R-99 2017

No. R-99. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2017 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship boys' indoor track and field team.

(H.C.R.74)

Offered by: Representatives Beck of St. Johnsbury, Willhoit of St. Johnsbury, Feltus of Lyndon, Martel of Waterford, Quimby of Concord, and Toll of Danville

Offered by: Senators Benning and Kitchel

Whereas, the 2017 State boys' indoor track and field championship was held over two days, with the weight throw competition conducted at St. Johnsbury Academy and the balance of the events held at Norwich University, and

Whereas, the St. Johnsbury Hilltoppers completed excellent performances in many events, and especially noteworthy were first-place finishes in the 55-meter dash, 55-meter hurdles, the long jump, and the weight throw, and

Whereas, the combination of the Hilltoppers' great showing in the various events culminated in a well-earned Division I title as St. Johnsbury Academy easily surpassed second-place South Burlington High School 166-121, and

Whereas, victorious Hilltoppers Sam Baird, Zane Buckminster, Charlie Cahillane, Ian Clough, Craig Fillion, Ben Lahey, Michael Langham, Justin Mach, Brandon Mach, Lintaro Miyashin, Ethan Roberts, Korey Simons, Brodie Talbot, Collin Urie, Tre Wofford, Kristian Baird, Nolan Buckingham, Matteo Dill, Cameron Dwinell, Patrick Fogarty, Noah Glenshaw, Ben Hammer, Andrew Hegarty, Ralph Steyn, Nathaniel Atkins, Carter Barron, Branden Burmeister, Ethan Eames, Sajan Harvey, Malik Joell, Jacob Lacaillade, Jayden Ming, Orrin Olmstead, Dillon Ryan, Ty Avery, and Mackay Breton were proud of their accomplishments, and

Whereas, Head Coach Chip Langmaid and event coaches Adam Kennedy, Steve Badgley, and Richard Boisseau helped paved the boys' path to the championship crown, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 St. Johnsbury Academy Hilltoppers Division I championship Boys' Indoor Track and Field team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to St. Johnsbury Academy.