## No. R-105. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship baseball team.

(H.C.R.80)

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Lawrence of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, and Quimby of Concord

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

Whereas, the 2016 baseball Hilltoppers constituted a team with considerable depth in the field and at the plate, and

Whereas, after compiling a 13–3 regular season record and being seeded second in the Division I tournament, St. Johnsbury Academy entered the playoff competition optimistically, and

Whereas, on winning their third consecutive post-season game, the Hilltoppers earned a berth in the championship contest at Centennial Field in Burlington where they played the fifth-seeded Burr & Burton Academy Bulldogs for the Division I title, and

Whereas, in a game featuring solid St. Johnsbury Academy pitching and defensive performances, the Hilltoppers emerged victorious, outscoring the Bulldogs 3–1 and clinching their first championship since 2006, and

Whereas, the talented 2016 Hilltoppers were Eamonn McCabe, Patrick Greenan, Jake Choiniere, Jake Cady, Garret McDonald, Jake Johnson, Matt Graciano, Burke Hughes, Aaron Morrison, Shane Alercio, Joe Smith, Austin Wendell, Patrick Amadon, Isaac Nurko, Gabriel Salomon, and Yonatan Attie, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Marc Choiniere and assistant coaches Dave Cady and Chris Kendall provided the team valuable support, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship boys' baseball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.