINOUS BEVERAGE STORAGE AND SHIPPING LICENSE

(a) The liguer-contrel-board Board of Liquor and Lottery may, pursuant to
rules adopted by the Board, grant a vinous beverage storage and shipping

license to a person whe-eperates that submits an application and pays the fee
provided in section 204 of this title.

(b)(1) A vinous beverage storage and shipping licensee may operate a
climate-controlled storage facility in which vinous beverages owned by
another person are stored for a fee a-license-that-allows-the licensee-to-store
and may transport vinous beverages on which all applicable taxes already have
been paid.

(2) A vinous beverage storage facility may also accept shipments from
any licensed in-state or out-of-state vinous beverage manufacturer that has an
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in-state or out-of-state consumer shipping license pursuant to section 66 277 of
this title.

(3) Vinous beverages stored by the licensee may be transported only for

shipment to the owner of the beverages or to another licensed vinous beverage
storage facility, and the beverages shall be shipped only by common carrier in
comphance with subsecﬁen—éé(-@ section 280 of th1s title. T—he—hcensee—shaﬂ

(c) A person granted a license pursuant to this section may not sell or resell
any vinous beverages stored at the storage facility.

Sec. 69. 7 V.S.A. § 421 is amended to read:
§ 421. TAX ON MALT AND VINOUS BEVERAGES

(a) Every bettler packager and whelesaler wholesale dealer shall pay to the
Commissioner of Taxes the sum of 26 and one-half cents per gallon for every
gallon or its equivalent of malt beverage beverages containing not more than
six percent of alcohol by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit sold by them to
retailers in the State and the sum of 55 cents per gallon for each gallon of malt
beverage beverages containing more than six percent of alcohol by volume at
60 degrees Fahrenheit and each gallon of Vmous beverages sold by them to
retailers in the State ané 2y :
be%ﬂer—s—and—whelesaler—s—l-}eeaqses A manufacturer or rectlﬁer of malt or
vinous beverages shall pay the taxes required by this subsection to the
Commissioner of Taxes for all malt and vinous beverages manufactured or
rectified by them and sold at retail.

(b) A bettler packager or whelesaler wholesale dealer may sell malt or

vinous beverages to any duly authorlzed agency of the U.S. Armed Forces on

Arr—Eeree—S%aHen—at—Nerth—Geneerd—er any e%her US Armed Forces
installation presently existing in the State or which may in the future be
established as though to a retail dealer but without the payment of the
gallonage tax, subject to the filing of the returns hereinafter as provided in
subsection (c) of this section.

(c)(1) For the purpose of ascertaining the amount of tax, on the filing dates
set out in subdivision (2) of this subsection according to tax liability, each
bottler-andwhelesaler packager, wholesale dealer, manufacturer, or rectifier
shall transmit to the Commissioner of Taxes, upon a form prepared and
furnished by the Commissioner, a statement or return under oath or affirmation
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showing the quantity of malt and vinous beverages sold by the bettler—or
whelesaler packager, wholesale dealer, manufacturer, or rectifier during the
preceding filing period, and report any other information requested by the
Commissioner accompanied by payment of the tax required by this section.
The amount of tax computed under subsection (a) of this section shall be
rounded to the nearest whole cent. At the same time this form is due, each
bottler-and whelesaler packager, wholesale dealer, manufacturer, or rectifier
also shall transmit to the Commissioner in electronic format a separate report
showing the description, quantity, and price of malt and vinous beverages sold
by the bettler orwholesaler packager, wholesale dealer, manufacturer, or
rectifier to each retail dealer as defined in subdivision2(18) section 2 of this
title; provided, however, for direct sales to retail dealers by manufacturers or
rectifiers of vinous beverages, the report required by this subsection may be
submitted in a nonelectronic format.

(2) Where the tax liability for the immediately preceding full calendar
year has been (or would have been in cases when the business was not
operating for the entire year):

(A) $2,000.00 or less, then payment of the tax and submission of the
documents required by this section shall be due and payable in quarterly
installments on or before the 25th day of the calendar month succeeding the
quarter ending the last day of March, June, September, and December of each
year; or

(B) Mere more than $2,000.00, then payment of the tax and
submission of the documents required by this section shall be due and payable
monthly on or before the 25th (23rd of February) day of the month following
the month for which the tax is due.

(d) The exemption provided in this section for beverages sold on any U.S.
Armed Forces’ installation presently existing in the State is allowed only if the
sales are evidenced by a proper voucher or affidavit in a form prescribed by
the Commissioner of Taxes, which shall be a part of the return filed.

(e) A person er-cerperation failing to pay the tax when due, or failing to
make returns as required by this section, shall be subject to and governed by
the provisions of 32 V.S.A. §§ 3202 and 3203.

- [Repealed. ]

Sec. 70. 7 V.S.A. § 423 is amended to read:
§ 423. RULES

(a) The Commissioner of Taxes and the Liguer-Centrol Board of Liquor
and Lottery shall adopt sueh rules as they—deem necessary for the proper
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administration and collection of the tax imposed under section 422 of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 71. 7 V.S.A. § 425 is amended to read:
§ 425. TAXES A PERSONAL DEBT; ACTION FOR RECOVERY

All taxes imposed by this title and all increases, interest, and penalties
thereon on those taxes, from the time they become due and payable, shall
become a personal debt, from the person liable to pay the same; amounts due
to the state State of Vermont, te and may be recovered in an a civil action en
this-statute brought pursuant to this section.

Sec. 72. 7 V.S.A. chapter 17 is redesignated to read:

CHAPTER 17. SALE TO INTOXICATED PERSONS
AND PUBLIC CHARGES

Sec. 73. 7 V.S.A. § 501 is amended to read:

§ 501. UNLAWFUL SALE OF INFOXICATING EIQUORS ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES; CIVIL ACTION FOR DAMAGES

(a) Action for damages. A spouse, child, guardian, employer, or other
person who is injured in person, property, or means of support by an
intoxicated person, or in consequence of the intoxication of any person, shall
have a right of action in his or her own name, jointly or severally, against any
person or persons who have caused in whole or in part sueh the intoxication by

selling or furnishing intexicating liquor alcoholic beverages:
(1) to a minor as defined in section 2 of this title;

(2) to a person apparently under the influence of intexicating liquer
alcohol;

(3) to a person after legal serving hours; or

(4) to a person whem who it would be reasonable to expect would be
under the influence of intexicating liquor alcohol as a result of the amount of
liguer alcoholic beverages served by the defendant to that person.

(b) Survival of action; joint action. Upon the death of either party, the
action and right of action shall survive to or against the party’s executor or
administrator. The party injured or his or her legal representatives may bring
either a joint action against the person intoxicated and, the person or persons
who furnished the liquer alcoholic beverages, and an owner who may be liable
under subsection (c¢) of this section, or a separate action against either or any
of them.

(c) Landlord liability.
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(1) If the intexicatingliquer—was alcoholic beverages were sold or

furnished to the intoxicated person in a rented building, the owner may be
joined as a defendant in the action, and judgment therein in the action may be
rendered against the owner, if the owner of the building or in the case of a

corporation, its agent, knew or had reason to know that intexicating liquor-was
alcoholic beverages were sold or furnished by the tenant:

H(A) to minors as defined in section 2 of this title;

2)(B) to persons apparently under the influence of intoxicating
liguer alcohol;

3)(C) to persons after legal serving hours; or

“@)(D) to persons whem who it would be reasonable to expect would
be under the influence of intexicating liquor alcohol as a result of the amount
of liguer alcoholic beverages served to them by the tenant.

(2) It shall be an affirmative defense to an action against an owner that
the owner took reasonable steps to prevent the sale of intexicatingliquor
alcoholic beverages under the circumstances described in this subsection or to
evict the tenant.

(d) Statute of limitations. An action to recover for damages under this
section shall be commenced within two years after the cause of action accrues,
and not after.

(e) Evidence.

(1) In an action brought under this section, evidence of responsible
actions taken or not taken is admissible, if otherwise relevant.

(2) Responsible actions may include;-but-are-net-limited-to; instruction
of servers as to laws governing the sale of alcoholic beverages, training of
servers regarding intervention techniques, admonishment to patrons or guests
concerning laws regarding the consumption of intexicating-liguer alcoholic
beverages, and inquiry under the methods provided by law as to the age or
degree of intoxication of the persons involved.

(f) Right of contribution. A defendant in an action brought under this
section has a right of contribution from any other responsible person or
persons, which may be enforced in a separate action brought for that purpose.

(g) Social host.

(1) Except as set forth in subdivision (2) of this subsection, nothing in
this section shall create a statutory cause of action against a social host for
furnishing intexicating—liguor alcoholic beverages to any person without
compensation or profit,—f-the-social-host-isnot-a-licensee-orrequired-to-be-a
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licenseeunder-this-title. However, this subdivision shall not be construed to
limit or otherwise affect the liability of a social host for negligence at
common law.

(2) A social host who knowingly furnishes intexicating-liguor alcoholic
beverages to a minor may be held liable under this section if the social host
knew, or a reasonable person in the same circumstances would have known,
that the person who received the imtexicating liguor alcoholic beverages was a
minor.

(h) Definitions. Eer-the-purpese-of As used in this section:

(1) “Apparently under the influence of intoxicating liguor alcohol”
means a state of intoxication accompanied by a perceptible act or series of

actions which present signs of intoxication.

(2) “Social host” means a person who is not the holder of a liquer
license or permit under this title and is not required to hold a license or permit

under this title to-hold-a-liquor-license.
Sec. 74. 7 V.S.A. § 502 is amended to read:

§ 502. MINORS; PAYMENT OF DAMAGES RECOVERED

All damages recovered by a minor in sueh an action under section 501 of
this chapter shall be paid over to sueh the minor or to his or her guardian on
such whatever terms as the court may order.

Sec. 75. 7 V.S.A. § 503 is amended to read:
§ 503. SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT; REVOCATION OF LICENSE

If ajudgmentrecovered-against a licensee under-the-provisions—of fails to
satisfy a judgment entered under section 501 of this title remains—unsatisfied

for 30 days after the-entry-thereof the judgment is entered, the beard-of local
control commissioners or the liguer-control-board Board of Liquor and Lottery
shall revoke his its license. A license shall not be granted to a person against
whom sueh a judgment has been recovered, until the same judgment is
satisfied.

Sec. 76. 7 V.S.A. § 504 is amended to read:




Sec. 77. 7 V.S.A. § 505 is amended to read:

[Repealed. ]
Sec. 78. 7 V.S.A. § 506 is amended to read:

§ 5006, RECORD-OFNOFICES

Sec. 79. 7 V.S.A. § 561 is amended to read:

§ 561. AUTHORITY OF LIQUOR CONTROL INVESTIGATORS;
ARREST FOR UNLAWFULLY MANUFACTURING,
POSSESSING, OR TRANSPORTING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES;
SEIZURE OF PROPERTY

k %k %k

(b) The Commissioner of Liquor Centrel and Lottery, the Director of the
Enforcement Division-of for the Department Division of Liquor Control er, an
investigator employed by the Liquer-Ceontrel Board of Liquor and Lottery or
by the Department Division of Liquor Control and, or any other law
enforcement officer may arrest or take into custody pursuant to the Vermont
Rules of Criminal Procedure a person whom he or she finds in the act of
manufacturing alcohol or possessing a still; or other apparatus for the
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manufacture of alcohol;—er; unlawfully selling, bartering, possessing,
furnishing, or transporting alcohol;; or unlawfully selling, furnishing, or
transporting spirits,fortified wines,—or-malt-and vinous alcoholic beverages,
and shall seize the liquers; alcohol, vessels, and implements of sale and the
stills or other apparatus for the manufacture of alcohol in the possession of the
person. He or she may also seize and take into custody any property described
in this section.

Sec. 80. 7 V.S.A. § 563 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 563 562. SEARCH WARRANTS

(a) If a state’s-attorney State’s Attorney, the commissioner-of liguorcontrol
Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery, er an inspeetor investigator duly acting

for the liguor—control-beard Board of Liquor and Lottery, er a control

commissioner, or a town grand juror ertwo-reputable citizensof the county;
make a complaint under oath or affirmation;—before to a judge of a—eriminal

division the Criminal Division of the superior-court Superior Court, that he or
she or they have reason to believe that malt-ervinous-beverages-or-spirituous
liguer alcoholic beverages or alcohol are kept or deposited for sale or
distribution contrary to law, or that alcohol is manufactured or possessed
contrary to law, in any kind of vehicle, air or water craft, or other conveyance
or a dwelling house h amboa : a1 §
railway car, m h a1 ) — ra 4
other building or place in the county, the Judge shall issue a warrant to search
the premises described in the complaint.

(b) If the higuor alcoholic beverages or alcohol is found therein there under
circumstances warranting the belief that it is intended for sale or distribution
contrary to law, or if the alcohol is found therein in that place under
circumstances warranting the belief that it is unlawfully manufactured or
possessed, or if any still; or any other apparatus for the manufacture of alcohol
is found therein in that place, the officer shall seize and convey the same
alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or still or other apparatus to seme a secure place
of seecurity; and keep it until final-action-is-had-thereon the court renders a final

judgment on it.
Sec. 81. 7 V.S.A. 564 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 564 563. SEARCH OF PREMISES WITHOUT WARRANT

(a) A sheriff—deputy-sheriff,—constable,police law enforcement officer,
selectboard member, or grand juror who has information that malt,~vineus;-and

spirituous-liguor alcoholic beverages or alcohol is kept with intent to sell, or is

sold contrary to law in a-tent—shanty,—hut—orplace—of-any kind for-selling
refreshments—in-a any kind of public place for selling refreshments, except a
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dwelling houses house, on or near the greund grounds of a ecattle—show;
agricultural-exhibition,—military-muster,—or public occasion of any kind; shall

search such the suspected place without a warrant.

(b)(1) If sueh the officer finds such-liguer alcoholic beverages or alcohol
upon the premises, he or she shall seize the-same it and apprehend the keeper
of such the place and take him or her, without the liqguor-se seized alcoholic
beverages or alcohol, forthwith-or as soon as conveniently may be practicable,
before a distriet judge of the Criminal Division of the Superior Court in whese
the jurisdiction where the same alcoholic beverages or alcohol is found;-and

thereupon-such.

(2) The officer shall make a written complaint under oath;-subseribed-by
him-or-her; or affirmation to such-magistrate the judge, setting forth the details
of the finding of such-liquor the alcoholic beverages or alcohol.

(c)(1) Upon proof that the liquor-is-intoxicating-and-that-the same-was the

alcoholic beverages or alcohol were found in the possession of the accused in a
tent;—shanty,—or-other a public place, with intent to sell contrary to law, the
liguer seized alcoholic beverages or alcohol shall be adjudged forfeited and
disposed of by order of such-magistrate the court, as provided in this chapter.
Such

(2) The owner or keeper shall be proceeded against—as—provided—in

pursuant to this chapter; for keeping such-malt-and-vinous-beverage,-spirituous
liguer; the alcoholic beverages or alcohol with intent to sell.

Sec. 82. 7 V.S.A. § 565 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 565 564. NOTICE OF SEIZURE; HEARING; FEES

The An officer who makes-a-seizure-of malt, vinous-or-spirituous-liquor-or

pursuant to section 562 or 563 of this chapter seizes alcoholic beverages,
alcohol, or a still or other apparatus for the manufacture of alcohol, with or
without a warrant, shall ferthwith promptly give notice thereof of the seizure
to a grand juror of the town in which sueh the seizure is made, or to the state’s
attorney State’s Attorney of the county. Sueh The grand juror or state’s
attorney State’s Attorney shall then attend and act in behalf of the state State at
the hearing against the liguer seized alcoholic beverages, alcohol, still, or
apparatus se—seized;—and-the. An officer making the a seizure without a
warrant shall be allowed the same fees as if he or she had acted under a
warrant.

Sec. 83. 7 V.S.A. § 566 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 566 565. ARREST OF OWNER OF SEIZED PROPERTY
The officer shall promptly apprehend and bring ferthwith before the

-2922 -



magistrate court the owner and, keeper, and all persons having the custody of;
or exercising any control over; the hguer alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other
property seized pursuant to section 562 or 563 of this chapter, either whether
as principal, clerk, servant, or agent.

Sec. 84. 7 V.S.A. § 567 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 567 566. ARREST OF OWNER OF BUILDING

If the owner or keeper of such-liguor the alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or
other property seized pursuant to section 562 or 563 of this chapter is unknown
to the officer, or if a person is not found in possession or custody of the same
seized alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property, the officer shall
apprehend and bring before the magistrate court the owner or occupant of the
building or apartments in which sueh-liquor the seized alcoholic beverages,
alcohol, or other property was found, if known tohim or canbe by him

ascertained he or she knows or can ascertain the person’s identity.
Sec. 85. 7 V.S.A. § 568 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 568 567. FORFEITURE OF SEIZED PROPERTY

(a) If, upen after a hearing, it-appears the court determines that such-liquor
the alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property seized pursuant to section

562 or 563 of this chapter was intended for sale, distribution, or use contrary
to law, it shall be adjudged forfeited and condemned. When-liquor

(b) Alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property that is adjudged
forfeited and condemned under this section;—t shall be turned over to the

commissioner-of liguor—control Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery for the
benefit of the state State.

Sec. 86. 7 V.S.A. § 569 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 569 568. COSTS OF FORFEITURE AND CONDEMNATION
PROCEEDINGS

Upon condemnation of such-liguor alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other
property pursuant to section 567 of this title, any and-all-persoens person
apprehended and brought before such-magistrate the court under sections 564
563 and 566 565 of this title shall be liable to—pay for the costs of such the
proceedings, if, in the judgment of the magistrate court, any of them by
themselves, or through clerks, servants, or agents;-shall-have-been:

(1) engaged in, or aided in, assisted in, or abetted the keeping of such
liguer the alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property for unlawful sale,
distribution, or use;-er-have-been;

(2) were privy thereto; to the keeping of the alcoholic beverages,
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alcohol, or other property for unlawful sale, distribution, or use; or have

(3) knowingly permitted the use of any building or apartments by-them
the person owned or controlled, for the storing or keeping of-such-liquor the
alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property for sueh unlawful sale,
distribution, or use.

Sec. 87. 7 V.S.A. § 570 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 570 @. EXECUTION FOR COSTS

: : and—a : +—the—ma ate—adjudged If the court
determmes that a person is liable te—pay for the costs—m—e&se of the
proceedings pursuant to section 568 of this title and the costs are not paid, the
magistrate court, after a hearing, shall issue an execution in favor of the state
State and against the bedy-er-bedies-of the-persons; person that is liable for the
costs;—upon—which. The execution shall be certified as follows: “This
execution is issued for the costs of the seizure and condemnation of
ntoxicating liquor alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or a still or other apparatus

for the manufacture of alcohol that was kept in violation of law.” Persens

Sec. 89. 7 V.S.A. § 572 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 572 570. FORFEITURE AND CONDEMNATION OF SEIZED VEHICLE
OR CRAFT

(a) If sueh an officer seizes malt-or—vinous—beverages,—spirits,—fortified

wines; alcoholic beverages or alcohol and takes possession of a vehicle,team;
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automobﬂe—boat air or Water craft or other conveyance +n—wh+eh—sueh—malt—or

or she shall £orthwrth promptly make a complalnt- under oath—s&bseﬂbed—by
him-or-her; or affirmation to a judge of the Criminal Division of the Superior
Court; in whese the jurisdiction the—same wasseized where the seizure

occurred. Thereupon-the

(b) The same proceedings shall be had as with respect to the liquer
alcoholic beverages or alcohol and the vehicle and-team-or-automobilemotor

¥eh+cle—boat air or Water craft, or other conveyances as-would be hadif malt

e , n-seized, except that if
the Veh1c1e and—team—or—automobﬂe—boat air or water craft or other
conveyance, shall befinally is adjudged forfeited and condemned the-same, it
shall, upon the written order of the magistrate court, shall be sold at a public
sheriff’s sale for the benefit of the State. The officer making the sale shall
make a return in writing to the court issuing-such that issued the order of sale
with the proceeds thereof from the sale, less his or her expenses and fees for
keeping and selling the same vehicle, air or water craft, or other conveyance,
which fees shall be the same as for the sale of personal property upon
execution.

Sec. 90. 7 V.S.A. § 573 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 373 572. PROCEEDS OF SALE OF CONDEMNED VEHICLE OR
CRAFT

(a) From the net proceeds of such a sale pursuant to section 571 of this
title, the court shall pay all liens, according to their priority which-are that:

(1) are established by intervention or otherwise at the time the court
enters the judgment of forfeiture being-adjudged or in other proceedings
brought for such that purpose;-as-being; and

(2) are bona fide and having-been were created without the owner’s
having any knowledge that the carrying vehicle was being used or was—to
would be used for the illegal transpertation transport of malt—er—vinous

beverages;-spirits;fortified-wines; alcoholic beverages or alcohol and.
(b) The court shall pay the balance of the proceeds to the State Treasurer;

Sec. 91. 7 V.S.A. § 574 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 574 573. RIGHTS OF OWNER; ADJOURNED HEARING
(a) Nothing herein in this chapter shall be construed to prejudice the rights

of the a bona fide owner of any-such a vehicle, air or water craft, or other
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conveyance to have it returned to his or her possession upon affirmative proof

by-the-owner that he or she had no express—or+implied knowledge that such
conveyance it was being used or was to be used for the illegal transportation of

mal-t—er—vme&s—beazer&ges—sp&rts—fer&ﬁed—anes— alcoholic beverages or
alcohol, an ) ) m provided he
or she appears enters an appearance before adjudwa!e}en the court has entered a
judgment of forfeiture.

(b)(1) If upen, following a hearing, the person in charge of any-such a
vehicle, air or water craft, or other conveyance dees-not-appear is determined

not to be the its owner thereof and no person shall claim suchconveyance has
claimed it, further the hearing shall be continued to a date certain; and the
taking of such the vehicle, air or water craft, or other conveyance and the date
of the adjourned hearing shall be advertised in seme a newspaper; published in
the town or county where it was taken and or, if there be is no newspaper
published in such the town or county, then in a newspaper having circulation
in such the county, once a week for three successive weeks.

