## No. R-419. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Vermontassociated winter Olympians.

## (H.C.R.345)

Offered by: All Members of the House

<u>Whereas</u>, in 2018, the Winter Olympians who either reside or trained in Vermont brought great athleticism and sportsmanship to this premiere international event held in Pyeongchang, South Korea, and

Whereas, the Vermont-associated competitors who shined as bright as any star, their respective Vermont ties, and homeplaces were: Lowell Bailey, biathlon, University of Vermont, Lake Placid, New York; Tommy Biesemeyer, alpine skiing, Burke Mountain Academy-University of Vermont, Keene, New York; Mac Bohonnon, freestyle skiing, Stratton Mountain School, Madison, Connecticut; Patrick Caldwell, alpine skiing, Stratton Mountain School, Lyme, New Hampsire; Sophie Caldwell, cross-country skiing, Peru, Vermont; Caroline Claire, freestyle skiing, Manchester Center; Kelly Clark, snowboarding, West Dover; Ryan Cochran-Siegle, alpine skiing; Starksboro; Jessie Diggins, cross-country skiing, Stratton; Emily Dreissigacker, biathlon, Morrisville; Kevin Drury, freestyle skiing, University of Vermont, Toronto, Ontario; Susan Dunklee, biathlon, Barton; Ryan Gunderson, ice hockey, University of Vermont, Bensalem Township, Pennsylvania; Simi Hamilton, cross-country skiing, Middlebury College, Aspen, Colorado; Lindsey Jacobellis, snowboarding, Stratton; Nolan Kasper, alpine skiing, Warren; Devin Logan, freestyle skiing, West Dover; Alice Merryweather, alpine skiing, Stratton Mountain School, Hingham, Massachusetts; Kaitlynn Miller, crosscountry skiing, Elmore; Arabella Ng, alpine skiing, Green Mountain Valley School, Hong Kong; Andy Newell, cross-country skiing, Shaftsbury; Jonathan Nordbotten, crosscountry skiing, University of Vermont, Kolbotn, Norway; Caitlin Patterson, crosscountry skiing, Craftsbury; Scott Patterson, cross-country skiing, Craftsbury; Amanda Pelkey, ice hockey, Montpelier; Ida Sargent, cross-country skiing, Craftsbury; Mikaela Shiffrin, alpine skiing, Burke Mountain Academy, Eagle-Vail, Colorado; Emerson Smith, freestyle skiing, Dover; Laurence St-Germain, alpine skiing, University of Vermont, Saint-Ferréol-les-Neiges, Québec; Viktor Stalberg, ice hockey, University of Vermont, Gothenburg, Sweden; Liz Stephen, cross-country skiing, East Montpelier; and Connor Wilson, alpine skiing, University of Vermont, Johannesburg, South Africa, and

<u>Whereas</u>, on a population per Olympian basis, Vermont was the best-represented State at the 2018 Winter Olympics, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Vermont-associated winter Olympians, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the Olympic athletes named in this resolution.