No. R-255. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys' cross-country team.

(H.C.R.206)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Dunn of Essex, Giambatista of Essex, and Houghton of Essex

<u>Whereas</u>, having won 15 season championships from 1986 through 2016, the Essex High School Hornets boys' cross-country program can take great pride in its record of racing accomplishments, and

Whereas, this legacy serves as a strong incentive for the Hornets to strive for continued success, and

<u>Whereas</u>, among the Division I teams running at the 2017 State cross-country championship held at Thetford Academy, Essex was again a leading contender for top honors, and

<u>Whereas</u>, in the exciting Division I competition, the five top Hornet placements were 2nd, 3rd, 12th, 14th, and 21st, resulting in an average per-runner course time of 17 minutes and 34 seconds and a team score of 49 points, five points lower than runner-up Burlington High School, and enabling Essex to return home with the 2017 Division I cross-country crown, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Hornets Peter Alden, Henry Farrington, Connor Goodrich, Liam Mack, Brady Martisus, Jake Moran, Justin Poulin, Ben Stewart, and Jake Wagner ran speedily and steadily throughout the 2017 cross-country season, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the team was inspired by seeing Head Coach Eric Langevin wearing his own Hornets' championship jacket, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys' cross-country team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.