(2) The magistrate Commissioner of Finance and Management shall

provide the court conducting the hearing shall—be—allowed—by—the
Commissioner—of Finance—and—Management with the cost of such the

advertising.
Sec. 92. 7 V.S.A. § 575 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 575 574. REOPENING OF FORFEITURE PROCEEDING

(a) At any time within one year after such a vehicle, air or water craft, or
other conveyance shall-have has been adjudged forfeited, and-upon-netice-to
the-state’s-attorney-of the-county; a claimant may provide notice to the State’s
Attorney of the county and, upon showing that he or she had no knowledge of
the forfeiture hearing, may apply to the court er—magistrate—before—whom
formerproceedings-were-had-to that entered the judgment of forfeiture to have
the case reopened;—provided—he—or-she—shall. The court may require the

claimant to give security by way-efrecognizanee posting a bond to the state;
with State in a sufficient suretiesin-such sum, as the court directs, conditioned

that on the claimant will-presecute prosecuting his or her claim to effect and
pay paying the costs awarded against him or her.

(b) If upon rehearing sueh the claimant establishes his or her claim, the
court or—magistrate shall certify to the commissioner—of finance—and
management Commissioner of Finance and Management the amount of such
the claim, net-exeeeding which shall not exceed the net amount actually
realized by the state State from the sale of such the vehicle, air or water craft,

or other conveyance, and the commissioner—of finance—and-management

Commissioner of Finance and Management shall issue his or her warrant
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therefor to pay the sum.
Sec. 93. 7 V.S.A. § 576 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 376 575. CLAIM BY OWNER, KEEPER, OR POSSESSOR FOR SEIZED
GOODS OR APPARATUS; BOND

(a)(1) When the owner, keeper, or possessor of malt,vinous,-or-spirituous
liguer—or alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or a still or other apparatus for the

manufacture of alcohol seized under the provisions of this title; appears and
makes a claim to the same seized alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other
property, he or she shall file a written claim with the magistrate court before
whom which the proceedings are pending;-setting.

(2) The claim shall set forth his or her interest in the liguer seized
alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property, and the reasons why it should
not be adjudged forfeited.

(b) He-orshe-shall-alse The court may require the claimant to give security
by way—ef recognizance posting a bond to the state State, with—sufficient
sureties; in sueh a sufficient sum as the court directs, conditioned that-he-or-she
will-prosecute on the claimant prosecuting his or her claim to effect and pay
paying the costs awarded against him or her.

Sec. 94. 7 V.S.A. § 577 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 577 576. APPEAL; BOND

An-appeal-shall-not-be-allowed-to-the If a claimant elects to appeal from the
judgment of the court until-he-or-she-gives-security-by-way-of recognizance

under this chapter, the court may require that he or she give security by posting
a bond to the state State, with-sufficient-sureties; in such a sufficient sum, as

the court directs, conditioned that-he-or-she—-will-prosecute on the claimant’s
prosecuting his or her appeal to effect and pay paying the costs awarded

against him or her.
Sec. 95. 7 V.S.A. § 578 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 578 577. JUDGMENT AGAINST CLAIMANT; FORFEITURE; COSTS

If the court renders judgment is against the claimant pursuant to section 575
or 576 of this title, the liguer alcoholic beverages or alcohol and the casks or
vessels containing the same alcoholic beverages or alcohol shall be adjudged
forfeited and condemned, as provided in this title chapter, and the court shall
also enter judgment shall-be-rendered against the claimant for all costs of
prosecution incurred after the filing of his or her claim.

Sec. 96. 7 V.S.A. § 579 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 579 578. DISPOSITION OF LIQUOR CONDEMNED ON APPEAL
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If the appellant fails to enter and prosecute his or her appeal pursuant to
section 576 of this title, or if judgment is against him or her on appeal, the
court in which such the appeal is finally decided shall order the liquer
alcoholic beverages or alcohol to be disposed of as in the case of liquer
alcoholic beverages or alcohol adjudged forfeited and condemned under an
order of a district judge of the Criminal Division of the Superior Court
pursuant to section 567 of this title.

Sec. 97. 7 V.S.A. § 580 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 580 579. SEIZED PROPERTY TAKEN BY WRIT OF REPLEVIN

If liguer alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property seized by an officer
under the provisions of this title chapter is taken from his or her possession by
a writ of replevin, it shall not be delivered to the claimant, but shall be held by
the officer serving such the writ, until the final determination of the seizure
action;—whereupon-the-same. Upon the final determination of the action, the
alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property held by the officer who served
the writ shall be delivered to the party in whose favor judgment is rendered, or
to sueh an officer as who has authority to hold or dispose of the-same it under
the original seizure proceedings.

Sec. 98. 7 V.S.A. § 581 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 581 580. SEIZURE PROCEEDINGS WITHOUT DELAY BY REPLEVIN

Proceedings on the seizure of malt,~vinous-or-spirituous-liguor-or alcoholic

beverages, alcohol, or a still or other apparatus for the manufacture of alcohol,
except final execution, shall not be delayed by a replevin thereof of the seized
alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property, but the cause shall proceed to
final judgment as if the action for replevin had not been commenced.

Sec. 99. 7 V.S.A. § 582 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 582 581. COSTS AGAINST OWNER OR KEEPER

If proceedings for the condemnation of malt,—~vinous,—spirituousliquor-or

alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or a still or other apparatus for the manufacture
of alcohol result in the prosecution and conviction of the owner or keeper
thereof of the alcoholic beverages, alcohol, or other property for an offense
hereunder under this title, the costs in sueh the proceedings shall be taxed
against such the owner or keeper.

Sec. 100. 7 V.S.A. § 584 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 584 582. SALE OF LIQUOR TAKEN BY ATTACHMENT OR ON
EXECUTION

Malt,—~vinous;—or-spirits—andfortified—wines Alcoholic beverages lawfully
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taken by attachment or on execution issued by a court of this State may be sold
by a duly authorized officer as other personal property taken on execution, but
only to the persons and institutions to which higuer alcoholic beverages may be
sold under the provisions of this title.

Sec. 101. 7 V.S.A. § 585 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 585 583. ENFORCEMENT AS STATE EXPENSE

Fees payable and expenses incurred under the provisions of this title shall
be paid by the state State.

Sec. 102. 7 V.S.A. § 586 is amended to read:

Sec. 103. 7 V.S.A. § 588 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 588 584. SUFFICIENCY OF SPECIFICATION

If a specification is required in prosecutions for offenses under this title, it
shall be sufficient to specify the offenses with sueh as much certainty as to the
time, place, and person as the prosecutor is able to provide, and the same the
specifications provided may be amended wupen at trial. When the
specifications set forth the sale or furnishing of alcoholic beverages or alcohol
to any unknown person or persons unknewn, the witnesses may be inquired of
as to such those transactions. If the name of the person is disclosed, it may be
added to the specifications, and upon such any terms as related to
postponement of the trial as the court deems reasonable.

Sec. 104. 7 V.S.A. § 589 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 589 585. FAXRECEIPT ALCOHOL DEALER REGISTRATION AS
EVIDENCE

liguer-seller A copy or record of a person’s Alcohol Dealer Registration with
the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau shall be prima facie
evidence that the person named therein in the registration keeps for sale and

sells intoxicating liquors alcoholic beverages or alcohol.
Sec. 105. 7 V.S.A. § 590 is redesignated and amended to read:
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§ 590 587. FINES AND COSTS

Fines collected under this title shall be remitted to the general fund General
Fund. Costs collected under this title shall be remitted to the liguor-control
fund Liquor Control Enterprise Fund.

Sec. 106. 7 V.S.A. § 598 is amended to read:
§ 598. EORM-OENOTICE TO-EEDERAL-GOVERNMENT

nat. [Repealed. ]
Sec. 107. 7 V.S.A. § 600 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 600 588. FEES OF SHERIFF, CONSTABLE, OR POLICE OFFICER

When a sheriff, constable, or police officer makes a search fer-intoxicating
liguor-by-direction-of-a-lawful under this title pursuant to a warrant, he or she
shall receive as—feesfor-such-services-$2:00 a fee for the search, $0-15-a-mile
for aectual travel reimbursement for mileage at the rate set pursuant to
32 V.S.A. § 1267, and such the sum as that he or she shall actually pay paid

out for necessary assistance, if deemed-reasonable-by-the-commissioner—of
finance and management,:

(1) the Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery deems the amount to be
reasonable; and if

(2) the officer makes declares under oath that the money was seo
expended as claimed, stating and, if applicable, states the name of his or her
assistant and the amount paid for the assistance.

Sec. 108. 7 V.S.A. § 602 is redesignated as follows:
§ 602 589. EXHIBITION OF CARD
Sec. 109. 7 V.S.A. § 603 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 603 590. HHQUOR CONTROLE BOARD OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY;
RULES

The lhiquor—control-board Board of Liquor and Lottery shall make adopt
rules and-regulations as necessary to effectuate the purposes of section 602 589
of this title.
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Sec. 110. 7 V.S.A. § 651 is amended to read:
§ 651. SOLICITING ORDERS

A person who, for himself or herself or as agent, takes or solicits orders for
the sale of malt or vinous beverages, except for licensees or from agencies of
the U.S. Army Armed Forces as specified in section 421 of this title, or of
spirits or fortified wines shall be imprisoned not more than six months nor less
than three months or fined not more than $500.00 nor less than $100.00, or
both.

Sec. 111. 7 V.S.A. § 652 is amended to read:
§ 652. TRANSPORTATION

A person who, by himself or herself, or through a clerk or agent, brings into
the state State, or conveys or transports over or along a railroad or public

highway, or by land, air, or water, malt-er—vinous—beverages—or-spirituous

liguer alcoholic beverages, or alcohol which the person knows or has reason to

believe is to be unlawfully kept, sold, or furnished, shall be imprisoned not
more than six months nor less than three months or fined not more than
$500.00 nor less than $100.00, or both.

Sec. 112. 7 V.S.A. § 654 is amended to read:
§ 654. TAMPERING WITH-SAMPLES

Sec. 113. 7 V.S.A. § 655 is amended to read:
§ 655. BARTER

(a) A licensee or permittee whe shall be imprisoned not more than 12
months nor less than six months or fined not more than $1,000.00 nor less than
$300.00, or both, if the licensee or permittee:

(1) purchases or receives wearing apparel, tools, implements of trade or
husbandry, household goods, furniture, or provisions, directly or indirectly, by
way of sale or barter, the consideration ef for which is, in whole or in part is,

malt-or-vinous-beverages-or-spirituous-liguor alcoholic beverages or alcohol or

the price thereef; of the alcoholic beverages or alcohol; or

(2) receives such—article apparel, tools, implements of trade or
husbandry, household goods, furniture, or provisions in pawn for such

bexler&ge—er—l-}queic alcoholic beverages or alcohol or the prlce thereof,-shall-be




h of the alcoholic beverages

or alcohol.

(b) On A person’s license or permit issued under this title shall be revoked

following a conviction thereof,-his—or-her-license-or-permit-shall-be-revoked

under subsection (a) of this section.
Sec. 114. 7 V.S.A. § 658 is amended to read:

§ 658. SALE OR FURNISHING TO MINORS; ENABLING
CONSUMPTION BY MINORS; MINORS CAUSING DEATH OR
SERIOUS BODILY INJURY

(a) No A person shall not:

(1) sell or furnish malt-ervineus-beverages,—spirits,—or-fortitied-wines
alcoholic beverages to a person under the-age-of 21 years of age; or

(2) knowingly enable the consumption of malt-er—vinous—beverages;
spirits,—or—fortifiedwines alcoholic beverages by a person under the-age—of
21 years of age.

(b) As used in this section, “enable the consumption of malt-er—vinous

beverages,—spirits,—orfortified—wines alcoholic beverages” means creating a
direct and immediate opportunity for a person to consume malt-or—vinous

beverages;-spirits;-orfortified-wines alcoholic beverages.

(c) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not
less than $500.00 nor more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned not more than two
years, or both. However, an employee of a licensee or an employee of a State-
contracted State liquor agency, who in the course of employment violates
subdivision (a)(1) of this section:

(1) during a compliance check conducted by a law enforcement officer
as defined in 20 V.S.A. § 2358:

(A) shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for the
first violation, and a civil penalty of not less than $100.00 nor more than
$500.00 for a second violation that occurs more than one year after the first
violation:; and

(B) shall be subject to the criminal penalties provided in this
subsection for a second violation within a year of the first violation, and for a
third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation.

(2) may plead as an affirmative defense that:

(A) the purchaser exhibited and the employee carefully viewed
photographic identification that complied with section 602 589 of this title and
indicated the purchaser to be 21 years of age or older; and
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(B) an ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser to be of
legal age to make the purchase; and

(C) the sale was made in good faith, based upon the reasonable belief
that the purchaser was of legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section, where the person
under the-ageof 21 years of age, while operating a motor vehicle on a public
highway causes death or serious bodily injury to himself or herself or to
another person as a result of the violation, shall be imprisoned not more than
five years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.

Sec. 115. 7 V.S.A. § 659 is amended to read:
§ 659. REFUSAL OR NEGLECT OF OFFICERS TO PERFORM DUTIES

(a) The sheriffs-of the-several-counties-and-their county sheriffs, sherift’s
deputies, constables, officers or members of the village or city police, state
pel-}ee State Police, and mspeeter—s nvestlgator s of the liquor-control-board are

: 7 ma heir Board of Liquor and Lottery
shall have the authorlty and duty to see that the provisions of this title and the
rules and-regulations-made-as-authorized adopted by the hiquor-control-board
herein—providedfor Board of Liquor and Lottery pursuant to this title are
enforced within their respective jurisdictions. Any sueh officer who wilfully
willfully refuses or neglects to perform the duties imposed upon him or her by
this section shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned not more than
90 days, or both.

(b) A control commissioner, state’s—attorney State’s Attorney, or town
grand juror who walfully willfully refuses or neglects to investigate a
complaint for a violation of this chapter, when accompanied by evidence in
support thereof of the complaint, shall be fined $300.00.

Sec. 116. 7 V.S.A. § 665 is amended to read:
§ 665. PRESCRIPTIONS FOR OTHER THAN-MEDICAL USE

Sec. 117. 7 V.S.A. § 666 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 666 660. ADVERTISING

(a) Ne A person shall not display on outside billboards or signs erected on
the highway any advertisement of any kind ef-malt,—vinous beverage—or
spirituous-liguer relating to alcoholic beverages, or indicate where the-same
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alcoholic beverages may be procured. Hewesler,—bhe—preh%men—eenmmed—m

] . 1 . ]. E ] . |
plaee—m—ane&her—st&te— A person who violates any provision of this section
shall be fined not more than $100.00 nor less than $10.00, for each offense,
and such a conviction for a violation shall be cause for revoking the person’s
license after-conviction issued under this title.

(b) Advertising-of malt-or-vinous Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this

section, advertising of alcoholic beverages on wehicles a motor vehicle
lawfully transporting alcoholic beverages or on a vehicle drawn by horses shall
be permitted.

(c)(1) The aleoholie alcohol content of any malt beverage shall not be set
forth or stated in any advertising or promotion thereof of the beverage in any
medium.

(2) Ne A person shall not advertise or promote the sale of any
fermented beverage made from malt by indicating in any way that the
beverage has a higher alcoholic content than other similar beverages.

(3) Hewever Notwithstanding subdivisions (1) and (2) of this
subsection, the alcoholic content of a malt beverage may be set forth on its
label or packaging.

Sec. 118. 7 V.S.A. § 667 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 667 661. VIOLATIONS OF TITLE

(a)(1) A person;-partnership;-association-or-corporation-whe that furnishes,

sells, exposes; or keeps with intent to sell, or bottles or prepares for sale any
malt-or-vinous-beverages;-spirits;-or-fortified-wines alcoholic beverages, except
as authorized by this title, or sells, barters, transports, imports, exports,
delivers, prescribes, furnishes, or possesses alcohol, except as authorized by
the Liguer—Centrel Board of Liquor and Lottery, or whe that unlawfully
manufactures alcohol or possesses a still or other apparatus for the
manufacture of alcohol shall be imprisoned not more than 12 months nor less
than three months or fined not more than $1,000.00 nor less than $100.00, or
both.

(2) For a subsequent conviction thereef under subdivision (1) of this

subsection within one year, such a person,—partnership,—association,—or
corporation shall be imprisoned not more than three years nor less than six

months or fined not more than $2,000.00 nor less than $500.00, or both.
(b) A person;—partnership,—association,—or-corporation,—whe that willfully

violates a provision of this title for which no other penalty is prescribed or whe

that willfully violates a provision-oftheregulations rule of the Liquor-Ceontrol
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Board of Liquor and Lottery shall be imprisoned not more than three months
nor less than one month or fined not more than $200.00 nor less than $50.00,
or both.

(c) The provisions of subsection (b) of this section shall not apply to a
violation of subsection 1005(a) of this title, relating to purchase of tobacco
products by a person less than 18 years of age.

Sec. 119. 7 V.S.A. § 668 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 668 662. LIMIT OF SENTENCE
A sentence of imprisonment under this title;-either-cumulative-or-on-failure
to-pay-fine-and-costs; shall not exceed the a term of three years.
Sec. 120. 7 V.S.A. § 671 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 6744 65. PURCHASE OF KEGS OF-MALT BEVERAGES

Any person individual who, within 60 days of purchase, fails to return a

keg;-as-defined-in-section-64-of this-title; sold pursuant to section 64 of this
chapter to the second-class second-class or fourth-class licensee from which
the keg was purchased shall be fined not more than $200.00.

Sec. 121. 7 V.S.A. § 701 is amended to read:
§ 701. DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter;-and-unless-otherwiserequired-by-the-context:

(1) “Certificate of approval” shall-mean means an authorization by the
liguor-control-board Board of Liquor and Lottery pursuant to section 274 of
this title to a manufacturer or distributor of malt beverages or vinous
beverages, or both not licensed under the provisions of this title, to sell such
those beverages either to holders of bettlers a packager’s or wholesale dealers
licenses dealer’s license issued by the beard Board under-the-provisions—of
pursuant to section 226 272 or 227 273 of this title.

(2) “Franchise” or “agreement” shall mean one or more of the
following:

(A) a commercial relationship between a wholesale dealer and a
certificate of approval holder or a manufacturer of a definite duration or
indefinite duration;-whieh that is or is not in writing and which-relationship has
been in existence for at least one year;

(B) a relationship whereby that has been in existence for at least one
year in which the wholesale dealer is granted the right to offer and sell the
brands of beer malt beverages or wine vinous beverages offered by the

certificate of approval holder or manufacturer and-whichrelationship-has-been
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(C) a relationship whereby that has been in existence for at least one
year in which the wholesale dealer, as an independent business, constitutes a
component of a certlﬁcate of approval holder s or manufacturer’s distribution
System an h h » nah h Nn-_1n .

(D) a relationship whereby that has been in existence for at least one
year in which the wholesale dealer’s business is substantially associated with
the certificate of approval holder’s or manufacturer’s brand, advertising, or
other commercial symbol designating the manufacturer and-which-relationship

has been-in-existence for at least one year;

(E) a relationship whereby that has been in existence for at least one
year in which the wholesale dealer’s business is substantially reliant on the
certificate of approval holder or manufacturer for the contmued supply of beer
malt beverages or win :

least-one-year vinous beverages and

(F) a written or oral arrangement for a definite or indefinite period
whereby that has been in existence for at least one year in which a certificate
of approval holder or manufacturer grants to a wholesale dealer a license to
use a trade name, trade mark, service mark, or related characteristic, and in
which there is a community of interest in the marketing of goods or services at

wholesale, retail, by lease, or otherwise and-which-arrangement-has-been—in
existence forat least-oneyear.

(3) “Franchisee” means any beer malt beverages or wine vinous
beverages wholesale dealer to whom a franchise or agreement as defined
herein in this section is granted or offered, or any beer malt beverages or wine
vinous beverages certificate of approval holder or manufacturer who is a party
to a franchise or agreement as defined herein in this section.

(4) “Franchisor” means any beer malt beverages or wine vinous
beverages certificate of approval holder or manufacturer who enters into any
franchise or agreement with a beer malt beverages or wine vinous beverages
wholesale dealer, or any beer malt beverages or wine vinous beverages
certificate of approval holder or manufacturer who is a party to a franchise or
agreement as defined herein in this section.

(5) “Territory” or “sales territory” shall-mean means the area of sales
responsibility designated by any agreement or franchise between any
franchisee or franchisor for the brand or brands of any franchisor or
manufacturer.

(6) As-used-herein,-brand “Brand” and “brands” are synonymous with
label and labels.
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Sec. 122. 7 V.S.A. § 702 is amended to read:
§ 702. PROHIBITED ACTS BY MANUFACTURER
No A manufacturer shall not:

(1) induce or coerce, or attempt to induce or coerce, any wholesale
dealer to accept delivery of any alcoholic beverage, any form of advertisement,

or any other commodity, which-shall not-have been that was not ordered by the
wholesale dealer;

(2) induce or coerce, or attempt to induce or coerce, any wholesale
dealer to do any illegal act or thing by threatening to cancel or terminate his
beer the wholesale dealer’s malt beverages or wane vinous beverages franchise
agreement; or

(3) fail or refuse to deliver promptly to a wholesale dealer after the
receipt of his its order any beer malt beverages or wine vinous beverages when
the product is publicly advertised for immediate sale.

Sec. 123. 7 V.S.A. § 703 is amended to read:
§ 703. CANCELLATION OF FRANCHISE

Notwithstanding the terms, provisions, or conditions of any agreement or
franchise, no certificate of approval holder or manufacturer shall cancel,
terminate, or refuse to continue a franchise, or cause a wholesale dealer to
relinquish a franchise, unless good cause is shown to exist.

