No. R-281. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Lyndon Institute Vikings Division III championship field hockey team.

(H.C.R.225)

Offered by: Representatives Lawrence of Lyndon and Feltus of Lyndon

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

Whereas, based on its strong 9–5 regular season record and third-seed ranking, the Lyndon Institute Vikings field hockey team entered the playoffs confidently and defeated Milton High School and Missisquoi Valley Union High School in the preliminary rounds to earn a Division III championship berth against a formidable Stowe High School squad, and

Whereas, when the unified Vikings entered the University of Vermont field for the decisive contest, they exuded confidence and were ready to engage in a spirited athletic competition, and

Whereas, Lyndon's two first-half goals were all the scoring needed, although its defense was busy in the second half, stopping a robust Raider squad from denying the Vikings a 2–0 victory and the well-deserved 2017 Division III championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Vikings Katelyn Burgess, Bethany Austin, Falicia Lynch, Amber Grady, Gabby Rowell, Cortnee Keefer, Alicia Brisson, Sydney Smith, Delanie Ruggles, Mariah Kimball, Courteney Simpson, Haley Ott, Camryn Heath, Brittney Caron, Emma Hudson, and Grace Pearce worked in unison throughout the 2017 season, and

Whereas, Coaches Katelyn Sargent and Roxanne Courser were proud of the team's 12–5 record and the players' great sportsmanship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Lyndon Institute Vikings Division III championship field hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Lyndon Institute.