No. R-316. House concurrent resolution honoring Tim Fort, Malcolm Ewen, and Steve Stettler for their outstanding artistic leadership of the Weston Playhouse Theatre Company.

(H.C.R.251)

Offered by: Representative Pajala of Londonderry

Offered by: Senators Clarkson, McCormack, and Nitka

Whereas, having first raised its stage curtain in 1937, the Weston Playhouse is Vermont's oldest professional theater company, and

Whereas, originally a drama-focused summer stock company, the Weston Playhouse subsequently broadened its repertoire to encompass musicals, and

Whereas, 1988 marked a significant demarcation in the Weston Playhouse's history, with the arrival of the company's trio of stellar producing directors, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Founding Director Tim Fort first appeared on the Weston Playhouse's stage in the 1973 presentation of *The Drunkard*, has directed over 60 productions, and has acted in more than 50 of the company's plays or musicals, and

Whereas, Tim Fort established the Weston Playhouse's Young Company for student performers, has worked extensively in Canadian theaters, including the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and is a drama department faculty member at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, and

Whereas, Founding Director Malcolm Ewen has overseen many Weston Playhouse productions, served as the stage manager for the Tony Award-winning Broadway revival of *Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?*, has long been associated with the Steppenwolf Theater in Chicago, worked in theaters around the world, serves on the Council of Actors' Equity Association, and is a former Trustee of the Actors' Fund of America, and

Whereas, Producing Artistic Director Steve Stettler, unlike his two colleagues, works full time at the Weston Playhouse, is the former Artistic Director of the Obie-winning TNT/The New Theatre of Brooklyn, has taught acting for the O'Neill Theater Center's National Theater Institute, adjudicates for the American College Theatre Festival and Vermont State Drama Festival, and promoted the successful effort to transform the Weston Playhouse into a nonprofit Equity company, and

Whereas, each of these theatrical geniuses has announced that 2018 will be his final season as a Weston Playhouse artistic director, and everyone associated with this revered theatrical enterprise will miss them, and now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly honors Tim Fort, Malcolm Ewen, and Steve Stettler for their outstanding artistic leadership of the Weston Playhouse Theatre Company, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each of the Weston Playhouse artistic directors honored in this resolution.