Sec. 124. 7 V.S.A. § 704 is amended to read:

§ 704. 120 BAYS DAYS’ NOTICE FOR CANCELLATION;
RECTIFICATION

(a)(1) Except as provided in subsection (¢) of this section, a certificate of
approval holder or manufacturer shall provide a franchisee or agreement
holder at least 120 days days’ written notice of any intent to terminate or
cancel any franchise or agreement.

(2) The notice shall state the causes and reasons for the intended
termination or cancellation. The franchisee shall have sueh 120 days in which
to rectify any claimed deficiency.

(b) The superior-court Superior Court, upon petition and after due notice to
both parties and the opportunity to be heard, shall decide whether good cause
exists to allow termination or cancellation of the franchise or agreement.

(¢) The notice provisions of subsection (a) of this section may be waived if
the reason for termination, cancellation, or nonrenewal is insolvency, the
occurrence of an assignment for the benefit of creditors, bankruptcy, or if the
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certificate of approval holder or manufacturer is able to prove to the court that
suech providing the required notice would do irreparable harm to the marketing
of his its product.

Sec. 125. 7 V.S.A. § 705 is amended to read:
§ 705. EXCLUSIVE TERRITORIES

No certificate of approval holder or manufacturer, who shall-designate
designates a sales territory for which any a wholesale dealer shall be primarily
responsible or in which any a wholesale dealer is required to concentrate its
efforts, shall enter into any franchise or agreement with any other wholesale
dealer for the purpose of establishing an additional franchisee for its brand or
brands of beer malt beverages or wine vinous beverages in the territory being
primarily served or concentrated upon by a the first licensed wholesale dealer.

Sec. 126. 7 V.S.A. § 706 is amended to read:
§ 706. SALE TO RETAILERS BY FRANCHISEES

No franchisee whe-shall-be that is granted a sales territory for which the
franchisee shall be primarily responsible or in which the franchisee is required
to concentrate its efforts shall make any sale or delivery of beer malt beverages
or wine vinous beverages to any retail licensee whose place of business is not
within the sales territory granted to the franchisee.

Sec. 127. 7 V.S.A. § 707 is amended to read:
§ 707. SALE OR TRANSFER; PURCHASE BY MANUFACTURER

(a) A wholesale dealer wishing to sell or otherwise transfer his its interests
in a franchise shall give at least 90 days’ written notice to the certificate of
approval holder or manufacturer, prior to such the sale or transfer. The notice
of intended sale or transfer shall give the full name and address of the
proposed transferee, along with full details outlining the qualifications of the
proposed transferee which, in the opinion of the wholesale dealer, make the
proposed transferee competent to operate the franchise.

(b) In the event the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer wishes to
resist the proposed sale or transfer to the proposed transferee, he the certificate
of approval holder or manufacturer shall petition the superier-court Superior
Court for a hearing no later than 60 days prior to the date of the proposed sale
or transfer;-elearly-stating-his. The petition shall clearly state the certificate of
approval holder’s or manufacturer’s reasons for resisting the proposed sale or
transfer.

(c) Upon receipt of a petition brought resisting a sale or transfer, the
superior-court Superior Court shall hold a hearing on the proposed transfer or
sale. The court shall make a full inquiry into the qualifications of the proposed
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transferee, and shall determine whether or not sueh the proposed transferee is
in a position to substantially continue the operations of the franchise, to
assume the obligations of the franchise holder, and to conduct the business in a
manner which that will serve—to protect the legitimate interests of the
certificate of approval holder or manufacturer.

(d) In-theevent If the superiorcourt Superior Court finds the proposed
transferee to be qualified to operate the franchise, it shall approve the transfer
of the franchise to the proposed transferee shall-be-approved.

Sec. 128. 7 V.S.A. § 709 is redesignated to read:
§ 709 708. MERGER OF FRANCHISOR
Sec. 129. 7 V.S.A. § 710 is redesignated to read:
§ 740 709. HEIRS, SUCCESSORS, AND ASSIGNS
Sec. 130. REPEAL
7 V.S.A. chapter 25 (rathskellars) is repealed.
Sec. 131. 7 V.S.A. § 1002 is amended to read:
§ 1002. LICENSE REQUIRED; APPLICATION; FEE; ISSUANCE

(a)(1) No person shall engage in the retail sale of tobacco products, tobacco

substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia;—er-provide-a—vending-machinefor-their

sale in his or her place of business without a tobacco license obtained from the

Department Division of Liquor Control;-previded;-however-thatno.

(2) No person shall engage in the retail sale of tobacco substitutes
without also obtaining a tobacco substitute endorsement from the Department
Division of Liquor Control.

(3) Tobacco licenses and tobacco substitute endorsements shall expire at
midnight, April 30, of each year.

(b)(1) The Board shall prepare and issue tobacco license and tobacco
substitute endorsement forms and applications. These shall be incorporated
into the liquor license forms and applications prepared and issued under this
title.

(2) The licenses issued under this section shall be entitled “LIQUOR
LICENSE,” “LIQUOR-TOBACCO LICENSE,” or “TOBACCO LICENSE,”
as applicable. The endorsements issued under this section shall be entitled
“TOBACCO SUBSTITUTE ENDORSEMENT.”

(3) The Board shall also provide simple instructions for licensees
designed to assist them in complying with the provisions of this chapter.

(c) Each tobacco license and tobacco substitute endorsement shall be
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prominently displayed on the premises identified in the license.

(d)(1) For a license or endorsement required under this section, a person
shall apply to the legislative body of the municipality and shall pay the
following fees:

(A) to the Department Division of Liquor Control, the applicable

liquor license fee;-as-set-forth-inchapter 9 provided in section 204 of this title;
for a liquor license and a tobacco license;

(B) to the legislative body of the municipality, a fee of $110.00 for a
tobacco license or renewal; and

(C) to the legislative body of the municipality, a fee of $50.00 for a
tobacco substitute endorsement as provided in subseetion-(a) subdivision (a)(2)
of this section.

(2) The municipal clerk shall forward the application to the Department
Division, and the Department Division shall issue the tobacco license and the
tobacco substitute endorsement, as applicable, and shall forward all fees to the
Commissioner for deposit in the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund.

k %k %k

Sec. 132. 7 V.S.A. § 1002a is amended to read:
§ 1002a. LICENSEE EDUCATION

(a) An applicant for a tobacco license that does not hold a liquor license
issued under this title shall be granted a tobacco license pursuant to section
1002 of this title only after the applicant has attended a Department Division
of Liquor Control in-person seminar or completed the appropriate Department
Division of Liquor Control online training program for the purpose of being
informed about the Vermont tobacco laws pertaining to the purchase, storage,
and sale of tobacco products. A corporation, partnership, or association shall
designate a director, partner, or manager to comply with the requirements of
this subsection.

(b) The holder of a tobacco license that does not also hold a liquor license
issued pursuant to this title for the same premises shall:

(1) Complete the Department’s Division’s in-person or online
enforcement seminar at least once every two years. A corporation,
partnership, or association shall designate a director, partner, or manager to
comply with this subdivision.

(2) Ensure that every employee involved in the sale of tobacco products
completes a Department Division of Liquor Control in-person or online
training program or other training programs approved by the Department
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Division before the employee begins selling or providing tobacco products,
and at least once every 24 months thereafter. A licensee may comply with this
subdivision by conducting its own training program on its premises using
information and materials furnished by the Department Division of Liquor
Control. A licensee whe that fails to comply with the requirements of this
subsection shall be subject to suspension of the its tobacco license for no less
than one day.

(3) Fees for Department Division of Liquor Control in-person and
online seminars for tobacco only will shall be $10.00 per person.

Sec. 133. 7 V.S.A. § 1003 is amended to read:

§ 1003. SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS; TOBACCO SUBSTITUTES;
TOBACCO PARAPHERNALIA; REQUIREMENTS;
PROHIBITIONS

(a) A person shall not sell or provide tobacco products, tobacco substitutes,
or tobacco paraphernalia to any person younger-than under 18 years of age.

(b) B
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(d(c)(1) Persons holding a tobacco license may only display or store
tobacco products or tobacco substitutes:

(A) behind a sales counter or in any other area of the establishment
that is inaccessible to the public; or

(B) in a locked container.
(2) This subsection shall not apply to the following:

(A) a display of tobacco products that is located in a commercial
establishment in which by law no person yeunger-than under 18 years of age is
permitted to enter at any time;

(B) cigarettes in unopened cartons and smokeless tobacco in
unopened multipack containers of 10 or more packages, any of which shall be
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displayed in plain view and under the control of a responsible employee so that
removal of the cartons or multipacks from the display can be readily observed
by that employee; or

(C) cigars and pipe tobacco stored in a humidor on the sales counter
in plain view and under the control of a responsible employee so that the
removal of these products from the humidor can be readily observed by that
employee.

¢e)(d) The sale and the purchase of bidis is prohibited. A person who holds
a tobacco license who sells bidis as prohibited by this subsection shall be fined
not more than $500.00. A person who purchases bidis from any source shall
be fined not more than $250.00.

#H(e) No person holding a tobacco license shall sell cigarettes or little
cigars individually or in packs that contain fewer than 20 cigarettes or little
cigars.

(@)(f) As used in this section, “little cigars” means any rolls of tobacco
wrapped in leaf tobacco or any substance containing tobacco, other than any
roll of tobacco which is a cigarette within the meaning of 32 V.S.A. § 7702(1),
and as to which 1,000 units weigh not more than three pounds.

Sec. 134. 7 V.S.A. 1004 is amended to read:

§ 1004. PROOF OF AGE FOR THE SALE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS;
TOBACCO SUBSTITUTES; TOBACCO PARAPHERNALIA

(a) A person shall exhibit proper proof of his or her age upon demand of a
person licensed under this chapter, an employee of a licensee, or a law
enforcement officer. If the person fails to provide sueh proper proof of age,
the licensee shall be entitled to refuse to sell tobacco products, tobacco
substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia to the person. The sale or furnishing of
tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia to a person
exhibiting proper proof of age shall be prima facie evidence of a licensee’s
compliance with section 1007 of this title.

Sec. 135. 7 V.S.A. § 1005 is amended to read:

§ 1005. PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE; POSSESSION OF
TOBACCO PRODUCTS; MISREPRESENTING AGE OR
PURCHASING TOBACCO PRODUCTS; PENALTY
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(a)(1) A person under 18 years of age shall not possess, purchase, or
attempt to purchase tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco
paraphernalia unless the person is an employee of a holder of a tobacco license
and is in possession of tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco
paraphernalia to effect a sale in the course of employment.

(2) A person under 18 years of age shall not misrepresent his or her age
to purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or
tobacco paraphernalia.

(b) A person who possesses tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or
tobacco paraphernalia in violation of this subsection (a) of this section shall be
subject to having the tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, or tobacco
paraphernalia immediately confiscated and shall be further subject to a civil
penalty of $25.00. An action under this subsection shall be brought in the
same manner as a traffic violation pursuant to 23 V.S.A. chapter 24.

b)(c) A person under 18 years of age who misrepresents his or her age by
presenting false identification to purchase tobacco products, tobacco
substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia shall be fined not more than $50.00 or
provide up to 10 hours of community service, or both.

Sec. 136. 7 V.S.A. 1006 is amended to read:
§ 1006. POSTING OF SIGNS

(a) A person licensed under this chapter shall post in a conspicuous place
on the premises identified in the tobacco license a warning sign stating that the
sale of tobacco products, tobacco substitutes, and tobacco paraphernalia to
minors persons under 18 years of age is prohibited. The Board shall prepare
the sign and make it available with the license forms issued under this chapter.
The sign may include information about the health effects of tobacco and
tobacco cessation services. The Board, in consultation with a representative of
the licensees when appropriate, is authorized to change the design of the sign
as needed to maintain its effectiveness.

(b) A person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and
fined not more than $100.00.

Sec. 137. 7 V.S.A. § 1007 is amended to read:

§ 1007. FURNISHING TOBACCO TO PERSONS UNDER 18 YEARS OF
AGE; REPORT

(a) An-individual-whe A person that sells or furnishes tobacco products,
tobacco substitutes, or tobacco paraphernalia to a person under 18 years of age
shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $100.00 for the first offense
and not more than $500.00 for any subsequent offense. An action under this
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section shall be brought in the same manner as for a traffic violation pursuant
to 23 V.S.A. chapter 24 and shall be brought within 24 hours of the occurrence
of the alleged violation.

(b)(1) The Department Division of Liquor Control shall conduct or
contract for compliance tests of tobacco licensees as frequently and as
comprehensively as necessary to ensure consistent statewide compliance with
the prohibition on sales to miners persons under 18 years of age of at least 90
percent for buyers who are 16 or 17 years of age. An individual under 18
years of age participating in a compliance test shall not be in violation of 7
V-S-A—§ section 1005 of this title.

(2) Any violation by a tobacco licensee of subsection 1003(a) of this
title and this section after a first sale violation or during a compliance test
conducted within six months of a previous violation shall be considered a
multiple violation and shall result in the minimum license suspension in
addition to any other penalties available under this title. Minimum license
suspensions for multiple violations shall be assessed as follows:

(A) Two violations one weekday;

(B) Three violations two weekdays;

(C) Four violations three weekdays;

(D) Five violations three weekend days, Friday through Sunday.

(3) The Department Commissioner shall report to the House Committee
on General, Housing and Military Affairs, the Senate Committee on Economic
Development, Housing and General Affairs, and the Tobacco Evaluation and
Review Board annually, on or before January 15, the methodology and results
of compliance tests conducted during the previous year. The provisions of
2 V.S.A. § 20(d) (expiration of required reports) shall not apply to the required
report to be made under this subsection.

Sec. 138. 7 V.S.A. § 1008 is amended to read:
§ 1008. RULEMAKING

The beard Board of Liquor and Lottery shall adopt rules for the
administration and enforcement of this chapter.

Sec. 139. 7 V.S.A. § 1009 is amended to read:
§ 1009. CONTRABAND AND SEIZURE

Any cigarettes or other tobacco products that have been sold, offered for
sale, or possessed for sale in violation of section 1003 of this title, 20 V.S.A.
§ 2757, 32 V.S.A. § 7786, or 33 V.S.A. § 1919, and any commercial cigarette
rolling machines possessed or utilized in violation of section 1011 of this title,
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shall be deemed contraband, and shall be subject to seizure by the
Commissioner, the Commissioner’s agents or employees, the Commissioner of
Taxes, or any agent or employee thereof of the Commissioner of Taxes, or by
any peaece law enforcement officer of this State when directed to do so by the
Commissioner.  All cigarettes or other tobacco products seized shall be
destroyed.

Sec. 140. 7 V.S.A. § 1010 is amended to read:
§ 1010. INTERNET SALES
(a) As used in this section:

(1) “Cigarette” has the same definition-asthat found-at meaning as in
32 V.S.A. § 7702(1).

(2) [Repealed.]

(3) “Licensed wholesale dealer” has the same definition-as-thatfound-at
meaning as in 32 V.S.A § 7702(5).

(4) “Little cigars” has the same definition-as-thatfound-at meaning as in
32 V.S.A. § 7702(6).

(5) “Retail dealer” has the same definition-as-thatfound-at meaning as
in 32 V.S.A. § 7702(10).

(6) “Roll-your-own tobacco™ has the same definition—as-thatfound-at
meaning as in 32 V.S.A § 7702(11).

(7) “Snuff” has the same definition—as—that-found-at meaning as in
32 V.S.A. § 7702(13).

(b) No person shall cause cigarettes, roll-your-own tobacco, little cigars, or
snuff, ordered or purchased by mail or through a computer network, telephonic
network, or other electronic network, to be shipped to anyone other than a
licensed wholesale dealer or retail dealer in this State.

(c) No person shall, with knowledge or reason to know of the violation,
provide substantial assistance to a person in violation of this section.

(d) A violation of this section is punishable as follows:

(1) A knowing or intentional violation of this section shall be
punishable by imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine of not more
than $5,000.00, or both.

(2) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or criminal remedy
provided by law, upon a determination that a person has violated this section,
the Attorney General may impose a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed
$5,000.00 for each violation. For purposes of this subsection, each shipment
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or transport of cigarettes, roll-your-own tobacco, little cigars, or snuff shall
constitute a separate violation.

(3) The Attorney General may seek an injunction to restrain a
threatened or actual violation of this section.

(4) In any action brought pursuant to this section, the State shall be
entitled to recover the costs of investigation, of expert witness fees, of the
action, and reasonable attorney’s fees.

(5) A person who violates this section engages in an unfair and
deceptive trade practice in violation of the State’s Consumer Protection Act,
9 V.S.A. §§ 2451 et seq.

(6) If a court determines that a person has violated the provisions of this
section, the court shall order any profits, gain, gross receipts, or other benefit
from the violation to be disgorged and paid to the State Treasurer for deposit
in the General Fund.

(7) Unless otherwise expressly provided, the penalties or remedies, or
both, under this section are in addition to any other penalties and remedies
available under any other law of this State.

Sec. 141. 7 V.S.A. § 1011 is amended to read:
§ 1011. COMMERCIAL CIGARETTE ROLLING MACHINES

(a) A person shall not possess or use a cigarette rolling machine for
commercial purposes.

(b) A person who knowingly violates subsection (a) of this section shall be
subject to the following civil penalties:

(1) The revocation or termination of any license, permit, appointment,
or commission under this chapter.

(2) A civil penalty of up to $50,000.00 in any action brought by the
Department of Taxes, the Department of Liquor and Lottery, the Division of
Liquor Control, or the Attorney General.

(c) Penalties assessed under subsection (b) of this section shall be paid into
the General Fund.

(d) A person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall be imprisoned
for not more than three years or fined not more than $100,000.00, or both.

(e) This section shall not apply to the possession of a cigarette rolling
machine intended solely for personal use by individuals who do not intend to
offer the resulting product for resale.

(f) A cigarette rolling machine capable of rolling 200 cigarettes in fewer
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than 15 minutes is shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.
Sec. 142. 7 V.S.A. § 1012 is amended to read:
§ 1012. LIQUID NICOTINE; PACKAGING

(@) Unless specifically preempted by federal law, no person shall
manufacture, regardless of location, for sale in; offer for sale in; sell in or into
the stream of commerce in; or otherwise introduce into the stream of
commerce in Vermont:

(1) any liquid or gel substance containing nicotine unless that product is
contained in child-resistant packaging; or

(2) any nicotine liquid container unless that container constitutes child-
resistant packaging.

(b) As used in this section:

(1) “Child-resistant packaging” means packaging that is designed or
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five years of age to
open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the substance contained-therein in
the container within a reasonable time and not difficult for normal adults to use
properly, but does not mean packaging which all sueh children under five
years of age cannot open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the substance
in the container within a reasonable time.

(2) “Nicotine liquid container” means a bottle or other container of a
nicotine liquid or other substance containing nicotine which that is sold,
marketed, or intended for use in a tobacco substitute. The term does not
include a container containing nicotine in a cartridge that is sold, marketed, or
intended for use in a tobacco substitute if the cartridge is prefilled and sealed
by the manufacturer and not intended to be opened by the consumer.

Sec. 143. 10 V.S.A. § 1522 is amended to read:
§ 1522. BEVERAGE CONTAINERS; DEPOSIT

(a) Except with respect to beverage containers which contain liquor, a
deposit of not less than five cents shall be paid by the consumer on each
beverage container sold at the retail level and refunded to the consumer upon
return of the empty beverage container. With respect to beverage containers of
volume greater than 50 ml. which contain liquor, a deposit of 15 cents shall be
paid by the consumer on each beverage container sold at the retail level and
refunded to the consumer upon return of the empty beverage container. The
difference between liquor bottle deposits collected and refunds made is hereby

retained by the liquer—contrelfund Liquor Control Enterprise Fund for
administration of this subsection.
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Sec. 144. 10 V.S.A. § 6605f is amended to read:

§ 6605f. WASTE MANAGEMENT PERSONNEL BACKGROUND
REVIEW

(a) Disqualifying criteria. Any nongovernmental entity or person applying
for a certification under section 6605, 6605a, or 6606 of this title, for interim
certification under section 6605b of this title, or for a waste transportation
permit under section 6607a of this title, shall be denied certification or other
authorization if the Secretary finds:

(1) that the applicant or any person required to be listed on the
disclosure statement pursuant to subdivision (b)(1) of this section has been
convicted of any of the following disqualifying offenses in this or any other
jurisdiction within the 10 years preceding the date of the application:

k %k %k

(L) trafficking—in—alcoholic—beverages—as—defined—in unlawfully

selling, bartering, possessing, furnishing, or transporting alcohol pursuant to
7 V.S.A. § 561;

k %k %k

Sec. 145. 12 V.S.A. § 7156 is amended to read:
§ 7156. EFFECT OF EMANCIPATION

k %k %k

(b) The order of emancipation shall not affect the status of the minor in the
applicability of any provision of law which requires specific age requirements
under the state State or federal constitution or any state State or federal law
including laws that prohibit the sale, purchase, or consumption of intexicating
liguer alcoholic beverages to or by a person under 21 years of age.

Sec. 146. 13 V.S.A. § 6505 is amended to read:
§ 6505. PAYMENT

The commissioner—of finance-and-management Commissioner of Finance

and Management shall allow counsel so employed a reasonable compensation
for his or her services and expenses and shall issue his or her warrant for the
amount allowed. Compensation shall not be allowed where it appears to the
commissioner Commissioner that the prosecution was superfluous and
instituted to enhance costs, nor in the trial of a person upon a complaint for
intoxication or for any other offense against the chapter title relating to
ntoxicating liquors alcoholic beverages, except where the respondent pleads
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not guilty.
Sec. 147. 18 V.S.A. § 4249 is amended to read:

§ 4249. TRANSPORTATION OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO, OR
REGULATED DRUGS INTO PLACES OF DETENTION

(a) No person shall knowingly carry or introduce or cause to be carried or
introduced into a lockup, jail, prison, or correctional facility:

(1) alcohol;—malt-ervinous-beverages;—or-spirituousliquer or alcoholic
beverages;

k %k %k

Sec. 148. 18 V.S.A. § 4254 is amended to read:
§ 4254. IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY
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(b) A person who, in good faith and in a timely manner, seeks medical
assistance for someone who is experiencing a drug overdose shall not be cited,
arrested, or prosecuted for a violation of this chapter or cited, arrested, or
prosecuted for procuring, possessing, or consuming alcohol by someone under
age 21 years of age pursuant to 7 V.S.A §§ § 656 and-657 or for providing to
or enabling consumption of alcohol by someone under age 21 years of age
pursuant to 7 V.S.A. § 658(a)-(c).

