No. R-89. Joint resolution providing for a Joint Assembly to vote on the retention of a Chief Justice and three Justices of the Supreme Court and ten Superior Court Judges.

(J.R.S.21)

By Senator Nitka,

Whereas, declarations have been submitted by the following justices and judges that they be retained for another six-year term, the Honorable Justice Reiber, Justice Eaton, Jr., Justice Robinson, Justice Skoglund, Judge Arms, Judge Bent, Judge Carlson, Judge Corsones, Judge Devine, Judge DiMauro, Judge Kainen, Judge Morrissey, Judge Rainville and Judge Schoonover, and

Whereas, the procedures of the Joint Committee on Judicial Retention require at least two public hearings and the review of information provided by each judge and the comments of members of the Vermont bar and the public, and

Whereas, the Committee anticipates that it will be unable to fulfill its responsibilities under subsection 608(b) of Title 4 to evaluate the judicial performance of the judges seeking to be retained in office by March 9, 2017, the date specified in subsection 608(e) of Title 4, and for a vote in Joint Assembly to be held on March 16, 2017, the date specified in subsection 10(b) of Title 2, and

Whereas, subsection 608(g) of Title 4 permits the General Assembly to defer action on the retention of judges to a subsequent Joint Assembly when the Committee is not able to make a timely recommendation, *now therefore be it*

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the two Houses meet in Joint Assembly on Thursday, March 23, 2017, at four o'clock in the afternoon to vote on the retention of a Chief Justice and three Associate Justices of the Supreme Court and ten Superior Court Judges. In case the vote to retain said Justices and Judges shall not be made on that day, the two Houses shall meet in Joint Assembly at nine o'clock and thirty minutes in the forenoon, on each succeeding day, Saturdays and Sundays excepted, and proceed until the above is completed.