2017

1	H.144
2	Introduced by Representative Deen of Westminster
3	Referred to Committee on
4	Date:
5	Subject: Health; Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel
6	Statement of purpose of bill as introduced: This bill proposes to amend the
7	membership of the Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel.
8 9	An act relating to the membership of the Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel
10	It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:
11	Sec. 1 18 V.S.A. § 1700 is amended to read:
12	§ 1700. CREATION; MEMBERSHIP; OFFICERS; QUORUM
13	(a) There is created a Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel
14	which shall consist of the following:
15	(1) The Secretary of Human Services, ex officio, or designee.
16	(2) The Secretary of Natural Resources, ex officio, or designee.
17	(3) The Commissioner of Public Service, ex officio, or designee.
18	(4) The Secretary of Commerce and Community Development, ex
19	officio, or designee.
20	(5) The member of the House of Nepresentatives from the Town of

1	Varnan
2	(6) One member of the House Committee on Natural Resources and
3	Energy of Representatives from Windham County, other than the House
4	member from the Town of Vernon, chosen by the Speaker of the House.
5	(6)(7) One member of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and
6	Energy from Windiam County, chosen by the Committee on Committees.
7	(7)(8) One representative of the Windham Regional Commission or
8	designee, selected by the Regional Commission.
9	(8)(9) One representative of the Town of Vernon or designee, selected
10	by the legislative body of that town
11	(9)(10) Six members of the public, two each selected by the Governor,
12	the Speaker of the House, and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Under
13	this subdivision, each appointing authority initially shall appoint a member for
14	a three-year term and a member for a four-year term. Subsequent
15	appointments under this subdivision shall be for terms of four years.
16	(10)(11) Two representatives of the Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power
17	Station (VYNPS or Station) selected by the owner of the Station.
18	(11)(12) A representative of the International Brotherhood of Electric
19	Workers (IBEW) selected by the IBEW who shall be a present or former
20	employee at the VYNPS.
21	(12)(13) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of

1	Chasterfield, Hinsdale, Richmond, Swanzoy, and Winchaster, New Hampshire
2	when selected by the Governor of New Hampshire at the invitation of the
3	Commissioner of Public Service.
4	(13)(14) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of
5	Bernardston, Colrain, Gill, Greenicld, Leyden, Northfield, and Warwick,
6	Massachusetts, when selected by the Governor of Massachusetts at the
7	invitation of the Commissioner of Public Service.

9 Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

8

10

This act shall take effect on July 1, 2017.

Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. § 1700 is amended to read:

§ 1700. CREATION; MEMBERSHIP; OFFICERS; QUORUM

- (a) There is created a Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel which shall consist of the following:
 - (1) The Secretary of Human Services, ex officio, or designee.
 - (2) The Secretary of Natural Resources, ex officio, or designee.
 - (3) The Commissioner of Public Service, ex officio, or designee.
- (4) The Secretary of Commerce and Community Development, ex officio, or designee.
- (5) <u>The member of the House of Representatives representing the Town</u> of Vernon.
 - (6) One member of the House Committee on Natural Resources and

- Energy of Representatives from Windham County, other than the House member representing the Town of Vernon, chosen by the Speaker of the House.
- (6)(7) One member of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy from Windham County, chosen by the Committee on Committees.
- (7)(8) One representative of the Windham Regional Commission or designee, selected by the Regional Commission.
- (8)(9) One representative of the Town of Vernon or designee, selected by the legislative body of that town.
- (9)(10) Six members of the public, two each selected by the Governor, the Speaker of the House, and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Under this subdivision, each appointing authority initially shall appoint a member for a three-year term and a member for a four-year term. Subsequent appointments under this subdivision shall be for terms of four years.
- (10)(11) Two representatives of the <u>owners of the</u> Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Station (VYNPS or Station) selected by the owner of the Station.
- (11)(12) A representative of the International Brotherhood of Electric Workers (IBEW) selected by the IBEW who shall be a present or former employee at the VYNPS.
- (12)(13) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of Chesterfield, Hinsdale, Richmond, Swanzey, and Winchester, New Hampshire,

when selected by the Governor of New Hampshire at the invitation of the Commissioner of Public Service.

(13)(14) One member who will represent collectively the Towns of Bernardston, Colrain, Gill, Greenfield, Leyden, Northfield, and Warwick, Massachusetts, when selected by the Governor of Massachusetts at the invitation of the Commissioner of Public Service.

* * *

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This act shall take effect on passage.