(c) A person who is experiencing a drug overdose and, in good faith, seeks
medical assistance for himself or herself or is the subject of a good faith
request for medical assistance shall not be cited, arrested, or prosecuted for a
violation of this chapter or cited, arrested, or prosecuted for procuring,
possessing, or consuming alcohol by someone under age 21 years of age
pursuant to 7 V.S.A. §§ § 656 and-657 or for providing to or enabling
consumption of alcohol by someone under age 21 years of age pursuant to
7 V.S.A. § 658(a)—(c).

(d) A person who seeks medical assistance for a drug overdose or is the
subject of a good faith request for medical assistance pursuant to subsection
(b) or (c) of this section shall not be subject to any of the penalties for
violation of 13 V.S.A. § 1030 (violation of a protection order), for a violation
of this chapter or 7 V.S.A §§ § 656 and-657, for being at the scene of the drug
overdose; or for being within close proximity to any person at the scene of the
drug overdose.

(e) A person who seeks medical assistance for a drug overdose or is the
subject of a good faith request for medical assistance pursuant to subsection
(b) or (c) of this section shall not be subject to any sanction for a violation of a
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condition of pretrial release, probation, furlough, or parole for a violation of
this chapter or 7 V.S.A §§ § 656 and-657 for being at the scene of the drug
overdose or for being within close proximity to any person at the scene of the
drug overdose.

k %k %k

Sec. 149. 20 V.S.A. § 1817 is amended to read:

§ 1817. REPORTS OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER; ACCIDENTS
INVOLVING HHQUOR ALCOHOL

Any law enforcement officer who, upon investigation of a motor vehicle
accident or other incident involving the use of intexicating liguor alcohol, shall
inquire whether the person involved in the accident or incident was served or
furnished intexicating hiquor alcoholic beverages at a licensed establishment
and, if the officer determines that a person was served or furnished
ntoxicating liquor alcoholic beverages at a licensed establishment, the officer
shall so inform in—-writing the appropriate licensee or licensees in writing. A
law enforcement officer shall not be subject to civil liability for an omission or
failure to comply with a provision of this section.

Sec. 150. 20 V.S.A. § 2358 is amended to read:
§ 2358. MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS; DEFINITIONS

k %k %k

(b) The Council shall offer or approve basic training and annual in-service
training for each of the following three levels of law enforcement officer
certification in accordance with the scope of practice for each level, and shall
determine by rule the scope of practice for each level in accordance with the
provisions of this section:

(2) Level II certification.

(A) An applicant for certification as a Level Il law enforcement
officer shall first complete Level II basic training and may then become
certified in a specialized practice area as set forth in subdivision (B)(ii) of this
subdivision (2). Level II basic training shall include training to respond to
calls regarding alleged crimes in progress and to react to the circumstances
described in subdivision (B)(iii) of this subdivision (2).

(B)(1) Except as provided in subdivisions (ii) and (iii) of this
subdivision (B), the scope of practice of a Level Il law enforcement officer
shall be limited to investigating the following matters:

(h 7 V.S.A § 657 (person under 21 ycars of age
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(I1)y 7 V.S.A. § 658 (sale or furnishing to minors; enabling
consumption by minors);

k %k %k

Sec. 151. 23 V.S.A. § 1134 is amended to read:

§ 1134. MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATOR; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL

(a) A person shall not consume alcoholic beverages while operating a
motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section, “alcoholic
beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating liquor> “alcohol” as
defined in section 1200 of this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 152. 23 V.S.A. § 1134a is amended to read:

§ 1134a. MOTOR VEHICLE PASSENGER; CONSUMPTION OR
POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a passenger in a
motor vehicle shall not consume alcoholic beverages or possess any open
container which contains alcoholic beverages in the passenger area of any
motor vehicle on a public highway. As used in this section, “alcoholic
beverages” shall have the same meaning as “intoxicating hiquor> “alcohol” as
defined in section 1200 of this title.

% sk ok
Sec. 153. 23 V.S.A. § 1200 is amended to read:
§ 1200. DEFINITIONS

As used in this subchapter:

k %k %k

(4) “Intexicatingliguer” “Alcohol” includes alcohol, malt beverages,
spirituous-liquors spirits, fortified wines, and vinous beverages, as defined in

7 V.S.A. § 2, and any beverage or liquid containing any of them.

k %k %k

(7) “Highway” shall-be-defined has the same meaning as in subdivision
4(13) of this title, except that for purposes of this subchapter, “highway” does
not include the driveway which serves only a single-family or two-family
residence of the operator. This exception shall not apply if a person causes the
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death of a person, causes bodily injury to a person, or causes damage to the
personal property of another person, while operating a motor vehicle on a
driveway in violation of section 1201 of this subchapter.

k %k %k

(9)(A) “Ignition interlock restricted driver’s license” or ‘“ignition
interlock RDL” or “RDL” means a restricted license or privilege to operate a
motor vehicle issued by the Commissioner allowing a resident whose license
or privilege to operate has been suspended or revoked for operating under the
influence of intexicatingliguor alcohol or in excess of legal limits of alcohol
concentration, or for refusing an enforcement officer’s reasonable request for
an evidentiary test, to operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor
vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title, installed with an approved
ignition interlock device.

(B) “Ignition interlock certificate” means a restricted privilege to
operate a motor vehicle issued by the Commissioner allowing a nonresident
whose privilege to operate a motor vehicle in Vermont has been suspended or
revoked for operating under the influence of intexicatingliguer alcohol or in
excess of legal limits of alcohol concentration, or for refusing an enforcement
officer’s reasonable request for an evidentiary test, to operate a motor vehicle,
other than a commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 4103 of this title,
installed with an approved ignition interlock device.

k %k %k

Sec. 154. 23 V.S.A. § 3207a is amended to read:

§ 3207a. OPERATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INFOXICATING
HQUOR ALCOHOL OR DRUGS; SWI

(a) A person shall not operate, attempt to operate, or be in actual physical
control of a snowmobile on any lands, waters, or public highways of this State:

(1) when the person’s alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more; or

(2) when the person is under the influence of intexicatingliquer
alcohol; or

(3) when the person is under the influence of any other drug or under
the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug to a degree which
renders the person incapable of safely operating a snowmobile.

(b) A person who is a habitual user of or under the influence of any
narcotic drug or who is under the influence of any other drug, substance, or
inhalant other than intexicating-liguer alcohol to a degree which renders the
person incapable of safely operating a snowmobile may not operate, attempt to
operate, or be in actual physical control of a snowmobile.
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(e) As used in this section, “intexicatingliguor”’—inclades “alcohol;”
includes “alcohol,” “malt beverages,” “spirituous—liquors spirits,” “fortified

wines,” and “vinous beverages” as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 2, and any beverage
or liquid containing any of them.

k %k %k

Sec. 155. 23 V.S.A. § 3323 is amended to read:

§ 3323. OPERATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INFOXICATING
HQUOR ALCOHOL OR DRUGS; B.W.I.

(a) A person shall not operate, attempt to operate, or be in actual physical
control of a vessel on the waters of this State while:

(1) there is 0.08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his or her
blood, as shown by analysis of his or her breath or blood; or

(2) under the influence of intexicating liguer alcohol; or

(3) under the influence of any other drug or under the combined
influence of alcohol and any other drug to a degree which renders the person
incapable of operating safely.

(b) Eerpurpeses—of As used in this section, “intoxicating liguor’”includes

“alcohol;” includes ‘““alcohol,” “malt beverages,” “spirituous—tiguers spirits,”
“fortified wines,” and “vinous beverages” as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 2, and any

beverage or liquid containing any of the-foeregoing them.

(c) A person who is a habitual user of or under the influence of any
narcotic drug or who is under the influence of any other drug, substance, or
inhalant other than intexicating-liguor alcohol to a degree which renders the
person incapable of safely operating a vessel may not operate, attempt to
operate, or be in actual physical control of a vessel. The fact that a person
charged with a violation of this section is or has been entitled to use such drug
under the laws of this State shall not constitute a defense against any charge of
violating this section.

k %k %k

Sec. 156. 23 V.S.A. § 3506 is amended to read:
§ 3506. OPERATION

k %k %k

(b) An all-terrain vehicle may not be operated:

k %k %k
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(8) While the operator is under the influence of drugs or intexicating
beverages alcohol as defined by this title.

k %k %k

Sec. 157. 24 V.S.A. § 301 is amended to read:
§ 301. PENALTY FOR REFUSAL TO ASSIST

A person being required in the name of the State by a sheriff, deputy
sheriff, high bailiff, deputy bailiff, or constable, who neglects or refuses to
assist such-an the officer in the execution of his or her office, in a criminal
cause, or in the preservation of the peace, or in the apprehension and securing
of a person for a breach of the peace, or in a search and seizure of intoxicating
liguers alcohol as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 2 or in transporting such-liquers the
alcohol when seized, or in a case of escape or rescue of persons arrested on
civil process, shall be fined not more than $500.00, unless the circumstances
under which his or her assistance is called for amount to a riot, in which case
he or she shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more than
$100.00, or both.

Sec. 158. 29 V.S.A. § 902 is amended to read:

§ 902. DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER OF BUILDINGS AND GENERAL
SERVICES

k %k %k

(f) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services may also:
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(4) receive, warehouse, manage, and distribute all State property and
commodities, except alcoholic beverages purchased for by the Liquer-Control
Board of Liquor and Lottery; and all surplus federal property and
commodities;

k %k %k

(i) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, all alcoholic beverages
sold by the Board of Liquor and Lottery shall be purchased by the Board as set
forth in 7 V.S.A. §§ 104 and 107.

Sec. 159. 32 V.S.A. § 10203 is amended to read:
§ 10203. DISTRIBUTION; RETAIL PURCHASE AND SALE

k %k %k

(f) Break-open tickets shall not be sold at premises licensed to sell
alcoholic beverages except at-elubs for clubs as defined in 7 V.S.A. § 2(9) 2.
However, a nonprofit organization may sell break-open tickets at premises
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licensed to sell alcoholic beverages if, notwithstanding 13 V.S.A. § 2143(e), all
proceeds from the sale of the break-open tickets are used by the nonprofit
organization exclusively for charitable, religious, educational, and civic
undertakings, with only the following costs deducted from the proceeds:

(1) the actual cost of the break-open tickets;
(2) the prizes awarded;

(3) the reasonable legal fees necessary to organize the nonprofit
organization and to assure ensure compliance with all legal requirements; and

(4) the reasonable accounting fees necessary to account for the proceeds
from the sale of the break-open tickets.

% sk ok
Sec. 160. 33 V.S.A. § 5102 is amended to read:
§ 5102. DEFINITIONS AND PROVISIONS OF GENERAL APPLICATION

As used in the juvenile judicial proceedings chapters;—unless—the—context
otherwise requires:
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(9) “Delinquent act” means an act designated a crime under the laws of
this State, or of another state if the act occurred in another state, or under
federal law. A delinquent act shall include a violation of 7 V.S.A. §§ § 656
and-657; however, it shall not include:

(A) snowmobile offenses in 23 V.S.A. chapter 29, subchapter 1 and
motorboat offenses in 23 V.S.A. chapter 29, subchapter 2, except for violations
of sections 3207a, 3207b, 3207¢c, 3207d, and 3323;

(B) motor vehicle offenses committed by an individual who is at
least 16 years of age, except for violations of 23 V.S.A. chapter 13, subchapter
13 and of 23 V.S.A. § 1091.

Sec. 161. REPLACEMENTS

In the following sections, the phrase “intoxicating liquor” or “intoxicating
liquors,” wherever it appears, shall be replaced with “alcohol”:

(1) 5V.S.A. §§ 427, 3728, and 3729;

(2) 9 V.S.A. § 3807;

(3) 13 V.S.A. §§ 4017, 5041, 5042, 5301, and 7601;

(4) 23 V.S.A. §§ 308, 1130, 1201, 1204, 1211, 1213, 1218, 3206,
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3207d, 3311, 3325, 3326, 3905, and 4116; and
(5) 32 V.S.A. § 805.
Sec. 162. REVIEW OF FINES AND PENALTIES; REPORT

The Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery shall review the adequacy and
effectiveness of all fines and penalties in Title 7 to determine which fines and
penalties, if any, require an amendment to improve their efficacy and operation
in concert with the regulatory and enforcement provisions of Title 7. On or
before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner shall submit a written report to the
House Committees on General, Housing and Military Affairs and on Judiciary,
and the Senate Committees on Economic Development, Housing and General
Affairs and on Judiciary regarding his or her findings and any
recommendations for legislative action.

* # * Merger of State Lottery into Department of Liquor and Lottery * * *
Sec. 163. FINDINGS AND PURPOSE
(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) The Department of Liquor Control and the State Lottery serve
similar roles in Vermont’s government by generating significant revenue for
the State through the sales of a controlled product.

(2) The similarities between the roles and functions of the Department
of Liquor Control and the State Lottery create the potential for the two entities
to merge and collaborate in carrying out their respective functions and
missions.

(3) Merging the Department of Liquor Control and State Lottery into a
single Department of Liquor and Lottery will enable the State to deliver
services more effectively and efficiently to the public.

(4) Merging the Department of Liquor Control and the State Lottery
into a single Department of Liquor and Lottery will also enable the State to
realize significant cost savings by eliminating redundancy, improving
accountability, providing for more efficient use of specialized expertise and
facilities, and promoting the effective sharing of best practices and state-of-
the-art technology.

(b) Accordingly, it is the intent of the General Assembly to:

(1) create a combined Department of Liquor and Lottery that will be a
successor to and continuation of the Department of Liquor Control and the
State Lottery; and

(2) create a Board of Liquor and Lottery that shall be the successor to
and a continuation of the Liquor Control Board and the Lottery Commission.
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Sec. 164. REPEALS

31 V.S.A. §§ 651 (State Lottery Commission), 652 (organization), and 653
(compensation) are repealed.

Sec. 165. 31 V.S.A. § 654 is redesignated and amended to read:

§ 654 651. POWERS AND DUTIES OF BOARD OF LIQUOR AND
LOTTERY

The Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery shall adopt rules pursuant to
3 V.S.A. chapter 25, governing the establishment and operation of the State
Lottery. The rules may include the following:

k %k %k

(7) Lottery product sales locations, which may include State agency
liquor stores andliguor—agencies; private business establishments, except
establishments holding first- or first- and third-class licenses pursuant to Title
7, fraternal, religious, and volunteer organizations; town clerks’ offices; and
State fairs, race tracks, and other sporting arenas.

k %k %k

(11)  Apportionment of total revenues, within limits hereinafter
specified, accruing to the State Lottery Fund among:

(A) the payment of prizes to winning ticket holders;

(B) the payment of all costs incurred in the creation, operation, and
administration of the lettery State Lottery, including compensation of the
Commission Board, Director Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery, employees
of the Department of Liquor and Lottery, consultants, contractors, and other
necessary expenses;

(C) the repayment of monies advanced to the State Lottery Fund for
initial funding of the lettery State Lottery;

k %k %k

Sec. 166. 31 V.S.A. § 654a is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 654a 652. MULTIJURISDICTIONAL LOTTERY GAME

(a) In addition to the Tri-State Lotto Compact provided for in subchapter 2
of this chapter; and the other authority to operate lotteries contained in this
chapter, the Cemmission Board of Liquor and Lottery is authorized to
negotiate and contract with up to four multijurisdictional lotteries to offer and
provide multijurisdictional lottery games. The Ceommission Board may join
any multijurisdictional lottery that provides indemnification for its standing
committee members, officers, directors, employees, and agents. The
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Commission Board shall adopt rules under 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to govern the
establishment and operation of any multijurisdictional lottery game authorized
by this section.

k %k %k

(c) The provisions of subdivisions 674L.1.1A through 674L.1.11 of this
title shall apply to the payment of prizes to a person other than a winner for
prizes awarded under any multijurisdictional lottery authorized by this section,
except that the VermontLottery-Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery
shall be responsible for implementing sueh the provisions under this section,
rather than the Tri-State Lotto Commission.

Sec. 167. 31 V.S.A. § 655 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 655 653. LICENSE FEES

A license fee shall be charged for each sales license granted to a person for
the purpose of selling lottery tickets at the time the person is first granted a
license. The fee shall be fixed by the Commission Board of Liquor and
Lottery, but no license fee in excess of $50.00 may be charged.

Sec. 168. 31 V.S.A. § 656 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 656 654. INTERSTATE LOTTERY; CONSULTANT; MANAGEMENT

(a) The Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery may develop and operate
a lottery or the State may enter into a contractual agreement with another state
or states to provide for the operation of the lottery. Approval of the Joint
Fiscal Committee and the Governor shall be required for such contractual
agreements with other states.

(b) If no interstate contract is entered into, the Commission Board shall
obtain the service of an experienced lottery design and implementation
consultant. The fee for the consultant may be fixed or may be based upen on a
percentage of gross receipts realized from the lottery.

(c) The Commission Board may enter into a facilities management type of
agreement for operation of the lottery by a third party.

Sec. 169. 31 V.S.A. § 657 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 657 655. DIRECTOR-AND DUTIES OF THE COMMISSIONER

(a) The State Lottery shall be under the immediate supervision and
direction of a-Lettery-Director the Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery. The




(b) The Director Commissioner shall:
(1) supervise and administer the operation of the lottery Lottery within
the rules adopted by the Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery;

(2) subject to the approval of the Commission Board, enter into such

contracts as-may-be required necessary for the proper creation, administration,
operation, modification, and promotion of the lettery Lottery or any part

thereof of the Lottery. These contracts shall not be assignable;

(3) license sales agents and suspend or revoke any license in accordance
with the provisions of this chapter and the rules of the Commission Board;

(4) act as Secretary to the Commission Board, but as a nonvoting
member of the Commission Board;

(5) employ such professional and secretarial staff as may-be-required
necessary to carry out the functions of the Cemmission Division of the
Lottery. 3 V.S.A. chapter 13 shall apply to employees of the Commission
Division; and

(6) annually prepare a budget and submit it to the Commission Board.
Sec. 170. 31 V.S.A. § 658 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 658 656. STATE LOTTERY FUND

(a) There is hereby created in the State Treasury a separate fund to be
known as the State Lottery Fund. This—fund The Fund shall consist of all
revenues received from the Treasurer for initial funding, from sale of lottery
tickets, from license fees, and from all other money credited or transferred
from any other fund or source pursuant to law. The monies in the State
Lottery Fund shall be disbursed pursuant to subdivision 65411 651(11) of
this title, and shall be disbursed by the Treasurer on warrants issued by the
Commissioner of Finance and Management, when authorized by the
Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery Director and approved by the
Commissioner of Finance and Management.

(b) Expenditures for administrative and overhead expenses of the operation
of the lottery Lottery, except agent and bank commissions, shall be paid from
lottery Lottery receipts from an appropriation authorized for that purpose.
Agent commissions shall be set by the Lettery Commission Board of Liquor
and Lottery and may shall not exceed 6.25 percent of gross receipts and bank
commissions may shall not exceed 1 one percent of gross receipts. Once the
draw game results become official, the payment of any commission on any
draw game ticket that wins at least $10,000.00 shall be made through the
normal course of processing payments to lottery agents, regardless of whether
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the winning ticket is claimed.

k %k %k

Sec. 171. 31 V.S.A. § 659 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 659 657. REPORT OF THE COMMISSION BOARD

The Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery shall make an annual report
to the Governor and to the General Assembly on or before the 10th day of
January in each year;-including therein. The report shall include an account of
its the Board’s actions; and the receipts derived under the provisions of this
chapter, the practical effects of the application thereef of the proceeds of the
Lottery, and any recommendation for legislation which that the Commission
Board deems advisable.

Sec. 172. 31 V.S.A. § 660 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 660 658. POST-AUDITS POSTAUDITS

All lettery Lottery accounts and transactions of the LetteryCommission
Board of Liquor and Lottery and Division of the Lottery pursuant to this

chapter shall be subject to annual pest—audits postaudits conducted by
independent auditors retained by the Commission Board for this purpose. The
Commission Board may order such other audits as it deems necessary and
desirable.

Sec. 173. 31 V.S.A. § 661 is redesignated and amended to read:
§ 661 659. SALES AND PURCHASE OF LOTTERY TICKETS

The following acts relating to the purchase and sale of lottery tickets are
prohibited:
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(4) No member of the Commission Board of Liquor and Lottery or
employee of the Commission Department of Liquor and Lottery, or members
member of their his or her immediate household, may claim or receive prize
money hereunder under this chapter.

Sec. 174. 31 V.S.A. § 662 is redesignated to read:

§ 662 660. UNCLAIMED PRIZE MONEY

Sec. 175. 31 V.S.A. § 663 is redesignated to read:

§ 663 661. STATE GAMING LAWS INAPPLICABLE AS TO LOTTERY
Sec. 176. 31 V.S.A. § 665 is redesignated to read:

§ 665 662. PENALTIES
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Sec. 177. 31 V.S.A. § 666 is redesignated to read:
§ 666 663. PUBLICATION OF ODDS

Sec. 178. 31 V.S.A. § 667 is redesignated to read:
§ 667 664. FISCAL COMMITTEE REVIEW
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(b) This section shall not apply in the event the Commission Board of
Liquor and Lottery enters into a facilities management agreement pursuant to
the provisions of subsection 656{¢) 654(¢) of this title.

