## No. R-151. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 Enosburg Falls High School Hornets Division II championship boys' basketball team.

(H.C.R.117)

Offered by: Representative Weed of Enosburgh

Whereas, the Enosburg Falls Hornets had never won a divisional boys' basketball championship, and

Whereas, the 2016–2017 school year marked an historic turning point as a strong and united Hornet squad proved unstoppable, defeating every regular season opponent, and

Whereas, in the playoffs, second-seeded Enosburg continued its stellar on-court performance, advancing to the Division II championship game at the Barre Auditorium against the fifth-seeded Mt. Saint Joseph Academy Mounties, and

Whereas, the Hornets' pivotal moment of glory arrived with only 3.4 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter when Enosburg scored two successive foul shots breaking a tie, sealing a memorable 56–54 victory, and capturing its first Division II boys' basketball title, and

Whereas, the 24–0 Hornets, who wrote a new page in the annals of Enosburg Falls High School athletics, were Mahlik Franklin, Calvin Carter, Wade McAllister, Matt Perley, Noah Swainbank, Caleb Laroche, Casey Caforia, Cole Goodhue, Evan Doe, and Jakob Delas-Hansen, and

Whereas, Head Coach Matt Luneau and assistant coaches Jordan St. Pierre, Ben Cote, and Zach Gervais savored the team's long-dreamed-for special victory, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2017 Enosburg Falls High School Hornets Division II championship boys' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Enosburg Falls High School.