Sec. 179. 3 V.S.A. § 212 is amended to read:
§ 212. DEPARTMENTS CREATED

The following administrative departments are hereby created, through the
instrumentality of which the Governor, under the Constitution, shall exercise
such functions as are by law assigned to each department respectively:
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(14) The Department of Liquor Centrel and Lottery
% sk ok
Sec. 180. 32 V.S.A. § 1010 is amended to read:
§ 1010. MEMBERS OF CERTAIN BOARDS

(a) Except for those members serving ex officio or otherwise regularly
employed by the State, the compensation of the members of the following
Boards shall be $50.00 per diem:
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(7) Ligquer-Centrel - Beard Board of Liquor and Lottery

k %k %k

Sec. 181. [Deleted.]

Sec. 182. BOARD OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; DEPARTMENT OF
LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; POWERS AND DUTIES

On July 1, 2017:

(1D(A) The Board of Liquor and Lottery shall assume all the powers,
duties, rights, and responsibilities of the Liquor Control Board and the Lottery
Commission.

(B) The rules of the Liquor Control Board and the Lottery
Commission in effect on July 1, 2017 shall be the rules of the Board of Liquor
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and Lottery until they are amended or repealed.

(2)(A) The Department of Liquor and Lottery shall assume all the
powers, duties, rights, and responsibilities of the Department of Liquor Control
and the State Lottery.

(B) All positions and appropriations of the Department of Liquor
Control and the State Lottery shall be transferred to the Department of Liquor

and Lottery.

(3)(A) The Commissioner of Liquor Control shall become the
Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery.

(B) The Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery shall assume all the
powers, duties, rights, and responsibilities of the Commissioner of Liquor
Control and the Director of the State Lottery.

Sec. 183. LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL; PREPARATION OF A DRAFT BILL

On or before January 15, 2018, the Office of Legislative Council shall
prepare and submit a draft bill to the House Committees on General, Housing
and Military Affairs and on Government Operations and the Senate
Committees on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs and on
Government Operations that makes statutory amendments of a technical nature
and identifies all statutory sections that the General Assembly may need to
amend substantively to effect the intent of this act.

Sec. 184. DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; FUNCTIONS
AND DUTIES; EFFECTIVENESS; REPORT

The Commissioner Liquor and Lottery, in consultation with the Board of
Liquor and Lottery, shall examine the effectiveness of the Department of
Liquor and Lottery in fulfilling its functions and duties and shall identify
specific measures to enhance the Department’s ability to carry out its functions
and duties effectively and efficiently. On or before November 15, 2017, the
Chair of the Board shall submit a written report to the Governor and the
General Assembly of his or her findings and recommendations for legislative
action.

* # * Casino Events Hosted by Nonprofit Organizations * * *
Sec. 185. 13 V.S.A. § 2143 is amended to read:
§ 2143. NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS

(a)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this chapter, a nonprofit
organization, as defined in 32 V.S.A. § 10201(5), may organize and execute,
and an individual may participate in lotteries, raffles, or other games of chance
for the purpose of raising funds to be used in charitable, religious, educational,
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and civic undertakings or used by fraternal organizations to provide direct
support to charitable, religious, educational, or civic undertakings with which
they are affiliated. Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section,
gambling machines and other mechanical devices described in section 2135 of
this title shall not be utilized under authority of this section.

k %k %k

(d) Casino events shall be limited as follows:
(1) A location may be the site of no more than:
(A) one casino event in any calendar quarter; or

(B) three casino events in any calendar year, as long as there are at
least 15 days between each event.

(2) A location that is owned by a nonprofit, as defined in 32 V.S.A.
§ 10201(5) may be the site of no more than three—easme—e%ms—m—any

: 8 : : y year two
casino events in any calendar month as long as there are at least -lé 10 days
between each event.

(3) A nonprofit organization, as defined in 32 V.S.A. § 10201(5), may
organize and execute no more than:

(A) one casino event in any calendar quarter;-or

(4) Eorthepurpeses-of As used in this subsection, “casino event” means
an event held during any 24-hour period at which any game of ¢hange chance
is conducted except those prohibited by 13- \V.S-A—§ subdivision 2135(a)(1) or
(2) of this title. A “casino event” shall not include a fair, bazaar, field days,
agricultural exposition, or similar event which that utilizes a wheel of fortune,
chuck-a-luck, or other such games commonly conducted at such events, or
break-open tickets, bingo, a lottery, or a raffle.

(e) Games of chance shall be limited as follows:

(1) All proceeds raised by a game of chance shall be used exclusively
for charitable, religious, educational, and civic undertakings after deducting:

(A) reasonable expenses, as determined by fair market value, of
purchasing or renting materials and equipment used for the game of chance
and, of printing advertisements, and of the direct purchase of advertising
through established media, such as newspapers, radio, and television; and

(B) reasonable expenses, as determined by fair market value, for rent
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for the premises on which the game of e¢hange chance is executed;-except-that

004 sha¥alka¥a sha 2 N ma .94 & O N a
b 5 ¢ - ~ o e s i “ ~ b “ S 2 ~ ~ ~ ~ i
rent—is—reasonable; and repairs and upkeep to the premises for nonprofit
organizations having ownership in premises; and

(C) prizes awarded to players as limited in subdivision (4) of this
subsection (e); and

(D) payments to persons as limited in subdivision (2) of this
subsection (e).

k %k %k

(6) A nonprofit organization shall not organize and execute games of
chance on more than two days in any calendar week, nor shall games of
chance be organized and executed at any location on more than two days in
any calendar week, except that:

(A) Casino events may be conducted only as permitted under
subsection (d) of this section.

* * * Division of Liquor Control; Raffles of Rare and Unusual Products * * *
Sec. 186. 7 V.S.A. § 5 is added to read:
§ 5. DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR AND LOTTERY; RAFFLES FOR RIGHT

TO PURCHASE RARE AND UNUSUAL PRODUCTS

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of 13 V.S.A. chapter 51 to the contrary,
the Division of Liquor Control may conduct raffles for the right to purchase
certain rare and unusual spirits and fortified wines that are acquired by the
Board of Liquor and Lottery. A raffle conducted pursuant to this section shall
meet the following requirements:

(1) Tickets to enter the raffle shall only be available for purchase to a
member of the general public who is 21 vears of age or older.

(2) Tickets for the raffle shall be sold at a price fixed by the
Commissioner.

(3) All notices or advertisements relating to the raffle shall clearly state:

(A) the price of a raffle ticket;
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(B) the date of the drawing;

(C) the sales price of each rare and unusual spirit or fortified

wine; and

(D) that the winning prize will be the right to purchase the rare and
unusual spirit or fortified wine for the specified sales price.

(4) No Board member or employee of the Department, and no
immediate family member of a Board member or employee of the Department
shall be permitted to enter the raffle.

(b) The proceeds from the sale of tickets for each raffle shall be deposited
in the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund established pursuant to section 112 of
this title.

(c) As used in this section, “rare and unusual spirits and fortified wines”
means spirits and fortified wines that are distributed or allocated to the Board
in an amount that is insufficient for general distribution to local agency stores
and for which the Commissioner determines that an extraordinary level of
public demand exists.

Sec. 186a. PROCEEDS FROM SALE OF RAFFLE TICKETS FOR
PURCHASE OF RARE AND UNUSUAL PRODUCTS;
REPORT

On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Liquor and Lottery
shall submit a written report regarding raffles conducted by the Department
pursuant to 7 V.S.A. § 5, including the number of products for which a raffle
was conducted, the total number of tickets sold, and the proceeds from the
sales of raffle tickets to the House Committees on Appropriations and on
General, Housing and Military Affairs and the Senate Committees on
Appropriations and on Economic Development, Housing and General Affairs.

Sec. 187. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
And that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read:

An act relating to modernizing and reorganizing Title 7 and creating the
Department of Liquor and Lottery.

(For text see House Journal February 15, 16, 2017 )
H. 347
An act relating to the State Telecommunications Plan

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
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Sec. 1. 30 V.S.A. § 202d is amended to read:
§ 202d. TELECOMMUNICATIONS PLAN

(a) The Department of Public Service shall constitute the responsible
planning agency of the State for the purpose of obtaining for all consumers in
the State stable and predictable rates and a technologically advanced
telecommunications network serving all service areas in the State. The
Department shall be responsible for the provision of plans for meeting
emerging trends related to telecommunications technology, markets, financing,
and competition.

(b) The Department shall prepare a Telecommunications Plan for the State.
The Department of Innovation and Information, the Agency of Commerce and
Community Development, and the Agency of Transportation shall assist the
Department in preparing the Plan. The Plan shall be for a 10-year period and
shall serve as a basis for State telecommunications policy. Prior to preparing
the Plan, the Department shall prepare:

(1) an An overview, looking 10 years ahead, of future requirements for
telecommunications services, considering services needed for economic
development, technological advances, and other trends and factors which, as
determined by the Department of Public Service, will significantly affect State
telecommunications policy and programs;.

(2) a-survey One or more surveys of Vermont residents and businesses,
conducted in cooperation with the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development to determine what telecommunications services are needed now
and in the succeeding ten 10 years, generally, and with respect to the following
specific sectors in Vermont;

(A) the educational sector, with input from the Secretary of
Education;

(B) the health care and human services sectors, with input from the
Commissioner of Health and the Secretary of Human Services;

(C) the public safety sector, with input from the Commissioner of
Public Safety and the Executive Director of the Enhanced 911 Board; and

(D) the workforce training and development sectors, with input from
the Commissioner of Labor.

(3) an An assessment of the current state of telecommunications
infrastructure;.

(4) an An assessment, conducted in cooperation with the Department of
Innovation and Information and the Agency of Transportation, of the current
State telecommunications system and evaluation of alternative proposals for

- 2966 -



upgrading the system to provide the best available and affordable technology
for use by government;-and.

(5) an An assessment of the state of telecommunications networks and
services in Vermont relative to other states, including price comparisons for
key services and comparisons of the state of technology deployment.

(c) In developing the Plan, the Department shall take into account the State
telecommunications policies and goals of section 202¢ of this title.

(d) In establishing plans, public hearings shall be held and the Department
shall consult with members of the public, representatives of
telecommunications utilities with a certificate of public good, other providers,
including the Vermont Electric Power Co., Inc. (VELCO), and other interested
State agencies, particularly the Agency of Commerce and Community
Development, the Agency of Transportation, and the Department of
Innovation and Information, whose views shall be considered in preparation of
the Plan. To the extent necessary, the Department shall include in the Plan
surveys to determine existing, needed, and desirable plant improvements and
extensions, access and coordination between telecommunications providers,
methods of operations, and any change that will produce better service or
reduce costs. To this end, the Department may require the submission of data
by each company subject to supervision by the Public Service Board.

(e) Before adopting a Plan, the Department shall conduct public hearings
on a final draft and shall consider the testimony presented at such hearings in
preparing the final Plan. At least one hearing shall be held jointly with
Committees of the General Assembly designated by the General Assembly for
this purpose. The Plan shall be adopted by September 1, 2014, and then
reviewed and updated as provided in subsection (f) of this section.

(f) The Department, from time to time, but in no event less than every
three years, shall institute proceedings to review the Plan and make revisions,
where necessary. The three-year major review shall be made according to the
procedures established in this section for initial adoption of the Plan. For good
cause or upon request by a joint resolution passed by the General Assembly, an
interim review and revision of any section of the Plan may be made after
conducting public hearings on the interim revision. At least one hearing shall
be held jointly with Committees of the General Assembly designated by the
General Assembly for this purpose.

(g) The Department shall review and update the minimum technical service
characteristic objectives not less than every three years beginning in 2017. In
the event such review is conducted separately from an update of the Plan, the
Department shall issue revised minimum technical service characteristic
objectives as an amendment to the Plan.
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Sec. 2. 30 V.S.A. § 218(c) is amended to read:

(c)(1) The Public Service Board shall take any action-including the-setting
of telephone rates,—enabling necessary to enable the State of Vermont and

telecommunications companies offering service in Vermont to participate in

the Eederal Communications-Commission-telephone federal Lifeline program

administered by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) or its agent

and also the Vermont Lifeline program described 1n subd1V151on (2) of this
subsectlon : ha . q ntia :

mﬂe&ge—eharpges household that quahﬁes for partlclpatlon n the federal
Lifeline program under criteria established by the FCC or other federal law or
regulation shall also be eligible to receive a Vermont Lifeline benefit for
wireline voice telephone service. The Vermont Lifeline benefit established
under this subdivision shall be set at an amount not to exceed the benefit
provided to a household as of October 31, 2017, or $4.25, whichever is
oreater, and shall be applied as a supplement to any wireline voice benefit
received through participation in the federal Lifeline proeram. However, in no
event shall the aggregate amount of benefits received through the federal and
State programs described in this subdivision exceed a household’s monthly
basic service charge for wireline services, including any standard usage and
mileage charges.




ehglble telecommumcatlons carrier by the Board pursuant to 47 U.S.C.

§ 214(e) shall verify an applicant’s eligibility for receipt of federal or State
Lifeline benefits as required by federal law or regulation or as directed by the
Vermont Agency of Human Services, as applicable. The Agency shall provide
the FCC or its agent with categorical eligibility data regarding an applicant’s
status in qualifying programs administered by the Agency.

(4) Notwithstanding any provisions of this subsection to the contrary, a
subscriber who is enrolled in the Lifeline program and has obtained a final
relief from abuse order in accordance with the provisions of 15 V.S.A. chapter
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21 or 33 V.S.A. chapter 69 shall qualify for a Lifeline benefit credit for the
amount of the incremental charges imposed by the local telecommunications
company for treating the number of the subscriber as nonpublished and any
charges requlred to change from a pubhshed toa nonpubhshed number. Such

Q}Gf—ﬂo&s-subseengn—llgr—pmpgses-ef As used in thls section, nonpubhshed”

means that the customer’s telephone number is not listed in any published
directories, is not listed on directory assistance records of the company, and is
not made available on request by a member of the general public,
notwithstanding any claim of emergency a requesting party may present. The
Department for Children and Families shall develop an application form and
certification process for obtaining this Lifeline benefit credit. Upon

Sec. 3. LIFELINE ELIGIBILITY AND PARTICIPATION; REPORT

On or before January 1, 2019 and annually thereafter for the next three
years, the Commissioner for Children and Families, in consultation with the
Commissioner of Public Service, shall file a report with the General Assembly
describing the eligibility and participation rates in Vermont with respect to
both the federal and State Lifeline programs. The first report shall include the
number of persons 65 vyears of age or older who became ineligible for the
federal and State Lifeline programs pursuant to the repeal of the State-specific
eligibility criteria.

Sec. 4. CONSUMER EDUCATION AND OUTREACH; REPORT

(a) On or before September 15, 2017, the Commissioner for Children and
Families and the Commissioner of Public Service, with input and
assistance from representatives of various advocacy groups, including AARP,
Inc., shall prepare and distribute one or more notices for distribution to
Vermonters, particularly persons 65 years of age or older, who are eligible to
participate in the Lifeline program according to the Department for Children
and Families’ data. The notices shall describe the criteria for eligibility and
the process necessary for such participation. With input and assistance from
the same advocacy groups’ representatives, the Commissioners shall
engage, on or before October 31, 2017, in other education and outreach efforts
designed to increase participation in the Lifeline program, with particular
focus on eligibility through the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP). In addition, education and outreach efforts shall be targeted to
persons age 65 years or older who are eligible for the Lifeline program
pursuant to the State-specific eligibility criteria that will be repealed
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effective November 1, 2017. Beginning on November 1, 2017, the
Commissioners shall cooperate, to the extent necessary, with outreach efforts
conducted by eligible telecommunications carriers and the FCC or its agent.

(b) On or before September 15, 2017, the Commissioner for Children and
Families, within input from the Commissioner of Public Service, shall file a
report with the General Assembly describing the specific efforts made to
1dentify persons age 65 or older who might be at risk of losing eligibility for
Lifeline because of the elimination of State-specific eligibility criteria and to
inform them of alternative means of obtaining Lifeline eligibility under the
new federal criteria and summarizing the results of such outreach efforts.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on passage, except that Sec. 2 (Lifeline eligibility
and administration) shall take effect on November 1, 2017.

(For text see House Journal March 21, 2017 )
H. 424

An act relating to the Commission on Act 250: the Next 50 Years

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. FINDINGS; PURPOSE
(a) Findings. The General Assembly finds as follows:

(1) In 1969, Governor Deane Davis by executive order created the
Governor’s Commission on Environmental Control, which consisted of
17 members and became known as the Gibb Commission because it was
chaired by Representative Arthur Gibb.

(2) The Gibb Commission’s recommendations, submitted in 1970,
included a new State system for reviewing and controlling plans for large-scale
and environmentally sensitive development. The system was not to be
centered in Montpelier. Instead, the power to review projects and grant
permits would be vested more locally, in commissions for districts within the
State.

(3) In 1970, the General Assembly enacted 1970 Acts and Resolves
No. 250, an act to create an environmental board and district environmental
commissions. This act is now codified at 10 V.S.A. chapter 151 and is
commonly known as Act 250. In Sec. 1 of Act 250 (the Findings), the General
Assembly found that:

(A) ‘“‘the unplanned, uncoordinated and uncontrolled use of the lands
and the environment of the state of Vermont has resulted in usages of the lands
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and the environment which may be destructive to the environment and which
are not suitable to the demands and needs of the people of the state of
Vermont”;

(B) ““a comprehensive state capability and development plan and land
use plan are necessary to provide guidelines for utilization of the lands and
environment of the state of Vermont and to define the goals to be achieved
through land environmental use, planning and control”;

(C) “it is necessary to establish an environmental board and district
environmental commissions and vest them with the authority to regulate the
use of the lands and the environment of the state according to the guidelines
and goals set forth in the state comprehensive capability and development plan
and to give these commissions the authority to enforce the regulations and
controls™; and

(D) “it is necessary to regulate and control the utilization and usages
of lands and the environment to insure that, hereafter, the only usages which
will be permitted are not unduly detrimental to the environment, will promote
the general welfare through orderly growth and development and are suitable
to the demands and needs of the people of this state.”

(4) In 1973 Acts and Resolves No. 85, Secs. 6 and 7, the General
Assembly adopted the Capability and Development Plan (the Plan) called for
by Act 250. Among the Plan’s objectives are:

(A) “Preservation of the agricultural and forest productivity of the
land, and the economic viability of agricultural units, conservation of the
recreational opportunity afforded by the state’s hills, forests, streams and lakes,
wise use of the state’s non-renewable earth and mineral reserves, and
protection of the beauty of the landscape are matters of public good. Uses
which threaten or significantly inhibit these resources should be permitted only
when the public interest is clearly benefited thereby.”

(B) “Increased demands for and costs of public services, such as
schools, road maintenance, and fire and police protection must be considered
in relation to available tax revenues and reasonable public and private capital
investment. . . . Accordingly, conditions may be imposed upon the rate and
location of development in order to control its impact upon the community.”

(C) “Strip development along highways and scattered residential
development not related to community centers cause increased cost of
government, congestion of highways, the loss of prime agricultural lands,
overtaxing of town roads and services and economic or social decline in the
traditional community center.”

(D) ‘“Provision should be made for the renovation of village and
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town centers for commercial and industrial development, where feasible, and
location of residential and other development off the main highways near the
village center on land which is other than primary agricultural soil.”

(E) “In order to achieve a strong economy that provides satisfying
and rewarding job and investment opportunities and sufficient income to meet
the needs and aspirations of the citizens of Vermont, economic development
should be pursued selectively so as to provide maximum economic benefit
with minimal environmental impact.”

(b) Purpose. The General Assembly establishes a Commission on Act 250:
the Next 50 Years (the Commission) and intends that the Commission review
the vision for Act 250 adopted in the 1970s and its implementation with the
objective of ensuring that, over the next 50 vears, Act 250 supports Vermont’s
economic, environmental, and land use planning goals.

(¢) Executive Branch working group. Contemporaneously with the
consideration of this act by the General Assembly, the Chair of the Natural
Resources Board (NRB) has convened a working group on Act 250 to include
the NRB and the Agencies of Commerce and Community Development and of
Natural Resources, with assistance from the Agencies of Agriculture, Food and
Markets and of Transportation. The working group intends to make
recommendations during October 2017. The General Assembly intends that
the Commission established by this act receive and consider information and
recommendations offered by the working group convened by the Chair of the
NRB.

Sec. 2. COMMISSION ON ACT 250: THE NEXT 50 YEARS; REPORT

(a) Establishment. There is established the Commission on Act 250: the
Next 50 Years (the Commission) to:

(1) Review the goals of Act 250, including the findings set forth in 1970
Acts and Resolves No. 250, Sec. 1 (the Findings) and the Capability and
Development Plan adopted in 1973 Acts and Resolves No. 85, Secs. 6 and 7
(the Plan), and assess, to the extent feasible, the positive and negative
outcomes of Act 250’s implementation from 1970 to 2017. This review shall
include consideration of the information, statistics, and recommendations
described in subdivision (d)(1)(B) of this section.

(2) Engage Vermonters on their priorities for the future of the Vermont
landscape, including how to maintain Vermont’s environment and sense of
place, and address relevant issues that have emerged since 1970.

(3) Perform the tasks and the review set forth in subsection (e) of this
section and submit a report with recommended changes to Act 250 to achieve
the goals stated in the Findings and the Plan, including any suggested revisions
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to the Plan.
(b) Membership; officers.

(1) The Commission shall be composed of the following six members:

(A) three members of the House of Representatives, not all from the
same party, appointed by the Speaker of the House; and

(B) three members of the Senate, not all from the same party,
appointed by the Committee on Committees.

(2) At its first meeting, the Commission shall elect a Chair and Vice
Chair. The Vice Chair shall function as Chair in the Chair’s absence.

(c) Advisors. Advisors to the Commission shall be appointed as set forth
in this subsection. The advisors are referred to collectively as the “Act 250
Advisors.” The Commission may seek assistance from additional persons or
organizations with expertise relevant to the Commission’s charge.

(1) The advisors may attend and participate in Commission meetings
and shall have the opportunity to present information and recommendations to
the Commission. The Commission shall notify the advisors of each
Commission meeting.

(2) The advisors to the Commission shall be:

(A) the Chair of the Natural Resources Board or designee;

(B) a representative of a Vermont-based, statewide environmental
organization that has a focus on land use and significant experience in the Act
250 process, appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(C) a person with expertise in environmental science affiliated with a
Vermont college or university, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(D) a representative of the Vermont Association of Planning and
Development Agencies, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

(E) a representative of the Vermont Planners Association, appointed
by the Committee on Committees;

(F) a representative of a Vermont-based business organization with
significant experience in real estate development and land use permitting,
including Act 250, appointed by the Committee on Committees;

(G) a person currently serving or who formerly served in the position
of an elected officer of a Vermont city or town, appointed by the Vermont
League of Cities and Towns;

(H) the Chair of the Environmental Law Section of the Vermont Bar
Association;
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() each of the following or their designees:

(1) the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets;

(11) the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development;

(ii1) the Secretary of Natural Resources; and

(iv) the Secretary of Transportation; and

(J) a current or former district coordinator or district commissioner,
appointed by the Chair of the Natural Resources Board.

(3) The Commission and the Chair of the Natural Resources Board each
may appoint one advisor in addition to the advisors set forth in subdivision
(c)(2) of this section.

(4) Each appointing authority for an advisor to the Commission shall
promptly notify the Office of Legislative Council of the appointment when
made.

(d) Meetings; phases. The Commission shall meet as needed to perform its
tasks and shall conduct three phases of meetings: a preliminary meeting phase,
a public discussion phase, and a deliberation and report preparation phase.
The initial meeting shall be part of the preliminary meeting phase, convened
by the Office of Legislative Council during September 2017 after notice to the
Commission members and the Act 250 Advisors. Subsequent Commission
meetings shall be at the call of the Chair or of any three members of the
Commission.

(1) Preliminary meeting phase.

(A) The preliminary meeting phase shall include the initial meeting
of the Commission and such additional meetings as may be scheduled.

(B) During the preliminary meeting phase, the Commission shall
become informed on the history, provisions, and implementation of Act 250,
including its current permitting and appeals processes. This phase shall
include:

(i) Review of available information on the outcomes of Act 250
from 1970 to 2017, including case studies and analyses. When information
relevant to this review does not exist, the Commission may request its

preparation.

(ii)) Review of the history and implementation of land use
planning in Vermont, including municipal and regional planning under
24 V.S.A. chapter 117.

(ii1) Receipt of the information and recommendations of the
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working group described in Sec. 1(c) of this act;

(iv) Information prepared by the Natural Resources Board on:

(I) the Act 250 application process;

(II) coordination of the Act 250 program with the Agencies of
Agriculture, Food and Markets, of Commerce and Community Development,
of Natural Resources, and of Transportation;

(II) over multiple years, application processing times by
district, number of appeals of application decisions and time to resolve, and
number of appeals of jurisdictional opinions and time to resolve; and

(IV) an overview of the history of the Natural Resources

Board.

(v)  Opportunity for the Act 250 Advisors to present relevant
information.

(2) Public discussion phase. Following the preliminary meeting phase,
the Commission, with assistance from the Act 250 Advisors, shall conduct a
series of information and interactive meetings on 2070: A Vision for
Vermont’s Future.

(A) The purpose of this phase shall be to accomplish the public
engagement set forth in subdivision (a)(2) of this section.

(B) The Commission shall conduct this phase during adjournment of
the General Assembly.

(3) Deliberation and report preparation phase. Following completion of
the public meeting phase, the Commission shall meet to perform the tasks set
forth in subsection (e) of this section and deliberate and prepare its written
report and recommendations, with assistance from the Act 250 Advisors.

(e) Tasks: report and recommendations. After considering the information
from its public discussion meetings and consultation with the Act 250
Advisors, the Commission shall perform the tasks set forth in this subsection
and submit its report, including:

(1) A statistical analysis based on available data on Vermont
environmental and land use permitting in general and on Act 250 permit
processing specifically, produced in collaboration with municipal, regional,
and State planners and regulatory agencies.

(2) Review and recommendations related to:

(A) An evaluation of the degree to which Act 250 has been
successful or unsuccessful in meeting the goals set forth in the Findings and
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the Plan.

(B) An evaluation of whether revisions should be made to the Plan.

(C) An examination of the criteria and jurisdiction of Act 250,
including:

(i) Whether the criteria reflect current science and adequately
address climate change and other environmental issues that have emerged
since 1970. On climate change, the Commission shall seek to understand,
within the context of the criteria of Act 250, the impacts of climate change on
infrastructure, development, and recreation within the State, and methods to
incorporate strategies that reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

(i1)) Whether the criteria support development in areas designated
under 24 V.S.A. chapter 76A, and preserve rural areas, farms, and forests
outside those areas.

(ii1) Whether the criteria support natural resources, working lands,
farms, agricultural soils, and forests in a healthy ecosystem protected from
fragmentation and loss of wildlife corridors.

(iv) Whether Act 250 promotes compact centers of mixed use and
residential development surrounded by rural lands.

(v) Whether Act 250 applies to the type and scale of development
that provides adequate protection for important natural resources as defined in
24 V.S.A. § 2791.

(vi) Whether the exemptions from Act 250 jurisdiction further or
detract from achieving the goals set forth in the Findings and the Plan,
including the exemptions for farming and for energy projects.

(D) An examination of changes that have occurred since 1970 that
may affect Act 250, such as changes in demographics and patterns and
structures of business ownership.

(E) An examination of the interface between Act 250 and other
current permit processes at the local and State levels and opportunities to
consolidate and reduce duplication. This examination shall include
consideration of the relationship of the scope, criteria, and procedures of Act
250 with the scope, criteria, and procedures of Agency of Natural Resources
permitting, municipal and regional land use planning and regulation, and
designation under 24 V.S.A. chapter 76A.

(F) An evaluation of how well the Act 250 application, review, and
appeals processes are serving Vermonters and the State’s environment and how
they can be improved, including consideration of®
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(1) Public participation before the District Environmental
Commissions and in the appeals process, including party status.

(11) The structure of the Natural Resources Board.

(ii1) De novo or on the record appeals.

(iv) Comparison of the history and structure of the former
Environmental Board appeals process with the current process before the
Environmental Division of the Superior Court.

(v) Other appellate structures.

(G) The following specific considerations:

(1) Circumstances under which land might be released from Act
250 jurisdiction.

(i1)) Potential revisions to Act 250’s definitions of development
and subdivision for ways to better achieve the goals of Act 250, including the
ability to protect forest blocks and habitat connectivity.

(ii1) The scope of Act 250’s jurisdiction over projects on
ridgelines, including its ability to protect ridgelines that are lower than 2,500
feet, and projects on ridgelines that are expressly exempted from Act 250.

(iv) Potential jurisdictional solutions for projects that overlap
between towns with and without both permanent zoning and subdivision

bylaws.

(v) The potential of a person that obtains party status to offer to
withdraw the person’s opposition or appeal in return for payment or other
consideration that is unrelated to addressing the impacts of the relevant project
under the Act 250 criteria.

(H) Such other issues related to Act 250 as the Commission may
consider significant.

() Due date. On or before December 15, 2018, the Commission shall
submit its report and recommendations to the House Committee on Natural
Resources, Fish and Wildlife and the Senate Committee on Natural Resources
and Energy (the Natural Resource Committees). The report shall attach the
Commission’s proposed legislation.

(g) Assistance.

(1) The Office of Legislative Council shall provide administrative and
legal assistance to the Commission, including the scheduling of meetings and
the preparation of recommended legislation. The Joint Fiscal Office shall
provide assistance to the Commission with respect to fiscal and statistical
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analysis.

(2) The Commission shall be entitled to technical and professional
services from the Natural Resources Board and the Agencies of Commerce and
Community Development, of Natural Resources, and of Transportation.

(3) On request, the Commission shall be entitled to available statistics
and data from municipalities, regional planning commissions, and State
agencies on land use and environmental permit processing and decisions.

(4) On request, the Commission shall be entitled to data from the
Superior Court on appeals before the Environmental Division from decisions
under Act 250, including annual numbers of appeals, length of time, and

disposition.

(h)  Subcommittees. The Commission may appoint members of the
Commission to subcommittees to which it assigns tasks related to specific
1ssues within the Commission’s charge and may request one or more of the Act
250 Advisors to assist those subcommittees.

(1) Reimbursement.

(A) For attendance at no more than 10 Commission meetings during
adjournment of the General Assembly, legislative members of the Commission
shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses
pursuant to 2 V.S.A. § 406.

(B) There shall be no reimbursement for attendance at subcommittee
meetings or more than 10 Commission meetings.

(i) Cessation. The Commission shall cease to exist on February 15, 2019.
Sec. 3. ASSISTANCE; PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT

If requested by the Commission established under Sec. 2 of this act, the
Office of Legislative Council may retain professional assistance in the design
and conduct of the public discussion phase set forth in Sec. 2(d)(2) of this act,
provided the cost of this assistance does not exceed $20.000.00.

Sec. 3a. ADDITIONAL AUTHORIZED USE; PUBLIC TRUST LANDS
(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) the General Assembly has the authority to authorize public uses of
filled public trust lands in the City of Burlington; and

(2) the use of the filled public trust lands in the City of Burlington
authorized by this act is consistent with the public trust doctrine.

(b) In addition to the uses authorized by the General Assembly in 1990
Acts and Resolves No. 274, 1991 Acts and Resolves No. 53, 1996 Acts and
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Resolves No. 87, and 1997 Acts and Resolves No. 22, the filled public trust
lands within the City of Burlington that are located north of the centerline of
Maple Street extending north to the northern terminus of the Lake Street
extension completed in 2016 and that extend to the waters of Lake Champlain
may be utilized for public markets that benefit Vermont’s public and are
available to the public on an open and nondiscriminatory basis.

(¢) Any use authorized under this act is subject to all applicable
requirements of law.

Sec. 3b. 10 V.S.A. § 6607a(g)(1) is amended to read:

(g)(1) Except as set forth in subdivisions (2), (3), and (4) of this
subsection, a commercial hauler that offers the collection of municipal solid
waste shall:

(A) Beginning on July 1, 2015, offer to collect mandated recyclables
separated from other solid waste and deliver mandated recyclables to a facility
maintained and operated for the management and recycling of mandated
recyclables.

(B) Beginning on July 1, 2016, offer to collect leaf and yard residuals
separate from other solid waste and deliver leaf and yard residuals to a location
that manages leaf and yard residuals in a manner consistent with the priority
uses established under subdivisions 6605k(a)(3)-(5) of this title.

(C) Beginning on July 1, 2047 2018, offer collection of food residuals
separate from other solid waste and deliver to a location that manages food

residuals in a manner consistent with the priority uses established under
subdivisions 6605k(a)(2)-(5) of this title.

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE
This act shall take effect on passage.
(For text see House Journal March 28, 2017 )
Senate Proposal of Amendment to House Proposal of Amendment
S.9

An act relating to the preparation of poultry products

The Senate concurs in the House proposal of amendment with further
amendment thereto as follows::

First: In Sec. 2, 6 V.S.A. § 3312, in subdivision (c)(2), by striking out
subdivision (B) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(B) rooms or compartments in which an edible product is processed,
handled, or stored shall be separated from areas used for slaughter, provided
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that a producer may use food-grade plastic sheeting as a means of separation
when such sheeting prevents the creation of insanitary conditions;

Second: In Sec. 2, 6 V.S.A. § 3312, in subdivision (c)(2), by striking out
subdivisions (F) and (G) in their entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

(F)(1) sewage from human waste shall be disposed of in a sewage
system separate from other drainage lines; or

(i1)) sewage is disposed of through other means to prevent the
creation of insanitary conditions or the backup into the area where the product
1s processed, handled, or stored, including disposal of process wastewater
through on-farm composting under the Required Agricultural Practices;

And by relettering the subsequent subdivisions to be alphabetically correct

Third: In Sec. 2, 6 V.S.A. § 3312 in subdivision (c)(2), by striking out
relettered subdivision (K) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

(K) clothing worn by persons who handle poultry products shall be
of material that is cleanable or disposable.

Fourth: In Sec. 2, 6 V.S.A. § 3312, by striking out subsection (h) (approved
label) in its entirety

(For House Proposal of Amendment see House Journal April 26, 27,
2017)

Committee of Conference Report
S. 75
An act relating to aquatic nuisance species control
TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon Senate Bill entitled:

S. 75 An act relating to aquatic nuisance species control

Respectfully report that they have met and considered the same and
recommend that the Senate accede to the House proposal of amendment and
the House proposal be further amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 2, 10 V.S.A. § 1454, in subsection (c), after “(c)” and before
“It shall be a violation” by striking out “Aquatic nuisance species inspection
station.” and inserting in lieu thereof “No-cost boat wash; aquatic nuisance
species inspection station.”
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and after “other equipment inspected, and” and before “decontaminated at an
approved” by striking out the words “, if determined necessary,”

Second: In Sec. 4, 10 V.S.A. § 1461, by striking out subsection (b) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(b) The Secretary of Natural Resources shall establish a training program
regarding how to decontaminate vessels, motor vehicles, trailers, and other
equipment to prevent the spread of aquatic plants, aquatic plant parts, and
aquatic nuisance species. The training program shall instruct participants
regarding how to address noncompliance with the requirements of section
1454 of this title, including how:

(1) operators of the inspection station do not have authority to board a
vessel unless authorized by the vessel owner; and

(2) operators of the inspection station do not have law enforcement
authority to mandate compliance with the requirements of section 1454 of this
title.

Third: In Sec. 4, 10 V.S.A. § 1461, by striking out subsection (d) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(d) A lake association or municipality approved to operate an aquatic
nuisance species inspection station under subsection (b) of this section shall
provide persons who will operate the aquatic nuisance species inspection
station with training materials furnished by the Secretary regarding how to
conduct the inspection and decontamination of vessels, motor vehicles, trailers,
and other equipment for the presence of aquatic plants, aquatic plant parts, and
aquatic nuisance species.

Fourth: By striking out Sec. 7 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 7. USE OF BOTTOM BARRIERS WITHOUT PERMIT

(a) The Secretary of Natural Resources shall not require an aquatic
nuisance control permit under 10 V.S.A. § 1455 for the use of up to 15 bottom
barriers on an inland lake to control nonnative aquatic nuisance species,

provided that:

(1) the bottom barriers are managed and controlled by a lake
association;

(2) each bottom barrier shall be of no greater size than 14 feet
by 14 feet;

(3) the bottom barriers are not installed in an area where they:

(A) create a hazard to public health: or
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(B) unreasonably impede boating or navigation;

(4) the lake association notifies the Secretary of the use of the barriers:

(A) three days prior to placement of the barriers in a water if the
Secretary has identified the water as containing threatened or endangered
species; or

(B) on the day the barriers are placed in the water if the Secretary has
not identified the water as containing threatened or endangered species; and

(5) the Secretary may require the removal of the bottom barriers upon a
determination that the barriers pose a threat to a threatened or endangered

species.
(b) The Secretary of Natural Resources shall designate an e-mail address,

telephone number, or other publicly available method by which a lake
association may provide the notice required by this section seven days a week.

Rep. Mary Sullivan
Rep. David Deen
Rep. Trevor Squirrell
Committee on the part of the House
Sen. John Rodgers
Sen. Brian Campion
Sen. Christopher Bray
Committee on the part of the Senate
S. 127

An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to vehicles and
vessels

TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon Senate Bill entitled:

S. 127 An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to
vehicles and vessels

Respectfully report that they have met and considered the same and
recommend that the Senate accede to the House proposal of amendment and
the House proposal be further amended as follows:

First: In Sec. 12, 23 V.S.A. § 1095b, in subdivision (c¢)(3), by striking out the
following: “for a first conviction and four points assessed for a second or
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subsequent conviction”

Second: By striking out Sec. 13 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 13. 23 V.S.A. § 2502 is amended to read:
§ 2502. POINT ASSESSMENT; SCHEDULE

(a) Unless the assessment of points is waived by a Superior judge or a
Judicial Bureau hearing officer in the interests of justice and in accordance
with subsection 2501(b) of this title, a person operating a motor vehicle shall
have points assessed against his or her driving record for convictions for
moving violations of the indicated motor vehicle statutes in accord with the
following schedule: (All references are to Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes
Annotated.)

(1) Two points assessed for:

% sk ok
(LL)(1) § 1095. Entertainment picture visible to
operator;
(i1) § 1095b(c)2)(3) Use of portable electronic device
in outside work or school zone—first
offensc;
% sk ok
(3) Four points assessed for:
(A) § 1012. Failure to obey enforcement officer;
(B) § 1013. Authority of enforcement officers;
© § 1051. Failure to yield to pedestrian;
(D) § 1057. Failure to yield to persons who are
blind;
(E) § 1095b(c)(2) Use of portable electronic device in

work or school zone—first offense;

(4) Five points assessed for:

(A) § 1050. Failure to yield to emergency
vehicles;

(B) § 1075. Illegal passing of school bus;

© § 1099. Texting prohibited;
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(D) § 1095b(c)(2) Use of portable electronic device in
work or school zone—second and
subsequent offenses;

k %k %k

Third: By striking out Sec. 24 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 24. 2012 Acts and Resolves No. 71, Sec. 1, as amended by 2012 Acts
and Resolves No. 143, Sec. 13 and by 2014 Acts and Resolves No. 189, Sec.
26, is further amended as follows:

Sec. 1. VERMONT STRONG MOTOR VEHICLE PLATES

k %k %k

(c) Use. An approved Vermont Strong commemorative plate may be
displayed on a motor vehicle registered in Vermont as a pleasure car or on a
motor truck registered in Vermont for less than 26,001 pounds (but excluding
vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan) by covering the
front registration plate with the commemorative plate any time from the
effective date of this act until June-30,-2016. The regular front registration
plate shall not be removed. The regular rear registration plate shall be in place
and clearly visible at all times.

% sk ok
* # * License Plate Cost Savings * * *
Sec. 24a. LICENSE PLATE COST SAVINGS

(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, in consultation with the
Commissioner of Corrections, shall:

(1) examine whether the redesien of Vermont’s standard license plate
could lead to cost savings associated with the production of such plates and, if
cost savings are likely to result from a redesign, shall estimate how much
savings would result from various redesign options; and

(2) identify any other opportunities to reduce costs associated with the
production and acquisition of license plates, including by reducing materials
costs, and estimate the cost savings expected to result from such opportunities.

(b) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall estimate all cost savings
that would result from eliminating the requirement that vehicles registered in
Vermont display front license plates, except in the case of motor trucks with a
registered weight of 10,100 pounds or more. The estimate shall assume that
front and rear license plates will continue to be issued for vehicles registered
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pursuant to 23 V.S.A. § 304(b)(1) (vanity plates).

(¢) On or before January 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
shall report to the House and Senate Committees on Transportation and on
Appropriations the findings and estimates required under this section and any
proposed actions or recommendations related to achieving license plate-related

cost savings.

Fourth: By striking out Sec. 27a and the reader assistance thereto in their
entirety

Fifth: In Sec. 31 (effective dates), in subdivision (a)(1), by striking out the
following: “27a (inspections; emissions repairs),”

Rep. Brennan
Rep. Corcoran
Rep. Burke
Committee on the part of the House
Sen. Mazza
Sen. Flory
Sen. Degree
Committee on the part of the Senate
NOTICE CALENDAR
Senate Proposal of Amendment
H. 59
An act relating to technical corrections

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First: By adding a new Sec. 1 to read as follows:
Sec. 1. 1 V.S.A. § 431 is amended to read:
§ 431. STANDARD TIME; DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME

(a) The standard time within the State of Vermont shall be based on the
mean astronomical time of the 75 of longitude west from Greenwich, known
and de51gnated as “U.S. Standard Eastern time,” except en—twe—e—eleek—ante

eridia 3 n : M : ‘ear. as prov1ded n
15 U. S C. 5260a When standard time is shall be advanced one hour. The
period of time so advanced may be called “daylight saving time.”
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k %k %k

and by renumbering the current Sec. 1 to be Sec. 1a.

Second: After Sec. 16, by adding a Sec. 16a to read as follows:
Sec. 16a. 10 V.S.A. § 1389(e) is amended to read:

(e) Priorities.

(1) In making recommendations under subsection (d) of this section
regarding the appropriate allocation of funds from the Clean Water Fund, the
Board shall prioritize:

k %k %k

(F) funding for innovative or alternative technologies or practices
designed to improve water quality or reduce sources of pollution to surface
waters, including funding for innovative nutrient removal technologies and
community-based methane digesters that utilize manure, wastewater, and food
residuals to produce energy; and

(G) funding to purchase agricultural land in order to take that land
out of practice when the State water quality requirements cannot be remediated
through agricultural Best Management Practices:; and

(H) Funding funding to municipalities for the establishment and
operation of stormwater utilities.

Third: In Sec. 31, by striking out Sec. 31 in its entirety and inserting in lieu
thereof the following:

Sec. 31. [Deleted.]

Fourth: After Sec. 61, by adding a Sec. 61a to read as follows:
Sec. 61a. 23 V.S.A. § 2502 is amended to read:
§ 2502. POINT ASSESSMENT; SCHEDULE

(a) Unless the assessment of points is waived by a Superior judge or a
Judicial Bureau hearing officer in the interests of justice and in accordance
with subsection 2501(b) of this title, a person operating a motor vehicle shall
have points assessed against his or her driving record for convictions for
moving violations of the indicated motor vehicle statutes in accord with the
following schedule: (All references are to Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes
Annotated.)

(1) Two points assessed for:

k %k %k

(YY) § 1127. Unsafe control in presence of herses
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and-cattle animals;
% sk ok
Fifth: After Sec. 119, by adding a Sec. 119a to read as follows:
Sec. 119a. 28 V.S.A. chapter 11 is amended to read:

CHAPTER 11. SUPERVISION OF ADULT INMATES AT THE
CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES

k %k %k

Subchapter 5. Special Treatment Programs

k ok o3k
Subchapter 6. Services For Inmates With Serious Functional Impairment

§ 905. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

It is the intent of the General Assembly that the serious functional
impairment designation apply solely to individuals residing in a correctional
facility and not to individuals reentering the community after incarceration.

Sixth: After Sec. 140, by adding two new sections to be Secs. 140a and
1400b to read as follows:

Sec. 140a. 32 V.S.A. § 9771 is amended to read:
§ 9771. IMPOSITION OF SALES TAX

k %k %k

(4) admission to places of amusement entertainment, including athletic
events, exhibitions, dramatic and musical performances, motion pictures, golf
courses and ski areas, and access to cable television systems or other audio or
video programming systems that operate by wire, coaxial cable, lightwave,
microwave, satellite transmission, or by other similar means, and access to any
game or gaming or amusement machine, apparatus or device, excluding video
game, pinball, musical, vocal, or visual entertainment machines which are
operated by coin, token, or bills;

k %k %k

Sec. 140b. 32 V.S.A. § 9813 is amended to read:
§ 9813. PRESUMPTIONS AND BURDEN OF PROOF

(a) For the purpose of the proper administration of this chapter and to

- 2988 -



prevent evasion of the tax hereby imposed, it shall be presumed that all
recelpts for property or serv1ces of any type mentioned in subdivisions

menﬁened—m—s&bd—mqﬁen—Qﬂl-(@ sectlon 9771 of thls t1tle are subject to tax

until the contrary is established, and the burden of proving that any receipt or
amusement charge is not taxable hereunder shall be upon the person required
to collect tax.

k %k %k

(For text see House Journal March 14, 2017 )
H. 111
An act relating to vital records

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First: In Sec. 3, 18 V.S.A. § 5000, in the final sentence of subdivision (c¢)(1),
by striking out the words “and the date” and inserting in lieu thereof the words
and by the date

Second: In Sec. 17, 18 V.S.A. § 5016, in subdivision (b)(2)(A), by striking
out “guardian, or petitioner for appointment as executor,” and inserting in lieu
thereof the following: or guardian; a person petitioning to open a decedent’s
estate: a court-appointed executor or administrator;

Third: In Sec. 17, 18 V.S.A. § 5016, in subdivision (c)(1), by inserting the
following at the end of the sentence, before the period, and shall not be issued
on antifraud paper

Fourth: In Sec. 22, 18 V.S.A. § 5073, in subdivision (a)(2), by striking out
the word “father” and inserting in lieu thereof the word parent

Fifth: In Sec. 27, 18 V.S.A. § 5077a, in subsection (a), in the first sentence,
by striking out “in the State Registration System.” and inserting in lieu thereof
the following: in the Statewide Registration System. If the State Registrar
denies an application under this subsection, the applicant may petition the
Probate Division of the Superior Court, which shall review the application and
relevant evidence de novo to determine if the issuance of a new birth
certificate is warranted. If the court issues a decree ordering the issuance of a
new birth certificate, the State Registrar shall update the System in accordance
with the decree.

Sixth: In Sec. 38, 18 V.S.A. § 5112, by striking out subsections (a) and (b)
in their entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(@)(1) Upon receiving frosr | i
court-order-that recelpt of an apphcatlon for a new b1rth certlﬁcate and after
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receiving sufficient evidence to determine that an individual’s sexual
reassignment has been completed, the State Registrar shall update the
Statewide Registration System and issue a new birth certificate to:

(A) show that the sex of the individual born in this State has been
changed; and

(B) if the application is accompanied by a decree of the Probate
Division authorizing a change of name associated with the change of sex, to
reflect the change of name.

(2) The State Registrar shall record in the System the identity of the
person requesting the new certificate, the nature and content of the change
made, the person who made the change, and the date of the change.

(b)(1) An affidavit by a licensed physician who has treated or evaluated the
individual stating that the individual has undergone surgical, hormonal, or
other treatment appropriate for that individual for the purpose of gender
transition shall constitute sufficient evidence for-theCourt to issue—an—order
determine that sexual reassignment has been completed. The affidavit shall
include the medical license number and signature of the physician.

(2) If the State Registrar denies an application under this section, the
applicant may petition the Probate Division of the Superior Court, which shall
review the application and relevant evidence de novo to determine if the
issuance of a new birth certificate under this section is warranted. If the court
1ssues a decree ordering the issuance of a new birth certificate under this
section, the State Registrar shall update the Statewide Registration System and
1ssue a new birth certificate in accordance with subsection (a) of this section.

Seventh: In Sec. 40, 18 V.S.A. § 5139, in subsection (b), in the second
sentence, by striking out the words “harm would occur” and inserting in lieu
thereof the words harm could occur

(For text see House Journal March 29, 2017 )
H. 218

An act relating to the adequate shelter of dogs and cats
The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:

First: In Sec. 2, 13 V.S.A. § 365, subdivision (c¢)(1), in the first sentence, by
striking out the words “an adequate” and inserting in lieu thereof the words
a minimum. And in the second sentence by striking out the word “adequate”
and inserting in lieu thereof the word minimum.

Second: In Sec. 2, 13 V.S.A. § 365, by striking out subdivision (¢)(3)(A) in
its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:
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(3)(A) A cat over the age of two months shall be provided a minimum
living space that is large enough to allow the cat, in a normal manner, to turn
about freely, stand, sit, and lie down. A cat shall be presumed to have
minimum living space if provided with floor space of at least eight square feet
and a primary structure of at least 24 inches in height. Floor space shall be
calculated to include any raised resting platforms provided.

Third: In Sec. 2, 13 V.S.A. § 365, in subdivision (c)(5), by striking out the
following: “Dogs or cats that are housed in the same primary living space or
enclosure shall be compatible, as determined by observation, provided that:”

(For text see House Journal March 14, 15,2017 )
H. 411

An act relating to Vermont’s energy efficiency standards for appliances and
equipment

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill by striking all after the
enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

* # % Appliance Efficiency * * *
Sec. 1. PURPOSE

In light of the findings set forth at 9 V.S.A. § 2792, Secs. 2 through 6 of
this act adopt federal appliance and lighting efficiency standards in effect on
January 19, 2017 so that the same standards will be in place in Vermont should
the federal standards be repealed or voided. The act also adopts federal
standards for general service lighting that have been adopted by the U.S.
Department of Energy and are scheduled to come into effect on January 20,
2020, again so that the same standards will be in place in Vermont. The act
does not adopt standards for other products or standards for a product that are
different from the federal standards.

Sec. 2. 9 V.S.A. § 2793 is amended to read:
§ 2793. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter:

k %k %k

(15) “General service lamp” has the same meaning as set forth in the
action published at 82 Fed. Reg. 7276, 7321-22 (January 19, 2017) and
modified by the action published at 82 Fed. Reg. 7322, 7333
(January 19, 2017).

Sec. 3. 9 V.S.A. § 2794 is amended to read:
§ 2794. SCOPE
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(a) The provisions of this chapter apply to the following types of new
products sold, offered for sale, or installed in the State:

(1) Medium voltage dry-type distribution transformers.
(2) Metal halide lamp fixtures.

(3) Residential furnaces and residential boilers.

(4) Single-voltage external AC to DC power supplies.
(5) State-regulated incandescent reflector lamps.

(6) General service lamps.

(7) Each other product for which the Commissioner is required to adopt
an efficiency or water conservation standard by rule pursuant to section 2795
of this title.

(8) Any other product that may be designated by the Commissioner in
accordance with section 2797 of this title.

(b) The provisions of this chapter do not apply to:

(1) New products manufactured in the State and sold outside the State
and the equipment used in manufacturing those products.

(2) New products manufactured outside the State and sold at wholesale
inside the State for final retail sale and installation outside the State.

(3) Products installed in mobile manufactured homes at the time of
construction.

(4) Products designed expressly for installation and use in recreational
vehicles.

Sec. 4. 9 V.S.A. § 2795 is amended to read:
§ 2795. EFFICIENCY AND WATER CONSERVATION STANDARDS

Not-later-thanJune—1,—2007,-the The Commissioner shall adopt rules in
accordance with the provisions of 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 establishing minimum
efficiency standards for the types of new products set forth in section 2794 of
this title. The rules shall provide for the following minimum efficiency
standards for products sold or installed in this State:

k %k %k

(6) In the rules, the Commissioner shall adopt minimum efficiency and
water conservation standards for each product that is subject to a standard
under 10 C.F.R. §8§ 430 and 431 as those provisions existed on January 19,
2017. The minimum standard and the testing protocol for each product shall
be the same as adopted in those sections of the Code of Federal Regulations.

-2992 -




(7) In the rules, the Commissioner shall adopt a minimum efficacy
standard for general service lamps of 45 lumens per watt, when tested in
accordance with 10 C.F.R. § 430.23(gg) as that provision existed on
January 19, 2017.

Sec. 5. 9 V.S.A. § 2796 is amended to read:
§ 2796. IMPLEMENTATION

k %k %k

(NH(1) When federal preemption under 42 U.S.C. § 6297 applies to a
standard adopted pursuant to this chapter for a product, the standard shall
become enforceable on the occurrence of the earliest of the following:

(A) The federal energy or water conservation standard for the
product under 42 U.S.C. chapter 77 is withdrawn, repealed, or otherwise
voided. However, this subdivision (A) shall not apply to any federal energy or
water conservation standard set aside by a court of competent jurisdiction upon
the petition of a person who will be adversely affected, as provided in 42
U.S.C. § 6306(b).

(B) A waiver of federal preemption is issued pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 6297.

(2) The federal standard for general service lamps shall be considered to
be withdrawn, repealed, or otherwise voided within the meaning of this
subsection if it does not come into effect on January 20, 2020 pursuant to the
actions published at 82 Fed. Reg. 7276 and 7333 (January 19, 2017).

(3) When a standard adopted pursuant to this chapter becomes
enforceable under this subsection, a person shall not sell or offer for sale in the
State a new product subject to the standard unless the efficiency or water
conservation of the new product meets or exceeds the requirements set forth in
the standard.

Sec. 6. RULE ADOPTION; SCHEDULE; REPORT
(a) Rule adoption; schedule.

(1) On or before August 1, 2017, the Commissioner of Public Service
shall file with the Secretary of State proposed rules to effect Sec. 4 of this act.

(2) On or before April 1, 2018, the Commissioner shall finally adopt
these rules, unless the Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules extends
this date pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 843(c).

(b) Reports.
(1) On or before December 15, 2017, the Commissioner of Public
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Service shall file a progress report on the rulemaking required by this act. The
report shall attach the proposed rules as filed with the Secretary of State.

(2) On or before December 15, 2018, the Commissioner of Public
Service shall file a further progress report on the rulemaking required by this
act. The report shall attach the rules as finally adopted by the Commissioner.

* # * Net Metering * * *
Sec. 7. 30 V.S.A. § 8010(c)(2) is amended to read:

(2) The rules shall include provisions that govern:

k %k %k

(F) the amount of the credit to be assigned to each kWh of electricity
generated by a net metering customer in excess of the electricity supplied by
the interconnecting provider to the customer, the manner in which the
customer's credit will be applied on the customer's bill, and the period during
which a net metering customer must use the credit, after which the credit shall
revert to the interconnecting provider.

(i) When assigning an amount of credit under this subdivision (F),
the Board shall consider making multiple lengths of time available over which
a customer may take a credit and differentiating the amount according to the
length of time chosen. For example, a monthly credit amount may be higher if
taken over 10 years and lower if taken over 20 years. Factors relevant to this
consideration shall include the customer's ability to finance the net metering
system, the cost of that financing, and the net present value to all ratepayers of
the net metering program.

(i1) In this subdivision (i1), “existing net metering system” means
a net metering system for which a complete application was filed before
January 1, 2017.

() Commencing 10 vyears from the date on which an existing
net metering system was installed, the Board may apply to the system the same
rules governing bill credits and the use of those credits on the customer’s bill
that it applies to net metering systems for which applications were filed on or
after January 1, 2017, other than any adjustments related to siting and
tradeable renewable energy credits.

(II) This subdivision (i1) shall apply to existing net metering
systems notwithstanding any contrary provision of 1 V.S.A. § 214 and 2014
Acts and Resolves No. 99, Sec. 10.

Sec. 8. NET METERING SYSTEMS; APPROVAL UNDER BOARD
ORDER

- 2994 -



(a) In this section, “Temporary Net Metering Order” means the order on
reconsideration issued on August 29, 2016 by the Public Service Board
(Board) under the caption of “In Re: Revised Net-Metering Rule Pursuant to
Act 99 of 2014.”

(b) A net metering system that received an approval from the Board
pursuant to the Temporary Net Metering Order may be constructed and placed
into service in accordance with the terms of that Order and the approval issued
pursuant to that Order, provided the approval was issued before September 1,
2017.

* * * Effective Dates * * *
Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATES; APPLICABILITY
(a) This act shall take effect on passage.

(b) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, Sec. 7 shall apply to net metering
rules of the Public Service Board adopted on or after January 1, 2017.

And that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read:
An act relating to miscellaneous energy issues.
(For text see House Journal March 22, 2017 )
H. 510

An act relating to the cost share for State agricultural water quality financial
assistance grants

The Senate proposes to the House to amend the bill as follows:
By adding two new sections to be Secs. 2a and 2b to read as follows:
Sec. 2a. 3 V.S.A. § 2822(i) is amended to read:

(1) (1) The Secretary shall not process an application for which the
applicable fee has not been paid unless the Secretary specifies that the fee may
be paid at a different time or unless the person applying for the permit is
exempt from the permit fee requirements pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 710.
Municipalities shall be exempt from the payment of fees under this section
except for those fees prescribed in subdivisions (G)(1), (7), (8), (14), and (15)
of this section for which a municipality may recover its costs by charging a
user fee to those who use the permitted services. Municipalities shall pay fees
prescribed in subdivisions (j)(2), (10), (11), (12), and (26), except that a
municipality shall also be exempt from those fees for stormwater systems
prescribed in subdivision (§)(2)(A)(iii)(I), (II), or (IV) and (j)(2)(B)(iv)(I), (II),
or (V) of this section for which a municipality has assumed full legal
responsibility under 10 V.S.A. § 1264.
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(2) An air contaminant source shall be exempt from the fees required under
subdivisions (1)(1)(A) and (B) of this section when the source of the emissions
1s the anaerobic digestion of agricultural products, agricultural by-products,
agricultural waste, or food waste.

Sec. 2b. 32 V.S.A. § 9741 is amended to read:
§ 9741. SALES NOT COVERED

Retail sales and use of the following shall be exempt from the tax on retail
sales imposed under section 9771 of this title and the use tax imposed under
section 9773 of this title.

k %k %k

(51) The following machinery, including repair parts, used for timber
cutting, removal, and processing of timber or other solid wood forest products
intended to be sold ultimately at retail: skidders with grapple and cable, feller
bunchers, cut-to-length processors, forwarders, delimbers, loader slashers, log
loaders, whole tree chippers, stationary screening systems, and firewood
processors, elevators, and screens. The Department of Taxes shall publish
guidance relating to the application of this exemption.

(For text see House Journal March 28, 2017 )

Senate Proposal of Amendment to House Proposal of Amendment
S. 61
An act relating to offenders with mental illness

The Senate concurs in the House Proposal of Amendment with further
proposal of amendment as follows:

First: By striking out Sec. 1 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 1. [Deleted.]

Second: By striking out Sec. 2 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof
the following:

Sec. 2. [Deleted.]

Third: By striking out Sec. 7 in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 7. AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES; REPORT TO STANDING
COMMITTEES

On or before January 18, 2018, the Secretary of Human Services shall
report to the House and Senate Committees on Judiciary, the House

- 2996 -



Committees on Corrections and Institutions and on Health Care, and the
Senate Committee on Health and Welfare on how best to provide mental health
treatment and services to inmates and detainees housed in a correctional
facility, including recommendations on whether those services should be
provided by a classified State employee working within the Agency of Human
Services, by designated agencies, or by other professionals contracted for
professional mental health care services within the Department.

Fourth: By striking out Sec. 11, substance abuse recovery services at
correctional facilities; study, in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the
following:

Sec. 11. JOINT LEGISLATIVE JUSTICE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE;
SUBSTANCE ABUSE RECOVERY SERVICES AT
CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES

During the 2017 legislative interim, the Joint Legislative Justice Oversight
Committee shall evaluate approaches to substance abuse recovery services in
correctional facilities for inmates, including the use of medication-assisted
therapy. Any resulting legislative recommendations shall be introduced as a
bill in the 2018 legislative session.

Fifth: In Sec. 12, effective dates, by striking out subsection (b) in its
entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

(b) Secs. 3 (general definitions), 4 (28 V.S.A. § 701a(b)), 5 (mental health
service for inmates; powers and responsibilities of commissioner), 7 (Agency
of Human Services; report to standing committees), & (legislative intent,
Department of Corrections; use of segregation), and 11 (Joint Legislative
Justice Oversight: substance abuse recovery services at correctional facilities)
shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

Sixth: In Sec. 12, effective dates, by striking out subsection (d) in its
entirety.

(For House Proposal of Amendment see House Journal April 28, 2017 )
Committee of Conference Report
H. 74
An act relating to nonconsensual sexual conduct
TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference, to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon House Bill, entitled:

H.74. An act relating to nonconsensual sexual conduct.
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Respectfully reports that it has met and considered the same and
recommends that the Senate recede from its proposal of amendment and that
the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 13 V.S.A. § 2601a is added to read:
§ 2601a. PROHIBITED CONDUCT

(a) No person shall engage in open and gross lewdness.

(b) A person who violates this section shall:

(1) be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than
$300.00, or both, for a first offense; and

(2) be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than
$1.000.00, or both, for a second or subsequent offense.

Sec. 2. 13 V.S.A. § 2632 is amended to read:
§ 2632. PROHIBITED-ACTS PROSTITUTION

k %k %k

Sec. 3. 13 V.S.A. § 1030 is amended to read:

§ 1030. VIOLATION OF AN ABUSE PREVENTION ORDER, AN ORDER
AGAINST STALKING OR SEXUAL ASSAULT, OR A
PROTECTIVE ORDER CONCERNING CONTACT WITH A
CHILD

(a) A person who intentionally commits an act prohibited by a court or
who fails to perform an act ordered by a court, in violation of an abuse
prevention order issued under 15 V.S.A. chapter 21 of Title15 or 33 V.S.A.
chapter 69 of Title-33, a protective order that concerns contact with a child and
is issued under 33 V.S.A. chapter 51 of Title-33, or an order against stalking or
sexual assault issued under 12 V.S.A. chapter 178 of Title-12, after the person
has been served notice of the contents of the order as provided in those
chapters; or in violation of a foreign abuse prevention order or an order against
stalking or sexual assault issued by a court in any other state, federally
recognized Indian tribe, territory or possession of the United States, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or the District of Columbia; shall be
imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(b) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this
section or is convicted of an offense under this section and has previously been
convicted of domestic assault under section 1042 of this title, first degree
aggravated domestic assault under section 1043 of this title, or second degree
aggravated domestic assault under section 1044 of this title shall be imprisoned
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not more than three years or fined not more than $25,000.00, or both.

(c) Upon conviction under this section for a violation of an order issued
under 15 V.S.A. chapter 21 of Title 15, the court shall, unless the
circumstances indicate that it is not appropriate or not available, order the
defendant to participate in domestic abuse counseling or a domestic abuse
prevention program approved by the departmentof corrections Department of
Corrections. The defendant may at any time request the court to approve an
alternative program. The defendant shall pay all or part of the costs of the
counseling or program unless the court finds that the defendant is unable
to do so.

(d) Upon conviction for a violation of an order issued under 12 V.S.A.
chapter 178 of Title12, the court may order the defendant to participate in
mental health counseling or sex offender treatment approved by the
department-of corrections Department of Corrections. The defendant shall pay
all or part of the costs of the counseling unless the court finds that the
defendant is unable to do so.

(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to diminish the inherent
authority of the courts to enforce their lawful orders through contempt
proceedings.

(f) Prosecution for violation of an abuse prevention order or an order
against stalking or sexual assault shall not bar prosecution for any other crime,
including any crime that may have been committed at the time of the violation
of the order.

Sec. 4. 13 V.S.A. § 3281 is added to read:
§ 3281. SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVORS’ RIGHTS

(a) Short title. This section may be cited as the “Bill of Rights for Sexual
Assault Survivors.”

(b) Definition. As used in this section, “sexual assault survivor” means a
person who is a victim of an alleged sexual offense.

(¢) Survivors’ rights. When a sexual assault survivor makes a verbal or
written report to a law enforcement officer, emergency department, sexual
assault nurse examiner, or victim’s advocate of an alleged sexual offense, the
recipient of the report shall provide written notification to the survivor that he
or she has the following rights:

(1) The right to receive a medical forensic examination and any related
toxicology testing at no cost to the survivor in accordance with 32 V.S.A.
§ 1407, irrespective of whether the survivor reports to or cooperates with law
enforcement. If the survivor opts to have a medical forensic examination, he
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or she shall have the following additional rights:

(A) the right to have the medical forensic examination kit or its
probative contents delivered to a forensics laboratory within 72 hours of
collection;

(B) the right to have the sexual assault evidence collection kit or its
probative contents preserved without charge for the duration of the maximum
applicable statute of limitations;

(C) the right to be informed in writing of all policies governing the
collection, storage, preservation, and disposal of a sexual assault evidence
collection kit;

(D) the right to be informed of a DNA profile match on a kit
reported to law enforcement or on a confidential kit, on a toxicology report, or
on a medical record documenting a medical forensic examination, if the
disclosure would not impede or compromise an ongoing investigation; and

(E) upon written request from the survivor, the right to:

(1) receive written notification from the appropriate official with
custody not later than 60 days before the date of the kit’s intended destruction
or disposal; and

(i1)) be granted further preservation of the kit or its probative

contents.

(2) The right to consult with a sexual assault advocate.

(3) The right to information concerning the availability of protective
orders and policies related to the enforcement of protective orders.

(4) The right to information about the availability of, and eligibility for,
victim compensation and restitution.

(5) The right to information about confidentiality.

(d) Notification protocols. The Vermont Network Against Domestic and
Sexual Violence and the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program, in
consultation with other parties referred to in this section, shall develop
protocols and written materials to assist all responsible entities in providing
notification to victims.

Sec. 5. 13 V.S.A. § 4501 is amended to read:
§ 4501. LIMITATION OF PROSECUTIONS FOR CERTAIN CRIMES

(a) Prosecutions for aggravated sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault of
a child, sexual assault, human trafficking, aggravated human trafficking,
murder, arson causing death, and kidnapping may be commenced at any time
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after the commission of the offense.

(b) Prosecutions for manslaughter sexual-assault; lewd and lascivious
conduct, sexua d sexual
abuse of a Vulnerable adult grand larceny, robbery, burglary, embezzlement
forgery, bribery offenses, false claims, fraud under 33 V.S.A. § 141(d), and
felony tax offenses shall be commenced within six years after the commission
of the offense, and not after.

(c) Prosecut1ons for any of the follow1ng offenses alleged-to-have-been
) age shall be commenced within

40 years after the commission of the offense and not after:
(1) scxual assault;

2) lewd and lascivious conduct alleged to have been committed against
a child under 18 years of age;

3)(2) sexual exploitation of a minor as defined in subsection 3258(c) of
this title;

A(3) lewd or lascivious conduct with a child; and
5)(4) sexual exploitation of children under chapter 64 of this title; and

(5) manslaughter alleged to have been committed against a child under
18 years of age.

(d) Prosecutions for arson shall be commenced within 11 years after the
commission of the offense, and not after.

(e) Prosecutions for other felonies and for misdemeanors shall be
commenced within three years after the commission of the offense, and not
after.

Sec. 6. 14 V.S.A. § 315 is amended to read:
§ 315. PARENT AND CHILD RELATIONSHIP

(a) For the purpose of intestate succession, an individual is the child of his
or her parents, regardless of their marital status, but a parent shall not inherit
from a child unless the parent has openly acknowledged the child and not
refused to support the child.

(b) The parent and child relationship may be established in parentage
proceedings under subechapter—3A—of 15 V.S.A. chapter 5 of Title—15,
subchapter 3A.

(c) A parent shall not inherit from a child conceived of sexual assault who
1s the subject of a parental rights and responsibilities order issued pursuant to
15 V.S.A. § 665(%).
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Sec. 7. 15 V.S.A. § 665 is amended to read:

§ 665. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES ORDER; BEST INTERESTS
OF THE CHILD

k %k %k

(f) The State has a compelling interest in not forcing a victim of sexual
assault or sexual exploitation to continue an ongoing relationship with the
perpetrator of the abuse. Such continued interaction can have traumatic
psychological effects on the victim, making recovery more difficult, and
negatively affect the victim’s ability to parent and to provide for the best
interests of the child. Additionally, the State recognizes that a perpetrator may
use the threat of pursuing parental rights and responsibilities to coerce a victim
into not reporting or not assisting in the prosecution of the perpetrator for the
sexual assault or sexual exploitation, or to harass, intimidate, or manipulate the
victim.

(1) The Ceurt court may enter an order awarding sole parental rights
and responsibilities to a parent and denying all parent-child contact with the
other parent if the Court court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the
nonmoving parent was convicted of sexually assaulting the moving parent and
the child was conceived as a result of the sexual assault. As used in this
subdivision, sexual assault shall include sexual assault as provided in 13
V.S.A. § 3252(a), (b), (d), and (e), aggravated sexual assault as provided in 13
V.S.A. § 3253, and aggravated sexual assault of a child as provided in 13
V.S.A. § 3253a, lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as provided in 13
V.S.A. § 2602, and similar offenses in other jurisdictions.

(2) The Ceurt court may enter an order awarding sole parental rights
and responsibilities to one parent and denying all parent-child contact between
the other parent and a child if the Ceurt court finds by clear and convincing

evidence that the child was conceived as a result of the nonmoving parent
sexually assaulting or sexually exploiting the moving parent and the Court
court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that such an order is in the best
interest of the child. A conviction is not required under this subdivision, and
the Court court may consider other evidence of sexual assault or sexual
exploitation in making its determination.
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(A) For purposes of this subdivision (f)(2):

@(A) sexual assault shall include sexual assault as provided in
13 V.S.A. § 3252, aggravated sexual assault as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 3253,
aggravated sexual assault of a child as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 3253a, lewd
and lascivious conduct with a child as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 2602, and
similar offenses in other jurisdictions; and

@1(B) sexual exploitation shall include sexual exploitation of an
inmate as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 3257, sexual exploitation of a minor as
provided in 13 V.S.A. § 3258, sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult as provided
in 13 V.S.A. § 1379, and similar offenses in other jurisdictions.

(3) Issuance of an order pursuant to this subsection shall not affect the
right of the custodial parent to seek child support from the noncustodial parent.

(4) Upon issuance of a rights and responsibilities order pursuant to this
subsection, the court shall not issue a parent-child contact order and shall
terminate any existing parent-child contact order concerning the child and the
nonmoving parent. An order issued in accordance with this subdivision shall
be permanent and shall not be subject to modification.

Sec. 8. 15 V.S.A. § 1103 is amended to read:
§ 1103. REQUESTS FOR RELIEF

k %k %k

(c)(1) The Ceurt court shall make such orders as it deems necessary to
protect the plaintiff or the children, or both, if the Ceurt court finds that the
defendant has abused the plaintiff, and:

(A) there is a danger of further abuse; or

(B) the defendant is currently incarcerated and has been convicted of
one of the following: murder, attempted murder, kidnapping, domestic assault,
aggravated domestic assault, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault,
stalking, aggravated stalking, lewd or lascivious conduct with a child, use of a
child in a sexual performance, or consenting to a sexual performance.
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(2) The court order may include the following:

(A) an order that the defendant refrain from abusing the plaintiff; or
his or her children, or both, and from interfering with their personal liberty,
including restrictions on the defendant’s ability to contact the plaintiff or the

plaintiff’s children in—person,—by—phone,—or-by—mail, or both, in any way,
whether directly, indirectly, or through a third party, with the purpose of
making contact with the plaintiff, including in writing or by telephone, e-mail,
or other electronic communication, and restrictions prohibiting the defendant
from coming within a fixed distance of the plaintiff, the children, the
plaintiff’s residence, or other designated locations where the plaintiff or the
plaintiff’s children are likely to spend time;

k %k %k

Sec. 9. 15 V.S.A. § 1104 is amended to read:
§ 1104. EMERGENCY RELIEF

(a) In accordance with the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure, temporary
orders under this chapter may be issued ex parte, without notice to the
defendant, upon motion and findings by the Ceurt court that the defendant has
abused the plaintiff or his-er-her the plaintiff’s children, or both. The plaintiff
shall submit an affidavit in support of the order. A minor 16 years of age or
older, or a minor of any age who is in a dating relationship as defined in
subdivision 1101(2) of this chapter, may seek relief on his or her own behalf.
Relief under this section shall be limited as follows:

(1) Upon a finding that there is an immediate danger of further abuse,
an order may be granted requiring the defendant:

(A) to refrain from abusing the plaintiff or his or her children, or
both, or from cruelly treating as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 352 or 352a or killing
any animal owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held as a pet by either party or
by a minor child residing in the household;

(B) to refrain from interfering with the plaintiff’s personal liberty; or
the personal liberty of the plaintiff’s children, or both; and

(C) to refrain from coming within a fixed distance of the plaintiff,
the plaintiff’s children, the plaintiff’s residence, or the plaintiff’s place of
employment; and

(D) to refrain from contacting the plaintiff or the plaintiff’s children,
or both, in any way, whether directly, indirectly, or through a third party, with
the purpose of making contact with the plaintiff, including in writing or by
telephone, e-mail, or other electronic communication.

k %k %k
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Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) This section and Secs. 1 (prohibited conduct), 6 (parent and child),
7 (rights and responsibilities order; best interests of the child), 8 (request for
relief), and 9 (emergency relief) shall take effect on passage.

(b) All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2017.
And that after passage the title of the bill be amended to read:

An act relating to domestic and sexual violence.

RICHARD W. SEARS
MARGARET K FLORY
JEANETTE K. WHITE

Committee on the part of the
Senate

MAXINE JO GRAD

RUQAIYAH K. MORRIS

EILEEN LYNN" G.
DICKINSON

Committee on the part of the House
S. 50

An act relating to insurance coverage for telemedicine services delivered in
or outside a health care facility

TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

The Committee of Conference, to which were referred the disagreeing votes
of the two Houses upon Senate Bill, entitled:

S.50. An act relating to insurance coverage for telemedicine services
delivered in or outside a health care facility.

Respectfully reports that it has met and considered the same and
recommends that the House recede from its proposal of amendment and that
the bill be amended by striking out all after the enacting clause and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

Sec. 1. 8 V.S.A. § 4100k is amended to read:
§ 4100k. COVERAGE OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES DELIVERED
THROUGH TELEMEDICINE SERVICES

(a) All health insurance plans in this State shall provide coverage for
telemedicine health care services delivered through telemedicine by a health

care provider at a distant site to a patient in—a-health—care—facility at an
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originating site to the same extent that the services—would-be—covered plan
would cover the services if they were provided through in-person consultation.

(b) A health insurance plan may charge a deductible, co-payment, or
coinsurance for a health care service provided through telemedicine so long as
it does not exceed the deductible, co-payment, or coinsurance applicable to an
in-person consultation.

(c) A health insurance plan may l1m1t coverage to health care prov1ders in
the plans network and-m natin health ea

&han—m—peysgn A health insurance plan shall not impose l1m1tat1ons on the

number of telemedicine consultations a covered person may receive that
exceed limitations otherwise placed on in-person covered services.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit a health insurance
plan from providing coverage for only those services that are medically
necessary and are clinically appropriate for delivery through telemedicine,
subject to the terms and conditions of the covered person’s policy.

(e) A health insurance plan may reimburse for teleophthalmology or
teledermatology provided by store and forward means and may require the
distant site health care provider to document the reason the services are being
provided by store and forward means.

(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require a health insurance
plan to reimburse the distant site health care provider if the distant site health
care provider has insufficient information to render an opinion.

(g) In order to facilitate the use of telemedicine in treating substance use
disorder, when the originating site is a health care facility, health insurers and
the Department of Vermont Health Access shall ensure that both-the-treating
clinician-and-the-hostingfacility the health care provider at the distant site and
the health care facility at the originating site are both reimbursed for the
services rendered, unless the health care providers at both the host-and-service
distant and originating sites are employed by the same entity.

(h) As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Distant site” means the location of the health care provider
delivering services through telemedicine at the time the services are provided.

(2) “Health insurance plan” means any health insurance policy or health
benefit plan offered by a health insurer, as defined in 18 V.S.A. § 9402, as well
as Medicaid and any other public health care assistance program offered or
administered by the State or by any subdivision or instrumentality of the State.
The term does not include policies or plans providing coverage for specified
disease or other limited benefit coverage.
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2)(3) “Health care facility” shall have the same meaning as in
18 V.S.A. § 9402.

3)(4)  “Health care provider” means a person, partnership, or
corporation, other than a facility or institution, that is licensed, certified, or
otherwise authorized by law to provide professional health care services in this
State to an individual during that individual’s medical care, treatment, or
confinement.

(5) “Originating site” means the location of the patient, whether or not
accompanied by a health care provider, at the time services are provided by a
health care provider through telemedicine, including a health care provider’s
office, a hospital, or a health care facility, or the patient’s home or another
nonmedical environment such as a school-based health center, a university-
based health center, or the patient’s workplace.

(6) “Store and forward” means an asynchronous transmission of medical
information to be reviewed at a later date by a health care provider at a distant
site who is trained in the relevant specialty and by which the health care
provider at the distant site reviews the medical information without the patient
present in real time.

A7) “Telemedicine” means the delivery of health care services such as
diagnosis, consultation, or treatment through the use of live interactive audio
and video over a secure connection that complies with the requirements of the
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Public Law 104-
191. Telemedicine does not include the use of audio-only telephone, e-mail, or
facsimile.

Sec. 2. 18 V.S.A. § 9361 is amended to read:

§ 9361. HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS PROVIDING DELIVERING
HEALTH CARE SERVICES THROUGH TELEMEDICINE OR BY
STORE AND FORWARD SERVICES MEANS

(@) As used in this section, “distant site,” ‘“health care provider,”
“originating site,” “store and forward,” and “telemedicine” shall have the same
meanings as in 8 V.S.A. § 4100k.

(b) Subject to the limitations of the license under which the individual is
practicing, a health care provider licensed in this state State may prescribe,
dispense, or administer drugs or medical supplies, or otherwise provide
treatment recommendations to a patient after having performed an appropriate
examination of the patient either in person, through telemedicine, or by the use
of instrumentation and diagnostic equipment through which images and
medical records may be transmitted electronically. Treatment
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recommendations made via electronic means, including issuing a prescription
via electronic means, shall be held to the same standards of appropriate

practice as those in traditional provider-patient settings. Eorpurposes—of-this

(13 29 b
N N

(c)(1) A health care provider delivering health care services through
telemedicine shall obtain and document a patient’s oral or written informed
consent for the use of telemedicine technology prior to delivering services to

the patient.

(A) The informed consent for telemedicine services shall be provided
in accordance with Vermont and national policies and guidelines on the
appropriate use of telemedicine within the provider’s profession and shall
include, in language that patients can easily understand:

(i) an explanation of the opportunities and limitations of
delivering health care services through telemedicine;

(11) informing the patient of the presence of any other individual
who will be participating in or observing the patient’s consultation with the
provider at the distant site and obtaining the patient’s permission for the
participation or observation; and

(ii1) assurance that all services the health care provider delivers to
the patient through telemedicine will be delivered over a secure connection
that complies with the requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996, Public Law 104-191.

(B) For services delivered through telemedicine on an ongoing basis,
the health care provider shall be required to obtain consent only at the first
episode of care.

(2) The provider shall include the patient’s written consent in the
patient’s medical record or document the patient’s oral consent in the patient’s
medical record.

(3) A health care provider delivering telemedicine services through a
contract with a third-party vendor shall comply with the provisions of this
subsection (¢) to the extent permissible under the terms of the contract. If the
contract requires the health care provider to use the vendor’s own informed
consent provisions instead of those set forth in this subsection (¢), the health
care provider shall be deemed to be in compliance with the requirements of
this subsection (¢) if he or she adheres to the terms of the vendor’s informed
consent policies.

(4) Notwithstanding any provision of this subsection (c) to the contrary,
a health care provider shall not be required to obtain a patient’s informed
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consent for the use of telemedicine in the following circumstances:

(A) in the case of a medical emergency:;

(B) for the second certification of an emergency examination
determining whether an individual is a person in need of treatment pursuant to
section 7508 of this title: or

(C) for a psychiatrist’s examination to determine whether an
individual is in need of inpatient hospitalization pursuant to 13 V.S.A.

§ 4815(2)(3).

(d) Neither a health care provider nor a patient shall create or cause to be
created a recording of a provider’s telemedicine consultation with a patient.

b)(e) A patient receiving teleophthalmology or teledermatology by store
and forward means shall be informed of the right to receive a consultation with
the distant site health care provider and shall receive a consultation with the
distant site health care provider upon request. If requested, the consultation
with the distant site health care provider may occur either at the time of the
initial consultation or within a reasonable period of time eof following the
patient’s notification of the results of the initial consultation. Receiving
teledermatology or teleophthalmology by store and forward means shall not
preclude a patient from receiving real time telemedicine or face-to-face
services with the distant site health care provider at a future date. Originating
site health care providers involved in the store and forward process shall
ensure obtain informed consent from the patient as described in subsection (¢)

(13 2

of this section. Eerpurpeses-ofth ubechapter,“store-and forward”shall-have

Sec. 3. REPEAL

33 V.S.A. § 19011 (Medicaid coverage for primary care telemedicine) is
repealed.
Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATES

(a) Sec. 1 (health insurance coverage) shall take effect on October 1, 2017
and shall apply to Medicaid on that date and to all other health insurance plans
on or after October 1, 2017 on the date a health insurer issues, offers, or
renews the health insurance plan, but in no event later than October 1, 2018.

(b) Secs. 2 (health care providers providing telemedicine), 3 (repeal) and
this section shall take effect on October 1, 2017.

Rep. Timothy Briglin

Rep. Sarah Copeland-Hanzas

Rep. Annmarie Christensen
Committee on the part of the House
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Sen. Claire Ayer

Sen. Virginia Lyons

Sen. Deborah Ingram

Committee on the part of the Senate

Consent Calendar
Concurrent Resolutions

The following concurrent resolutions have been introduced for approval by
the Senate and House and will be adopted automatically unless a Senator or
Representative requests floor consideration before the end of the session of the
next legislative day. Requests for floor consideration in either chamber should
be communicated to the Secretary’s office and/or the House Clerk’s office,
respectively. For text of resolutions, see Addendum to House Calendar and
Senate Calendar.

H.C.R. 158

House concurrent resolution honoring John Bisbee for his nearly three
decades of extraordinary public service as a guardian ad litem

H.C.R. 159

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Westford School Periodic
Pandas on their selection as semifinalists in the FIRSTLEGO League Global
Innovation Award competition

H.C.R. 160

House concurrent resolution congratulating The Bank of Bennington on its
100th anniversary

H.C.R. 161

House concurrent resolution honoring Summer Stoutes of Tinmouth for her
selfless generosity as a kidney donor and congratulating Brent Garrow on his
successful transplant surgery recovery and resumption of his firefighting and
law enforcement careers

H.C.R. 162

House concurrent resolution honoring Ron Stahley for his insightful public
education leadership

H.C.R. 163

House concurrent resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the U.S.
Navy Construction Battalions, the Seabees
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H.C.R. 164

House concurrent resolution honoring former Representative Paul Harrington
on his outstanding public policy career

H.C.R. 165

House concurrent resolution congratulating the Bethel Public Library on
its125th anniversary

H.C.R. 166

House concurrent resolution honoring Newport City Fire Department members
Ist Assistant Chief Phil Laramie, Captain Kevin LaCoss, Lieutenant Andrew
Carbine, and Firefighter Ryan Abel on their heroic rescue in Coventry

H.C.R. 167

House concurrent resolution honoring Lila M. Richardson on the completion
of her distinguished career as a Vermont Legal Aid attorney

H.C.R. 168
House concurrent resolution in memory of Robert Harvey Beach Sr.
H.C.R. 169

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 Burlington High School
Seahorses Division I championship boys’ soccer team

H.C.R. 170

House concurrent resolution honoring Sue Duprat on her outstanding varsity
athletics coaching and administrative career

H.C.R. 171

House concurrent resolution congratulating Lisa A.M. Atwood and Amy L.
Rex on being named corecipients of the 2017 Robert F. Pierce Secondary
School Principal of the Year Award

H.C.R. 172

House concurrent resolution congratulating Duane Pierson on receiving the
2017 Henry R. Giaguque Vermont Elementary Principal of the Year Award

H.C.R. 173

House concurrent resolution honoring the extraordinary public service and
sacrifice of the Morse family of Jay and congratulating Helen (Sargent) Morse
on her 95th birthday

- 3011 -



H.C.R. 174

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Harwood Union High
School Highlanders State championship boys’ alpine skiing team

H.C.R. 175

House concurrent resolution congratulating Vermonters Brennon Crossmon,
Jacobi Lafferty, and Ethan Whalen on their outstanding athletic performances
at the 2017 Elks Hoop Shoot Finals

H.C.R. 176

House concurrent resolution commemorating the centennial anniversary of the
Fair Haven Grade School

H.C.R. 177

House concurrent resolution congratulating Grace Cottage Hospital on being
recognized as one of the nation’s top 20 critical access hospitals for patient
satisfaction

H.C.R. 178

House concurrent resolution congratulating St. Johnsbury Academy on its
175th anniversary

H.C.R. 179

House concurrent resolution honoring John Miner for his three decades of
outstanding leadership in support of Vermont’s Vietnam Veterans

H.C.R. 180

House concurrent resolution congratulating Mary Ellen Sennett of Bennington
on her 100th birthday

H.C.R. 181

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Thetford Academy
Panthers Division III championship girls’ basketball team

H.C.R. 182

House concurrent resolution congratulating Arlington Memorial High School
on its receipt of a 2017 U.S. News & World Report Best High School in
America Silver Medal

H.C.R. 183

House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 St. Johnsbury Babe Ruth
League 13-years-of-age State championship baseball team
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H.C.R. 184

House concurrent resolution congratulating Lucinda Storz of Kirby on winning
her third consecutive Vermont Scripps Spelling Bee championship

H.C.R. 185

House concurrent resolution thanking David and June Keenan of Essex for
their generous donation to the State House art collection of a Keith Rocco print
depicting the Battle of Cedar Creek

H.C.R. 186

House concurrent resolution in memory of Vermont skiing legend Wendell
Cram

H.C.R. 187

House concurrent resolution congratulating Stephen Rice on winning the 2016
Arthur Williams Award for Meritorious Service to the Arts

S.C.R. 14

Senate concurrent resolution recognizing the establishment of the Coolidge
Scholars Program and congratulating the first class of Coolidge Scholars.

S.C.R. 15

Senate concurrent resolution designating October 16, 2017 as John Brown Day
in Vermont.
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